Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/12/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office action on 4/01/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 10, filed 6/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-8, 18 and 24 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention have been fully considered as follows:.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 10, of the remarks, filed on 6/29/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 1-8, 18 and 24 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention, that “Claims 1-8, 18 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Applicant respectfully submits that the rejection is overcome by the amendments set forth above.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 10, of the remarks, filed on 6/29/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 1-8, 18 and 24 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 4/01/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because applicant has amended the claims and added limitation which makes the limitation, “the gain adjustment signal is generated based on a map that maps each of a plurality of values of the second magnetic field signal” clear. Therefore, the rejection of Claims 1-8, 18 and 24 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 4/01/2026 has been withdrawn, as set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 10-15, filed 6/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-8, 18-20 and 22-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubinsztain et al. (Hereinafter, “Rubinsztain”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220317161 A1 in view of Latham et al. (Hereinafter, “Latham”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170336481 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 17 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Rubinsztain et al. (Hereinafter, “Rubinsztain”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220317161 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 12-13, of the remarks, filed on 6/29/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-8, 18-20 and 22-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubinsztain et al. (Hereinafter, “Rubinsztain”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220317161 A1 in view of Latham et al. (Hereinafter, “Latham”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170336481 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 17 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Rubinsztain et al. (Hereinafter, “Rubinsztain”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220317161 A1, that “As quoted, Latham discloses a method for equalizing the gains of sensing elements by measuring the ratio of the gains of the sensing elements and adjusting the gains accordingly. Applicant respectfully submits that there are at least several distinctions between claim 1 and Latham (Remarks-Page 12).
First. Latham discloses equalizing the gains of different sensing elements based on gain ratios. By contrast, claim 1 does not use gain ratios.
Second. Latham discloses an arrangement in which reference gain ratios are stored in a memory. However, Latham makes no mention of a data structure that maps signal ranges to corresponding gain adjustment signal values. For this reason, it is believed that Latham does not disclose or suggest the limitation of "wherein the gain adjustment signal is generated based on a data structure that is implemented by using a memory of the compensation circuit, the data structure including a plurality of entries, each of the entries mapping a different range of values for the second magnetic field signal to a different corresponding value of the gain adjustment signal," as recited by claim 1.
Third. As noted above, Latham discloses using gain ratios to equalize sensing elements. By contrast, claim 1 uses signal ranges to improve the linearity of a sensing channel. Because "signal ranges" and "gain ratios" are patentably distinct concepts, it is believed that Latham does not disclose or suggest the limitation of "wherein the gain adjustment signal is generated based on a data structure that is implemented by using a memory of the compensation circuit, the data structure including a plurality of entries, each of the entries mapping a different range of values for the second magnetic field signal to a different corresponding value of the gain adjustment signal."(Remarks-Page 13).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 12-13, of the remarks, filed on 6/29/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-8, 18-20 and 22-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubinsztain et al. (Hereinafter, “Rubinsztain”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220317161 A1 in view of Latham et al. (Hereinafter, “Latham”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170336481 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 17 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Rubinsztain et al. (Hereinafter, “Rubinsztain”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220317161 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 4/01/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive.
Applicant argues, “First. Latham discloses equalizing the gains of different sensing elements based on gain ratios. By contrast, claim 1 does not use gain ratios” which is not persuasive.
Latham discloses in Paragraph 0015, “a memory configured to store reference gains associated with the plurality of magnetic field sensing elements; and a gain equalization circuit having inputs coupled to outputs of the plurality of magnetic field sensing elements and a plurality of outputs, the gain equalization circuit configured to extract a reference signal and an external signal from each of the plurality of magnetic field sensing element output signals, to measure a gain of each of the plurality of reference signals, to compare the measured gains to the reference gains, and to adjust the gain of the external signals based on the comparing.” In Paragraph 0081 Latham discloses, “In a second step, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may compare the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N (which, as indicated above, may be absolute gains or relative gains) to reference gains in order to calculate the gain adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N.” Latham in the memory stores reference gain values for plurality of magnetic field sensing elements and compares with the measured gains. Therefore, Latham discloses to determine gain adjustment values using different gains and Latham does not disclose that gain ratio is used for gain adjustment. Latham discloses, “The relative reference gains may be expressed as ratios, ….”. Therefore, Latham mentioned that relative gain may be a ratio but its not needed that the relative gain should be ratio. Even though Latham does not mention that the gain equalizing elements based on gain, however claim does not recite any gain equalizing value. Claim recites, “gain adjustment signal”. Any signal used for adjusting the gain can be gain adjustment signal. Therefore, for the broadest reasonable interpretation if applicant argues that the Latham discloses gain equalizing value is gain ratio, applicant’s argument is not persuasive as claim does not recite any specific gain adjustment values. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues, “Second. Latham discloses an arrangement in which reference gain ratios are stored in a memory” which is not persuasive. As mentioned above Latham discloses in Paragraph 0015, “a memory configured to store reference gains ……..the gain equalization circuit configured to extract a reference signal and an external signal from each of the plurality of magnetic field sensing element output signals, to measure a gain of each of the plurality of reference signals, to compare the measured gains to the reference gains”. Therefore, applicant’s argument that reference gain ratios are stored in a memory is not persuasive. Again, as explained above claim does not recite what values are stored in the memory therefore applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Applicant argues that, “Latham makes no mention of a data structure that maps signal ranges to corresponding gain adjustment signal values” which is not persuasive. Claim does not recite any data structure or any signal ranges. Claim does not recite what is the signal range and what value is considered as the signal range for the data structure. Latham discloses, “In some embodiments, the reference gains may include N absolute gains (herein denoted R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N), one for each of the N sensing elements 402. The absolute reference gains R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N can be directly compared to respective ones of the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N. For example, the ith gain adjustment value may be calculated as K.sub.i=R.sub.i/G.sub.i.” Therefore, Latham discloses N absolute gains which is the plurality of entries and then mentioned that ith gain adjustment value which represents as the range of the plurality of entries. Claim does not recite any specific ranges or any parameter for the ranges. Therefore ith and jth sensing elements can be considered as the different ranges of values for the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant argues, “Third. As noted above, Latham discloses using gain ratios to equalize sensing elements. By contrast, claim 1 uses signal ranges to improve the linearity of a sensing channel. Because "signal ranges" and "gain ratios" are patentably distinct concepts” which is not persuasive. Latham clearly discloses that the gain values are stored in the memory and Latham also mentioned that the gain value may be gain ratios. Latham discloses, “may be” and Latham does not disclose that the gain values are ratio of gain. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Applicant argues that claim 1 uses signal ranges to improve the linearity of a sensing channel. Applicant argument is not persuasive. The limitation, “to improve the linearity of a sensing channel” is not required by the claim as claim does not recite the limitation and also claim does not recite any specific signal ranges. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive and for the broadest reasonable interpretation Latham can still be applied to reject the limitation.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 13, of the remarks, filed on 6/29/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-8, 18-20 and 22-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubinsztain et al. (Hereinafter, “Rubinsztain”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220317161 A1 in view of Latham et al. (Hereinafter, “Latham”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170336481 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 17 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Rubinsztain et al. (Hereinafter, “Rubinsztain”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220317161 A1, that “Furthermore, claim 1, as amended, recites "a compensation circuit including: (i) one or more second magnetic field sensing elements wherein the magnetic field sensor and the compensation circuit are disposed in a same package, and the compensation circuit is dedicated exclusively to control of the PGA." Applicant respectfully submits that neither Latham nor Rubinsztain discloses an arrangement in which the same semiconductor package includes a compensation circuit, having its own magnetic field sensing elements, that is dedicated exclusively to control the gain of a programmable gain amplifier. For this reason, it is believed that the applied combination of Latham and Rubinsztain does not disclose or suggest the above limitation.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 13, of the remarks, filed on 6/29/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-8, 18-20 and 22-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubinsztain et al. (Hereinafter, “Rubinsztain”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220317161 A1 in view of Latham et al. (Hereinafter, “Latham”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170336481 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 17 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Rubinsztain et al. (Hereinafter, “Rubinsztain”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220317161 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 4/01/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. Rubinsztain discloses, “The gain adjustment circuit 130 may be configured to correct for sensitivity mismatch between the sensing units 122A and 122B by adjusting the gain of at least one of the amplifiers 124A and 124B. More particularly, the gain adjustment circuit 130 may be configured generate a gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ based on a difference of the signals 125A and 125B; Paragraph [0020] Line 1-7”. Therefore, the gain adjustment circuit 130 controls the amplifier as the PGA based on the signal 125B and signal 125B is the signal generated in the compensation circuit 120A as shown in the Modified Figure 1 of Rubinsztain below and the compensation circuit [120B] is dedicated exclusively to control of the PGA [124A].
