DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/04/2026. Claims being examined are group I: claims 1-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 & 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over KWON et al. (KR 20180071136 – English translation provided) herein referred to as Kwon, in view of Xiao et al. (US 12196627) herein referred to as Xiao.
Regarding Claim 1, Kwon discloses a bidirectional stretchable nerve interface (Figure 3) comprising: a stretchable fabric-based substrate (Figure 3, polymide) and a fiber-based nerve electrode which is located on the fabric-based substrate (Section 1-5) and is made of a fiber coated with a conductive composite ink containing a polymer and metal-based fillers (Section 1-4; Claim 6). However, Kwon does not explicitly disclose a stretchable fabric is located between respective layers of a plurality of self-healing polymer films and a conductive composite ink containing a self-healing polymer.
Xiao discloses A bidirectional stretchable interface (Figure 1A) wherein a stretchable fabric is located between respective layers of a plurality of self-healing polymer films (Figure 1A, wherein stretchable strain sensor is located between two layers of polyimine which is taught to be self-healing in Column 6 lines 16-21) and a conductive composite ink containing a self-healing polymer (Figure 7; Column 1, lines 34-36; Column 11, lines 39-40; wherein LM is printed onto the polyimine substrate which is encapsulated in a polyimine film therefore the ink, LM encapsulated in polyimine contains a self-healing polymer, polyimine). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the interface taught by Kwon to include self-healing polymers as taught by Xiao. The motivation being to mimic healing of the human skin with no interfaces existing at the cut after re-healing (Column 6 lines 16-21).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon in view of Xiao discloses the bidirectional stretchable nerve interface of claim 1. Kwon also discloses wherein fabric-based substrate and the fiber-based nerve electrode are self-bonded (Abstract; wherein after printing the fiber-based nerve electrode onto the substrate, it is heat-treated therefore bonding them together).
Regarding claim 10, Kwon in view of Xiao discloses the bidirectional stretchable nerve interface of claim 1. Kwon also discloses wherein a strain rate of the bidirectional stretchable nerve interface is 10% or more (Figure 13).
Claim 3-4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon and Xiao in further view of YI et al. (US 20240415435) herein referred to as YI.
Regarding Claim 3, Kwon in view of Xiao discloses the bidirectional stretchable nerve interface of claim 1. However, Kwon in view of Xiao does not explicitly disclose wherein the stretchable fabric includes one or more selected from the group consisting of polypropylene, nylon, polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), viscose, ultra-high-molecular-weight polyethylene (UHMWPE), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polyglycolic acid (PGA), catgut, catgut chromic, polyglactin 910, silk, poliglecaprone, polydioxanone, polyurethane, spandex, polyglycolic acid, and polyester.
YI discloses a self-healing polymer for an electrode (Figure 1) wherein the stretchable fabric includes one or more selected from the group consisting of polypropylene, nylon, polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), viscose, ultra-high-molecular-weight polyethylene (UHMWPE), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polyglycolic acid (PGA), catgut, catgut chromic, polyglactin 910, silk, poliglecaprone, polydioxanone, polyurethane, spandex, polyglycolic acid, and polyester (Figure 2; silk). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stretchable fabric taught by Kwon in view of Xiao to include silk. The motivation being silk shows unique water-induced contraction (YI, Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 4, Kwon in view of Xiao discloses the bidirectional stretchable nerve interface of claim 1. However, Kwon in view of Xiao does not explicitly disclose wherein the self-healing polymer is an elastomer material whose backbone is any one selected from the group consisting of polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS), polyethyleneoxide (PEO), perfluoropolyether (PFPE), polybutylene (PB), poly(ethylene-co-1-butylene), poly(butadiene), hydrogenated poly(butadiene), poly(ethylene oxide)-poly(propylene oxide) block copolymer, random copolymer, and poly(hydroxyalkanoate).
