DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Received 05/19/2026
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 18, and 19 have been amended.
The objections to the claim(s) 3 and 19 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments received on 05/19/2026.
The 35 USC § 112(b) rejection to claim(s) 9-17 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments received on 05/19/2026.
The 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection to claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered in view of the amendments received on 05/19/2026 and are fully addressed in the prior art rejection below.
Response to Arguments
Received 05/19/2026
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive; as expressed below.
Regarding independent claim(s) 1, 9, and 18:
Applicant argues (Remarks, Page 21, ¶ 4-7), that “Ali is directed to a ‘functional vehicle component and related methods’ with ‘a functional leather assembly fixed over a vehicle component’ with ‘a flexible electronic circuit arranged on a first surface of the leather sheet’ and does not identically disclose the combination of elements recited in independent Claims 1, 9 and 18 (as amended). See TABLES A, B and C.
Hein is directed to ‘an interface for an interior trim component in a motor vehicle [that] includes a fascia formed from wood veneer’ and does not identically disclose the combination of elements recited in independent Claims 1, 9 and 18 (as amended). See TABLES A, B and D.
Cho is directed to a ‘soft upper trim for switch assembly of vehicle door and method of manufacturing the same’ and does not identically disclose the combination of elements recited in independent Claims 1, 9 and 18 (as amended). See TABLES A, B and E.
Lisseman is directed to ‘a human interface including a light emitter and a pressure sensitive material’ that ‘has electrical properties configured to vary in relation to an amount of pressure applied thereto’ and does not identically disclose the combination of elements recited in independent Claims 1, 9 and 18 (as amended). See TABLES A, B and F.”
The Examiner disagrees. Applicant fails to view the broadness of the claimed invention. Wherein, Applicant infers limitations that are silent within the claims. Although, the projection (of the light guide) is further limited as being a light transmissive material comprising a resin, however the projection fails to be a differentiation from the light guide (itself). The teachings of Cho et al. (US PGPUB No. 20190275931 A1) reveal a light guide (300) and a pattern (311 and 313) by allowing a cut-away of material (310) coating (or coving) a portion of the light guide (300). Thus, the light guide is configured to allow transmission of light from a light source to the cover (500), to comprise a projection (of light) comprising an icon (i.e. a lock), and comprise the projection (of light) integrally-formed from light transmissive material (of the light-guide itself) comprising a resin. Applicant’s arguments infers (1) the projection is a different element from the light guide, and/or (2) the projection is a protruded feature extending from or outward of the light guide (based on the Remarks (Page 17, ¶ 1) regarding Cho et al.), however the limitation of “integrally-formed” fails to differentiate for the light guide. Wherein, Applicant should consider the claim language of “… the projection comprising the icon of the light guide comprises a light-transmissive resin material” (lines 10-11 of claim 1). Thus, the teaching of “… formed by cutting … using a laser” (by Chu et al.) does not detract from the light-guide being the projection of the icon, but rather reveals how the icon has its appearance or shape.
Additionally, although the term “integrally-formed” is inferred as to define a limitation of (physical) structure for a projection, said term is considered to mean “necessary to make a whole complete; essential or fundamental”.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Lastly, the light-guide as taught by the combination of prior art is limited in certain aspects regarding appearance, if Applicant is seeking to indicate a raised portion of the light guide in in the form of an icon or that the whole light guide is shaped to embody a form of an icon, then it is suggested that further detail is incorporate within the claim language in order to overcome the teachings of Cho et al.
Applicant argues (Remarks, Page 22, ¶ 1-5), that “Independent Claim 1 (as amended) recites a ‘component for a vehicle interior configured to be illuminated by a light source’ comprising (among other elements in combination) the ‘light guide’ and a ‘cover’ in which ‘the light guide comprising the projection is integrally-formed from a light transmissive material comprising a resin’ (emphasis added), which is not identically disclosed in Ali and/or Hein and/or Cho and/or Lisseman. See also TABLES A-F.
Independent Claim 9 (as amended) recites a ‘component for a vehicle interior configured to be illuminated by a light source’ comprising (among other elements in combination) a ‘module comprising a light guide’ and a ‘cover’ in which ‘the light guide comprising the projection is integrally-formed from a light transmissive material comprising a resin’ (emphasis added), which is not identically disclosed in Ali and/or Hein and/or Cho and/or Lisseman. See also TABLES A-F.
Independent Claim 18 recites a ‘component for a vehicle interior configured to be illuminated by a light source’ comprising (among other elements in combination) a ‘composite structure’ and a ‘cover’ in which ‘the light guide comprising the projection is integrally-formed from a light transmissive material comprising a resin’ (emphasis added), which is not identically disclosed in not identically disclosed in Ali and/or Hein and/or Cho and/or Lisseman. See also TABLES A-F.