Applicant argues that neither Latham nor Rubinsztain discloses an arrangement in which the same semiconductor package includes a compensation circuit, having its own magnetic field sensing elements which is not persuasive. In the rejection examiner mentioned that Rubinsztain does not disclose the magnetic field sensor and the compensation circuit are disposed in a same package. Latham, “Magnetic field sensors employ a variety of types of magnetic field sensing elements, for example, Hall effect elements and magnetoresistance elements, often coupled to a variety of electronics, all supported by a common substrate; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5”. Therefore, Rubinsztain in combination of Latham discloses the limitation. Applicant’s argument is therefore not persuasive. However, applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation in claim 1, “wherein the gain adjustment signal is generated based on a data structure that is implemented by using a memory of the compensation circuit. the data structure including a plurality of entries, each of the entries mapping a different range of values for the second magnetic field signal to a different corresponding value of the gain adjustment signal, and wherein the magnetic field sensor and the compensation circuit are disposed in a same package, and the compensation circuit is dedicated exclusively to control of the PGA.” which necessitates a new ground of rejection. Rubinsztain and Latham are reapplied to meet at least the amended limitations of claim 1. Therefore claim 1 can be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubinsztain et al. (Hereinafter, “Rubinsztain”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220317161 A1 in view of Latham et al. (Hereinafter, “Latham”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170336481 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant’s argument regarding independent claims 17 and 22 and dependent claims 23, 26 and 27 as stated in the remarks page 14-15 is also not persuasive because of the same reason as stated above because of similar amendment for independent claims 17 and 22 and dependent claims 23, 26-27. Therefore Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 17, 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubinsztain et al. (Hereinafter, “Rubinsztain”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220317161 A1 in view of Latham et al. (Hereinafter, “Latham”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170336481 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
New claims 26-27 are rejected under re rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubinsztain et al. (Hereinafter, “Rubinsztain”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220317161 A1 in view of Latham et al. (Hereinafter, “Latham”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170336481 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 17, 19-24 and 26-27 set forth in the amendment submitted 6/29/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 17, 19-24 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubinsztain et al. (Hereinafter, “Rubinsztain”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220317161 A1 in view of Latham et al. (Hereinafter, “Latham”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170336481 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Rubinsztain teaches a device (A sensor includes: a reference magnetic field generator configured to generate a reference magnetic field that is modulated at a first frequency (Abstract); FIG. 1 is a diagram of an example of a sensor 100; Paragraph [0016] Line 1; FIG. 4A is a diagram of an example of a sensor 400; Paragraph [0075] Line 1), comprising:
a magnetic field sensor [120A] (first channel 120A as the magnetic field sensor) (FIG. 1 is a diagram of an example of a sensor 100, according to aspects of the disclosure. The sensor 100 may include a magnetic field generator 110, a first channel 120A; Paragraph [0016] Line 1-3) including:
(i) one or more first magnetic field sensing elements [122A]/[418A in Figure 4A] (a sensing unit 122A of the first channel 120A; Paragraph [0017] Line 3-4) arranged to produce a first magnetic field signal [123 A] (The sensing unit 122A may be configured to generate a signal 123A; Paragraph [0018] Line 6-7) in response to a magnetic field (a sensor is provided comprising: a reference magnetic field generator configured to generate a reference magnetic field; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
(ii) a programmable gain amplifier (PGA) [124A]/420A (The first channel 120A may include the sensing unit 122A, an amplifier 124A (as the programmable gain amplifier); Paragraph [0018] Line 1-2; The gain adjustment circuit 130 may be configured to correct for sensitivity mismatch between the sensing units 122A and 122B by adjusting the gain of at least one of the amplifiers 124A and 124B; Paragraph [0020] Line 1-4; The gain of the amplifier 124A is adjusted by the gain adjustment unit 130 and therefore the amplifier 124A functions as a programmable gain amplifier) that is configured to amplify the first magnetic field signal [123A] to produce an amplified signal [125B] (The amplifier 124B may be configured to amplify the signal 123B to produce a signal 125B; Paragraph [0019] Line 7-9; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Rubinsztain below), and
(iii) a first circuitry [126A] (signal processing circuit 126A as the first circuitry)/430A (The first channel 120A may include the sensing unit 122A, an amplifier 124A, and a signal processing circuit 126A; Paragraph [0018] Line 1-3) that is configured to generate an output signal [OUT_1] based on the amplified signal [125A] ( The signal processing circuit 126A may be configured to process the signal 125A to produce an output signal OUT_1; Paragraph [0018] Line 9-11); and
Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Rubinsztain
a compensation circuit [120B] (second channel 120B as the compensation circuit) (FIG. 1 is a diagram of an example of a sensor 100, according to aspects of the disclosure. The sensor 100 may include a magnetic field generator 110, a first channel 120A, a second channel 120B; Paragraph [0016] Line 1-4; Channel 2 as the compensation circuit as it compensates the gain) including:
(i) one or more second magnetic field sensing elements [122B]/418B (The second channel 120B may include a sensing unit 122B; Paragraph [0019] Line 1-2) that are arranged to produce a second magnetic field signal [123B] in response to the magnetic field (The sensing unit 122B may be configured to generate a signal 123B. The amplifier 124B may be configured to amplify the signal 123B to produce a signal 125B; Paragraph [0019] Line 6-9), and
(ii) a second circuitry [124B+130+126B] in Figure 1/[420B+430B+440 +450] in Figure 4A (The second channel 120B may include a sensing unit 122B, an amplifier 124B, and a signal processing circuit 126B; Paragraph [0019] Line 1-3; a gain adjustment circuit 130; Paragraph [0016] Line 4; an amplifier 124B, and a signal processing circuit 126B and a gain adjustment circuit 130 is considered as the second circuitry in Figure 1 or an amplifier 420B, and a signal processing circuit 430B and a gain adjustment circuit 440 and gain code generator 450 is considered as the second circuitry in Figure 4) that is configured to generate a gain adjustment signal [GAIN_ADJ] based on the second magnetic field signal [123B-125B] (The gain adjustment circuit 130 may be configured to correct for sensitivity mismatch between the sensing units 122A and 122B by adjusting the gain of at least one of the amplifiers 124A and 124B. More particularly, the gain adjustment circuit 130 may be configured generate a gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ based on a difference of the signals 125A and 125B; Paragraph [0020] Line 1-7),
the second circuitry [124B+130+126B] being configured to apply the gain adjustment signal [GAIN_ADJ] at a control terminal of the PGA [124A] (The gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ may be a differential signal having a first component and a second component. The first component of the gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ may be used to adjust the gain of the amplifier 124A: Paragraph [0020] Line 7-11),
and the compensation circuit [120B] is dedicated exclusively to control of the PGA [124A] (The gain adjustment circuit 130 may be configured to correct for sensitivity mismatch between the sensing units 122A and 122B by adjusting the gain of at least one of the amplifiers 124A and 124B. More particularly, the gain adjustment circuit 130 may be configured generate a gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ based on a difference of the signals 125A and 125B; Paragraph [0020] Line 1-7. Therefore, the gain adjustment circuit 130 controls the amplifier as the PGA based on the signal 125B and signal 125B is the signal generated in the compensation circuit 120A as shown in the Modified Figure 1 of Rubinsztain above and the compensation circuit [120B] is dedicated exclusively to control of the PGA [124A]).
