DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, filed 16 February 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8-12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Myers et al. (USP 4,655,482 hereinafter “Myers”).
In regards to claim 1, Myers discloses a fastener assembly comprising:
a tube fitting (20) defining a longitudinal axis;
a lock assembly (42) releasably coupled to the tube fitting and including teeth (56); and
a conduit nut (44) defining an inner cavity (central bore) sized and shaped to receive a portion of the tube fitting therein (shown in fig. 4), the conduit nut comprising a circumferential wall extending about a periphery of the conduit nut and notches (62) wherein the lock assembly is positionable between a locked position in which the teeth are engaged with the notches and an unlocked position in which the teeth are spaced from the notches, the tube fitting is fixed against rotation within the inner cavity when the lock assembly is in the locked position, and the tube fitting is rotatable within the inner cavity when the lock assembly is in the unlocked position (see column 2, line 59 - column 3, line 23)
In regards to claim 2, Myers further discloses the lock assembly comprises a lock member (at "54") and a sleeve (at "42"), wherein at least one of the lock member or the sleeve comprises the teeth, and wherein the sleeve is displaced axially or rotated to switch the lock assembly between the locked position and the unlocked position (shown in figs. 3a-3d).
In regards to claims 6 and 12, Myers further discloses at least one of the lock member or the sleeve is configured to engage the tube fitting and to fix rotation of the lock assembly relative to the tube fitting when the lock assembly is in the locked position (see column 2, line 59 - column 3, line 23).
In regards to claim 8, Myers further discloses in the unlocked position, the teeth are displaced radially inward of the circumferential wall (shown in fig. 3) and the teeth are disengaged from the notches such that the conduit nut is rotatable relative to the tube fitting (see column 2, line 59 - column 3, line 23]).
In regards to claims 9 and 15, Myers further disclose g a bias component (46) positioned to bias a lock assembly (56, 62) toward a locked position (see column 3 ,lines 31-35).
In regards to claim 10, Myers discloses a lock assembly (42) for a tube fitting defining a
longitudinal axis, the lock assembly comprising:
a lock member (at "54");
a sleeve (at"42"), wherein at least one of the lock member or the sleeve comprises teeth (56); and
a conduit nut (44) defining an inner cavity (central bore) sized and shaped to receive a portion of the tube fitting (shown in fig. 4) therein, the conduit nut including notches (62), wherein the lock assembly is positionable between a locked position in which the teeth are engaged with the notches and an unlocked position in which the teeth are spaced from the notches, the tube fitting is fixed against rotation within the inner cavity when the lock assembly is in the locked position, and the tube fitting is rotatable within the inner cavity when the lock assembly is in the unlocked position (see column 2, line 59 - column 3, line 23).
In regards to claim 11, Myers further discloses the sleeve is displaced axially or rotated to switch the lock assembly between the locked position and the unlocked position
(see column 2, line 59 - column 3, line 23).
In regards to claim 14, Myers further discloses the teeth extend from an end of the sleeve, and wherein the teeth are spaced axially from the notches when the lock assembly is in the unlocked position (see column 2, line 59 - column 3, line 23).
. (USP 4,655,482 hereinafter "Myers").
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
Claims 3-5, 7, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but
would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base
claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679 02/18/2026