DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is a first action on the merits of the application. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of invention I, claims 1-17 with traverse in the reply filed on August 03, 2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that: the classification of Groups I-IV in different classes is not necessarily sufficient grounds to require restriction. Even though some additional searching would be necessary, the scope of analysis of novelty of all the Groups would have to be as rigorous as when only Group I were being considered by itself. Clearly, this duplication of effort would not be warranted where these claims of different groups are so interrelated. Further, for restriction to be effected between the claims and species, it would place an undue burden by requiring payment of a separate filing fee for examination of the nonelected species, as well as the added costs associated with prosecuting two applications and maintaining two patents. See Remarks, pages 7-8 filed 08/03/2026.
This is found not persuasive because:
There are four distinct groups of inventions in the instant application as:
I. Claim(s) 1-17, drawn to a method of forming a layered microporous membrane, classified in section/class/subclass B29C 55/14+.
II. Claim(s) 18-30, drawn to a layered polymeric microporous membrane, classified in section/class/subclass B01D 69/1213+.
III. Claim(s) 31, drawn to a filter cartridge comprising a membrane, classified in section/class/subclass B01D 63/08+.
IV. Claim(s) 32, drawn to a method of using the filter cartridge, classified in section/class/subclass B01D 53/00+.
Inventions I and II are related as process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case, the product as claimed, a layered polymeric microporous membrane, can be made by another and materially different process, such as 3D-prining technique as taught by Thiam et al. (3DPrinted and Conventional Membranes—A Review, Polymers 2022, 14, 1023).
Regarding the argument of undue burden for the examination purposes, it has been found that a serious burden for the examiner does exist because the elected and non-elected inventions would require different fields of class/subclass search, and because the elected and non-elected inventions are distinct as set forth above. For example, claim 1 would require searching within CPC section/class/subclass B29C 55/14+, while claim 18 would require searching within CPC section/class/subclass B01D 69/1213+. Therefore, because different class searches would be necessary, a serious burden for the examiner does exist if restriction were not required.
Inventions I and III are related as combination and subcombination. Inventions in this relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). In the instant case, the combination as claimed, a system for filtering particulate matter from a fluid, does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed, an apparatus for filtering particulate matter from a fluid, because a system for filtering particulate matter from a fluid can be constructed without using an apparatus for filtering particulate matter from a fluid as claimed, such as a system for filtering particulate matter from a fluid comprising a filter cartridge comprising a membrane. The subcombination, an apparatus for filtering particulate matter from a fluid, has separate utility such as a stand-alone filtering device for conducting a filtering particulate material from a fluid.
Regarding the argument of undue burden for the examination purposes, it has been found that a serious burden for the examiner does exist because the elected and non-elected inventions would require different fields of class/subclass search, and because the elected and non-elected inventions are distinct as set forth above. For example, claim 1 would require searching within CPC section/class/subclass B29C 55/14+, while claim 31 would require searching within CPC section/class/subclass B01D 63/08+. Therefore, because different class searches would be necessary, a serious burden for the examiner does exist if restriction were not required.
The examiner has required restriction between combination and subcombination inventions. Where applicant elects a subcombination, and claims thereto are subsequently found allowable, any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable subcombination will be examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. See MPEP § 821.04(a). Applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Inventions I and VI are directed to related as distinct processes. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed, one directs a method of forming a layered microporous membrane, while other directs a method of using the filter cartridge. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Regarding the argument of undue burden for the examination purposes, it has been found that a serious burden for the examiner does exist because the elected and non-elected inventions would require different fields of class/subclass search, and because the elected and non-elected inventions are distinct as set forth above. For example, claim 1 would require searching within CPC section/class/subclass B29C 55/14+, while claim 32 would require searching within CPC section/class/subclass B01D 53/00+. Therefore, because different class searches would be necessary, a serious burden for the examiner does exist if restriction were not required.
Inventions II and III are related as combination and subcombination. Inventions in this relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). In the instant case, the combination as claimed, a filter cartridge comprising a membrane, does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed, a layered polymeric microporous membrane, because a filter cartridge comprising a membrane can be constructed without using a layered polymeric microporous membrane as claimed, such as a filter cartridge comprising a membrane manufactured by a 3D-prining technique as taught by Arafat et al. (US 11,786,868 B2). The subcombination, a safety assembly for a membrane, has utility in other combinations.
Regarding the argument of undue burden for the examination purposes, it has been found that a serious burden for the examiner does exist because the elected and non-elected inventions would require different fields of class/subclass search, and because the elected and non-elected inventions are distinct as set forth above. For example, claim 18 would require searching within CPC section/class/subclass B01D 69/1213+, while claim 31 would require searching within CPC section/class/subclass B01D 63/08+. Therefore, because different class searches would be necessary, a serious burden for the examiner does exist if restriction were not required.
