Claims 1-3,5-25 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3,5-25, specifically claims 24 and 25 in regard to the newly added limitation to “load an algorithm on a firmware on a first and second device” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument as a new reference Dekel et al. (US 2025/0175278) has been found.
In regard to the argument that neither Abdo or Fernandez teaches “the second device receives the modified confidential data at a USB stack” the examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains that Fernandez still teaches receiving modified confidential data at USB stack by citing paragraph 21, where the modified data according to a key map is sent to the USB controller, which necessarily supports receiving at a USB stack.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,5-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdo et al. (US 2002/0080967), herein after Abdo, and further in view of Fernandez et al. (US 2022/0245287), filed in IDS submitted 1/19/24, herein referred to as Fernandez, and in further view of Dekel et al. (US 2025/0175278), herein referred to as Dekel.
As per claim 1, Abdo discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by the computing device, confidential data on the first device;
modifying, by the computing device, the confidential data on the first device by using a randomization pattern; and sending, by the computing device, the modified confidential data to the second device by wireless communication (see paragraph 44, where a keyboard operates in a secured connection mode (confidential data) where the keyboard scrambles each keycode (randomization pattern) and Fig. 1 showing the keyboard wirelessly connected to receiver 111).
Abdo does not expressly disclose loading, by a computing device, an algorithm on a firmware on a first device and a second device within a handshake protocol and wherein modifying the confidential data comprises injecting random keystrokes included in the randomization pattern during a transmission between the first device and the second device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dekel discloses loading, by a computing device, an algorithm on a firmware on a first device and a second device within a handshake protocol (see paragraph 23 describing shared algorithm, paragraph 37 describing method implemented by firmware, and Fig 6 and paragraphs 87-88, where a seed to generate an algorithm can be agreed upon and initialized (loaded) on a keyboard and computing device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modifying the system of Abdo by loading the same algorithm on a first and second device in order to generate a predictable series of results to scramble and unscramble keys (see paragraph 23).
Abdo in view of Dekel do not expressly disclose wherein modifying the confidential data comprises injecting random keystrokes included in the randomization pattern during a transmission between the first device and the second device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fernandez discloses a keyboard connected to a computer via USB controllers (see Fig. 3). Fernandez further discloses modifying confidential data by injecting random keystrokes included in the randomization pattern during a handshake protocol between the first device and the second device (see paragraphs 29-30, where session is created between a keyboard and USB controller of a computer and a random keymap is agreed upon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modifying the system of Abdo in view of Dekel with a negotiated randomized keymap as taught by Fernandez in order to secure communication with a keyboard without the need for additional equipment or systems (see paragraphs 2-3).
As per claim 2, Abdo further discloses reverting, by the computing device, the modified confidential data into its original state of the confidential data; and sending, by the computing device, the confidential data to an output device connected to the second device (see Fig. 5 showing encryption of keycode 501 and then decryption (original state) in Fig. 6 and paragraph 85-86, describing the host system able to decode the messages (output device connected to the second device)).
Abdo does not expressly disclose, however in the same field of endeavor Fernandez discloses wherein the second device receives the modified confidential data at a USB stack (see Fernandez paragraph 21, where the modified data according to a key map is sent to the USB controller). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modifying the system of Abdo with a negotiated randomized keymap as taught by Fernandez in order to secure communication with a keyboard without the need for additional equipment or systems (see paragraphs 2-3).
As per claim 3, Abdo further discloses pairing, by the computing device, the first device to the second device via the wireless communication (see paragraph 50, describing a pairing process between keyboard 115 and receiver 111).
Abdo does not expressly disclose, however in the same field of Fernandez discloses performing the handshake protocol between the first device and second device to agree on a common randomization pattern (see paragraphs 29-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modifying the system of Abdo with a negotiated randomized keymap as taught by Fernandez in order to secure communication with a keyboard without the need for additional equipment or systems (see paragraphs 2-3).
As per claim 5, Abdo further discloses marking, by the computing device, the first device as paired to the second device (see paragraph 52).
As per claim 6, Abdo further discloses, wherein the randomization pattern comprises an extension pattern by adding a predetermined number of random characters (see paragraph 44, where 8 bit keycode is scrambled and extended to 15 bits).
