DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 06/08/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 03/09/2026. Interdependent claims 1, 11 and 20 are amended. No claims are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al. (2024/0373350), Baek hereinafter, in view of doc.: IEEE 802.11-21/0672r1; Title: TGbe D0.3 Comment Resolutions for Restricted TWT SP; Baek et. al., Affiliation: LG/Facebook, Date: 2021-04-15 as submitted in IDS, Baek_LG_Facebook hereinafter.
Re. claims 1 and 20, Baek teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig. 1, 104/204) comprising instructions (Fig. 1 & ¶0048-¶0049) that, when executed by a processor (Fig. 1, 102/202) of station (STA) (Fig. 1, 100/200), cause the STA to, and a station (STA) (Fig. 1, 100/200) comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 1, 102/202); and memory (Fig. 1, 104/204) storing instructions (Fig. 1 & ¶0048-¶0049) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the STA to: receive, from an access point (AP), a first frame indicating a trigger-enabled restricted target wake time (r-TWT) service period (SP) for the STA, wherein the STA is a member r-TWT scheduled STA of the trigger-enabled r-TWT SP (Fig. 14 & ¶0201 - AP and STA 1 may form a trigger-enabled TWT agreement through a TWT request frame and a TWT response frame. Fig. 14 & ¶0202 - the method used by STA 1 is a solicited TWT method. When STA 1 transmits a TWT request frame to the AP, STA 1 receives information for TWT operation from the AP through a TWT response frame. Fig. 14 & ¶0203 - On the other hand, STA 2, which performs the unsolicited TWT method, may receive information about trigger-enabled TWT agreement configurations from the AP through an unsolicited TWT response. Fig. 15 & ¶0206 - Broadcast TWT is a type of TWT in which a non-AP STA (or TWT scheduling STA) acquires information about target beacon transmission time (TBTT) and listening interval by transmitting and receiving TWT request/response frames with the AP (or TWT scheduled STA). Here, a negotiation operation for TBTT may be performed. Based on this, the AP may define a frame that will contain TWT scheduling information through a beacon frame. Fig. 15 & ¶0207 - In FIG. 15, STA 1 performs a solicited TWT operation, and STA 2 performs an unsolicited TWT operation. The AP may transmit the DL MU PPDU after checking the awake state of the STAs through the trigger transmitted by the AP. This may be the same as the process for individual TWT. In broadcast TWT, the trigger-enabled TWT SP, including the beacon frame, may be repeated several times at regular intervals.); and
Yet, Baek does not expressly teach based on not receiving a second frame from the AP during a first time period within the trigger-enabled r-TWT SP, transmit a non-trigger based frame to the AP.
However, in the analogous art, Baek_LG_Facebook explicitly discloses based on not receiving a second frame from the AP during a first time period within the trigger-enabled r-TWT SP, transmit a non-trigger based frame to the AP. (Page 2 - The start time of the restricted TWT SP can be affected because the WM is busy or transmission of low latency data/traffic is sometimes unpredictable or has randomness. (The start time means to start exchange of latency sensitive data/traffic between AP and STA, which means the SP doesn’t move backward itself.) For example, the STA that does not support the restricted TWT and does not obtain the announcement of the restricted TWT SP from the associated AP may keep its TXOP. …. The total duration of the restricted TWT SP is reduced, which may not be able to provide enough time for the latency sensitive data/traffic delivery. To meet latency sensitive traffic requirement, a mechanism is needed to have enough of the medium access time. The comment of CID 2922 suggests that the end time of the restricted TWT SP can be extended when the start time is affected because of the busy WM. See figure as reproduced next…
Page 3 - Also, see the two options to signaling of the extension from AP to the member STAs along with the figure above; Page 3 - The end time of a restricted TWT service period may be extended when the member STA(s) cannot obtain TXOP at start of the restricted service period due to the busy WM. The maximum extended duration shouldn’t exceed over the overlapped duration between the end time of the preceding TXOP and the start time of the restricted TWT service period. A scheduling AP should not allow the restricted TWT service period with extended duration to overlap with any scheduled individual/broadcast or other restricted TWT service period. The TXOP of the STA with dot11RestrictedTWTOptionImplemented set to false or operating in the OBSS during the restricted TWT service period may make the WM scheduled for the restricted TWT service period busy. Note: During the (extended) restricted TWT service period, the STA with dot11RestrictedTWTOptionImplemented set to true …to determine if restricted TWT service period termination event has occurred and may enter doze state.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Baek’s invention of a system and a method for performing communication based on restricted target wake time (TWT) in a next-generation wireless LAN system to include Baek_LG_Facebook’s invention of Channel access rules for restricted TWT service periods in a wireless LAN system, because it provides an efficient mechanism by extending end time of a restricted TWT (target wake time) SP (Service Period), low latency STA can have enough of medium access time for transmitting a latency sensitive data/traffic in the wireless LAN system. (Page 2, Baek_LG_Facebook)
Re. Claim 3, Baek and Baek_LG_Facebook teach claim 1.
Yet, Baek does not expressly teach wherein transmission of the non-trigger based frame terminates the trigger-enabled r-TWT SP.
However, in the analogous art, Baek_LG_Facebook explicitly discloses wherein transmission of the non-trigger based frame terminates the trigger-enabled r-TWT SP. (Page 2 - The start time of the restricted TWT SP can be affected because the WM is busy or transmission of low latency data/traffic is sometimes unpredictable or has randomness. For example, the STA that does not support the restricted TWT and does not obtain the announcement of the restricted TWT SP from the associated AP may keep its TXOP. …. The total duration of the restricted TWT SP is reduced, which may not be able to provide enough time for the latency sensitive data/traffic delivery. To meet latency sensitive traffic requirement, a mechanism is needed to have enough of the medium access time. The comment of CID 2922 suggests that the end time of the restricted TWT SP can be extended when the start time is affected because of the busy WM. See figure as reproduced next.
