Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN 202110826028.0, filed on 07/21/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/07/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 17 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 5 and 17 contain the limitation “executing the first task before the first task begins”. Examiner interprets this should be stated “executing the first task before the first gap begins” in parity with the similar limitation in the preceding line.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10, 13-14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, Weijie (2021/0136809), herein Xu in view of Cabera Mercader et al. (2024/0129904), hereinafter Cabera Mercader.
Re. Claim 1, A gap execution method, comprising: in a case that a first gap overlaps a second gap (¶0070 - SS1 (Search Space 1) and SS2 (Search Space 2) have an overlapping region in time (they may overlap completely or partially)) OR a measurement occasion corresponding to a first task, performing, by a terminal device, first processing on the first gap (¶0068 - the terminal device determines the first receiving bandwidth of the downlink signal based on first bandwidths of the first control resource sets corresponding to the multiple search spaces respectively. Examiner is not interpreting this determination of bandwidth as the processing which ignores or uses the first gap, rather examiner is citing this as a means to show that Xu teaches the act of performing processing by a terminal device); wherein the terminal device is configured with at least one gap, the first gap and the second gap belong to the at least one gap (¶0070 - a time range of the overlapping of the SS1 and the SS2 in time is [t1, t2]).
However, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the first processing comprises ignoring the first gap or using the first gap.
Yet, Cabera Mercader explicitly teaches wherein the first processing comprises ignoring the first gap OR using the first gap (¶0153 - In other words, when two measurement gap occasions overlap, one of them might cancel the other. As such, only one measurement gap occasion gap may be used by the UE 115 for channel measurements. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cabera Mercader to the teaching of Xu. The motivation for such would be as Cabera Mercader provides that, in the event of an overlap of gaps, one gap may be ignored and one may be used (Cabera Mercader, ¶0153). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 10, A gap execution method, comprising: in a case that a first gap overlaps a second gap (¶0070 - SS1 (Search Space 1) and SS2 (Search Space 2) have an overlapping region in time (they may overlap completely or partially); wherein the first gap and the second gap are gaps configured by the network side device for a terminal device (¶0084 - the network device configures multiple PDCCH search spaces to the terminal).
However, Xu does not expressly teach ignoring, by the network side device, the first gap.
Yet, Cabera Mercader explicitly teaches ignoring, by the network side device, the first gap (¶0153 - In other words, when two measurement gap occasions overlap, one of them might cancel the other. As such, only one measurement gap occasion gap may be used by the UE 115 for channel measurements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cabera Mercader to the teaching of Xu. The motivation for such would be as Cabera Mercader provides that, in the event of an overlap of gaps, one gap may be ignored and one may be used (Cabera Mercader, ¶0153). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 13, A terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instruction stored on the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the program or instruction is executed by the processor (¶0154 - The processor 610 may call and run a computer program from a memory to implement the method in the implementation of the present disclosure), following steps are implemented: (¶0070 - SS1 (Search Space 1) and SS2 (Search Space 2) have an overlapping region in time (they may overlap completely or partially)) OR a measurement occasion corresponding to a first task, performing, by a terminal device, first processing on the first gap (¶0068 - the terminal device determines the first receiving bandwidth of the downlink signal based on first bandwidths of the first control resource sets corresponding to the multiple search spaces respectively. Examiner is not interpreting this as the processing which ignores or uses the first gap, rather examiner is citing this as a means to show that Xu teaches the act of performing processing by a terminal device); wherein the terminal device is configured with at least one gap, the first gap and the second gap belong to the at least one gap (¶0070 - a time range of the overlapping of the SS1 and the SS2 in time is [t1, t2]).
However, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the first processing comprises ignoring the first gap or using the first gap.
