DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding First Argument:
Applicant argues in substance that previously cited prior art does not anticipate claim language of independent claims.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yang describes a measuring period, and measurement of SLSS during said measuring period. The communication from the synchronization source is describes as from several different sources, among them are a syncref UE, a NR base station. Described in Yang is the reception of a synchronization signal from a NR base station if the UE is in coverage of the base station. Yang also describes that the UE is moving. It is feasible that a UE could be in coverage of a NR base station, therefore using a NR base station as the synchronization source, making the syncref UE unavailable as a synchronization source, then travel out of coverage of the NR base station during a measurement period and receive the SLSS from the syncref UE and then decide to either initiate or cease SLSS transmission based on the SLSS received from the syncref UE. Regarding argument against rejection of dependent claims, Yang discloses “For example, in the case of partially overlapped, if the SMTC period=40 ms and MGRP=80 ms, it may be Kp=2. This may mean that the time increases by about two times, considering the overlapped portion of the MG and the interval measuring the RSRP of the actual serving cell.” which shows an addition of periods based on the syncref UE not being the synchronization source (unavailable). For at least these reasons the rejection is proper and thus maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US 20230362851 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Yang discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, which, individually or in any combination, are operable ([¶0009] a UE performing sidelink communication. The UE includes at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one memory that stores instructions and is operatively electrically connectable with the at least one processor.) to cause the apparatus to: determine whether a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) is received from a synchronization reference (SyncRef) UE during a measurement evaluation period, the measurement evaluation period being based at least in part on a quantity of sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) periods in which the SLSS from the SyncRef UE is not available;([¶0504] when a UE supporting FR1 SL communication performs SL DRX and the SyncRef UE is a synchronization reference source, to initiation/cease SLSS transmission, the UE may measure and evaluate the PSBCH-RSRP of the SyncRef UE selected as a synchronization reference source within T.sub.evaluate,SLSS as shown in the example of Table 15. And, the SL DRX On duration may be set so that the S-SSB can be received in the SL DRX On duration of the UE. [¶0108] The S-PSS, the S-SSS, and the PSBCH may be included in a block format (e.g., SL synchronization signal (SS)/PSBCH block, hereinafter, sidelink-synchronization signal block (S-SSB)) supporting periodical transmission. The S-SSB may have the same numerology (i.e., SCS and CP length) as a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH)/physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in a carrier, and a transmission bandwidth may exist within a (pre-)configured sidelink (SL) BWP. For example, the S-SSB may have a bandwidth of 11 resource blocks (RBs). For example, the PSBCH may exist across 11 RBs. In addition, a frequency position of the S-SSB may be (pre-)configured. Accordingly, the UE does not have to perform hypothesis detection at frequency to discover the S-SSB in the carrier.) and perform an initiation or a cease of an SLSS transmission of the UE based at least in part on whether the SLSS is received from SyncRef UE during the measurement evaluation period. ([¶0266] To initiation/cease SLSS transmission, the UE measures the PSBCH-RSRP of the SyncRef UE selected as the synchronization reference source and evaluate it within T.sub.evaluate,SLSS (T.sub.evaluate,SLSS=4 S-SSB periods).)
Regarding Claim 2:
Yang discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Yang discloses:
wherein the measurement evaluation period corresponds to a default quantity of S-SSB periods plus the quantity of S-SSB periods in which the SLSS from the SyncRef UE is not available. ([¶0165] For reference, the SSB Measurement Time Configuration (SMTC) period may mean the period of the SMTC window. A Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle may mean DRX. Kp may be ‘1’ when intra-frequency SMTC is fully non-overlapped or fully overlapped with MG. When Kp is partially overlapped with MG, if SMTC period <MGRP, Kp=1/(1−(SMTC period/MGRP)) can be defined. For example, in the case of partially overlapped, if the SMTC period=40 ms and MGRP=80 ms, it may be Kp=2. This may mean that the time increases by about two times, considering the overlapped portion of the MG and the interval measuring the RSRP of the actual serving cell.)
Regarding Claim 4:
Yang discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Yang discloses:
wherein the quantity of S-SSB periods in which the SLSS from the SyncRef UE is not available is associated with a maximum quantity, and the maximum quantity is a fixed value or is configured via radio resource control (RRC) signaling from a network node. ([¶0266] To initiation/cease SLSS transmission, the UE measures the PSBCH-RSRP of the SyncRef UE selected as the synchronization reference source and evaluate it within T.sub.evaluate,SLSS (T.sub.evaluate,SLSS=4 S-SSB periods).)