Page 3 - The end time of a restricted TWT service period may be extended when the member STA(s) cannot obtain TXOP at start of the restricted service period due to the busy WM. The maximum extended duration shouldn’t exceed over the overlapped duration between the end time of the preceding TXOP and the start time of the restricted TWT service period. A scheduling AP should not allow the restricted TWT service period with extended duration to overlap with any scheduled individual/broadcast or other restricted TWT service period. The TXOP of the STA with dot11RestrictedTWTOptionImplemented set to false or operating in the OBSS during the restricted TWT service period may make the WM scheduled for the restricted TWT service period busy. Note: During the (extended) restricted TWT service period, the STA with dot11RestrictedTWTOptionImplemented set to true …to determine if restricted TWT service period termination event has occurred and may enter doze state.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Baek’s invention of a system and a method for performing communication based on restricted target wake time (TWT) in a next-generation wireless LAN system to include Baek_LG_Facebook’s invention of Channel access rules for restricted TWT service periods in a wireless LAN system, because it provides an efficient mechanism by extending end time of a restricted TWT (target wake time) SP (Service Period), low latency STA can have enough of medium access time for transmitting a latency sensitive data/traffic in the wireless LAN system. (Page 2, Baek_LG_Facebook)
Re. Claim 4, Baek and Baek_LG_Facebook teach claim 1.
Yet, Baek does not expressly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the STA to transmit the non-trigger based frame at a pre-determined time after the first time period ends.
However, in the analogous art, Baek_LG_Facebook explicitly discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the STA to transmit the non-trigger based frame at a pre-determined time after the first time period ends (Page 2 - The start time of the restricted TWT SP can be affected because the WM is busy or transmission of low latency data/traffic is sometimes unpredictable or has randomness. For example, the STA that does not support the restricted TWT and does not obtain the announcement of the restricted TWT SP from the associated AP may keep its TXOP. …. The total duration of the restricted TWT SP is reduced, which may not be able to provide enough time for the latency sensitive data/traffic delivery. To meet latency sensitive traffic requirement, a mechanism is needed to have enough of the medium access time. The comment of CID 2922 suggests that the end time of the restricted TWT SP can be extended when the start time is affected because of the busy WM. See figure as reproduced next.
Page 3 - The end time of a restricted TWT service period may be extended when the member STA(s) cannot obtain TXOP at start of the restricted service period due to the busy WM. The maximum extended duration shouldn’t exceed over the overlapped duration between the end time of the preceding TXOP and the start time of the restricted TWT service period. A scheduling AP should not allow the restricted TWT service period with extended duration to overlap with any scheduled individual/broadcast or other restricted TWT service period. The TXOP of the STA with dot11RestrictedTWTOptionImplemented set to false or operating in the OBSS during the restricted TWT service period may make the WM scheduled for the restricted TWT service period busy. Note: During the (extended) restricted TWT service period, the STA with dot11RestrictedTWTOptionImplemented set to true …to determine if restricted TWT service period termination event has occurred and may enter doze state.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Baek’s invention of a system and a method for performing communication based on restricted target wake time (TWT) in a next-generation wireless LAN system to include Baek_LG_Facebook’s invention of Channel access rules for restricted TWT service periods in a wireless LAN system, because it provides an efficient mechanism by extending end time of a restricted TWT (target wake time) SP (Service Period), low latency STA can have enough of medium access time for transmitting a latency sensitive data/traffic in the wireless LAN system. (Page 2, Baek_LG_Facebook)
Re. Claim 5, Baek and Baek_LG_Facebook teach claim 1.
Yet, Baek does not expressly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the STA to transmit the non-trigger based frame based on the first time period ending prior to a predetermined time before the end of the trigger-enabled r-TWT SP.
However, in the analogous art, Baek_LG_Facebook explicitly discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the STA to transmit the non-trigger based frame based on the first time period ending prior to a predetermined time before the end of the trigger-enabled r-TWT SP. (Page 2 - The start time of the restricted TWT SP can be affected because the WM is busy or transmission of low latency data/traffic is sometimes unpredictable or has randomness. For example, the STA that does not support the restricted TWT and does not obtain the announcement of the restricted TWT SP from the associated AP may keep its TXOP. …. The total duration of the restricted TWT SP is reduced, which may not be able to provide enough time for the latency sensitive data/traffic delivery. To meet latency sensitive traffic requirement, a mechanism is needed to have enough of the medium access time. The comment of CID 2922 suggests that the end time of the restricted TWT SP can be extended when the start time is affected because of the busy WM. See figure as reproduced next.
Page 3 - The end time of a restricted TWT service period may be extended when the member STA(s) cannot obtain TXOP at start of the restricted service period due to the busy WM. The maximum extended duration shouldn’t exceed over the overlapped duration between the end time of the preceding TXOP and the start time of the restricted TWT service period. A scheduling AP should not allow the restricted TWT service period with extended duration to overlap with any scheduled individual/broadcast or other restricted TWT service period. The TXOP of the STA with dot11RestrictedTWTOptionImplemented set to false or operating in the OBSS during the restricted TWT service period may make the WM scheduled for the restricted TWT service period busy. Note: During the (extended) restricted TWT service period, the STA with dot11RestrictedTWTOptionImplemented set to true …to determine if restricted TWT service period termination event has occurred and may enter doze state.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Baek’s invention of a system and a method for performing communication based on restricted target wake time (TWT) in a next-generation wireless LAN system to include Baek_LG_Facebook’s invention of Channel access rules for restricted TWT service periods in a wireless LAN system, because it provides an efficient mechanism by extending end time of a restricted TWT (target wake time) SP (Service Period), low latency STA can have enough of medium access time for transmitting a latency sensitive data/traffic in the wireless LAN system. (Page 2, Baek_LG_Facebook)
Re. Claim 7, Baek and Baek_LG_Facebook teach claim 1.
