Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 11, 20 and dependents thereof are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding 1, the claim recites a bite guard “circumferentially enclosing” the bite block body. Strictly speaking, circumferential enclosure requires a circular enclosure. However, the bite guard enclosure in applicant’s specification is rectangular, see the inner diameter 130 illustrated in Figs. 3b and 3c. As such, examiner will hereby interpret circumferentially enclosing as completely enclosing. See MPEP 2173.03, a claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty.
Further regarding 1, as well as 11, the claim recites a “cohesive” bond at an interface between the compliant thermoplastic material and the reinforced inner bite block body. Strictly speaking, a cohesive bond requires bonding between two of the same materials. However, the bite guard and inner bite block are clearly two separate materials, since the bite guard is compliant, whereas the bite block is reinforced or rigid. See also applicant’s specification, para 29 at the bottom of page 29, cohesion is provided “between two different constructed material types”. As such, examiner will hereby interpret the cohesive bond as merely a bond.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "dental channel". There is incorrect antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because the dental channel is earlier recited in claim 1.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "a soft compliant thermoplastic elastomer". There is incorrect antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because the dental channel is earlier recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13, 15, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Cha (KR 20080006151) in view of Carpenter (US 2669988) in view of Jassell (GB 2399024).
1. Cha discloses an oropharyngeal airway integrated bite guard device (see Figs. 1, 3, and 6), comprising: a pharyngeal body (see Fig. 3, 10) having a buccal end and a pharyngeal end (respective left and right ends of body 10, as illustrated in Fig. 3), the pharyngeal body is sized such that when the pharyngeal body is inserted into a user's mouth until the buccal end is disposed outside of the user's mouth and the pharyngeal end is disposed within the pharynx above an epiglottis inside the user's mouth (Fig. 1 illustrates the oropharyngeal airway once it has been inserted into the patient’s oral airway; see also p. 4, para 1 of the provided translation); a reinforced inner bite block body (generally corresponding to area 13, see Figs. 3 and 4; examiner notes that the bite block 13 is reinforced by the bite guard 20, which prevents damage to the bite block as described on p. 5, para 6; the bite block is additionally reinforced because it is constructed using hard synthetic resin material, instead of alternative constructions which may use soft or resilient materials for comfortable interaction with the pharynx; see p. 4 para 2, p. 1, para 9) forming a sturdy section at the buccal end of the pharyngeal body configured to prevent dentition from occluding an airway during mastication (see p. 4, para 2, p. 5, last para, p. 2, para 8); and a bite guard circumferentially enclosing the entire reinforced inner bite block body (20, see Figs. 3 and 4); wherein the bite guard comprises a dental channel positioned between a first dental ridge and a second dental ridge defining a U-shaped horizontal channel (see Fig. 6, channel formed between 21 and 40, where the incisors are seated on the bite block, and which helps in locking or latching the device to the jaw, see p. 5, para 1; see also p. 2, paras 4 - 5) configured to receive incisor teeth or a gum line (p. 4, para 5, p. 5, last para, p. 2, paras 8 and 9) wherein the bite guard comprises a compliant thermoplastic material (p. 4, para 5, p. 5, last para, p. 2, paras 8 and 9; note also claim 9 below, applicant considers silicone as a thermoplastic elastomer) co-molded directly over the reinforced inner bite block body thus defining an integral, non-separable cohesive bond at an interface thereof (see Fig. 3, p. 4, para 5, as well as the additional translation of p. 4 para 5 in the arguments below; the bite guard 20 is integrally coupled to the bite block 13 via injection molding).
