DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to communication submitted on 01/19/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
3. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
5. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujimoto et al. (US 20150280635 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Fujimoto shows (Figs. 1-18) and discloses an automatic door control (100) system comprising:
a door element (i.e. rotation axis 32) that rotates in response to a change in position of a door (30);
a first door position sensor (i.e. 1a-1b; 8-9) configured to output a position signal based on rotation of the door element (see also par. 113);
a controller (i.e. 10) comprising:
memory (implicit, see pars. 4, 44, 48, 56, 99, i.e. The detection of the door position by the position detector 1a and the calculation of the door speed by the speed calculator 1b are performed suitably or in a predetermined cycle as needed… It is to be noted that the vicinity of the fully closed position indicates a predetermined opening/closing range of the back door 30) containing a target position corresponding to an intermediate position of the door between maximally open and maximally closed positions of the door (see pars. 11, 53, 59, 80, 86, 94, 111, i.e. see step S1, “intermediate position”, Figs. 3, 13);
a processor (1) configured to monitor a current position of the door based on the position signal and stop rotation of the door element when the current position matches the target position (see pars. 8, 11, 53, 59, 65-66, 73, 80, 86, 94, 11, i.e. see step S3 wherein multiple modes are determined based on intermediate position and where stopping mode is also executed at steps S19, S26, S36, S45, S50, S64, etc. see Figs. 3-6, 11, 13-16); and
a control device (implicit as door control device 10, see Fig. 10) configured to set the target position (pars. 10, 61-62, 68, 76-79, 2-85, 90, 103, 105-106) in the memory through a wireless communication link with the controller (see communication part 5 is provided with an antenna and a circuit for performing wireless communications (communications by a LF (Low Frequency) signal, a UHF (Ultra High Frequency), etc.) with the portable unit 6. The portable unit 6 is made up of an FOB key in a passive entry system, and carried by a user. The portable unit 6 is also provided with a BD opening/closing SW (switch) 6b that is operated for automatic operation of opening or closing the back door 30).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 2-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated/unpatentable by Fujimoto et al. (US 20150280635 A1) in view of Houser et al. (US 20160024831 A1).
In regards to claims 2-3, Fujimoto does not explicitly disclose wherein: the first door position sensor comprises: a first sensor element that rotates in response to rotation of the door element; and a potentiometer having a resistance that increases with rotation of the first sensor element in a first direction and decreases with rotation in a second direction that is opposite the first direction; and the position signal corresponds to the resistance of the potentiometer and does not explicitly disclose wherein the target position contained in the memory corresponds to a target resistance of the potentiometer; wherein: the system includes a second door position sensor comprising a potentiometer having a resistance that varies in response to rotation of the door element; and the controller is configured to detect a current position of the door based on the resistance and wherein the controller is configured to stop rotation of the door element when the resistance is indicative of the target position.
However, the use of variable resistance circuits or potentiometer are commonly and well-known to track the physical position of an opening and closing mechanism which provide an easy, low-cost analog way to know where a moving part is without complex digital encoding.
Houser father discloses disclose wherein: the first door position sensor comprises: a first sensor element that rotates in response to rotation of the door element; and a potentiometer having a resistance that increases with rotation of the first sensor element in a first direction and decreases with rotation in a second direction that is opposite the first direction; and the position signal corresponds to the resistance of the potentiometer and does not explicitly disclose wherein the target position contained in the memory corresponds to a target resistance of the potentiometer; wherein: the system includes a second door position sensor comprising a potentiometer having a resistance that varies in response to rotation of the door element; and the controller is configured to detect a current position of the door based on the resistance and wherein the controller is configured to stop rotation of the door element when the resistance is indicative of the target position. (pars. 16-17, 20, 24-25, 28-29, 54, 60, 62-63, 66-67, 75).
Hence, given the teaching of Houser, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the opening/closing system of Fujimoto in order to employ in the door control system a potentiometer that controls electrical resistance across the motor/generator or other means for varying input and/or output power to/from the motor/generator to control the rotation of the electric motor and slow/quicken the closing speed of the door the system stops the motor the exact moment the target voltage (the fully open or closed point) is reached, consequently improving the system accuracy and reliability.
