DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claim(s) 1-44 are currently pending and under examination herein.
Claim(s) 1-44 are rejected.
Claim(s) 5, 20, and 28 are objected to.
Priority
The instant application claims priority to US provisional application 63439984 filed 19 January 2023. In this action, claims 1-44 are examined as though they had an effective filing date of 19 January 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 26 February 2024, 10 June 2024, 12 December 2024, and 06 August 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed 19 January 2024 are accepted.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to for a missing “)”.
Claim 20 is objected to due to the claim reciting “based at least in part of data from” appears to be a typographical error of - based at least in part on data from.
Claim 28 is objected to for “The method of of claim 25”
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A comparator that is configured to receive and to determine in independent claims 1 and 23. The comparator is recited by dependent claims with further data manipulation and analysis functions.
An insulin delivery supervisor that is configured to modulate in claim 1. The insulin delivery supervisor is recited by dependent claims with further data manipulation and analysis functions. In claim 22 the insulin delivery supervisor is further configured to deliver a bolus of insulin.
A glycemic risk assessor that is configured to quantify in claim 20. The glycemic risk assessor is recited by dependent claims with further data manipulation and analysis functions.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. However, no specific structure was found described for the comparator, the insulin delivery supervisor, or the glycemic risk assessor within the present disclosure (see 112(a) and 112(b) rejections below). While the disclose includes structures that may be capable of performing some of the recited functions (for example a computer), the disclosure was not found to explicitly link the comparator, the insulin delivery supervisor, or the glycemic risk to any of these structures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A comparator that is configured to receive and to determine in independent claims 1 and 23. The comparator is recited by dependent claims with further data manipulation and analysis functions.
An insulin delivery supervisor that is configured to modulate in claim 1. The insulin delivery supervisor is recited by dependent claims with further data manipulation and analysis functions. In claim 22, the insulin delivery supervisor is further configured to deliver a bolus of insulin.
A glycemic risk assessor that is configured to quantify in claim 20. The glycemic risk assessor is recited by dependent claims with further data manipulation and analysis functions.
No specific structures found described for the comparator, the insulin delivery supervisor, or the glycemic risk assessor within the present disclosure (see 112(f) interpretation above). While the disclose includes structures that may be capable of performing some of the recited functions (for example a computer), the disclosure was not found to explicitly link the comparator, the insulin delivery supervisor, or the glycemic risk to any of these structures. This rejection can be overcome be indicating the specific locations in the disclosure that recites the structure of the comparator, the insulin delivery supervisor, or the glycemic risk assessor.
Claim 1-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites an insulin delivery rate. Claim 1, from which claim 2 depends, recites an insulin delivery rate. It is unclear if these are the same rates. If they are the same, the instance in claim 2 should be the insulin delivery rate. If the instance in claim 2 is a different rate, it should have a different label to distinguish it from the rate in claim 1. The metes and bounds of the limitation are therefore unclear rendering the claim indefinite. Claims 3, 4, 6, and 9-12 depend on claim 2 and thus recite the issue through said dependence.
Claim 3 recites an insulin delivery rate. Claim 1, from which claim 3 depends, recites an insulin delivery rate. It is unclear if these are the same. If they are the same, the instance in claim 3 should be the insulin delivery rate. If the rate in claim 3 is different, it should have a different label to distinguish it from the rate in claim 1. The metes and bounds of the limitation are therefore unclear rendering the claim indefinite. Claims 6 and 9-12 depend on claim 3 and thus recite the issue through said dependence.
Claim 4 recites transient blood glucose excursions arising from an unannounced meal or a meal with a greater carbohydrate content than acknowledged that is identified from the discrepancy. It is unclear what is identified from the discrepancy, the transient blood glucose excursions or the a meal with a greater carbohydrate content than acknowledged. The metes and bounds of the limitation of therefore unclear rending the claim indefinite.
Claim 5 recites the current deviation of blood glucose. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what deviation this referring to. Claims 7, 8, 17, 18, and 20-22 depend on claim 5 and thus recite the issue through said dependence.
Claim 6 recites the current deviation of blood glucose. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 9-12 depend on claim 6 and thus recite the issue through said dependence.
Claim 8 recites the target trajectory of future insulin delivery. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites if a difference between the ISOB and the IOB would otherwise be negative. It is unclear what otherwise indicates is being compared to generate a negative value. Claim 9 also recites a meal with a greater carbohydrate content than acknowledged is identified. It is unclear what the acknowledged means and who/what is doing the acknowledging as there is no user input recited by claim 9 or cany claims that claim 9 depends from. The metes and bounds of the limitation are therefore unclear rendering the claim indefinite. Claims 10-12 depend on claim 9 and thus recite the issue through said dependence.
Claim 14 recites a reference insulin rate (RIR) that is an internal reference for insulin that would achieve equilibrium. It is unclear if the term internal is being used to describe a location of the data, some characteristic of the data, or how the data was generated. No limiting definition is indicated by the specification or drawings. The metes and bounds of the limitation are therefore unclear rendering the claim indefinite. Claims 15 and 16 depend on claim 9 and thus recite the issue through said dependence.