Yet, Cabera Mercader explicitly teaches wherein the first processing comprises ignoring the first gap OR using the first gap (¶0153 - In other words, when two measurement gap occasions overlap, one of them might cancel the other. As such, only one measurement gap occasion gap may be used by the UE 115 for channel measurements. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cabera Mercader to the teaching of Xu. The motivation for such would be as Cabera Mercader provides that, in the event of an overlap of gaps, one gap may be ignored and one may be used (Cabera Mercader, ¶0153). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 2 and 14, Xu and Cabera Mercader teach Claims 1 and 13
Additionally, Xu further teaches wherein in a case that the first gap overlaps the second gap, using, by the terminal device, the first gap comprises any one of the following: using the first gap and ignoring the second gap (¶0153 - Based on the determination of the overlap portion 1125, a UE 115 may be configured to ignore the first measurement gap occasion 1205 or the second measurement gap occasion 1210. In other words, when two measurement gap occasions overlap, one of them might cancel the other. Additionally, due to the presence of “any one of the following” Examiner interprets only one of the subsequent limitations need be mapped to satisfy this claim); using the first gap and using the second gap after the first gap ends; using the first gap and using the second gap before the first gap begins; using a third gap and using the second gap, wherein the third gap is a portion of the first gap that does not overlap the second gap; using the second gap within the first duration and using the first gap within the second duration; wherein the first duration comprises a first number of time units that are earlier in the first gap, and the second duration comprises time units in the first gap other than the first number of time units; and using the second gap within a third duration and using the first gap within a fourth duration, wherein the third duration comprises a second number of time units that are later in the first gap, and the fourth duration comprises time units in the first gap other than the second number of time units.
Re. Claims 20, Xu and Cabera Mercader teach Claim 10
Xu further teaches a network side device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instruction stored on the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the program or instruction is executed by the processor (¶0157 - the communication device 600 may further include a transceiver 630, and the processor 610 may control the transceiver 630 to communicate with another device), steps of the gap execution method according to claim 10 are implemented.
Claims 3-4, 11-12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Cabera Mercader and Zhang et al. (CN 114071722), hereinafter Zhang 1.
Re. Claims 3 and 15, Xu and Cabera Mercader teach Claims 2 and 14
However, the combination of Xu and Cabera Mercader does not expressly teach wherein the using the first gap and ignoring the second gap comprises: the terminal uses the first gap and ignores the second gap in a case that at least one of the following is met: the first gap has a higher priority than the second gap; destination information of the first gap has a higher priority than destination information of the second gap; a length of the first gap is longer than a length of the second gap; and a start time of the first gap is earlier than a start time of the second gap.
Yet, Zhang 1 explicitly teaches wherein the using the first gap and ignoring the second gap comprises: the terminal uses the first gap and ignores the second gap in a case that AT LEAST ONE OF THE FOLLOWING is met: the first gap has a higher priority than the second gap (Pg. 21, Line 31 - if the GAP period measured by the current GAP is high priority, and there is scheduling task in the GAP period, the terminal device ignores the scheduling task, continuously performing GAP measurement of the high priority. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of the following”); destination information of the first gap has a higher priority than destination information of the second gap; a length of the first gap is longer than a length of the second gap; and a start time of the first gap is earlier than a start time of the second gap.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zhang 1 to the teaching of Xu and Cabera Mercader. The motivation for such would be as Zhang 1 provides that priority may be used to determine whether the first or second gap is used (Zhang 1, Pg. 21, Line 31). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 4 and 16, Xu and Cabera Mercader teaches Claim 1 and 13.
However, the combination of Xu and Cabera Mercader does not expressly teach wherein in a case that the first gap overlaps the second gap, ignoring, by the terminal device, the first gap comprises: the terminal device ignores the first gap in a case that at least one of the following is met: a length of the first gap is shorter than a length of the second gap; a start time of the first gap is later than a start time of the second gap; destination information of the first gap has a lower priority than destination information of the second gap; and the first gap has a lower priority than the second gap.