The subject matter recited in independent Claims 1, 9 and 18 (as amended) would not have been obvious over Ali in view of Hein and/or Cho and/or Lisseman under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Neither Ali nor Hein nor Cho nor Lisseman alone or in any proper combination, disclose, teach or suggest the component comprising ‘the light guide comprising the projection is integrally-formed from a light transmissive material comprising a resin’ as recited in Claims 1- 20 (as amended).”
The Examiner disagrees. Wherein, Applicant fails to view the teachings of Cho et al. within the combination, as addressed in more detail above. Moreover, the subject matter of “the light guide comprising a projection” and “a light transmissive material comprising a resin” are limitations addressed by the applied prior art within the Office Action of 04/01/2026, thus the newly amended subject matter of “integrally-formed” being the crux of Applicant’s argument fails to overcome the teachings of a light-guide by Cho et al. Wherein, the light-guide is configured to transmit light, project an image of an icon, and is made of a resin material. Although, Cho et al. teaches a coating in relation with creating the appearance of the icon, the coating fails to weaken the teachings related to the light-guide.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (Remarks, Page 22, ¶ 6), that “The suggestion to make the combination of Ali and/or Hein and/or Cho and/or Lisseman has been taken from the Applicants' own specification (using hindsight), which is improper.”
The Examiner disagrees. Applicant's argument that the Examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ali et al., US PGPUB No. 20200108768 A1, hereinafter Ali, in view of Hein et al., US PGPUB No. 20090058118 A1, hereinafter Hein, and further in view of Cho et al., US PGPUB No. 20190275931 A1, hereinafter Cho.
Regarding claim 1, Ali discloses a component for a vehicle interior configured to be illuminated by a light source (Ali; a component for a vehicle interior configured to be illuminated by a light source [¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Fig. 7 and Fig. 8; additionally, smart functional vehicle component [¶ 0091, ¶ 0093, and ¶ 0096], as illustrated within Fig. 6, associated with smart functional layered assembly [¶ 0041], as illustrated within Fig. 1) comprising:
(a) a cover comprising a polymer material configured to present a visual effect (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior configured to be illuminated by a light source [as addressed above] comprises a cover [¶ 0041-0042] comprising a polymer material [¶ 0059-0063], as illustrated within Fig. 1, configured to present a visual effect [¶ 0079, ¶ 0099, and ¶ 0105], as illustrated within Fig. 8; wherein, the presenting of light is further illustrated within Figs. 6 and 7; moreover, surface material [¶ 0059-0061] and electronic elements [¶ 0058-0060 ¶ 0087, and ¶ 0103]); and
(b) a light guide configured to allow transmission of light from the light source to the light display (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior configured to be illuminated by a light source [as addressed above] comprises an implicit light guide configured to allow transmission of light from the light source to the light display [¶ 0092, ¶ 0094, and ¶ 0096-0098], as illustrated within Fig. 6 and Fig. 7; wherein, a light source is linked to light emitter elements (e.g. LED) implicitly corresponding to a light guide [¶ 0071-0073 and ¶ 0076]);
wherein the cover is configured to cover the light guide (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior [as addressed above] wherein the cover is configured to cover the implicit light guide (given the LED) [¶ 0041-0042 and ¶ 0079], as illustrated within Fig. 1; moreover, surface material [¶ 0059-0061] covering the circuits [¶ 0103]);
wherein the light guide comprises a projection comprising an indicator (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior [as addressed above] wherein the implicit light guide (given the LED) comprises a projection comprising an indicator [¶ 0091-0094 and ¶ 0097-0098], as illustrated within Figs. 6 and 7; moreover, as illustrated within Figs. 6 and 7, a projected icon/indicator corresponding to an illuminated area; wherein, projection corresponds to light emitted from a light source [¶ 0060-0061 and ¶ 0071-0072]; moreover, LED [¶ 0076]);
wherein the cover comprises an inner surface of the cover (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior [as addressed above] wherein the cover comprises an inner surface of the cover [¶ 0041-0042], as illustrated within Fig. 1);