Rubinsztain fails to teach wherein the gain adjustment signal is generated based on a data structure that is implemented by using a memory of the compensation circuit; the data structure including a plurality of entries, each of the entries mapping a different range of values for the second magnetic field signal to a different corresponding value of the gain adjustment signal, and wherein the magnetic field sensor and the compensation circuit are disposed in a same package.
Latham teaches magnetic field sensors and, more particularly, to magnetic field sensors having circuitry to sense and adjust a sensitivity of the magnetic field sensors to a magnetic field (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4),
wherein the gain adjustment signal [R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N] is generated based on a data structure that is implemented by using a memory [412] in Figure 5 of the compensation circuit (a memory configured to store reference gains associated with the plurality of magnetic field sensing elements; and a gain equalization circuit having inputs coupled to outputs of the plurality of magnetic field sensing elements and a plurality of outputs, the gain equalization circuit configured to extract a reference signal and an external signal from each of the plurality of magnetic field sensing element output signals, to measure a gain of each of the plurality of reference signals, to compare the measured gains to the reference gains, and to adjust the gain of the external signals based on the comparing; Paragraph [0015] Line 10-21; In a second step, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may compare the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N (which, as indicated above, may be absolute gains or relative gains) to reference gains in order to calculate the gain adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N. The reference gains may be stored within memory 412. In some embodiments, the reference gains may include N absolute gains (herein denoted R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N), one for each of the N sensing elements 402. The absolute reference gains R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N can be directly compared to respective ones of the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N. For example, the ith gain adjustment value may be calculated as K.sub.i=R.sub.i/G.sub.i; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-12; Latham in the memory stores reference gain values for plurality of magnetic field sensing elements and compares with the measured gains),
the data structure including a plurality of entries, each of the entries mapping a different range of values for the second magnetic field signal to a different corresponding value of the gain adjustment signal (In a second step, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may compare the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N (which, as indicated above, may be absolute gains or relative gains) to reference gains in order to calculate the gain adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N. The reference gains may be stored within memory 412. In some embodiments, the reference gains may include N absolute gains (herein denoted R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N), one for each of the N sensing elements 402. The absolute reference gains R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N can be directly compared to respective ones of the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N. For example, the ith gain adjustment value may be calculated as K.sub.i=R.sub.i/G.sub.i. In other embodiments, the reference gains may include relative gains between two or more of the sensing elements 402. The relative reference gains may be expressed as ratios, where the relative reference gain between the ith and jth sensing elements is herein denoted R.sub.i:j. Here, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may select adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N such that the ratio of measured gains multiplied by the respective gain adjustment values equals the reference ratios; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-20; Data structure is created by different gain adjustment signal by different magnetic field of the magnetic field sensing element. Therefore, Latham discloses N absolute gains which is the plurality of entries and then mentioned that ith gain adjustment value which represents as the range of the plurality of entries. Claim does not recite any specific ranges or any parameter for the ranges. Therefore, ith and jth sensing elements can be considered as the different ranges of values for the broadest reasonable interpretation), and
wherein the magnetic field sensor and the compensation circuit are disposed in a same package (Magnetic field sensors employ a variety of types of magnetic field sensing elements, for example, Hall effect elements and magnetoresistance elements, often coupled to a variety of electronics, all supported by a common substrate; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5; Referring to FIG. 2, a structure 200 may be used for three-dimensional (3D) magnetic field sensing, according to one embodiment. The structure 200 may include three magnetic field sensing elements (or “sensing elements”) 202a, 202b, 202c and a coil structure 204. In some embodiments, the structure 200 may be provided as an integrated circuit (IC) substrate; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-7; Paragraph [0054]). The purpose of doing so is to maintain gain equalization in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity, to extract a reference signal and an external signal from each of the plurality of magnetic field sensing element output signals, to measure a gain of each of the plurality of reference signals, to compare the measured gains to the reference gains, and to adjust the gain of the external signals based on the comparing, to support the magnetic field sensing element.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rubinsztain in view of Latham to include each of a plurality of values of the second magnetic field signal to a respective value of the gain adjustment signal, and to dispose the magnetic field sensor and the compensation circuit in a same package, because Latham teaches to include each of a plurality of values of the magnetic field signal to a respective value of the gain adjustment signal, and to dispose the magnetic field sensor and the compensation circuit in a same package maintains gain equalization in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]), extracts a reference signal and an external signal from each of the plurality of magnetic field sensing element output signals, measures a gain of each of the plurality of reference signals, compares the measured gains to the reference gains, and adjusts the gain of the external signals based on the comparing (Paragraph [0015]), supports the magnetic field sensing element (Paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 2, Rubinsztain teaches a device,
wherein the second circuitry [124B+130+126B] in Figure 1/[420B+430B+440 +450] in Figure 4A is implemented as part of a firmware of the compensation circuit [120] (FIG. 4A is a diagram of an example of a sensor 400, according to aspects of the disclosure. The sensor 400 may include a magnetic field generator 410, a first Hall-effect sensing unit 418A and a second Hall-effect sensing unit 418B, amplifiers 420A-B, signal processing circuits 430A-B, a gain adjustment circuit 440, and a gain code generator 450. The sensor 400 differs from the sensor 200 (shown in FIG. 2A) in that it includes a digital gain code generator (e.g., the gain code generator 450); Paragraph [0075] Line 1-9; Map is generated by the digital gain code generator and therefore map is implemented as part of a firmware of the compensation circuit).
Regarding claim 3, Rubinsztain teaches a device,
further comprising one or more terminals [GAIN_ADJ] for updating the data structure (GAIN_ADJ is the terminal which changes or updates the value of the gain code to generate map).
Regarding claim 5, Rubinsztain fails to teach a device, wherein the first circuitry is configured to adjust a gain and/or offset of the amplified signal based on at least one of temperature, humidity, and/or stress.
