DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 29 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 29, R1-155820 and 3GPPTS38.214 alone or in combination fail to disclose the limitations that read, “wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the user equipment to receive a second CSI reference resource after a transmission of the channel state metric, wherein the second CSI reference resource indicates a second CSI-RS transmission power level different from the CSI-RS transmission power level indicated by the first CSI reference resource”, in combination with all the limitations of claim 1, and within the context of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12-15, 11-12 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CSI Measurements and Measurements restrictions (hereinafter, R1-155820).
Regarding claim 1, R1-155820 discloses a user equipment (Page 1, Introduction, “UE”) configured for wireless communications, comprising:
one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions (Page 1, Introduction, “UE”, UEs inherently comprise at least one memory that stores processor-executable instructions that are executed by at least one processors) and cause the user equipment to:
receive a first channel state information (CSI) reference resource indicating a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission power level (Fig. 4 and page 5, lines 16-19, “the eNB configures MR interval X…determines the maximum number of NZP [non zero power] CSI-RS/IMR subframes up to and including the CSI reference resource”, where by being NZP CSI-RS subframe will indicate the CSI-RS transmission power level);
receive one or more CSI measurement resources during an implicit indication interval beginning with the first CSI reference resource and ending with an uplink resource configured for sending a channel state metric (Fig. 4 and page 5, lines 16-19, “the eNB configures MR interval X…determines the maximum number of NZP [non zero power] CSI-RS/IMR subframes up to and including the CSI reference resource”); and
determine the channel state metric based on the CSI-RS transmission power level and at least one of the one or more CSI measurement resources (page 1, section 1, “For a given CSI process, if ME on channel measurement is ON, then the channel used for CSI computation can be estimated from X NZP CSI-RS subframe(s) up until and including CSI reference resource”),
wherein the first CSI reference resource implicitly indicates to the user equipment that the CSI-RS transmission power level applies to all of the one or more CSI measurement resources (page 1, section 1, “For a given CSI process, if ME on channel measurement is ON, then the channel used for CSI computation can be estimated from X NZP CSI-RS subframe(s) up until and including CSI reference resource…”, where the subframe including NZP CSI-RS indicates implicit indicating).
Regarding claim 14, R1-155820 discloses a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (Page 1, Introduction, “UE”), comprising:
receiving a first channel state information (CSI) reference resource indicating a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission power level (Fig. 4 and page 5, lines 16-19, “the eNB configures MR interval X…determines the maximum number of NZP [non zero power] CSI-RS/IMR subframes up to and including the CSI reference resource”, where by being NZP CSI-RS subframe will indicate the CSI-RS transmission power level);
receiving one or more CSI measurement resources during an implicit indication interval beginning with the first CSI reference resource and ending with an uplink resource configured for sending a channel state metric (Fig. 4 and page 5, lines 16-19, “the eNB configures MR interval X…determines the maximum number of NZP [non zero power] CSI-RS/IMR subframes up to and including the CSI reference resource”); and
determining the channel state metric based on the CSI-RS transmission power level and at least one of the one or more CSI measurement resources (page 1, section 1, “For a given CSI process, if ME on channel measurement is ON, then the channel used for CSI computation can be estimated from X NZP CSI-RS subframe(s) up until and including CSI reference resource…”).
Regarding claim 15, R1-155820 discloses a network entity configured for wireless communications (page 4, section 4, “eNB”), comprising:
one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions (Page 4, section 4, “eNB”, eNBs inherently comprise at least one memory that stores processor-executable instructions that are executed by at least one processors) and cause the network entity to:
send, to a user equipment, a first channel state information (CSI) reference resource indicating a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission power level (Fig. 4 and page 5, lines 16-19, “the eNB configures MR interval X…determines the maximum number of NZP [non zero power] CSI-RS/IMR subframes up to and including the CSI reference resource”);
send, to the user equipment, one or more CSI measurement resources during an implicit indication interval beginning with the first CSI reference resource and ending with an uplink resource configured for receiving a channel state metric (Fig. 4 and page 5, lines 16-19, “the eNB configures MR interval X…determines the maximum number of NZP [non zero power] CSI-RS/IMR subframes up to and including the CSI reference resource”, where being NZP CSI-RS subframes will indicate the CSI-RS transmission power level); and
receive, from the user equipment, the channel state metric (Page 1, Introduction section, “feedback”, the eNB receives the feedback sent by the UE),
wherein the first CSI reference resource is configured to implicitly indicate to the user equipment that the CSI-RS transmission power level applies to all of the one or more CSI measurement resources (page 1, section 1, “For a given CSI process, if ME on channel measurement is ON, then the channel used for CSI computation can be estimated from X NZP CSI-RS subframe(s) up until and including CSI reference resource…”, where the subframe including NZP CSI-RS indicates implicit indicating as well as power level).
