DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant arguments filed on 02/06/2026 has been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-27,30 and 31 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer et al; (US 2015/0349892) in view of Xiao et al; (WO 2020/063238 A1) and further in view of Kim et al; (US 9838126).
Regarding claim 21, Fischer discloses a system,(distributed antenna system 100 for distributing a radio frequency signal, see paragraph 15 and figure 1) comprising: a first baseband component configured to generate a radio frequency signal;( main hub 502 interfaces with the network devices 104 using digital baseband signals, see paragraph 31 and figures 1 and 5 and main hub 202 includes an RF combiner 201 which combines the RF signals from the respective network devices into a single combined RF signal, see paragraph 23 and figure 2) an optical transceiver component;(Main hub 502 includes digitally modulated laser 205 and digital optical receiver 207 thus optical transceiver, see paragraph 31 and figure 5) a first radio frequency component connected to the optical transceiver component through the optical fiber; (the combined digitized broadband signal is then provided to the digitally modulated laser 205 for transmission as an optical signal over optic fiber to one or more remote units such as remote units 106, see paragraph 32 and figures 1, 5) and a wireless head-end component,(plurality of antenna units 118, see figure 1) wherein the first baseband component is configured to provide a radio frequency signal to the first radio frequency component (remote units 106, see figure 1) through the optical transceiver component,(the combined digitized broadband signal is then provided to the digitally modulated laser 205 for transmission as an optical signal over optic fiber to one or more remote units 106, see paragraph 32 and figure 5), wherein the first radio frequency component is connected to the wireless head-end component;(respective antenna unit 116 converts the analog optical signals to analog radio frequency signals and provides the analog RF signals to the respective antenna 118 for wireless transmission to one or more wireless devices 110, see paragraph 20 and figure 1).
However, Fischer does not explicitly disclose pluggable radio frequency component, in a plugging manner, configured to convert the radio frequency signal to an optical signal and transmit the optical signal over an optical fiber, wherein the first baseband component and the optical transceiver component are located in a same physical device, or the optical transceiver is connected, to a physical device to which the first baseband belong.
In a related field of endeavor, Xiao discloses pluggable radio frequency component, in a plugging manner ;(the signal processing module is pluggable and is connected to or disconnected from the antenna and the radio frequency unit through the pluggable manner, when the signal processing module is inserted into the antenna device, the signal processing module connects the radio frequency unit and the antenna is connected; when the signal processing module is pulled out of the antenna device, the radio frequency unit is disconnected from the antenna, see page 2, lines 20-25).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the pluggable radio frequency component of Xiao with Fischer to pluggable connection between the signal processing unit and the antenna unit and the radio unit and the motivation is to provide increased flexibility for replacing and/or updating pluggable radio frequency component.
However, the combination of Fischer and Xiao does not explicitly disclose configured to convert the radio frequency signal to an optical signal and transmit the optical signal over an optical fiber, wherein the first baseband component and the optical transceiver component are located in a same physical device, or the optical transceiver is connected, to a physical device to which the first baseband belong.
In a related field of endeavor, Kim discloses configured to convert the radio frequency signal to an optical signal and transmit the optical signal over an optical fiber, (the optical transceiver 212 electro-optically converts the combined signal generated from the signal coupler 208 and transmits the converted optical signal to the remote units 220-1 to 220-N via an optical cable connected to the optical transceiver 212, see column 5, lines 45-52 and figure 2) wherein the first baseband component and the optical transceiver component are located in a same physical device, or the optical transceiver is connected, (Only one of the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner) to a physical device to which the first baseband belong; (the signal coupler 208 generates a combined signal by combining the radio signal output from the interface unit 202 and the RF signal output from the high-speed modem 206 and the optical transceiver 212 electro-optically converts the combined signal generated from the signal coupler 208 in headend device, see column 5, lines 39-42 and 45-52 and figure 2).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the same physical device of Kim with Fischer and Xiao to minimize the size of the signal combining and/or conversion device and the motivation is minimizing the size and the cost of the signal combining and/or conversion device.
Regarding claim 22, Fischer discloses the system according to claim 21, wherein the first radio frequency component comprises at least one radio frequency front-end module, (remote units 106, 606 coupled with the plurality of antenna units 118, see figures 1 and 6) and the optical transceiver component comprises at least one laser, at least one laser driver, and at least one detector ;(main hub 502 with digitally modulated laser 205 and digital optical detector (receiver) 207, see figure 5).
However, the combination of Fischer and Kim does not explicitly disclose pluggable radio frequency component.
In a related field of endeavor, Xiao discloses pluggable radio frequency component;(the signal processing module is pluggable and is connected to or disconnected from the antenna and the radio frequency unit through the pluggable manner, when the signal processing module is inserted into the antenna device, the signal processing module connects the radio frequency unit and the antenna is connected; when the signal processing module is pulled out of the antenna device, the radio frequency unit is disconnected from the antenna, see page 2, lines 20-25). Motivation same as claim 21.
