DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to US App. 18/417,459. Claims 1-20 have been examined.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Lei Huang (US 2024/0283613; hereafter Huang).
Regarding Claim 1,
A wireless device comprising:
a controller configured to generate a trigger packet indicating that a plurality of wireless access points (APs) can join coordinated transmission with the wireless device; and a wireless transceiver configured to transmit the trigger packet to the wireless APs [Huang: 0005; receiving, by the AP as a shared AP, from another AP as a sharing AP, a trigger frame which is used to solicit extremely high throughput (EHT) multi-user (MU) physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) transmissions from one or more shared APs including the AP in a multi-AP coordinated downlink (DL) transmission; 0077; a sharing AP may transmit a Multi-AP Coordinated Transmission Trigger frame to solicit EHT MU PPDU transmissions from one or more shared APs in a multi-AP coordinated DL transmission; FIG. 4 illustrates an example multi-AP coordinated DL transmission. AP1, AP2 and AP3 belong to an AP candidate set; AP1 is the sharing AP which initiates the multi-AP coordinated DL transmission; and AP2 and AP3 are the shared APs which participate in the multi-AP coordinated DL transmission].
Regarding Claim 2,
wherein the wireless device comprises a wireless AP [Huang: 0077; FIG. 4 illustrates an example multi-AP coordinated DL transmission. AP1, AP2 and AP3 belong to an AP candidate set; AP1 is the sharing AP which initiates the multi-AP coordinated DL transmission; and AP2 and AP3 are the shared APs which participate in the multi-AP coordinated DL transmission].
Regarding Claim 3,
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to receive a response from the wireless APs [Huang: 0049; a multi-AP coordination may include a multi-AP coordination preparation phase and a multi-AP coordinated transmission phase; in the multi-AP coordination preparation phase, a sharing AP obtaining a TXOP and initiating the multi-AP coordination may transmit a first frame to one or more AP in the same AP candidate set to inquire about respective intentions to participate in the multi-AP coordination; each of the one or more AP will respond with a second frame to inform the sharing AP of whether it intends to participate in the multi-AP coordination; 0050; in an instant, AP1 may obtain a TXOP and initiate a multi-AP coordination as the sharing AP while AP2 and AP3 may participate as the shared APs in the multi-AP coordination; 0051; an AP may indicate configuration information and operational parameters of each AP candidate set of which it is a member in transmitted Beacon and/or Probe Response frames; the configuration information and operational parameters of an AP candidate set may include SSID, Short SSID, VBSSID, VBSS color, BSSID of each member AP excluding the transmitting AP, BSS color of each member AP excluding the transmitting AP; and/or supported multi-AP coordinated transmission schemes], and
wherein the controller is further configured to generate a control packet to indicate a mode of transmission based on the response from the wireless APs to the trigger packet [Huang: 0049; an AP candidate set is a set of MAPC capable APs that can initiate or participate in a multi-AP coordination; 0051; an AP candidate set forms a virtual BSS (VBSS), which may be identified by a MAC address (i.e., VBSSID); an AP candidate set or a VBSS can also be identified by a VBSS color; in one embodiment, VBSS colors are in a same value space with BSS colors; in this case, the value range of a VBSS color does not overlap with the value range of a BSS color; for example, the value of a BSS color ranges from 0 to N; and the value of a VBSS color ranges from N+1 to 63; where N is a positive integer ranging from 1 to 62 and the value of N is pre-defined or configurable; the value of N may be indicated in the Beacon, Probe Response frame, Association Response frame and/or Reassociation Response frame; an AP may indicate configuration information and operational parameters of each AP candidate set of which it is a member in transmitted Beacon and/or Probe Response frames; the configuration information and operational parameters of an AP candidate set may include SSID, Short SSID, VBSSID, VBSS color, BSSID of each member AP excluding the transmitting AP, BSS color of each member AP excluding the transmitting AP; and/or supported multi-AP coordinated transmission schemes; 0084; an example format of the Trigger Dependent Common Info subfield is defined in FIG. 7B; the Multi-AP Coordinated Transmission Type subfield indicates the type of a multi-AP coordinated transmission; for example, the Multi-AP Coordinated Transmission Type subfield is set to a first value (e.g., 0) to indicate a multi-AP coordinated DL OFDMA transmission; set to a second value (e.g., 1) to indicate a multi-AP joint DL transmission; set to a third value (e.g., 2) to indicate a multi-AP coordinated UL OFDMA transmission; and set to a fourth value (e.g., 3) to indicate a multi-AP coordinated UL MU-MIMO transmission; 0120; in some embodiments, the special user information field or the EHT variant common information field includes a multi-AP coordinated transmission type subfield which indicates a type of the multi-AP coordinated DL transmission].