As per claim 7, Abdo further discloses, wherein the randomization pattern comprises an extension pattern by adding a progressively increasing number of random characters (see paragraph 81, showing addition of increasing number of bits).
As per claim 8, Abdo further discloses, wherein the randomization pattern comprises a frequency pattern by adding a first predetermined number of random characters after a predetermined frequency (see paragraph 80, showing frequency of common keys is considered when determining the number of random characters).
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the randomization pattern comprises a frequency pattern by adding a progressively increasing number of random characters after a progressively increasing frequency (see paragraph 81, showing addition of increasing number of bits).
As per claim 10, Abdo further discloses, wherein the randomization pattern comprises a charmap pattern by adding a predetermined type of random characters (see paragraph 80, showing keycode (characters), being randomly assigned to another keycode).
11. The method of claim 1, wherein the randomization pattern comprises a charmap pattern by adding a progressively increasing predetermined type of random characters (see paragraph 81, showing addition of increasing number of bits).
As per claim 12, Abdo further discloses, wherein the first device comprises a wireless keyboard which comprises the firmware which generates the randomization pattern, and the second device comprises a USB dongle which comprises the firmware which reverts the randomization pattern into an original state of the confidential information (see paragraph 1, wireless keyboard [115] with firmware 121 and dongle [111] with firmware 107, and paragraph 28 describing the USB link).
As per claim 13, Abdo discloses a computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage media having program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable to: receive confidential data on a first device; modify the confidential data on the first device by using a randomization pattern; send the modified confidential data to a second device by wireless communication; remove a modification of the modified confidential data; and output the confidential data for verification (see paragraph 44, where a keyboard operates in a secured connection mode (confidential data) where the keyboard scrambles each keycode (randomization pattern) and Fig. 1 showing the keyboard wirelessly connected to receiver 111) and paragraph 85-86, which shows decryption of the key pressed and output to host).
Abdo does not expressly disclose load an algorithm on a firmware on a first device and a second device within a handshake protocol and wherein modifying the confidential data comprises injecting random keystrokes included in the randomization pattern during a transmission between the first device and the second device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dekel discloses load an algorithm on a firmware on a first device and a second device within a handshake protocol (see paragraph 23 describing shared algorithm, paragraph 37 describing method implemented by firmware, and Fig 6 and paragraphs 87-88, where a seed to generate an algorithm can be agreed upon and initialized (loaded) on a keyboard and computing device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modifying the system of Abdo by loading the same algorithm on a first and second device in order to generate a predictable series of results to scramble and unscramble keys (see paragraph 23).
Abdo in view of Dekel do not expressly disclose wherein modifying the confidential data comprises injecting random keystrokes included in the randomization pattern during a transmission between the first device and the second device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fernandez discloses a keyboard connected to a computer via USB controllers (see Fig. 3). Fernandez further discloses modifying confidential data by injecting random keystrokes included in the randomization pattern during a handshake protocol between the first device and the second device (see paragraphs 29-30, where session is created between a keyboard and USB controller of a computer and a random keymap is agreed upon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modifying the system of Abdo in view of Dekel with a negotiated randomized keymap as taught by Fernandez in order to secure communication with a keyboard without the need for additional equipment or systems (see paragraphs 2-3).
As per claim 14, Abdo further discloses, wherein the randomization pattern comprises an extension pattern (see paragraph 44, where 8 bit keycode is scrambled and extended to 15 bits).
Abdo does not expressly disclose, however in the same field of endeavor Fernandez discloses the second device receives the modified confidential data at a USB stack (see Fernandez paragraph 21, where the modified data according to a key map is sent to the USB controller). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modifying the system of Abdo with a negotiated randomized keymap as taught by Fernandez in order to secure communication with a keyboard without the need for additional equipment or systems (see paragraphs 2-3).
As per claim 15, Abdo further discloses, wherein the extension pattern extends the confidential data by adding a predetermined number of random characters (see paragraph 44, where 8 bit keycode is scrambled and extended to 15 bits).
