DETAILED ACTION
This is the second Office action on the merits of the claims.
All citations to the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP) refer to Revision 01.2024, which was released in November 2024.
Status of the Claims
In the Reply filed 18 July 2026, Applicant amended claims 1-2, 5, and 15. Additionally, Applicant added two new claims, i.e., claims 21-22. Accordingly, claims 1-22 are pending.
Status of the Rejections
The rejection of claims 1, 3, 5-8, and 10-13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fakhari (WO 2018/049017 A1), as evidenced by Wang (“Modified PLGA–PEG–PLGA thermosensitive hydrogels with suitable thermosensitivity and properties for use in a drug delivery system.” Journal of materials chemistry B 5.8 (2017): 1551-1565) and Patinote (“Agonist and antagonist ligands of toll-like receptors 7 and 8: Ingenious tools for therapeutic purposes.” European journal of medicinal chemistry 193 (2020): 112238) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s narrowing amendment to claim 1 adding the following limitation: “the hydrophobic immune-adjuvant having a concentration of greater than or equal to 2 mg per 1 mL of injectable composition.”
Both rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 set forth in the previous Office action (13 April 2026) were predicated on the foregoing rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102. Accordingly, those §103 rejections are withdrawn.
All rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 set forth in this Office action are new and have been necessitated by Applicant’s recent claim amendments.
Warning: Duplicate Claims
Applicant is advised again that should claim 11 be found allowable, claim 12 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-13, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fakhari (WO 2018/049017 A1), as evidenced by Wang (“Modified PLGA–PEG–PLGA thermosensitive hydrogels with suitable thermosensitivity and properties for use in a drug delivery system.” Journal of materials chemistry B 5.8 (2017): 1551-1565) and Patinote (“Agonist and antagonist ligands of toll-like receptors 7 and 8: Ingenious tools for therapeutic purposes.” European journal of medicinal chemistry 193 (2020): 112238), alone or in view of Leoni (US 2011/0319442 A1).
Fakhari is directed to “[b]lock copolymer systems for local administration of toll-like receptor agonists.” Title.
Fakhari discloses: “Provided are compositions comprising a reverse thermosensitive polymer, an immune response modifier (IRM), and ethanol. In certain aspects, the reverse thermosensitive polymer is poloxamer 407 or PLGA-PEG-PLGA. The IRM can be a Toll-like receptor (TLR) agonist, in particular, a TLR7, TLR8, or TLR7/8 agonist.” Abstract.
Fakhari discloses that “Poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid)-b-Poly(ethylene glycol)-b-Poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid) (PLGA-PEG-PLGA) copolymer (Mn: 1,600: 1,500: 1,600 Da, 3:1 LA:GA) was acquired from PolySciTech (West Lafayette, IN)” was selected as the block copolymer. Page 25; see also page 32. That PLGA-PEG-PLGA has a “sol-gel transition around 37°C.” Page 32 at para. [00147]; see also page 33 at Table 6 (showing comparable sol-gel transition temperatures for the formulation). As evidenced by page 1551 (right column) of Wang, PLGA–PEG–PLGA copolymers form micelle structures in aqueous solution.
Fakhari discloses that the following TLR 7/8 agonists were used to prepare the formulations: S-36878 and S-36862. Page 32. As stated on page 8 (para. [0027]) of Fakhari, FIG. 2A shows the structure of the TLR 7/8 agonist S-36878 (non-lipidated), and FIG. 2B shows the structure of the TLR 7/8 agonist S-36862 (lipidated). Both those figures are reproduced on the next page:
The TLR agonist shown in Figure 2B is Telratolimod (3M-052, MEDI-9197), as evidenced by Figure 23 of Patinote (page 15). This observation is relevant because Telratolimod is defined as a hydrophobic immunoadjuvant in claim 10 of the present application.
The combination of PLGA-PEG-PLGA and Telratolimod is also disclosed in claim 4 of Fakhari (page 42).