wherein the projection comprising the indicator of the light guide comprises a light-transmissive resin material (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior wherein the projection comprising the icon/indicator of the implicit light guide (given the LED) [as addressed above] comprises a light-transmissive resin material [¶ 0059-0063] configured within the inner surface of the cover [¶ 0041-0042], as illustrated within Fig. 1; moreover, functional layered assembly [¶ 0040, ¶ 0091, and ¶ 0097-0098]);
wherein the projection comprising the indicator comprises a segment comprising a shape (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior wherein the projection comprising the icon/indicator [as addressed above] comprises a segment (i.e. illuminated area) comprising a shape (i.e. directional form indicator) [¶ 0092, ¶ 0094, and ¶ 0097-0098], as illustrated within Fig. 6 and Fig. 7);
wherein the indicator of the light guide is configured (a) to be presented as a light display at the cover when illuminated by the light source (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior [as addressed above] wherein the icon of the implicit light guide (given the LED) is configured to be presented as a light display at the cover [¶ 0097-0099] when illuminated by the light source [¶ 0105]; moreover, presenting visual indicators [¶ 0092-0094]; wherein, light is visible through a pigmented coating [¶ 0060-0061]) and (b) to be hidden by the cover when the light source is off (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior [as addressed above] to be hidden by the cover when the light source is off [¶ 0105]; wherein, light sources are inhibited by the pigmented coating [¶ 0060-0061]); and
wherein the visual effect presented at the cover is configured (a) to prevent visibility of the indicator when the light source is off (Ali; the cover comprising the polymer material is configured to prevent visibility of the indicator when the light source is off [¶ 0059-0063]; moreover, “The pigmented coating 16 may be polymer, textile, composite material, enamel, paper, glass, metal, ceramic, other material, and combinations thereof … the pigmented coating 16 comprises a pigmented layer including for example a mixture of polymer and pigment particles. The polymer may be an acrylic urethane resin for example” [¶ 0061]; moreover, “The pigmented coating 16 may have a pigment loading and/or thickness sufficient to inhibit or prevent the circuit 30 and the electronic elements 36 including the light source 44 from being visible through the pigmented coating 16” [¶ 0061]; and moreover, “The anti-soiling component included in an anti-soiling component layer 18 or in the pigmented coating 16, is not particularly limited and may comprise acrylic urethane resin, polyurethane resin, polyisocyanate, carbodiimide, fluorine-containing materials such as tetrafluoroethylene (TFE)-copolymers, silicone, etc” [¶ 0063]);
wherein the indicator comprises at least one of (a) an image (Ali; the indicator comprises (at least one of) an image [¶ 0092-0094], as illustrated within Fig. 6; moreover, an image corresponding to visual indicator [¶ 0097-0098], as illustrated within Fig. 7);
(b) an indicator (Ali; the indicator [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises (at least one of) an indicator [¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Fig. 7 and Fig. 8; wherein, visual indicates information [¶ 0092-0094], as illustrated within Fig. 6);
(c) an illuminated indicator (Ali; the indicator [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises (at least one of) an illuminated indicator [¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Fig. 7 and Fig. 8; moreover, an illuminated visual indication of information [¶ 0092-0094], as illustrated within Fig. 6);
(d) an illuminated form (Ali; the indicator [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises (at least one of) an illuminated form [¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Fig. 7 and Fig. 8; moreover, an illuminated visual indicator [¶ 0092-0094], as illustrated within Fig. 6);
(e) an illuminated form comprising the projection.
Ali fails to explicitly discloses a light guide;
a projection comprising an icon;
wherein the light guide comprising the projection is integrally-formed from a light transmissive material comprising a resin;
a recess in an inner surface of the cover;
the icon of the light guide comprises a light-transmissive resin material;
wherein the recess in the inner surface of the cover comprises a shape corresponding to the shape of the segment of the projection comprising the icon so that the segment of the projection comprising the icon is configured to fit within the recess in the inner surface of the cover;
wherein the cover is formed directly onto the light guide so that the recess in the inner surface of the cover is formed to fit directly onto the projection comprising the icon of the segment of the light guide; and
wherein the visual effect presented at the cover is configured (a) to present the light display comprising the icon and (b) to prevent visibility of the icon.
