DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the original claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 11-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by O’Neill et al (11,510,783), or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over O’Neill et al in view of Servidio et al (2021/0307916).
O’Neill et al teaches an augmentation component (33:7-26) comprising
a first structure (102,104) adapted to allow passage or penetration of a biocompatible material being curable on contact with water or an aqueous liquid and/or being adapted to allow in-growth of bone tissue (see at least 2:50 et seq. teaching tissue ingrowth); and
2:
a second structure surrounding the first structure at least in sections or being arranged at least in sections onto the first structure along a periphery of the first structure;
wherein the first structure comprises a planar structure having a distal surface extending in a plane and a proximal surface spaced from the distal surface in a proximal direction (inherent).
Under inherency: The first structure is arranged only at one side of the augmentation component. The second structure extends in the proximal direction from the proximal surface and only on one side of the plane.
Under obviousness:
If it is unclear that the first structure is arranged to extend through the augment and the second structure does not extend in the proximal direction from the proximal surface and only on one side of the plane, Servidio et al teaches this configuration.
As shown, Servidio et al teaches a first structure (depicted) is arranged only at one side of the augmentation component and the second structure 14 extends in the proximal direction from the proximal surface and only on one side of the plane. The use of the transitional phrase “comprising” allows for additional structures.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in that the art to have used the configuration of Servido et al such that the first structure is arranged only at one side of the augmentation component and the second structure extends in the proximal direction from the proximal surface and only on one side of the plane to allow for attachment to a tibial tray or tibial insert(s).
Claim 2, wherein the first structure comprises a porous or lattice structure; see at least the title.
Claim 6, both anticipated by O’Neill et al (11,510,783), or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over O’Neill et al in view of Servidio et al fulfill the wherein the second structure extends in the proximal direction from the distal surface.
Claim 7, both rejections teach the second structure comprises a wall element. The second structure of the anticipation rejection is solid with sides interpreted as wall element.
Claim 8, the second structure of the 102 rejection is solid. In the 103 rejection, the second structure is “H” shaped wherein the cross-bar. Both configurations do not adapted to allow passage or penetration of the biocompatible material being curable on contact with water or an aqueous liquid and/or is not adapted to allow in-growth of bone tissue.
Claim 9, see the summary of the invention teach the augmentation component comprises a metallic material.
Claim 11, see opening 103 adapted to receive a securing element for securing the augmentation component to the articular or joint implant.
Claim 12, all limitations are functional language and is fully capable thereof.
Claim 13-14, the augment is a single-piece manufactured by 3D printing; see at least the abstract.
Claim 15, an augmentation component according to claim 1; and at least one further kit or system component would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, such as orthopedic instruments to form the bone to receive the augment component. This is Official Notice.
Claim 16, the figure 50B shows the component photographed next to a ruler. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have tried the first structure has a thickness in the proximal direction of 0.5 mm to 4 mm to bone ingrowth; and the second structure has a height in the proximal direction of 12 mm to 20 mm for a height of bone removed from the knee with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 18, see figure 50B showing the second structure entirely surrounds an outer perimeter of the first structure to define a receptacle for the biocompatible material.
Claim 19, see figure 50B showing the second structure comprises a continuous wall without openings.
Claim 20, see 103 defining a passage extending in the proximal direction from the at least one opening in the second structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRUCE E SNOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774