Abdo does not expressly disclose, however in the same field of Fernandez discloses performing the handshake protocol between the first device and second device to agree on a common randomization pattern (see paragraphs 29-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modifying the system of Abdo with a negotiated randomized keymap as taught by Fernandez in order to secure communication with a keyboard without the need for additional equipment or systems (see paragraphs 2-3).
16. The computer program product of claim 14, wherein the extension pattern extends the confidential data by adding a progressively increasing number of random characters (see paragraph 81, showing addition of increasing number of bits).
As per claim 17, Abdo further discloses, wherein the randomization pattern comprises a frequency pattern (see paragraph 80, showing frequency of common keys is considered when determining the number of random characters).
As per claim 18, Abdo further discloses, wherein the frequency pattern modifies the confidential data by adding a first predetermined number of random characters after a predetermined frequency (see paragraph 80, showing frequency of common keys is considered when determining the number of random characters).
19. The computer program product of claim 17, wherein the frequency pattern modifies the confidential data by adding a progressively increasing number of random characters after a progressively increasing frequency (see paragraph 81, showing addition of increasing number of bits).
20. The computer program product of claim 13, wherein the randomization pattern comprises a charmap pattern (see paragraph 80, showing keycode (characters), being randomly assigned to another keycode).
21. The computer program product of claim 20, wherein the charmap pattern modifies the confidential data by adding a predetermined type of random characters (see paragraph 80, showing keycode (characters), being randomly assigned to another keycode).
22. The computer program product of claim 20, wherein the charmap pattern modifies the confidential data by adding a progressively increasing predetermined type of random characters (see paragraph 81, showing addition of increasing number of bits).
23. A system comprising: a processor, a computer readable memory, one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable to: pair the first device and the second device via wireless communication; receive confidential data on the first device; modify the confidential data on the first device by using a randomization pattern; send the modified confidential data to the second device by the wireless communication; remove a modification of the modified confidential data; and send the confidential data to an output device connected to the second device (see paragraph 44, where a keyboard operates in a secured connection mode (confidential data) where the keyboard scrambles each keycode (randomization pattern) and Fig. 1 showing the keyboard wirelessly connected to receiver 111) and paragraph 85-86, which shows decryption of the key pressed and output to host), wherein the randomization pattern comprises an extension pattern (see paragraph 44, where 8 bit keycode is scrambled and extended to 15 bits).
Abdo does not expressly disclose load an algorithm on a firmware on a first device and a second device within a handshake protocol and wherein modifying the confidential data comprises injecting random keystrokes included in the randomization pattern during a transmission between the first device and the second device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dekel discloses load an algorithm on a firmware on a first device and a second device within a handshake protocol (see paragraph 23 describing shared algorithm, paragraph 37 describing method implemented by firmware, and Fig 6 and paragraphs 87-88, where a seed to generate an algorithm can be agreed upon and initialized (loaded) on a keyboard and computing device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modifying the system of Abdo by loading the same algorithm on a first and second device in order to generate a predictable series of results to scramble and unscramble keys (see paragraph 23).
Abdo in view of Dekel do not expressly disclose wherein modifying the confidential data comprises injecting random keystrokes included in the randomization pattern during a transmission between the first device and the second device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fernandez discloses a keyboard connected to a computer via USB controllers (see Fig. 3). Fernandez further discloses modifying confidential data by injecting random keystrokes included in the randomization pattern during a handshake protocol between the first device and the second device (see paragraphs 29-30, where session is created between a keyboard and USB controller of a computer and a random keymap is agreed upon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modifying the system of Abdo in view of Dekel with a negotiated randomized keymap as taught by Fernandez in order to secure communication with a keyboard without the need for additional equipment or systems (see paragraphs 2-3).
24. A method comprising: pairing, by the computing device, the first device to the second device via wireless communication; receiving, by the computing device, confidential data on the first device; modifying, by the computing device, the confidential data on the first device by using a randomization pattern; sending, by the computing device, the modified confidential data to the second device by the wireless communication; removing, by the computing device, a modification of the modified confidential data; and sending, by the computing device, the confidential data to an output device connected to the second device (see paragraph 44, where a keyboard operates in a secured connection mode (confidential data) where the keyboard scrambles each keycode (randomization pattern) and Fig. 1 showing the keyboard wirelessly connected to receiver 111) and paragraph 85-86, which shows decryption of the key pressed and output to host), wherein the randomization pattern comprises a frequency pattern (see paragraph 80, showing frequency of common keys is considered when determining the number of random characters).
