Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (2020/0204386), hereinafter Jiang.
Re. Claims 1 and 13, Jiang teaches a communication apparatus, comprising: a processor; a communication interface to perform information exchange with another communication device; and a memory to store program instructions (Fig. 2), which when executed by the processor, cause the communication device is to perform a method, the method comprising: receiving, through a multicast physical channel (¶0046 - The network interface 16 includes a medium access control (MAC) processor 18 and a physical layer (PHY) processor 20. The PHY processor 20 includes a number of transceivers 21-1, 21-2 and 21-3 (collectively, transceivers 21), and the transceivers 21 are coupled to a number of antennas 24-1, 24-2, and 24-3), a first multicast frame sent by a second device, wherein the first multicast frame comprises first information (¶0005 - a method includes transmitting, at a first wireless communication device, an announcement frame indicating a broadcast or multicast service period to a number of second wireless communication devices); and when the first information indicates that the first multicast frame is the last multicast frame sent by the second device within a preset time period (¶0022 - the announcement frame indicates (i) an end time of the broadcast or multicast service period and (ii) an order of a sequence of frames to be directed to the number of second wireless communication devices, each of the sequence of frames to be directed to a respective one of the number of second wireless communication devices, & ¶0023 - the announcement frame further indicates an end time of a last frame in the sequence of frames within the broadcast or multicast service period), stopping receiving through the multicast physical channel within the preset time period ((¶0022 - the announcement frame indicates (i) an end time of the broadcast or multicast service period and (ii) an order of a sequence of frames to be directed to the number of second wireless communication devices, each of the sequence of frames to be directed to a respective one of the number of second wireless communication devices, & ¶0023 - the announcement frame further indicates an end time of a last frame in the sequence of frames within the broadcast or multicast service period. Examiner interprets that in implementing the commands provided by the physical channel, the end time provided will act as a means of stopping reception).
Re. Claim 7, Jian teaches a communication method, comprising: generating, by a second device, a first multicast frame (¶0054 - the MAC processor 18 and the PHY processor 20 of the AP 14-1 are configured to generate data units conforming to the communication protocol and having formats described herein), wherein the first multicast frame comprises first information, and the first information indicates whether the first multicast frame is the last multicast frame sent by the second device within a preset time period (¶0022 - the announcement frame indicates (i) an end time of the broadcast or multicast service period and (ii) an order of a sequence of frames to be directed to the number of second wireless communication devices, each of the sequence of frames to be directed to a respective one of the number of second wireless communication devices, & ¶0023 - the announcement frame further indicates an end time of a last frame in the sequence of frames within the broadcast or multicast service period); and sending, by the second device, the first multicast frame to a plurality of first devices (¶0005 - a method includes transmitting, at a first wireless communication device, an announcement frame indicating a broadcast or multicast service period to a number of second wireless communication devices. Examiner interprets that the use of the term “first” and “second” in this reference is acceptable as there is still a device sending information and receiving information, the order the devices are labelled does not impede their function) through a multicast physical channel (¶0046 - The network interface 16 includes a medium access control (MAC) processor 18 and a physical layer (PHY) processor 20. The PHY processor 20 includes a number of transceivers 21-1, 21-2 and 21-3 (collectively, transceivers 21), and the transceivers 21 are coupled to a number of antennas 24-1, 24-2, and 24-3).
Re. Claims 2 and 14, Jiang teaches Claims 1 and 13.
Additionally, Jiang further teaches wherein the first information is located in a physical layer frame header of the first multicast frame (¶0099 - all of these types of information can be included in additional control field in MAC Header or a certain field in enhanced DMG (EDMG) header); and the method further comprises: parsing, by a physical layer of the first device, the physical layer frame header of the first multicast frame, to determine the first information (¶0017 - the programming instructions instruct the processor electronics to operate the transceiver to decode, from the announcement frame, an end time of a last frame in the sequence of frames within the broadcast or multicast service period).
Re. Claim 8, Jiang teaches Claim 7.
