DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) for the following reasons:
Regarding Figs. 3 and 4, the “connecting hole” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Fig. 5 fails to show the rail grooves 1211 and entirety of the adjusting arm as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Applicant is kindly requested to provide an illustration like Figs. 3 and 4 illustrating the adjusting arm within the cross section, and showing the full length of the rail grooves in Fig. 5 rather than a partial view.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 26 of the Specification discloses, “the first grill unit 11 is an upper baking seat, and the second grill unit 12 is a lower baking seat.” This is inconsistent with the drawings and remainder of the disclosure. The first grill unit (11) should be bottom baking seat, and second grill unit (12) should be top baking seat.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 1, the limitation in lines 1-2, “a second grill unit pivoted to the first grill unit,” is understood to mean the first and second grill units are pivotably attached. Applicant is kindly recommended to amend the limitation to read “pivotably attached” (or the like) to make clear it is relating to the nature of their attachment, rather than a function of the structure.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is: the adjusting member in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 1, the claimed limitation “adjusting member” does not provide sufficient structure to perform the claimed function and must rely on the Specification to disclose further structure that will perform the recited function. The Specification discloses, “the adjusting member may be a knob or an adjusting arm.” [Para. 16] Accordingly, the adjusting member will be understood to describe a knob, adjusting arm and any equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 5, the limitation, “when a pattern on a surface of the second baking plate is in axial symmetry and the adjusting member drives the connecting column to rotate by 180°, the second baking plate moves up or down by the height relative to the second housing; and when the pattern on the surface of the second baking plate is in central symmetry and the adjusting member drives the connecting column to rotate by 90°, the second baking plate moves up or down by the height relative to the second housing,” is unclear because there is no appreciable correlation between the baking pattern symmetry, and whether rotation of the adjusting column moves the baking plate up or down. Rotation of the adjusting member will necessarily drive vertical movement of the second baking plate and is unaffected by the type of baking pattern, and degree of rotation. As no further disclosure besides substantially verbatim support is provided in the Speciation it is unclear what exactly is claimed beyond that “the positions of the patterns of the baking pans are kept consistent.”. (para. 30) In the interest of compact prosecution, this limitation will be construed to merely require that the second baking plate is non-rotatably attached to the connecting column such that the top and bottom plate remain complementary/interlocking after movement of the second baking plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US 2018/0078092).
Regarding Claim 1, Liu discloses A height-adjustable baking device [Fig. 4, para.42] (Examiner Note: Liu discloses a height-adjustable 2-sided heating pan for making pancakes, it is understood to disclose a height-adjustable baking-device), comprising a first grill unit [Bottom part 410, Fig. 4] and a second grill unit [Top part 110, Fig. 4] (Examiner Note: Liu discloses, “[h]eating elements 001 is integrated in the top heating plate 112 (as shown in FIG. 5.1) and in the bottom part 410,” and thus the top and bottom part are construed as grill units. (Para. 46)) pivoted [Hinge 210, Fig. 4, para. 46] to the first grill unit (Examiner Note: Liu discloses, “[t]he hinge 210 is the joint of the top part 110 and bottom part 410 of the two-side heating fry pan, and thus discloses this limitation.), the second grill unit comprising a second housing [Top part 110, Fig. 4], and a second baking plate [Top heating plate 112, Fig. 5.2 (a)] movably mounted in the second housing (Examiner Note: Liu discloses, “The top heating plate 112 is not bonded to the top part 110. It can be moved along the vertical direction of the top part 110 by screwing up/down,” by the pressing assembly 500. (Para. 46)) and facing the first grill unit [Fig. 4, para. 46],
wherein the second grill unit further comprises a connecting column [Connecting Column, Annotated Fig. 5.1] and an adjusting member [Adjusting member, Annotated Fig. 5.1] (Examiner Note: Liu is construed to disclose an adjusting member consisting of the knob-handle fixed to the pressing screw (501a), and a connecting column where the first end is the ram of the pressing screw fixed to the top heating plate (112), and second end is the threaded column portion of the pressing screw in threaded engagement with the ram. The knob-handle is an equivalent structure because it performs the identical claimed function in substantially the same way to achieve substantially the same result, and thus discloses this limitation.);
