DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Received 03/19/2026
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 10, 18, and 19 have been amended.
The objections to the claim(s) 1, 9, and 18 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments received on 03/19/2026.
The 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection to claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered in view of the amendments received on 03/19/2026 and are fully addressed in the prior art rejection below.
Response to Arguments
Received 03/19/2026
Regarding independent claim(s) 1, 9, and 18:
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, Page 24: ¶ 4 to Page 26: ¶ 2), filed 03/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 9, and 18 under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Wherein, Jung et al. (US PGPUB No. 20170311029 A1) fails to disclose the subject matter wherein the cover is formed directly onto the light guide so that the recess in the inner surface of the cover is formed to fit directly onto the projection comprising the icon of the segment of the light guide. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn, necessitated by Applicant's amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ali et al. (US PGPUB No. 20200108768 A1), in view of Hein et al. (US PGPUB No. 20090058118 A1), and further in view of Cho et al. (US PGPUB No. 20190275931 A1).
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, Page 26: ¶ 4 to Page 27: ¶ 3), filed 03/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 9 and 18 under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive due claim 9's and claim 18's similarity to claim 1. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn, necessitated by Applicant's amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the prior art as mentioned above.
Regarding dependent claim(s) 2-8, 10-17, and 19-20:
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, Page 27: ¶ 4), filed 03/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2-8, 10-17, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive due the dependency upon claims 1, 9, and 18 respectively. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn, necessitated by Applicant's amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the prior art as mentioned above.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive; as expressed below.
Regarding independent claim(s) 1, 9, and 18:
Applicant argues (Remarks, Page 26, ¶ 3), that “The suggestion to make the combination of Ali and/or Jung and/or Hein and/or Lisseman and/or Groene has been taken from the Applicants' own specification (using hindsight), which is improper.”
The Examiner disagrees. Wherein, Applicant's argument that the Examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
subject matter of “… the at least one light source” within lines 1-2 of claim 3 and claim 19 incorporate language that differs from its parent claims 1 and 18 respectively, wherein the subject matter of light source is recited as “a light source” or “the light source”. Although, a light source is equivalent to at least one light source, the claim language should be clear in relation with direct and comprehensive antecedence.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "… the light guide of the module" in line 16 and line 18.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "… the module" in line 1.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "… the module" in line 1.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ali et al., US PGPUB No. 20200108768 A1, hereinafter Ali, in view of Hein et al., US PGPUB No. 20090058118 A1, hereinafter Hein, and further in view of Cho et al., US PGPUB No. 20190275931 A1, hereinafter Cho.
Regarding claim 1, Ali discloses a component for a vehicle interior configured to be illuminated by a light source (Ali; a component for a vehicle interior configured to be illuminated by a light source [¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Fig. 7 and Fig. 8; additionally, smart functional vehicle component [¶ 0091, ¶ 0093, and ¶ 0096], as illustrated within Fig. 6, associated with smart functional layered assembly [¶ 0041], as illustrated within Fig. 1) comprising:
(a) a cover comprising a polymer material configured to present a visual effect (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior configured to be illuminated by a light source [as addressed above] comprises a cover [¶ 0041-0042] comprising a polymer material [¶ 0059-0063], as illustrated within Fig. 1, configured to present a visual effect [¶ 0079, ¶ 0099, and ¶ 0105], as illustrated within Fig. 8; wherein, the presenting of light is further illustrated within Figs. 6 and 7; moreover, surface material [¶ 0059-0061] and electronic elements [¶ 0058-0060 ¶ 0087, and ¶ 0103]); and
(b) a light guide configured to allow transmission of light from the light source to the light display (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior configured to be illuminated by a light source [as addressed above] comprises an implicit light guide configured to allow transmission of light from the light source to the light display [¶ 0092, ¶ 0094, and ¶ 0096-0098], as illustrated within Fig. 6 and Fig. 7; wherein, a light source is linked to light emitter elements (e.g. LED) implicitly corresponding to a light guide [¶ 0071-0073 and ¶ 0076]);