In regards to claims 4-5 and 7-8, Fujimoto shows and discloses wherein: the first door position sensor comprises an encoder configured to detect rotation of the door element; and the position signal corresponds to the detected rotation.; wherein the encoder comprises: a first sensor element that rotates in response to rotation of the door element; and a rotation sensor configured to detect rotation of the first sensor element (see pars. 47-48, 113).
Houser also shows and discloses wherein: the first door position sensor comprises an encoder configured to detect rotation of the door element; and the position signal corresponds to the detected rotation.; wherein the encoder comprises: a first sensor element that rotates in response to rotation of the door element; and a rotation sensor configured to detect rotation of the first sensor element (pars. 16-17, 20, 24-25, 28-29, 54, 60, 62-63, 66-67, 75).
8. Claims 9-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto et al. (US 20150280635 A1) in view of Wolf et al. (US 20070271848 A1).
In regards to claims 9-11 and 19-20, Fujimoto does not explicitly disclose an environmental sensor configured and thus does not explicitly disclose wherein: the system includes an environmental sensor configured to sense an environmental parameter and output an environmental parameter signal that is indicative of the sensed environmental parameter; the memory includes a plurality of target positions, each corresponding to a different position of the door; and the processor is configured to select one of the plurality of target positions based on the sensed environmental parameter and stop rotation of the door element when the detected position is indicative of the selected target position; wherein the memory includes a mapping of each of the plurality of target positions to a different value of the environmental parameter; and wherein the environmental sensor is selected from the group consisting of a temperature sensor and a humidity sensor
However, Wolf further shows and discloses wherein: the system includes an environmental sensor to sense an environmental parameter and output an environmental parameter signal that is indicative of the sensed environmental parameter; the memory includes a plurality of target positions, each corresponding to a different position of the door; and the processor is configured to select one of the plurality of target positions based on the sensed environmental parameter and stop rotation of the door element when the detected position is indicative of the selected target position; wherein the memory includes a mapping of each of the plurality of target positions to a different value of the environmental parameter and wherein the environmental sensor is selected from the group consisting of a temperature sensor and a humidity sensor, (i.e. a sensor communicatively coupled with the processor for sensing an environmental parameter; and; wherein the processor commands the operation of the first and second motorized operators in response to the sensed environmental parameter…wherein the sensed environmental parameter is ambient temperature within the structure and the processor commands opening of the sashes in response to a rise in the temperature above a selected value whereby convective cooling of the structure is facilitated., see pars. 13, 26-28 and claims 26-28 and 30).
In regards to claim 12, Fujimoto shows (Figs. 1-18) and discloses automatic door control system comprising:
a door element (i.e. rotation axis 32) that rotates in response to a change in position of a door (30);
a first door position sensor (i.e. 1a-1b; 8-9) configured to output a position signal based on rotation of the door element (see also par. 113); and
a controller (i.e. 10) comprising:
memory (implicit, see pars. 4, 44, 48, 56, 99, i.e. The detection of the door position by the position detector 1a and the calculation of the door speed by the speed calculator 1b are performed suitably or in a predetermined cycle as needed… It is to be noted that the vicinity of the fully closed position indicates a predetermined opening/closing range of the back door 30) containing a plurality of target positions each corresponding to a different position of the door including an intermediate position that is between maximally open and maximally closed positions of the door (see pars. 11, 53, 59, 80, 86, 94, 111, i.e. see step S1, “intermediate position”, Figs. 3, 13); and
a processor (1) configured to:
monitor a current position of the door based on the position signal; and stop rotation of the door element when the detected position is indicative of the selected target position (see pars. 8, 11, 53, 59, 65-66, 73, 80, 86, 94, 11, i.e. see step S3 wherein multiple modes are determined based on intermediate position and where stopping mode is also executed at steps S19, S26, S36, S45, S50, S64, etc. see Figs. 3-6, 11, 13-16).
Fujimoto does not explicitly disclose an environmental sensor configured to sense an environmental parameter and output an environmental parameter signal that is indicative of the sensed environmental parameter and select one of the plurality of target positions based on the environmental parameter signal.