Latham teaches magnetic field sensors and, more particularly, to magnetic field sensors having circuitry to sense and adjust a sensitivity of the magnetic field sensors to a magnetic field (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4), wherein
wherein the first circuitry is configured to adjust a gain and/or offset of the amplified signal based on at least one of temperature, humidity, and/or stress (The magnetic field sensing elements 302a, 302b may have sensitivities S.sub.1 and S.sub.2, respectively. The sensitivities S.sub.1 and S.sub.2 may vary with temperature, stress, and other conditions imposed, for example, on an IC substrate; Paragraph [0061] Line 1-4; The sensor 104 may further include a coil structure and a gain equalization circuit that, together, can be used to equalize the gain of the magnetic field sensing elements in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity; Paragraph [0046] Line 3-8). The purpose of doing so is to equalize the gain of the magnetic field sensing elements in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity, to accurately control over temperature, stress, etc.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rubinsztain in view of Latham to adjust a gain and/or offset of the amplified signal based on at least one of temperature, humidity, and/or stress, because Latham teaches to adjust a gain and/or offset of the amplified signal based on at least one of temperature, humidity, and/or stress, equalizes the gain of the magnetic field sensing elements in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity (Paragraph [0046), accurately controls over temperature, stress, etc. (Paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 6, Rubinsztain teaches a device,
wherein applying the gain adjustment signal at a control terminal of the PGA causes a gain of the PGA to increase or decrease based on a strength of the magnetic field at a location of the one or more second magnetic field sensing elements (FIG. 4C is a state diagram providing an example of one aspect of the operation of the sensor 400. As illustrated, at any given time of its operation, the sensor 400 may be in one of a calibration state 450A and an operating state 450B. When the sensor 400 is in the calibration state 450A: (i) the magnetic field generator 410 generates a reference magnetic field, (ii) the gain adjustment circuit generates a gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ, (iii) the gain code generator generates a first gain code and a second gain code, (iv) the first gain code is used to control the gain of the first amplifier 420A, and (v) the second gain code is used to control the gain of the second amplifier 420B; Paragraph [0091] Line 1-1-12; The gain code generator 450 may include a window comparator 452, an accumulator register 454, and a gain code processor 456. The window comparator 452 may digitize the gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ to produce a digital sample of the gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ. The window comparator 452 may then compare the digital sample to each of three windows. If the digital sample falls within a first window, the digital sample may decrement the value that is stored in the accumulator register 454 by a first value (e.g., ‘1’). If the digital sample falls within a second window, the window comparator 452 may leave unchanged the value that is stored in the accumulator register 454. If the digital sample falls within a third window, the window comparator may increment the value that is stored in the accumulator register 454 by a second value (e.g., ‘1’). In some implementations, each of the first, second, and third windows may include a numerical range. A digital sample may fall within a particular range if the digital sample is greater than or equal to the lower bound of the range and less than or equal to the upper bound of the range. The gain code processor 456 may retrieve the contents of the accumulator register 454 and generate a first gain control code and a second gain control code. The first gain control code may be digitized to produce a gain control signal GC_1 and the second gain control code may be converted to analog form to produce a second gain control signal GC_2. The first gain control signal GC_1 may be applied at a gain control terminal of the first amplifier 420A and used to set the gain of the first amplifier 420A. The second gain control signal GC_2 may be applied at a gain control terminal of the second amplifier 420B and used to set the gain of the second amplifier 420B; Paragraph [0089] Line 1-32; In some implementations, the first gain control code and the second gain control code may be complementary, meaning that when one increases, the other one may decrease. Additionally or alternatively, in some implementations, the first gain control code may be based on the value that is stored in the accumulator register 454 and the second gain control code may be based on the difference between the value that is stored in the accumulator register 454 and the maximum value that can be stored in the accumulator register 454; Paragraph [0090] Line 1-10; therefore, the gain adjustment signal at a control terminal of the PGA causes a gain of the PGA to increase or decrease based on a strength of the magnetic field at a location of the one or more second magnetic field sensing elements).
Regarding claim 7, Rubinsztain fails to teach a device, wherein the magnetic field sensor and the compensation circuit are formed on a same substrate.
Latham teaches magnetic field sensors and, more particularly, to magnetic field sensors having circuitry to sense and adjust a sensitivity of the magnetic field sensors to a magnetic field (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4),
wherein the magnetic field sensor and the compensation circuit are formed on a same substrate (Magnetic field sensors employ a variety of types of magnetic field sensing elements, for example, Hall effect elements and magnetoresistance elements, often coupled to a variety of electronics, all supported by a common substrate; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5; Referring to FIG. 2, a structure 200 may be used for three-dimensional (3D) magnetic field sensing, according to one embodiment. The structure 200 may include three magnetic field sensing elements (or “sensing elements”) 202a, 202b, 202c and a coil structure 204. In some embodiments, the structure 200 may be provided as an integrated circuit (IC) substrate; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-7; Paragraph [0054]). The purpose of doing so is to support the magnetic field sensing element.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rubinsztain in view of Latham to form the magnetic field sensor and the compensation circuit on a same substrate, because Latham teaches to form the magnetic field sensor and the compensation circuit on a same substrate supports the magnetic field sensing elements (Paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 8, Rubinsztain teaches a device, wherein:
each of the first magnetic field sensing elements [122A]/ [418A] includes one of a Hall effect element, a giant magnetoresistor (GMR), or a tunnel magnetoresistor (TMR) (The sensing unit 122A may include one or more Hall elements. For example, the sensing unit 122A may include a chopper-stabilized bridge circuit (e.g., a Wheatstone bridge) that is formed of Hall elements; Paragraph [0018] Line 3-6), and
each of the second magnetic field sensing elements [122B]/[418B] includes one of a Hall effect element, a giant magnetoresistor (GMR), or a tunnel magnetoresistor (TMR) (The sensing unit 122B may include one or more Hall elements. For example, the sensing unit 122B may include a chopper-stabilized bridge circuit (e.g., a Wheatstone bridge) that is formed of Hall elements; Paragraph [0019] Line 3-6).
Regarding claim 17, Rubinsztain teaches a device (A sensor includes: a reference magnetic field generator configured to generate a reference magnetic field that is modulated at a first frequency (Abstract); FIG. 1 is a diagram of an example of a sensor 100; Paragraph [0016] Line 1; FIG. 4A is a diagram of an example of a sensor 400; Paragraph [0075] Line 1), comprising:
a magnetic field sensor [120A] (first channel 120A as the magnetic field sensor) (FIG. 1 is a diagram of an example of a sensor 100, according to aspects of the disclosure. The sensor 100 may include a magnetic field generator 110, a first channel 120A; Paragraph [0016] Line 1-3) including:
(i) one or more first magnetic field sensing elements [122A]/[418A in Figure 4A] (a sensing unit 122A of the first channel 120A; Paragraph [0017] Line 3-4) arranged to produce a first magnetic field signal [123 A] (The sensing unit 122A may be configured to generate a signal 123A; Paragraph [0018] Line 6-7) in response to a magnetic field (a sensor is provided comprising: a reference magnetic field generator configured to generate a reference magnetic field; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
(ii) a programmable gain amplifier (PGA) [124A]/420A (The first channel 120A may include the sensing unit 122A, an amplifier 124A (as the programmable gain amplifier); Paragraph [0018] Line 1-2; The gain adjustment circuit 130 may be configured to correct for sensitivity mismatch between the sensing units 122A and 122B by adjusting the gain of at least one of the amplifiers 124A and 124B; Paragraph [0020] Line 1-4; The gain of the amplifier 124A is adjusted by the gain adjustment unit 130 and therefore the amplifier 124A functions as a programmable gain amplifier) that is configured to amplify the first magnetic field signal [123A] to produce an amplified signal [125B] (The amplifier 124B may be configured to amplify the signal 123B to produce a signal 125B; Paragraph [0019] Line 7-9; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Rubinsztain above), and
(iii) a first circuitry [126A] (signal processing circuit 126A as the first circuitry)/430A (The first channel 120A may include the sensing unit 122A, an amplifier 124A, and a signal processing circuit 126A; Paragraph [0018] Line 1-3) that is configured to generate an output signal [OUT_1] based on the amplified signal [125A] ( The signal processing circuit 126A may be configured to process the signal 125A to produce an output signal OUT_1; Paragraph [0018] Line 9-11); and
a compensation circuit [120B] (second channel 120B as the compensation circuit) (FIG. 1 is a diagram of an example of a sensor 100, according to aspects of the disclosure. The sensor 100 may include a magnetic field generator 110, a first channel 120A, a second channel 120B; Paragraph [0016] Line 1-4; Channel 2 as the compensation circuit as it compensates the gain) including:
(i) one or more second magnetic field sensing elements [122B]/418B (The second channel 120B may include a sensing unit 122B; Paragraph [0019] Line 1-2) that are arranged to produce a second magnetic field signal [123B] in response to the magnetic field (The sensing unit 122B may be configured to generate a signal 123B. The amplifier 124B may be configured to amplify the signal 123B to produce a signal 125B; Paragraph [0019] Line 6-9), and
