Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 10, filed 05/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9, 11-17 under 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chang (US 20220281418 A1) in view of Rosas (US 20170015279 A1).
Claim Interpretation
Regarding Claim 9, the claim uses the language “and/or”. For the purposes of examination “and/or” will be treated under the broadest reasonable interpretation, which is simply “or”.
Claims 13, 14 and 15 cite similar language and will be interpreted in the same way for the purposes of examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20220281418 A1) in view of Rosas (US 20170015279 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chang discloses: A wiper blade, comprising:
a flow guide shell (See Annotated Figure A Below), wherein a lower part of the flow guide shell is provided with an accommodating groove (See Annotated Figure A);
a connecting shell (See Annotated Figure A), wherein an upper surface of the connecting shell is provided with a clip mounting groove (See Annotated Figure A); a lower surface of the connecting shell is provided with a wiper blade body mounting groove (See Annotated Figure A); the connecting shell is inserted into the accommodating groove to connect the clip mounting groove to the accommodating groove (See Annotated Figure A);
a wiper blade body (See Annotated Figure A), wherein the wiper blade body is inserted into the wiper blade body mounting groove (See Annotated Figure A); and
a clip (See Annotated Figure A), wherein the clip is inserted into the clip mounting groove (See Annotated Figure A); a first limiting block (See Annotated Figure A) is arranged on an inner wall of the clip mounting groove (See Annotated Figure A); and a lower surface of the first limiting block resists against an upper surface of the clips (See Annotated Figure A).
wherein a protruding wind bearing part (See Annotated Figure A) is arranged in the middle of an upper surface of the flow guide shell (See Annotated Figure A), the wind bearing part comprises two planar wind bearing surfaces (See Annotated Figure A, upper portion of the arc-shaped transition surfaces), two arc-shaped transition surfaces (See Annotated Figure A) are symmetrically arranged on two sides of the wind bearing part and respectively connected to the two wind bearing surfaces (See Annotated Figure A),
But does not explicitly disclose and the included angle between the two wind bearing surfaces is an acute angle; each of the arcuate transition surface comprises a concave first transition section and a convex second transition section, and the first transition section being connected between a corresponding one of the two wind bearing surfaces and the second transition section.
However, Rosas discloses all a similar wiper with a plurality of spoilers (274 and 254), suggesting the included angle between the two wind bearing surfaces is an acute angle (See Annotated Figure B); each of the arcuate transition surface comprises a concave first transition section (See Annotated Figure B) and a convex second transition section (See Annotated Figure B), and the first transition section being connected between a corresponding one of the two wind bearing surfaces and the second transition section (See Annotated Figure B). and further teaches that the shape of the spoilers is variable for aesthetic reasons (See Para [0085] “For example, the first cap 256 includes a first slot to receive the first spline 250 and a second slot to receive the indentations 248 of the squeegee 214, and the second cap 258 includes a first slot to receive the second spline 252 and a second slot to receive the indentations 248 of the squeegee 214. Note that the spoilers 254 and the main spoiler 274 preferably have a profile similar to that of the caps 256, 258 so as to provide an overall aesthetically pleasing look for the wiper blade 202.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the shape of the spoilers such that the included angle between the two wind bearing surfaces is an acute angle; each of the arcuate transition surface comprises a concave first transition section and a convex second transition section, and the first transition section being connected between a corresponding one of the two wind bearing surfaces and the second transition section as it has been held the particular shape or configuration of an element is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed configuration is significant, See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. As Applicant does not provide evidence of the criticality of the claimed protruding wind bearing part configuration, and Rosas discloses that the shape of a similar element can be modified for aesthetic reasons, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention would understand that the particular configuration of the protruding wind bearing part would be a matter of design choice and would still allow the part to act as a spoiler.
Annotated Figure A (Fig. 9 of Chang)
Annotated Figure B (Fig. 22 of Rosas)
Regarding Claim 2, Chang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein an extension direction of a lower surface of the first limiting block is matched with an extension direction of a groove bottom plane of the clip mounting groove (See Annotated Figure A showing both extending in the in plane direction); and the clip is clamped between the lower surface of the first limiting block (See Annotated Figure A) and the groove bottom plane of the clip mounting groove (See Annotated Figure A).