Claim 15 recites such that a negative value of the discrepancy is attributable to an unannounced meal. It is unclear if this is recited a step of attributing must occur or if it just needs to be capable of attributing. Claim 15 also recites a meal with a larger carbohydrate content than is acknowledged. It is unclear what acknowledged means and who/what is doing the acknowledging as there is no user input recited by claim 15 or cany claims that claim 15 depends from. The metes and bounds of the limitations are therefore unclear rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 20 recites the risk of at least one of current or future hyperglycemia or hypoglycemia. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 21-22 depend on claim 20 and thus recite the issue through said dependence.
Claim 21 recites the target trajectory of future insulin delivery. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 22 depend on claim 21 and thus recite the issue through said dependence.
Claim 23 recites determined by the comparator. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 24-44 depend on claim 23 and thus recite the issue through said dependence.
Claim 24 recites an insulin delivery rate. Claim 23, from which claim 24 depends, recites an insulin delivery rate. It is unclear if these are the same. If they are the same, the instance in claim 24 should be the insulin delivery rate. If the instance in claim 24 is different, it should have a different label to distinguish it from the rate in claim 23. The metes and bounds of the limitation are therefore unclear rendering the claim indefinite. Claims 25, 26, 28, and 31-34 depend on claim 24 and thus recite the issue through said dependence.
Claim 25 recites an insulin delivery rate. Claim 23, from which claim 25 depends, recites an insulin delivery rate. It is unclear if these are the same. If they are the same, the instance in claim 25 should be the insulin delivery rate. If the instance in claim 25 is different, it should have a different label to distinguish it from the instance in claim 23. The metes and bounds of the limitation are therefore unclear rendering the claim indefinite. Claims 26, 28, and 31-34 depend on claim 25 and thus recite the issue through said dependence.
Claim 26 recites transient blood glucose excursions arising from an unannounced meal or a meal with a greater carbohydrate content than acknowledged that is identified from the discrepancy. It is unclear what is identified from the discrepancy, the transient blood glucose excursions or the a meal with a greater carbohydrate content than acknowledged. The metes and bounds of the limitation of therefore unclear rending the claim indefinite.
Claim 27 recites the current deviation of blood glucose. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 29, 30, 39, 40, and 42-44 depend on claim 27 and thus recite the issue through said dependence.
Claim 28 recites the current deviation of blood glucose. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 31-44 depend on claim 28 and thus recite the issue through said dependence.
Claim 30 recites the target trajectory of future insulin delivery. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 31 recites if a difference between the ISOB and the IOB would otherwise be negative. It is unclear what otherwise indicates is being compared the generate a negative value. Claim 31 also recites a meal with a greater carbohydrate content than acknowledged is identified. It is unclear what the acknowledged means and who/what is doing the acknowledging as there is no user input recited by claim 31 or cany claims that claim 31 depends from. The metes and bounds of the limitation are therefore unclear rendering the claim indefinite. Claims 32-34 depend on claim 31 and thus recite the issue through said dependence.
Claim 36 recites a reference insulin rate (RIR) that is an internal reference for insulin that would achieve equilibrium. It is unclear if the term internal is being used to describe a location of the data, some characteristic of the data, or how the data was generated. The metes and bounds of the limitation are therefore unclear rendering the claim indefinite. Claims 37 and 38 depend on claim 36 and thus recite the issue through said dependence.
Claim 37 recites such that a negative value of the discrepancy is attributable to an unannounced meal. It is unclear if this is indicating a step of attributing must occur or if it just needs to be capable of attributing. Claim 37 also recites a meal with a larger carbohydrate content than is acknowledged. It is unclear what the acknowledged means and who/what is doing the acknowledging as there is no user input recited by claim 37 or cany claims that claim 37 depends from. The metes and bounds of the limitations are therefore unclear rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 42 recites the risk of at least one of current or future hyperglycemia or hypoglycemia. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 43-44 depend on claim 42 and thus recite the issue through said dependence.
Claim 43 recites the target trajectory of future insulin delivery. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 44 depend on claim 43 and thus recite the issue through said dependence.
Claim limitation including the comparator, the insulin delivery supervisor, and the glycemic risk assessor invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (see claim interpretation section above). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function (see the 112(a) rejection above). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. For the purpose of examination, the comparator, the insulin delivery supervisor, and the glycemic risk assessor are interpreted to be generic computing devices/software implementation. The insulin delivery supervisor is additionally interpreted to include a generic insulin delivery system (claim 22).