(ii) a second circuitry [124B+130+126B] in Figure 1/[420B+430B+440 +450] in Figure 4A (The second channel 120B may include a sensing unit 122B, an amplifier 124B, and a signal processing circuit 126B; Paragraph [0019] Line 1-3; a gain adjustment circuit 130; Paragraph [0016] Line 4; an amplifier 124B, and a signal processing circuit 126B and a gain adjustment circuit 130 is considered as the second circuitry in Figure 1 or an amplifier 420B, and a signal processing circuit 430B and a gain adjustment circuit 440 and gain code generator 450 is considered as the second circuitry in Figure 4) that is configured to adjust a gain of the PGA [124A] based on the second magnetic field signal [122B] (The gain adjustment circuit 130 may be configured to correct for sensitivity mismatch between the sensing units 122A and 122B by adjusting the gain of at least one of the amplifiers 124A and 124B. More particularly, the gain adjustment circuit 130 may be configured generate a gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ based on a difference of the signals 125A and 125B; Paragraph [0020] Line 1-7; The gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ may be a differential signal having a first component and a second component. The first component of the gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ may be used to adjust the gain of the amplifier 124A: Paragraph [0020] Line 7-11), thereby causing a gain of the PGA to be increased or decreased based on a strength of the magnetic field at a location of the one or more second magnetic field sensing elements (FIG. 4C is a state diagram providing an example of one aspect of the operation of the sensor 400. As illustrated, at any given time of its operation, the sensor 400 may be in one of a calibration state 450A and an operating state 450B. When the sensor 400 is in the calibration state 450A: (i) the magnetic field generator 410 generates a reference magnetic field, (ii) the gain adjustment circuit generates a gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ, (iii) the gain code generator generates a first gain code and a second gain code, (iv) the first gain code is used to control the gain of the first amplifier 420A, and (v) the second gain code is used to control the gain of the second amplifier 420B; Paragraph [0091] Line 1-1-12; The gain code generator 450 may include a window comparator 452,……. A digital sample may fall within a particular range if the digital sample is greater than or equal to the lower bound of the range and less than or equal to the upper bound of the range. The gain code processor 456 may retrieve the contents of the accumulator register 454 and generate a first gain control code and a second gain control code. The first gain control code may be digitized to produce a gain control signal GC_1 and the second gain control code may be converted to analog form to produce a second gain control signal GC_2. The first gain control signal GC_1 may be applied at a gain control terminal of the first amplifier 420A and used to set the gain of the first amplifier 420A. The second gain control signal GC_2 may be applied at a gain control terminal of the second amplifier 420B and used to set the gain of the second amplifier 420B; Paragraph [0089] Line 1-32; In some implementations, the first gain control code and the second gain control code may be complementary, meaning that when one increases, the other one may decrease. Additionally or alternatively, in some implementations, the first gain control code may be based on the value that is stored in the accumulator register 454 and the second gain control code may be based on the difference between the value that is stored in the accumulator register 454 and the maximum value that can be stored in the accumulator register 454; Paragraph [0090] Line 1-10; therefore, a gain of the PGA causes to be increased or decreased based on a strength of the magnetic field at a location of the one or more second magnetic field sensing elements);
wherein adjusting the gain of the PGA includes generating a gain adjustment signal [GAIN_ADJ] (The gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ may be a differential signal having a first component and a second component. The first component of the gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ may be used to adjust the gain of the amplifier 124A: Paragraph [0020] Line 7-11), and
applying the gain adjustment signal at a control terminal of the PGA [124A] (The gain adjustment circuit 130 may be configured to correct for sensitivity mismatch between the sensing units 122A and 122B by adjusting the gain of at least one of the amplifiers 124A and 124B. More particularly, the gain adjustment circuit 130 may be configured generate a gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ based on a difference of the signals 125A and 125B; Paragraph [0020] Line 1-7).
Rubinsztain fails to teach wherein wherein the gain adjustment signal is generated based on a data structure that is implemented by using a memory of the compensation circuit, the data structure including a plurality of entries, each of the entries mapping a different range of values for the second magnetic field signal to a different corresponding value of the gain adjustment signal.
Latham teaches magnetic field sensors and, more particularly, to magnetic field sensors having circuitry to sense and adjust a sensitivity of the magnetic field sensors to a magnetic field (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4),
wherein the gain adjustment signal [R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N] is generated based on a data structure that is implemented by using a memory [412] in Figure 5 of the compensation circuit (a memory configured to store reference gains associated with the plurality of magnetic field sensing elements; and a gain equalization circuit having inputs coupled to outputs of the plurality of magnetic field sensing elements and a plurality of outputs, the gain equalization circuit configured to extract a reference signal and an external signal from each of the plurality of magnetic field sensing element output signals, to measure a gain of each of the plurality of reference signals, to compare the measured gains to the reference gains, and to adjust the gain of the external signals based on the comparing; Paragraph [0015] Line 10-21; In a second step, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may compare the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N (which, as indicated above, may be absolute gains or relative gains) to reference gains in order to calculate the gain adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N. The reference gains may be stored within memory 412. In some embodiments, the reference gains may include N absolute gains (herein denoted R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N), one for each of the N sensing elements 402. The absolute reference gains R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N can be directly compared to respective ones of the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N. For example, the ith gain adjustment value may be calculated as K.sub.i=R.sub.i/G.sub.i; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-12; Latham in the memory stores reference gain values for plurality of magnetic field sensing elements and compares with the measured gains),
the data structure including a plurality of entries, each of the entries mapping a different range of values for the second magnetic field signal to a different corresponding value of the gain adjustment signal (In a second step, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may compare the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N (which, as indicated above, may be absolute gains or relative gains) to reference gains in order to calculate the gain adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N. The reference gains may be stored within memory 412. In some embodiments, the reference gains may include N absolute gains (herein denoted R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N), one for each of the N sensing elements 402. The absolute reference gains R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N can be directly compared to respective ones of the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N. For example, the ith gain adjustment value may be calculated as K.sub.i=R.sub.i/G.sub.i. In other embodiments, the reference gains may include relative gains between two or more of the sensing elements 402. The relative reference gains may be expressed as ratios, where the relative reference gain between the ith and jth sensing elements is herein denoted R.sub.i:j. Here, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may select adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N such that the ratio of measured gains multiplied by the respective gain adjustment values equals the reference ratios; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-20; Data structure is created by different gain adjustment signal by different magnetic field of the magnetic field sensing element. Therefore, Latham discloses N absolute gains which is the plurality of entries and then mentioned that ith gain adjustment value which represents as the range of the plurality of entries. Claim does not recite any specific ranges or any parameter for the ranges. Therefore, ith and jth sensing elements can be considered as the different ranges of values for the broadest reasonable interpretation). The purpose of doing so is to maintain gain equalization in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity, to extract a reference signal and an external signal from each of the plurality of magnetic field sensing element output signals, to measure a gain of each of the plurality of reference signals, to compare the measured gains to the reference gains, and to adjust the gain of the external signals based on the comparing, to support the magnetic field sensing element.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rubinsztain in view of Latham to include each of a plurality of values of the second magnetic field signal to a respective value of the gain adjustment signal, because Latham teaches to include each of a plurality of values of the magnetic field signal to a respective value of the gain adjustment signal maintains gain equalization in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]), extracts a reference signal and an external signal from each of the plurality of magnetic field sensing element output signals, measures a gain of each of the plurality of reference signals, compares the measured gains to the reference gains, and adjusts the gain of the external signals based on the comparing (Paragraph [0015]), supports the magnetic field sensing element (Paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 19, Rubinsztain fails to teach a device, wherein the magnetic field sensor and the compensation circuit are disposed in a same package.
Latham teaches magnetic field sensors and, more particularly, to magnetic field sensors having circuitry to sense and adjust a sensitivity of the magnetic field sensors to a magnetic field (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4),
wherein the magnetic field sensor and the compensation circuit are disposed in a same package (Magnetic field sensors employ a variety of types of magnetic field sensing elements, for example, Hall effect elements and magnetoresistance elements, often coupled to a variety of electronics, all supported by a common substrate; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5; Referring to FIG. 2, a structure 200 may be used for three-dimensional (3D) magnetic field sensing, according to one embodiment. The structure 200 may include three magnetic field sensing elements (or “sensing elements”) 202a, 202b, 202c and a coil structure 204. In some embodiments, the structure 200 may be provided as an integrated circuit (IC) substrate; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-7; Paragraph [0054]). The purpose of doing so is to maintain gain equalization in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity, to support the magnetic field sensing element.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rubinsztain in view of Latham to dispose the magnetic field sensor and the compensation circuit in a same package, because Latham teaches to include each of a plurality of values of the magnetic field signal to a respective value of the gain adjustment signal, and to dispose the magnetic field sensor and the compensation circuit in a same package maintains gain equalization in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]), supports the magnetic field sensing element (Paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 20, Rubinsztain fails to teach a device, wherein the first circuitry is configured to adjust a gain and/or offset of the amplified signal based on at least one of temperature, humidity, and/or stress.
