DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 11, 13, 15, 17, 22, 23, 25, 27, 28 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu (US 2025/0351125).
Regarding Claims 1, 15, 23 and 28, Xu teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (¶ [0254], see specifically UE), comprising:
one or more memories (¶ [0255], see specifically memory); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, which are configured, individually or in any combination (¶ [0254], see specifically processor and ¶ [0255], see specifically memory), to:
receive a dynamic indication to skip reception or transmission of one or more channels during a time interval (¶ [0045], see specifically prohibiting command based on the length of the timer); and
apply the dynamic indication by skipping the reception or transmission of the one or more channels during the time interval (¶ [0087], see specifically skips a transmission on a LCH).
With respect to Claim 3, 17, 25 and 29, Xu teaches the one or more processors, to receive the dynamic indication, are configured to: receive downlink control information that includes the dynamic indication (¶ [0100], see specifically DCI)
Regarding Claim 11, 22 and 27, Xu teaches the one or more processors, to receive the dynamic indication, are configured to: receive a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) message that includes the dynamic indication (¶ [0100], see specifically MAC CE)
Regarding Claim 13, Xu teaches a length of time during which the dynamic indication is applied ends based on a duration (¶ [0045], see specifically prohibiting command based on the length of the timer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 5, 16, 18, 19 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 2025/0351125) in view of Hong (WO 2024/155117).
Regarding Claim 2, 16 and 24, Xu fails to explicitly teach the time interval corresponds to a cell discontinuous reception or discontinuous transmission restriction window.
Hong from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the time interval corresponds to a cell discontinuous reception or discontinuous transmission restriction window (¶ [0208], see specifically DRX configuration.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use DCI to convey power saving information in the system of Xu as taught by Hong.
The motivation is that Xu teaches to use various means to convey information to the UE, it would be obvious to use mechanisms such as short message field within DCI to convey the signaling information in the system of Xu as taught by Hong.
Regarding Claim 4 and 18, Xu fails to explicitly teach the one or more processors, to receive the dynamic indication, are configured to: receive a value of a short message bit field of the downlink control information.
Hong from the same or similar field of endeavor the one or more processors, to receive the dynamic indication, are configured to: receive a value of a short message bit field of the downlink control information (¶ [0208], see specifically DCI short message field)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use DCI to convey power saving information in the system of Xu as taught by Hong.
The motivation is that Xu teaches to use various means to convey information to the UE, it would be obvious to use mechanisms such as short message field within DCI to convey the signaling information in the system of Xu as taught by Hong.
Regarding Claim 5 and 19, Xu fails to explicitly teach the one or more processors, to receive the dynamic indication, are configured to: receive a short message indicator bit field of the downlink control information.
Hong from the same or similar field of endeavor the one or more processors, to receive the dynamic indication, are configured to: receive a short message indicator bit field of the downlink control information (¶ [0208], see specifically DCI short message field)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use DCI to convey power saving information in the system of Xu as taught by Hong.
The motivation is that Xu teaches to use various means to convey information to the UE, it would be obvious to use mechanisms such as short message field within DCI to convey the signaling information in the system of Xu as taught by Hong.
Claim(s) 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 2025/0351125) in view of Sun (US 2021/0007135).
Regarding Claim 6 and 20, Xu fails to explicitly teach the one or more processors, to receive the downlink control information, are configured to: receive an uplink grant or a downlink grant that includes the dynamic indication.
Sun from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches receive an uplink grant or a downlink grant that includes the dynamic indication (¶ [0050], see specifically reception of UL grant triggers prohibit timer.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to include an indication in the grant to trigger the prohibit timer in the system of Xu as taught by Sun.
The motivation to include an explicit prohibit is that it allows the configuration of additional parameters about the prohibit.
Claim(s) 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 2025/0351125) in view of Zhang (US 2019/0281652).
Regarding Claim 7, Xu fails to explicitly teach a start time of a length of time during which the dynamic indication is applied occurs a quantity of symbols after a symbol associated with the downlink control information.
Zhang from the same or similar field of endeavor a start time of a length of time during which the dynamic indication is applied occurs a quantity of symbols after a symbol associated with the downlink control information (¶ [0103], see specifically number of symbols.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to sleep a number of symbols after receiving a DC in the system of Xu as taught by Zhang.