Jiang further teaches wherein the first information is located in a physical layer frame header of the first multicast frame (¶0099 - all of these types of information can be included in additional control field in MAC Header or a certain field in enhanced DMG (EDMG) header); and the generating, by a second device, a first multicast frame comprises: generating, by a physical layer of the second device, the physical layer frame header (¶0054 - the MAC processor 18 and the PHY processor 20 of the AP 14-1 are configured to generate data units conforming to the communication protocol and having formats described herein).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 9-11, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian in view of Shirakawa et al. (2024/0297734), hereinafter Shirakawa.
Re. Claims 3 and 15, Jian teaches claims 1 and 13.
Additionally, Jian further teaches parsing, by a preset layer of the first device, the payload header, to determine the first information, wherein the preset layer is a higher layer relative to the physical layer (¶0017 - to operate the transceiver to decode, from the announcement frame, an end time of a last frame in the sequence of frames within the broadcast or multicast service period. Examiner interprets that if the layer used is the higher layer outlined in the payload header, the higher layer can be used to operate to decode the transmission).
However, Jian does not explicitly teach wherein the first information is located in a payload header of a physical layer of the first multicast frame.
Yet, Shirakawa expressly teaches wherein the first information is located in a payload header of a physical layer of the first multicast frame (¶0112 - The PHY header includes a PLCP preamble for synchronization detection, a PLCP header for determining a Modulation and Coding Scheme in accordance with a received signal strength);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Shirakawa to the teaching of Jian. The motivation for such would be as Shirakawa provides that the first information is within the payload header of the physical layer (Shirakawa, ¶0112). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 4 and 16, Jian teaches claims 1 and 13.
However, Jian does not explicitly teach examining, by the first device, the first multicast frame; when a result of examining the first multicast frame indicates that the first multicast frame is correct, stopping, by the first device, receiving through the multicast physical channel within the preset time period, and when the result of examining the first multicast frame indicates that the first multicast frame is incorrect, sending, by the first device, retransmission indication information to the second device, wherein the retransmission indication information instructs the second device to resend the first multicast frame.
Yet, Shirakawa expressly teaches examining, by the first device, the first multicast frame; when a result of examining the first multicast frame indicates that the first multicast frame is correct, stopping, by the first device, receiving through the multicast physical channel within the preset time period (Fig. 16, Examiner interprets that where the block does not error and cause a retransmit (see ¶0115) then the channel performs the stop as commanded by the transmission frame); and when the result of examining the first multicast frame indicates that the first multicast frame is incorrect, sending, by the first device, retransmission indication information to the second device, wherein the retransmission indication information instructs the second device to resend the first multicast frame (Fig. 16, & ¶0115 - the MAC layer of the higher layer unit 10001-1 having received the Block Ack in the transmission frame retransmits MPDU #2 because an error has been detected in MPDU #2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Shirakawa to the teaching of Jian. The motivation for such would be as Shirakawa provides that the multicast frame directs whether retransmission is required or not upon reception (Shirakawa, ¶0115). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 5 and 17, Jian and Shirakawa teach claims 4 and 16.
However, Jian does not explicitly teach wherein the first multicast frame further comprises second information, indicating that a multicast frame is stored in a retransmission storage area of the second device.
Yet, Shirakawa expressly teaches wherein the first multicast frame further comprises second information, indicating that a multicast frame is stored in a retransmission storage area of the second device (¶0115 - Each of block #3 and block #6 in FIG. 16 includes two or more MPDUs, and the former stores a part of the information bit sequence included in MPDUs #1 and #2 and the latter stores a part of the information bit sequence included in MPDUs #2 and #3. Note that, in this example, the MAC layer of the higher layer unit 10001-1 having received the Block Ack in the transmission frame retransmits MPDU #2 because an error has been detected in MPDU #2, & ¶0156 - information handled by these apparatuses is temporarily accumulated in a RAM at the time of processing, is then stored in various types of ROMs and HDDs, and is read by the CPU as necessary to be corrected and written).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Shirakawa to the teaching of Jian. The motivation for such would be as Shirakawa provides that the multicast frame is stored in memory before retransmission is performed (Shirakawa, ¶0115). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 9, Jian teaches Claim 7.