Cha discloses a number of different bite block embodiments, see Figs. 5 – 7, and that the present invention is not limited to the embodiments described, see p. 5, para 7. However, Cha does not disclose wherein the first and second dental ridges slope downwardly into the dental channel to define an anchoring contact site configured to limit longitudinal and lateral movement of the device. Nonetheless, Carpenter discloses a bite guard device comprising: a dental channel that is a depression area on the bite guard (see Fig. 8, dental depression holding incisors 10), wherein the dental channel is an anchoring point of contact where the incisors can be seated for one or more teeth or the gum line (see Fig. 8, c. 1: 50 - 55); and a plurality of dental ridges (24 and 20, see c. 2: 10 – 20) forming a U-shaped horizontal channel (see c. 1: 50 and Fig. 8) wherein the first and second dental ridges slope downwardly into the dental channel (see Fig. 8, ridges 24 and 20 are curved toward the dental channel with an expanding thickness) to define an anchoring contact site configured to limit longitudinal and lateral movement of the device (see Fig. 8, c. 1: 50 – 55; the bite guard would limit lateral movement because it is configured to be clamped between the teeth of the upper and lower jaws, similar to applicant’s bite guard). Therefore, according to the teachings of Carpenter, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Cha with a U-shaped horizontal channel limiting device movement for the benefit of appropriately latching and comfortably fitting the anatomy of the patient’s teeth, without sharp corners that may damage the teeth or gums.
However, Cha does not disclose that the co-molding is via a two-shot injection molding process defining an integral, non-separable cohesive bond at an interface thereof. Nonetheless, Jassell discloses wherein the bite guard comprises a compliant thermoplastic material co-molded directly over the reinforced inner bite block body via a two-shot injection molding process defining an integral, non-separable cohesive bond at an interface thereof (see p. 3: 12 – 25, Figs. 1 – 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the injection molding of Cha according to the two-shot molding of Jassell for the benefit of strongly bonding the elastomeric bite guard to the external surface of the rigid bite block.
2. Cha discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the device further comprises an internal conduit channel, which is a hollow inner tubular void enclosed within the pharyngeal body of the device configured to communicate air passage from the pharyngeal end to the buccal end (Figs. 3 and 4, p. 4, para 2).
3. Cha discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the device further comprises a dental channel of designated depression area on the bite guard, which is an anchoring point of contact where the incisors can be seated for one or more teeth or the gum line (see Fig. 6, channel formed between 21 and 40, where the incisors are seated on the bite block, and which helps in locking or latching the device to the jaw, see p. 5, para 1).
6. Cha discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the bite guard is made of a compliant material to provide dental protection from masseter muscle biting pressure (see p. 4, para 5, p. 5, last para, p. 2, paras 8 – 9).
8. Cha discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the bite guard is made from any one of plastic, synthetic plastic, synthetic rubber, or elastomer material (p. 4, para 5).
9. Cha discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the bite guard is made of a thermoplastic elastomers (TPE) material comprising Silicone (p. 4, para. 5).
11. Cha discloses a bite guard device (see Figs. 1, 3, and 6) integrated onto an oropharyngeal airway having a pharyngeal body and an inner bite block body (10, with 13 and portion distal 13, see Fig. 4), the bite guard device comprising: a dental area that is a depression area on the bite guard, wherein the dental area is an anchoring point of contact where the incisors can be seated for one or more teeth or the gum line (see Fig. 6, channel formed between 21 and 40, where the incisors are seated on the bite block, and which helps in locking or latching the device to the jaw, see p. 5, para 1; see also p. 2, paras 4 - 5); and a plurality of dental ridges comprising a first dental ridge and a second dental ridge combined with the dental area (ridges 21 and 40, respectively); wherein the first dental ridge and a second dental ridge defining a U-shaped horizontal channel (see Fig. 6, channel formed between 21 and 40, where the incisors are seated on the bite block, and which helps in locking or latching the device to the jaw, see p. 5, para 1; see also p. 2, paras 4 - 5); wherein the bite guard comprises a soft compliant thermoplastic material (p. 4, para 5, p. 5, last para, p. 2, paras 8 and 9; note also claim 9 below) co-molded directly over the reinforced inner bite block body thus defining an integral, non-separable cohesive bond at an interface thereof (see Fig. 3, p. 4, para 5, as well as the additional translation of p. 4 para 5 in the arguments below; the bite guard 20 is integrally coupled to the bite block 13 via injection molding) configured to withstand masseter muscle biting pressure without delamination (the injection molding would be configured to withstand the biting pressure, otherwise the device would not function; examiner furthermore notes that the amount of biting pressure is not recited by the claims).