The motivation is that Xu states in ¶ 0095 that the sleep may begin after a time offset, in wireless communications, time is divided into superframes, frames, subframes, slots and symbols, and it would be obvious to have the offset of Xu be a number of symbols as it a certain amount of symbols occur in a certain period of time.
Regarding Claim 12, Xu fails to explicitly teach a length of time during which the dynamic indication is applied begins a quantity of symbols after a symbol of an acknowledgement transmitted by the UE in response to receiving the MAC-CE message.
Zhang teaches a length of time during which the dynamic indication is applied begins a quantity of symbols after a symbol of an acknowledgement transmitted by the UE in response to receiving the MAC-CE message (¶ [0103], see specifically number of symbols.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to sleep a number of symbols after receiving a DC in the system of Xu as taught by Zhang.
The motivation is that Xu states in ¶ 0095 that the sleep may begin after a time offset, in wireless communications, time is divided into superframes, frames, subframes, slots and symbols, and it would be obvious to have the offset of Xu be a number of symbols as it a certain amount of symbols occur in a certain period of time.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 2025/0351125) in view of Zhou (US 2025/0280466).
Regarding Claim 8, Xu fails to explicitly teach the dynamic indication is received in an inactive time of a connected-mode discontinuous reception cycle
Zhou teaches the dynamic indication is received in an inactive time of a connected-mode discontinuous reception cycle (¶ [0374], see specifically that the UE may receive DCI regardless of whether the wireless device is active or inactive.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to receive power control DCI’s in regardless of being in the active or inactive time in the system of Xu as taught by Zhou.
The motivation is that the ability to extend or set a sleep timer during any mode allows the device to better save power as it is allowed to sleep for a specific amount of time, rather than necessarily using a cycle to see if the UE is needed at a given moment.
Regarding Claim 10, Xu fails to explicitly teach the time interval corresponds to an inactive time of a connected-mode discontinuous reception cycle, and the one or more processors, to receive the dynamic indication, are configured to: receive the dynamic indication during an active time of the connected-mode discontinuous reception cycle.
Zhou from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the time interval corresponds to an inactive time of a connected-mode discontinuous reception cycle, and the one or more processors, to receive the dynamic indication, are configured to: receive the dynamic indication during an active time of the connected-mode discontinuous reception cycle (¶ [0374], see specifically that the UE may receive DCI regardless of whether the wireless device is active or inactive.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to receive power control DCI’s in regardless of being in the active or inactive time in the system of Xu as taught by Zhou.
The motivation is that the ability to extend or set a sleep timer during any mode allows the device to better save power as it is allowed to sleep for a specific amount of time, rather than necessarily using a cycle to see if the UE is needed at a given moment.
Claim(s) 9, 21, 26 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 2025/0351125) in view of Lee (US 2017/0105166).
Regarding Claim 9, 21, 26 and 30, Xu fails to explicitly teach the one or more processors, to receive the dynamic indication, are configured to: receive a paging message that includes the dynamic indication.
Lee from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches to receive the dynamic indication, are configured to: receive a paging message that includes the dynamic indication (¶ [0054], see specifically receive a page to get system information changes.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use a page to convey control changes in the system of Xu as taught by Lee.
The motivation is that paging messages are used to convey information in the 3GPP system, it would have been obvious to adapt it to convey information such as the information of the system of Xu.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 2025/0351125) in view of Agiwal (US 2024/0292243).
Regarding Claim 14, Xu fails to explicitly teach a length of time during which the dynamic indication is applied ends based on a dynamic indication to stop skipping the reception or transmission of the one or more channels.
Agiwal from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a length of time during which the dynamic indication is applied ends based on a dynamic indication to stop skipping the reception or transmission of the one or more channels (¶ [0163], see specifically the during the time of the skipping UE and gNB may cancel.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to stop skipping the reception or transmission during the time interval in the system of Xu as taught by Agiwal.
The motivation is that canceling the skipping time is that it allows the system to come back to active mode and communicate data.
Conclusion
/ROBERT M MORLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409
ROBERT M. MORLAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409