However, the use of multiple environmental sensors such temperature, humidity, smoke, or any other surroundings/weather related sensors to sense environmental parameters is a well-known practice in the art of automatic door, windows, openers, gate or the like.
Wolf further discloses an opening control device comprising an environmental sensor configured to sense an environmental parameter and output an environmental parameter signal that is indicative of the sensed environmental parameter and select one of the plurality of target positions based on the environmental parameter signal (see pars. 13, 26-28 and claims 26-28 and 30).
Hence, given the teaching of Wolf, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the opening/closing system of Fujimoto in order to employ an environmental sensor configured to sense an environmental parameter as to provide control signals from the sensors communicatively coupled with the processor for sensing an environmental parameter; and wherein the processor commands the operation of the motorized operators in response to the sensed environmental parameter, consequently improving the system accuracy and reliability.
In regards to claim 13, Fujimoto shows (Figs. 1-18) and discloses comprising a control device (10) configured to set the target position corresponding to the intermediate position in the memory through a wireless communication link with the controller (see communication part 5 is provided with an antenna and a circuit for performing wireless communications (communications by a LF (Low Frequency) signal, a UHF (Ultra High Frequency), etc.) with the portable unit 6. The portable unit 6 is made up of an FOB key in a passive entry system, and carried by a user. The portable unit 6 is also provided with a BD opening/closing SW (switch) 6b that is operated for automatic operation of opening or closing the back door 30).
9. Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto et al. (US 20150280635 A1) in view of Wolf et al. (US 20070271848 A1) and further in view of Houser et al. (US 20160024831 A1).
In regards to claim 14, Fujimoto as modified by Wolf shows (Figs. 1-18) and discloses wherein: the first door position sensor comprises: a first sensor element that rotates in response to rotation of the door element.
Fujimoto does not explicitly disclose a potentiometer having a resistance that increases with rotation of the first sensor element in a first direction and decreases with rotation in a second direction that is opposite the first direction; and the position signal corresponds to the resistance of the potentiometer.
However, the use of variable resistance circuits or potentiometer are commonly and well-known to track the physical position of an opening and closing mechanism which provide an easy, low-cost analog way to know where a moving part is without complex digital encoding.
Houser father discloses disclose a potentiometer having a resistance that increases with rotation of the first sensor element in a first direction and decreases with rotation in a second direction that is opposite the first direction; and the position signal corresponds to the resistance of the potentiometer (pars. 16-17, 20, 24-25, 28-29, 54, 60, 62-63, 66-67, 75).
Hence, given the teaching of Houser, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the opening/closing system of Fujimoto as modified by Wolf in order to employ in the door control system a potentiometer that controls electrical resistance across the motor/generator or other means for varying input and/or output power to/from the motor/generator to control the rotation of the electric motor and slow/quicken the closing speed of the door the system stops the motor the exact moment the target voltage (the fully open or closed point) is reached, consequently improving the system accuracy and reliability.
In regards to claim 15, Fujimoto shows (Figs. 1-18) and discloses wherein: the first door position sensor comprises an encoder configured to detect rotation of the door element; and the position signal corresponds to the detected rotation (see pars. 47-48, 113).
Houser also shows and discloses wherein: the first door position sensor comprises an encoder configured to detect rotation of the door element; and the position signal corresponds to the detected rotation; wherein the encoder comprises: a first rotational element that rotates in response to rotation of the door element; and a rotation sensor configured to detect rotation of the first rotational element and wherein: the system includes a second door position sensor comprising a potentiometer having a resistance that varies in response to rotation of the door element; and the controller is configured to detect a current position of the door based on the resistance (pars. 16-17, 20, 24-25, 28-29, 54, 60, 62-63, 66-67, 75).
10. Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto et al. (US 20150280635 A1) in view of Wolf et al. (US 20070271848 A1) and/or in view of Houser et al. (US 20160024831 A1) and further in view of Jones et al. (US 4831509 A).