Regarding Claim 5:
Yang discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Yang discloses:
wherein the SLSS is received from the SyncRef UE during the measurement evaluation period, and the initiation or the cease of the SLSS transmission of the UE is based at least in part on a measurement associated with the SLSS received from the SyncRef UE. ([¶0266] To initiation/cease SLSS transmission, the UE measures the PSBCH-RSRP of the SyncRef UE selected as the synchronization reference source and evaluate it within T.sub.evaluate,SLSS (T.sub.evaluate,SLSS=4 S-SSB periods).)
Regarding Claim 6:
Yang discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Yang discloses:
wherein the SLSS is not received from the SyncRef UE during the measurement evaluation period, and the initiation of the SLSS transmission of the UE is based at least in part on the SLSS not being received from the SyncRef UE during the measurement evaluation period, wherein the initiation of the SLSS transmission of the UE is based at least in part on the SyncRef UE being available as a current synchronization source for the UE. ([¶0504] when a UE supporting FR1 SL communication performs SL DRX and the SyncRef UE is a synchronization reference source, to initiation/cease SLSS transmission, the UE may measure and evaluate the PSBCH-RSRP of the SyncRef UE selected as a synchronization reference source within T.sub.evaluate,SLSS as shown in the example of Table 15. And, the SL DRX On duration may be set so that the S-SSB can be received in the SL DRX On duration of the UE.)
Regarding Claim 7:
Yang discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Yang discloses:
wherein the SyncRef UE is a first SyncRef UE, and the one or more processors are configured to: detect a second SyncRef UE within a time period when a measurement associated with the SLSS received from the first SyncRef UE satisfies a condition, and the UE is permitted to drop a maximum percentage of SLSS transmissions of the UE during the time period for a purpose of a detection of the second SyncRef UE, and for a selection or a reselection to the second SyncRef UE. ([¶0106] The SLSS may include a primary sidelink synchronization signal (PSSS) and a secondary sidelink synchronization signal (SSSS), as an SL-specific sequence. The PSSS may be referred to as a sidelink primary synchronization signal (S-PSS), and the SSSS may be referred to as a sidelink secondary synchronization signal (S-SSS). For example, length-127 M-sequences may be used for the S-PSS, and length-127 gold sequences may be used for the S-SSS. For example, a UE may use the S-PSS for initial signal detection and for synchronization acquisition. For example, the UE may use the S-PSS and the S-SSS for acquisition of detailed synchronization and for detection of a synchronization signal ID. [¶0109] FIG. 7 illustrates an example of a UE performing V2X or SL communication to which the implementation of the present disclosure is applied. [¶0111] Referring to FIG. 7, in V2X or SL communication, the term “terminal” may generally imply a UE of a user. However, in the case that a network equipment such as a BS transmits/receives a signal according to a communication scheme between UEs, the BS may also be regarded as a sort of the UE. For example, a UE 1 may be a first apparatus 100, and a UE 2 may be a second apparatus 200. )
Regarding Claim 16:
Yang discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Yang discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: perform a search for a synchronous SyncRef UE regardless of a type or a priority of a synchronization source associated with the UE. ([¶0073] Additionally, the first UE 115 may use reduced complexity synchronization procedures (e.g., data-aided, synchronous S-SSB, etc.) when synchronizing with the synchronous source. In some cases, the synchronization sources may include a GNSS, a base station 105 (e.g., eNB, gNB, etc.), a synchronization reference UE (e.g., SynchRef UE), etc. A baseline synchronous source may include GNSS and base station-based synchronization. In some cases, the first UE 115 may include a UE capability that includes support of an S-SSB based synchronization (e.g., with a SyncRef UE as source). Additionally, the first UE 115 may also include a UE capability that includes support of the reduced complexity synchronization procedures. Accordingly, the first UE 115 may use a data-aided/non-SSB based synchronization mechanism, a synchronous-SSB based synchronization mechanism (e.g., perform S-SSB search within a time window), or a combination thereof. In some cases, GNSS based synchronization alone may not be sufficient or robust for different use cases (e.g., V2X communications).)