Yet, Zhang 1 explicitly teaches wherein in a case that the first gap overlaps the second gap, ignoring, by the terminal device, the first gap comprises: the terminal device ignores the first gap in a case that AT LEAST ONE OF THE FOLLOWING is met: a length of the first gap is shorter than a length of the second gap; a start time of the first gap is later than a start time of the second gap; destination information of the first gap has a lower priority than destination information of the second gap; and the first gap has a lower priority than the second gap (Pg. 21, Line 30 - if the GAP period measured by the current GAP is low priority, and there is scheduling task in the GAP period, the terminal device jumping over-low priority GAP measurement. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of the following”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zhang to the teaching of Xu and Cabera Mercader. The motivation for such would be as Zhang provides that priority may be used to determine whether the first or second gap is used (Zhang, Pg. 21, Line 30). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 11, Xu and Cabera Mercader teach Claim 10
However, the combination of Xu and Cabera Mercader does not expressly teach wherein the ignoring, by the network side device, the first gap in a case that a first gap overlaps a second gap comprises: the network side device ignores the first gap in a case that at least one of the following is met: a length of the first gap is shorter than a length of the second gap; a start time of the first gap is later than a start time of the second gap; destination information of the first gap has a lower priority than destination information of the second gap; and the first gap has a lower priority than the second gap and/or, wherein the method further comprises: in a case that a first condition is met, performing, by the network side device, the step of ignoring the first gap, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: receiving a first message sent by the terminal device, wherein the first message comprises at least one of an MCG failure message, an SCG failure message and a first indication message, and the first indication message is used to indicate to the network side device that the network side device ignores the first gap; and receiving a measurement report message sent by the terminal device.
Yet, Zhang 1 explicitly teaches wherein the ignoring, by the network side device, the first gap in a case that a first gap overlaps a second gap comprises: the network side device ignores the first gap in a case that AT LEAST ONE OF THE FOLLOWING is met: a length of the first gap is shorter than a length of the second gap; a start time of the first gap is later than a start time of the second gap; destination information of the first gap has a lower priority than destination information of the second gap; and the first gap has a lower priority than the second gap (Pg. 21, Line 30 - if the GAP period measured by the current GAP is low priority, and there is scheduling task in the GAP period, the terminal device jumping over-low priority GAP measurement. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “one of the following” and “and/or”); AND/OR, wherein the method further comprises: in a case that a first condition is met, performing, by the network side device, the step of ignoring the first gap, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: receiving a first message sent by the terminal device, wherein the first message comprises at least one of an MCG failure message, an SCG failure message and a first indication message, and the first indication message is used to indicate to the network side device that the network side device ignores the first gap; and receiving a measurement report message sent by the terminal device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zhang 1 to the teaching of Xu and Cabera Mercader. The motivation for such would be as Zhang 1 provides that priority may be used to determine whether the first or second gap is used (Zhang 1, Pg. 21, Line 30). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 12, Xu and Cabera Mercader teach Claim 10
However, the combination of Xu and Cabera Mercader does not expressly teach wherein the method further comprises: in the case that the first gap is ignored, sending, by the network side device, terminal scheduling information to the terminal device; and/or, wherein before the network side device ignores the first gap, the method further comprises at least one of the following: receiving, by the network side device, a first gap request sent by the terminal device, wherein the first gap request carries at least priority information of the first gap and/or purpose information of the first gap; and sending, by the network side device, gap configuration information to the terminal device, wherein the gap configuration information at least carries priority information of the first gap and/or purpose information of the first gap.
Yet, Zhang 1 explicitly teaches wherein the method further comprises: in the case that the first gap is ignored, sending, by the network side device, terminal scheduling information to the terminal device (Pg. 3, Line 15 - the network device also can send scheduling task to the terminal device. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of the following” and “and/or”); AND/OR, wherein before the network side device ignores the first gap, the method further comprises at least one of the following: receiving, by the network side device, a first gap request sent by the terminal device, wherein the first gap request carries at least priority information of the first gap and/or purpose information of the first gap; and sending, by the network side device, gap configuration information to the terminal device, wherein the gap configuration information at least carries priority information of the first gap AND/OR purpose information of the first gap.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zhang 1 to the teaching of Xu and Cabera Mercader. The motivation for such would be as Zhang 1 provides that when a gap is ignored, scheduling information may be sent (Zhang 1, Pg. 3, Line 15). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Claims 5-6 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Cabera Mercader and Zhang et al. (2011/0116364), hereinafter Zhang 2.
Re. Claims 5 and 17, Xu and Cabera Mercader teaches Claim 1 and 13.
