1/DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Reichel (US 2022/0085541).
Regarding claim 1, Reichel discloses an electrical connector comprising:
a conductor element (18),
a fastening element (22) contacting the conductor element,
a contact ring (20),
an annular collar (26), and
a protective sleeve (28) fixed to the contact ring and partially covering the fastening element, the annular collar surrounding the contact ring, the annular collar and the protective sleeve forming a touch protection preventing unintentional contact of the contact ring and the fastening element (see Fig. 5).
Claims 1-2, 7, and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Tsuruta (US 2007/0207652).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuruta discloses an electrical connector comprising:
a conductor element (50),
a fastening element (60) contacting the conductor element,
a contact ring (40),
an annular collar (at 11, 12 shown in Fig. 1), and
a protective sleeve (20) fixed to the contact ring and partially covering the fastening element, the annular collar surrounding the contact ring, the annular collar and the protective sleeve forming a touch protection preventing unintentional contact of the contact ring and the fastening element.
Regarding claim 2, Tsuruta discloses the protective sleeve has at least one radially outwardly projecting projection (at 25, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Tsuruta discloses the protective sleeve extends in an axial direction beyond the fastening element.
Regarding claim 10, Tsuruta discloses the fastening element has a decreasing diameter at least in a first end region (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Tsuruta discloses the fastening element has at least one flange; and wherein the flange bears against the conductor element.
[AltContent: textbox (Rib)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Flange)][AltContent: textbox (Decreasing diameter)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 12, Tsuruta discloses the conductor element has a conductor passageway (56); and wherein the fastening element passes through the conductor passageway and bears with the flange against the conductor element.
Regarding claim 13, Tsuruta discloses the fastening element is connected to one of the conductor element or the contact ring.
Regarding claim 14, Tsuruta discloses the fastening element is connected to one of the conductor element or the contact ring in at least one of a form-fitting, a force-fitting, or a material-fitting manner.
Regarding claim 15, Tsuruta discloses the fastening element has a height and outwardly projecting ribs at least over part of the height; and wherein the fastening element is pressed with the outwardly projecting ribs to at least one of the conductor element or the contact ring.
Regarding claim 16, Tsuruta discloses the conductor element and the contact ring are made of an electrically conductive material.
Regarding claim 17, Tsuruta discloses the annular collar and the protective sleeve are made of an electrically insulating material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuruta (US 2007/0207652).
Tsuruta substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the material of the electrically conductive material is copper; and wherein the electrically insulating material is plastic.
Official Notice is taken (see MPEP 2144.03). Using a copper material for an electrical component and plastic for electrical insulating in an electrical connector assembly is a well-known material before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 are allowed.
Claim 19, The prior art of record failed to teach the protective sleeve having at least one radially outwardly projecting projection interacting with the contact ring to hold the protective sleeve on the contact ring; and the protective sleeve extending in an axial direction beyond the fastening element.
Claim 20, the prior art of record failed to teach the protective sleeve having at least one radially outwardly projecting projection interacting with the contact ring to hold the protective sleeve on the contact ring; the protective sleeve extending in an axial direction beyond the fastening element; the contact ring having at least one recess with an abutment; the fastening element having an abutment shoulder; and wherein the radially outwardly projecting projection of the protective sleeve is held in the recess of the contact ring between the abutment of the contact ring and the abutment shoulder of the fastening element.
Claims3-6 and 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834