YI discloses a self-healing polymer for an electrode (Figure 1) wherein the self-healing polymer is an elastomer material whose backbone is any one selected from the group consisting of polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS), polyethyleneoxide (PEO), perfluoropolyether (PFPE), polybutylene (PB), poly(ethylene-co-1-butylene), poly(butadiene), hydrogenated poly(butadiene), poly(ethylene oxide)-poly(propylene oxide) block copolymer, random copolymer, and poly(hydroxyalkanoate) (Paragraph [0141]; wherein the self-healing polymer is styrene-ethylene/butylene-styrene which is a block copolymer). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the self healing polymer taught by Kwon in view of Xiao to include a block copolymer. The motivation being to allow for self-healing properties as well as insulative (YI, Paragraph [0141]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon and Xiao in view of Eskandarian et al. (US 20240167201) herein referred to as Eskandarian.
Regarding Claim 5, Kwon in view of Xiao discloses the bidirectional stretchable nerve interface of claim 1. However, Kwon in view of Xiao does not explicitly disclose wherein the fiber may be a composite that includes one or more fibers selected from the group consisting of polypropylene, nylon (polyamide), PVDF, viscose, UHMWPE, PTFE, PGA, catgut, catgut chromic, polyglactin 910, silk, poliglecaprone, polydioxanone, polyurethane, spandex, polyglycolic acid and polyester.
Eskandarian discloses a fiber-based nerve electrode (Figure 2) wherein the fiber may be a composite that includes one or more fibers selected from the group consisting of polypropylene, nylon (polyamide), PVDF, viscose, UHMWPE, PTFE, PGA, catgut, catgut chromic, polyglactin 910, silk, poliglecaprone, polydioxanone, polyurethane, spandex, polyglycolic acid and polyester (Paragraph [0082]; wherein the electrode comprises nylon/spandex yarn). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fiber taught by Kwon in view of Xiao to be nylon/spandex. The motivation being a simple substitution of one know fiber, polyimide for another, nylon/spandex to obtain predictable results of creating a fiber based electrode (MPEP 2143 (B)).
Claim 6-9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon and Xiao in view of Pringle et al. (US 20180042583) herein referred to as Pringle.
Regarding Claim 6, Kwon in view of Xiao discloses the bidirectional stretchable nerve interface of claim 1 wherein the metal-based filler is a composite of metal flakes (Kwon, Section 1-4; wherein the filler comprising silver nano particles). However, Kwon in view of Xiao does not explicitly disclose wherein the metal-based fillers is a composite in which a metal nano shell is coated on a metal flake.
Pringle discloses a metal-based fillers (Paragraph [0509]; the gold nano shell) wherein it is a composite of a metal nano shell coated on a flake (Paragraph [0509]; wherein the gold nano shell is coated on a silica core). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the silver nanoparticles to include a gold nano shell. The motivation being the tagging chemical may have fluorescent, magnetic, chemical, physical or other imaging properties and a part of the molecule may be arranged so as to ionise well for mass spectrometry analysis (Pringle, Paragraph [0523]).
Regarding Claim 7, Kwon in view of Xiao discloses the bidirectional stretchable nerve interface of claim 6. Kwon also discloses wherein the metal flake includes one or more metals selected from the group consisting of silver, copper, and aluminum (Section 1-4; wherein the filler comprising silver nano particles)
Regarding Claim 8, Kwon in view of Xiao discloses the bidirectional stretchable nerve interface of claim 6. Pringle also discloses wherein the metal nanoshell includes one or more metals selected from the group consisting of platinum, gold, and iridium (Paragraph [0509]; the gold nano shell). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the nanoshell taught by Kwon and Xiao in further view of Pringle to be a gold nanoshell. The motivation being gold absorbs light more strongly than alternative (Pringle, Paragraph [0526]).
Regarding Claim 9, Kwon in view of Xiao discloses the bidirectional stretchable nerve interface of claim 6. Pringle also discloses wherein a thickness of the metal nano shell is 1nm to 50nm (Paragraph [0509]; wherein the nano shell is a few nm thick therefore at least 2nm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the nano shell taught by Kwon and Xiao in further few of Pringle to be within the range of 1nm-50nm. The motivation being small nanoparticles exhibit superparamagnetic properties having no hysteresis losses and will generate heat as a result of relaxational losses, mainly Néel relaxation loss (Pringle, Paragraph [0489]).
Conclusion
ALYSSA M. PAPE
Examiner
Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794