Regarding claim 23, Fischer discloses the system according to claim 22, wherein the wireless head-end component is located at a wireless access point; (wireless device 110 located in close proximity with the antenna units 116, see figure 1).
Regarding 25, Fischer discloses the system according to claim 21, further comprising a radio hub component, wherein the radio hub component connects the optical transceiver component to the first radio frequency component through the optical fiber ; (the combined digitized broadband signal is then provided to the digitally modulated laser 205 for transmission as an optical signal over optic fiber to one or more remote units such as remote units 106, see paragraph 32 and figures 1, 5).
However, the combination of Fischer and Xiao does not explicitly disclose pluggable radio frequency component.
In a related field of endeavor, Xiao discloses pluggable radio frequency component ;(the signal processing module is pluggable and is connected to or disconnected from the antenna and the radio frequency unit through the pluggable manner, when the signal processing module is inserted into the antenna device, the signal processing module connects the radio frequency unit and the antenna is connected; when the signal processing module is pulled out of the antenna device, the radio frequency unit is disconnected from the antenna, see page 2, lines 20-25). Motivation same as claim 21.
Regarding claim 26, Fischer discloses the system according to claim 25, wherein the first radio frequency component comprises at least one radio frequency front-end module (remote units 106, 606 coupled with the plurality of antenna units 118, see figures 1 and 6) and the optical transceiver component comprises at least one laser, at least one laser driver, and at least one detector ;(main hub 502 with digitally modulated laser 205 and digital optical detector (receiver) 207, see figure 5).
However, the combination of Fischer and Xiao does not explicitly disclose pluggable radio frequency component.
In a related field of endeavor, Xiao discloses pluggable radio frequency component ;(the signal processing module is pluggable and is connected to or disconnected from the antenna and the radio frequency unit through the pluggable manner, when the signal processing module is inserted into the antenna device, the signal processing module connects the radio frequency unit and the antenna is connected; when the signal processing module is pulled out of the antenna device, the radio frequency unit is disconnected from the antenna, see page 2, lines 20-25). Motivation same as claim 21.
Regarding claim 27, Fischer discloses the system according to claim 25, wherein the wireless head-end component is located at a wireless access point (wireless device 110 located in close proximity with the antenna units 116, see figure 1).
Regarding claim 29, Fischer discloses the system according to claim 21, wherein the same physical device is a switch;( the main hub 502 includes a multiplexer/ demultiplexer 504 (switch) configured to convert digital baseband signals received from the network device into a combined digitized broadband and the combined digitized broadband signal is then provided to the digitally modulated laser 205 for transmission as an optical signal over optic fiber to one or more remote units 106, see paragraph 32 and figures 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 31, Fischer discloses the system according to claim 21, wherein the wireless head-end component is located at a wireless access point; (wireless device 110 located in close proximity with the antenna units 116, see figure 1).
Claims 34,37,38,39 and 40 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer et al; (US 2015/0349892) in view of Xiao et al; (WO 2020/063238 A1)and further in view of Parsons et al; (WO 2017/075093).
Regarding claim 34, Fischer discloses a radio frequency component, comprising: an optical transceiver component comprising: an optical-to-electrical convertor comprising at least one laser, at least one laser driver, and at least one detector, and wherein the radio frequency component ;(respective antenna unit 116 converts the analog optical signals to analog radio frequency signals and provides the analog RF signals to the respective antenna 118 for wireless transmission to one or more wireless devices 110, see paragraph 20 and figure 1), is configured to connect the optical-to-electrical convertor to an optical fiber receive an optical signal through the optical fiber, and wherein the optical-to-electrical convertor is configured to convert the optical signal to an electrical signal; (the combined digitized broadband signal is then provided to the digitally modulated laser 205 for transmission as an optical signal over optic fiber to one or more remote units such as remote units 106, see paragraph 32 and figures 1, 5) at least one frequency front-end module, wherein the radio frequency component,(the combined digitized broadband signal is then provided to the digitally modulated laser 205 for transmission as an optical signal over optic fiber to one or more remote units 106, see paragraph 32 and figure 5)
However, Fischer does not explicitly disclose is pluggable into a wireless head-end component, an optical fiber connector, wherein the optical fiber connector.
In a related field of endeavor, Xiao discloses is pluggable ;(the signal processing module is pluggable and is connected to or disconnected from the antenna (wireless head-end component) and the radio frequency unit through the pluggable manner, when the signal processing module is inserted into the antenna device, the signal processing module connects the radio frequency unit and the antenna is connected; when the signal processing module is pulled out of the antenna device, the radio frequency unit is disconnected from the antenna, see page 2, lines 20-25).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the pluggable radio frequency component of Xia with Fischer to pluggable connection between the signal processing unit and the antenna unit and the radio unit and the motivation is to provide increased flexibility for replacing and/or updating pluggable radio frequency component.