Regarding claim 27, R1-155820 discloses a method (Page 1, “Introduction”) for wireless communications by a network entity, comprising:
sending, to a user equipment, a first channel state information (CSI) reference resource indicating a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission power level (Fig. 4 and page 5, lines 16-19, “the eNB configures MR interval X…determines the maximum number of NZP [non zero power] CSI-RS/IMR subframes up to and including the CSI reference resources”, where being NZP CSI-RS subframes will indicate the CSI-RS transmission power level);
sending, to the user equipment, one or more CSI measurement resources during an implicit indication interval beginning with the first CSI reference resource (page 1, section 1, “For a given CSI process, if ME on channel measurement is ON, then the channel used for CSI computation can be estimated from X NZP CSI-RS subframe(s) up until and including CSI reference resource…”, where the subframe including NZP CSI-RS indicates implicit indication) and
sending with an uplink resource configured for receiving a channel state metric (Page 1, Introduction section, “feedback”, the UE provides the requested report/s to the eNB); and
receiving, from the user equipment via the uplink resource, the channel state metric (Page 1, Introduction section, “feedback”, the eNB receives the feedback sent by the UE),
wherein the first CSI reference resource is configured to implicitly indicate to the user equipment that the CSI-RS transmission power level applies to all of the one or more CSI measurement resources (page 1, section 1, “For a given CSI process, if ME on channel measurement is ON, then the channel used for CSI computation can be estimated from X NZP CSI-RS subframe(s) up until and including CSI reference resource…”, where the subframe including NZP CSI-RS indicates implicit indication).
Regarding claims 12 and 26, R1-155820 and 3GPPTS38.214 disclose all the limitations of claims 1 and 15, respectively. R1-155820 further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the user equipment to perform one or more of the following based on the channel state metric: beam management; radio link failure detection; beam failure detection; time and frequency synchronization; or connected mode mobility (Page 2, section 2, “UE specific beamformed CSI-RS based schemes”).
Regarding claim 13, R1-155820 and 3GPPTS38.214 disclose all the limitations of claim 1. R1-155820 further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the user equipment to send, to a network entity via the uplink resource, the channel state metric (Page 1, Introduction section, second bullet point, “For a given CSI process with CSI-IM(s), if MR on interference measurement is ON then the interference used for CSI computation can be estimated from Y CSI-IM subframe(s) up until and including CSI reference resource”, where subframe set CSM may measure subframes which are aligned with interference).
Regarding claim 28, R1-155820 and 3GPPTS38.214 disclose all the limitations of claim 1. R1-155820 further discloses wherein the user equipment is configured to assume that a transmission power level for each of the CSI measurement resources received during the implicit indication interval is the same as the transmission power level indicated by the first CSI reference resource without an explicit signal of the transmission power level of the CSI measurement resource from a network entity ((Fig. 4 and page 5, lines 16-19, “the eNB configures MR interval X…determines the maximum number of NZP [non zero power] CSI-RS/IMR subframes up to and including the CSI reference resource”, where by being NZP CSI-RS subframe will indicate the CSI-RS transmission power level. Based on New Radio protocols, which provides implicit indication of transmission power for Channel State Information (CSI) reference signals (CSI‑RS) means that when a reference CSI‑RS resource explicitly carries a known transmission power level, the system can use that power value to determine the power for other CSI‑RS resources in the same CSI‑RS set or measurement interval without needing separate explicit power configurations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-11, and 16-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1-155820 in view of "3r Generation Partnership Project, Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network, NR, Physical Layer Procedures for Data (Release 17)" hereinafter (3GPPTS38.214).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, R1-155820 discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 15, respectively. Although implied by R1-155820 (Page 5, lines 20-22, “flexibility in configuring MR interval at the network side…if it can be assumed that the specified MR interval X and the actual implemented by UE and denoted by X-UE (in Figure 4) are equal”).