However, Hein teaches a recess in an inner surface of the cover (Hein; a recess in an inner surface of the cover [¶ 0014-0016, 0021-0022, and ¶ 0024], as illustrated within Fig. 3);
a light guide configured to allow transmission of light from the light source to the cover (Hein; a light guide (i.e. substrate) configured to allow transmission of light from the light source to the cover [¶ 0016, ¶ 0018, and ¶ 0026-0027], as illustrated within Figs. 2A and 3);
wherein the projection comprising the icon comprises a segment comprising a shape (Hein; the projection comprising the icon comprises a segment comprising a shape [¶ 0014-0016, ¶ 0024, and ¶ 0026-0027], as illustrated within Fig. 2A and Fig. 3);
wherein the recess in the inner surface of the cover comprises a shape corresponding to the shape of the segment of the projection comprising the icon so that the segment of the projection comprising the icon is configured to fit within the recess in the inner surface of the cover (Hein; the recess (as illustrated) in the inner surface of the cover comprises a shape corresponding to the shape of the segment of the projection comprising the icon so that the segment of the projection comprising the icon is configured to fit within the recess in the inner surface of the cover [¶ 0014-0016, 0021-0022, and ¶ 0024], as illustrated within Fig. 3); and
wherein the visual effect presented at the cover is configured (a) to present the light display comprising the icon when the light source is on and (b) to prevent visibility of the icon when the light source is off (Hein; the visual effect presented at the cover is configured (a) to present the light display comprising the icon when the light source is on and (b) to prevent visibility of the icon when the light source is off [¶ 0016, ¶ 0018, and ¶ 0026-0027], as illustrated between the differences of graphics within Fig. 1 and Figs. 2-2A).
Ali in view of Hein are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to controlling electrical components in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein, to incorporate a recess in an inner surface of the cover; a light guide configured to allow transmission of light from the light source to the cover; wherein the projection comprising the icon comprises a segment comprising a shape; wherein the recess in the inner surface of the cover comprises a shape corresponding to the shape of the segment of the projection comprising the icon so that the segment of the projection comprising the icon is configured to fit within the recess in the inner surface of the cover; and wherein the visual effect presented at the cover is configured (a) to present the light display comprising the icon when the light source is on and (b) to prevent visibility of the icon when the light source is off (as taught by Hein), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Hein; [¶ 0001-0004]).
Ali as modified by Hein fails to disclose wherein the light guide comprising the projection is integrally-formed from a light transmissive material comprising a resin; and
wherein the cover is formed directly onto the light guide so that the recess in the inner surface of the cover is formed to fit directly onto the projection comprising the icon of the segment of the light guide.
However, Cho teaches wherein the light guide comprises a projection comprising an icon (Cho; the light guide comprises a projection comprising an icon (i.e. symbol) [¶ 0084-0086 and ¶ 0098]; additionally, symbols are presented via a light guide [¶ 0051-0053 and ¶ 0079-0081], as illustrated within Fig. 5 and Fig. 6; wherein, a light guide is configured to omit/project light [¶ 0050-0053]; in other words, the light guide is configured to transmit light, and present the appearance of icon with the aid of a surface material, however the icon is still the light guide itself);
wherein the light guide comprising the projection is integrally-formed from a light transmissive material comprising a resin (Cho; the light guide comprising the projection [as addressed above] is integrally-formed from a light transmissive material [¶ 0052-0054] comprising a resin [¶ 0050]; in other words, the projection is part of the light guide);
a recess in an inner surface of the cover (Cho; a recess/protrusion in an inner surface of the cover [¶ 0088-0090], as illustrated within Fig. 7; wherein, as illustrated within Fig. 7: configurations C-D, the difference of H1 and H2 corresponds to a recess/protrusion within a layer that forms the cover; moreover, injection molded transparent resin [¶ 0094]; additionally, as illustrated within Fig. 4: configurations E-F, depicts an alternative configuration [¶ 0073-0075]);
wherein the projection comprising the icon of the light guide comprises a light-transmissive resin material (Cho; the projection [as addressed above] comprising the icon of the light guide comprises a light-transmissive resin material (i.e. substrate) [¶ 0084 and ¶ 0088-0089]; moreover, light guide [¶ 0050-0053]; additionally, an assembly [¶ 0044 and ¶ 0061] comprises one or more materials (e.g. plastic, vinyl, foam, thermoplastic, or resin) [¶ 0058, ¶ 0062-0063, and ¶ 0066-0067]);
wherein the projection comprising the icon comprises a segment comprising a shape (Cho; the projection comprising the icon/symbol comprises a segment comprising an implicit shape (given the symbol’s dimensions) [¶ 0098]; additionally, light guide pattern(s) [¶ 0051-0053], as illustrated within Fig. 5, is/are illumined [¶ 0079-0080], as illustrated within Fig. 6);