Baek further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the STA to: transmit, to the AP, a setup request frame indicating one or more first traffic identifiers (TIDs) associated with the trigger-enabled r-TWT SP; and receive, from the AP, a setup response frame indicating one or more second TIDs associated with the trigger-enabled r-TWT SP. (Fig. 14-15 & ¶0201 - FIG. 14, AP and STA 1 may form a trigger-enabled TWT agreement through a TWT request frame and a TWT response frame. Fig. 14-15 & ¶0202 - The method used by STA 1 is a solicited TWT method. When STA 1 transmits a TWT request frame to the AP, STA 1 receives information for TWT operation from the AP through a TWT response frame.)
Re. Claim 8, Baek and Baek_LG_Facebook teach claim 1.
Baek further teaches wherein the STA is a member of the trigger-enabled r-TWT SP. (Fig. 14-15 & ¶0202 - The method used by STA 1 is a solicited TWT method. When STA 1 transmits a TWT request frame to the AP, STA 1 receives information for TWT operation from the AP through a TWT response frame. Fig. 14-15 & ¶0203 - STA 2, which performs the unsolicited TWT method, may receive information about trigger-enabled TWT agreement configurations from the AP through an unsolicited TWT response.)
Re. Claim 9, Baek and Baek_LG_Facebook teach claim 1.
Baek further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the STA to receive a trigger frame from the AP before transmitting during the trigger-enabled r-TWT SP. (Fig. 14-15 & ¶0203 - STA 2, which performs the unsolicited TWT method, may receive information about trigger-enabled TWT agreement configurations from the AP through an unsolicited TWT response. Fig. 14-15 & ¶0204 - STA 2 may calculate the next TWT by adding a specific number from the current TWT value. During a trigger-enabled TWT SP, the AP may transmit a trigger frame to STAs. The trigger frame may inform STAs that the AP has buffered data. In response to this, STA 1 may inform the AP of its awake state by transmitting a PS-Poll frame. Additionally, STA 2 may notify the AP of its awake state by transmitting a QoS Null frame. Here, the data frames transmitted by STA 1 and STA 2 may be frames in TB PPDU format. The AP that has confirmed the state of STA 1 and STA 2 may transmit a DL MU PPDU to the awake STAs. When the corresponding TWT SP expires, STA 1 and STA 2 may switch to the doze state.).
Claim 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek, in view of, Baek_LG_Facebook, further in view of Chunyu et al. (IEEE 802.11-21/1115r0, as submitted in IDS), Title: Traffic Prioritization During the Restricted TWT SPs; Affiliations: Facebook Inc. Date: 2021-07-25, Chunyu hereinafter.
Re. Claim 2, Baek and Baek_LG_Facebook teach claim 1.
Yet, Baek and Baek_LG_Facebook do not expressly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the STA to transmit the non-trigger based frame using a contention-based channel access scheme.
However, in the analogous art, Chunyu explicitly discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the STA to transmit the non-trigger based frame using a contention-based channel access scheme. (Slide 12 - The non rTWT STAs for current rTWT SP can access the channel following the baseline EDCA and MU-EDCA rules….Such STAs, when gaining channel access, can transmit traffic of their choices.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Baek’s invention of a system and a method for performing communication based on restricted target wake time (TWT) in a next-generation wireless LAN system to include Baek_LG_Facebook’s invention of Channel access rules for restricted TWT service periods in a wireless LAN system to include Chunyu’s invention of Traffic Prioritization during the Restricted TWT (target wake time) SPs (Service Periods) in a next-generation wireless LAN system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for implementing traffic prioritization rules during the restricted TWT SPs in the next-generation wireless LAN system. (Slide1-2, Chunyu)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek, in view of Baek_LG_Facebook, further in view CHERIAN et al. (2022/0078844 as submitted in IDS), CHERIAN hereinafter.
Re. Claim 6, Baek and Baek_LG_Facebook teach claim 1.
Yet, Baek and Baek_LG_Facebook do not expressly teach wherein the second frame comprises a trigger frame.
However, in the analogous art, CHERIAN explicitly discloses wherein the second frame comprises a trigger frame. (Fig. 1-25 & ¶0008 - the protection frame indicates a period of time during which each STA of the group of STAs belonging to the restricted TWT session and not identified by the protection frame is to remain in the PS mode. In some other instances, the protection frame includes a trigger frame including an association identifier (AID) of each STA of the one or more identified STAs. Fig. 1-25 & ¶0152 - At time t9, the AP may transmit a third scheduling frame S3 (Trigger frame as shown in Fig. 19) over the wireless channel to solicit UL transmissions during a corresponding third scheduled opportunity, and so on, until the restricted TWT SP ends at time t.sub.12. In the example of FIG. 19, the AP may not have any queued downlink data for any of STA1-STA3, and none of the STAs identified by the third scheduling frame S3 may have queued uplink data for transmission to the AP during the third scheduled opportunity. In some implementations, the AP may monitor the wireless channel and detect an absence of data transmissions on the wireless channel during the third scheduled opportunity. In some instances, the AP may recover a remaining portion of the TXOP granted to the STA(s) identified by the third scheduling frame S3 (Trigger frame as shown in Fig. 19), and may permit the other STAs to access the wireless channel. In the example of FIG. 19, the other STA uses a contention-based channel access mechanism (such as an EDCA mechanism) to gain access to the wireless channel at time t10, and transmits or receives one or more PPDUs 1930 on the wireless channel between times t.sub.10 and t.sub.11. At time t.sub.13, the restricted TWT session ends.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Baek’s invention of a system and a method for performing communication based on restricted target wake time (TWT) in a next-generation wireless LAN system to include Baek_LG_Facebook’s invention of Channel access rules for restricted TWT service periods in a wireless LAN system to include CHERIAN’s invention of a system and a method for scheduling wireless stations within a target wake time service period in a wireless local area network (WLAN), because it provides an efficient mechanism for allocating resources of a wireless network to one or more wireless communication devices associated with peer-to-peer (P2P) communications, which rely on running real time applications that have stringent latency requirements, operates during a restricted target wake time (TWT) service period (SP) in the wireless local area network (WLAN). (¶0002-¶0004, CHERIAN)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek, in view of Baek_LG_Facebook, further in view of HO et al. (2022/0070772 as submitted in IDS), HO hereinafter.