Abdo does not expressly disclose loading, by a computing device, an algorithm on a firmware on a first device and a second device within a handshake protocol and wherein modifying the confidential data comprises injecting random keystrokes included in the randomization pattern during a transmission between the first device and the second device and the second device receives the modified confidential data at a USB stack.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dekel discloses loading, by a computing device, an algorithm on a firmware on a first device and a second device within a handshake protocol (see paragraph 23 describing shared algorithm, paragraph 37 describing method implemented by firmware, and Fig 6 and paragraphs 87-88, where a seed to generate an algorithm can be agreed upon and initialized (loaded) on a keyboard and computing device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modifying the system of Abdo by loading the same algorithm on a first and second device in order to generate a predictable series of results to scramble and unscramble keys (see paragraph 23).
Abdo in view of Dekel do not expressly disclose wherein modifying the confidential data comprises injecting random keystrokes included in the randomization pattern during a transmission between the first device and the second device and the second device receives the modified confidential data at a USB stack.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fernandez discloses a keyboard connected to a computer via USB controllers (see Fig. 3). Fernandez further discloses modifying confidential data by injecting random keystrokes included in the randomization pattern during a transmission between the first device and the second device (see paragraphs 29-30, where session is created between a keyboard and USB controller of a computer and a random keymap is agreed upon) and the second device receives the modified confidential data at a USB stack (see paragraph 21, where the modified data according to a key map is sent to the USB controller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modifying the system of Abdo with a negotiated randomized keymap as taught by Fernandez in order to secure communication with a keyboard without the need for additional equipment or systems (see paragraphs 2-3).
25. A computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage media having program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable to: pair the first device and the second device via wireless communication; receive confidential data on the first device; modify the confidential data on the first device by using a randomization pattern; send the modified confidential data to the second device by the wireless communication; remove a modification of the modified confidential data; and send the confidential data to an output device connected to the second device device (see paragraph 44, where a keyboard operates in a secured connection mode (confidential data) where the keyboard scrambles each keycode (randomization pattern) and Fig. 1 showing the keyboard wirelessly connected to receiver 111) and paragraph 85-86, which shows decryption of the key pressed and output to host), wherein the randomization pattern comprises a charmap pattern (see paragraph 80, showing keycode (characters), being randomly assigned to another keycode).
Abdo does not expressly disclose load an algorithm on a firmware on a first device and a second device within a handshake protocol and wherein modifying the confidential data comprises injecting random keystrokes included in the randomization pattern during a transmission between the first device and the second device and the second device receives the modified confidential data at a USB stack.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dekel discloses load an algorithm on a firmware on a first device and a second device within a handshake protocol (see paragraph 23 describing shared algorithm, paragraph 37 describing method implemented by firmware, and Fig 6 and paragraphs 87-88, where a seed to generate an algorithm can be agreed upon and initialized (loaded) on a keyboard and computing device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modifying the system of Abdo by loading the same algorithm on a first and second device in order to generate a predictable series of results to scramble and unscramble keys (see paragraph 23).
Abdo in view of Dekel do not expressly disclose wherein modifying the confidential data comprises injecting random keystrokes included in the randomization pattern during a transmission between the first device and the second device and the second device receives the modified confidential data at a USB stack.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fernandez discloses a keyboard connected to a computer via USB controllers (see Fig. 3). Fernandez further discloses modifying confidential data by injecting random keystrokes included in the randomization pattern during a transmission between the first device and the second device (see paragraphs 29-30, where session is created between a keyboard and USB controller of a computer and a random keymap is agreed upon) and the second device receives the modified confidential data at a USB stack (see paragraph 21, where the modified data according to a key map is sent to the USB controller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modifying the system of Abdo with a negotiated randomized keymap as taught by Fernandez in order to secure communication with a keyboard without the need for additional equipment or systems (see paragraphs 2-3).
Conclusion
/PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499