Latham teaches magnetic field sensors and, more particularly, to magnetic field sensors having circuitry to sense and adjust a sensitivity of the magnetic field sensors to a magnetic field (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4), wherein
wherein the first circuitry is configured to adjust a gain and/or offset of the amplified signal based on at least one of temperature, humidity, and/or stress (The magnetic field sensing elements 302a, 302b may have sensitivities S.sub.1 and S.sub.2, respectively. The sensitivities S.sub.1 and S.sub.2 may vary with temperature, stress, and other conditions imposed, for example, on an IC substrate; Paragraph [0061] Line 1-4; The sensor 104 may further include a coil structure and a gain equalization circuit that, together, can be used to equalize the gain of the magnetic field sensing elements in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity; Paragraph [0046] Line 3-8). The purpose of doing so is to equalize the gain of the magnetic field sensing elements in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity, to accurately control over temperature, stress, etc.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rubinsztain in view of Latham to adjust a gain and/or offset of the amplified signal based on at least one of temperature, humidity, and/or stress, because Latham teaches to adjust a gain and/or offset of the amplified signal based on at least one of temperature, humidity, and/or stress, equalizes the gain of the magnetic field sensing elements in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity (Paragraph [0046), accurately controls over temperature, stress, etc. (Paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 21, Rubinsztain teaches a device, wherein:
each of the first magnetic field sensing elements [122A]/ [418A] includes one of a Hall effect element, a giant magnetoresistor (GMR), or a tunnel magnetoresistor (TMR) (The sensing unit 122A may include one or more Hall elements. For example, the sensing unit 122A may include a chopper-stabilized bridge circuit (e.g., a Wheatstone bridge) that is formed of Hall elements; Paragraph [0018] Line 3-6), and
each of the second magnetic field sensing elements [122B]/[418B] includes one of a Hall effect element, a giant magnetoresistor (GMR), or a tunnel magnetoresistor (TMR) (The sensing unit 122B may include one or more Hall elements. For example, the sensing unit 122B may include a chopper-stabilized bridge circuit (e.g., a Wheatstone bridge) that is formed of Hall elements; Paragraph [0019] Line 3-6).
Regarding claim 22, Rubinsztain teaches a method for use in a magnetic field sensor (A sensor includes: a reference magnetic field generator configured to generate a reference magnetic field that is modulated at a first frequency (Abstract); FIG. 1 is a diagram of an example of a sensor 100; Paragraph [0016] Line 1; FIG. 4A is a diagram of an example of a sensor 400; Paragraph [0075] Line 1), comprising:
generating by a signal processing circuit [126B/A] (The signal processing circuit 230A may include a modulator 232A, a low-pass filter 223A, and a sinc filter 238A. The modulator 232A may be configured to demodulate the first amplified signal AS_1 at the chopping frequency MOD_2 to produce a demodulated signal AS_1′. The low-pass filter 223A may include a capacitor having a capacitance C and an amplifier having internal transconductance 1/R, as shown; Paragraph [0027] Line 1-11), a first magnetic field signal [123 A] (The sensing unit 122A may be configured to generate a signal 123A; Paragraph [0018] Line 6-7) by using one or more first magnetic field sensing elements [122A]/[418A in Figure 4A] (a sensing unit 122A of the first channel 120A; Paragraph [0017] Line 3-4), the first magnetic field signal [123A] being generated in response to a magnetic field (a sensor is provided comprising: a reference magnetic field generator configured to generate a reference magnetic field; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3; magnetic field generator 110 generates magnetic field),
generating, by a gain adjustment circuit [130] a second magnetic field signal [123B] (The sensing unit 122B may be configured to generate a signal 123B. The amplifier 124B may be configured to amplify the signal 123B to produce a signal 125B; Paragraph [0019] Line 6-9) by using one or more second magnetic field sensing elements [122B]/418B (The second channel 120B may include a sensing unit 122B; Paragraph [0019] Line 1-2), the second magnetic field signal [123B] being generated in response to the magnetic field (The sensing unit 122B may be configured to generate a signal 123B. The amplifier 124B may be configured to amplify the signal 123B to produce a signal 125B; Paragraph [0019] Line 6-9), and
generating, by the signal processing circuit [126A/B], an output signal [OUT_1] at least in part by adjusting a gain [GAIN_ADJ] of the first magnetic field signal [123A] based on the second magnetic field signal [123B-125B] (The gain adjustment circuit 130 may be configured to correct for sensitivity mismatch between the sensing units 122A and 122B by adjusting the gain of at least one of the amplifiers 124A and 124B. More particularly, the gain adjustment circuit 130 may be configured generate a gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ based on a difference of the signals 125A and 125B; Paragraph [0020] Line 1-7); The gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ may be a differential signal having a first component and a second component. The first component of the gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ may be used to adjust the gain of the amplifier 124A: Paragraph [0020] Line 7-11);
wherein adjusting the gain of the first magnetic field signal includes generating a gain adjustment signal [GAIN_ADJ] (The gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ may be a differential signal having a first component and a second component. The first component of the gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ may be used to adjust the gain of the amplifier 124A: Paragraph [0020] Line 7-11), and
applying the gain adjustment signal at a control terminal of a programmable gain amplifier (PGA) that is configured to amplify the first magnetic field signal (The gain adjustment circuit 130 may be configured to correct for sensitivity mismatch between the sensing units 122A and 122B by adjusting the gain of at least one of the amplifiers 124A and 124B. More particularly, the gain adjustment circuit 130 may be configured generate a gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ based on a difference of the signals 125A and 125B; Paragraph [0020] Line 1-7).
Rubinsztain fails to teach wherein the gain adjustment signal is generated based on a data structure that is implemented by using a memory of the compensation circuit, the data structure including a plurality of entries, each of the entries mapping a different range of values for the second magnetic field signal to a different corresponding value of the gain adjustment signal.