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. In accordance with MPEP § 2106, claims found to recite statutory subject matter (Step 1: YES) are then analyzed to determine if the claims recite any concepts that equate to an abstract idea or natural law (Step 2A, Prong 1). Claims 1-22 are directed to a system and Claims 23-44 are directed to a method. In the instant application, the claims recite the following limitations that equate to an abstract idea:
Claims 1 and 23 recite the limitation - determine a discrepancy between (i) estimations of metabolic data and/or behavior data derived from the insulin data and glucose data; and (ii) estimations of metabolic data and/or behavior data derived from the insulin data without use of the glucose data. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, determining a difference between values encompasses equations and could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mathematical concept and a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea. The claim also recites modulate an insulin delivery rate based at least in part on the discrepancy. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, adjusting a value could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea.
Claims 2 and 24 recite the limitation - increase an insulin delivery rate if the discrepancy is characterized by at least being negative in value and having a magnitude exceeding a threshold. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, adjusting a value and comparing a value to a threshold encompasses equations and could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mathematical concept and a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea.
Claims 3 and 25 recite the limitation - increase an insulin delivery rate if the discrepancy remains negative in value with a magnitude exceeding the threshold for at least a specified period of time. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, adjusting a value and comparing a value to a threshold encompasses equations and could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mathematical concept and a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea.
Claim 4 and 26 recite the limitation - increase the insulin delivery rate to correct for transient blood glucose excursions arising from an unannounced meal or a meal with a greater carbohydrate content than acknowledged that is identified from the discrepancy. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, adjusting a value and making a determination based on a value could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea.
Claims 5 and 27 recite the limitation - determine an amount of insulin needed to minimize the discrepancy determined by assessing insulin on board (IOB) and insulin that should be on board (ISOB) to correct the current deviation of blood glucose above a target range. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, determining a vale based on comparing other values encompasses equations and could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mathematical concept and a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea.
Claim 6 and 28 recites the limitation - determine an amount of insulin needed to minimize the discrepancy by assessing insulin on board (IOB) and insulin that should be on board (ISOB) to correct the current deviation of blood glucose above a target range. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, determining a vale based on comparing other values encompasses equations and could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mathematical concept and a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea.
Claim 7 and 29 recite the limitation - modifying the insulin delivery rate by converting the ISOB into an enhanced basal insulin rate. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, adjusting and converting values encompasses equations and could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mathematical concept and a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea.
Claims 8 and 30 recite the limitation - convert at least a portion of the insulin to be delivered at the enhanced basal insulin rate to a bolus if the target trajectory of future insulin delivery indicates that a predicted blood glucose level exceeds a threshold to thereby mitigate hyperglycemia. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, converting and comparing values encompasses equations and could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mathematical concept and a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea.
Claims 9 and 31 recite the limitation - if a difference between the ISOB and the IOB would otherwise be negative and an unannounced meal or a meal with a greater carbohydrate content than acknowledged is identified, determine an amount of insulin needed to minimize the discrepancy by assessing a difference between IOB and an IOB offset. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, determining and comparing values encompasses equations and could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mathematical concept and a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea.
Claim 10 and 32 recite the limitation - the IOB offset is based at least in part on a gap between the discrepancy and a negative threshold. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, determining and comparing values encompasses equations and could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mathematical concept and a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea.
Claim 11 and 33 recite the limitation - wherein the IOB offset is also based at least in part on a lagged version of the gap. This limitation specifies the data used in the judicial exception of claim 10 and 32. The refined limitation still represents a judicial expectation.
Claim 12 and 34 recite the limitation - a low pass filter for filtering the discrepancy such that a state of the low pass filter after the filtering at least in part determines a magnitude of the IOB offset. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, filtering data could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea.
Claims 13 and 35 recite the limitation - wherein the insulin delivery rate being modulated is a basal insulin delivery rate. This limitation specifies the data used in the judicial exception of claims 1 and 23. The refined limitation still represents a judicial expectation.
Claim 14 and 36 recite the limitation - the discrepancy is determined in terms of a reference insulin rate (RIR) that is an internal reference for insulin that would achieve equilibrium. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, determining values in terms of other values encompasses equations and could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mathematical concept and a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea.
Claim 15 and 37 recite the limitation - adjust the RIR such that a negative value of the discrepancy is attributable to an unannounced meal or a meal with a larger carbohydrate content than is acknowledged. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, adjusting a values based on other values encompasses equations and could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mathematical concept and a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea.
Claim 16 and 38 recite the limitation - wherein the RIR is initialized based on a user-reported total daily basal insulin dose. This limitation specifies data used in the judicial exception of claims 14 and 36. The refined limitation still represents a judicial expectation.
Claims 17 and 39 recite the limitation - determine the ISOB using a user-specific correction factor as an input. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, determining a value based on another value encompasses equations and could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mathematical concept and a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea.
Claims 18 and 40 recite the limitation - determine the ISOB using a population-determined gain value. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, determining a value based on another value encompasses equations and could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mathematical concept and a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea.
Claims 19 and 41 recite the limitation - wherein the estimations are further derived from sensed input data and user input data. This limitation specifies the data used in the judicial exception of claims 1 and 23. The refined limitation still represents a judicial expectation.