wherein the recess in the inner surface of the cover comprises a shape corresponding to the shape of the segment of the projection comprising the icon so that the segment of the projection comprising the icon is configured to fit within the recess in the inner surface of the cover (Cho; the recess/protrusion in the inner surface of the cover comprises an implicit shape (given the light guide dimensions) corresponding to the implicit shape (given the symbol’s dimensions) of the segment of the projection comprising the icon/symbol so that the segment of the projection comprising the icon/symbol is configured to fit within the recess/protrusion in the inner surface of the cover [¶ 0088-0090], as illustrated within configurations C-D of Fig. 7; additionally, as illustrated within configurations E-F of Fig. 4, the light guide from a base is fit into an opening of the cover layers [¶ 0073-0075]);
wherein the cover is formed directly onto the light guide so that the recess in the inner surface of the cover is formed to fit directly onto the projection comprising the icon of the segment of the light guide (Cho; the cover is formed directly onto the light guide (of a module) so that the recess/protrusion in the inner surface of the cover (comprising a shape that) is formed to fit directly onto the projection comprising the icon/symbol of the segment of the light guide (of the module) [¶ 0088-0090], as illustrated within configurations C-D of Fig. 7; additionally, as illustrated within configurations E-F of Fig. 4, the light guide from a base is fit into an opening of the cover layers [¶ 0073-0075]); and
wherein the visual effect presented at the cover is configured (a) to present the light display comprising the icon and (b) to prevent visibility of the icon (Cho; the visual effect presented at the cover is configured (a) to present the light display comprising the icon and (b) to prevent visibility of the icon [¶ 0084-0086 and ¶ 0098]; additionally, a visual object is presented or hidden [¶ 0051-0053 and ¶ 0079-0081], as illustrated within Fig. 5 and Fig. 6);
wherein the icon comprises at least one of (a) an image (Cho; the icon comprises (at least one of) an image (i.e. symbol(s), lock/unlock figure) [¶ 0051-0052], as illustrated within Figs. 5-6);
(b) an indicator (Cho; the icon comprises (at least one of) an indicator (i.e. symbol(s), lock/unlock figure) [¶ 0051-0052], as illustrated within Figs. 5-6; wherein, the symbol(s) indicate if or when something is locked or unlocked [id.]);
(c) an illuminated indicator (Cho; the icon comprises (at least one of) an illuminated indicator (i.e. symbol(s), lock/unlock figure) [¶ 0051-0052], as illustrated within Figs. 5-6; wherein, the symbol(s) indicate if or when something is locked or unlocked [id.] and is further illuminated via a LED [¶ 0049-0050]);
(d) an illuminated form;
(e) an illuminated form comprising the projection.
Ali in view of Hein and Cho are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to controlling electrical components in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein, to incorporate wherein the light guide comprises a projection comprising an icon; wherein the light guide comprising the projection is integrally-formed from a light transmissive material comprising a resin; a recess in an inner surface of the cover; wherein the projection comprising the icon of the light guide comprises a light-transmissive resin material; wherein the projection comprising the icon comprises a segment comprising a shape; wherein the recess in the inner surface of the cover comprises a shape corresponding to the shape of the segment of the projection comprising the icon so that the segment of the projection comprising the icon is configured to fit within the recess in the inner surface of the cover; wherein the cover is formed directly onto the light guide so that the recess in the inner surface of the cover is formed to fit directly onto the projection comprising the icon of the segment of the light guide; and wherein the visual effect presented at the cover is configured (a) to present the light display comprising the icon and (b) to prevent visibility of the icon; wherein the icon comprises at least one of (a) an image; (b) an indicator; (c) an illuminated indicator; (d) an illuminated form; (e) an illuminated form comprising the projection (as taught by Cho), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Cho; [¶ 0008-0011 and ¶ 0028-0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the light source comprises at least one LED (Ali; the light source [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises at least one LED [¶ 0076 and ¶ 0101]; wherein, electronic element(s) comprise one or more light source(s) [¶0058, ¶ 0060, and ¶ 0071-0072]).
Regarding claim 3, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the light source comprises at least one of (a) an array, (b) a grid, (c) a panel, (d) a display panel, (e) a flexible panel, (f) a lighting array, (g) a lighting device array, (h) a light-emitting device array, (i) an LED, (j) an LED array, (k) an OLED array, (l) a flexible LED array, (m) a flexible sheet, (n) a light source directed through the light guide, (o) an LED mat, (p) a flexible LED mat (Ali; wherein the at least one light source [as addressed above] comprises at least one of an array, a grid, a panel, a display panel, a lighting array, a lighting device array, a light-emitting device array, an LED, an LED array, an OLED array, a light source directed through the light guide [¶ 0071-0073 and ¶ 0076]; moreover, an array of individual light emitter elements [¶ 0092-0094], wherein an array corresponds to illuminated area [¶ 0096-0098], as illustrated within Figs. 6-7).