Latham teaches magnetic field sensors and, more particularly, to magnetic field sensors having circuitry to sense and adjust a sensitivity of the magnetic field sensors to a magnetic field (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4),
wherein the gain adjustment signal [R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N] is generated based on a data structure that is implemented by using a memory [412] in Figure 5 of the compensation circuit (a memory configured to store reference gains associated with the plurality of magnetic field sensing elements; and a gain equalization circuit having inputs coupled to outputs of the plurality of magnetic field sensing elements and a plurality of outputs, the gain equalization circuit configured to extract a reference signal and an external signal from each of the plurality of magnetic field sensing element output signals, to measure a gain of each of the plurality of reference signals, to compare the measured gains to the reference gains, and to adjust the gain of the external signals based on the comparing; Paragraph [0015] Line 10-21; In a second step, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may compare the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N (which, as indicated above, may be absolute gains or relative gains) to reference gains in order to calculate the gain adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N. The reference gains may be stored within memory 412. In some embodiments, the reference gains may include N absolute gains (herein denoted R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N), one for each of the N sensing elements 402. The absolute reference gains R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N can be directly compared to respective ones of the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N. For example, the ith gain adjustment value may be calculated as K.sub.i=R.sub.i/G.sub.i; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-12; Latham in the memory stores reference gain values for plurality of magnetic field sensing elements and compares with the measured gains),
the data structure including a plurality of entries, each of the entries mapping a different range of values for the second magnetic field signal to a different corresponding value of the gain adjustment signal (In a second step, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may compare the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N (which, as indicated above, may be absolute gains or relative gains) to reference gains in order to calculate the gain adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N. The reference gains may be stored within memory 412. In some embodiments, the reference gains may include N absolute gains (herein denoted R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N), one for each of the N sensing elements 402. The absolute reference gains R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N can be directly compared to respective ones of the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N. For example, the ith gain adjustment value may be calculated as K.sub.i=R.sub.i/G.sub.i. In other embodiments, the reference gains may include relative gains between two or more of the sensing elements 402. The relative reference gains may be expressed as ratios, where the relative reference gain between the ith and jth sensing elements is herein denoted R.sub.i:j. Here, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may select adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N such that the ratio of measured gains multiplied by the respective gain adjustment values equals the reference ratios; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-20; Data structure is created by different gain adjustment signal by different magnetic field of the magnetic field sensing element. Therefore, Latham discloses N absolute gains which is the plurality of entries and then mentioned that ith gain adjustment value which represents as the range of the plurality of entries. Claim does not recite any specific ranges or any parameter for the ranges. Therefore, ith and jth sensing elements can be considered as the different ranges of values for the broadest reasonable interpretation). The purpose of doing so is to maintain gain equalization in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity, to extract a reference signal and an external signal from each of the plurality of magnetic field sensing element output signals, to measure a gain of each of the plurality of reference signals, to compare the measured gains to the reference gains, and to adjust the gain of the external signals based on the comparing, to support the magnetic field sensing element.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rubinsztain in view of Latham to include each of a plurality of values of the second magnetic field signal to a respective value of the gain adjustment signal, because Latham teaches to include each of a plurality of values of the magnetic field signal to a respective value of the gain adjustment signal maintains gain equalization in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]), extracts a reference signal and an external signal from each of the plurality of magnetic field sensing element output signals, measures a gain of each of the plurality of reference signals, compares the measured gains to the reference gains, and adjusts the gain of the external signals based on the comparing (Paragraph [0015]), supports the magnetic field sensing element (Paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 23, Rubinsztain fails to teach a method, wherein generating the gain adjustment signal based on the data structure includes: (i) determining an instant value of the second magnetic field signal; (ii) searching the data structure based on the instant value of the second magnetic field signal; and (iii) identifying. based on the search, a value of the gain adjustment signal that is mapped to a range of values that includes the instant value of the second magnetic field signal.
Latham teaches magnetic field sensors and, more particularly, to magnetic field sensors having circuitry to sense and adjust a sensitivity of the magnetic field sensors to a magnetic field (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4),
wherein generating the gain adjustment signal based on the data structure includes: (i) determining an instant value of the second magnetic field signal (In a second step, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may compare the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N (which, as indicated above, may be absolute gains or relative gains) to reference gains in order to calculate the gain adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N. The reference gains may be stored within memory 412. In some embodiments, the reference gains may include N absolute gains (herein denoted R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N), one for each of the N sensing elements 402. The absolute reference gains R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N can be directly compared to respective ones of the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N. For example, the ith gain adjustment value may be calculated as K.sub.i=R.sub.i/G.sub.i; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-12),
(ii) searching the data structure based on the instant value of the second magnetic field signal; and (iii) identifying. based on the search, a value of the gain adjustment signal that is mapped to a range of values that includes the instant value of the second magnetic field signal (In a second step, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may compare the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N (which, as indicated above, may be absolute gains or relative gains) to reference gains in order to calculate the gain adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N. The reference gains may be stored within memory 412. In some embodiments, the reference gains may include N absolute gains (herein denoted R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N), one for each of the N sensing elements 402. The absolute reference gains R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N can be directly compared to respective ones of the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N. For example, the ith gain adjustment value may be calculated as K.sub.i=R.sub.i/G.sub.i. In other embodiments, the reference gains may include relative gains between two or more of the sensing elements 402. The relative reference gains may be expressed as ratios, where the relative reference gain between the ith and jth sensing elements is herein denoted R.sub.i:j. Here, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may select adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N such that the ratio of measured gains multiplied by the respective gain adjustment values equals the reference ratios; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-20; Data structure is created by different gain adjustment signal by different magnetic field of the magnetic field sensing element. Therefore, Latham discloses N absolute gains which is the plurality of entries and then mentioned that ith gain adjustment value which represents as the range of the plurality of entries. Claim does not recite any specific ranges or any parameter for the ranges. Therefore, ith and jth sensing elements can be considered as the different ranges of values for the broadest reasonable interpretation). The purpose of doing so is to maintain gain equalization in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity, to extract a reference signal and an external signal from each of the plurality of magnetic field sensing element output signals, to measure a gain of each of the plurality of reference signals, to compare the measured gains to the reference gains, and to adjust the gain of the external signals based on the comparing, to support the magnetic field sensing element.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rubinsztain in view of Latham to generate the gain adjustment signal based on the data structure, because Latham teaches to generate the gain adjustment signal based on the data structure maintains gain equalization in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]), extracts a reference signal and an external signal from each of the plurality of magnetic field sensing element output signals, measures a gain of each of the plurality of reference signals, compares the measured gains to the reference gains, and adjusts the gain of the external signals based on the comparing (Paragraph [0015]), supports the magnetic field sensing element (Paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 24, Rubinsztain teaches a method,
wherein applying the gain adjustment signal at a control terminal of the PGA (The gain adjustment circuit 130 may be configured to correct for sensitivity mismatch between the sensing units 122A and 122B by adjusting the gain of at least one of the amplifiers 124A and 124B. More particularly, the gain adjustment circuit 130 may be configured generate a gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ based on a difference of the signals 125A and 125B; Paragraph [0020] Line 1-7; The gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ may be a differential signal having a first component and a second component. The first component of the gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ may be used to adjust the gain of the amplifier 124A: Paragraph [0020] Line 7-11) causes a gain of the PGA to increase or decrease based on a strength of the magnetic field at a location of the one or more second magnetic field sensing elements (FIG. 4C is a state diagram providing an example of one aspect of the operation of the sensor 400. As illustrated, at any given time of its operation, the sensor 400 may be in one of a calibration state 450A and an operating state 450B. When the sensor 400 is in the calibration state 450A: (i) the magnetic field generator 410 generates a reference magnetic field, (ii) the gain adjustment circuit generates a gain adjustment signal GAIN_ADJ, (iii) the gain code generator generates a first gain code and a second gain code, (iv) the first gain code is used to control the gain of the first amplifier 420A, and (v) the second gain code is used to control the gain of the second amplifier 420B. According to the example of FIGS. 4A-C, the first and second gain codes are used to correct for a sensitivity mismatch between the first Hall-effect sensing unit 418A and the second Hall-effect sensing unit 418B by adjusting the respective gains of amplifiers 420A and 420B. When the sensor 400 is in the operating state 250A: (i) the sensor 400 senses an external magnetic field, and (ii) generates output signals OUT_X and OUT_Y based on the external magnetic field; Paragraph [0091] Line 1-20; FIG. 4A is a diagram of an example of a sensor 400, according to aspects of the disclosure. The sensor 400 may include a magnetic field generator 410, a first Hall-effect sensing unit 418A and a second Hall-effect sensing unit 418B, amplifiers 420A-B, signal processing circuits 430A-B, a gain adjustment circuit 440, and a gain code generator 450; Paragraph [0075] Line 1-7).
Regarding claim 26, Rubinsztain fails to teach a device, wherein generating the gain adjustment signal based on the data structure includes: (i) determining an instant value of the second magnetic field signal; (ii) searching the data structure based on the instant value of the second magnetic field signal; and (iii) identifying. based on the search, a value of the gain adjustment signal that is mapped to a range of values that includes the instant value of the second magnetic field signal.