The examiner has required restriction between combination and subcombination inventions. Where applicant elects a subcombination, and claims thereto are subsequently found allowable, any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable subcombination will be examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. See MPEP § 821.04(a). Applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Inventions II and IV are directed to an unrelated product and process. Product and process inventions are unrelated if it can be shown that the product cannot be used in, or made by, the process. See MPEP § 802.01 and § 806.06. In the instant case, the product as claimed, a layered polymeric microporous membrane, cannot be made by, the process as claimed, a method of using the filter cartridge.
Regarding the argument of undue burden for the examination purposes, it has been found that a serious burden for the examiner does exist because the elected and non-elected inventions would require different fields of class/subclass search, and because the elected and non-elected inventions are distinct as set forth above. For example, claim 18 would require searching within CPC section/class/subclass B01D 69/1213+, while claim 31 would require searching within CPC section/class/subclass B01D 53/00+. Therefore, because different class searches would be necessary, a serious burden for the examiner does exist if restriction were not required.
Inventions III and IV are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product, such as a filter cartridge comprising a membrane manufactured by a 3D-prining technique as taught by Arafat et al. (US 11,786,868 B2).
Regarding the argument of undue burden for the examination purposes, it has been found that a serious burden for the examiner does exist because the elected and non-elected inventions would require different fields of class/subclass search, and because the elected and non-elected inventions are distinct as set forth above. For example, claim 31 would require searching within CPC section/class/subclass B01D 63/08+, while claim 32 would require searching within CPC section/class/subclass B01D 53/00+. Therefore, because different class searches would be necessary, a serious burden for the examiner does exist if restriction were not required.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 18-32 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites “bond area” in line 7. It is respectfully suggested to amend the limitation to “bond areas” for consistent recitation of claim limitation.
Claim 13 recites the same recitation as in claim 7, and both claims depend on claim 1. It is respectfully suggested to amend the limitation and/or amend the dependency of claim 13.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gebert et al. (US 8,147,583 B2, hereinafter “Gebert”).
In regard to claim 1, Gebert discloses a multiple layer filter media for removal of particles from a fluid stream (i.e., a microporous membrane) and a method of making the multiple layer filter media (Abstract).
Gebert discloses the method of forming a layered microporous membrane comprising a first microporous membrane bonded to a second microporous membrane at multiple bond areas (Figs. 1 and 2, Fig. 1 shows an enlarged feature of bonding areas 102 contained in a multiple layer filter media 100 shown in and Fig. 2; col. 4, line 63 thru col. 11, line 34), the method comprising:
(i) contacting a surface of the first microporous membrane (103, Fig. 1, a depth filtration layer made from polymeric materials, col. 5, lines 43-48) with a surface of the second microporous membrane (104, Fig. 1, a microporous polymeric membranes, col. 6, lines 4-11), and
(ii) forming bonds between the surface of the first microporous membrane and the surface of the second microporous membrane, at multiple bond areas (102, Fig. 2), by applying energy to the bond areas (applying ultrasonic, heat and/or pressure energy, col. 7, lines 41-45).
The multiple layer filter media 100, Fig. 1 shows air permeability (col. 2, lines 7-10) which directs the first microporous membrane (103, Fig. 1) and the second microporous membrane (104, Fig. 1) are microporous membrane.
In regard to claim 2, Gebert discloses the ratio of the total area of the first region (101, Fig. 1, unbonded areas) to the total area of all of the second regions (102, Fig. 2, bonded areas) may be at least 9 to 1. Moreover, in certain embodiments, the ratio of the total area of the first region (101, Fig. 1, unbonded areas) to the total area of all of the second regions (102, Fig. 2, bonded areas) may be at least 32 to 1 (col. 3, lines 36-40). This directs the bond areas (102, Fig. 2) cover about 3-10 percent of the area of the layered microporous membrane.
In regard to claims 3, 4 and 14, Gebert discloses (col. 7, lines 38-57): First, energy (e.g., ultrasonic, heat and/or pressure) is applied to the multiple layer filter media 100 in the area of the second region 102 to be created. This application of energy causes the depth filtration layer 103 to melt and become densified. Material from the melted depth filtration layer 103 also flows into both the membrane filtration layer 104 and the support layer 105, Fig. 1 (a third microporous membrane comprising fibrous material, polyethylene and polypropylene, col. 6, lines 45-52). Also during the bonding process, material from the support layer 105 may melt and become densified and material from the support layer 105 may flow into other layers of the multiple layer filter media 100, such as the membrane filtration layer 104. After the removal of the energy source and the cooling of the second region 102, the material that had softened, melted and/or flowed may solidify. In this regard, the materials that have flowed together may have become fused together. This meets the recitations of claims 3, 4 and 14.