Regarding claim 4, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the light source comprises an LED array (Ali; the light source [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises an LED array [¶ 0071-0073 and ¶ 0076]; moreover, an array of individual light emitter elements [¶ 0092-0094], associated with an illuminated area [¶ 0097-0098], as illustrated within Figs. 6-7);
wherein the cover is configured to prevent visibility of the indicator when the LED array is off (Ali; the cover [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is configured to prevent visibility of the indictor when the LED array is off [¶ 0060-0061 and ¶ 0105]; moreover, an icon/indicator [¶ 0093-0094 and ¶ 0098] associated with a cover [¶ 0041-0042]; wherein, light sources are inhibited by the pigmented coating [¶ 0060-0061]).
Hein further teaches the cover is configured to prevent visibility of the icon when off (Hein; the cover is configured to prevent visibility of the icon when off [¶ 0016, ¶ 0018, and ¶ 0026-0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein and Cho, to incorporate the cover is configured to prevent visibility of the indicator when off (as taught by Hein), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Hein; [¶ 0001-0004]).
Regarding claim 5, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 1 further comprising user interface at the cover comprising an output device comprising the indicator and an input device (Ali; UI at the cover comprising an output device (i.e. visual display) comprising the indicator and an input device [¶ 0091-0094, and ¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Figs. 6-7);
wherein the input device comprises at least one of (a) a sensor;
(b) a switch;
(c) a button;
(d) a panel (Ali; an input device (i.e. smart component) [as addressed above] comprises at least one of a sensor, a switch, a button, a (display) panel [¶ 0058, ¶ 0091-0093, and ¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Figs. 6-8; additionally, button circuit [¶ 0039]; and additionally, one or more sensors types [¶ 0079-0081 and ¶ 0090]).
Hein further teaches user interface at the cover comprising an output device comprising the icon (Hein; UI at the cover comprising an output device comprising the icon [¶ 0016, ¶ 0018, and ¶ 0026-0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein and Cho, to incorporate user interface at the cover comprising an output device comprising the icon (as taught by Hein), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Hein; [¶ 0001-0004]).
Regarding claim 6, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the cover comprises the polymer material over the light guide (Ali; the cover comprises the polymer material over the implicit light guide (given the LED) [¶ 0059-0063]).
Cho further teaches wherein the cover comprises the polymer material formed onto the light guide (Cho; the cover comprises the polymer material formed onto the light guide [¶ 0088-0090], as illustrated within configurations C-D of Fig. 7; moreover, injection-molding [¶ 0084-0085]; wherein, injection and/or foam -molding are utilized in relation with one or more methods [¶ 0018-0020]; and wherein, the assembly [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises one or more materials (e.g. plastic, vinyl, foam, thermoplastic, or resin) [¶ 0058, ¶ 0062-0063, and ¶ 0066-0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein and Cho, to incorporate wherein the cover comprises the polymer material formed onto the light guide (as taught by Cho), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Cho; [¶ 0008-0011 and ¶ 0028-0032]).
Regarding claim 7, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the cover comprises a cover surface configured to present a user interface (Ali; the cover [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises a cover surface [¶ 0059-0062] configured to present a UI [¶ 0079 and ¶ 0091]; wherein, functional layered assembly is configured to be a visual UI [¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Figs. 6-8);
wherein the cover surface comprises an information region and/or a decorative region (Ali; wherein the cover surface [as addressed above] comprises an information region and/or a decorative region [¶ 0092-0094], as illustrated within Fig. 6; moreover, illuminated and non-illuminated area [¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 1 comprising at least one of (a) a steering wheel assembly, (b) a console, (c) a floor console, (d) a center console, (e) an instrument panel, (f) a door panel, (g) a dashboard, (h) a display, (i) an arm rest, (j) a cockpit (Ali; at least one of a steering wheel assembly, a console, a center console, an instrument panel, a door panel, a dashboard, a display, an arm rest [¶ 0091 and ¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Figs. 6-8; wherein, Figs. 6-8 emphasize one or more types of one or more components).
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 9 is addressed within the rejection of claim 1, due to the similarities claim 9 and claim 1 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 1 regarding the rejection of claim 9. Although, claim 9 and claim 1 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. Thus, it is reasonable to reject claim 9 based on the teachings and rational in relation with the prior art within the rejection of claim 1.
