Detailed Action
Specification Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. This may result in slightly longer titles, but the loss in brevity of title will be more than offset by the gain in its informative value in indexing, classifying, searching, etc. If a satisfactory title is not supplied by the applicant, the Examiner may, at the time of allowance, change the title by an Examiner’s amendment. See MPEP § 1302.04(a).
The following title is suggested: “Device for Environmental Protection of an Optical Sensor”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the preamble and limitation “A housing containing an optical sensor, comprising: a light-transmitting body; a housing base” which is unclear as to what is structurally required to distinguish the elements of “a housing” from “a housing base”. The elements seem to be the same and should use one consistent name for the element.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a controller to control vibrations of the one or plurality of actuators” but then cites “control vibrations of the plurality of actuators” where the plurality of actuators is cited negating the previous singular option of “one actuator”.
All dependent claims are rejected for their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-15 & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto (WO 2020003573: "Fujimoto” translation provided for citations) in view of Katsumi (WO 2019225041: “Katsumi”).
Claim 1. Fujimoto discloses a housing (3 & 13-14) containing an optical sensor (10), comprising: a light-transmitting body (4); a housing base (3 & 13-14) to contain the optical sensor (10), the housing base (3 & 13-14) holding the light-transmitting body (10) in such that the light-transmitting body (10) is able to vibrate [0024]; and one or a plurality of actuators (7-9)[0037: each of 4 pairs of separated electrodes 9 into four actuator zones of 8] (Fig. 5) that vibrate the light-transmitting body (10)[0060-0061]. Fujimoto discloses an actuator substrate (7) with a piezoelectric actuator separated into four zones (Fig. 5) with separate pairs of electrodes 9a &b for each zone and is can be interpreted as a plurality of actuators. To further prosecution Fujimoto does not disclose
Separate plurality piezoelectric actuators
Katsumi teaches an oscillation device with which it is possible to reliably move water droplets. This oscillation device 1 comprises: an oscillating element 2 having a piezoelectric oscillator 5A (oscillator); and a driving device 12 which oscillates the oscillating element 2 [Abstract]. Katsumi further teaches a substrate (3) with four separate piezoelectric (Fig. 13: 35c&d and 5a&b)[0064].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Katsumi’s separate plurality of piezoelectric actuators on a circular substrate to modify Fujimoto’s single piezoelectric with four separate actuated zones into four separate piezoelectric actuators because the isolated actuators improve vibration control by reducing interfering vibration crosstalk.
Claim 3. Dependent on the housing according to Claim 1. Fujimoto further discloses
the light-transmitting body (2) has a plate shape (Fig. 1: lens 4 is a circular plate shape). the plurality of actuators (7-9) include a first actuator (Fig. 5: top zone of 8) and a second actuator (Fig. 5: bottom zone of 8) and the first actuator (Fig. 5: top zone of 8) is provided on one end portion side of the light-transmitting body (4), and the second actuator (Fig. 5: bottom zone of 8) is provided on another end portion side of the light-transmitting body (4) opposite to the first actuator (Fig. 5: top zone of 8). The separation of a plurality of actuators is taught with motivation to combine in the rejection of Claim 1.
Claim 4. Dependent on the housing according to Claim 3. Fujimoto further disclose the first actuator (Fig. 5: top zone of 8) and the second actuator (Fig. 5: bottom zone of 8) oppose each other (Fig. 5: top zone of 8 opposite bottom zone). The separation of a plurality of actuators is taught with motivation to combine in the rejection of Claim 1.
Claim 7. Dependent on the housing according to Claim 3. Fujimoto, as modified, further discloses a plurality of actuators (7-9) vibrate the light-transmitting body (4) in a direction that intersects a thickness direction of the light-transmitting body (4) (Fig. 8 shows direction of vibration in axial direction)[0060-0061]. The separation of a plurality of actuators is taught with motivation to combine in the rejection of Claim 1.