Fakhari discloses that “[b]y mixing the drug solution to the excipient solution, particles of the drug form within excipient solution in-situ (FIG. 19)” (page 33), thereby evidencing encapsulation of the Telratolimod.
Fakhari discloses that the Telratolimod/PLGA-PEG-PLGA formulation is injectable. Pages 33-34 at paras. [00150]-[00151] and Table 7. Additionally, that formulation is configured for intratumoral (IT) injection. Fakhari, page 36, at para. [00159] and Table 9.
Fakhari discloses that the Telratolimod/PLGA-PEG-PLGA formulation satisfies the extended-release profile recited at the end of Applicant’s claim 1. Figure 25B; see also page 35 at Example 5.
The presence of a radio-opaque label is not required to satisfy claims 1 and 3 because the corresponding concentration ranges include 0 mg/ml. MPEP § 2111 (“During patent examination, the pending claims must be ‘given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.’”).
Applicant recently added the following limitation to claim 1 (emphasis added): “the hydrophobic immune-adjuvant having a concentration of greater than or equal to 2 mg per 1 mL of injectable composition.”
With this in mind, the examiner refers Applicant to paragraph [00110] of Fakhari (page 22), which states in relevant part: “In some embodiments, a composition of the invention comprises about 0.05 to about 1.5 mg/mL IRM, or about 0.1 to about 1.0 mg/mL.” Emphasis added. Although the concentration of “about 1.5 mg/mL” does not anticipate the corresponding range now recited in claim 1 of the present application (see MPEP § 2131.03), it nevertheless is close enough to support a finding of prima facie obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05(I) (“a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close”). Additional disclosure relevant to Applicant’s new range limitation is presented and discussed below:
Fakhari discloses that “we surprisingly discovered that ethanol can be used to incorporate TLR 7/8 agonists into the thermogel with minimum or no impact on sol-to-gel properties of thermogel.” (Emphasis added) Para. [0007].
Fakhari discloses: “Compositions of the invention can be made by dissolving the reverse thermosensitive polymer in an aqueous medium to prepare an excipient solution; dissolving the hydrophobic drug, e.g., the IRM, in ethanol to prepare a drug solution; and adding the drug solution to the excipient solution to prepare a composition comprising ethanol in an amount of up to 20% (v/v). Combining the excipient solution and the drug solution results in precipitation of drug particles, as the hydrophobic drug, e.g., the IRM, is water-insoluble. Unexpectedly, ethanol acts as a surfactant, stabilizing the drug particles such that they do not aggregate.” (Emphasis added) Para. [00122].
Table 9 of Fakhari, which is set forth on page 36 (para. [00159]) and is reproduced below, shows that a concentration of only 5% (v/v) ethanol achieved a Telratolimod (S-36862) concentration of 1 mg/ml.
A person having ordinary skill in the art — following a review of the foregoing disclosure of Fakhari — would have inferred that a significantly higher concentration of incorporated Telratolimod (for example, about 1.5 mg/mL or more) is achievable by increasing the concentration of ethanol above 5% (but not above 20%). MPEP § 2144.01 (“‘[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.’”), quoting In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826 (CCPA 1968).
In sum, claims 1, 3, 6-7, 10, and 13 are rendered prima facie obvious by Fakhari.
In the alternative, the following optional reference compensates for any deficiency in Fakhari: Leoni.
Leoni is directed to “the field of modulators of the innate immune system, particularly to pharmaceutical compositions comprising imidazoquinolin(amines) and derivatives thereof, preferably suitable for local administration.” Abstract.
Leoni teaches: “Specifically, the solubility of the immune modifier imiquimod is critical, and its use in pharmaceutical compositions, in particular, in liquid or semi-liquid compositions is limited due to its hydrophobic properties. Even though imiquimod is soluble in low concentrations in polar organic solvents such as DMSO, dimethyl formide, and N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone, such solvents do not allow for administration of imiquimod at or in the human body due to their various toxic effects. Non-toxic solvents, however, such as water or ethanol solubilise member of the imidazoquinolin(amin)es, such as imiquimod, only slightly and only allow for administration of imiquimod at or in the human body in low (sub-therapeutic) concentrations.” (Emphasis added) Para. [0009].
