Claims 31-42 are presented for examination.
The amendments and remarks filed on 07/10/2026 have been received and entered.
Applicant is requested to provide a legible copy of the document cited on Information Disclosure Statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spargo et al. (WO 2016042313).
Spargo teaches a liquid pharmaceutical composition suitable for administration by inhalation which comprises a diluent and a suspension of particles of 9,10-dimethoxy-2-(2,4,6-trimethylphenylimino)-3-(N-carbamoyl-2-aminoethyl)-3,4,6,7-tetrahydro-2H-pyrimido[6,1-a]isoquinolin-4-one (RPL554) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. Also described is a liquid pharmaceutical composition according to the invention for use in the treatment of the human or animal body. See the abstract. Spargo teaches the concentrations of RPL554 being 0.01 mg/ml to about 40 mg/ml. See claim 4 and 14. Spargo teaches that the nominal dose of suspension formulation was approximately 1.5 mg, being essentially equivalent to the 0.018 mg/kg dose previously shown to be well-tolerated in clinical studies with the solution formulation. Spargo teaches the quantity administered via nebulizer was such that the nominal RPL554 dose was 0.018 mg/kg (-1.26 mg for a 70kg person). See example 7. The use of a jet nebulizer is taught in page 8. Spargo teaches a single dose of RPL 554 may be from 0.5 mg-3 mg. See Page 9. Spargo teaches disease or condition to be treated typically selected from asthma, allergic asthma, hay fever, allergic rhinitis, bronchitis, emphysema, bronchiectasis, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), adult respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), steroid resistant asthma, severe asthma, pediatric asthma, cystic fibrosis, lung fibrosis, pulmonary fibrosis, interstitial lung disease, skin disorders, atopic dermatitis, psoriasis, ocular inflammation, cerebral ischemia and auto-immune diseases. Preferably the method comprises treating asthma or chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), more preferably COPD. See Page 9. Spargo teaches an effective amount of RPL554 is often from about 0.01 mg/kg to 1 mg/kg for a single dose. For instance, an effective amount may be a dose of from about 0.1 mg to about 500 mg, or from about 0.1 mg to 100 mg, preferably from about 0.1 mg to about 6 mg. An effective amount may be from 0.1 mg to 12 mg. A single dose of RPL554 may be from 0.5 mg to 3 mg, for instance about 1.5 mg. Doses may be administered daily. For instance, the dose of RPL554 may be from 0.01 mg/kg/day to 50 mg/kg/day, typically from 0.01 mg/kg/day to 10 mg/kg/day or from 0.01 mg/kg/day to 1 mg/kg/day. These doses are typically the nominal dose emitted from the inhaler. The liquid pharmaceutical composition may be administered once, twice or three times a day, or may be administered twice, three times, four times or five times a week. The composition may be administered as often as required by the patient. See Page 9. The determination of the length of inhalation, the number of administration and the amounts delivered to the lungs of a patient is considered to be within the skill of the artisan. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to use the inhaler for a number of minutes on the as needed bases.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZOHREH A FAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617