In related art concerning technical specifications group access network, NR, 3GPPTS38.214 discloses wherein the first CSI reference resource further indicates that time restriction for channel measurement is not configured (Page 87, section 5.2.2.1 “timeRestrictionForChannelMeasurements is set to ‘notConfigured’…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use 3GPPTS38.214’s teachings wherein the first CSI reference resource further indicates that time restriction for channel measurement is not configured with the CSI measurement and measurement restrictions disclosed by R1-155820 because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by unrestricted observation interval in time, resources are saved, as well as allowing flexibility in the system that allows improvement in quality of service and resource allocation based on the many types of services/communications needed in NR systems.
Regarding claims 3 and 17, R1-155820 and 3GPPTS38.214 disclose all the limitations of claims 2 and 16, respectively. R1-155820 further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the user equipment to determine the channel state metric based on the CSI-RS transmission power level and each of the one or more CSI measurement resources (Fig. 4 and page 5, lines 16-19, where the UE makes the measurements based on the CSI-RS transmission power level and the CSI measurement resources configured by the eNB).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, R1-155820 and 3GPPTS38.214 disclose all the limitations of claims 2 and 16, respectively. R1-155820 further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the user equipment to determine the channel state metric based on a subset of the one or more CSI measurement resources (Fig. 4, “X-UE”).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, R1-155820 and 3GPPTS38.214 disclose all the limitations of claims 4 and 18, respectively. R1-155820 further discloses wherein the subset comprises a number of CSI measurement resources before the uplink resource configured for reporting the channel state metric (Fig. 4 and page 5, lines 16-19, “the eNB configures MR interval X…determines the maximum number of NZP [non zero power] CSI-RS/IMR subframes up to and including the CSI reference resource.” Where the number is not a pre-set number; therefore, any number of measurements, including one measurement reads on the limitation. Also, the measurements are made during the interval between the configuration/request and the feedback transmission. Please note that claim 4 indicates where number of subsets can be “one”).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, R1-155820 and 3GPPTS38.214 disclose all the limitations of claims 5 and 19, respectively. R1-155820 further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the user equipment to receive an indication of the number of CSI measurement resources before the uplink resource configured for reporting the channel state metric (Page 1, section 1, “…based on L1 triggering and/or higher layer signaling for dynamic CSI request”, where the CSI configuration or request is sent by the eNB).
Regarding claims 7 and 21, R1-155820 and 3GPPTS38.214 disclose all the limitations of claims 6 and 20, respectively. R1-155820 further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the user equipment to receive the indication via system information or radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Page 1, section 1, “…based on L1 triggering and/or higher layer signaling for dynamic CSI request”, eNB request).
Regarding claims 8 and 22, R1-155820 and 3GPPTS38.214 disclose all the limitations of claims 4 and 18, respectively. R1-155820 further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the user equipment to receive an indication of the subset of the one or more CSI measurement resources (page 1, introduction: “the channel used for CSI computation can be estimated from X NZP CSI-RS subframe(s) up until and including CSI reference resource”, where at UE “knows” corresponding to :receive an indication” of the subset of one CSI that has been measured before the CSI reference resource).
Regarding claims 9 and 23, R1-155820 and 3GPPTS38.214 disclose all the limitations of claims 8 and 22, respectively. R1-155820 further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the user equipment to receive the indication via radio resource control (RRC) signaling or via one of layer 1 or layer 2 signaling (Page 1, section 1, “…based on L1 triggering and/or higher layer signaling for dynamic CSI request”, eNB request).