Leoni teaches: “Although the organic acids ‘acetic acid’ and ‘lactic acid’ were already known to a skilled person for formulating pharmaceutical compositions in general, the inventors of the present invention surprisingly found that specifically these short chain carboxylic acids are suitable to efficiently solubilise imidazoquinolin(amin) or derivatives thereof, a finding which has not yet been published or discussed in the art. In addition, it was found that acetic acid and lactic acid exhibit solubilisation properties clearly superior to any other (carboxylic) acid. More specifically and even more surprisingly, acetic acid (CH3COOH) and/or lactic acid (2-hydroxy propionic acid), solubilise imidazoquinolin(amine) 3 to 100 fold better than other short chain (carboxylic) acids, namely, phosphoric acid, succinic acid and citric acid.” (Emphasis added) Para. [0039].
In paragraph [0101], Leoni teaches that the chemical structure of imiquimod is:
Following a review of paragraph [0101] and the generic chemical structure set forth in paragraph [0060] of Leoni, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have readily recognized that Telratolimod (Fakhari) and imiquimod are structurally similar and that both qualify as imidazoquinolinamines.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the teachings of Leoni to include acetic acid or lactic acid in the PLGA-PEG-PLGA/TLR agonist formulations of Fakhari to better solubilize the Telratolimod and, thereby, allow for significant increase in the concentration of drug loading. Therefore, claims 1, 3, 6-7, 10, and 13 are rendered prima facie obvious by Fakhari in view of Leoni. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A) (“Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical.”).
Regarding claim 5, Applicant is alerted that “when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent.” MPEP § 2112.01(I).
Regarding claim 8, Telratolimod has a molecular weight of approximately 593.9 Daltons and, therefore, qualifies as “small” in accordance with page 17, lines 19-26, of Applicant’s specification, as originally filed.
Regarding claim 9, Leoni teaches: “TLR7 recognizes small synthetic immune modifiers including imiquimod, R-848, loxoribine, and bropirimine, all of which are already applied or promising for clinical use against viral infections and cancers.” (Emphasis added) Para. [0004]. Leoni additionally teaches: “A particular example of immune modifiers as described above includes imiquimod (within the following description also referred as R-837, TMX, TMX-101), which belongs to the class of imidazoquinolin(amine) immune modifiers. The immunomodulatory molecule imiquimod (1-isobutyl-1H-imidazo[4,5-c]quinolin-4-amine) was demonstrated to have clinical efficacy in oncological, viral and inflammatory diseases.” (Emphasis added) Para. [0005]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art — following a review of Leoni — to modify Fakhari by substituting imiquimod for Telratolimod, given their similar chemical structures and similar utilities. Therefore, claim 9 is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2144.09(I) (“A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities.”); see also MPEP § 2144.06(II) (substituting equivalents known for the same purpose).
Regarding claims 11-12, Fakhari discloses that the PLGA-PEG-PLGA formulation encapsulates 1 mg/ml of Telratolimod (S-36862). Page 43; see also page 6 at para. [0016] (“In some instances, the composition can comprise 0.05 to 1.3 mg/mL IRM. For example, the concentration of IRM can be selected from the group consisting of 0.08 mg/mL, 0.4 mg/mL, and 1 mg/mL”).
Regarding claim 21, Telratolimod is insoluble in water. In the alternative, imiquimod is selected as the hydrophobic immunoadjuvant pursuant to the rationale set forth above in the §103 rejection of claim 9. The specification of the present application, as originally filed, evidences that imiquimod satisfies the solubility limitation recited in claim 21. Page 28 at lines 3-4.