wherein the cover is configured to cover the light guide (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior [as addressed above] wherein the cover is configured to cover the implicit light guide (given the LED) [¶ 0041-0042 and ¶ 0079], as illustrated within Fig. 1; moreover, surface material [¶ 0059-0061] covering the circuits [¶ 0103]);
wherein the light guide comprises a projection comprising an indicator (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior [as addressed above] wherein the implicit light guide (given the LED) comprises a projection comprising an indicator [¶ 0091-0094 and ¶ 0097-0098], as illustrated within Figs. 6 and 7; moreover, as illustrated within Figs. 6 and 7, a projected icon/indicator corresponding to an illuminated area; wherein, projection corresponds to light emitted from a light source [¶ 0060-0061 and ¶ 0071-0072]; moreover, LED [¶ 0076]);
wherein the cover comprises an inner surface of the cover (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior [as addressed above] wherein the cover comprises an inner surface of the cover [¶ 0041-0042], as illustrated within Fig. 1);
wherein the projection comprising the indicator of the light guide comprises a light-transmissive resin material (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior wherein the projection comprising the icon/indicator of the implicit light guide (given the LED) [as addressed above] comprises a light-transmissive resin material [¶ 0059-0063] configured within the inner surface of the cover [¶ 0041-0042], as illustrated within Fig. 1; moreover, functional layered assembly [¶ 0040, ¶ 0091, and ¶ 0097-0098]);
wherein the projection comprising the indicator comprises a segment comprising a shape (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior wherein the projection comprising the icon/indicator [as addressed above] comprises a segment (i.e. illuminated area) comprising a shape (i.e. directional form indicator) [¶ 0092, ¶ 0094, and ¶ 0097-0098], as illustrated within Fig. 6 and Fig. 7);
wherein the indicator of the light guide is configured (a) to be presented as a light display at the cover when illuminated by the light source (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior [as addressed above] wherein the icon of the implicit light guide (given the LED) is configured to be presented as a light display at the cover [¶ 0097-0099] when illuminated by the light source [¶ 0105]; moreover, presenting visual indicators [¶ 0092-0094]; wherein, light is visible through a pigmented coating [¶ 0060-0061]) and (b) to be hidden by the cover when the light source is off (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior [as addressed above] to be hidden by the cover when the light source is off [¶ 0105]; wherein, light sources are inhibited by the pigmented coating [¶ 0060-0061]); and
wherein the visual effect presented at the cover is configured (a) to prevent visibility of the indicator when the light source is off (Ali; the cover comprising the polymer material is configured to prevent visibility of the indicator when the light source is off [¶ 0059-0063]; moreover, “The pigmented coating 16 may be polymer, textile, composite material, enamel, paper, glass, metal, ceramic, other material, and combinations thereof … the pigmented coating 16 comprises a pigmented layer including for example a mixture of polymer and pigment particles. The polymer may be an acrylic urethane resin for example” [¶ 0061]; moreover, “The pigmented coating 16 may have a pigment loading and/or thickness sufficient to inhibit or prevent the circuit 30 and the electronic elements 36 including the light source 44 from being visible through the pigmented coating 16” [¶ 0061]; and moreover, “The anti-soiling component included in an anti-soiling component layer 18 or in the pigmented coating 16, is not particularly limited and may comprise acrylic urethane resin, polyurethane resin, polyisocyanate, carbodiimide, fluorine-containing materials such as tetrafluoroethylene (TFE)-copolymers, silicone, etc” [¶ 0063]);
wherein the indicator comprises at least one of (a) an image (Ali; the indicator comprises (at least one of) an image [¶ 0092-0094], as illustrated within Fig. 6; moreover, an image corresponding to visual indicator [¶ 0097-0098], as illustrated within Fig. 7);
(b) an indicator (Ali; the indicator [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises (at least one of) an indicator [¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Fig. 7 and Fig. 8; wherein, visual indicates information [¶ 0092-0094], as illustrated within Fig. 6);
(c) an illuminated indicator (Ali; the indicator [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises (at least one of) an illuminated indicator [¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Fig. 7 and Fig. 8; moreover, an illuminated visual indication of information [¶ 0092-0094], as illustrated within Fig. 6);
(d) an illuminated form (Ali; the indicator [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises (at least one of) an illuminated form [¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Fig. 7 and Fig. 8; moreover, an illuminated visual indicator [¶ 0092-0094], as illustrated within Fig. 6);
(e) an illuminated form comprising the projection.