However, the combination of Xu and Cabera Mercader does not expressly teach wherein in a case that the first gap overlaps the measurement occasion corresponding to the first task, using, by the terminal device, the first gap comprises any one of the following: using the first gap and ignoring the first task; using the first gap and executing the first task after the first gap ends; and using the first gap and executing the first task before the first task begins.
Yet, Zhang 2 explicitly teaches wherein in a case that the first gap overlaps the measurement occasion corresponding to the first task, using, by the terminal device, the first gap comprises any one of the following: using the first gap and ignoring the first task; using the first gap and executing the first task after the first gap ends (¶0042 - determining to cancel or keep the measurement gap according to the capability of the terminal; if the terminal is capable of completing the processing of uplink grant and the execution of gap-assisted measurement simultaneously in the time period, then keeping the measurement gap; if not, then cancelling the measurement gap. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of the following”); and using the first gap and executing the first task before the first task begins.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zhang 2 to the teaching of Xu and Cabera Mercader. The motivation for such would be as Zhang 2 provides that the above represented process of selecting between gaps can be applied to a gap and a process that overlap in time (Zhang 2, ¶0042). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 6 and 18, Xu, Cabera Mercader and Zhang 2 teach Claims 5 and 17.
Additionally, Xu further teaches wherein in a case that the first task is an RRM measurement task (¶0081 - if the terminal device has a requirement of receiving another signal, such as a configuration or synchronization requirement based on a Channel State Information (CSI) measurement, a Radio Resource Measurement (RRM), and a Radio Link Monitoring (RLM) measurement) AND/OR the terminal device ignores a measurement gap, a measurement period corresponding to the RRM measurement task is a first length, the first length is obtained by extending a length of the measurement period by a length of at least one first gap, and the measurement gap is associated with a measurement occasion corresponding to the RRM measurement task (¶0081 - the terminal device may determine the downlink receiving bandwidth based on a bandwidth satisfying the above operation requirement (the downlink receiving bandwidth needs to be greater than or equal to the bandwidth satisfying the above operation requirement. The “operation requirement” stated here is referring to the previously cited signal options that can be received, as such Examiner interprets that if an RRC signal is obtained then the terminal can determine the measurement period based on the bandwidth needed to perform the RRM).
Claims 7-9, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Cabera Mercader and Tsuboi et al. (2024/0064785), hereinafter Tsuboi.
Re. Claims 7 and 19, Xu and Cabera Mercader teach Claims 1 and 13.
However, the combination of Xu and Cabera Mercader does not expressly teach wherein the method further comprises: in a case that a first condition is met, performing, by the terminal device, the step of ignoring the first gap, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: master cell group (MCG) radio link failure; secondary cell group (SCG) radio link failure; a first timer starts running, wherein the first timer is configured to monitor whether a radio link fails; the terminal device sends a first message, wherein the first message comprises at least one of an MCG failure message, an SCG failure message and a first indication message, and the first indication message is used to indicate to the network side device that the terminal device ignores the first gap; the terminal device initiates an MCG failure information process; the terminal device initiates an SCG failure information process; and the terminal device sends a measurement report message.
Yet, Tsuboi explicitly teaches wherein the method further comprises: in a case that a first condition is met, performing, by the terminal device, the step of ignoring the first gap, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: master cell group (MCG) radio link failure (¶0323 - in the MCG, in a case that the timer T310 expires, the timer T312 expires, the terminal apparatus receives notification of a problem of random access from a MAC layer of the MCG while none of multiple specific timers runs, or the terminal apparatus receives notification that retransmission of the SRB or the DRB has reached a maximum number of times of retransmission from an RLC layer of the MCG, the terminal apparatus determines that a radio link failure has been detected in the MCG. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of the following”); secondary cell group (SCG) radio link failure; a first timer starts running, wherein the first timer is configured to monitor whether a radio link fails; the terminal device sends a first message, wherein the first message comprises at least one of an MCG failure message, an SCG failure message and a first indication message, and the first indication message is used to indicate to the network side device that the terminal device ignores the first gap; the terminal device initiates an MCG failure information process; the terminal device initiates an SCG failure information process; and the terminal device sends a measurement report message.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tsuboi to the teaching of Xu and Cabera Mercader. The motivation for such would be as Tsuboi provides that the gap can be ignored when a MCG radio link failure is detected (Tsuboi, ¶0323). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 8, Xu, Cabera Mercader, and Tsuboi teach Claim 7
However, the combination of Xu and Cabera Mercader does not expressly teach wherein in a case that a measurement report message is sent, ignoring the first gap comprises: ignoring the first gap within a fifth duration after sending the measurement report message.