Regarding claim 22, Leoni, which is discussed above, teaches that ethanol is a poor solubilizer of imiquimod and other imidazoquinolinamines compared to acetic acid and lactic acid. Paras. [0009] and [0039]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, this would have motivated a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Fakhari by substituting acetic acid or lactic acid for the ethanol. This modification would have been made with a reasonable expectation of success, especially considering that Fakhari, itself, allows for even trivial concentrations of ethanol (“about 0.5%”). Para. [00112]. Furthermore, Leoni teaches myriad pharmaceutically acceptable carriers other than ethanol (e.g., saline) are suitable for the final formulation. Para. [0158].
Claims 2, 4, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fakhari (as evidenced by Wang and Patinote) alone or in view of Leoni, as applied above in the §103 rejection of claims 1, 3, 5-13 and 21-22, in view of Som (“Image-guided intratumoral immunotherapy: Developing a clinically practical technology.” Advanced drug delivery reviews 189 (2022): 114505), as evidenced by Knavel (“Tumor ablation: common modalities and general practices.” Techniques in vascular and interventional radiology 16.4 (2013): 192-200).
Although Fakhari discloses intratumoral injection, Fakhari is silent as to whether a radio-opaque agent can be included in the PLGA-PEG-PLGA/TLR agonist formulations disclosed therein. Consequently, Fakhari does not satisfy claims 2, 4, and 14.
Fakhari is also silent regarding CT imaging, which is required by claim 15.
As explained below, the following reference compensates for those deficiencies: Som.
Som teaches: “Effective intratumoral injections require precise delivery of the drug into the target lesion and may also depend on the distribution of the drug throughout tumor.” Page 3, right column.
Som teaches: “While superficial lesions can be injected by visual inspection, the majority of lesions are non-palpable and require image guidance for injection in the interventional radiology suite. The mostly widely utilized imaging modalities for intratumoral injection are computed tomography (CT) and ultrasound, with ultrasound being favored for anything <5 cm deep, including subcutaneous, thyroid, or breast lesions, and CT for deeper lesions and those in visceral organs. The technique for a CT or ultrasound-guided therapeutic injection is similar to that of biopsy, which is routinely performed and accurate within a few mm of the target virtually anywhere in the body. Imaging is used to guide needle placement into tumor, but the distribution of injected intratumoral therapy within (or outside of) tumor is often unevaluable since the therapy itself cannot by visualized by the imaging modality.” Page 3, right column.
Som teaches: “Iodinated contrast is the mainstay for increased contrast visualization particularly to look at enhancement of lesions. Concentrations for radio-opacity are typically in the 100 mgI/mL range and can be mixed in at 10–50% v/v intravenously.” Pages 11-12 (bridging sentence).
In Table 3 (page 13), Som teaches that iodinated contrast agents can be included in PLGA-PEG-PLGA injectable formulations. See also page 14 at Section 4 (amphiphilic block-polymers that self-assemble into nanoparticles allow for the solubilization of hydrophobic compounds and encapsulation of imaging agents).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the teachings of Som to include an iodinated contrast agent (a radio-opaque agent) in the PLGA-PEG-PLGA/TLR agonist formulations of Fakhari to advantageously allow for CT imaging/monitoring during intratumoral therapy. Therefore, claims 2, 4, 14-15, and 17-20 are prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2144.05(I) (obviousness of similar and overlapping ranges, amounts, and proportions) and, alternatively, MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A) (“Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical.”).
Regarding claim 16, Som teaches “thermal ablation” to treat tumors (page 10, right column). As evidenced by Knavel, there are only two types of thermal ablation. See Abstract (“During tumor ablation, thermal energy is used to heat or cool tissue to cytotoxic levels (less than -40°C or more than 60°C).”). Accordingly, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have readily envisaged cryoablation.
Conclusion
Claims 1-22 are rejected.
No claim is allowed.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER ANTHOPOLOS whose telephone number is 571-270-5989. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday – Friday (9:00 am – 5:00 pm). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Bethany P. Barham, can be reached on Monday – Friday (9:00 am – 5:00 pm) at 571-272-6175. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/P.A./
14 September 2026
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611