Regarding claims 10 and 24, R1-155820 discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 15, respectively.
R1-155820 does not specifically disclose wherein: the first CSI reference resource further indicates that time restriction for channel measurement is configured, and the one or more processors are further configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the user equipment to determine the channel state metric based on the CSI-RS transmission power level and a latest CSI-RS measurement resource of the one or more CSI measurement resources.
3GPPTS38.214 discloses wherein: the first CSI reference resource further indicates that time restriction for channel measurement is configured, and the one or more processors are further configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the user equipment to determine the channel state metric based on the CSI-RS transmission power level and a latest CSI-RS measurement resource of the one or more CSI measurement resources (page 88, first paragraph, “timeRestrictionForChannelMeasurements in CSI-ReportConfig is set to ‘Configured’”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use 3GPPTS38.214’s teachings wherein: the CSI reference resource further indicates that time restriction for channel measurement is configured, and the one or more processors are further configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the user equipment to determine the channel state metric based on the CSI-RS transmission power level and a latest CSI-RS measurement resource of the one or more CSI measurement resources with the CSI measurement and measurement restrictions disclosed by R1-155820 because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by restricting the observation interval in time ensures channel state conditions feedback for services that require high precision communications.
Regarding claims 11 and 25, R1-155820 discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 15, respectively.
R1-155820 does not specifically disclose wherein the channel state metric comprises one or more of: a reference signal received power (RSRP) value; a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) value; or a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) value.
3GPPTS38.214 discloses herein the channel state metric comprises one or more of: a reference signal received power (RSRP) value; a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) value; or a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) value (Page 72, section 5.2.1.4.2, “CSI-ReportConfig…reportQuantity… ‘cri-RSRP’; page 73, “‘cri-SINR-Index’” ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use 3GPPTS38.214’s teachings wherein the channel state metric comprises one or more of: a reference signal received power (RSRP) value; a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) value; or a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) value with the CSI measurement and measurement restrictions disclosed by R1-155820 because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that at least RSRP and SINR reports are crucial in maintaining a reliable connection, since RSRP and SINR provide a clear indication of the quality of the signal/s received.
Note: The examiner has cited the PCT written Opining provided in IDS dated 10/12/2024.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the Remarks, the Applicant argues in substance:
“R1-155820 does not disclose each and every detail of ‘receive one or more CSI measurement resources during an implicit indication interval beginning with the first CSI reference resource and ending with an uplink resource configured for sending a channel state metric,’ as recited in amended independent claim 1 and as similarly recited in amended independent claims 14, 15, and 27.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. As stated in the non-final rejection, the CSI reference resource which is the first in a NZP-CSI-RS (non-zero power channel state information resource signal) subframe indicates the transmission power level which is considered by the UE to make the measurements of the CSIs. The power of the reference resource implicitly indicates that all the NZP-CSI-RS within the subframe that contains the CSI reference resource will have the same power as the reference resource and up to the last CSI before the UE provides a report of the measurements made in the CSIs. Therefore, based on New Radio protocols, which provides implicit indication of transmission power for Channel State Information (CSI) reference signals (CSI‑RS) means that when a reference CSI‑RS resource explicitly carries a known transmission power level, the system can use that power value to determine the power for other CSI‑RS resources in the same CSI‑RS set or measurement interval without needing separate explicit power configurations.
The same argument applied to the dependent claims, since they were not argued separately.
The examiner has given a broad and reasonable interpretation to the claims, in view of the specification and considers that the references cited read on the claims, as presently written.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230370139 A1, relates to method and apparatus for a CSI reference resource and reporting window.
US 20230344592 A1, relates to periodic reference signal transmission for energy saving.
US 20250344086 A1, method and device for measuring and reporting interference signal in wireless communication system.
US 20250279808 A1, relates to CSI reporting enhancements for type II codebook.
US 20230111064 A1, relates to method and apparatus for beam measurement and reporting.
US 20230171788 A1, relates to method and apparatus for beam selection and reporting in a wireless communication system.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2600's customer service number is 703-306-0377.
/Angelica M. Perez/
Patent Examiner AU 2649