Re. Claim 10, Baek and Baek_LG_Facebook teach claim 1.
Yet, Baek and Baek_LG_Facebook do not expressly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the STA to determine the first time period based on an access category of a traffic identifier (TID) associated with the trigger-enabled r-TWT SP.
However, in the analogous art, HO explicitly discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors (Fig. 5B, 535), further cause the STA to determine the first time period based on an access category of a traffic identifier (TID) associated with the r-TWT SP (Fig. 1-15 & ¶0009 - establishing the restricted TWT session may include transmitting a frame indicating a latency sensitive traffic priority associated with the restricted TWT session, and receiving, from each of the one or more STAs, a request to become members of the restricted TWT session based on the indicated latency sensitive traffic priority. In some instances, the indicated latency sensitive traffic priority may correspond to one or more selected traffic identifiers (TIDs). For example, the one or more selected TIDs may be associated with a voice access category (AC_VO). Fig. 1-15 & ¶0088 - the TWT Element may indicate that the restricted TWT session is for STAs that have or are associated with latency sensitive traffic corresponding to one or more selected traffic identifiers (TIDs). For example, in some instances, the selected TIDs may be associated with a voice access category (AC_VO)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Baek’s invention of a system and a method for performing communication based on restricted target wake time (TWT) in a next-generation wireless LAN system to include Baek_LG_Facebook’s invention of Channel access rules for restricted TWT service periods in a wireless LAN system to include HO’s invention of a system and method for low-latency enhancements for a wireless network, because it provides an efficient mechanism for ensuring certain data throughput levels are maintained for latency sensitive traffic in a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN). (¶0002-¶0004, HO)
Claim 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (2024/0008119), Kim hereinafter, in view of Baek_LG_Facebook.
Re. claim 11, Kim teaches an access point (AP) (Fig. 4/Fig.11-15, AP) comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 4, 210); and memory (Fig. 4, 260) storing instructions (Fig. 4 & ¶0076) that, when executed by the one or more processors (Fig. 4 & ¶0076), cause the AP to: transmit a first frame indicating: a restricted target wake time (r-TWT) service period (SP) for one or more stations (STAs) (Fig. 11-12 & ¶0150 - A service period in a TWT may be configured as follows…., the AP may request the station to participate in the TWT by configuring a value of a TWT required subfield of a HE operation element as 1. In addition, the AP may transmit a broadcast TWT element <i.e., first frame as per ¶0313 in the instant application> through a management frame, e.g., a beacon frame <i.e., first frame as per ¶0313 in the instant application>, to transfer information required for the participation in the broadcast TWT, to the station. In this case, the AP may perform signaling of supporting of the broadcast TWT by configuring dot11TWTOptionActivated as “true”, and configuring a broadcast TWT support field (element) of a HE capabilities element as 1. The AP may configure a restricted service interval to be similar to a service period of a TWT. Fig. 11-12 & ¶0155 - The restricted service period may be included in the broadcast TWT service period. Fig. 11-12 & ¶0156 - In addition, the restricted service period may be repeated according to a cycle designated by the AP. That is, the AP may designate a repetition cycle of the restricted service period. Accordingly, the AP may not always transmit a TWT element of a beacon frame to configure the restricted service period. In this case, the cycle of the service period may be configured according to the characteristics of a low latency service for which the low latency traffic is used. Fig. 11-12 & ¶0162 - In an embodiment of FIG. 12, an AP configures a quiet interval and a restricted service period by transmitting a beacon frame <i.e., first frame>.); and a quiet interval, wherein the quiet interval starts with a start time of the r-TWT SP and overlaps with a portion of the r-TWT SP (Fig. 11-12 & ¶0159 - An AP operating a restricted TWT may configure a quiet interval by transmitting a quiet element. During the quiet interval, a station suspends channel access. However, when channel access by a station participating in the restricted TWT is also limited, transmission of low latency traffic cannot be performed. Accordingly, the station participating in the restricted TWT may ignore a quiet interval corresponding to a restricted service period. In this case, the quiet interval corresponding to the restricted service period indicates a quiet interval configured to protect the restricted service period of the restricted TWT. Specifically, the station participating in the restricted TWT may consider the quiet interval corresponding to the restricted service period as a restricted service period. Fig. 11-12 & ¶0161 - when a start time point of the restricted service period and a start time point of the quiet interval are within a predetermined time and a start time point of a service period and a start time point of the quiet interval are within a predetermined time, the station participating in the restricted service period may consider the quiet interval as a quiet interval corresponding to the restricted service period. Fig. 11-12 & ¶0162 - In an embodiment of FIG. 12, an AP configures a quiet interval and a restricted service period by transmitting a beacon frame. In (a) of FIG. 12, a quiet interval and a restricted service period are configured as the same time interval. Accordingly, a station participating in a restricted TWT performs channel access in the quiet interval. In (b) of FIG. 12, a quiet interval is configured as an interval between a time point earlier than a start time point of a restricted service period and a time point later than an end time point of the restricted service period. In (b) of FIG. 12, a station participating in a restricted TWT is restricted to perform channel access in a quiet interval not overlapping with the restricted service period. The station participating in the restricted TWT performs channel access in a quiet interval overlapping with the restricted service period.);
Yet, Kim does not expressly teach determine, based on not receiving a second frame during a first time period of the r-TWT SP, that a wireless medium is not used by the one or more STAs, wherein the first time period starts with the start time of the r-TWT SP; and based on the determining, transmit a third frame indicating termination of the r-TWT SP.
