DETAILED ACTION
Claims 42-68 are pending and being examined.
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority to applications:
UNITED KINGDOM 2300904.6 01/20/2023 and
UNITED KINGDOM 2310818.6 07/14/2023.
It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of both applications as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
3. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggests a title relevant to the invention of therapeutic canine antibodies binding to canine PD-1.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 42 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 42 is missing the conjunction word “or” between options i) and ii) to indicate alternative options.
5. Claim 50 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 50 appears to have a grammatical typo: “An isolated canine antibody or antigen-binding portion thereof of claim 42 that binds to canine PD-1 wherein said antibody or antigen-binding portion thereof that competes with PD-L1 and/or PD-L2”. It appears the claim should recite: “An isolated canine antibody or antigen-binding portion thereof of claim 42 that binds to canine PD-1, wherein said antibody or antigen-binding portion thereof competes with PD-L1 and/or PD-L2 for binding to the canine PD-1”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 42-44 and 46-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 42 initially recites the product of: “An isolated canine antibody or antigen-binding portion thereof which binds to one of the following epitopes of the extracellular domain of canine PD-1” then ends with an active method step of “wherein the epitope is determined using an epitope mapping technique”. The claim is unclear with regards to whether the invention is directed to a product or to a method, therefore, the scope of the claimed invention cannot be determined.
Claim 42 is further rejected because the claim recites that the epitope in i) comprises “T76, Q83, E84, L128, P129, P139 according to SEQ ID NO:2” or the epitope in ii) comprises “D58, D61, N74, T76, Y127 according to SEQ ID NO:2”. The claim does not recite a conjunction word “and” or “or” between the last two listed amino acid residues for each epitope so it is unclear if all the amino acids must be included in the epitope or if alternative amino acids are included in the epitope. The metes and bounds of the claimed invention cannot be determined.
Dependent claims are rejected for encompassing the rejected limitations of claim 42.
Claim 55 recites: “wherein said antibody or antigen-binding portion thereof is conjugated to a further moiety selected from…” Claims 42 and 55 never recite a first moiety, therefore it is unclear how the moiety of claim 55 can be a “further” moiety. Claim 56 is rejected for encompassing the rejected limitation of claim 56.
Claim 68 recites “and a further moiety”. Claims 42 and 68 never recite a first therapeutic moiety, therefore it is unclear how the therapeutic moiety of claim 68 can be a “further” therapeutic moiety.
Claims 58 and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01.
For claim 58 the omitted element is: administering the antibody or antigen-binding portion thereof to the canine subject in order to treat cancer or a tumor in a canine subject. Currently, claim 58 does not indicate who, what, or where the antibody is administered to.
For claim 67 the omitted element is: a subject or mammal having an immune system to which the antibody or antigen-binding portion thereof is administered. Currently, claim 67 does not indicate who, what, or where the antibody is administered to.
7. Claims 42-45 and 47-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a WRITTEN DESCRIPTION rejection.
The claims are drawn to an isolated canine antibody or antigen-binding portion thereof which comprises the following functions:
binds to one of the following epitopes of the extracellular domain of canine PD-1:
an epitope comprising T76, Q83, E84, L128, P129, P130 according to SEQ ID NO: 2; or
an epitope comprising D58, D61, N74, T76, Y127 according to SEQ ID NO: 2 (claim 42);
binds to canine PD-1 (claim 45);
competes for binding to canine PD-1 with PD-L1 and/or PD-L2 (claim 50);
blocks the interaction of PD-1 with PD-L1 and/or PD-L2 and/or prevents a cellular response associated with the interaction of PD-1 with PD-L1 and/or PD-L2 (claim 51);
treats cancer or a tumor in a canine subject (claim 58);
inhibits tumor growth or metastasis (claim 65);
kills a tumor cell expressing PD-1 (claim 66); and
modulates an immune response (claim 67).
Thus, the claims are drawn to a vast genus of antibodies or antigen binding portions identified by function only, and no structure is recited.
Dependent claim 43 recites a partial sequence structure wherein the antibody or antigen binding portion thereof comprises heavy chain and light chain CDRs 1-3 having at least 70% identity with the recited SEQ ID NOs. Thus, the claims encompass a vast genus of antibody sequence variants having any mutations differing up to 30% in any or all of the CDR regions critical to the antigen binding function.
Claims 44 and 45 recite a partial sequence structure wherein the antibody or antigen binding portion thereof comprises heavy chain and light chain CDRs 1-3, wherein several of the CDRs comprise up to 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 14, or 16 amino acid changes from the recited SEQ ID NOs. Thus, the claims encompass a vast genus of antibody sequence variants having several mutations in several of the CDR regions critical to the antigen binding function.