Claim 8. Dependent on the housing according to Claim 1. Fujimoto further discloses the light-transmitting body (4) has a plate shape (Fig. 1 lens 4 is circular plate shaped) including a first main surface (Fig. 1: lens 4 outer surface) positioned outside and a second main surface (Fig. 1: lens 4 inner surface of lens) opposite to the first main surface (Fig. 1: lens 4 outer opposing surface of lens); and the plurality of actuators (7-9) are provided on the second main surface side (Fig. 2: lens 4 inner surface of lens) of the light-transmitting body (4). The separation of a plurality of actuators is taught with motivation to combine in the rejection of Claim 1.
Claim 9. Dependent on the housing according to Claim 8. Fujimoto further discloses the plurality of actuators (7-9) vibrate the light-transmitting body (4) in a thickness direction of the light-transmitting body (4) (Fig. 8 shows direction of vibration in axial direction)[0060-0061]. The separation of a plurality of actuators is taught with motivation to combine in the rejection of Claim 1.
Claim 10. Dependent on the housing according to Claim 1. Fujimoto further discloses the light-transmitting body (4) has a cylindrical or substantially cylindrical shape (Fig. 1: lens 4 is thick in a cylindrical shape on the bottom portion) including a first end portion and a second end portion opposite to the first end portion (Fig. 1: 4 is circular with opposing sides throughout the circumference); and the plurality of actuators (7-9) are arranged at regular intervals on at least one of the first end portion side and the second end portion side (7-9)[0037: each of 4 pairs of separated electrodes 9 into four actuator zones of 8] (Fig. 5). The separation of a plurality of actuators is taught with motivation to combine in the rejection of Claim 1.
Claim 11. Dependent on the housing according to Claim 10. Fujimoto further discloses the plurality of actuators (7-9) vibrate (Fig. 8 axial vibration depicted) the light-transmitting body (4) in an axial direction (Fig. 8 axial vibration depicted) of the cylindrical or substantially cylindrical shape (4)[0060-0061]. The separation of a plurality of actuators is taught with motivation to combine in the rejection of Claim 1.
Claim 12. Dependent on the housing according to Claim 1. Fujimoto further discloses the actuator (7-9) includes a piezoelectric element (8); the housing base (3 & 13-14) includes a vibration-transmitting portion (3) to connect the actuator (7-9) and the light-transmitting body (4) and to transmit vibration to the light-transmitting body (4)[0030]; the light-transmitting body (4) has a plate shape (Fig. 1: plate shaped 4 depicted) including a first main surface (Fig. 1: lens 4 outer surface) positioned outside, a second main surface (Fig. 1: lens 4 inner curve surface) opposite to the first main surface (Fig. 1: lens 4 outer curve surface) , and a side surface (Fig. 1: lens 4 side surface in contact with 1) connecting the first main surface (Fig. 1: lens 4 outer surface) and the second main surface (Fig. 1: lens 4 inner surface); the vibration-transmitting portion (3) includes a first vibration-transmitting portion (3b & 3d) and a second vibration-transmitting portion (3a & 3c); the first vibration-transmitting portion (3b & 3d) and the second vibration-transmitting portion (3a & 3c) each include a vibration portion (3c & 3d) and a support portion (3a & 3b), the vibration portion (3c & 3d) including one end portion (connection to support 3c & 3d) and another end portion (extended end 3c & 3d), the one end portion (connection to support 3c & 3d) being connected to the actuator (7-9 connected thru support 3a & 3b), and extending along the side surface (3c extends on the side surface of 4), the support portion (3a & 3b) extending from the another end portion (3d) of the vibration portion (3c & 3d) toward the side surface (side of 4 in contact with 3c) and supporting the light-transmitting body (4); and the support portions (3a & 3b), respectively, of the first vibration-transmitting portion (3b & 3d) and the second vibration-transmitting portion (3a & 3c) oppose each other and support the side surface (side of 4 in contact with 3c) of the light-transmitting body (4) therebetween [0021].