In regards to claims 6 and 18, Although Houser implicitly discloses (emphasis added) wherein: the controller is configured to maintain and update the current position of the door in the memory based on the position signal; the system includes a main power source that powers the first door position sensor and controller during normal operation; the system includes a backup power source that powers the controller and the first door position sensor when the main power source fails; and when the main power source fails: the first position sensor produces one or more position signals indicating a change in the position of the door using power from the backup power source; and the controller updates the current position of the door in the memory based on the one or more position signals using power from the backup power source (i.e. when the door is closing as the result of the force of the spring, the motor may be backdriven. The backdriving of the motor makes the motor into a generator, and the inefficiencies of the motor as well as electrical energy conversion may slow the closing speed of the door. The motion of the opening of the door may also drive the motor and cause the motor to generate power. Generated power may be stored in an energy storage element, such as a battery or capacitor... the door moves to close by the force of the spring, the motor may be driven to collect power, and a capacitor or battery may be charged, making the door closer regenerative. Metering of power generation may be performed with a varied resistance or through a regenerative braking circuit/algorithm. The varied generated current can be used to increase or decrease the energy converted to electricity, and accordingly controls the motor speed when the motor is acting as a generator, which controls the closing speed of the door in opposition to the spring. Inefficiencies of the motor also contribute to slowing door closing speed… ny excess power generated in the motor/generator phase has been stored in the rechargeable battery or capacitor for future use, and the particular door cycle ends 828. If the door is not in the home position, in block 830 the controller determines if the door is opening and if so the process returns to block 806. If the door is not in the home position and the door is not opening, in block 832 the controller determines that assistance is needed to close the door, and the motor/generator is turned to the motor phase and energy from the battery or capacitor is used to power the motor and force the door to close (pars. 13, 53-54, 72, 74, 77).
Fujimoto as modified by Wolf and/or Houser does not explicitly disclose a backup power source that powers the controller and the first door position sensor when the main power source fails.
However, employing a power backup for power failure or emergency whiting automatic/electric door, gates, windows, or any opening/closing mechanism is not only well-known but an obvious and critical feature that a has been implemented for years.
As evidence, Jones further discloses door controller for roller type doors is disclosed incorporating a microprocessor control system. The microprocessor measures and stores the door speed over segments of the door travel to generate a door speed travel characteristic and further discloses wherein: the controller is configured to maintain and update the current position of the door in the memory based on the position signal; the system includes a main power source that powers the first door position sensor and controller during normal operation; the system includes a backup power source that powers the controller and the first door position sensor when the main power source fails; and when the main power source fails: the first position sensor produces one or more position signals indicating a change in the position of the door using power from the backup power source; and the controller updates the current position of the door in the memory based on the one or more position signals using power from the backup power source (i.e. warm start function relates to the requirement to reset door operation parameters following an unexpected event such as a power failure. The door controller is preferably provided with emergency power in the form of battery backup. In the event of power failure the door controller will lose track of the door curtain position relative to the door opening (40) … backup battery supply is also connected in parallel with the regulated supply to provide power to the microprocessor if the mains power supply fails or is temporarily interrupted (see cols. 6 and 10).
Hence, given the teaching of Jones, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the opening/closing system of Fujimoto as modified by Wolf and/or Houser in order to employ a power failure backup as to provide continues control input when unexpected event such as a power failure. The door controller is provided with emergency power in the form of battery backup. In the event of power failure the door controller will lose track of the door curtain position relative to the door opening, consequently improving the system accuracy, security and reliability.
Related Prior Arts
11. The following related prior arts made of record are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure to further show the general state of the art and may be applied alone or in combination for rejection of the claims.
KOBAYASHI (JP 2017057690 A) discloses n opening/closing body control device for vehicle capable of detecting the stop of an opening/closing body more surely based on the count of a pulse signal even in the case where resolution of a pulse sensor is high.SOLUTION: An ECU as a position detection part and a maximum movement position storage part detects a movement position (door position X) of a slide door by counting a pulse signal synchronized with the movement of the slide door, and also, stores a maximum movement position (maximum value Xm) of the slide door on the basis of the fully opened or fully closed position which becomes a starting end of a movement range.
Conclusion
/JORGE L CARRASQUILLO/Primary Examiner Engineer, Art Unit 2837