Regarding Claim 3, Chang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the connecting shell comprises a first wall (Annotated Figure A); two sides of the first wall extend upwards to form first side walls (Annotated Figure A); upper parts of the two first side walls extend towards each other to form the first limiting block (Annotated Figure A); and the clip mounting groove is formed between an upper surface of the first wall (Annotated Figure A), inner surfaces of the first side walls (Annotated Figure A), and the lower surface of the first limiting block (Annotated Figure A).
Regarding Claim 4, Chang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 3 and in addition discloses wherein the two sides of the first wall extend downwards to form second side walls (Annotated Figure A); lower parts of the two second side walls extend towards each other to form a second limiting block (Annotated Figure A); and the wiper blade body mounting groove (Annotated Figure A) is formed between a lower surface of the first wall (Annotated Figure A), inner surfaces of the second side walls (Annotated Figure A), and an upper surface of the second limiting block (Annotated Figure A).
Regarding Claim 5, Chang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 4 and in addition discloses wherein the wiper blade body (Annotated Figure A) is provided with an insertion part (Annotated Figure A), and the insertion part is detachably inserted into the wiper blade body mounting groove (Annotated Figure A).
Regarding Claim 6, Chang discloses all the limitations of claim 5 and in addition discloses wherein the wiper blade body (Annotated Figure A) further comprises a fixed part (Annotated Figure A) and a wiping part (Annotated Figure A); the fixed part is connected to a lower part of the insertion part (Annotated Figure A); the wiping part is connected to one side of the fixed part facing away from the insertion part (Annotated Figure A); a locking groove (Annotated Figure A) is formed between the insertion part and the fixed part (Annotated Figure A); and the second limiting block is inserted into the locking groove (Annotated Figure A).
Regarding Claim 7, Chang as modified discloses all the elements of claim 6 and in addition discloses wherein a width of a lower part of the wiping part (bottom tip of 410) is less than a width of an upper part of the wiping part (See Fig. 9 or Annotated Figure A showing the width tapering down to the bottom of the wiper blade).
Regarding Claim 8, Chang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 3 and in addition discloses wherein two edges of the accommodating groove extend inwards to form a third limiting block (See Annotated Figure A), and an upper surface of the third limiting block resists against an edge of the lower surface of the first wall (See Annotated Figure A).
Regarding Claim 9, as modified Chang discloses all the limitations of claim 3 and in addition discloses wherein a side surface of the first wall resists against a side wall surface of the accommodating groove (See Annotated Figure A where “first side wall” contacts the side wall surface of the accommodating groove); and outer surfaces of the first side walls and/or an upper surface of the first limiting block resist/resists against an upper wall surface of the accommodating groove (See Annotated Figure A where upper surface of the first limiting block contacts the upper wall inner surface of the accommodating groove).
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20220281418 A1) in view of Rosas (US 20170015279 A1) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of Kanazawa (US 20210070255 A1)
Regarding Claim 11, Chang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses further comprising two fixed shells (210a), wherein the fixed shells are provided with first insertion slots (Slots where 200 is inserted See Fig. 11 and Para [0030] “each stopper 210a may be a sheath matching with the shape of an internal surface of the end of the spoiler cover 500. The stopper 210a sheathes on the end of the elastic arm 200”), and an end portion of the flow guide shell (500 Annotated Figure A), an end portion of the wiper blade body (See First Para [0030] “Furthermore, a portion of the stopper 210a may be continuous in shape with the lower rail 320 of connection strip 300 for the end of the upper rail 420 on the scraper 400 to be inserted.”) and an end portion of the clip are inserted into the first insertion slots (See Para first citation [0030] cited above regarding the stopper sheathing on the end of 200).
And does not explicitly disclose an end portion of the connecting shell are inserted into the first insertion slots.