Note:
Association Response frame (mapped to control packet) is based on responses from member APs. Transmission type indication is inherent in Association Response frame.
Regarding Claim 4,
wherein the trigger packet comprises a trigger physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) [Huang: 0077; a sharing AP may transmit a Multi-AP Coordinated Transmission Trigger frame to solicit EHT MU PPDU transmissions from one or more shared APs in a multi-AP coordinated DL transmission; 0078; an example format of the Multi-AP Coordinated Transmission Trigger frame format is illustrated in FIG. 5].
Regarding Claim 5,
wherein the response from the wireless APs comprises a clear-to-send (CTS) packet [Huang: CTS == second frame; 0049; each of the one or more AP will respond with a second frame to inform the sharing AP of whether it intends to participate in the multi-AP coordination].
Note:
CTS is satisfied by responding with an intention to participate via a second frame.
Regarding Claim 19, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claims 1 and 3 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 1 and 3 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 20, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claim 1, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 1 is applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Wang et al. (KR-2015-0082558; hereafter Wang).
Regarding Claim 6,
Huang teaches:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to receive a clear-to-send (CTS) packet from one of the wireless APs [Huang: 0049; each of the one or more AP will respond with a second frame to inform the sharing AP of whether it intends to participate in the multi-AP coordination], and
However, Huang does not teach that the controller is further configured to generate a control packet to indicate a Joint transmission (JTx) mode or a Co-ordinated Beamforming (CBF) mode based on the CTS packet.
Wang teaches:
wherein the controller is further configured to generate a control packet to indicate a Joint transmission (JTx) mode or a Co-ordinated Beamforming (CBF) mode based on the CTS packet [Wang: p. 21; Fig. 15 illustrates an example of a contention-based parallel joint transmission procedure 1500; the AAP 1501 and the ATAP 1502 may listen to each other's beacons and determine their mutual transmission capabilities; The AAP 1501 may set the JTS using the concurrent collective send request 1510; a joint transmission request 1510 may be transmitted as a pending JTS on the same WiFi medium 1505 … the ATAP 1502 may respond by sending a joint transmission response 1512 that either accepts or rejects the JTS on the same medium used to transmit the joint transmission request 1510; p. 22; the AAP 1501 and / or the ATAP 1502 may notify the R-WTRU 1503 of the pending contention-based concurrent JTS using the common transmission notification 1514 frame; alternatively, the AAP 1501 and / or the ATAP 1502 may include a public transmission notification 1514 IE in their beacons, short beacons or any other type of frame to achieve the same purpose].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang and Wang in order to improve throughput performance and reduce interference [Wang: p. 2].
Regarding Claim 7,
Huang teaches:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to receive a clear-to-send (CTS) packet from each of the wireless APs [Huang: 0049; each of the one or more AP will respond with a second frame to inform the sharing AP of whether it intends to participate in the multi-AP coordination], and
However, Huang does not teach that the controller is further configured to generate a control packet to indicate a Joint transmission (JTx) mode or a Co-ordinated Beamforming (CBF) mode … based on the CTS packets.