Claim 13. Dependent on the housing according to Claim 12. Fujimoto further discloses the actuator (7-9) vibrates in a first direction that intersects (Fig. 8: axially vibration direction) a direction in which the support portions (3a & b), respectively, of the first vibration-transmitting portion (3b & 3d) and the second vibration-transmitting portion (3a & 3c) oppose each other and in which the first main surface (Fig. 1: lens 4 outer surface) of the light-transmitting body (4) extends; and the support portions (3a & 3b) are provided at a center of the side surface (3c extends on the side surface of 4) in the first direction (Fig.1: 3a & 3b aligned in the axial direction to the side surface of 4)
Claim 14. Dependent on the housing according to Claim 12. Fujimoto further discloses the actuator (7-9) vibrates in a first direction (Fig. 8 axial vibration) that intersects a direction in which the support portions (Fig. 2:3d with ends 3a&b axially aligned), respectively, of the first vibration-transmitting portion (3d) and the second vibration-transmitting portion (3c) oppose each other and in which the first main surface (Fig. 1: lens 4 outer surface) of the light-transmitting body extends (4); and the support portions (3d) are closer to the actuator (7-9) than to a center (Fig.2: center line not depicted is further from 3d) in the first direction (Fig. 8 axial direction for vibration).
Claim 15. Dependent on the housing according to Claim 1. Fujimoto further discloses the one or plurality of actuators (7-9) each include a unimorph or bimorph piezoelectric element (8)[0026]; and the housing base (3 & 13-14) includes a frame (3) supporting the light-transmitting body (4) and a connection portion (3c and 3b) connecting the light-transmitting body (4 connected to 3c) and the one or plurality of actuators (7-9 connected to 3b). The separation of a plurality of actuators is taught with motivation to combine in the rejection of Claim 1.
Claim 21. Dependent on the sensor device (9) comprising: the housing according to Claim 1; and an optical sensor (9) included in the housing (3 & 13-14).
Claims 2 & 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto in view of Katsumi and in further view of Nishiyama (WO 2019225042: “Nishiyama”).
Claim 2. Dependent on the housing according to Claim 1. Fujimoto does not explicitly disclose:
the one or plurality of actuators each include a coil to generate a magnetic field when an electric current flows therethrough, a core provided a hollow of the coil and supporting the light-transmitting body, and a magnet to attract the core due to the magnetic field generated by the coil; and the one or plurality of actuators vibrate the light-transmitting body in an axial direction of the core.
Kenji teaches a vibration device and an optical detection device that can reliably move a water droplet without relying on differences in surface tension at each position [0006]. Kenji further teaches (Fig. 14) the one or plurality of actuators (75) each include a coil (76) to generate a magnetic field when an electric current flows therethrough, a core (76 core in coil) provided a hollow of the coil (76) and supporting the light-transmitting body (4), and a magnet (77) to attract the core due to the magnetic field generated by the coil (76); and the one or plurality of actuators (75) vibrate the light-transmitting body (4) in an axial direction of the core (76 core in coil)[0080-0081].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kenji’s electromagnetic actuators as Fujimoto’s, as modified, vibration actuator because an electromagnetic actuator improves durability by providing a rugged and reliable actuator for high use elements in a dynamic environment.
Claims 5 & 6. Dependent on the housing according to Claim 3. Fujimoto, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
a detector to detect an output voltage of at least one actuator among the first actuator and the second actuator and a controller to control vibrations of the one or plurality of actuators wherein the controller is configured or programmed to control vibrations of the plurality of actuators based on the output voltage of the at least one actuator detected by the detector.