Cha does disclose a number of different bite block embodiments, see Figs. 5 – 7, and that the present invention is not limited to the embodiments described, see p. 5, para 7. However, Cha does not disclose the first and second ridges defining a U-shaped horizontal channel combined with the dental area, wherein the first and second dental ridges slope downwardly into the dental area to provide a dentition anchoring site to mechanically limit inward and outward displacement of the device. Nonetheless, Carpenter discloses a bite guard device comprising: a dental area that is a depression area on the bite guard (see Fig. 8, dental depression holding incisors 10), wherein the dental area is an anchoring point of contact where the incisors can be seated for one or more teeth or the gum line (see Fig. 8, c. 1: 50 - 55); and a plurality of dental ridges (24 and 20, see c. 2: 10 – 20) forming a U-shaped horizontal channel combined with the dental area (see c. 1: 50 and Fig. 8), wherein the first and second dental ridges slope downwardly into the dental area (see Fig. 8, ridges 24 and 20 are curved toward the dental channel with an expanding thickness) to provide a dentition anchoring site to mechanically limit inward and outward displacement of the device (see Fig. 8, c. 1: 50 – 55). Therefore, according to the teachings of Carpenter, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Cha with a U-shaped horizontal channel limiting device movement for the benefit of appropriately latching and comfortably fitting the anatomy of the patient’s teeth, without sharp corners that may damage the teeth or gums.
However, Cha does not disclose that the co-molding is via a two-shot injection molding process defining an integral, non-separable cohesive bond at an interface thereof. Nonetheless, Jassell discloses wherein the bite guard comprises a compliant thermoplastic material co-molded directly over the reinforced inner bite block body via a two-shot injection molding process defining an integral, non-separable cohesive interface configured to withstand masseter muscle biting pressure without delamination (see p. 3: 12 – 25, Figs. 1 – 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the injection molding of Cha according to the two-shot molding of Jassell for the benefit of strongly bonding the elastomeric bite guard to the external surface of the rigid bite block.
13. Cha discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the bite guard is made of a compliant material to provide dental protection from masseter muscle biting pressure (see p. 4, para 5, p. 5, last para, p. 2, paras 8 – 9).
15. Cha discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the bite guard is made from any one of plastic, synthetic plastic, synthetic rubber, or elastomer material (p. 4, para 5).
16. Cha discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the bite guard is made of a thermoplastic elastomers (TPE) material comprising Silicone (p. 4, para 5).
19. Cha discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the bite guard extends distally through the first and second dental ridges to terminate in a tapered ending profile that smoothly conforms to an anatomical curve trajectory of the pharyngeal body (see Figs. 3 and 6). Cha does not disclose wherein the integrated bite guard comprises a proximal bite guard face positioned flush against a lip flange at the buccal end. Nonetheless, Jassell discloses wherein the integrated bite guard comprises a proximal bite guard face positioned flush against a lip flange at the buccal end (see Figs. 1 and 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the lip flange of Cha according to that of Jassell for the predictable result of forming a lip flange to the integrally mounted bite guard.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha in view of Carpenter in view of Jassell in view of Fillyaw (US 20040040556).
7. Cha discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the bite guard is made of non-brittle material medical-grade (see p. 4, para 5, p. 5, last para, p. 2, paras 8 – 9). However, Cha does not disclose non-toxic and latex-free medical-grade materials. Nonetheless, Fillyaw discloses a mouthpiece comprising non-brittle, non-toxic and latex-free medical-grade materials [0029]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the bite guard of Cha according to the latex-free material of Fillyaw for the benefit of patient safety.