Wang teaches:
wherein the controller is further configured to generate a control packet to indicate a Joint transmission (JTx) mode, a Co-ordinated Beamforming (CBF) mode, or a multi-AP transmission with interference alignment (MAP-IA) mode based on the CTS packets [Wang: p. 21; Fig. 15 illustrates an example of a contention-based parallel joint transmission procedure 1500; the AAP 1501 and the ATAP 1502 may listen to each other's beacons and determine their mutual transmission capabilities; The AAP 1501 may set the JTS using the concurrent collective send request 1510; a joint transmission request 1510 may be transmitted as a pending JTS on the same WiFi medium 1505 … the ATAP 1502 may respond by sending a joint transmission response 1512 that either accepts or rejects the JTS on the same medium used to transmit the joint transmission request 1510; p. 22; the AAP 1501 and / or the ATAP 1502 may notify the R-WTRU 1503 of the pending contention-based concurrent JTS using the common transmission notification 1514 frame; alternatively, the AAP 1501 and / or the ATAP 1502 may include a public transmission notification 1514 IE in their beacons, short beacons or any other type of frame to achieve the same purpose].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang and Wang in order to improve throughput performance and reduce interference [Wang: p. 2].
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Guo et al. (CN 113395701; hereafter Guo) and further in view of Tsodik et al. (US 2023/0361815; hereafter Tsodik).
Regarding Claim 8,
Huang teaches that if the Multi-AP Coordinated Transmission Trigger frame is used to solicit EHT MU PPDU transmissions from more than one shared APs, the RA field is set to a broadcast address [Huang: 0079].
However, Huang does not teach that a receiver address (RA) field and a transmitter address (TA) field of a plurality of null data packet announcement (NDPA) frames are repurposed to carry a broadcast address of a MAP sounding procedure set of the wireless APs.
Guo teaches:
wherein a receiver address (RA) field … of a plurality of null data packet announcement (NDPA) frames are repurposed to carry a broadcast address of a MAP sounding procedure set of the wireless APs [Guo: p. 29; the transfer frame is used for transferring: the first device is the rest time resource in the time resource distributed by the second device. the next second device after receiving the transfer frame, can be directly transmitted … a possible design, the transfer frame can be QoS Null frame; for example, the receiving address RA can be set as a broadcast address, and the more data field in the frame control can be set to 0].
However, Huang-Guo does not teach that a transmitter address (TA) field of a plurality of null data packet announcement (NDPA) frames are repurposed to carry a broadcast address of a MAP sounding procedure set of the wireless APs.
Tsodik teaches:
wherein … a transmitter address (TA) field of a plurality of null data packet announcement (NDPA) frames are repurposed to carry a broadcast address of a MAP sounding procedure set of the wireless APs [Tsodik: 0045; the announcement frame is a Joint Null Data Packet Announcement, Joint NDPA, frame of a new frame type that is different from existing NDPA frame types according to the IEEE 802.11be WiFi standard; 0046; this new frame type supports the sounding procedure for Multi-AP coordinated transmission with multiple APs and multiple STAs associated with different APs; 0049; in an exemplary implementation of the network device, the announcement frame comprises an indication of a broadcast transmitter address (TA), e.g. as illustrated in FIG. 4].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang, Guo, and Tsodik in order to reduce inter-cell interference through the cooperation between the AP [Guo: p. 2] and to support sounding procedure that involves multiple APs and multiple STAs associated with different AP [Tsodik: 0005].
Claim(s) 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Cherian et al. (US 2021/0152396; hereafter Cherian) and further in view of Xia et al. (WO 2014/066785; hereafter Xia).
Regarding Claim 9,
Huang teaches that FIG. 4 illustrates an example multi-AP coordinated DL transmission. AP1, AP2 and AP3 belong to an AP candidate set [Huang: 0077].
However, Huang does not teach that a plurality of null data packet announcement (NDPA) frames and a plurality of null data packets are transmitted simultaneously by the wireless device.
Cherian teaches:
wherein a plurality of null data packet announcement (NDPA) frames and a plurality of null data packets are transmitted simultaneously by the wireless device and the wireless APs to obtain a plurality of channel estimation feedback reports from a plurality of stations (STAs) [Cherian: 0061; any one of the APs (which in FIG. 4 is shown as the AP 405a) transmits a NDP announcement (NDPA) frame; the NDPA may be a control frame that indicates an NDP is going to be transmitted. In some implementations, the NDPA includes information identifying one or more STAs 415a and 415c that the upcoming NDP is directed to, so the one or more STAs receiving the NDPA know to listen for the NDP to perform channel measurements; 0065; After the AP 405a transmits the NDPA, each of the APs 405a, 405b, and 405c transmits an NDP at the same time (such as during the same TTI); 0072; as shown, the STAs 415a and 415c may transmit the channel feedback information in parallel (such as using uplink Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiple Access (UL-OFDMA), UL MU-MIMO, etc.). However, in some implementations, the STAs may transmit the feedback information serially (such as sequentially)].