Claims 47 and 48 recite a partial sequence structure wherein the antibody or antigen binding portion thereof comprises a heavy chain variable region having up to 55% or 60% sequence discrepancy from the recited SEQ ID NOs, and comprises a light chain variable region having up to 65% sequence discrepancy from the recited SEQ ID NOs, including changes within the CDR regions critical to the antibody binding function.
Claim 49 recites the antibody can be a single domain antibody.
Thus, the claims encompass a vast genus of antibodies or antigen binding portions thereof comprising undefined sequence variants and required to function as claimed.
The instant specification discloses 30 isolated antibodies binding to canine PD-1 extracellular domain, each having a distinct set of heavy chain and light chain CDR sequences in Table 2. There are no single domain antibodies disclosed that function as claimed.
Thus, the instant specification describes a 30 exemplary structurally distinct monoclonal antibodies that function to bind to the extracellular domain of PD-1 as claimed. The specification fails to disclose the structural sequence required of any other antibodies to possess the functions claimed and listed above. The specification fails to disclose the structural sequence required of any single domain antibodies to possess the functions claimed and listed above.
To provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of the claimed antibody genus, the instant specification can structurally describe representative antibodies that function as claimed and listed above, or describe structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus. Alternatively, the specification can show that the claimed invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics (see University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and Enzo Biochem, Inc. V. Gen-Probe Inc.). A disclosure that does not adequately describe a product itself logically cannot adequately describe a method of using that product.
In this case, the only factor present in the claims is a recitation of the antibody functions as listed above, wherein some dependent claims recite a partial sequence. Other than for the 30 structurally distinct antibodies disclosed in Table 2, the instant specification fails to describe structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus because the instant specification disclosed 30 structurally distinct antibodies. A definition by function does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the antibody does, rather than what it is. Other than for the 30 disclosed distinct species of antibodies, the specification fails to provide the structural features coupled to the claimed functional characteristics that would allow one to recognize members of the genus. There is no apparent shared sequence structure across the vast genus claimed to represent a recognizable shared structural feature associated with the claimed functions. The instant specification fails to describe a representative number of antibody sequences for the genus of antibodies that function as claimed. Accordingly, in the absence of sufficient recitation of distinguishing identifying characteristics, the specification does not provide adequate written description of the claimed genus required to perform the claimed method.
In the instant case, the claims broadly encompass any antibody or antigen-binding portion thereof that functions as claimed, or any sequences variants of the claimed antibodies having numerous undefined amino acid changes within the CDR sequences critical to performing the claimed functions. Applicants have not established any reasonable structure-function correlation with regards to the sequences in the variable domains or CDRs that can be altered and still maintain canine PD-1 binding function or functions as listed above. The instant claims attempt to claim every antibody that would achieve a desired result, i.e., the functions listed above, wherein the instant specification does not describe representative examples to support the full scope of the claims because the instant specification discloses only 30 structurally distinct antibodies. Given the well-known high level of polymorphism of antibody CDR sequences and structure, the skilled artisan would not have been in possession of the vast repertoire of antibodies encompassed by the claimed invention. One could not reasonably or predictably extrapolate the structure of 30 structurally distinct antibodies to the structure of all antibodies that bind to canine PD-1 and perform the claimed functions, as broadly encompassed by the vast genus of antibodies claimed. Therefore, one could not readily envision members of the broadly claimed genus.
Although Applicants may argue that it is possible to screen for antibodies that bind canine PD-1 and function as claimed, the court found in (Rochester v. Searle, 358 F.3d 916, Fed Cir., 2004) that screening assays are not sufficient to provide adequate written description for an invention because they are merely a wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention. “As we held in Lilly, “[a]n adequate written description of a DNA … ‘requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties,’ not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention.” 119 F.3d at 1566 (quoting Fiers, 984 F.2d at 1171). For reasons stated above, that requirement applies just as well to non-DNA (or RNA) chemical inventions.” Knowledge of screening methods provides no information about the structure of any future antibodies yet to be discovered that may function as claimed. The PD-1 antigen or its extracellular epitopes provide no information about the structure of an antibody that binds to them.
Given the lack of representative examples to support the full scope of the claimed antibodies and those used in the claimed methods, and lack of reasonable structure-function correlation with regards to the unknown sequences in the variable domains or CDRs that provide PD-1-binding function and other claimed functions listed above, the present claims lack adequate written description. Thus, the specification does not provide an adequate written description of antibodies that bind canine PD-1 that is required to practice the claimed invention. Since the specification fails to adequately describe the product to which the claimed method uses, it also fails to adequately describe the method.
Examiner Suggestion:
Amend claims 42 and 45 to recite the limitation of claim 46.
Amend claims 47 and 48 to recite a minimum percent identity that does not fall below the minimum identity required for the HC and LC CDR sequences (typically at least 85%, but Applicants must verify).
