Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/12/2025, 7/17/2025, 5/06/2025, 2/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 1/19/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.81. Accordingly, the drawings are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification submitted on 1/19/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.71. Accordingly, the specification is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Lin (US 20230333222 A1, "Lin").
Regarding Claim 1, Lin teaches a housing cap for an optical ranging sensor, the housing cap comprising (Para [0014], Fig 1-2, where the TOF optical sensing module includes a cap 20):
a barrier wall defining (Para [0016], Fig 1-2, where cap 20 includes partition structure 24 functioning as the barrier wall):
a transmission cavity comprising (Para [0017], Fig 2, where partition structure 24 is disposed between lower surface 212 and the substrate 10 to divide the chamber 40 into an emitting chamber 41 and a receiving chamber 42):
an optical radiation source positioned to direct ranging optical radiation through a transmission opening toward a target object (Para [0039], Fig 2, where light emitting unit 31 is disposed in the emitting chamber 41 below the transmitting window 22, and is configured to emit detection light L1 to irradiate target object F);
a reference sensor positioned to receive a portion of the ranging optical radiation (Para [0037], Fig 2, where the reference pixel 33 is disposed in the emitting chamber 41 and can receive a portion of the detection light L1 as disclosed in Para [0039]); and
an attenuation wall positioned between the optical radiation source and the reference sensor, defining an attenuation gap through which the portion of the ranging optical radiation passes (Para [0018], Fig 2, where protruding structure 25 attenuates the energy of stray light, and a gap g between protruding structures 25 and the transceiving unit 30 is not more than 1mm as disclosed in Para [0025]. As disclosed in Para [0039} part of the stray light L3 in the form of reference light L4 is received by reference pixel 33); and
a receiving cavity comprising (Para [0017], Fig 2, where partition structure 24 is disposed between lower surface 212 and the substrate 10 to divide the chamber 40 into an emitting chamber 41 and a receiving chamber 42):
an optical radiation receiver positioned to receive ranging optical radiation reflected off the target object through a receiver opening (Para [0038], Fig 2, where the sensing pixel 32 is disposed in the receiving chamber 42 and below receiving window 23 to receive sensing light L2, and as disclosed in Para [0039] a portion of the detection light L1 irradiates target object F, then after being reflected from the object F is received as sensing light L2).
Regarding Claim 2, Lin teaches the housing cap of claim 1, further comprising a top portion, wherein the transmission opening and the receiver opening are defined by the top portion of the housing cap (Para [0016], Fig 1-2, where body 21 has a top wall 211 functioning as a top portion, whereas disclosed in Para [0049] the receiving window 23 and transmitting window 22 are hollow openings penetrating the top wall 211).
Regarding Claim 3, Lin teaches the housing cap of claim 2, the attenuation wall further comprising an attached end, attached to the top portion of the housing cap; and a distal end, extending into the transmission cavity (Para [0016], Fig 1-2, where top wall 211 has a lower surface 212 which functions as the attached end, and the protruding structure 25 protrudes from the lower surface toward the substrate 10 functioning as the distal end).
Regarding Claim 4, Lin teaches the housing cap of claim 3, wherein the top portion and the attenuation wall comprise a single, continuous structure (Para [0017], Fig 1-2, where the protruding structure 25 and the body 21 can be of an integrated structure).
Regarding Claim 5, Lin teaches the housing cap of claim 4, wherein the housing cap is formed by an injection molding process (Para [0049], Fig 2, where the cap 20 may be formed on the substrate 10 by way of injection molding).
Regarding Claim 6, Lin teaches the housing cap of claim 3, wherein the optical radiation source is attached to a surface of a substrate (Para [0045], Fig 2, where light emitting unit 31 may be attached to substrate 10 ).
Regarding Claim 7, Lin teaches the housing cap of claim 6, wherein the attenuation gap comprises a fluid passage between the distal end of the attenuation wall and the surface of the substrate (Para [0049], Fig 2, where the chamber 40 may be filled with air, for where a gap g resides).
Regarding Claim 10, Lin teaches the housing cap of claim 1, wherein the barrier wall creates an optically impenetrable barrier between the transmission cavity and the receiving cavity (Para [0020], Fig 1-2, where partition structure 24 has no gaps and prevents stray light from entering the receiving chamber 42 through the gap).
Regarding Claim 11, Lin teaches the housing cap of claim 1, wherein the attenuation wall blocks the reference sensor from receiving ambient light entering the transmission opening (Para [0039], Fig 2, where part of the stray light L3 in the form of reference light L4 is received by reference pixel 33 through gap g. Because of the geometry of the gap g where only part of the stray light is received, it must also at least partially block light entering through the gap g to reference sensor 33).