However, Chang does contemplate different versions of the stopper 210 of which 210 is one potential embodiment (See Para [0025] “According to this embodiment, the stoppers 210 are exampled in a manner of pins penetrating the ends of the corresponding elastic arms 200, but this disclosure is not be limited thereto. For example, the stoppers 210 may protrude from the elastic arms 200. The groove rail 310 may have a plurality of frames 311 connected with each other, and the elastic arm 200 passes through the frames 311. Therefore, when the elastic arm 200 is pressed to deform, the groove rail 310 may be deformed following the elastic arm 200 with respect to the gaps between the frames 311, and the motion of the elastic arm 200 is thereby prevented from interference. According to this disclosure, each frame 311 may have a pair of claws 312, and the pair of claws 312 respectively clamp two sides of the elastic arm 200, but this disclosure is not be limited thereto. For example, the frame 311 may be a rectangular ring for the elastic arm 200 to be inserted therethrough.”)
And Kanazawa discloses a similar wiper blade apparatus with an end cap (25, analogous to the stopper 210 of Chang) which is attached over the wiper case (23, analogous to connecting shell 500 of Chang).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the stopper of have an end portion of the connecting shell are inserted into the first insertion slots, as doing so would be an equivalent method of applying a stopper to the elastic arm of Chang and would provide further protection for the connecting shell and the interior components at a portion where at a portion where the elastic arm and wiper blade would be exposed if the connecting shell was damaged.
Regarding Claim 12, Chang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 11 and in addition discloses wherein the fixed shells further comprise openings; the openings are communicated to the first insertion slots; and the wiper blade body penetrates through the openings (See Chang Para [0030] “The stopper 210a sheathes on the end of the elastic arm 200, a latch 211a is arranged on the stopper 210a and the stopper 210a is fixed by the latch 211a snapping the elastic arm 200. Furthermore, a portion of the stopper 210a may be continuous in shape with the lower rail 320 of connection strip 300 for the end of the upper rail 420 on the scraper 400 to be inserted.”).
Regarding Claim 13, Chang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 11 and in addition discloses wherein first locking parts (211a) are arranged on two sides of the fixed shells close to the openings, and the first locking parts are connected to the clip and/or the connecting shell (See Para [0030] “a latch 211a is arranged on the stopper 210a and the stopper 210a is fixed by the latch 211a snapping the elastic arm 200.”).
Regarding Claim 14, Chang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 11 and in addition discloses further comprising an intermediate shell (600 and 100), wherein a lower part of the intermediate shell is connected to the middle of the clip (See Fig 4, showing the bottom of 100 connecting to the clip 200) and/or the middle of the connecting shell; and an upper part of the intermediate shell is configured to be connected to a wiper arm (See Chang Para [0029] “Moreover, the shield 600 has an opening 601 for the wiper arm to be inserted to snap the snapping seat 100.”).
Regarding Claim 15, Chang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 11 and in addition discloses wherein the intermediate shell is provided with a second insertion slot (Slot of 600 where 500 is inserted into in Fig. 2); a second locking part (102a) is arranged at an edge of the second insertion slot (See Fig. 3); the flow guide shell and the connecting shell are inserted into the second insertion slot (See Fig. 2 showing the flow guide shell and Chang Para [0026] “Specifically, the latches 310a are accommodated in the holes 102a disposed on each side wall 102 of the snapping seat 100 to snap an edge of the bottom plate 101, but this disclosure is not be limited thereto.” 300 being the connection shell pointed out in Annotated Figure A); and the second locking part is connected to the clip and/or the connecting shell (See Para [0026] as cited above).
Claim(s) 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20220281418 A1) in view of Rosas (US 20170015279 A1) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of Kanazawa (US 20210070255 A1) as modified in claim 11 and in further view of Bex (US 20130340195 A1)
Regarding Claim 16, Chang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 11 but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a rotary cover body, wherein a connecting opening is arranged at the upper part of the intermediate shell; the rotary cover body is rotatably connected to the intermediate shell and opens or closes the connecting opening; and the connecting opening is configured to allow the wiper arm to be connected for use.
