DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Risch (US 2005/0043575) in view of Van Egmond (US 2004/0102669).
Regarding claims 1-20, Risch teaches that C4+ olefin streams from MTO processes are fed to selective hydrogenation [0028-0031], [0016-0019], followed by oligomerization [0019], [0034-35].
Risch does not explicitly disclose the MTO process steps, or how the C4+ olefins are separated.
However, Van Egmond teaches a similar process for selective hydrogenation of C4+ olefins recovered from MTO processes [0118]. Van Egmond separates the effluent from the MTO reactor by a quench device to separate water from light olefins, and dimethyl ether [0075-0077], followed by additional conventional separation devices to recover C4+ from the lighter materials [0108-0118]. Van Egmond additionally teaches using conventional demethanizers, deethanizer, depropanizer, wash towers, caustic tours, splitters, etc [0109].
Therefore, it would have been obvious the person having ordinary skill in the art to have separated water from the light olefins, followed by conventional separation such as stripping, as described by Van Egmond in order to recover the C4+ fraction to be fed to selective hydrogenation. Examiner notes that as disclosed by Van Egmond, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected appropriate separation equipment and steps in order to obtain the desired C4+ olefins to be fed to the selective hydrogenation step [0108-0118].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shutt (US 2004/0039239) – teaches MTO followed by separation, recover of C4+ components which are fed to hydrogenation (see figure 2)
Van Egmond (US 2005/0033104) – teaches MTO, water wash, and separation of C4+ components
Ding (US 2004/0267077) – teaches oxygenate to olefin reaction, quenching, washing, and olefin product recovery
Schindlbeck (US 2020/0047079) - teaches separation of MTO effluent
Xu (US 2005/0101815) – from ISR teaches oxygenate to olefin conversion and separation of effluents
Martens (US 2005/0182282) – from ISR teaches C4+ from oxygenate to olefin reactor fed to oligomerization
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771