Regarding Claim 17:
Yang discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Yang discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: perform an operation based at least in part on the SyncRef UE not being available or a measurement of a current synchronization source satisfying a threshold. ([¶0198] in order to perform operations related to the initiation and cease of SLSS transmission, the terminal may compare/evaluate the DL RSRP measurement value and the threshold (eg syncTxThreshIC) during the evaluation time (T.sub.evaluate, SLSS). After comparing the DL RSRP measurement value and the threshold (eg syncTxThreshIC), the terminal may perform the following example operation: [¶0199] DL RSRP measurement value (e.g., Measured DL RSRP)≤syncTxThreshIC: the terminal starts SLSS transmission;)
Regarding Claim 18:
Yang discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Yang discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, when performing the operation, are configured to: enable a synchronous SyncRef UE search; enable and speed up the synchronous SyncRef UE search; enable the synchronous SyncRef UE search and speed up an asynchronous SyncRef UE search; or enable the synchronous SyncRef UE search, and speed up the synchronous SyncRef UE search and the asynchronous SyncRef UE search, wherein speeding up the synchronous SyncRef UE search or the asynchronous SyncRef UE search is based at least in part on an adjustment to a transmission dropping rate or an adjustment to a search time. ([¶0198] in order to perform operations related to the initiation and cease of SLSS transmission, the terminal may compare/evaluate the DL RSRP measurement value and the threshold (eg syncTxThreshIC) during the evaluation time (T.sub.evaluate, SLSS). After comparing the DL RSRP measurement value and the threshold (eg syncTxThreshIC), the terminal may perform the following example operation: [¶0199] DL RSRP measurement value (e.g., Measured DL RSRP)≤syncTxThreshIC: the terminal starts SLSS transmission;)
Regarding Claim 19:
Yang discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), ([Abstract] a method by which a UE performs) comprising: determining whether a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) is received from a synchronization reference (SyncRef) UE during a measurement evaluation period, the measurement evaluation period being based at least in part on a quantity of sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) periods in which the SLSS from the SyncRef UE is not available;([¶0504] when a UE supporting FR1 SL communication performs SL DRX and the SyncRef UE is a synchronization reference source, to initiation/cease SLSS transmission, the UE may measure and evaluate the PSBCH-RSRP of the SyncRef UE selected as a synchronization reference source within T.sub.evaluate,SLSS as shown in the example of Table 15. And, the SL DRX On duration may be set so that the S-SSB can be received in the SL DRX On duration of the UE. [¶0108] The S-PSS, the S-SSS, and the PSBCH may be included in a block format (e.g., SL synchronization signal (SS)/PSBCH block, hereinafter, sidelink-synchronization signal block (S-SSB)) supporting periodical transmission. The S-SSB may have the same numerology (i.e., SCS and CP length) as a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH)/physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in a carrier, and a transmission bandwidth may exist within a (pre-)configured sidelink (SL) BWP. For example, the S-SSB may have a bandwidth of 11 resource blocks (RBs). For example, the PSBCH may exist across 11 RBs. In addition, a frequency position of the S-SSB may be (pre-)configured. Accordingly, the UE does not have to perform hypothesis detection at frequency to discover the S-SSB in the carrier.) and performing an initiation or a cease of an SLSS transmission of the UE based at least in part on whether the SLSS is received from SyncRef UE during the measurement evaluation period. ([¶0266] To initiation/cease SLSS transmission, the UE measures the PSBCH-RSRP of the SyncRef UE selected as the synchronization reference source and evaluate it within T.sub.evaluate,SLSS (T.sub.evaluate,SLSS=4 S-SSB periods).)