In regard to claim 6, Gebert discloses the second microporous membrane (104, Fig. 2) comprises ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene (col. 6, lines 25-29).
In regard to claims 7 and 13, Gebert discloses the first microporous membrane (103, Fig. 2) may be made from a variety of polymeric materials, including polyethylene (col. 5, lines 43-48). Gebert discloses the second microporous membrane (104, Fig. 2) comprises a microporous fluoropolymer comprising polypropylene (col. 6, lines 25-29).
In regard to claim 8, Gebert discloses forming bonds between the surface of the first microporous membrane and the surface of the second microporous membrane, at multiple bond areas (102, Fig. 2), by applying ultrasonic energy to the bond areas (col. 7, lines 41-45).
In regard to claim 9, Gebert discloses forming the bonds between the surface of the first microporous membrane and the surface of the second microporous membrane at multiple bond areas comprises: using a heated surface having an area of the bond areas, applying heat to the bond areas by placing the bond areas between the heated surf ace and a roller (col. 7, lines 38-57; col. 10, lines 18-40).
Gebert discloses every limitation recited in claims 1-4, 6-9 and 13-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 10-12 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gebert et al. (US 8,147,583 B2, hereinafter “Gebert”), and as evidenced by Fong et al. (On the performance of multilayered membrane filters, J Eng Math (2021) 127:23).
In regard to claim 5, Gebert discloses the first microporous membrane (103, Fig. 2) may be made from a variety of polymeric materials, including polypropylene and polypropylene is among the more preferred polymeric materials (col. 5, lines 43-48). Gebert discloses the second microporous membrane (104, Fig. 2) comprises a microporous fluoropolymer comprising polyethylene (PE) (col. 6, lines 25-29). Since the melting point of polypropylene ranges from 160-170 [Symbol font/0xB0]C, and the melting point of polyethylene ranges from 105-138 [Symbol font/0xB0]C, the recitation of claim 5 is considered prima facie obvious.
In regard to claims 10, 11 and 12, Gebert discloses that: In various arrangements, the continuous bond (102, Fig. 1, bonded areas) may have a minimum thickness that is less than 50 percent of a maximum thickness of the filter media in the first region (101, Fig. 1, unbonded areas). Furthermore, in certain arrangements the continuous bond (102, Fig. 1, bonded areas) may have a minimum thickness that is less than 25 percent of a maximum thickness of the filter media in the first region (101, Fig. 1, unbonded areas) (col. 3, lines 41-46).
Regarding the properties and performances of the filter media (100, Fig. 1), Gebert discloses: In an arrangement, the filter media may have a specific quality factor of at least about 0.8 1/krayls at 0.1 um DOP (dioctyl-phthalate) particle at 2.5 cm/s air velocity. In an arrangement, the filter media may have a dust holding capacity greater than about 10 g/m2 (col. 3, lines 51-55). Gebert discloses: Furthermore, after the applying step, the filter media may have an air permeability of at least 4 Frazier. In certain embodiments, the air permeability may be at least 10 Frazier. After the applying step, the filter media may have a water entry pressure of greater than 0.5 PSI. In certain embodiments, the water entry pressure may be greater than 1.5 PSI (col. 4, lines 32-43). In an embodiment, Gebert discloses: The resulting filter media had a basis weight of 200 g/m2. The filter media had an air permeability of 10.7 Frazier and a water entry pressure of 3 PSI. The filtration efficiency of the filter media was 99.785% at 0.1 um DOP (Dioctyl Phthalate) (a) 2.5 cm/s flow. The specific quality was 1.2 1/krayls. The dust loading capacity was 16.8 g/m2.
Regarding the materials of the first microporous membrane (103, Fig. 1, a depth filtration layer made from polymeric materials, col. 5, lines 43-48) and the second microporous membrane (104, Fig. 1, a microporous polymeric membranes, col. 6, lines 4-11), Gebert discloses: the first microporous membrane (103, Fig. 1) may be made from a variety of polymeric materials, including polypropylene, polyester, polyamide, polyvinyl chloride, polymethylmethacrylate, nylon, and polyethylene. Polypropylene is among the more preferred polymeric materials (col. 5, lines 43-48). The second microporous membrane (104, Fig. 1) may be constructed from one or more of the following exemplary materials: nitrocellulose, triacetyl cellulose, polyamide, polycarbonate, polyethylene, polypropylene, polysulfone, polytetrafluoroethylene, polyvinyl chloride, polyvinylidene fluoride, acrylate copolymer (col. 6, lines 4-11). Preferably, the membrane filtration layer 104 comprises a microporous fluoropolymer, such as ePTFE, fluorinated eth ylenepropylene (FEP), perfluoronalkoxy polymer (PFA), polypropylene (PU), polyethylene (PE) or ultra high molecular weight polyethylene (uhmwPE) (col. 6, lines 25-29).