Amend claim 49 to delete “single domain antibody”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 42, 49-53, 55, 57-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/225961; Pandit et al.
Pandit teaches canine PD-1 SEQ ID NO:1 that is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:2 (see sequence alignment below) therefore, the PD-1 protein of Pandit comprises the same amino acids and epitopes instantly claimed in claim 42. Pandit teaches the PD-1 protein comprises epitopes that are targets for antibodies including single domain antibodies (sdAb, VHH). Pandit teaches producing canine antibodies against SEQ ID NO:1 and teaches the antibodies are antagonistic by inhibiting PD-1 binding to PD-L1 or PD-L1 ligands ([4-13]; [36-48]; [54]; [56]; [98-111]; Example 1; claims 1-24).
Pandit teaches nucleic acid encoding the antibody, vectors comprising the nucleic acid, and host cells comprising the nucleic acid. Pandit teaches methods of making a canine antibody that binds to PD-1 comprising culturing the host cells and isolating the antibody ([13]; [112-120]; claims 26-31).
Pandit teaches the VHH antibody is linked to a second VHH antibody ([44]).
Pandit teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody ([12]; [123]; [126-127]; [90]; claim 25).
Pandit teaches kits comprising the antibody and instructions ([134-136]; [95]).
Pandit teaches detecting PD-1 protein in a biological sample from a canine subject by contacting the sample with the antibody that is linked to a detectable label ([129]; [97]; Figure 5).
Pandit teaches therapeutic agents conjugated to the antibody, including radioisotopes ([97]).
Pandit teaches methods of modulating an immune response, treating cancer, and inhibiting tumor growth in a canine subject comprising administering to the subject the antibody ([14-15]; [121-125]; claims 32-38).
Pandit teaches combinations of the antibody with therapeutic agents ([128]).
Pandit demonstrates successfully producing, screening for, and identifying numerous canine anti-PD-1 antibodies that: bind to PD-1 SEQ ID NO:1 (identical to instant SEQ ID NO:2), function to inhibit PD-1 binding to PD-L1, and function to activate T cells (Examples 1-3).
Pandit does not teach the antibody specifically binds to an epitope comprising the amino acids recited in instant claim 42 parts i) or ii) of instant SEQ ID NO:2.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make and use canine antibodies that bind to an epitope of canine PD-1 SEQ ID NO:2 comprising the instantly claimed amino acids. One would have been motivated to, and have a reasonable expectation of success to, because: (1) Pandit teaches motivation to produce therapeutic canine antibodies against epitopes in the known canine-PD-1 SEQ ID NO:2, which encompasses the claimed amino acid residues; (2) Pandit teaches routine methods of antibody production to antigen are known and teaches antibodies bind to epitopes on PD-1; (3) Pandit teaches and successfully demonstrates making canine antibodies that bound to the extracellular region of canine PD-1 SEQ ID NO:2 that functioned to inhibit PD-L1 ligand binding. Given the motivation and demonstrated success provided by Pandit to produce therapeutic canine antibodies against canine PD-1 SEQ ID NO:2 and that inhibit PD-1 binding to PD-L1 ligand, it is well within the level of the ordinary skill artisan to produce antibodies against the known canine PD-1 SEQ ID NO:2 that bind to any epitopes comprised within SEQ ID NO:2, including those that comprise the instantly claimed amino acids found in SEQ ID NO:2.
Instant canine PD-1 SEQ ID NO:2 aligned with Pandit SEQ ID NO:1:
BKG36386
ID BKG36386 standard; protein; 288 AA.
XX
AC BKG36386;
XX
DT 06-JAN-2022 (first entry)
XX
DE Canine programmed cell death protein 1 (PD-1)/CD279 protein, SEQ 1.
XX
KW CD279 antigen; PD-1 protein; Programmed cell death protein 1;
KW antibody production; antibody therapy; antigen; breast tumor; cancer;
KW carcinoma; cytostatic; hemangiosarcoma; lymphoma; melanoma;
KW non-small-cell lung cancer; osteosarcoma; renal cell carcinoma;
KW t-lymphocyte; therapeutic; veterinary.
XX
OS Canis lupus familiaris.
XX
CC PN WO2021225961-A1.
XX
CC PD 11-NOV-2021.
XX
CC PF 03-MAY-2021; 2021WO-US030476.
XX
PR 04-MAY-2020; 2020US-0019817P.
XX
CC PA (INHI-) INHIBRX INC.
XX
CC PI Pandit R, Timmer JC, Eckelman BP, Deveraux Q;
XX
DR WPI; 2021-C5869R/095.
DR GENBANK; BAO74171.1.