Regarding Claim 20:
Yang discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), ([¶0011] one disclosure of the present specification provides a non-volatile (non-volatile) computer readable storage medium recording instructions. The instructions, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations) cause the UE to: determine whether a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) is received from a synchronization reference (SyncRef) UE during a measurement evaluation period, the measurement evaluation period being based at least in part on a quantity of sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) periods in which the SLSS from the SyncRef UE is not available;([¶0504] when a UE supporting FR1 SL communication performs SL DRX and the SyncRef UE is a synchronization reference source, to initiation/cease SLSS transmission, the UE may measure and evaluate the PSBCH-RSRP of the SyncRef UE selected as a synchronization reference source within T.sub.evaluate,SLSS as shown in the example of Table 15. And, the SL DRX On duration may be set so that the S-SSB can be received in the SL DRX On duration of the UE. [¶0108] The S-PSS, the S-SSS, and the PSBCH may be included in a block format (e.g., SL synchronization signal (SS)/PSBCH block, hereinafter, sidelink-synchronization signal block (S-SSB)) supporting periodical transmission. The S-SSB may have the same numerology (i.e., SCS and CP length) as a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH)/physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in a carrier, and a transmission bandwidth may exist within a (pre-)configured sidelink (SL) BWP. For example, the S-SSB may have a bandwidth of 11 resource blocks (RBs). For example, the PSBCH may exist across 11 RBs. In addition, a frequency position of the S-SSB may be (pre-)configured. Accordingly, the UE does not have to perform hypothesis detection at frequency to discover the S-SSB in the carrier.) and perform an initiation or a cease of an SLSS transmission of the UE based at least in part on whether the SLSS is received from SyncRef UE during the measurement evaluation period. ([¶0266] To initiation/cease SLSS transmission, the UE measures the PSBCH-RSRP of the SyncRef UE selected as the synchronization reference source and evaluate it within T.sub.evaluate,SLSS (T.sub.evaluate,SLSS=4 S-SSB periods).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Gulati (US 20210037493 A1).
Regarding Claim 12:
Yang discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Yang does not disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: perform, for a sidelink unlicensed (SL-U), a search for a synchronous SyncRef UE based at least in part a search for an asynchronous SyncRef UE being performed.
Gulati discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: perform, for a sidelink unlicensed (SL-U), a search for a synchronous SyncRef UE based at least in part a search for an asynchronous SyncRef UE being performed. ([¶0073] In some cases, the first UE 115 may include a UE capability that includes support of an S-SSB based synchronization (e.g., with a SyncRef UE as source). Additionally, the first UE 115 may also include a UE capability that includes support of the reduced complexity synchronization procedures. Accordingly, the first UE 115 may use a data-aided/non-SSB based synchronization mechanism, a synchronous-SSB based synchronization mechanism (e.g., perform S-SSB search within a time window), or a combination thereof. [¶0074] FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system 200 that supports techniques for synchronizing based on sidelink synchronization signal prioritization in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In some examples, wireless communications system 200 may implement aspects of wireless communications system 100. Wireless communications system 200 may include one or more synchronous source UEs 205 (e.g., synchronization source UEs, synchronization reference UEs, SynchRef UEs, etc.) that provide synchronization information (e.g., S-PSS, S-SSS, PSBCH, S-SSB, etc.) to a UE 210, where the synchronous source UEs 205 and UE 210 may represent examples of UEs 115 as described herein with reference to FIG. 1. For example, a first synchronous source UE 205-a and a second synchronous source UE 205-b may transmit respective synchronization signals to UE 210 on a first sidelink 215-a and a second sidelink 215-b (e.g., first synchronous source UE 205-a uses first sidelink 215-a and second synchronous source UE 205-b uses second sidelink 215-b). Accordingly, UE 210 may attempt to establish sidelink communications with one or both synchronous source UEs 205. [¶0158] The wireless communications systems described herein may support synchronous or asynchronous operation. For synchronous operation, the base stations may have similar frame timing, and transmissions from different base stations may be approximately aligned in time. For asynchronous operation, the base stations may have different frame timing, and transmissions from different base stations may not be aligned in time. The techniques described herein may be used for either synchronous or asynchronous operations.)
Yang and Gulati are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yang to search for a synchronous SyncRef as taught by Gulati in order to improve a performance of the UE ([¶0022] Instant Application).
Regarding Claim 13:
Yang discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Yang does not disclose:
wherein the search for the asynchronous SyncRef UE is performed due to a synchronization source not being synced directly or indirectly to a global navigation satellite system (GNSS).
Gulati discloses:
wherein the search for the asynchronous SyncRef UE is performed due to a synchronization source not being synced directly or indirectly to a global navigation satellite system (GNSS). ([¶0006] In some cases, the first synchronous source and the second synchronous source may be part of a first set of synchronous sources that are independent of a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) (e.g., out-of-coverage of the GNSS system, not connected to a base station, etc.).)
Yang and Gulati are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yang to search for a synchronous SyncRef as taught by Gulati in order to improve a performance of the UE ([¶0022] Instant Application).
Regarding Claim 14:
Yang discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Yang does not disclose:
wherein the search for the synchronous SyncRef UE is based at least in part on the UE searching for the synchronous SyncRef UE at possible SLSS transmission locations in a time domain according to a timing of the UE, and SLSS transmissions are potentially dropped because the SLSS transmissions and data are transmitted at different locations in the time domain.