However, in the analogous art, Baek_LG_Facebook explicitly discloses determine, based on not receiving a second frame during a first time period of the r-TWT SP, that a wireless medium is not used by the one or more STAs, wherein the first time period starts with the start time of the r-TWT SP; and based on the determining, transmit a third frame indicating termination of the r-TWT SP. (Page 2 - The start time of the restricted TWT SP can be affected because the WM is busy or transmission of low latency data/traffic is sometimes unpredictable or has randomness. (The start time means to start exchange of latency sensitive data/traffic between AP and STA, which means the SP doesn’t move backward itself.) For example, the STA that does not support the restricted TWT and does not obtain the announcement of the restricted TWT SP from the associated AP may keep its TXOP. …. The total duration of the restricted TWT SP is reduced, which may not be able to provide enough time for the latency sensitive data/traffic delivery. To meet latency sensitive traffic requirement, a mechanism is needed to have enough of the medium access time. The comment of CID 2922 suggests that the end time of the restricted TWT SP can be extended when the start time is affected because of the busy WM.
Page 3 - Also, see the two options to signaling of the extension from AP to the member STAs along with the figure above; Page 3 - The end time of a restricted TWT service period may be extended when the member STA(s) cannot obtain TXOP at start of the restricted service period due to the busy WM. The maximum extended duration shouldn’t exceed over the overlapped duration between the end time of the preceding TXOP and the start time of the restricted TWT service period. A scheduling AP should not allow the restricted TWT service period with extended duration to overlap with any scheduled individual/broadcast or other restricted TWT service period. The TXOP of the STA with dot11RestrictedTWTOptionImplemented set to false or operating in the OBSS during the restricted TWT service period may make the WM scheduled for the restricted TWT service period busy. Note: During the (extended) restricted TWT service period, the STA with dot11RestrictedTWTOptionImplemented set to true …to determine if restricted TWT service period termination event has occurred and may enter doze state.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kim’s invention of multi-link device operating in multiple links in a next-generation wireless LAN system to include Baek_LG_Facebook’s invention of Channel access rules for restricted TWT service periods in a wireless LAN system, because it provides an efficient mechanism by extending end time of a restricted TWT (target wake time) SP (Service Period), low latency STA can have enough of medium access time for transmitting a latency sensitive data/traffic in the wireless LAN system. (Page 2, Baek_LG_Facebook)
Re. Claim 18, Kim and Baek_LG_Facebook teach claim 11.
Yet, Kim does not expressly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AP to determine that the wireless medium is used during the r-TWT SP based on: receiving a PHY-RXSTART.Indication; or receiving a frame from a STA belonging to a Basic Service Set (BSS) of the AP.
However, in the analogous art, Baek_LG_Facebook explicitly discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AP to determine that the wireless medium is used during the r-TWT SP based on: receiving a PHY-RXSTART.Indication; or receiving a frame from a STA belonging to a Basic Service Set (BSS) of the AP (Page 2 - The start time of the restricted TWT SP can be affected because the WM is busy or transmission of low latency data/traffic is sometimes unpredictable or has randomness. (The start time means to start exchange of latency sensitive data/traffic between AP and STA, which means the SP doesn’t move backward itself.) For example, the STA that does not support the restricted TWT and does not obtain the announcement of the restricted TWT SP from the associated AP may keep its TXOP. Also, we can consider the TXOP is operating in the OBSS during the restricted TWT SP. Page 3 - The end time of a restricted TWT service period may be extended when the member STA(s) cannot obtain TXOP at start of the restricted service period due to the busy WM. The maximum extended duration shouldn’t exceed over the overlapped duration between the end time of the preceding TXOP and the start time of the restricted TWT service period. A scheduling AP should not allow the restricted TWT service period with extended duration to overlap with any scheduled individual/broadcast or other restricted TWT service period. The TXOP of the STA with dot11RestrictedTWTOptionImplemented set to false or operating in the OBSS during the restricted TWT service period may make the WM scheduled for the restricted TWT service period busy. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kim’s invention of multi-link device operating in multiple links in a next-generation wireless LAN system to include Baek_LG_Facebook’s invention of Channel access rules for restricted TWT service periods in a wireless LAN system, because it provides an efficient mechanism by extending end time of a restricted TWT (target wake time) SP (Service Period), low latency STA can have enough of medium access time for transmitting a latency sensitive data/traffic in the wireless LAN system. (Page 2, Baek_LG_Facebook)
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Baek_LG_Facebook, further in view of HU et al. (2024/0098647), HU hereinafter.
Re. Claim 12, Kim and Baek_LG_Facebook teach claim 11.
Yet, Kim and Baek_LG_Facebook do not expressly teach wherein the second frame comprises at least one of: a medium access control (MAC) service data unit (MSDU) with a traffic identifier (TID) associated with the r-TWT SP; a request to send (RTS) frame; a power save-poll (PS-Poll) frame; and a quality of service (QoS) Null frame.
However, in the analogous art, HU explicitly discloses wherein the second frame comprises at least one of: a medium access control (MAC) service data unit (MSDU) with a traffic identifier (TID) associated with the r-TWT SP (Fig. 1-7/Fig.9 & ¶0054 - An AP (e.g., AP 105 and/or other device operating as a soft AP/hotspot) may enhance medium access protection and resource reservation by supporting restricted TWT (rTWT). The rTWT SPs may be used to deliver latency sensitive traffic and/or any additional frame that supports latency sensitive traffic. Broadcast TWT signaling may be extended for use in scheduling/negotiation/communicating rTWT SPs. … during a rTWT SP, the AP and a scheduled STA may require the transmission of QoS Data frames that are latency sensitive traffic. In other embodiments, during a rTWT SP, the AP and the STA may prioritize the transmission of QoS Data frames that are latency sensitive traffic. Fig. 1-7/Fig.9 & ¶0058 - a value of 1 (or 0) in bit position k in the bitmap may indicate TID k is identified as latency sensitive traffic, and Medium Access Control (MAC) Service Data Units (MSDUs) of TID k are allowed to be transmitted in the rTWT SP described/indicated by the Broadcast TWT Parameter Set Field. That is, the TIDs may specify latency sensitive traffic for a specific rTWT schedule. If a TID is indicated, then the traffic corresponding to the TID may be latency sensitive traffic. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”); a request to send (RTS) frame; a power save-poll (PS-Poll) frame; and a quality of service (QoS) Null frame.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kim’s invention of multi-link device operating in multiple links in a next-generation wireless LAN system and Baek_LG_Facebook’s invention of Channel access rules for restricted TWT service periods in a wireless LAN system to include HU’s invention of a system and method related to using restricted target wake time (rTWT) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for identifying latency sensitive traffic streams as used in artificial reality such as a virtual reality (VR), an augmented reality (AR), or a mixed reality (MR), prioritized those latency sensitive traffic streams for transmission during a restricted TWT service period operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0010, HU)
Re. Claim 19, Kim and Baek_LG_Facebook teach claim 11.