However, Huang-Cherian does not teach a plurality of null data packet announcement (NDPA) frames … are transmitted simultaneously by the wireless device and the wireless APs ….
Xia teaches:
a plurality of null data packet announcement (NDPA) frames … are transmitted simultaneously by the wireless device and the wireless APs … [Xia: 0184; In the procedure 2500 shown in Figure 25(a), API 2502 and AP2 2504 may send out NDPA frames 2508, 2510].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang, Cherian, and Xia in order to improve the accuracy of the beamforming based on the feedback information [Cherian: 0030] and to perform sectorized transmission [Xia: 0196].
Regarding Claim 10,
Huang teaches that FIG. 4 illustrates an example multi-AP coordinated DL transmission. AP1, AP2 and AP3 belong to an AP candidate set [Huang: 0077].
However, Huang does not teach that the controller is further configured to compute a precoding vector based on the channel estimation feedback reports.
Cherian teaches:
wherein the controller is further configured to compute a precoding vector based on the channel estimation feedback reports [Cherian: 0049; the STA 115 may generate channel feedback information (such as a feedback matrix) based on the channel measurements, and send the feedback matrix to the AP 105; using the feedback matrix, the AP 105 may derive a steering matrix, which the AP 105 uses to determine how to transmit a signal on each antenna 235 of the AP 105 to perform beamforming].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang and Cherian in order to improve the accuracy of the beamforming based on the feedback information [Cherian: 0030].
Regarding Claim 11,
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to transmit a plurality of Long training fields (LTFs), and wherein a number of the LTFs is a function of a total number of streams across the wireless device and the wireless APs [Huang: 0057; in a multi-AP coordinated DL transmission, EHT MU PPDUs transmitted by two or more of sharing AP and shared AP(s) shall have a same number of EHT-SIG symbols, a same GI and EHT-LTF type, a same number of EHT-LTF symbols and a same duration of Data field and PE field; 0123; each EHT variant user information field includes a per-AP stream configuration subfield which indicates a number of spatial streams transmitted by each of the one or more shared APs to the STA; 0117; wherein the trigger frame includes a EHT variant common information field, a special user information field, and one or more EHT variant user information fields, and a DL bandwidth (BW) subfield of the EHT variant common information field along with a DL BW extension subfield of the special user information field indicates a coordinated transmission BW for the multi-AP coordinated DL transmission; 0119; in some embodiments, the special user information field includes an EHT spatial reuse subfield which carries a value to be included in a spatial reuse subfield of an EHT-SIG field of solicited EHT MU PPDUs].
Regarding Claim 12,
Huang teaches that FIG. 4 illustrates an example multi-AP coordinated DL transmission. AP1, AP2 and AP3 belong to an AP candidate set [Huang: 0077].
However, Huang does not teach that a set of tones used for pilot tones are orthogonal across the wireless APs.
Cherian teaches:
where a set of tones used for pilot tones are orthogonal across the wireless APs [Cherian: 0077; if transmission from APs are multiplexed using a P-matrix, non-overlapping tones may be assigned for transmission of different APs for phase tracking; alternatively, multi-stream pilots may be used, where one stream per AP is transmitted on pilot tones to track the phase of each AP, or where the number of streams per AP transmitted on pilot tones is equal to the number of streams given to that AP for transmitting LTF; 0067; In some implementations, a P-matrix is an orthogonal code, with one dimension being spatial streams and the other being LTF symbols].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang and Cherian in order to improve the accuracy of the beamforming based on the feedback information [Cherian: 0030].