a first end portion of the connecting column is connected with the second baking plate [First End, Annotated Fig. 5.1], so that relative positions between the connecting column and the second baking plate remain unchanged [Paras. 46-47] (Examiner Note: Liu discloses a pressing assembly (500) comprising a pressing screw (i.e. Second end) with knob handle (i.e. Adjusting member) in threaded engagement with a ram (i.e. First end) connected to the top heating plate that adjusts the size of the cooking space by moving the vertical position of the top plate. As the first end of the connecting column is fixed to the cooking plate, it maintains the same relative position with the baking plate, and thus discloses this limitation);
a second end portion of the connecting column is screwed with the second housing [Second End, Annotated Fig. 5.1] (Examiner Note: The second end of the connecting column is screwed into the second support rack (501b) that is part of the second housing, and thus discloses this limitation.), and the connecting column is movable relative to the second housing along a vertical rotation direction [Paras. 46-47] (Examiner Note: As the vertical rotation direction is understood as the vector direction of the applied rotation, this limitation merely requires the connecting columns can move up or down relative to the second housing. As discussed above, Liu discloses a first end that maintains a fixed relative position with the second baking plate that is moveably mounted on the second housing, and thus necessarily the connecting column must also moves relative to the second housing. As the first and second end have a complementary threaded engagement, then the second end would also move relative to the second housing, but in a direction opposite to the second baking plate and first end. Accordingly, Liu discloses this limitation.); and
the adjusting member is arranged on the second housing [Top part 100, Annotated Fig. 5.1] (Examiner Note: The knob-handle is connected to the support rack (501b) that is part of the second housing, and thus understood to be arranged on the housing.) and engaged with a tail end of the second end portion of the connecting column [Second end, Annotated Fig. 5.1] (Examiner Note: The knob-handle of the pressing screw is integral with the second end of the connecting column, and thus necessarily engaged with the tail end of the connecting column.) so as to control the connecting column to rotate through the adjusting member (Examiner Note: As the immediate limitation can be construed to require that rotation of the connecting column is provided via (i.e. through) the adjustment means, rather that physically travel through the claimed structure, Liu is understood to disclose this limitation as the adjustment means controls the rotation of the connecting column.), so that the connecting column drives the second baking plate to move up or down by a height relative to the second housing. [Paras. 46-47] (Examiner Note: As discussed above, Liu discloses that the size of the cooking space is controlled by the adjusting member that drives the connecting column to move the relative height of the top cooking plate within the top part of the housing and thus discloses this limitation.)
Regarding Claim 2, Liu discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, Liu further discloses wherein the second end portion of the connecting column [Second end, Annotated Fig. 5.1] is screwed with the second housing through thread grooves and thread ridges. [Paras. 46-47] (Examiner Note: The limitation, “thread grooves and ridges,” is construed to merely require male and female threading to allow for threaded engagement between the claimed components. Accordingly, as the second end of the connecting column is a screw, and the support rack is configured for threaded engagement with the second end of the connecting column, Liu is understood to disclose thread ridges.)
Regarding Claim 3, Liu discloses all the limitations of Claim 2, Liu further discloses wherein an outer surface of the second end portion of the connecting column is provided with the thread ridges [Second end, Annotated Fig. 5.1] (Examiner Note: As discussed in Claim 2 above, the second end of the connecting column is a screw and thus has thread ridges (i.e. male screw thread).); and the second housing is provided with a fixing member [Support rack 501b, Annotated Fig. 5.1] forming a hollow sleeve (Examiner Note: As a hollow sleeve is understood as a tubular structure with an internal cavity, the support rack (501b) of Liu discloses this limitation.), and an inner surface of the hollow sleeve of the fixing member [Support rack 501b, Annotated Fig. 5.1] is provided with the thread grooves (Examiner Note: As discussed in Claim 2 above, the support rack is configured for threaded engagement with the screw (second end of connecting column) and thus discloses thread grooves (i.e. female screw thread).)