Ali fails to explicitly discloses a light guide;
a projection comprising an icon;
a recess in an inner surface of the cover;
the icon of the light guide comprises a light-transmissive resin material;
wherein the recess in the inner surface of the cover comprises a shape corresponding to the shape of the segment of the projection comprising the icon so that the segment of the projection comprising the icon is configured to fit within the recess in the inner surface of the cover;
wherein the cover is formed directly onto the light guide so that the recess in the inner surface of the cover is formed to fit directly onto the projection comprising the icon of the segment of the light guide; and
wherein the visual effect presented at the cover is configured (a) to present the light display comprising the icon and (b) to prevent visibility of the icon.
However, Hein teaches a recess in an inner surface of the cover (Hein; a recess in an inner surface of the cover [¶ 0014-0016, 0021-0022, and ¶ 0024], as illustrated within Fig. 3);
a light guide configured to allow transmission of light from the light source to the cover (Hein; a light guide (i.e. substrate) configured to allow transmission of light from the light source to the cover [¶ 0016, ¶ 0018, and ¶ 0026-0027], as illustrated within Figs. 2A and 3);
wherein the projection comprising the icon comprises a segment comprising a shape (Hein; the projection comprising the icon comprises a segment comprising a shape [¶ 0014-0016, ¶ 0024, and ¶ 0026-0027], as illustrated within Fig. 2A and Fig. 3);
wherein the recess in the inner surface of the cover comprises a shape corresponding to the shape of the segment of the projection comprising the icon so that the segment of the projection comprising the icon is configured to fit within the recess in the inner surface of the cover (Hein; the recess (as illustrated) in the inner surface of the cover comprises a shape corresponding to the shape of the segment of the projection comprising the icon so that the segment of the projection comprising the icon is configured to fit within the recess in the inner surface of the cover [¶ 0014-0016, 0021-0022, and ¶ 0024], as illustrated within Fig. 3); and
wherein the visual effect presented at the cover is configured (a) to present the light display comprising the icon when the light source is on and (b) to prevent visibility of the icon when the light source is off (Hein; the visual effect presented at the cover is configured (a) to present the light display comprising the icon when the light source is on and (b) to prevent visibility of the icon when the light source is off [¶ 0016, ¶ 0018, and ¶ 0026-0027], as illustrated between the differences of graphics within Fig. 1 and Figs. 2-2A).
Ali in view of Hein are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to controlling electrical components in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein, to incorporate a recess in an inner surface of the cover; a light guide configured to allow transmission of light from the light source to the cover; wherein the projection comprising the icon comprises a segment comprising a shape; wherein the recess in the inner surface of the cover comprises a shape corresponding to the shape of the segment of the projection comprising the icon so that the segment of the projection comprising the icon is configured to fit within the recess in the inner surface of the cover; and wherein the visual effect presented at the cover is configured (a) to present the light display comprising the icon when the light source is on and (b) to prevent visibility of the icon when the light source is off (as taught by Hein), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Hein; [¶ 0001-0004]).
Ali as modified by Hein fails to disclose wherein the cover is formed directly onto the light guide so that the recess in the inner surface of the cover is formed to fit directly onto the projection comprising the icon of the segment of the light guide.