Yet, Kim and Baek_LG_Facebook do not expressly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AP to maintain the r-TWT SP in response to: receiving a medium access control (MAC) service data unit (MSDU) with a traffic identifier (TID) associated with the r-TWT SP; receiving a request to send (RTS) frame from a STA of the one or more STAs; or receiving a response frame from a STA in response to a request frame.
However, in the analogous art, HU explicitly discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors (Fig. 1, 105 & ¶0089-¶0090), further cause the AP (Fig.1, 105) to maintain the r-TWT SP in response to: receiving a medium access control (MAC) service data unit (MSDU) with a traffic identifier (TID) associated with the r-TWT SP (Fig. 1-7/Fig.9 & ¶0054 - An AP (e.g., AP 105 and/or other device operating as a soft AP/hotspot) may enhance medium access protection and resource reservation by supporting restricted TWT (rTWT). The rTWT SPs may be used to deliver latency sensitive traffic and/or any additional frame that supports latency sensitive traffic. Broadcast TWT signaling may be extended for use in scheduling/negotiation/communicating rTWT SPs. … during a rTWT SP, the AP and a scheduled STA may require the transmission of QoS Data frames that are latency sensitive traffic. In other embodiments, during a rTWT SP, the AP and the STA may prioritize the transmission of QoS Data frames that are latency sensitive traffic. Fig. 1-7/Fig.9 & ¶0058 - a value of 1 (or 0) in bit position k in the bitmap may indicate TID k is identified as latency sensitive traffic, and Medium Access Control (MAC) Service Data Units (MSDUs) of TID k are allowed to be transmitted in the rTWT SP described/indicated by the Broadcast TWT Parameter Set Field. That is, the TIDs may specify latency sensitive traffic for a specific rTWT schedule. If a TID is indicated, then the traffic corresponding to the TID may be latency sensitive traffic. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”); receiving a request to send (RTS) frame from a STA of the one or more STAs; or receiving a response frame from a STA in response to a request frame.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kim’s invention of multi-link device operating in multiple links in a next-generation wireless LAN system and Baek_LG_Facebook’s invention of Channel access rules for restricted TWT service periods in a wireless LAN system to include HU’s invention of a system and method related to using restricted target wake time (rTWT) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for identifying latency sensitive traffic streams as used in artificial reality such as a virtual reality (VR), an augmented reality (AR), or a mixed reality (MR), prioritized those latency sensitive traffic streams for transmission during a restricted TWT service period operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0010, HU)
Claims 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Baek_LG_Facebook, further in view of Min et al. (2022/0141680), Min hereinafter.
Re. Claim 13, Kim and Baek_LG_Facebook teach claim 11.
Yet, Kim does not expressly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AP to: determine that the wireless medium is not used based on not receiving a response frame in response to the request frame.
However, in the analogous art, Baek_LG_Facebook explicitly discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AP to: determine that the wireless medium is not used based on not receiving a response frame in response to the request frame. (Page 2 - The start time of the restricted TWT SP can be affected because the WM is busy or transmission of low latency data/traffic is sometimes unpredictable or has randomness. (The start time means to start exchange of latency sensitive data/traffic between AP and STA, which means the SP doesn’t move backward itself.) For example, the STA that does not support the restricted TWT and does not obtain the announcement of the restricted TWT SP from the associated AP may keep its TXOP. …. The total duration of the restricted TWT SP is reduced, which may not be able to provide enough time for the latency sensitive data/traffic delivery. To meet latency sensitive traffic requirement, a mechanism is needed to have enough of the medium access time. The comment of CID 2922 suggests that the end time of the restricted TWT SP can be extended when the start time is affected because of the busy WM.