Gulati discloses:
wherein the search for the synchronous SyncRef UE is based at least in part on the UE searching for the synchronous SyncRef UE at possible SLSS transmission locations in a time domain according to a timing of the UE, and SLSS transmissions are potentially dropped because the SLSS transmissions and data are transmitted at different locations in the time domain. ([¶0031] In some wireless communications systems, a user equipment (UE) may receive synchronization signals from a synchronous source (e.g., a synchronization source) to enable the UE to synchronize with the synchronous source prior to establishing a connection and communicate with the synchronous source. For example, the synchronization signals may allow the UE to transmit and receive messages with the synchronous source according to timings as indicated by the synchronization signals (e.g., the UE adjusts timings to align with timings of the synchronous source). In some cases, the synchronous source may be a base station, a synchronization reference UE, or a similar wireless device that is connected to a global navigation satellite system (GNSS), where the timings associated with the synchronization signals are determined from the GNSS. Alternatively, the synchronous source may be outside of a coverage area for the GNSS and may determine timings to indicate with the synchronization signals without the aid of the GNSS. Accordingly, the UE attempting to establish the connection with the synchronous source, where the synchronous source is outside the GNSS coverage, may receive sidelink synchronization signals from the synchronous source for the synchronization. In some cases, the UE may receive multiple sidelink synchronization signals from respective multiple synchronous sources but may not know which synchronous source to select.)
Yang and Gulati are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yang to search for a synchronous SyncRef as taught by Gulati in order to improve a performance of the UE ([¶0022] Instant Application).
Regarding Claim 15:
Yang discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Yang does not disclose:
wherein the search for the asynchronous SyncRef UE is based at least in part on the UE searching for the asynchronous SyncRef UE at an entire S-SSB period, and the asynchronous SyncRef UE is associated with a different timing, as compared to the UE, leading to a data transmission dropping.
Gulati discloses:
wherein the search for the asynchronous SyncRef UE is based at least in part on the UE searching for the asynchronous SyncRef UE at an entire S-SSB period, and the asynchronous SyncRef UE is associated with a different timing, as compared to the UE, leading to a data transmission dropping. ([¶0031] In some wireless communications systems, a user equipment (UE) may receive synchronization signals from a synchronous source (e.g., a synchronization source) to enable the UE to synchronize with the synchronous source prior to establishing a connection and communicate with the synchronous source. For example, the synchronization signals may allow the UE to transmit and receive messages with the synchronous source according to timings as indicated by the synchronization signals (e.g., the UE adjusts timings to align with timings of the synchronous source). In some cases, the synchronous source may be a base station, a synchronization reference UE, or a similar wireless device that is connected to a global navigation satellite system (GNSS), where the timings associated with the synchronization signals are determined from the GNSS. Alternatively, the synchronous source may be outside of a coverage area for the GNSS and may determine timings to indicate with the synchronization signals without the aid of the GNSS. Accordingly, the UE attempting to establish the connection with the synchronous source, where the synchronous source is outside the GNSS coverage, may receive sidelink synchronization signals from the synchronous source for the synchronization. In some cases, the UE may receive multiple sidelink synchronization signals from respective multiple synchronous sources but may not know which synchronous source to select.)
Yang and Gulati are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yang to search for a synchronous SyncRef as taught by Gulati in order to improve a performance of the UE ([¶0022] Instant Application).
Claim(s) 3 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Thangarasa (WO 2024171149 A1).
Regarding Claim 3:
Yang discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Yang does not disclose:
wherein the SLSS from the SyncRef UE is not available based at least in part on a listen-before-talk (LBT) failure associated with the SyncRef UE.