However, Cho teaches a projection comprising an icon (Cho; a projection comprising an icon (i.e. symbol) [¶ 0084-0086 and ¶ 0098]; additionally, symbols are presented via a light guide [¶ 0051-0053 and ¶ 0079-0081], as illustrated within Fig. 5 and Fig. 6; wherein, a light guide is configured to omit/project light [¶ 0050-0053]);
a recess in an inner surface of the cover (Cho; a recess/protrusion in an inner surface of the cover [¶ 0088-0090], as illustrated within Fig. 7; wherein, as illustrated within Fig. 7: configurations C-D, the difference of H1 and H2 corresponds to a recess/protrusion within a layer that forms the cover; moreover, injection molded transparent resin [¶ 0094]; additionally, as illustrated within Fig. 4: configurations E-F, depicts an alternative configuration [¶ 0073-0075]);
the icon of the light guide comprises a light-transmissive resin material (Cho; the icon of the light guide comprises a light-transmissive resin material (i.e. substrate) [¶ 0084 and ¶ 0088-0089]; moreover, light guide [¶ 0050-0053]; additionally, an assembly [¶ 0044 and ¶ 0061] comprises one or more materials (e.g. plastic, vinyl, foam, thermoplastic, or resin) [¶ 0058, ¶ 0062-0063, and ¶ 0066-0067]);
wherein the projection comprising the icon comprises a segment comprising a shape (Cho; the projection comprising the icon/symbol comprises a segment comprising an implicit shape (given the symbol’s dimensions) [¶ 0098]; additionally, light guide pattern(s) [¶ 0051-0053], as illustrated within Fig. 5, is/are illumined [¶ 0079-0080], as illustrated within Fig. 6);
wherein the recess in the inner surface of the cover comprises a shape corresponding to the shape of the segment of the projection comprising the icon so that the segment of the projection comprising the icon is configured to fit within the recess in the inner surface of the cover (Cho; the recess/protrusion in the inner surface of the cover comprises an implicit shape (given the light guide dimensions) corresponding to the implicit shape (given the symbol’s dimensions) of the segment of the projection comprising the icon/symbol so that the segment of the projection comprising the icon/symbol is configured to fit within the recess/protrusion in the inner surface of the cover [¶ 0088-0090], as illustrated within configurations C-D of Fig. 7; additionally, as illustrated within configurations E-F of Fig. 4, the light guide from a base is fit into an opening of the cover layers [¶ 0073-0075]);
wherein the cover is formed directly onto the light guide so that the recess in the inner surface of the cover is formed to fit directly onto the projection comprising the icon of the segment of the light guide (Cho; the cover is formed directly onto the light guide (of a module) so that the recess/protrusion in the inner surface of the cover (comprising a shape that) is formed to fit directly onto the projection comprising the icon/symbol of the segment of the light guide (of the module) [¶ 0088-0090], as illustrated within configurations C-D of Fig. 7; additionally, as illustrated within configurations E-F of Fig. 4, the light guide from a base is fit into an opening of the cover layers [¶ 0073-0075]); and
wherein the visual effect presented at the cover is configured (a) to present the light display comprising the icon and (b) to prevent visibility of the icon (Cho; the visual effect presented at the cover is configured (a) to present the light display comprising the icon and (b) to prevent visibility of the icon [¶ 0084-0086 and ¶ 0098]; additionally, a visual object is presented or hidden [¶ 0051-0053 and ¶ 0079-0081], as illustrated within Fig. 5 and Fig. 6);
wherein the icon comprises at least one of (a) an image (Cho; the icon comprises (at least one of) an image (i.e. symbol(s), lock/unlock figure) [¶ 0051-0052], as illustrated within Figs. 5-6);
(b) an indicator (Cho; the icon comprises (at least one of) an indicator (i.e. symbol(s), lock/unlock figure) [¶ 0051-0052], as illustrated within Figs. 5-6; wherein, the symbol(s) indicate if or when something is locked or unlocked [id.]);
(c) an illuminated indicator (Cho; the icon comprises (at least one of) an illuminated indicator (i.e. symbol(s), lock/unlock figure) [¶ 0051-0052], as illustrated within Figs. 5-6; wherein, the symbol(s) indicate if or when something is locked or unlocked [id.] and is further illuminated via a LED [¶ 0049-0050]);
(d) an illuminated form;
(e) an illuminated form comprising the projection.