Page 3 - Also, see the two options to signaling of the extension from AP to the member STAs along with the figure above; Page 3 - The end time of a restricted TWT service period may be extended when the member STA(s) cannot obtain TXOP at start of the restricted service period due to the busy WM. The maximum extended duration shouldn’t exceed over the overlapped duration between the end time of the preceding TXOP and the start time of the restricted TWT service period. A scheduling AP should not allow the restricted TWT service period with extended duration to overlap with any scheduled individual/broadcast or other restricted TWT service period. The TXOP of the STA with dot11RestrictedTWTOptionImplemented set to false or operating in the OBSS during the restricted TWT service period may make the WM scheduled for the restricted TWT service period busy. Note: During the (extended) restricted TWT service period, the STA with dot11RestrictedTWTOptionImplemented set to true …to determine if restricted TWT service period termination event has occurred and may enter doze state.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kim’s invention of multi-link device operating in multiple links in a next-generation wireless LAN system to include Baek_LG_Facebook’s invention of Channel access rules for restricted TWT service periods in a wireless LAN system, because it provides an efficient mechanism by extending end time of a restricted TWT (target wake time) SP (Service Period), low latency STA can have enough of medium access time for transmitting a latency sensitive data/traffic in the wireless LAN system. (Page 2, Baek_LG_Facebook)
Yet, Kim and Baek_LG_Facebook do not expressly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AP to: transmit, during the r-TWT SP, a request frame soliciting the one or more-STAs for uplink transmission,
However, in the analogous art, Min explicitly discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors (Fig. 1, 120), further cause the AP to: transmit, during the r-TWT SP, a request frame soliciting the one or more-STAs for uplink transmission,(Fig. 1/Fig.10C & Fig. 11A & ¶0156 - in operation 1015c, the electronic device 101 or the external electronic device 205 may identify whether or not a trigger frame…. the NAV value may indicate information on the time for which the wireless channel is occupied by the first external electronic device that transmits the trigger frame, the RTS (ready-to-send or request-to-send), or the CTS (clear-to-send) and the second external electronic device that transmits and/or receives data to and/or from the first external electronic device, and may provide a function of restricting access of devices, which are different from the first and second external electronic devices, to a wireless medium until the NAV value becomes 0. … if the trigger frame, RTS, and/or CTS of another external electronic device are not detected, the electronic device 101 or the external electronic device 205 may reperform operation 1010c, thereby transmitting and/or receiving a corresponding next data frame during the next TWT service period. Fig. 1/Fig.10C & Fig. 11A & ¶0157 - the electronic device 101 or the external electronic device 205 may identify the time during which access of the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device 205 to the wireless medium is restricted in the TWT service period in which the trigger frame, RTS, and/or CTS of another external electronic device are detected on the basis of the NAV value, and may identify the time value obtained by subtracting the time during which access to the wireless medium is restricted from the duration of the TWT service period. Fig. 1/Fig.10C & Fig. 11A & ¶0180 - if it is identified that failure of transmission of all/a portion of the data frame continuously occurs in the consecutive TWT service periods (e.g., the 2nd service period and the 3rd service period), the electronic device 101 or the external electronic device 205 may transmit, to the counterpart device, a message (e.g., a TWT request frame and/or a TWT response frame) for TWT reset (e.g., a TWT setup 1111). For example, the message (e.g., the TWT request frame and/or the TWT response frame) may include information on at least one parameter (e.g., a TWT wake duration, a TWT wake interval, and a target wake time) of the TWT service period. …. the electronic device 101 or the external electronic device 205 may transmit a message (e.g., the TWT request frame and/or TWT response frame) including information on a TWT wake duration 1113b that is different from the TWT wake duration determined at the time of initial setup.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kim’s invention of multi-link device operating in multiple links in a next-generation wireless LAN system and Baek_LG_Facebook’s invention of Channel access rules for restricted TWT service periods in a wireless LAN system to include Min’s invention of a system and method for performing rescheduling over a wireless channel on the basis of a wireless channel environment in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for minimizing current consumption of external electronic device (e.g., AR glasses as shown in Fig.2) for providing an effective augmented reality experience (AR experience) to a user over the wireless channel in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0011, Min)
Re. Claim 14, Kim, Baek_LG_Facebook and Min teach claim 13.
Kim further teaches wherein the third frame comprises: a control frame (Fig. 14-15 & ¶0187 - The AP may terminate the restricted service period early by transmitting a predetermined control frame. In this case, the control frame may be a CF-End frame <i.e.., third frame, see ¶0246/¶0293 in the instant application, also, see, claim objection>. Fig. 14-15 & ¶0188 - The station having received, in the restricted service period, a predetermined frame indicating termination of the restricted service period may determine that the restricted service period has been terminated. In this case, the station having received the predetermined frame may resume channel access without restriction applied to the restricted service period. As describe above, the predetermined frame may be a CF-End frame <i.e.., third frame, see ¶0246/¶0293 in the instant application, also, see, claim objection>. In this case, a value of a TA(BSSID) field of the CF-End frame received by the station in the restricted service period is a MAC address of an AP with which the station is associated, the station may determine the frame as a CF-End frame for terminating the restricted service period. Fig. 14-15 & ¶0191 - …. …. when the CF-End frame < i.e., third frame, see ¶0246/¶0293 in the instant application, also, see, claim objection > is used to terminate the restricted service period early, the AP may transmit the CF-End frame <i.e., third frame, see ¶0246/¶0293 in the instant application, also, see, claim objection > within the restricted service period. Fig. 14-15 & ¶0192 - When the AP determines that all low latency traffic transmission is completed within the restricted service period, the AP terminates the restricted service period early by transmitting the CF-End frame < i.e., third frame, see ¶0246/¶0293 in the instant application, also, see, claim objection>, and releases the quiet interval configured for the legacy station. In this case, the station supporting the restricted TWT determines that channel access restriction applied during the restricted service period has been removed. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”); a contention free-end (CF-End) frame; a quality of service (QoS) Data frame; or a QoS Null frame.
Re. Claim 16, Kim, Baek_LG_Facebook and Min teach claim 14.
Kim further teaches wherein the control frame comprises a field indicating termination of the r-TWT SP (Fig. 14-15 & ¶0187 - The AP may terminate the restricted service period early by transmitting a predetermined control frame. In this case, the control frame may be a CF-End frame <i.e.., third frame, see ¶0246/¶0293 in the instant application, also, see, claim objection>. Fig. 14-15 & ¶0188 - The station having received, in the restricted service period, a predetermined frame indicating termination of the restricted service period may determine that the restricted service period has been terminated. In this case, the station having received the predetermined frame may resume channel access without restriction applied to the restricted service period. As describe above, the predetermined frame may be a CF-End frame <i.e.., third frame, see ¶0246/¶0293 in the instant application, also, see, claim objection>. In this case, a value of a TA(BSSID) field of the CF-End frame received by the station in the restricted service period is a MAC address of an AP with which the station is associated, the station may determine the frame as a CF-End frame for terminating the restricted service period. Fig. 14-15 & ¶0191 - …. …. when the CF-End frame < i.e., third frame, see ¶0246/¶0293 in the instant application, also, see, claim objection > is used to terminate the restricted service period early, the AP may transmit the CF-End frame <i.e., third frame, see ¶0246/¶0293 in the instant application, also, see, claim objection > within the restricted service period. Fig. 14-15 & ¶0192 - When the AP determines that all low latency traffic transmission is completed within the restricted service period, the AP terminates the restricted service period early by transmitting the CF-End frame < i.e., third frame, see ¶0246/¶0293 in the instant application, also, see, claim objection>, and releases the quiet interval configured for the legacy station. In this case, the station supporting the restricted TWT determines that channel access restriction applied during the restricted service period has been removed).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Baek_LG_Facebook, in view of Min, further in view of Xin et al. (2022/0386372), Xin hereinafter.