Thangarasa discloses:
wherein the SLSS from the SyncRef UE is not available based at least in part on a listen-before-talk (LBT) failure associated with the SyncRef UE. ([¶0075] In this case, the UE may perform LBT operation per channel/subband/BWP segment. [¶0076] The term “operation of the signal” may refer to any of: transmission of the signal by the device and/or reception of the signal at the device. The term “operation of the signal being subject to CCA” may refer to a scenario in which the device before transmitting a signal of a carrier may apply CCA procedure to decide whether the channel is idle or busy i.e., device transmits signal if the channel is idle otherwise it defers the transmission. For simplicity in some embodiments a term, “carrier subject to CCA” may be used, referring to the operation of signal on cells of the carrier when the CCA procedure is applied by the device before transmission of the signal. Each occurrence of the signal or the occurrence when the UE can operate the signal is broadly called as an occasion, which may be transmission occasion or a reception occasion. The occasion is also interchangeably called as signal occasion, signal operational occasion, measurement occasion, signal operational opportunity, signal duration, operational occasion or simply occasion for operating a signal etc. Examples of occasions are time resources containing RS (e.g., SLSS, CSI-RS, SSB), SMTC occasion, discovery burst transmission (DBT) window etc. An occasion may occur once every RS periodicity (e.g., once every SMTC period), once every DRX cycle, every Q.sup.th DRX cycle (where Q > 1) etc.)
Yang and Thangarasa are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yang to incorporate LBT failure as a cause for SLSS being unavailable as taught by Thangarasa in order to improve a performance of the UE ([¶0022] Instant Application).
Regarding Claim 8:
Yang discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Yang does not disclose:
wherein the time period and the maximum percentage are based at least in part on the quantity of S-SSB periods in which the SLSS from the SyncRef UE is not available, and the maximum percentage is associated with a maximum dropping rate constraint.
Thangarasa discloses:
wherein the time period and the maximum percentage are based at least in part on the quantity of S-SSB periods in which the SLSS from the SyncRef UE is not available, and the maximum percentage is associated with a maximum dropping rate constraint. ([¶0130] UE shall not drop any SL (e.g., V2X) data transmission for the purpose of selection/reselection to the SyncRef UE. The UE shall be able to identify newly detectable intra- frequency SyncRef UE within Tdetect, SyncRef UE_V2X seconds if the SyncRef UE meets the selection / reselection criterion defined in TS 38.331 V17.3.0. Tdetect, SyncRef UE_V2X is defined as (10 + LSLI)*X1 seconds when the carrier on which the SyncRef UE transmits signals (e.g., RS) is subject to CCA provided that: S-SSB Es/Iot > 0 dB and the UE is allowed to drop a maximum of 30% of its SLSS transmissions during Tdetect, SyncRef UE_V2X for the purpose of selection / reselection to the SyncRef UE. In one example, XI = 0.16. In one example, LSLI is the number of RS occasions (e.g., number of S-SSB occasions) of the SyncRef UE not available at the UE during the Tdetect.SyncRef UE_V2X due to the CCA failure at the SyncRef UE.)
Yang and Thangarasa are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yang to use a drop rate as a percentage as taught by Thangarasa in order to improve a performance of the UE ([¶0022] Instant Application).
Regarding Claim 9:
Yang discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Yang does not disclose:
wherein the time period is based at least in part on a number of detection windows with at least one unavailable S-SSB period in three S-SSB periods for S-SSB detection, and the three S-SSB periods are selected in a detection window based at least in part on a UE implementation.
Thangarasa discloses:
wherein the time period is based at least in part on a number of detection windows with at least one unavailable S-SSB period in three S-SSB periods for S-SSB detection, and the three S-SSB periods are selected in a detection window based at least in part on a UE implementation. ([¶0130] UE shall not drop any SL (e.g., V2X) data transmission for the purpose of selection/reselection to the SyncRef UE. The UE shall be able to identify newly detectable intra- frequency SyncRef UE within Tdetect, SyncRef UE_V2X seconds if the SyncRef UE meets the selection / reselection criterion defined in TS 38.331 V17.3.0. Tdetect, SyncRef UE_V2X is defined as (10 + LSLI)*X1 seconds when the carrier on which the SyncRef UE transmits signals (e.g., RS) is subject to CCA provided that: S-SSB Es/Iot > 0 dB and the UE is allowed to drop a maximum of 30% of its SLSS transmissions during Tdetect, SyncRef UE_V2X for the purpose of selection / reselection to the SyncRef UE. In one example, XI = 0.16. In one example, LSLI is the number of RS occasions (e.g., number of S-SSB occasions) of the SyncRef UE not available at the UE during the Tdetect.SyncRef UE_V2X due to the CCA failure at the SyncRef UE.)
Yang and Thangarasa are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yang to track unavailable S-SSB periods as taught by Thangarasa in order to improve a performance of the UE ([¶0022] Instant Application).