Ali in view of Hein and Cho are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to controlling electrical components in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein, to incorporate a projection comprising an icon; a recess in an inner surface of the cover; the icon of the light guide comprises a light-transmissive resin material; wherein the projection comprising the icon comprises a segment comprising a shape; wherein the recess in the inner surface of the cover comprises a shape corresponding to the shape of the segment of the projection comprising the icon so that the segment of the projection comprising the icon is configured to fit within the recess in the inner surface of the cover; wherein the cover is formed directly onto the light guide so that the recess in the inner surface of the cover is formed to fit directly onto the projection comprising the icon of the segment of the light guide; wherein the visual effect presented at the cover is configured (a) to present the light display comprising the icon and (b) to prevent visibility of the icon; and wherein the visual effect presented at the cover is configured (a) to present the light display comprising the icon and (b) to prevent visibility of the icon; wherein the icon comprises at least one of (a) an image; (b) an indicator; (c) an illuminated indicator; (d) an illuminated form; (e) an illuminated form comprising the projection (as taught by Cho), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Cho; [¶ 0008-0011 and ¶ 0028-0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the light source comprises at least one LED (Ali; the light source [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises at least one LED [¶ 0076 and ¶ 0101]; wherein, electronic element(s) comprise one or more light source(s) [¶0058, ¶ 0060, and ¶ 0071-0072]).
Regarding claim 3, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 1 further comprising the at least one light source (Ali; the at least one light source [¶ 0092-0094 and ¶ 0096-0098], as illustrated within Fig. 6 and Fig. 7; wherein, a light source being associated with light emitter elements [¶ 0071-0073 and ¶ 0076]);
wherein the at least one light source comprises at least one of (a) an array, (b) a grid, (c) a panel, (d) a display panel, (e) a flexible panel, (f) a lighting array, (g) a lighting device array, (h) a light-emitting device array, (i) an LED, (j) an LED array, (k) an OLED array, (l) a flexible LED array, (m) a flexible sheet, (n) a light source directed through the light guide, (o) an LED mat, (p) a flexible LED mat (Ali; wherein the at least one light source [as addressed above] comprises at least one of an array, a grid, a panel, a display panel, a lighting array, a lighting device array, a light-emitting device array, an LED, an LED array, an OLED array, a light source directed through the light guide [¶ 0071-0073 and ¶ 0076]; moreover, an array of individual light emitter elements [¶ 0092-0094], wherein an array corresponds to illuminated area [¶ 0097-0098], as illustrated within Figs. 6-7).
Regarding claim 4, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the light source comprises an LED array (Ali; the light source [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises an LED array [¶ 0071-0073 and ¶ 0076]; moreover, an array of individual light emitter elements [¶ 0092-0094], associated with an illuminated area [¶ 0097-0098], as illustrated within Figs. 6-7);
wherein the cover is configured to prevent visibility of the indicator when the LED array is off (Ali; the cover [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is configured to prevent visibility of the indictor when the LED array is off [¶ 0060-0061 and ¶ 0105]; moreover, an icon/indicator [¶ 0093-0094 and ¶ 0098] associated with a cover [¶ 0041-0042]; wherein, light sources are inhibited by the pigmented coating [¶ 0060-0061]).
Hein further teaches the cover is configured to prevent visibility of the icon when off (Hein; the cover is configured to prevent visibility of the icon when off [¶ 0016, ¶ 0018, and ¶ 0026-0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein and Cho, to incorporate the cover is configured to prevent visibility of the indicator when off (as taught by Hein), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Hein; [¶ 0001-0004]).
Regarding claim 5, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 1 further comprising user interface at the cover comprising an output device comprising the indicator and an input device (Ali; UI at the cover comprising an output device (i.e. visual display) comprising the indicator and an input device [¶ 0091-0094, and ¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Figs. 6-7);
wherein the input device comprises at least one of (a) a sensor;
(b) a switch;
(c) a button;
(d) a panel (Ali; an input device (i.e. smart component) [as addressed above] comprises at least one of a sensor, a switch, a button, a (display) panel [¶ 0058, ¶ 0091-0093, and ¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Figs. 6-8; additionally, button circuit [¶ 0039]; and additionally, one or more sensors types [¶ 0079-0081 and ¶ 0090]).