Re. Claim 15, Kim, Baek_LG_Facebook and Min teach claim 14.
Yet, Kim, Baek_LG_Facebook and Min do not expressly teach wherein the QoS Null frame or the QoS Data frame comprises at least one of: an aggregate control (A-Control) field indicating termination of r-TWT SP; or a QoS Control field with an end of service period (EOSP) field set to 1.
However, in the analogous art, Xin explicitly discloses wherein the QoS Null frame or the QoS Data frame comprises at least one of: an aggregate control (A-Control) field indicating termination of r-TWT SP; or a QoS Control field with an end of service period (EOSP) field set to 1 (Fig. 15 & ¶0152 - The AP affiliated with the same MLD of the R-TWT SP2 members on link1 (e.g., AP1) may access 382 the channel on link1 for communicating 384 until the R-TWT SP on link2 ends for the following purposes only. The scheduling AP may access the channel to send a frame, such as a QoS Data or QoS Null frame that had the EOSP subfield equal to 1, to indicate the end of R-TWT SP1 since it is canceled. The AP may access the channel to serve the R-TWT members whose MLDs are not R-TWT members on link2. The AP may access the channel to send a frame (e.g., CF-End) to indicate the end of the R-TWT SP or the end of the quiet time on link1 which is as depicted 384 in the figure. The TA field of the frame (e.g., CF-End) can be set to a special ID to a link that can be mapped to the R-TWT ID and/or the STA ID and/or BSS ID.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kim’s invention of multi-link device operating in multiple links in a next-generation wireless LAN system and Baek_LG_Facebook’s invention of Channel access rules for restricted TWT service periods in a wireless LAN system and Min’s invention of a system and method for performing rescheduling over a wireless channel on the basis of a wireless channel environment in a wireless communication system to include Xin’s invention of a system and method for performing restricted target wait time (R-TWT) operations in a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN), because it provides an efficient mechanism for reducing latency, such as for real-time application traffic or other latency sensitive traffic, and in particular traffic from stations that operate in a low power configuration operating in the Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN). (¶0002-¶0008, Xin)
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Baek_LG_Facebook, further in view of HO.
Re. Claim 17, Kim and Baek_LG_Facebook teach claim 11.
Yet, Kim and Baek_LG_Facebook do not expressly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AP to determine the first time period based on an access category of a traffic identifier (TID) associated with the r-TWT SP.
However, in the analogous art, HO explicitly discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors (Fig. 5A, 530), further cause the AP to determine the first time period based on an access category of a traffic identifier (TID) associated with the r-TWT SP (Fig. 1-15 & ¶0101 - A method for wireless communication performed by a wireless communication device operating as an access point (AP), including: [0102] establishing a restricted target wake time (TWT) session on a wireless medium for one or more wireless stations (STAs) associated with latency sensitive traffic, the restricted TWT session including one or more restricted TWT service periods (SPs) for communications on the wireless medium with only the one or more STAs associated with the latency sensitive traffic; Fig. 1-15 & ¶0121:¶0124 - 12. The method of any one or more of clauses 1-11, where establishing the restricted TWT session includes: transmitting a frame indicating a latency sensitive traffic priority associated with the restricted TWT session; and receiving, from each of the one or more STAs, a request to become a member of the restricted TWT session based on the indicated latency sensitive traffic priority. 13. The method of clause 12, where the indicated latency sensitive traffic priority corresponds to one or more selected traffic identifiers (TIDs). 14. The method of clause 13, where the one or more selected TIDs are associated with a voice access category (AC_VO)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention and Baek_LG_Facebook’s invention of Channel access rules for restricted TWT service periods in a wireless LAN system to combine Kim’s invention of multi-link device operating in multiple links in a next-generation wireless LAN system to include HO’s invention of a system and method for low-latency enhancements for a wireless network, because it provides an efficient mechanism for ensuring certain data throughput levels are maintained for latency sensitive traffic in a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN). (¶0002-¶0004, HO)
Response to Arguments
Earlier claim objection for claim 11 has been withdrawn following the amended claim languages as submitted on 06/08/2026.
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in pages 7-8 for independent claim 1, applicant argues that Chunyu fails to teach, “based on not receiving a second frame from the AP during a first time period within the trigger-enabled r-TWT SP, transmit a non-trigger based frame to the AP “.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, Baek_LG_Facebook [Wingdings font/0xF3] IEEE 802.11-21/0672r1; Title: TGbe D0.3 Comment Resolutions for Restricted TWT SP; Baek et. al., Affiliation: LG/Facebook, Date: 2021-04-15 as submitted in IDS, discloses the limitation as mapped in §103 rejection, mentioned supra.
Regarding remarks in pages 8-9 for independent claim 11, applicant argues that Kim fails to teach, “determine, based on not receiving a second frame during a first time period of the r-TWT SP, that a wireless medium is not used by the one or more STAs, wherein the first time period starts with the start time of the r-TWT SP; and based on the determining, transmit a third frame indicating termination of the r-TWT SP “.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, Baek_LG_Facebook [Wingdings font/0xF3] IEEE 802.11-21/0672r1; Title: TGbe D0.3 Comment Resolutions for Restricted TWT SP; Baek et. al., Affiliation: LG/Facebook, Date: 2021-04-15 as submitted in IDS, discloses the limitation as mapped in §103 rejection, mentioned supra.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 1 and 20 are unpatentable over Baek, in view of Baek_LG_Facebook.
For similar reasons, it is maintained that independent claim 11 is unpatentable over Kim, in view of Baek_LG_Facebook.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1, and 11, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467