Regarding Claim 6, Liu discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, Liu further discloses wherein the first grill unit comprises a first housing [Annotated Fig. 4] (Examiner Note: Liu is construed to disclose a first grill unit with a housing comprising the bottom part (410) with heating elements (001).), and a first baking plate [First Baking Plate, Annotated Fig. 4] (Examiner Note: As the bottom wall of bottom part (410) is a plate shape structure mounted to a heating element to allow for baking of a pancake, it is understood to disclose a first baking plate.) fixedly mounted on an inner side of the first housing and facing the second grill unit [Annotated Fig. 4] (Examiner Note: As discussed above, where the bottom wall of the bottom part (410) is construed as a baking plate, Liu discloses this limitation as the first baking plate is mounted to the inner side of the first housing.) , and a periphery of the first baking plate is provided with a side wall [Side walls of bottom part 410, Annotated Fig. 4] (Examiner Note: Liu discloses curved sidewalls formed at the end of the first baking plate to provide for the cooking cavity, and thus discloses sidewalls in the periphery of the first baking plate.) , so that the first baking plate and the second baking plate form a baking space. (Examiner Note: Liu discloses the, “cooking space, which is the distance between the top heating plate 112 and the bottom wall of the bottom part 410, is adjusted by screwing up or down the pressing screw 501a.” (Para. 47) As the bottom wall of the bottom part (410) is construed as the first baking plate, Liu discloses this limitation.)
Regarding Claim 9, Liu discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, Liu further discloses wherein the adjusting member is an adjusting arm [Adjusting arms, Annotated Fig. 5.1 (below)] extending from the connecting column out of the second housing along any direction (Examiner Note: As the handles of the knob can be understood as adjusting arms, Liu discloses adjusting arms extending from the connecting column (they are integral with second end of connecting column) extending perpendicular to the connecting column, and thus discloses this limitation.), and opposite sides of the second housing are provided with a rail groove [Thread Grooves, Annotated Fig. 5.1] (Examiner Note: As discussed above, the support rack 501(b) is part of the secondary housing and has grooves on opposite sides for threaded engagement with the connecting column, and thus discloses this limitation).
Regarding Claim 10, Liu discloses all the limitations of Claim 9, Liu further discloses wherein the adjusting arm extends from the connecting column perpendicularly out of a side of the second housing. [Annotated Fig. 5.1] (Examiner Note: Liu is understood to disclose a knob comprising 2 adjusting arms extending perpendicular to connecting column, out of the top side of the second housing, and thus discloses this limitation.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guo et al. (CN 211380923)
Regarding Claim 4, Liu discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1.
Liu does not disclose wherein a side of the second baking plate facing away from the first grill unit is provided with a snap-fit member, and the first end portion of the connecting column is movably connected with the snap-fit member. (Examiner Note: Liu discloses a height-adjustable baking device where the first end of the connecting column is fixedly connected with the second baking plate and thus does not disclose a moveable connection between the 2 components.)