Claims 20 and 42 recite the limitation - to quantify the risk of at least one of current or future hyperglycemia or hypoglycemia, and modulate the insulin delivery rate also based at least in part of data. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, determining a value and adjusting a another value based on the determined value encompasses equations and could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mathematical concept and a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea.
Claims 21 and 43 recite the limitation - modulate the insulin delivery rate if the target trajectory of future insulin delivery indicates that a blood glucose level is likely to exceed an upper envelope curve or fall below a lower envelope curve. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, adjusting a value based on comparting values encompasses equations and could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mathematical concept and a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea.
Claim 22 and 44 recite the limitation - determining that the blood glucose level will likely exceed the upper envelope curve indicating that hyperglycemia is likely to arise. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, predicting blood glucose will rise could practically be done by the human mind. This draws the limitation to a mental process, which classifies the limitation as an abstract idea.
These limitations recite concepts of determining, adjusting, and comparing values that are so generically recited that they can be practically performed in the human mind as claimed, which falls under the “Mental processes” and “Mathematical concepts” grouping of abstract ideas. A mathematical concept need not be expressed in mathematical symbols, because words used in a claim operating on data to solve a problem can serve the same purpose as a formula (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). Additionally, both product claims and process claims may recite mental processes, which can include a claim that requires a computer (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). Therefore, these limitations fall under the “Mental process” and “Mathematical concepts” groupings of abstract ideas. As such, claims 1-44 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong 1: YES).
Claims found to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong 1 are then further analyzed to determine if the claims as a whole integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or not (Step 2A, Prong 2). These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite an additional element that reflects an improvement to technology (MPEP § 2106.04(d)(1)). Rather, the claims provide insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)) and provide mere instructions to apply a judicial exception (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Specifically, the claims recite the following additional elements:
Claim 1 and 23 recites at least one processor, a comparator, an insulin delivery supervisor; and receive insulin data and glucose data.
Claim 20 recites a glycemic risk assessor.
Claim 22 and 44 recite deliver a bolus of insulin.
The dependent claims continue to utilize the comparator, insulin delivery supervisor, and a glycemic risk assessor.
There are no limitations that indicate that the claimed determining, adjusting, and comparing values require anything other than generic computing systems. As such, these limitations equate to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer that the courts have stated does not render an abstract idea eligible in. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as recited does not appear to require any actual administration of insulin to a patient or user. The steps of the system and method are interpreted as being able to occur entirely in silico. Claims that recite altering or delivering a bolus are interpreted as equivalent to adjusting or transmitting an amount of insulin (i.e. data). There is no indication that these steps are affected by the judicial exception in any way and thus do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application. As such, claims 1-44 are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong 2: NO).
Claims found to be directed to a judicial exception are then further evaluated to determine if the claims recite an inventive concept that provides significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B). The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims recite conventional additional elements that equate to mere instructions to apply the recited exception in a generic way or in a generic computing environment. The claims also recite conventional additional elements that represent insignificant extra-solution activities.
As discussed above, there are no additional limitations to indicate that the claimed determining, adjusting, and comparing values require anything other than generic computer components in order to carry out the recited abstract idea in the claims. Claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea or natural law eligible. MPEP 2106.05(f) discloses that mere instructions to apply the judicial exception cannot provide an inventive concept to the claims. As specified in MPEP 2106.05(g), extra-solution activities can be understood as incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. Insignificant extra-solution activities include mere data gathering, selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated, and displaying information. Additionally, Fathi et al. (2018, IEEE CONTROL SYSTEMS MAGAZINE: 1-19) teach through their review, that receiving insulin data and delivering an insulin bolus through the use of computing devices were well-understood routine and conventional at the time of the effective filing date (Page 9, Column 2, Paragraph 1: The AP then computes the insulin bolus based on 1) the carbohydrate content, 2) preprandial glucose concentrations, and 3) insulin-on-board).
The additional elements do not comprise an inventive concept when considered individually or as an ordered combination that transforms the claimed judicial exception into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: No). As such, Claims 1-44 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 13-14, 16, 19, 23-26, 35-36, 38, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patek (US 20210151190 A1).
Regarding Claim 1 and 23, Patek teaches (Claim 1.i) receive insulin data and glucose data (Paragraph 0010: The trusted data comprises at least one of CGM data, insulin pump data). Patek teaches (Claim 1.ii) determine a discrepancy between (i) estimations of metabolic data and/or behavior data derived from the insulin data and glucose data; and (ii) estimations of metabolic data and/or behavior data derived from the insulin data without use of the glucose data (Paragraph 0009: reconciling the untrusted data using the trusted data; Paragraph 0010: The untrusted data comprises at least one of timing of insulin, amount of insulin (i.e. untrusted contains insulin without glucose). The trusted data comprises at least one of CGM data, insulin pump data (i.e. trusted contains insulin and glucose)). Any data or information derived from insulin or glucose levels from an individual are interpreted as metabolic data as glucose is a metabolite, insulin levels have a direct relationship to glucose levels, and no limiting definition of metabolic data was found within the specification to limit its broadest reasonable interpretation. Patek teaches (Claim 1.iii) modulate an insulin delivery rate based on the discrepancy (Paragraph 0010: The method further comprises tuning an AP using the reconciled untrusted data). Additionally, Patek teach the use of generic computing devices and processor, indicating the comparator and insulin delivery supervisor (Paragraph 0018: a system comprises a processor and a metabolic model; Paragraph 0064: The diabetes management platform includes inputs, outputs, and interrelationships of the modules). Claim 23 recites the limitations of claim 1 directed to a method (as do the further paired dependent claims discussed below).