However, Bex discloses a wiper blade adapter (10) for coupling a wiper blade to a wiper arm wherein the adapter comprises a rotary cover body (16) rotatably connected to the adapter (10) and opens or closes a connection opening; and the connecting opening is configured to allow the wiper arm to be connected for use (See Para [0032] “When mounting the wiper blade adapter 10 to the wiper strip unit 14, the latching means 12 and the securing means 16 are therefore elastically deflected out of the locking position in different directions 30, 32. A pivoting action of the latching means 12 about the pivot axis 18 is blocked by the securing means 16 in the locking position.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the wiper blade assembly to include a rotary cover body as Bex discloses that doing so would allow for the assembly process of connecting the wiper blade to the arm to be performed especially simply and quickly, See Para [0004] of Bex “In a further embodiment, it is proposed that the at least one securing means is intended to be elastically deflected out of a locking position when assembling the wiper blade adapter to the wiper strip unit. In so doing, the assembly process can be performed especially simply and quickly.”
Claim(s) 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20220281418 A1) in view of Rosas (US 20170015279 A1) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of Kanazawa (US 20210070255 A1) as modified in claim 11 and in further view of Shinoyama (US 20170225661 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Chang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 11 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the flow guide shell, the connecting shell, the wiper blade body, and the clip are all arranged in an arc shape.
However, Chang does disclose the wiper apparatus could be utilized on a rear windshield (See Para [0031] “Furthermore, in shorter wiper (on a rear windshield), the elasticity of the wiper may be increased through the two elastic arms 200 arranged separately and the gaps of the plurality of frames 311 of the connection strip 300, and the wiper is thereby prevented from being over rigid.”)
And Shinoyama discloses a similar wiper assembly that is curved in an arc shape meant for a windshield such as a rear windshield of a vehicle (Para [0792] “This type of windscreen wiper is adapted to windows of small dimensions, and as a result of small curvature, such as for example a rear window of a motor vehicle.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to design the wiper assembly to have an arc that matches the curvature of the surface to wiped in order to improve the effectiveness of the wiper.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20220281418 A1) in view of Rosas (US 20170015279 A1) and Moll (US 20070174989 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Chang discloses: A wiper blade, comprising:
a flow guide shell (See Annotated Figure A Below), wherein a lower part of the flow guide shell is provided with an accommodating groove (See Annotated Figure A);
a connecting shell (See Annotated Figure A), wherein an upper surface of the connecting shell is provided with a clip mounting groove (See Annotated Figure A); a lower surface of the connecting shell is provided with a wiper blade body mounting groove (See Annotated Figure A); the connecting shell is inserted into the accommodating groove to connect the clip mounting groove to the accommodating groove (See Annotated Figure A);
a wiper blade body (See Annotated Figure A), wherein the wiper blade body is inserted into the wiper blade body mounting groove (See Annotated Figure A); and
a clip (See Annotated Figure A), wherein the clip is inserted into the clip mounting groove (See Annotated Figure A); a first limiting block (See Annotated Figure A) is arranged on an inner wall of the clip mounting groove (See Annotated Figure A); and a lower surface of the first limiting block resists against an upper surface of the clips (See Annotated Figure A).
wherein a protruding wind bearing part (See Annotated Figure A) is arranged in the middle of an upper surface of the flow guide shell (See Annotated Figure A), the flow guide shell further comprises two connecting portions symmetrically connected (See Annotated Figure C) to two sides of the wind bearing part (See Annotated Fig. C), and a wedge-shaped cut extending towards a top portion of the wind bearing part is further formed at a bottom portion of the wind bearing part (See Annotated Figure C).
but does not explicitly disclose the thickness of each of the connecting part gradually decreases in a direction away from the wind bearing part,
However, Rosas discloses a similar wiper with a plurality of spoilers (274 and 254), suggesting wherein the thickness of each of the connecting parts of the spoilers decreases in a direction away from the wind bearing part (See Annotated Fig. B, where the connecting parts seem to thin at the transition from the arches portion to extending straight down) and further teaches that the shape of the spoilers is variable for aesthetic reasons (See Para [0085] “For example, the first cap 256 includes a first slot to receive the first spline 250 and a second slot to receive the indentations 248 of the squeegee 214, and the second cap 258 includes a first slot to receive the second spline 252 and a second slot to receive the indentations 248 of the squeegee 214. Note that the spoilers 254 and the main spoiler 274 preferably have a profile similar to that of the caps 256, 258 so as to provide an overall aesthetically pleasing look for the wiper blade 202.”).