However, Guo teaches wherein a side of the second baking plate facing away from the first grill unit is provided with a snap-fit member, and the first end portion of the connecting column is movably connected with the snap-fit member. [Figs. 4, 6, paras. 14, 39] (Examiner Note: Guo teaches a height adjustable baking device where, “the third connecting piece (34) is provided with a slot (35), which is engaged with the fourth connecting shaft (46) for a snap-fit arrangement.” (Para. 14) The snap-fit arrangement allows the user to lock/unlock the scissor the lift to adjust the height with the ability to lock it at the desired height. (Para. 39))
Guo is in the same field of invention as the application because they are both related to height-adjustable baking devices, and thus qualifies as analogous art. [MPEP 2141.01(a)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Guo with the device taught in Liu to provide a moveable fixed connection with the second baking plate. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the teachings of Guo could be combined with Liu with a reasonable degree of success as they are both related to height-adjustable baking devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Guo to provide a moveable fixed connection between the second baking plate and connection column. This type of connection allows for easy assembly and replaceability of parts while still providing a fixed cooking space height during operation. Accordingly, Claim 4 is rejected as obvious over Liu in view of Guo.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Klebanov (US 2023/0090360)
Regarding Claim 5, Liu discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first end portion of the connecting column [First end, Annotated Fig. 5.1] is fixedly connected with the second baking plate [Para. 46] (Examiner Note: Liu discloses that the first end is fixed to the second baking plate.); when the adjusting member [Adjusting Member, Annotated Fig. 5.1] drives the connecting column [Second end, Annotated Fig. 5.1] to rotate (Examiner Note: Liu discloses the pressing screw (501a) rotates to drive the vertical displacement of the second baking plate (112). As the screw portion of the pressing column is interpreted as part of the connecting column, Liu is understood to teaching the adjusting member driving rotation of the connecting column.) by 180° (Examiner Note: As the second end of the connecting column is a screw, it can rotate by any amount to drive displacement and thus discloses 180 degrees of rotation), the second baking plate moves up or down by the height relative to the second housing [Paras. 46-47]; and when the adjusting member [Adjusting Member, Annotated Fig. 5.1] drives the connecting column [Second end, Annotated Fig. 5.1] to rotate by 90° (Examiner Note: As discussed above, the second end of the connecting column is a screw, so it can rotate by any amount to drive displacement and thus discloses 90 degrees of rotation), the second baking plate moves up or down by the height relative to the second housing [Paras. 46-47]. (Examiner Note: Noting the 112(b) rejection above, Liu is understood to disclose a height adjustable baking device where the first end of the connecting column is fixedly attached for non-rotational vertical displacement of the second (top) baking plate. The second of the connecting column is a pressing screw connected with the adjusting means and thus provides rotation of the second end of the connecting column through the adjusting means to drive displacement of the first end of the connecting column. Accordingly, Liu is understood to disclose non-rotational vertical displacement between the baking plates through rotation of the connecting column (at least a portion) but does not disclose a pattern on the baking plate.)
Liu does not disclose a pattern on a surface of the second baking plate is in axial symmetry and the pattern on the surface of the second baking plate is in central symmetry. (Examiner Note: Although Liu does not disclose a baking plate pattern, since it provides non-rotational vertical displacement of the baking sheet, it will maintain symmetry between the baking plate patterns at any position.)
However, Klebanov teaches a pattern on a surface of the second baking plate is in axial symmetry and the pattern on the surface of the second baking plate is in central symmetry. [Para. 23] (Examiner Note: Klebanov teaches a waffle maker where the, “top plate 102A and the bottom plate 102B may be complimentary, such that the top plate 102A and the bottom plate 102B may interface. The top plate 102A and the bottom plate 102B may be configured in a number of embodiments to facilitate a complimentary interfacing of the two plates 102A/102B. In an embodiment, the top plate 102A and the bottom plate 102B are partially or completely isometric (for example, having the same geometries).” (Para. 23) As complementary isometric geometries would make a symmetric baking pattern, it is understood to teach this limitation.)
Klebanov is in the same field of invention as the application because they are both related to height adjustable cooking appliances, and thus qualifies as analogous art. [MPEP 2141.01(a)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Klebanov with the device taught in Liu to configure the device to make waffles. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the teachings of Klebanov could be combined with Liu with a reasonable degree of success as they are both related to height-adjustable cooking appliances. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the waffle-iron pattern taught in Klebanov to configure the device to make waffles instead of pancakes. Accordingly, Claim 5 is rejected as obvious over Liu in view of Klebanov.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Rosset et al. (US 2008/0245241)
Regarding Claim 7, Liu discloses all of the limitations of Claim 6.