Regarding Claim 10:
Yang discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Yang does not disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: search additional S-SSB candidate locations for detecting the second SyncRef UE based at least in part on a signal quality associated with the SLSS received from the first SyncRef UE, and the signal quality is based at least in part on the SLSS being associated with a measurement that satisfies a first threshold, or the signal quality is based at least in part on the quantity of S-SSB periods in which the SLSS from the SyncRef UE is not available satisfying a second threshold; and drop data transmissions associated with the additional S-SSB candidate locations.
Thangarasa discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: search additional S-SSB candidate locations for detecting the second SyncRef UE based at least in part on a signal quality associated with the SLSS received from the first SyncRef UE, and the signal quality is based at least in part on the SLSS being associated with a measurement that satisfies a first threshold, or the signal quality is based at least in part on the quantity of S-SSB periods in which the SLSS from the SyncRef UE is not available satisfying a second threshold; and drop data transmissions associated with the additional S-SSB candidate locations. ([¶0130] UE shall be able to identify newly detectable intra-frequency SyncRef UE within Tdetect, SyncRef UE_V2X seconds if the SyncRef UE meets the selection/reselection criterion defined in TS 38.331 [2] . Tdetect, SyncRef UE_V2X is defined as (50 + LSL2) *X3 seconds when the carrier on which the SyncRef UE transmits signals (e.g., RS) is subject to CCA provided that: S-SSB Es/Iot > 0 dB, the SL (e.g., V2X) UE is allowed to drop a maximum of 6 % of its SL (e.g., V2X) data and SLSS transmissions for the purpose of selection / reselection to the SyncRef UE. In one example, X3 = 0.16. In another example, X3 = max(0.16, SL-DRX length). In one example, LSL2 is the number of the RS occasions (e.g., S-SSB occasions) of the SyncRef UE is not available at the UE during the Tdetect, SyncRef UE_V2X due to the CCA failure at the SyncRef UE. In another example, LSL2 is the number of SL-DRX cycles during which at least one RS occasion (e.g., S-SSB occasion) of the SyncRef UE is not available at the UE during the Tdetect.SyncRef UE_V2X due to the CCA failure at the SyncRef UE. - UE is allowed to drop up to 2 slots of its SL (e.g., V2X data reception per PSBCH monitoring occasion and UE is allowed to drop at most an aggregated window of 24ms of its SL (e.g., V2X) data reception during Tdetect.SyncRef UE_V2X for the purpose of selection/reselection to the SyncRef UE.)
Yang and Thangarasa are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yang to search additional S-SSB candidate locations as taught by Thangarasa in order to improve a performance of the UE ([¶0022] Instant Application).
Regarding Claim 11:
Yang discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Yang does not disclose:
wherein additional S-SSB candidate locations are not searched based at least in part on a signal quality associated with the SLSS received from the first SyncRef UE, and the signal quality is based at least in part on the SLSS being associated with a measurement that satisfies a first threshold, or the signal quality is based at least in part on the quantity of S-SSB periods in which the SLSS from the SyncRef UE is not available satisfying a second threshold.
Thangarasa discloses:
wherein additional S-SSB candidate locations are not searched based at least in part on a signal quality associated with the SLSS received from the first SyncRef UE, and the signal quality is based at least in part on the SLSS being associated with a measurement that satisfies a first threshold, or the signal quality is based at least in part on the quantity of S-SSB periods in which the SLSS from the SyncRef UE is not available satisfying a second threshold. ([¶0030] The adaptation of the SRS may be determined by UE1 based on one or more rules which may be pre-defined, pre-configured (e.g., on SIM/USIM card), or configured by a node (e.g., by another UE, a network etc.). Examples of the adaptation of the SRS are continue using SRS1, discarding SRS1, changing/reselecting the synchronization to a second synchronization reference source (SRS2), suspending SRS1 for a period of time, suspending or postponing SRS1 until one or more conditions are met, initiating/ceasing of SLSS, etc. Examples of the results of the CCA procedures are: number of CCA failures, number of successful CCA, number of CCA failures over a time period, number of successful CCA over a time period etc. For example, UE1 triggers reselection of synchronization reference source (e.g., to SRS2) if the number of CCA failures on Fl detected by UE1 exceeds a threshold; otherwise, the UE continues using SRS1.
Yang and Thangarasa are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yang to not search additional S-SSB candidate locations as taught by Thangarasa in order to improve a performance of the UE ([¶0022] Instant Application).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463