And Moll discloses a similar wiper wherein the thickness of each of the connecting parts (38, 64 , 68, 66) of the spoilers decreases in a direction away from the wind bearing part (See Fig. 4 wind bearing par 74, 38 decreases in thickness from 56, 64 is less thick than 62, and see the tapper on 68A and 66A)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the shape of the spoilers such that the thickness of each of the connecting part gradually decreases in a direction away from the wind bearing part as it has been held the particular shape or configuration of an element is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed configuration is significant, See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. As Applicant does not provide evidence of the criticality of the claimed protruding wind bearing part configuration, and Rosas discloses that the shape of a similar element can be modified for aesthetic reasons, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention would understand that the particular configuration of the protruding wind bearing part would be a matter of design choice and would still allow the part to act as a spoiler.
Annotated Fig. C (Fig. 9 of Chang)
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20220281418 A1) in view of Cros (US 20150113755 A1)
Regarding Claim 19, Chang discloses a flow guide shell (See Annotated Figure A Below), wherein a lower part of the flow guide shell is provided with an accommodating groove (See Annotated Figure A);
a connecting shell (See Annotated Figure A), wherein an upper surface of the connecting shell is provided with a clip mounting groove (See Annotated Figure A); a lower surface of the connecting shell is provided with a wiper blade body mounting groove (See Annotated Figure A); the connecting shell is inserted into the accommodating groove to connect the clip mounting groove to the accommodating groove (See Annotated Figure A);
a wiper blade body (See Annotated Figure A), wherein the wiper blade body is inserted into the wiper blade body mounting groove (See Annotated Figure A); and
a clip (See Annotated Figure A), wherein the clip is inserted into the clip mounting groove (See Annotated Figure A); a first limiting block (See Annotated Figure A) is arranged on an inner wall of the clip mounting groove (See Annotated Figure A); and a lower surface of the first limiting block resists against an upper surface of the clips (See Annotated Figure A).
wherein the connecting shell comprises a first wall (See Annotated Fig. A), two sides of the first wall extend upwards to form first side walls (See Annotated Fig. A); an outside edge of the top of each of the first side walls abuts against the inner surface of the flow guide shell (See Annotated Fig. A),
but does not explicitly disclose while the lateral outside surface and the top surface of each of the first side walls are each spaced apart from the inner surface of the flow guide shell by certain distances to form gaps respectively.
However, Cros discloses a similar wiper assembly, with a connecting shell (344’) with multiple embodiments, (Figs. 4 and 7), in one of (Fig. 7) which an outside edge of the top of each of the first side walls abuts against the inner surface of the flow guide shell (Via web 354’), while the lateral outside surface (362’) and the top surface (342’) of each of the first side walls are each spaced apart from the inner surface of the flow guide shell by certain distances to form gaps respectively (See Figs. 4 and 7).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the wiper of Chang such that an outside edge of the top of each of the first side walls abuts against the inner surface of the flow guide shell while the lateral outside surface and the top surface of each of the first side walls are each spaced apart from the inner surface of the flow guide shell by certain distances to form gaps respectively, as advantageously disclosed by Cros as doing so would allow for cleaning fluid to be circulated through the resultant cavities as advantageously suggested by Cros in Para [0069] “The webs 354' make it possible to delimit two independent cavities 346' and to isolate them from the rest of the internal space 349' of the body 314' and the housing 344' so that these cavities may be used to circulate windscreen-washing liquid, for example. In this case, the lateral walls 336' and/or the lugs 352' of the body may include windscreen-washing liquid spray orifices 356', one end of these orifices 356' leading into one of the cavities 346'.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723