Hein further teaches user interface at the cover comprising an output device comprising the icon (Hein; UI at the cover comprising an output device comprising the icon [¶ 0016, ¶ 0018, and ¶ 0026-0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein and Cho, to incorporate user interface at the cover comprising an output device comprising the icon (as taught by Hein), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Hein; [¶ 0001-0004]).
Regarding claim 6, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the cover comprises the polymer material over the light guide (Ali; the cover comprises the polymer material over the implicit light guide (given the LED) [¶ 0059-0063]).
Cho further teaches wherein the cover comprises the polymer material formed onto the light guide (Cho; the cover comprises the polymer material formed onto the light guide [¶ 0088-0090], as illustrated within configurations C-D of Fig. 7; moreover, injection-molding [¶ 0084-0085]; wherein, injection and/or foam -molding are utilized in relation with one or more methods [¶ 0018-0020]; and wherein, the assembly [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises one or more materials (e.g. plastic, vinyl, foam, thermoplastic, or resin) [¶ 0058, ¶ 0062-0063, and ¶ 0066-0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein and Cho, to incorporate wherein the cover comprises the polymer material formed onto the light guide (as taught by Cho), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Cho; [¶ 0008-0011 and ¶ 0028-0032]).
Regarding claim 7, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 1 wherein the cover comprises a cover surface configured to present a user interface (Ali; the cover [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises a cover surface [¶ 0059-0062] configured to present a UI [¶ 0079 and ¶ 0091]; wherein, functional layered assembly is configured to be a visual UI [¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Figs. 6-8);
wherein the cover surface comprises an information region and/or a decorative region (Ali; wherein the cover surface [as addressed above] comprises an information region and/or a decorative region [¶ 0092-0094], as illustrated within Fig. 6; moreover, illuminated and non-illuminated area [¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 1 comprising at least one of (a) a steering wheel assembly, (b) a console, (c) a floor console, (d) a center console, (e) an instrument panel, (f) a door panel, (g) a dashboard, (h) a display, (i) an arm rest, (j) a cockpit (Ali; at least one of a steering wheel assembly, a console, a center console, an instrument panel, a door panel, a dashboard, a display, an arm rest [¶ 0091 and ¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Figs. 6-8; wherein, Figs. 6-8 emphasize one or more types of one or more components).
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 9 is addressed within the rejection of claim 1, due to the similarities claim 9 and claim 1 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 1 regarding the rejection of claim 9. Although, claim 9 and claim 1 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. Thus, it is reasonable to reject claim 9 based on the teachings and rational in relation with the prior art within the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 10 is addressed within the rejection of claim 2, due to the similarities claim 10 and claim 2 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 2 regarding the rejection of claim 10. Although, claim 10 and claim 2 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. Thus, it is reasonable to reject claim 10 based on the teachings and rational in relation with the prior art within the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 9 wherein the cover is configured to cover the light guide (Ali; the component for a vehicle interior configured to be illuminated by a light source [as addressed above], wherein the cover is configured to cover the implicit light guide (given the LED) [¶ 0041-0042 and ¶ 0079], as illustrated within Fig. 1; moreover, surface material [¶ 0059-0061] covering the circuits [¶ 0103]);
wherein the cover is configured to provide visibility of the icon at an outer surface of the cover when the light guide is illuminated by the light source (Ali; the cover [as addressed above] is configured to provide visibility of the icon at an outer surface of the cover [¶ 0097-0099] when the implicit light guide (given the LED) is illuminated by the light source [¶ 0105]; moreover, presenting visual indicators [¶ 0092-0094]; wherein, light is visible through a pigmented coating [¶ 0060-0061]);
wherein the cover is configured to prevent visibility of the icon at the outer surface of the cover when the light guide is not illuminated by the light source (Ali; the cover [as addressed above] is configured to prevent visibility of the icon at the outer surface of the cover when the implicit light guide (given the LED) is not illuminated by the light source [¶ 0105]; wherein, light sources are inhibited by the pigmented coating [¶ 0060-0061]).
Cho further teaches the light guide (Cho; the light guide [¶ 0084 and ¶ 0088]; additionally, a light guides is configured to diffuse light of an LED [¶ 0044 and ¶ 0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein and Cho, to incorporate the light guide (as taught by Cho), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Cho; [¶ 0008-0011 and ¶ 0028-0032]).