Regarding Claims 2 and 24, Patek teaches increase an insulin delivery rate if the discrepancy is negative and exceeding a threshold. (Paragraph 0010: when the comparison amount is above a threshold, the untrusted data is determined to be unreliable or unknown; Paragraph 0051: if other insulin dosing strategies for the same meal would have better outcomes (e.g., lower glycemic risk); Paragraph 0062: Estimation of future metabolic states for automated insulin dosing is enabled with the systems and methods described). Additionally, “if the discrepancy” as recited above is interpreted as indicating this is a contingent limitation. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a system (or apparatus or product) claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur (MPEP 2111.04).
Regarding Claims 3 and 25, Patek teaches increase an insulin delivery rate if the discrepancy also remains negative with a magnitude exceeding the threshold for at least a specified period of time (see Regarding Claims 2 and 24 for adjusting an insulin based on the discrepancy and threshold; Paragraph 0016: simulating a plurality of predictive data traces over the time period using a spectrum of possible variances of the untrusted data). Additionally, “if the discrepancy” as recited above is interpreted as indicating this is a contingent limitation (MPEP 2111.04, see Regarding claims 2 and 24 for explanation).
Regarding Claims 4 and 26, Patek teaches increase the insulin delivery rate to correct for transient blood glucose excursions arising from an unannounced meal or a meal with a greater carbohydrate content than acknowledged that is identified from the discrepancy (Paragraph 0051: The retrospective prediction function takes the initial (e.g., premeal) state of the patient, one or more meal events, and an insulin dosing strategy as inputs and then maps it to the resulting glucose excursions for that meal/day; Paragraph 0092: Credibility based on the reported uncertain metabolic inputs, raw estimated metabolic inputs, uncertain metabolic inputs and reconciled uncertain metabolic inputs may evaluate local variance vs. global variance (indicative of unannounced or unreported inputs)).
Regarding Claims 13 and 35, Patek teaches the insulin delivery rate being modulated is a basal insulin delivery rate (Paragraph 0099: the interaction of insulin to glucose clearance with two differential equations that include different types of insulin used for intensive insulin therapy (e.g., fast and long-acting). Long-acting insulin is interpreted as basal.
Regarding Claims 14 and 36, Patek teaches the discrepancy is determined in terms of a reference insulin rate (RIR) that is an internal reference for insulin that would achieve equilibrium (Paragraph 0170: the reference glucose concentration and the insulin sensitivity for each subject is tuned to the optimized value of a list of possible values).
Regarding Claim 16 and 38, Patek teaches the RIR is initialized based on a user-reported total daily basal insulin dose (Paragraph 0013: the untrusted data comprises user entered data comprising at least one of insulin data; Paragraph 0134: the replay compiler could optimize therapies, such as total daily basal).
Regarding Claims 19 and 41, Patek teaches the estimations are further derived from sensed input data and user input data (Paragraph 00011: the diabetes management data is received from a connected device or user entry).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-14, 16-29, 31-36, and 38-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patek (US 20210151190 A1), as applied to claims 1-4, 13-14, 16, 19, 23-26, 35-36, 38, and 41 in the 102 Rejection above, in view of Breton et al. (US 20190254595 A1). Italicized text from reference art.
Regarding Claim 1 and 23, Patek teaches (Claim 1.i) receive insulin data and glucose data (Paragraph 0010: The trusted data comprises at least one of CGM data, insulin pump data). Patek teaches (Claim 1.ii) determine a discrepancy between (i) estimations of metabolic data and/or behavior data derived from the insulin data and glucose data; and (ii) estimations of metabolic data and/or behavior data derived from the insulin data without use of the glucose data (Paragraph 0009: reconciling the untrusted data using the trusted data; Paragraph 0010: The untrusted data comprises at least one of timing of insulin, amount of insulin (i.e. untrusted contains insulin without glucose). The trusted data comprises at least one of CGM data, insulin pump data (i.e. trusted contains insulin and glucose)). Any data or information derived from insulin or glucose levels from an individual are interpreted as metabolic data as glucose is a metabolite, insulin levels have a direct relationship to glucose levels, and no limiting definition of metabolic data was found within the specification to limit its broadest reasonable interpretation. Patek teaches (Claim 1.iii) modulate an insulin delivery rate based on the discrepancy (Paragraph 0010: The method further comprises tuning an AP using the reconciled untrusted data). Additionally, Patek teach the use of generic computing devices and processor, indicating the comparator and insulin delivery supervisor (Paragraph 0018: a system comprises a processor and a metabolic model; Paragraph 0064: The diabetes management platform includes inputs, outputs, and interrelationships of the modules). Claim 23 recites the limitations of claim 1 directed to a method (as do the further paired dependent claims discussed below).