However, the combination of Fischer and Xiao does not explicitly disclose an optical fiber connector, wherein the optical fiber connector.
In a related field of endeavor, Parsons discloses an optical fiber connector, wherein the optical fiber connector; (a fiber optic trunk cable and an MPO-style connection on a quad small form pluggable factor (QSFP) optical transceiver module, see page 3, lines 8-11 and figure 2).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the optical connector of Parsons with Fischer and Xiao to provide connector between the different devices and the motivation is converting radio frequency communications signals into optical signals and then transmitting these optical signals between the two devices over one or more optical fibers.
Regarding claim 37, Fischer discloses the radio frequency component according to claim 34, wherein the optical transceiver component further comprises a multiplexer and a de-multiplexer ;(main hub 502 with multiplexer/demultiplexer 504, 506, see figure 5).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Fischer and Xiao does not explicitly disclose the radio frequency component according to claim 34, wherein the optical connector is an MTP/MPO connector.
In a related field of endeavor, Parsons discloses the radio frequency component according to claim 34, wherein the optical connector is an MTP/MPO connector ; (a fiber optic trunk cable and an MPO-style connection on a quad small form pluggable factor (QSFP) optical transceiver module, see page 3, lines 8-11 and figure 2).Motivation same as claim 34.
Regarding claim 39, Fischer discloses the radio frequency component according to claim 34, wherein the optical transceiver component further comprises an optical splitter and a modulator; (main hub 502 with multiplexer/demultiplexer 504, 506, (splitter) and digitally modulated laser; see figure 5).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Fischer and Xiao does not explicitly disclose the radio frequency component according to claim 34, wherein the radio frequency component is an optical module.
In a related field of endeavor, Parsons discloses the radio frequency component according to claim 34, wherein the radio frequency component is an optical module; (a fiber optic trunk cable and an MPO-style connection on a quad small form pluggable factor (QSFP) optical transceiver module, see page 3, lines 8-11 and figure 2).Motivation same as claim 34.
Claims 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer et al; (US 2015/0349892) in view of Xiao et al; (WO 2020/063238 A1) and further in view of Thomas et al; (CN 1484875 A).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Fischer, Xiao and Parsons does not explicitly disclose the radio frequency component according to claim 34, further comprising a power supply module, wherein the power supply module is configured to supply power to the radio frequency component, and the power supply module is configured to support obtaining power locally or obtaining power remotely.
In a related field of endeavor, Thomas discloses the radio frequency component according to claim 34, further comprising a power supply module, wherein the power supply module is configured to supply power to the radio frequency component, and the power supply module is configured to support obtaining power locally or obtaining power remotely; (the antenna system 20 receives signals from the optical fiber to the radio frequency transceiver 80, wherein the transceiver 80 connected with the second radio frequency to optical transceiver 84 through cable 82 and the antenna DC power supply or other power source can be far away from the antenna system 20 or can be adjacent to the antenna system 20, page 5, lines 12-16 and figure 8).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the power supply of Thomas with Fischer, Xiao and Parsons to provide power to the radio frequency transceiver and the remote antenna unit and the motivation is to provide power to the radio frequency transceiver and the remote antenna unit.
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Fischer, Xiao and Thomas does not explicitly disclose the radio frequency component according to claim 35, wherein the radio frequency component is an optical module.
In a related field of endeavor, Parsons discloses the radio frequency component according to claim 35, wherein the radio frequency component is an optical module; (a fiber optic trunk cable and an MPO-style connection on a quad small form pluggable factor (QSFP) optical transceiver module, see page 3, lines 8-11 and figure 2). Motivation same as claim 34.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 24,41 and 42 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
4.The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as reproduced below.
a. Ridel et al; (US 9060382) discloses a wireless communication system, which includes at least one base station module configured to implement a media access controller and a physical layer, and includes at least one remote radio head module configured to prepare an analog signal or a digital data signal for transmission and receipt over a link in accordance with dedicated interface specifications, and also includes at least one outdoor signal conversion module configured to perform a high rate digital-to-analog conversion and a high rate analog-to-digital conversion, see figure 1.
b. Luo et al; (US 10466432) discloses a high-speed optical module including a receiver and a transmitter and further the transmitter includes an amplifier chip, and a photodiode array connected to pins of the amplifier chip. The transmitter includes a laser driving chip and a base. Multiple lasers are arranged side by side in the base. The lasers are connected to the laser driving chip, see figure 1.
c. Anvari (US 10064149) discloses baseband frame or packet that is sent to a baseband unit in cloud and the baseband unit in a remote radio unit (RRU) respectively. A time stamp assigned by the baseband unit in the cloud is used by the baseband unit in the RRU to store based on the order of transmitted time stamp of one of the common protocol for radio interface (CPRI) baseband sample frame, where the OBSAI baseband sample frame and the proprietary baseband frame or packet and format for transmission over the air, see figure 5.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634