Yet, Tsuboi explicitly teaches wherein in a case that a measurement report message is sent, ignoring the first gap comprises: ignoring the first gap within a fifth duration after sending the measurement report message (¶0447 - The measurement gap configuration (measGapConfig) includes information of a length and periodicity of a measurement gap. The measurement gap configuration may be independently configured for each terminal apparatus or for each prescribed frequency range. Examiner interprets that if the configuration message include a length and periodicity of the gap then the configuration could include the duration in which the gap should be ignored. Since the “fifth duration” here is not defined in previous claim language to establish where this duration is in relation to other durations, Examiner interprets that the configuration information would be able to generically allow the gap to be ignored during said duration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tsuboi to the teaching of Xu and Cabera Mercader. The motivation for such would be as Tsuboi provides that the gap can be ignored when a duration after the report message is sent (Tsuboi, ¶0447). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 9, Xu and Cabera Mercader teach Claim 1
However, the combination of Xu and Cabera Mercader does not expressly teach wherein ignoring the first gap comprises any one of the following: releasing configuration information corresponding to the first gap; ignoring the fourth gap, wherein the fourth gap is the first gap that overlaps the second gap or the measurement occasion corresponding to the first task, or the fourth gap is the first gap when the first condition is met; and ignoring the fourth gap and at least one first gap located after the fourth gap; and/or, wherein the method further comprises: in a case that the first gap is used, canceling, by the terminal device, monitoring of a monitoring occasion of a power saving signal, wherein the power saving signal at least comprises a DCP signal and/or a wake-up signal; and/or, wherein the method further comprises: in a case that the first gap is ignored, receiving, by the terminal device, terminal scheduling information sent by the network side device during the first gap; and/or, wherein before performing the first processing on the first gap, the method further comprises at least one of the following: sending, by the terminal device, a first gap request to the network side device, wherein the first gap request carries at least priority information of the first gap and/or purpose information of the first gap; and receiving gap configuration information sent by the network side device, wherein the gap configuration information at least carries priority information of the first gap and/or purpose information of the first gap.
Yet, Tsuboi explicitly teaches wherein ignoring the first gap COMPRISES ANY ONE OF THE FOLLOWING: releasing configuration information corresponding to the first gap (¶0017 - A measurement configuration included in the RRC message includes a measurement object and a reporting configuration & ¶0447 - The measurement gap configuration (measGapConfig) includes information of a length and periodicity of a measurement gap. The measurement gap configuration may be independently configured for each terminal apparatus or for each prescribed frequency range. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of the following” and “and/or”); ignoring the fourth gap, wherein the fourth gap is the first gap that overlaps the second gap or the measurement occasion corresponding to the first task, or the fourth gap is the first gap when the first condition is met; and ignoring the fourth gap and at least one first gap located after the fourth gap; AND/OR, wherein the method further comprises: in a case that the first gap is used, canceling, by the terminal device, monitoring of a monitoring occasion of a power saving signal, wherein the power saving signal at least comprises a DCP signal and/or a wake-up signal; AND/OR, wherein the method further comprises: in a case that the first gap is ignored, receiving, by the terminal device, terminal scheduling information sent by the network side device during the first gap; AND/OR, wherein before performing the first processing on the first gap, the method further comprises at least one of the following: sending, by the terminal device, a first gap request to the network side device, wherein the first gap request carries at least priority information of the first gap and/or purpose information of the first gap; and receiving gap configuration information sent by the network side device, wherein the gap configuration information at least carries priority information of the first gap and/or purpose information of the first gap.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tsuboi to the teaching of Xu and Cabera Mercader. The motivation for such would be as Tsuboi provides a means for releasing configuration information regarding the first gap (Tsuboi, ¶0017). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zheng et al. (2022/0174623) - ¶0062-0076
/N.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475