Regarding Claims 2 and 24, Patek teaches increase an insulin delivery rate if the discrepancy is negative and exceeding a threshold. (Paragraph 0010: when the comparison amount is above a threshold, the untrusted data is determined to be unreliable or unknown; Paragraph 0051: if other insulin dosing strategies for the same meal would have better outcomes (e.g., lower glycemic risk); Paragraph 0062: Estimation of future metabolic states for automated insulin dosing is enabled with the systems and methods described). Additionally, “if the discrepancy” as recited above is interpreted as indicating this is a contingent limitation. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a system (or apparatus or product) claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur (MPEP 2111.04).
Regarding Claims 3 and 25, Patek teaches increase an insulin delivery rate if the discrepancy also remains negative with a magnitude exceeding the threshold for at least a specified period of time (see Regarding Claims 2 and 24 for adjusting an insulin based on the discrepancy and threshold; Paragraph 0016: simulating a plurality of predictive data traces over the time period using a spectrum of possible variances of the untrusted data). Additionally, “if the discrepancy” as recited above is interpreted as indicating this is a contingent limitation (MPEP 2111.04, see Regarding claims 2 and 24 for explanation).
Regarding Claims 4 and 26, Patek teaches increase the insulin delivery rate to correct for transient blood glucose excursions arising from an unannounced meal or a meal with a greater carbohydrate content than acknowledged that is identified from the discrepancy (Paragraph 0051: The retrospective prediction function takes the initial (e.g., premeal) state of the patient, one or more meal events, and an insulin dosing strategy as inputs and then maps it to the resulting glucose excursions for that meal/day; Paragraph 0092: Credibility based on the reported uncertain metabolic inputs, raw estimated metabolic inputs, uncertain metabolic inputs and reconciled uncertain metabolic inputs may evaluate local variance vs. global variance (indicative of unannounced or unreported inputs)).
Regarding Claims 5 and 27, Patek suggest determine an amount of insulin needed to minimize the discrepancy by assessing insulin on board (IOB) and insulin that should be on board (ISOB) to correct the deviation of blood glucose above a target range (Paragraph 0063: assess insulin on board, deliver retrospective therapy optimization, and to provide feedback to estimation; Paragraph 0076: untrusted metabolic inputs could also be the unreliable action of insulin due to infusion pump and infusion site variability. This is the uncertainty around these dynamic inputs to the system that may be reconciled with retrospective measurements).
Regarding Claim 6 and 28, Patek suggests determine an amount of insulin needed to minimize the discrepancy by assessing insulin on board (IOB) and insulin that should be on board (ISOB) to correct the deviation of blood glucose above a target range (Paragraph 0063: assess insulin on board, deliver retrospective therapy optimization, and to provide feedback to estimation; Paragraph 0076: untrusted metabolic inputs could also be the unreliable action of insulin due to infusion pump and infusion site variability. This is the uncertainty around these dynamic inputs to the system that may be reconciled with retrospective measurements).
Regarding Claims 9 and 31, Patek teach if a difference between the ISOB and the IOB would otherwise be negative and an unannounced meal or a meal with a greater carbohydrate content than acknowledged is identified, determine an amount of insulin needed to minimize the discrepancy by assessing a difference between IOB and an IOB offset (Paragraph 0063: optimization of parameters to predict future analyte values or unobserved states, inform bolus decisions, assess carbs on board, assess insulin on board, enable smart alert functionality, deliver retrospective therapy optimization, and to provide feedback to estimation). Additionally, “if a difference” as recited above is interpreted as indicating this is a contingent limitation (MPEP 2111.04, see Regarding claims 2 and 24 for explanation).
Regarding Claims 10 and 32, Patek teaches the IOB offset is based on a gap between the discrepancy and a negative threshold. (Paragraph 0090: Credibility based on the measured signals may include one or more of sensor assessed confidence threshold, max gap size).
Regarding Claims 11 and 33, Patek teaches the IOB offset is also based on a lagged version of the gap (Paragraph 0163: The parameter estimator is built to make the optional individualized physiological model used by the prediction engine as accurate as possible by optimizing the estimated model parameters. The goal is to estimate physiological parameters of the patients, generic application, e.g., insulin sensitivity, absorb lipro (medication) absorption rate). Paragraph 0099 of the published specification defined lagged version of the gap as taking into account meal and/or insulin absorption times.
Regarding Claims 12 and 34, Patek teaches a low pass filter for filtering the discrepancy such that a state of the low pass filter after the filtering at least in part determines the IOB offset (Paragraph 0147: The input filter filters the extrapolated data).