Regarding Claim 13,
Huang teaches that FIG. 4 illustrates an example multi-AP coordinated DL transmission. AP1, AP2 and AP3 belong to an AP candidate set [Huang: 0077].
However, Huang does not teach that at least one pilot is equalized at the STAs, and wherein only one wireless AP of the wireless APs loads the pilot tones on its set of pilot tones while other wireless APs of the wireless APs do not load those set of pilot tones
Cherian teaches:
wherein at least one pilot is equalized at the STAs, and wherein only one wireless AP of the wireless APs loads the pilot tones on its set of pilot tones while other wireless APs of the wireless APs do not load those set of pilot tones [Cherian: set of pilot tones == non-overlapping tones; 0076; if transmissions from APs are multiplexed using FDM, phase tracking of the different APs may be performed by tracking the pilots for the different APs, which are transmitted on different tones; 0077; if transmission from APs are multiplexed using a P-matrix, non-overlapping tones may be assigned for transmission of different APs for phase tracking; alternatively, multi-stream pilots may be used, where one stream per AP is transmitted on pilot tones to track the phase of each AP, or where the number of streams per AP transmitted on pilot tones is equal to the number of streams given to that AP for transmitting LTF; 0067; in some implementations, a P-matrix is an orthogonal code, with one dimension being spatial streams and the other being LTF symbols].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang and Cherian in order to improve the accuracy of the beamforming based on the feedback information [Cherian: 0030].
Regarding Claim 14,
In Huang-Cherian-Xia combination, Huang teaches that FIG. 4 illustrates an example multi-AP coordinated DL transmission. AP1, AP2 and AP3 belong to an AP candidate set [Huang: 0077].
However, Huang-Cherian does not teach that the wireless transceiver is further configured to transmit an acknowledgement packet as a multi-stream channel packet.
Xia teaches:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to transmit an acknowledgement packet as a multi-stream channel packet [Xia: 0140; the multi-AP transmission may be viewed as a multi-stream transmission from a super-AP; in contrast, the IEEE 802.11ac standard allows for only a single MCS to be used in the case of multi- stream transmission; for this reason, changes may be needed to support feedback for more than one MCS; 0141; upon receiving the MCS feedback from the STA, an AP may choose to follow the STA's MCS recommendation, or to override the MCS recommendation; in general, it may be necessary for the multiple APs to signal the selected MCSs used from each AP].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang, Cherian, and Xia in order to improve the accuracy of the beamforming based on the feedback information [Cherian: 0030] and to perform sectorized transmission [Xia: 0196].
Regarding Claim 15,
In Huang-Cherian-Xia combination, Huang teaches that FIG. 4 illustrates an example multi-AP coordinated DL transmission. AP1, AP2 and AP3 belong to an AP candidate set [Huang: 0077].
However, Huang-Cherian does not teach that the wireless transceiver is further configured to repeat single stream data in multi-stream transmission.
Xia teaches:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to repeat single stream data in multi-stream transmission [Xia: 0111; in this case, the receiver may choose to coherently combine the signals from both APs, or may choose to select the transmission from the stronger AP; in both of the above embodiments a packet transmission may be repeated from more than one A; 0114; It is noted that the same data packets are repeated from multiple APs as discussed above; 0140; the multi-AP transmission may be viewed as a multi-stream transmission from a super-AP].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang, Cherian, and Xia in order to improve the accuracy of the beamforming based on the feedback information [Cherian: 0030] and to perform sectorized transmission [Xia: 0196].
Claim(s) 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Cherian et al. (US 2021/0152396; hereafter Cherian) and further in view of Xia et al. (WO 2014/066785; hereafter Xia) and also in view of Lindskog et al. (US 2019/0379434; hereafter Lindskog).
Regarding Claim 16,
In Huang-Cherian-Xia combination, Huang teaches that FIG. 4 illustrates an example multi-AP coordinated DL transmission. AP1, AP2 and AP3 belong to an AP candidate set [Huang: 0077].
However, Huang-Cherian-Xia does not teach that the acknowledgement packet is precoded with a Hermitian of a calibrated adjusted equalizer matrix computed in a previously received packet.