Kenji teaches a vibration device and an optical detection device that can reliably move a water droplet without relying on differences in surface tension at each position [0006]. Kenji further teaches a detector (7c) to detect an output voltage of at least one actuator (5a) among the first actuator (5a) and the second actuator (5b) and a controller (13) to control vibrations of the one or plurality of actuators (5a&b) wherein the controller (13) is configured or programmed to control vibrations of the plurality of actuators (5a&b) based on the output voltage of the at least one actuator (5a) detected by the detector (7c)[0027] & [0034: The timing generation circuit 14A applies an electric signal to the switching circuit 14B at a fixed timing according to the feedback signal output from the piezoelectric vibrator 5A].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kenji’s detecting electrode to create a feedback signal with Fujimoto’s, as modified, vibration actuator’s signals because a feed back signal improves the quality of the applied vibration signal by providing timing feedback [Kenji 0034].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto in view of Katsumi in further view of Shirai (JP 2013080177; “Shirai” translation provided for citations).
Claim 16. Dependent on the housing according to Claim 12. Fujimoto further discloses a controller (12) to control the actuator (7-9); wherein the controller (12) causes the actuator (7-9) to vibrate at a modulation frequency [0030] & [0055: a mode that excites vibration in the (m, n) mode in the light-transmitting body 4 is defined as a first vibration mode, and a vibration mode in which the antinode of vibration is located on the outer peripheral edge of the flange portion 39 is defined as a second vibration mode]. Fujimoto, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the actuator to vibrate at a modulation frequency vibrate at a modulation frequency in which a first resonant frequency of the actuator and a second resonant frequency of foreign matter adhering to the light-transmitting body are superposed.
Shirai teaches to provide a camera with water droplet removal function capable of removing water droplet deposited on a lens in a simple structure [Abstract]. Shirai further teaches the actuator (2) to vibrate at a modulation frequency vibrate at a modulation frequency in which a first resonant frequency of the actuator (2) and a second resonant frequency of foreign matter adhering to the light-transmitting body are superposed [0029: mist-like water droplets (small water droplets) have a high resonance frequency and are difficult to fall off even when low-frequency vibrations are applied. when vibrations at a resonant frequency are applied to mist-like water droplets, the water droplets move, causing the mist-like water droplets to combine with each other and become granular water droplets… when misty water droplets are attached to the lens 11, first, a high frequency vibration near the resonant frequency of the misty water droplets is applied, and then a low frequency vibration is applied].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Shirai’s frequency overlap of high resonance water mist resonance is overlapped with low frequency to move water drops off an optical element with Fujimoto’s resonance nodes of the support structures because the combination of frequency shifts improves water displacement on optics by optimizing the fluid flow away from the optics [Shirai’s 0027].
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto in view of Katsumi and in further view of Dolezal (WO 2013082726; “Dolezal”).
Claims 18-20. Dependent on the housing according to Claim 1. Fujimoto, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
a cushioning portion is provided between the light-transmitting body and the housing base or between the light-transmitting body and the optical sensor and wherein the cushioning portion includes a bellows structure and the cushioning portion is made of an elastomer.
Dolezal teaches In vibration engineering, hollow elastomer springs with a pressurizable interior are used to influence the vibration behavior of an oscillating system formed with these springs. [0008]. Dolzeal further teaches a cushioning portion (Fig. 1: 4) is provided between the body (12) and the housing base (3) or between and wherein the cushioning portion (4) includes a bellows structure (4) and the cushioning portion (4) is made of an elastomer [0069: The two spring bellows 4, 5 thus form opposing elastomer spring elements as required, via which the connecting body 2 and the connecting plate 3 are connected to each other in a spring-elastic manner, such that the connecting body 2, when the spring element 1 is unloaded, is positioned along the displacement axis X by the two spring bellows 4, 5 in the basic position shown relative to the connecting plate 3, and when the connecting plate 3 is fixed, it can be displaced from this basic position along the displacement axis X in both directions against the spring forces generated by the two spring bellows 4, 5 by applying a force acting along the displacement axis X].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Dolezal’s vibration cushion elastomer bellow spring to modify Fujimoto’s elastic hinge because the bellows spring improves vibration control by eliminating a damaging over-shock vibration to an attached device.
Conclusion
/MONICA S YOUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855