(wherein the module and component are of the same whole, the module corresponding to the component and/or the module corresponding to a partial aspect of the component)
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 10 is addressed within the rejection of claim 2, due to the similarities claim 10 and claim 2 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 2 regarding the rejection of claim 10. Although, claim 10 and claim 2 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. Thus, it is reasonable to reject claim 10 based on the teachings and rational in relation with the prior art within the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 9 wherein the cover is configured to cover the light guide (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior configured to be illuminated by a light source [as addressed above], wherein the cover is configured to cover the implicit light guide (given the LED) [¶ 0041-0042 and ¶ 0079], as illustrated within Fig. 1; moreover, surface material [¶ 0059-0061] covering the circuits [¶ 0103]);
wherein the cover is configured to provide visibility of the icon at an outer surface of the cover when the light guide is illuminated by the light source (Ali; the cover [as addressed above] is configured to provide visibility of the icon at an outer surface of the cover [¶ 0097-0099] when the implicit light guide (given the LED) is illuminated by the light source [¶ 0105]; moreover, presenting visual indicators [¶ 0092-0094]; wherein, light is visible through a pigmented coating [¶ 0060-0061]);
wherein the cover is configured to prevent visibility of the icon at the outer surface of the cover when the light guide is not illuminated by the light source (Ali; the cover [as addressed above] is configured to prevent visibility of the icon at the outer surface of the cover when the implicit light guide (given the LED) is not illuminated by the light source [¶ 0105]; wherein, light sources are inhibited by the pigmented coating [¶ 0060-0061]).
Cho further teaches the light guide (Cho; the light guide [¶ 0084 and ¶ 0088]; additionally, a light guides is configured to diffuse light of an LED [¶ 0044 and ¶ 0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein and Cho, to incorporate the light guide (as taught by Cho), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Cho; [¶ 0008-0011 and ¶ 0028-0032]).
Regarding claim 12, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 9 wherein the light-transmissive material comprises resin (Ali; the light-transmissive material comprises resin [¶ 0059-0063]).
Regarding claim 13, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 9 wherein the projection comprising the indicator (Ali; the projection comprising the indicator [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]).
Hein further teaches wherein the projection comprises the icon comprises at least one projection (Hein; the projection [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises the icon configured to be illuminated/projected (from a surface) [¶ 0016, ¶ 0018, and ¶ 0026-0027], as illustrated within Figs. 2-2A)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein and Cho, to incorporate wherein the projection comprises the icon comprises at least one projection (as taught by Hein), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Hein; [¶ 0001-0004]).
Regarding claim 14, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 13 wherein the projection comprises a height and the cover comprises a thickness (Cho; the projection comprises a height and the cover comprises a thickness [¶ 0087-0088 and ¶ 0090-0091], as illustrated within Fig. 7);
wherein the thickness is greater than the height (Cho; wherein the thickness is (illustrated as) greater than the height [¶ 0088 and ¶ 0091], as illustrated within Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein and Cho, to incorporate wherein the projection comprises a height and the cover comprises a thickness; wherein the thickness is generally greater than the height (as taught by Cho), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Cho; [¶ 0008-0011 and ¶ 0028-0032]).
Regarding claim 15, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 9 wherein the module comprises a light module comprising the light guide (Ali; the module comprises a light module comprising the implicit light guide (given the LED) [¶ 0091 and ¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Figs. 6-8; wherein, Figs. 6-8 emphasize one or more modules).
Cho further teaches the light guide (Cho; the light guide [¶ 0084 and ¶ 0088]; additionally, a light guides is configured to diffuse light of an LED [¶ 0044 and ¶ 0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein and Cho, to incorporate the light guide (as taught by Cho), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Cho; [¶ 0008-0011 and ¶ 0028-0032]).
Regarding claim 17, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 9 further comprising a cover assembly comprising the cover (Ali; a cover assembly (i.e. functional layered assembly) comprising the cover [¶ 0041-0042], as illustrated within Fig. 1; moreover, pigmented coating and anti-soiling component layer [¶ 0059-0063]);
wherein the cover assembly is configured to present a user interface comprising (1) an output device comprising a light display from the light source presenting the icon as an indicator (Ali; the cover assembly (i.e. functional layered assembly) [as addressed above] is configured to present a UI [¶ 0079 and ¶ 0091] comprising an output device (i.e. light emission means) comprising a light display from the light source presenting the icon as an indicator [¶ 0098-0099], as illustrated within Figs. 7-8; moreover, output means [¶ 0076]); and
(2) an input device connected to at least one sensor (Ali; the cover assembly (i.e. functional layered assembly) [as addressed above] is configured to present a UI comprising [as addressed above] an input device connected to at least one sensor [¶ 0058, ¶ 0091-0093, and ¶ 0097-0099]; and additionally, one or more sensors types [¶ 0039, ¶ 0079-0081, and ¶ 0090]).
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 18 is addressed within the rejection of claim 1, due to the similarities claim 18 and claim 1 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 1 regarding the rejection of claim 18. Although, claim 18 and claim 1 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. Thus, it is reasonable to reject claim 18 based on the teachings and rational in relation with the prior art within the rejection of claim 1. However, the subject matter/limitations not addressed by claim 1 is/are addressed below.