Additionally, Jian further teaches generating, by a second device, a first multicast frame comprises: generating, by a preset layer of the second device, the payload header, wherein the preset layer is a higher layer relative to the physical layer (¶0054 - the MAC processor 18 and the PHY processor 20 of the AP 14-1 are configured to generate data units conforming to the communication protocol and having formats described herein. Examiner interprets that if the layer used is the higher layer outlined in the payload header, the higher layer can be used to operate to decode the transmission).
However, Jian does not explicitly teach wherein the first information is located in a payload header of a physical layer of the first multicast frame.
Yet, Shirakawa wherein the first information is located in a payload header of a physical layer of the first multicast frame (¶0112 - The PHY header includes a PLCP preamble for synchronization detection, a PLCP header for determining a Modulation and Coding Scheme in accordance with a received signal strength).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Shirakawa to the teaching of Jian. The motivation for such would be as Shirakawa provides the first information is found in a payload header of a physical layer of the first multicast frame (Shirakawa, ¶0112). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 10, Jian teaches Claim 7.
However, Jian does not expressly teach receiving, by the second device, retransmission indication information sent by the first device, wherein the retransmission indication information is sent when examining the first multicast frame by the first device fails; and resending, by the second device, the first multicast frame based on the retransmission indication information through the multicast physical channel.
Yet, Shirakawa expressly teaches receiving, by the second device, retransmission indication information sent by the first device, wherein the retransmission indication information is sent when examining the first multicast frame by the first device fails; and resending, by the second device, the first multicast frame based on the retransmission indication information through the multicast physical channel (Fig. 16, & ¶0115 - the MAC layer of the higher layer unit 10001-1 having received the Block Ack in the transmission frame retransmits MPDU #2 because an error has been detected in MPDU #2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Shirakawa to the teaching of Jian. The motivation for such would be as Shirakawa provides that the multicast frame directs whether retransmission is required or not upon reception (Shirakawa, ¶0115). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 11, Jian and Shirakawa teach Claim 10.
However, Jian does not explicitly teach wherein the first multicast frame comprises second information indicating that a multicast frame is stored in a retransmission storage area of the second device, and resending the first multicast frame based on the second information through the multicast physical channel comprises: reading, by the second device, the first multicast frame from the retransmission storage area based on the second information, and resending, by the second device, the first multicast frame through the multicast physical channel
However, Shirakawa expressly teaches wherein the first multicast frame comprises second information indicating that a multicast frame is stored in a retransmission storage area of the second device (¶0115 - Each of block #3 and block #6 in FIG. 16 includes two or more MPDUs, and the former stores a part of the information bit sequence included in MPDUs #1 and #2 and the latter stores a part of the information bit sequence included in MPDUs #2 and #3. Note that, in this example, the MAC layer of the higher layer unit 10001-1 having received the Block Ack in the transmission frame retransmits MPDU #2 because an error has been detected in MPDU #2, & ¶0156 - information handled by these apparatuses is temporarily accumulated in a RAM at the time of processing, is then stored in various types of ROMs and HDDs, and is read by the CPU as necessary to be corrected and written), and resending the first multicast frame based on the second information through the multicast physical channel comprises: reading, by the second device, the first multicast frame from the retransmission storage area based on the second information (¶0115 - Each of block #3 and block #6 in FIG. 16 includes two or more MPDUs, and the former stores a part of the information bit sequence included in MPDUs #1 and #2 and the latter stores a part of the information bit sequence included in MPDUs #2 and #3. Note that, in this example, the MAC layer of the higher layer unit 10001-1 having received the Block Ack in the transmission frame retransmits MPDU #2 because an error has been detected in MPDU #2); and resending, by the second device, the first multicast frame through the multicast physical channel (¶0040 - a physical service data unit (PHY service data unit (PSDU) or MAC layer frame) that is a data unit processed in the physical layer, and the like. The PSDU can include an Aggregated MAC protocol data unit (MPDU) (A-MPDU) in which multiple MPDUs serving as retransmission units in a wireless section are aggregated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Shirakawa to the teaching of Jian. The motivation for such would be as Shirakawa provides that the multicast frame is stored in memory before retransmission is performed (Shirakawa, ¶0115). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian in view of Lee et al. (2021/0036806), hereinafter Lee.