Lindskog teaches:
wherein the acknowledgement packet is precoded with a Hermitian of a calibrated adjusted equalizer matrix computed in a previously received packet [Lindskog: 0083; FIG. 6 shows a flowchart with descriptions of example calculations for determining a metric based on spatial signal processing characteristic; 0087; the matrix V* refers to the conjugate transpose, Hermitian transpose, or other transpose of the matrix V. Using the matrix H, it is possible to determine the matrix V* using a matrix decomposition calculation … Matrix V may represent the right singular vectors which can be provided by the second WLAN device 120 to the first WLAN device 110 as compressed beamforming feedback; 0079; In the system 500, both the first WLAN device 110 and the second WLAN device 520 are multi-antenna devices. The first WLAN device 110 has the first antenna 113 and the second antenna 117 as described in FIG. 1. However, different from FIG. 1, the second WLAN device 520 includes multiple antennas (first AP antenna 522, second AP antenna 525, and third AP antenna 527)].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang-Cherian-Xia and Lindskog in order to provide capability for improved motion detection techniques [Lindskog: 0048].
Regarding Claim 17,
In Huang-Cherian-Xia combination, Huang teaches that FIG. 4 illustrates an example multi-AP coordinated DL transmission. AP1, AP2 and AP3 belong to an AP candidate set [Huang: 0077].
However, Huang-Cherian-Xia does not teach that the wireless transceiver is further configured to, on receiving the acknowledgement packet, compute the calibrated adjusted equalizer matrix and use the Hermitian of the calibrated adjusted equalizer matrix as a precoder for subsequent transmission.
Lindskog teaches:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to, on receiving the acknowledgement packet, compute the calibrated adjusted equalizer matrix and use the Hermitian of the calibrated adjusted equalizer matrix as a precoder for subsequent transmission [Lindskog: 0083; FIG. 6 shows a flowchart with descriptions of example calculations for determining a metric based on spatial signal processing characteristic; 0087; the matrix V* refers to the conjugate transpose, Hermitian transpose, or other transpose of the matrix V. Using the matrix H, it is possible to determine the matrix V* using a matrix decomposition calculation … Matrix V may represent the right singular vectors which can be provided by the second WLAN device 120 to the first WLAN device 110 as compressed beamforming feedback; 0079; in the system 500, both the first WLAN device 110 and the second WLAN device 520 are multi-antenna devices. The first WLAN device 110 has the first antenna 113 and the second antenna 117 as described in FIG. 1. However, different from FIG. 1, the second WLAN device 520 includes multiple antennas (first AP antenna 522, second AP antenna 525, and third AP antenna 527)].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang-Cherian-Xia and Lindskog in order to provide capability for improved motion detection techniques [Lindskog: 0048].
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Kneckt et al. (US 2023/0262805).
Regarding Claim 18,
Huang teaches that FIG. 4 illustrates an example multi-AP coordinated DL transmission. AP1, AP2 and AP3 belong to an AP candidate set [Huang: 0077].
However, Huang does not teach that no response is received at the wireless transceiver from the wireless APs, and wherein the controller is further configured to continue to operate the wireless device under a regular operational mode.
Kneckt teaches:
wherein no response is received at the wireless transceiver from the wireless APs, and wherein the controller is further configured to continue to operate the wireless device under a regular operational mode [Kneckt: 0028; FIG. 8D illustrates an example of multiple trigger frames in a transmission opportunity (TXOP) with no response, according to some embodiments of the disclosure; 0112; AP MLD 310 may determine that the lack of the second response may be due to an error of STA MLD 320. The first trigger and the first response have set the network allocation vector (NAV) around AP MLD 310 and the responding STA MLD 320, so Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) interference is not likely the cause of the error (e.g., causing the lack of the second response.) Accordingly, AP MLD 310 may ignore the failure of the second response and determine to transmit a trigger frame again].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang and Kneckt so that the signaled capabilities may help an STA MLD (e.g., STA MLD 320) select a corresponding AP MLD 310 [Kneckt: 0083].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Xia et al. (US 2021/0410149) [para. 0114].
SAAD A. WAQAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2468
/Saad A. Waqas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468