Regarding Claim 12, Lin teaches the housing cap of claim 1, wherein the attenuation gap is between 80 micrometers and 160 micrometers (Para [0025], Fig 2, where the gap g is not more than 1 mm).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Song et al. (US 20210356844 A1, "Song").
Regarding claim 8, Lin teaches the housing cap of claim 6.
However, Lin does not teach further comprising an electromagnetic interference shield attached to the surface of the substrate and covering at least a portion of the optical radiation source.
On the other hand, Song teaches an electromagnetic interference (EMI) shield covering a light source attached to a substrate to reduce noise (Song, Para [0044], Fig 3, where shield can 240 may cover first light source device 220 to block EMI noise, and end portion 242 may be grounded to the substrate 210).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the housing cap of Lin in view of Song, by covering a light source of Lin with the EMI shield of Song to block noise produced by the light source (Song, Para [0044]).
Regarding claim 9, Lin in view of Song teaches the housing cap of claim 8, wherein the attenuation gap comprises a fluid passage between the distal end of the attenuation wall and the electromagnetic interference shield (Lin, Para [0049], Fig 2, where the chamber 40 may be filled with air, for where a gap g resides, and Song's EMI shield covers Song's light emitting unit 31)
Claims 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Deng et al. (US 20230197702 A1, "Deng").
Regarding claim 13, Lin teaches the housing cap of claim 1, (Para [0018], Fig 2, where protruding structure 25 attenuates the energy of stray light, and a gap g between protruding structures 25 and the transceiving unit 30 is not more than 1mm as disclosed in Para [0025]. As disclosed in Para [0039} part of the stray light L3 in the form of reference light L4 is received by reference pixel 33).
However, Lin does not teach
On the other hand, Deng teaches the distance from a light source to a wall in a transmitting cavity (Deng, Para [0018], Fig 2, where this distance B between the edge of the cavity and light source chip 22 is greater than or equal to 75 um.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the housing cap of Lin in view of Deng, by having a specified distance between the attenuation wall and transmitter of Lin using the parameters of Deng to minimize the size of housing for an optical ranging sensor. (Deng, Para [0009]).
Regarding claim 17, Lin teaches the housing cap of claim 1, (Para [0039], Fig 2, where light emitting unit 31 is disposed in the emitting chamber 41 below the transmitting window 22, and is configured to emit detection light L1 to irradiate target object F) and the optical radiation source (Para [0037], Fig 2, where the reference pixel 33 is disposed in the emitting chamber 41 and can receive a portion of the detection light L1 as disclosed in Para [0039])
However, Lin does not teach
On the other hand, Deng teaches a distance between a light source and a detecting sensor in a single cavity (Deng, Para [0019], Fig 2, where the distance D from light source 22 to the first sensing area 251 is greater than or equal to 0.8 mm.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the housing cap of Lin in view of Deng, by having a specified distance between the reference sensor and transmitter of Lin using the parameters of Deng to minimize the size of housing for an optical ranging sensor. (Deng, Para [0009]).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Yao et al. (US20110297832A1, "Yao").
Regarding claim 14, Lin teaches the housing cap of claim 1.
However, Lin does not teach wherein the transmission opening comprises a diameter between 1.75 millimeters and 2.25 millimeters.
On the other hand, Yao teaches the diameter of a cavity that functions as a transmission cavity (Yao, Para [0026], Fig 8, where the cylindrical aperture 194 for which first cavity 32 and lens 132 reside has a diameter of 1.70 mm. Transmitter 102 resides in first cavity 32 as shown in Fig 5 therefore allowing cylindrical aperture 194 to function as the transmission opening. See MPEP 2144.05.I).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the housing cap of Lin in view of Yao, by having the transmission window of Song have the parameters according to Yao such that a ray of radiation from the transmitter can pass through the cavity directed by a lens to be reflected by a target object (Yao, Para [0028]).
Regarding claim 15, Lin teaches the housing cap of claim 1.
However, Lin does not teach further comprising a transmission lens positioned in the transmission opening.
On the other hand, Yao teaches a lens positioned near a transmitter to direct light toward an object for detection (Yao, Para [0026], Fig 8, where the cylindrical aperture 194 for which first cavity 32 and lens 132 reside has a diameter of 1.70 mm).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the housing cap of Lin in view of Yao, by having the transmission window of Song have the parameters according to Yao such that a ray of radiation from the transmitter can pass through the cavity directed by a lens to be reflected by a target object (Yao, Para [0028]).