Re. Claims 6 and 18, Jian teaches Claims 1 and 13.
Additionally, Jian further teaches when no data unit is stored in the new transmission storage area, the first information indicates that the first multicast frame is the last multicast frame sent by the second device within the preset time period (¶0022 - the announcement frame indicates (i) an end time of the broadcast or multicast service period and (ii) an order of a sequence of frames to be directed to the number of second wireless communication devices, each of the sequence of frames to be directed to a respective one of the number of second wireless communication devices, & ¶0023 - the announcement frame further indicates an end time of a last frame in the sequence of frames within the broadcast or multicast service period).
However, Jian does not explicitly teach wherein the first information is determined based on a storage status of a new transmission storage area after the second device reads and removes a first data unit from the new transmission storage area.
Yet, Lee expressly teaches wherein the first information is determined based on a storage status of a new transmission storage area after the second device reads and removes a first data unit from the new transmission storage area (¶0133 - when the source node 204, 208 receives the broadcast/multicast message including the packets, it identifies itself as the source of the packets and the node initiator 1802 removes those packets from the re-send flow).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Jian. The motivation for such would be as Lee provides that the data is read and removed from a transmission storage area (Lee, ¶0133). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian in view of Shirakawa and Lee.
Re. Claim 12, Jian and Shirakawa teach claim 11.
Additionally, Jian further teaches generating, by the second device, the first multicast frame based on the first data unit and the first information, wherein when no data unit is stored in the new transmission storage area, the first information indicates that the first multicast frame is the last multicast frame sent by the second device within the preset time period (¶0022- the announcement frame indicates (i) an end time of the broadcast or multicast service period and (ii) an order of a sequence of frames to be directed to the number of second wireless communication devices, each of the sequence of frames to be directed to a respective one of the number of second wireless communication devices, & ¶0023- the announcement frame further indicates an end time of a last frame in the sequence of frames within the broadcast or multicast service period).
However, the combination of Jian and Shirakawa does not explicitly teach wherein reading and removing, by the second device, a first data unit from a new transmission storage area.
Yet, Lee expressly teaches reading and removing, by the second device, a first data unit from a new transmission storage area (¶0133 - when the source node 204, 208 receives the broadcast/multicast message including the packets, it identifies itself as the source of the packets and the node initiator 1802 removes those packets from the re-send flow)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Jian. The motivation for such would be as Lee provides that the data is read and removed from a transmission storage area (Lee, ¶0133). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 8, Applicant argues that reference Jiang does not disclose “the announcement frame further indicates an end time of a last frame in the sequence of frames within the broadcast or multicast period” and therefore Jiang does not discloses “stopping receiving through the multicast physical channel within the time period” as found in Claim 1. Examiner, in his interpretation, respectfully disagrees with this interpretation. Looking at the definition provided for within by the Merriam-Webster dictionary, within can be used as a function word to indicate “situation or circumstance in the limits or compass of: such as… not beyond the quantity, degree or limitations of, in or into the scope or sphere of, in or into the range of and/or used as a function word to indicate a specified difference or margin” (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/within). This is to say, within functions in a similar way as “less than or equal to” whereas other terms such as before function as a hard wall akin to “less than”. Here, Jiang has provided first information which defines an end point at which the multicast physical channel is closed. Since this is performed at the last point in time of the preset time period, per the dictionary definition provided, this is performed within the preset time period, not beyond. As such, with this interpretation, Examiner respectfully argues that Jiang does in fact show “stopping receiving through the multicast physical channel within the time period” as the reference provides in ¶0022 an end time for the multicast service period, an end time for the last frame in said period and an order of the frames within the period (the announcement frame indicates (i) an end time of the broadcast or multicast service period and (ii) an order of a sequence of frames to be directed to the number of second wireless communication devices, each of the sequence of frames to be directed to a respective one of the number of second wireless communication devices) which when taken together, shows that the time designated to stop the channel is within the overall time period designated for the service. As such, with this interpretation in mind, Examiner upholds the rejection of Claims 1, 7, and 13 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as well as all claims depending therein under the same or 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhu et al (2017/0012742) - ¶0038-0081
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475