Regarding claim 12, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 9 wherein the light-transmissive material comprises resin (Ali; the light-transmissive material comprises resin [¶ 0059-0063]).
Regarding claim 13, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 9 wherein the projection comprising the indicator (Ali; the projection comprising the indicator [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]).
Hein further teaches wherein the projection comprises the icon comprises at least one projection (Hein; the projection [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises the icon configured to be illuminated/projected (from a surface) [¶ 0016, ¶ 0018, and ¶ 0026-0027], as illustrated within Figs. 2-2A)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein and Cho, to incorporate wherein the projection comprises the icon comprises at least one projection (as taught by Hein), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Hein; [¶ 0001-0004]).
Regarding claim 14, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 13 wherein the projection comprises a height and the cover comprises a thickness (Cho; the projection comprises a height and the cover comprises a thickness [¶ 0087-0088 and ¶ 0090-0091], as illustrated within Fig. 7);
wherein the thickness is greater than the height (Cho; wherein the thickness is (illustrated as) greater than the height [¶ 0088 and ¶ 0091], as illustrated within Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein and Cho, to incorporate wherein the projection comprises a height and the cover comprises a thickness; wherein the thickness is generally greater than the height (as taught by Cho), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Cho; [¶ 0008-0011 and ¶ 0028-0032]).
Regarding claim 15, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 9 wherein the module comprises a light module comprising the light guide (Ali; the module comprises a light module comprising the implicit light guide (given the LED) [¶ 0091 and ¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Figs. 6-8; wherein, Figs. 6-8 emphasize one or more modules).
Cho further teaches the light guide (Cho; the light guide [¶ 0084 and ¶ 0088]; additionally, a light guides is configured to diffuse light of an LED [¶ 0044 and ¶ 0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein and Cho, to incorporate the light guide (as taught by Cho), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Cho; [¶ 0008-0011 and ¶ 0028-0032]).
Regarding claim 17, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 9 further comprising a cover assembly comprising the cover (Ali; a cover assembly (i.e. functional layered assembly) comprising the cover [¶ 0041-0042], as illustrated within Fig. 1; moreover, pigmented coating and anti-soiling component layer [¶ 0059-0063]);
wherein the cover assembly is configured to present a user interface comprising (1) an output device comprising a light display from the light source presenting the icon as an indicator (Ali; the cover assembly (i.e. functional layered assembly) [as addressed above] is configured to present a UI [¶ 0079 and ¶ 0091] comprising an output device (i.e. light emission means) comprising a light display from the light source presenting the icon as an indicator [¶ 0098-0099], as illustrated within Figs. 7-8; moreover, output means [¶ 0076]); and
(2) an input device connected to at least one sensor (Ali; the cover assembly (i.e. functional layered assembly) [as addressed above] is configured to present a UI comprising [as addressed above] an input device connected to at least one sensor [¶ 0058, ¶ 0091-0093, and ¶ 0097-0099]; and additionally, one or more sensors types [¶ 0039, ¶ 0079-0081, and ¶ 0090]).
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 18 is addressed within the rejection of claim 1, due to the similarities claim 18 and claim 1 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 1 regarding the rejection of claim 18. Although, claim 18 and claim 1 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. Thus, it is reasonable to reject claim 18 based on the teachings and rational in relation with the prior art within the rejection of claim 1. However, the subject matter/limitations not addressed by claim 1 is/are addressed below.
Ali discloses to present a user interface (Ali; to present a UI [¶ 0079 and ¶ 0091]; moreover, visualization [¶ 0097-0099]);
Wherein the user interface comprises (a) an output device comprising the indicator and (b) an input device connected to a sensor (Ali; the UI [as addressed above] comprises (a) an output device (i.e. light emission means) comprising the indicator [¶ 0098-0099], as illustrated within Figs. 7-8, and (b) an input device connected to a sensor [¶ 0058, ¶ 0091-0093, and ¶ 0097-0099]; moreover, one or more sensors types [¶ 0039, ¶ 0079-0081, and ¶ 0090]); and
wherein the indicator comprises an indicator configured to present an image when illuminated (Ali; the indicator [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises an indicator configured to present an image [¶ 0092-0094], as illustrated within Fig. 6, when illuminated [¶ 0105]; moreover, presenting visual indicators [¶ 0092-0094]; wherein, light is visible through a pigmented coating [¶ 0060-0061]; moreover, an image corresponding to visual indicator [¶ 0097-0098], as illustrated within Fig. 7).