Latham teaches magnetic field sensors and, more particularly, to magnetic field sensors having circuitry to sense and adjust a sensitivity of the magnetic field sensors to a magnetic field (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4),
wherein generating the gain adjustment signal based on the data structure includes: (i) determining an instant value of the second magnetic field signal (In a second step, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may compare the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N (which, as indicated above, may be absolute gains or relative gains) to reference gains in order to calculate the gain adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N. The reference gains may be stored within memory 412. In some embodiments, the reference gains may include N absolute gains (herein denoted R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N), one for each of the N sensing elements 402. The absolute reference gains R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N can be directly compared to respective ones of the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N. For example, the ith gain adjustment value may be calculated as K.sub.i=R.sub.i/G.sub.i; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-12),
(ii) searching the data structure based on the instant value of the second magnetic field signal; and (iii) identifying. based on the search, a value of the gain adjustment signal that is mapped to a range of values that includes the instant value of the second magnetic field signal (In a second step, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may compare the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N (which, as indicated above, may be absolute gains or relative gains) to reference gains in order to calculate the gain adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N. The reference gains may be stored within memory 412. In some embodiments, the reference gains may include N absolute gains (herein denoted R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N), one for each of the N sensing elements 402. The absolute reference gains R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N can be directly compared to respective ones of the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N. For example, the ith gain adjustment value may be calculated as K.sub.i=R.sub.i/G.sub.i. In other embodiments, the reference gains may include relative gains between two or more of the sensing elements 402. The relative reference gains may be expressed as ratios, where the relative reference gain between the ith and jth sensing elements is herein denoted R.sub.i:j. Here, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may select adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N such that the ratio of measured gains multiplied by the respective gain adjustment values equals the reference ratios; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-20; Data structure is created by different gain adjustment signal by different magnetic field of the magnetic field sensing element. Therefore, Latham discloses N absolute gains which is the plurality of entries and then mentioned that ith gain adjustment value which represents as the range of the plurality of entries. Claim does not recite any specific ranges or any parameter for the ranges. Therefore, ith and jth sensing elements can be considered as the different ranges of values for the broadest reasonable interpretation). The purpose of doing so is to maintain gain equalization in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity, to extract a reference signal and an external signal from each of the plurality of magnetic field sensing element output signals, to measure a gain of each of the plurality of reference signals, to compare the measured gains to the reference gains, and to adjust the gain of the external signals based on the comparing, to support the magnetic field sensing element.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rubinsztain in view of Latham to generate the gain adjustment signal based on the data structure, because Latham teaches to generate the gain adjustment signal based on the data structure maintains gain equalization in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]), extracts a reference signal and an external signal from each of the plurality of magnetic field sensing element output signals, measures a gain of each of the plurality of reference signals, compares the measured gains to the reference gains, and adjusts the gain of the external signals based on the comparing (Paragraph [0015]), supports the magnetic field sensing element (Paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 27, Rubinsztain fails to teach a device, wherein generating the gain adjustment signal based on the data structure includes: (i) determining an instant value of the second magnetic field signal; (ii) searching the data structure based on the instant value of the second magnetic field signal; and (iii) identifying. based on the search, a value of the gain adjustment signal that is mapped to a range of values that includes the instant value of the second magnetic field signal.
Latham teaches magnetic field sensors and, more particularly, to magnetic field sensors having circuitry to sense and adjust a sensitivity of the magnetic field sensors to a magnetic field (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4),
wherein generating the gain adjustment signal based on the data structure includes: (i) determining an instant value of the second magnetic field signal (In a second step, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may compare the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N (which, as indicated above, may be absolute gains or relative gains) to reference gains in order to calculate the gain adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N. The reference gains may be stored within memory 412. In some embodiments, the reference gains may include N absolute gains (herein denoted R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N), one for each of the N sensing elements 402. The absolute reference gains R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N can be directly compared to respective ones of the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N. For example, the ith gain adjustment value may be calculated as K.sub.i=R.sub.i/G.sub.i; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-12),
(ii) searching the data structure based on the instant value of the second magnetic field signal; and (iii) identifying. based on the search, a value of the gain adjustment signal that is mapped to a range of values that includes the instant value of the second magnetic field signal (In a second step, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may compare the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N (which, as indicated above, may be absolute gains or relative gains) to reference gains in order to calculate the gain adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N. The reference gains may be stored within memory 412. In some embodiments, the reference gains may include N absolute gains (herein denoted R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N), one for each of the N sensing elements 402. The absolute reference gains R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . R.sub.N can be directly compared to respective ones of the measured gains G.sub.1, G.sub.2, . . . G.sub.N. For example, the ith gain adjustment value may be calculated as K.sub.i=R.sub.i/G.sub.i. In other embodiments, the reference gains may include relative gains between two or more of the sensing elements 402. The relative reference gains may be expressed as ratios, where the relative reference gain between the ith and jth sensing elements is herein denoted R.sub.i:j. Here, the measurement-comparison processor 414 may select adjustment values K.sub.1, K.sub.2, . . . , K.sub.N such that the ratio of measured gains multiplied by the respective gain adjustment values equals the reference ratios; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-20; Data structure is created by different gain adjustment signal by different magnetic field of the magnetic field sensing element. Therefore, Latham discloses N absolute gains which is the plurality of entries and then mentioned that ith gain adjustment value which represents as the range of the plurality of entries. Claim does not recite any specific ranges or any parameter for the ranges. Therefore, ith and jth sensing elements can be considered as the different ranges of values for the broadest reasonable interpretation). The purpose of doing so is to maintain gain equalization in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity, to extract a reference signal and an external signal from each of the plurality of magnetic field sensing element output signals, to measure a gain of each of the plurality of reference signals, to compare the measured gains to the reference gains, and to adjust the gain of the external signals based on the comparing, to support the magnetic field sensing element.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rubinsztain in view of Latham to generate the gain adjustment signal based on the data structure, because Latham teaches to generate the gain adjustment signal based on the data structure maintains gain equalization in the presence of temperature, mechanical stress, and other phenomena that may affect sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]), extracts a reference signal and an external signal from each of the plurality of magnetic field sensing element output signals, measures a gain of each of the plurality of reference signals, compares the measured gains to the reference gains, and adjusts the gain of the external signals based on the comparing (Paragraph [0015]), supports the magnetic field sensing element (Paragraph [0036]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lu et al. (US 20180278185 A1) discloses, “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR THREE-PHASE MOTOR CONTROL WITH ERROR COMPENSATION-[Abstract] Method and apparatus for providing error compensation for a magnetic field sensing element in a three-phase motor. In embodiments, a driving angle is determined from zero-crossings of the magnet pole-pairs and error compensation levels for the pole-pairs is determined to reduce distortions in the motor current waveform. [0020] FIG. 1 shows an example motor control circuit 102 coupled to an electric motor 104 for providing magnetic field sensing element error compensation in accordance with example embodiments of the invention. In embodiments, errors corresponding to a magnetic sensing element 105, which can comprise a Hall element, are compensated for to enhance operational efficiency and acoustic performance of the overall system. [0025] The motor control circuit 102 can also include a signal processing module 143 and error compensation module 147 receiving feedback from the magnetic field sensing element (e.g., Hall sensor) 105. As described more fully below, errors can be identified and compensated for, such as by adjusting an offset of the Hall element. [0026] The signal processing module 143 is configured to generate a position reference signal indicative of a rotational reference position of the motor 104. The modulation signal generation module 146 is coupled to receive the position reference signal and configured to change a phase of the modulation waveforms provided to the PWM generator 108. [0027] The motor control circuit 102 can be coupled to receive a motor voltage VMOT, or simply VM, at a node 102a, which is supplied to the motor through the transistors 112, 116, 120 during times when the upper transistors 112, 116, 120 are turned on. It will be understood that there can be a small voltage drop (for example, 0.1 volts) through the transistors 112, 116, 120 when they are turned on and supplying current to the motor 104-However Lu does not disclose wherein the gain adjustment signal is generated based on a data structure that is implemented by using a memory of the compensation circuit. the data structure including a plurality of entries, each of the entries mapping a different range of values for the second magnetic field signal to a different corresponding value of the gain adjustment signal.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858