Regarding Claims 13 and 35, Patek teaches the insulin delivery rate being modulated is a basal insulin delivery rate (Paragraph 0099: the interaction of insulin to glucose clearance with two differential equations that include different types of insulin used for intensive insulin therapy (e.g., fast and long-acting). Long-acting insulin is interpreted as basal.
Regarding Claims 14 and 36, Patek teaches the discrepancy is determined in terms of a reference insulin rate (RIR) that is an internal reference for insulin that would achieve equilibrium (Paragraph 0170: the reference glucose concentration and the insulin sensitivity for each subject is tuned to the optimized value of a list of possible values).
Regarding Claim 16 and 38, Patek teaches the RIR is initialized based on a user-reported total daily basal insulin dose (Paragraph 0013: the untrusted data comprises user entered data comprising at least one of insulin data; Paragraph 0134: the replay compiler could optimize therapies, such as total daily basal).
Regarding Claims 19 and 41, Patek teaches the estimations are further derived from sensed input data and user input data (Paragraph 00011: the diabetes management data is received from a connected device or user entry).
Regarding Claims 20 and 42, Patek teaches (Claim 20.ii) modulate the insulin delivery rate also based on the risk (Paragraph 0051: a retrospective prediction function evaluates if other insulin dosing strategies for the same meal would have better outcomes (e.g., lower glycemic risk)). Additionally, Patek teaches the use of generic computing devices for the processor and glycemic risk assessor (Paragraph 0018: a system comprises a processor and a metabolic model; Paragraph 0064: The diabetes management platform includes inputs, outputs, and interrelationships of the modules).
Regarding Claims 21 and 43, Patek teaches modulate the insulin delivery rate if the target trajectory of future insulin delivery indicates that a blood glucose level is likely to exceed an upper envelope curve or fall below a lower envelope curve (Paragraph 0095: if the patient is using a nonconnected pen to bolus meals at work, then this would show up as a high value of insulin at that time of day, with high variability over time; Paragraph 0102: Exemplary output of the retrospective input compiler may include transients in the blood glucose signal that result from different effects (signature in BG variability)). The cited section indicates Patek accounts for variability when adjusting to target glucose (i.e. envelope curve). Patek teaches adjusting insulin delivery rates to keep blood glucose within a certain range (see regarding claim 1 and 23). Additionally, “if determines that the target trajectory” as recited above is interpreted as indicating this is a contingent limitation (MPEP 2111.04, see Regarding claims 2 and 24 for explanation).
Regarding Claims 22 and 44, Patek teaches deliver a bolus of insulin in response to determining that the blood glucose level will likely exceed the upper envelope curve (Paragraph 0095: if the patient is using a nonconnected pen to bolus meals at work, then this would show up as a high value of insulin at that time of day, with high variability over time; Paragraph 0102: Exemplary output of the retrospective input compiler may include transients in the blood glucose signal that result from different effects (signature in BG variability)). The cited section indicates Patek accounts for variability when adjusting to target glucose (i.e. envelope curve). Patek teaches adjusting insulin delivery rates to keep blood glucose within a certain range (see regarding claim 1 and 23). Additionally, “in response to determining that the blood glucose level will likely exceed” as recited above is interpreted as indicating this is a contingent limitation (MPEP 2111.04, see Regarding claims 2 and 24 for explanation).
Patek does not explicitly teach incorporating the ISOB into analyses to generate other metrics (Claims 5, 6, 7, 27, 28, and 29). Patek does not explicitly teach calculating future risks (Claim 20 and 42).
Regarding Claims 5 and 27, Breton et al. teach determine an amount of insulin needed to minimize the discrepancy by assessing insulin on board (IOB) and insulin that should be on board (ISOB) to correct the deviation of blood glucose above a target range (Paragraph 0005: the system detects under-insulinization by tracking in real time the insulin that is active or to be active, in a patient (Insulin on Board or “IOB”), while comparing it to the insulin need of the patient (Insulin that Should be On Board or “ISOB”)).
Regarding Claim 6 and 28, Breton et al. teach determine an amount of insulin needed to minimize the discrepancy by assessing insulin on board (IOB) and insulin that should be on board (ISOB) to correct the deviation of blood glucose above a target range (Paragraph 0005: the system detects under-insulinization by tracking in real time the insulin that is active or to be active, in a patient (Insulin on Board or “IOB”), while comparing it to the insulin need of the patient (Insulin that Should be On Board or “ISOB”)).
Regarding Claim 7 and 29, Breton et al. teach modify the insulin delivery rate by converting the ISOB into an enhanced basal insulin rate (Paragraph 0045: ISOB can be corrected, for slope (i.e. predicted ahead in a linear fashion) to react faster to increased need or limit the risk of overdose). Insulin needs that are corrected based IOSB are interpreted as enhanced.
Regarding Claims 17 and 39, Breton et al. teach determine the ISOB using a user-specific correction factor (Paragraph 0005: ISOB is determined using measures related to his/her glycemia). This is interpreted as indicating the ISOB is personalized to the user.
