DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 77-91 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 77 includes Formula 6 which includes variable ‘n’. Claim 77 does not define the variable, therefore claim 77 and all dependent claims are indefinite.
Claim 77 recites “the monomer units”. There is improper antecedent basis for this term.
Claims 82, 84-85 depends from claim 1 which is cancelled, therefore, claims 82, 84-85 are indefinite. Claims 86-89 depend from claim 85, which depends from cancelled claims. Therefore, these claims are indefinite.
Claim 83 recites “the monomer units”. There is improper antecedent basis for this term.
Claim 87 recites “a substrate” however claim 87 depends from claim 85 which also recites “a substrate”. This creates an antecedent basis issue where it is unclear whether the two substrates are the same or not.
Double Patenting
Claims 77-83 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,555,107. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US ‘107 claims polymers including Formula 2:
and species such as
. Formula 2 of US ‘107 is identical to instant claimed Formula 6 except for the presence of M2 at the right end of the polymer. However, M2 of US ‘107 includes a C1 alkyl group, which is the identity of the right end of the polymer of instant claimed Formula 6. This is further evidenced by the species
which meets the instant claimed Formula 6. Note, the species in US ‘107 claim 14 are identical to the species present in the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 77-80 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi, Polym. Chem. 2013, 4, 1193-1198.
Kobayashi teaches polymers formed from the ring opening of an amine functionalized cyclooctene
(pg. 1194) giving a polymer having a Mn of 25,7000 (25.7 kg/mol) and a Mw/Mn of 1.94 (pg. 1195). Each monomeric unit has a molecular weight of about 268, giving about 96 repeat groups. Kobayashi teaches polymers were hydrogenated and the amino groups were deprotected to give pendent -CH2-NH-Et groups (pg. 1194, Scheme 1). Kobayashi also teaches terpolymers
where F includes -CH2-NH-Et groups (pg. 1194, Scheme 1). This meets the claimed Formula 6 when M is an alkyl, X1-X4 are H, Y1-Y6 are each H, a linear alkyl, or -CH2-NH-Et, -CR1R2-NR3R4 is -CH2-NH-Et, no double bonds are present, and q and r are 0. Kobayashi also teaches polymers having the -NH2 group (Table 4).
Claim(s) 77-79, 86 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jacquet (US 4,217,914).
Jacquet teaches di-tertiary diamines of the formula
(col. 3, ln. 35-46) and provides examples where A1 is
and R is CH3 and R’ is C8H17 (Table I).
This has the structure
. This falls in the scope of claimed Formula 2 when n is 2, r and q are 0 and X1, X2, Y1, Y2, Y3, Y4, Y5, Y6, X3 and X4 are H, Y3 is -CH2-N(Me)(C8H17) and M1 is a methyl group. Jacquet teaches using the polymers by applying them to hair or skin (col. 14, ln. 6-15) which corresponds to coating (applying) to a substrate (hair or skin). To the extent that claim 86 recites an alternative embodiment, Jacquet meets claim 86.
Claim(s) 77-81, 85-86, 88-91 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nozaki (US 2012/0116036).
Nozaki teaches an ethylene/N-allylaniline copolymer (¶ 189-190) having the structure
with an initiation end of
and a terminal end of
(Fig. 15). This meets claimed formula 6 when X1-X4 are H, Y1-Y6 are H or -CH2-NH-Ph, and M is an alkyl group.
Nozaki teaches using the copolymer as an adhesive agent or as a film (¶ 98) which necessarily is a coating on a substrate. To the extent that claims 88-89 recite further limitations on alternative embodiments, Nozaki meets the claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
No prior art rejections are presented over claims 82-83.
Claim 82 recites polymer species having a phenyl end group. Kobayashi, Jacquet, and Nozaki do not teach a polymer having a phenyl end group or any of the structures of claim 82.
Claim 83 recites an oligomer of formula XI
. This oligomer contains a cyclic group that is the result of ring opening a norbornene structure. Kobayashi, Jacquet, and Nozaki do not teach the structure of formula XI and Kobayashi, Jacquet, and Nozaki do not teach using a norbornene in a ring opening polymerization.
Claim 87 recites the substrate is PTFE, glass or metal. Kobayashi, Jacquet, and Nozaki do not teach adhering the polymer to a PTFE, glass or metal substrate.
Conclusion
/ROBERT C BOYLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764