Regarding claim 16, Lin in view of Yao teaches the housing cap of claim 15, wherein a transmission lens distance from the optical radiation source to the transmission lens is between 2.25 millimeters and 2.75 millimeters (Yao, Para [0020],where the transmitter 102 resides on bottom wall 48, and the distance from bottom wall 48 to first cup 42 may be about 0.45 mm, and from first cup 42 of lip 44 to the top of cup wall 45 is 0.2 mm according to Para [0017]. That added to the height of lens 132 above surface 14 results in distance from the transmitter to the lens to be within 1.85 mm. MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Parodi-Keravec et al. (US20140231633A1, "Parodi-Keravec").
Regarding claim 18, Lin teaches an electronic system configured to determine a proximity of a target object comprising (Lin, Para [0014], Fig 1-2, where the TOF optical sensing module is the electronic system that measures the distance of the object as disclosed in Para [0043]. This measured distance is the proximity of the object):
a housing cap comprising a barrier wall defining (Lin, Para [0014]-[0016], Fig 1-2, where the TOF optical sensing module includes a cap 20 and cap 20 includes partition structure 24 functioning as the barrier wall):
a transmission cavity comprising (Lin, Para [0016], Fig 1-2, where Para [0017], Fig 2, where partition structure 24 is disposed between lower surface 212 and the substrate 10 to divide the chamber 40 into an emitting chamber 41 and a receiving chamber 42 to be the transmitting and receiving cavities):
an optical radiation source positioned to direct ranging optical radiation through a transmission opening toward a target object (Lin, Para [0039], Fig 2, where light emitting unit 31 is disposed in the emitting chamber 41 below the transmitting window 22, and is configured to emit detection light L1 to irradiate target object F);
a reference sensor positioned to receive a portion of the ranging optical radiation (Lin, Para [0037], Fig 2, where the reference pixel 33 is disposed in the emitting chamber 41 and can receive a portion of the detection light L1 as disclosed in Para [0039]); and
an attenuation wall positioned between the optical radiation source and the reference sensor, defining an attenuation gap through which the portion of the ranging optical radiation passes (Lin, Para [0018], Fig 2, where protruding structure 25 attenuates the energy of stray light, and a gap g between protruding structures 25 and the transceiving unit 30 is not more than 1mm as disclosed in Para [0025]. As disclosed in Para [0039} part of the stray light L3 in the form of reference light L4 is received by reference pixel 33); and
a receiving cavity comprising (Lin, Para [0017], Fig 2, where partition structure 24 is disposed between lower surface 212 and the substrate 10 to divide the chamber 40 into an emitting chamber 41 and a receiving chamber 42 to be the transmitting and receiving cavities):
an optical radiation receiver positioned to receive ranging optical radiation reflected off the target object through a receiving opening (Lin, Para [0038], Fig 2, where the sensing pixel 32 is disposed in the receiving chamber 42 and below receiving window 23 to receive sensing light L2, and as disclosed in Para [0039] a portion of the detection light L1 irradiates target object F, then after being reflected from the object F is received as sensing light L2).
However, Lin does not teach an external cover; and
an optical ranging sensor disposed on an interior side of the external cover, opposite the target object, the optical ranging sensor comprising:
On the other hand, Parodi-Keravec teaches a display screen functioning as an external cover (Parodi-Keravec, Para [0068], Fig 5, where display screen 51 contains the proximity sensor 21 and therefore functions as an external cover), and contains the sensor opposite the target relative to the sensor (Parodi-Keravec, Para [0068], Fig 5, where display screen 51 contains the proximity sensor 21 and object 14 is illuminated outside of device 21 as disclosed by Para [0073] and therefore holds the sensor opposite the target)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the housing cap of Lin in view of Parodi-Keravec, by covering the proximity device of Lin with the screen of Parodi-Keravec such that the device can be integrated in a device with a touch screen. (Parodi-Keravec, Para [0068]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 19, Lin in view of Parodi-Keravec teaches the electronic system of claim 18, the housing cap further comprising:
a top portion defining the transmission opening and the receiving opening (Lin, Para [0016], Fig 1-2, where body 21 has a top wall 211, whereas disclosed in Para [0049] the receiving window 23 and transmitting window 22 are hollow openings penetrating the top wall 211),
wherein the attenuation wall further comprises an attached end, attached to the top portion of the housing cap, and a distal end, extending into the transmission cavity (Lin, Para [0016], Fig 1-2, where top wall 211 has a lower surface 212 which functions as the attached end, and the protruding structure 25 protrudes from the lower surface toward the substrate 10 functioning as the distal end).
Regarding claim 20, Lin in view of Parodi-Keravec teaches the electronic system of claim 18, wherein the attenuation gap is between 80 micrometers and 160 micrometers (Lin, Para [0025], Fig 2, where the gap g is not more than 1 mm).
Conclusion
/ZAKI KEHINDE HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645