Regarding Claims 18 and 40, Breton et al. teach determine the ISOB using a population-determined gain value (Paragraph 0023: Insulin clearance (the rate at which insulin is cleared at any point in time) can be modulated per patient or representative of a population average)).
Regarding Claims 20 and 42, Breton et al. teach (Claim 20.i) quantify the risk of current or future hyperglycemia or hypoglycemia (Paragraph 0062: the system can also alert the patient of the current risk for hyperglycemia).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to combine Breton et al. with Patek. Breton et al. teach their methods increase modeling accuracy when using data from glucose monitoring devices (Paragraph 0098-0099: The glucose monitoring device outputs with improved accuracy can be delivered to a glucose monitoring center for processing and/or analyzing. In addition to the glucose monitoring device outputs, errors, parameters for accuracy improvements, and any accuracy related information can be delivered, for performing error analyses). The methods of Patek incorporate glucose data and are primary directed to utilizing a discrepancy between data, which is functionally an error estimation. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would predict that the methods could be readily combined with a reasonable expectation of success because both are within the same technical field - use similar inputs and related analyses to improve blood glucose modeling and management in patients.
Claims 1-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patek, in view of Breton et al., as applied to claims 1-7, 9-14, 16-29, 31-36, and 38-44 above, and in further view of Kovatchev et al. (US 20120078067 A1). Italicized text from reference art.
Regarding Claims 1-7, 9-14, 16-29, 31-36, and 38-44, the limitations are taught by Patek and Breton et al. as indicated above.
Patek and Breton et al. do not explicitly teach converting a portion of basal insulin to bolus insulin (Claim 8 and 30). Patek and Breton et al. do not explicitly teach relating the reference to the meal information (Claim 15 and 37).
Regarding Claims 8 and 30, Kovatchev et al. teach convert at least a portion of the insulin to be delivered at the enhanced basal insulin rate to a bolus if the target trajectory of future insulin delivery indicates that a predicted blood glucose level exceeds a threshold to thereby mitigate hyperglycemia. (Paragraph 0048: separate interacting algorithms will suggest optimal pre-meal bolus control and will exercise basal rate control or administer post-meal correction boluses). Additionally, “if the target trajectory” as recited above is interpreted as indicating this is a contingent limitation (MPEP 2111.04, see Regarding claims 2 and 24 for explanation).
Regarding Claims 15 and 37, Kovatchev et al. teach adjust the RIR such that a negative discrepancy is attributable to an unannounced meal or a meal with a larger carbohydrate content than is acknowledged (Paragraph 0099: The Safety Supervision Module monitors and modifies the suggested insulin injection signals produced by the other control modules. Paragraph 0103-0104: uref(t)=reference insulin infused at time t (produced by the Daily Profile Control Module (Control Module 1)) um(t)=the recommended insulin infusion at time t for accommodating meals). Patek teaches optimizing the reference (see Regarding Claims 14 and 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to combine Kovatchev et al. with Breton et al. and Patek. Patek suggests applying the methods for closed loop control (Paragraph 0069: The live input-reconcile predictions can be used in a wide variety of applications including comparing alternative actions for (i) real time decision-making, including selection of the next control step in closed-loop control of diabetes). Kovatchev et al. teach their methods are directed toward improving closed loop control system for diabetes management (Paragraph 0005: An aspect of an embodiment of the present invention provides the progress towards advisory open-loop control or automated closed-loop control. A modular approach to closed-loop control development would have a number of advantages). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would predict that the methods could be readily combined with a reasonable expectation of success because both are within the same technical field - use similar inputs and related analyses to improve blood glucose modeling and management in patients.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 8, and 12 of copending Application No. 19677607 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application recite receiving glucose and insulin data, generating metrics with glucose and insulin data and insulin alone, determining a difference, and using the difference to adjust insulin rates. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 17592071 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application recite receiving glucose and insulin data, generating metrics with glucose and insulin data and insulin alone, determining a difference, and using the difference to adjust insulin rates. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11696728 in view of Patek (US 20210151190 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference patent recite receiving glucose and insulin data, generating metrics with glucose and insulin data and insulin alone, determining a difference. Patent No. 11696728 does not teach using the difference to adjust insulin rates. Using the discrepancy to adjust insulin rates is taught by Patek (see regarding claims 1 and 23 in the 102 and 103 rejection above).
Claim 1 and 23 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 4, 5, 8, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12646620.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference patent recite receiving glucose and insulin data, generating metrics with glucose and insulin data and insulin alone, determining a difference, and using the difference to adjust insulin rates.
Claims 1 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12144658 in view of Patek (US 20210151190 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference patent recite receiving glucose and insulin data, generating metrics with glucose and insulin data and insulin alone, determining a difference. Patent No. 12144658 does not teach using the difference to adjust insulin rates. Using the discrepancy to adjust insulin rates is taught by Patek (see regarding claims 1 and 23 in the 102 and 103 rejection above).
Conclusion
No Claims are allowed.
/B.H.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1687
/Karlheinz R. Skowronek/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1687