14. Cha discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the bite guard is made of non-brittle material medical-grade (see p. 4, para 5, p. 5, last para, p. 2, paras 8 – 9). However, Cha does not disclose non-toxic and latex-free medical-grade materials. Nonetheless, Fillyaw discloses a mouthpiece comprising non-brittle, non-toxic and latex-free medical-grade materials [0029]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the bite guard of Cha according to the latex-free material of Fillyaw for the benefit of patient safety.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha in view of Carpenter in view of Jassell in view of Vincent (GB 2137096).
18. Cha discloses the device of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the pharyngeal body encloses an internal conduit channel having a hollow trapezoidal cross-sectional shape extending continuously from a buccal conduit opening to a pharyngeal conduit opening. Vincent discloses wherein the pharyngeal body encloses an internal conduit channel having a hollow trapezoidal cross-sectional shape extending continuously from a buccal conduit opening to a pharyngeal conduit opening (see Figs. 1, 9, p. 2: 79 – 86). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the pharyngeal body of Cha according to the trapezoidal cross section of Vincent for the benefit of permitting passage of multiple catheters therethrough while fitting the anatomy of the user.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha in view of Carpenter in view of Jassell in view of Leeflang (US 20120283513).
20. Cha discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the reinforced inner bite block body comprises a rigid core (see claim 1), and wherein the integrated bite guard comprises a soft compliant thermoplastic elastomer (TPE) material co-molded directly over the rigid core (see p. 4: paras 5 – 6). However, Cha does not disclose that the rigid material is PVC. Nonetheless, Leeflang discloses an oral airway including a bite block comprising rigid PVC material, see [0062 – 0063]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the bite block of Cha according to the PVC material of Leeflang for the benefit of a well-known, cost-effective material in the manufacture of oral airways.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 11, paragraph 3, applicant characterizes Cha’s oropharyngeal airway device as a two-piece mechanical assembly or fitting structure. This completely ignores Cha’s additional description to integrally couple the bite guard 20 to the bite block 13 via injection molding. See p. 4, para 6. An additional Google translation of the same paragraph is provided as follows:
On page 13, paragraph 1, applicant argues that it would not have been obvious to modify Cha with Carpenter because Carpenter’s ridges would unsafely strip bite guard 20 away from the bite block 10. The argument ignores that Cha is provided with ridges, see Fig. 6. Cha describes second ridge 40 as a “locking jaw”, further implying that the ridge keeps the jaw in place by resisting its movement/force. As explained above, the provided arguments/declaration additionally fail to address that Cha safely and reliably bonds the bite guard to the bite block via injection molding. Carpenter’s bite guard is U-shaped to limit inward/outward movement, yet still safely remains on an oral airway expected to withstand significant biting pressure and movement from a patient given electric shock therapy, see c. 1: 1 – 15. As such, modification of Carpenter to Cha (as well as Carpenter to Cha and Jassell) would not render Cha inoperable for his intended use.
With respect to applicant’s arguments on page 13, paragraph 2 -3, and page 14, paragraph 1, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). As described, Carpenter provides the benefit of appropriately latching and comfortably fitting the anatomy of the patient’s teeth, without sharp corners that may damage the teeth or gums. Furthermore, Jassell provides benefit for two-shot injection molding between the bite guard and bite block of Cha, since such modification would serve to further enhance strength of bonding between the two injection molded pieces.
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1, 11, and dependents therefrom based upon the prior art as set forth in the current Office action because: it states that the claimed subject matter solved a problem that was long standing in the art. However, there is no showing that others of ordinary skill in the art were working on the problem and if so, for how long. In addition, there is no evidence that if persons skilled in the art who were presumably working on the problem knew of the teachings of the above cited references, they would still be unable to solve the problem. See MPEP 716.04.
As such, examiner hereby maintains rejection of claims 1, 11, and dependents therein, as set forth in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799