Ali fails to explicitly disclose wherein the indicator comprises an icon configured to present an image when illuminated; and
wherein the indentation comprises a recess.
Hein further teaches wherein the indicator comprises an icon configured to present an image when illuminated (Hein; the indicator comprises an icon configured to present an image when illuminated [¶ 0016, ¶ 0018, and ¶ 0026-0027], as illustrated between the differences of graphics within Fig. 1 and Figs. 2-2A); and
the indentation comprises a recess (Hein; the indentation comprises a recess [¶ 0018 and ¶ 0026-0027]; moreover, a recess in an inner surface of the cover [¶ 0014-0016, 0021-0022, and ¶ 0024], as illustrated within Fig. 3).
Ali in view of Hein are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to controlling electrical components in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali, to incorporate wherein the indicator comprises an icon configured to present an image when illuminated; and the indentation comprises a recess (as taught by Hein), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Hein; [¶ 0001-0004]).
(further refer to the rejection of claim 1)
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 19 is addressed within the rejection of claim 3, due to the similarities claim 19 and claim 3 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 3 regarding the rejection of claim 19. Although, claim 19 and claim 3 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. Thus, it is reasonable to reject claim 19 based on the teachings and rational in relation with the prior art within the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 20, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 18 wherein the composite structure is configured to present user interface at the cover (Ali; wherein the composite structure [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is configured to present a UI [¶ 0079 and ¶ 0091] at the cover [¶ 0098-0099], as illustrated within Figs. 7-8).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ali in view of Hein and Cho as applied to claim(s) 9 above, and further in view of Lisseman et al., US PGPUB No. 20130128587 A1, hereinafter Lisseman.
Regarding claim 16, Ali in view of Hein and Cho further discloses the component of Claim 9 wherein the module (Ali; the module [¶ 0091 and ¶ 0097-0099], as illustrated within Figs. 6-8; wherein, Figs. 6-8 emphasize one or more modules).
Cho further teaches an absorber configured to at least one of (a) absorb sound;
(b) absorb vibration; and/or
(c) absorb assembly tolerance (Cho; an absorber (i.e. switch) implicitly configured to (at least one of) absorb assembly tolerance [¶ 0068 and ¶ 0103]; wherein, tolerance corresponds to a (touch) interaction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein and Cho, to incorporate an absorber configured to at least one of (a) absorb sound; (b) absorb vibration; and/or (c) absorb assembly tolerance (as taught by Cho), in order to provide an improved user-interface that discourages dust and dirt and is easy to clean while being esthetically pleasing (Cho; [¶ 0008-0011 and ¶ 0028-0032]).
Ali as modified by Hein and Cho fails to explicitly disclose an absorb assembly tolerance.
However, Lisseman teaches wherein the module comprises an absorber configured to at least one of (a) absorb sound;
(b) absorb vibration; and/or
(c) absorb assembly tolerance (Lisseman; the module comprises an absorber (i.e. sensor) configured to absorb vibration and/or absorb assembly tolerance corresponding to pressure sensitive [¶ 0044-0046 and ¶ 0049]; moreover, a button [¶ 0062 and ¶ 0065]).
Ali in view of Hein and Cho and Lisseman are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to controlling electrical components in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Ali as modified by Hein and Cho, to incorporate the module comprises an absorber configured to absorb vibration and/or absorb assembly tolerance (as taught by Lisseman), in order to provide clear and intuitive feedback indicators that reduce distraction (Lisseman; [¶ 0002-0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
CHARLES LLOYD. BEARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2611
/CHARLES L BEARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611