XX
CC PT New polypeptide comprising caninized variable domain of heavy-chain that
CC PT binds canine programmed cell death-1, used to activate canine cluster of
CC PT differentiation 4+ T cells, and treat cancer in canine e.g. lymphoma, and
CC PT hemangiosarcoma.
XX
CC PS Example 2; SEQ ID NO 1; 55pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel polypeptide such as antibody,
CC useful for treating cancer. The polypeptide comprises at least one
CC caninized single domain antibody that binds to canine programmed cell
CC death protein 1 (PD-1)/CD279 of SEQ ID NO: 1 (see BKG36386), where the
CC antibody comprises a heavy chain variable region (VHH) with their
CC corresponding complementarity determining regions (CDRs) and canine Fc
CC region of SEQ ID Nos: 2-31 (see BKG36387-BKG36416). The invention further
CC claims: (1) a pharmaceutical composition comprising the polypeptide; (2)
CC an isolated nucleic acid encoding the polypeptide; (3) a vector
CC comprising the nucleic acid; (4) a host cell comprising the vector; (5) a
CC method for producing the polypeptide; (5) a method for activating canine
CC CD4 positive T cells and/or canine CD8 positive T cells; and (6) a method
CC for treating cancer in a canine by administering an effective amount of
CC the polypeptide with additional anti-cancer therapy such as cancer
CC resection, radiation therapy, and anti-cancer agent. The polypeptide and
CC pharmaceutical composition are useful for treating cancer such as
CC lymphoma, hemangiosarcoma, mast cell carcinoma, melanoma, osteosarcoma,
CC mammary cancer, renal cell carcinoma, and non-small cell lung cancer in
CC canine.
XX
SQ Sequence 288 AA;
ALIGNMENT:
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1557; Length 288;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 288; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MGSRRGPWPLVWAVLQLGWWPGWLLDSPDRPWSPLTFSPAQLTVQEGENATFTCSLADIP 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MGSRRGPWPLVWAVLQLGWWPGWLLDSPDRPWSPLTFSPAQLTVQEGENATFTCSLADIP 60
Qy 61 DSFVLNWYRLSPRNQTDKLAAFQEDRIEPGRDRRFRVTRLPNGRDFHMSIVAARLNDSGI 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 DSFVLNWYRLSPRNQTDKLAAFQEDRIEPGRDRRFRVTRLPNGRDFHMSIVAARLNDSGI 120
Qy 121 YLCGAIYLPPNTQINESPRAELSVTERTLEPPTQSPSPPPRLSGQLQGLVIGVTSVLVGV 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 YLCGAIYLPPNTQINESPRAELSVTERTLEPPTQSPSPPPRLSGQLQGLVIGVTSVLVGV 180
Qy 181 LLLLLLTWVLAAVFPRATRGACVCGSEDEPLKEGPDAAPVFTLDYGELDFQWREKTPEPP 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 LLLLLLTWVLAAVFPRATRGACVCGSEDEPLKEGPDAAPVFTLDYGELDFQWREKTPEPP 240
Qy 241 APCAPEQTEYATIVFPGRPASPGRRASASSLQGAQPPSPEDGPGLWPL 288
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 APCAPEQTEYATIVFPGRPASPGRRASASSLQGAQPPSPEDGPGLWPL 288
9. Conclusion: No claim is allowed. Additional prior art made of record but not relied upon are:
(A) US Patent Application Publication 2024/0034796, Park et al, claiming priority to February 2022, that teaches producing antagonistic antibodies to human PD-1 protein that bind to an extracellular domain epitope comprising amino acids P130 and L128 (claim 1; [279]; Example 11; and [20]):
[0020] In one aspect, the present disclosure provides an anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof that specifically binds to an epitope of PD-1 comprising P130, L128, and I126 of human PD-1 (SEQ ID NO: 62). The anti-PD-1 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof may specifically bind to an additional epitope comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of N66, Y68, K78, A129, and A132 of SEQ ID NO: 62.
Park does not teach canine antibodies binding to canine PD-1 and does not teach antibodies comprising the instantly claimed CDR sequences.
(B) WO2015091911, Morsey et al, teaches making mammalian antibodies that bind to the extracellular domain of canine PD-1 comprising SEQ ID NO:4 that shares significant homology with the extracellular domain of instant canine PD-1 SEQ ID NO:2 (see sequence alignment below) and teaches administering the antibodies to treat cancer in dogs. Morsey exemplifies making murine antibodies that bind to SEQ ID NO:4 that were subsequently caninized. Morsey does not teach making canine antibodies that bind to the instantly claimed epitopes and does not teach the antibodies comprise the instantly claimed sequences.
Instant SEQ ID NO:2 canine PD-1 aligned with Morsey SEQ ID NO:4 ECD of canine PD-1:
QY = instant SEQ ID NO:2
DB = Morsey SEQ ID NO:4
/Laura B Goddard/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642