Liu does not disclose wherein a height of the side wall is equal to the height by which the second baking plate moves up or down. (Examiner Note: As discussed in Claim 6 above, Liu discloses a sidewall on the periphery of the first baking plate, and control of the distance between the top and bottom heating plates but does not specifically disclose the height of the sidewall equal to the displacement of the second baking plate.)
However, Rosset teaches wherein a height of the side wall [Outer periphery 12, Fig. 1] is equal to the height by which the second baking plate moves up or down. [Paras.22, 26-30] (Examiner Note: Rosset discloses a waffle iron with baking sub-assemblies 2 (top) and 3 (bottom) that form a variable volume cooking space as they rise with the cooking dough. Rosset further teaches the lower subassembly has an outer periphery (12) that interlocks with the outer peripheral wall (13), “such that the spread between this peripheral wall and the corresponding peripheral element remains virtually constant irrespective of the position of the two baking sub-assemblies 2, 3 between their proximate closed and spread closed positions. ” (Para. 30) In order to maintain a constant spread between the plates, the peripheral wall height must be the same amount as the distance travelled by the baking plates, and thus Rosset is understood to teach this limitation.)
Rosset is in the same field of invention as the application because they are both related to height-adjustable baking devices, and thus qualifies as analogous art. [MPEP 2141.01(a)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Rosset with the device taught in Liu to prevent food overflow. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the teachings of Rosset could be combined with Liu with a reasonable expectation of success because they are both related to height-adjustable baking devices. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Rosset because the moving peripheral wall prevents food overflow, reducing food waste and cleaning required after each use. Accordingly, Claim 7 is rejected as obvious over Liu in view of Rosset.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Kim et al. (KR 100928141)
Regarding Claim 8, Liu discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the adjusting member is a knob [Knob-handle of Adjusting Member, Annotated Fig. 5.1]
Liu does not disclose the knob comprises a connecting hole, the connecting hole has a depth equal to the height and has a same shape as a cross section of the tail end of the second end portion of the connecting column, and the tail end of the second end portion of the connecting column is inserted into and engaged with the connecting hole. (Examiner Note: Liu discloses a connection hole in the support rack (501b) that is the same cross section as the second end of the connecting column and engaged with the tail end, but does not disclose a knob comprising a connecting hole and an internal recess for receiving the connecting column.)
However, Kim teaches the knob comprises a connecting hole [Internal cavity of Lid Handle 310, Fig. 3], the connecting hole has a depth equal to the height and has a same shape as a cross section of the tail end of the second end portion of the connecting column [Control unit 331, Fig. 3], and the tail end of the second end portion of the connecting column is inserted into and engaged with the connecting hole. [p. 4 para. 2] (Examiner Note: Kim teaches a pressing plate (330) connected to a lid handle (310) that, “can be moved up and down by driving the lid handle (310).” Kim further teaches a, “threaded adjustment part (331) is formed protruding from one side of the upper center of the pressing plate (330). At this time, a female screw thread corresponding to the screw thread formed on the adjustment part (331) of the pressing plate (330) is further formed on one side of the inside of the lid handle (310).” (p. 4 para. 2) As the threaded adjustment part is received in the body of the lid handle (310) and has a cavity of the same cross section and height as the connecting column (the threaded adjustment part in this case), it is understood to teach a knob with the connecting hole as claimed.)
Kim is in the same field of invention as the application because they are both related to height-adjustable cooking devices, and thus qualifies as analogous art. [MPEP 2141.01(a)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Kim with the device taught in Liu to improve user ergonomics of the device. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the teachings of Kim could be combined with Liu with a reasonable expectation of success because they are both related to height-adjustable cooking devices. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the internally recessed knob taught in Kim because it provides improved ergonomics for the user such that the knob can be easily grasped and rotated without risk of the connecting column pinching or poking the user. Accordingly, Claim 8 is rejected as obvious over Liu in view of Kim.
Conclusion
/J.M.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761