DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 10, 14, 15, 18, 20 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cabler (US 2002/0099966).
Regarding Claims 1 and 14, Cabler teaches a device (¶ [0033], see specifically apparatus) comprising:
a processor (¶ [0033], see specifically processing module); and
a physical interface communicatively coupled to the processor (¶ [0003], see specifically interface) a physical interface communicatively coupled to the processor and configured to communicatively couple to a second device via a wired communication link having a communications protocol comprising a plurality of signaling types (¶ [0036], see specifically that it matches one of the at least one startup types.)
and further configured to:
detect a presence or absence of signaling on the wired communication link based on one or more signal properties of a signal on the wired communication link (¶ [0027], see specifically magnitude); and
detect a signaling type, from the plurality of signaling types, of signaling on the wired communication link based on one or more signal properties of the signal on the wired communication link (¶ [0013], see specifically known set of characteristics.)
Regarding Claims 2 and 15, Cabler teaches detecting the presence or absence of signaling on the wired communication link is based on a magnitude of the signal on the wired communication link (¶ [0013], see specifically magnitude).
Regarding Claim 5 and 18, Cabler teaches the signaling type comprises differential signaling (¶ [0019], see specifically differential quadrature phase shift signaling.)
Regarding Claim 7 and 20, Cabler teaches the physical interface is further configured to wake the device from a low-power or sleep state in response to detecting the presence of signaling on the wired communication link (¶ [0013], see specifically waking up a circuit.)
Regarding Claim 10 and 23, Cabler teaches the physical interface is further configured to detect the signaling type based on a range of magnitude of the signal for a communications protocol-dependent period of time (¶ [0013], see specifically magnitude and the known set of characteristics).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cabler (US 2002/0099966) in view of Liu (WO 2019/094494).
Regarding Claim 3 and 16, Cabler teaches detecting the signaling type of signaling on the wired communication link is based on a magnitude of the signal on the wired communication link (¶ [0013], see specifically magnitude).
Liu from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches detecting a periodicity of the signal on the wired communication link (¶ [0016], see specifically wake up signal periodicity.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to observe for a wake up signal periodicity in the system of Cabler as taught by Liu.
The motivation is that that Cabler is a generic system designed for multiple wireline protocols, and it would be obvious to adapt it to other systems such as the one in Weiss.
Claim(s) 4 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cabler (US 2002/0099966) in view of Ko (US 2016/0379642)
Regarding Claim 4 and 17, Cabler fails to explicitly teach the signaling type comprises single-ended signaling
Ko from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the signaling type comprises single-ended signaling (¶ [0104], see specifically single ended mode)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use a single ended mode in the system of Cabler as taught by Ko.
The motivation is that changing from a differential to a single-ended mode further reduces power reduction and would do the same in the system of Cabler.
Claim(s) 6, 12, 13, 19, 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cabler (US 2002/0099966) in view of Weiss (US 2011/0227641).
Regarding Claim 6 and 19, Cabler fails to explicitly teach the wired communication link comprises two signal lines.
Weiss from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the wired communication link comprises two signal lines (¶ [0047], see specifically compare voltages between RXDP and RXDN).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to compare between two signaling lines in the system of Calber in the system of Weiss.
The motivation is that that Weiss is a generic system designed for multiple wireline protocols, and it would be obvious to adapt it to other systems such as the one in Weiss.
Regarding Claims 12 and 25, Cabler fails to explicitly teach the wired communication link comprises two signal lines; and the physical interface is further configured to detect the signaling type based on a magnitude of a common-mode between signals on the two signal lines.
Weiss from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the wired communication link comprises two signal lines; and the physical interface is further configured to detect the signaling type based on a magnitude of a common-mode between signals on the two signal lines (¶ [0047], see specifically compare voltages between RXDP and RXDN).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to compare between two signaling lines in the system of Calber in the system of Weiss.
The motivation is that that Cabler is a generic system designed for multiple wireline protocols, and it would be obvious to adapt it to other systems such as the one in Weiss.
Regarding Claims 13 and 26, Cabler fails to explicitly teach the wired communication link comprises two signal lines; and the physical interface is further configured to detect the signaling type based on a maximum magnitude between a first signal on a first signal line of the two signal lines and a second signal on a second signal line of the two signal lines.
Weiss from the same or similar field of endeavor the wired communication link comprises two signal lines; and the physical interface is further configured to detect the signaling type based on a maximum magnitude between a first signal on a first signal line of the two signal lines and a second signal on a second signal line of the two signal lines (¶ [0047], see specifically compare voltages between RXDP and RXDN).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to compare between two signaling lines in the system of Calber in the system of Weiss.
The motivation is that that Weiss is a generic system designed for multiple wireline protocols, and it would be obvious to adapt it to other systems such as the one in Weiss.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8, 9, 11, 21, 22, 24, objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT M MORLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409
ROBERT M. MORLAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409