Ali discloses to present a user interface (Ali; to present a UI [¶ 0079 and ¶ 0091]; moreover, visualization [¶ 0097-0099]);
Wherein the user interface comprises (a) an output device comprising the indicator and (b) an input device connected to a sensor (Ali; the UI [as addressed above] comprises (a) an output device (i.e. light emission means) comprising the indicator [¶ 0098-0099], as illustrated within Figs. 7-8, and (b) an input device connected to a sensor [¶ 0058, ¶ 0091-0093, and ¶ 0097-0099]; moreover, one or more sensors types [¶ 0039, ¶ 0079-0081, and ¶ 0090]); and
wherein the indicator comprises an indicator configured to present an image when illuminated (Ali; the indicator [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises an indicator configured to present an image [¶ 0092-0094], as illustrated within Fig. 6, when illuminated [¶ 0105]; moreover, presenting visual indicators [¶ 0092-0094]; wherein, light is visible through a pigmented coating [¶ 0060-0061]; moreover, an image corresponding to visual indicator [¶ 0097-0098], as illustrated within Fig. 7).
Ali fails to explicitly disclose wherein the indicator comprises an icon configured to present an image when illuminated; and
wherein the indentation comprises a recess.
Hein further teaches wherein the indicator comprises an icon configured to present an image when illuminated (Hein; the indicator comprises an icon configured to present an image when illuminated [¶ 0016, ¶ 0018, and ¶ 0026-0027], as illustrated between the differences of graphics within Fig. 1 and Figs. 2-2A); and
the indentation comprises a recess (Hein; the indentation comprises a recess [¶ 0018 and ¶ 0026-0027]; moreover, a recess in an inner surface of the cover [¶ 0014-0016, 0021-0022, and ¶ 0024], as illustrated within Fig. 3).
Ali in view of Hein are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to controlling electrical components in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali, to incorporate wherein the indicator comprises an icon configured to present an image when illuminated; and the indentation comprises a recess (as taught by Hein), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Hein; [¶ 0001-0004]).
(further refer to the rejection of claim 1)
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 19 is addressed within the rejection of claim 3, due to the similarities claim 19 and claim 3 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 3 regarding the rejection of claim 19. Although, claim 19 and claim 3 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. Thus, it is reasonable to reject claim 19 based on the teachings and rational in relation with the prior art within the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 20, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 18 wherein the composite structure is configured to present user interface at the cover (Ali; wherein the composite structure [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is configured to present a UI [¶ 0079 and ¶ 0091] at the cover [¶ 0098-0099], as illustrated within Figs. 7-8).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ali in view of Hein and Cho as applied to claim(s) 9 above, and further in view of Lisseman et al., US PGPUB No. 20130128587 A1, hereinafter Lisseman.
Regarding claim 16, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 9 wherein the module (Ali; the module [¶ 0091 and ¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Figs. 6-8; wherein, Figs. 6-8 emphasize one or more modules).
Cho further teaches an absorber configured to at least one of (a) absorb sound;
(b) absorb vibration; and/or
(c) absorb assembly tolerance (Cho; an absorber (i.e. switch) implicitly configured to (at least one of) absorb assembly tolerance [¶ 0068 and ¶ 0103]; wherein, tolerance corresponds to a (touch) interaction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein and Cho, to incorporate an absorber configured to at least one of (a) absorb sound; (b) absorb vibration; and/or (c) absorb assembly tolerance (as taught by Cho), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Cho; [¶ 0008-0011 and ¶ 0028-0032]).
Ali as modified by Hein and Cho fails to explicitly disclose an absorb assembly tolerance.
However, Lisseman teaches wherein the module comprises an absorber configured to at least one of (a) absorb sound;
(b) absorb vibration; and/or
(c) absorb assembly tolerance (Lisseman; the module comprises an absorber (i.e. sensor) configured to absorb vibration and/or absorb assembly tolerance corresponding to pressure sensitive [¶ 0044-0046 and ¶ 0049]; moreover, a button [¶ 0062 and ¶ 0065]).
Ali in view of Hein and Cho and Lisseman are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to controlling electrical components in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein and Cho, to incorporate the module comprises an absorber configured to absorb vibration and/or absorb assembly tolerance (as taught by Lisseman), in order to provide clear and intuitive feedback indicators that reduce distraction (Lisseman; [¶ 0002-0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sakai (US PGPUB No. 20150062098 A1) : regard light guide form of an icon; and
Jung et al. (US PGPUB No. 20150204535 A1) : regard light transmission involving depression space and a panel.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHARLES LLOYD. BEARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2611
/CHARLES L BEARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611