The teachings of Gebert, set forth above, direct the recited physical properties of the first microporous membrane (claim 10), or a second microporous membrane thickness range (claim 11), or physical properties of the second microporous membrane (claim 12) are considered “result-effective variables”. Furthermore, it is known in the art that, in relation to the performance of multilayered membrane filters, membrane thickness, porosity, pressure drop across membrane, Kozeny coefficients, blocking coefficients, etc. are operational variables in the filtration process as evidenced by Fong (page 23, Table 1).
Consequently, the claimed physical properties of the first microporous membrane (claim 10), or a second microporous membrane thickness range (claim 11), or physical properties of the second microporous membrane (claim 12) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation in an effort to optimize multiple layer filter media activity and utility taking into consideration the operational parameters of the fluid-filtering operation (residence time, temperature, pressure, throughput), the geometry of the multiple layer filter media bodies, the physical and chemical make-up of the fluid mixture feedstock as well as the nature of the filtered fluid end-products.
In regard to claims 15, 16 and 17, Gebert discloses that: In various arrangements, the continuous bond (102, Fig. 1, bonded areas) may have a minimum thickness that is less than 50 percent of a maximum thickness of the filter media in the first region (101, Fig. 1, unbonded areas). Furthermore, in certain arrangements the continuous bond (102, Fig. 1, bonded areas) may have a minimum thickness that is less than 25 percent of a maximum thickness of the filter media in the first region (101, Fig. 1, unbonded areas) (col. 3, lines 41-46).
Regarding the properties and performances of the filter media (100, Fig. 1), Gebert discloses: In an arrangement, the filter media may have a specific quality factor of at least about 0.8 1/krayls at 0.1 um DOP (dioctyl-phthalate) particle at 2.5 cm/s air velocity. In an arrangement, the filter media may have a dust holding capacity greater than about 10 g/m2 (col. 3, lines 51-55). Gebert discloses: Furthermore, after the applying step, the filter media may have an air permeability of at least 4 Frazier. In certain embodiments, the air permeability may be at least 10 Frazier. After the applying step, the filter media may have a water entry pressure of greater than 0.5 PSI. In certain embodiments, the water entry pressure may be greater than 1.5 PSI (col. 4, lines 32-43). In an embodiment, Gebert discloses: The resulting filter media had a basis weight of 200 g/m2. The filter media had an air permeability of 10.7 Frazier and a water entry pressure of 3 PSI. The filtration efficiency of the filter media was 99.785% at 0.1 um DOP (Dioctyl Phthalate) (a) 2.5 cm/s flow. The specific quality was 1.2 1/krayls. The dust loading capacity was 16.8 g/m2.
Regarding the materials of the first microporous membrane (103, Fig. 1, a depth filtration layer made from polymeric materials, col. 5, lines 43-48) and the second microporous membrane (104, Fig. 1, a microporous polymeric membranes, col. 6, lines 4-11), Gebert discloses: the first microporous membrane (103, Fig. 1) may be made from a variety of polymeric materials, including polypropylene, polyester, polyamide, polyvinyl chloride, polymethylmethacrylate, nylon, and polyethylene. Polypropylene is among the more preferred polymeric materials (col. 5, lines 43-48). The second microporous membrane (104, Fig. 1) may be constructed from one or more of the following exemplary materials: nitrocellulose, triacetyl cellulose, polyamide, polycarbonate, polyethylene, polypropylene, polysulfone, polytetrafluoroethylene, polyvinyl chloride, polyvinylidene fluoride, acrylate copolymer (col. 6, lines 4-11). Preferably, the membrane filtration layer 104 comprises a microporous fluoropolymer, such as ePTFE, fluorinated ethylenepropylene (FEP), perfluoronalkoxy polymer (PFA), polypropylene (PU), polyethylene (PE) or ultra high molecular weight polyethylene (uhmwPE) (col. 6, lines 25-29).
The teachings of Gebert, set forth above, direct the recited first microporous membrane thickness range and/or second microporous membrane thickness range are considered “result-effective variables”. Furthermore, it is known in the art that, regarding the performance of multilayered membrane filters, membrane thickness, porosity, pressure drop across membrane, Kozeny coefficients, blocking coefficients, etc. are operational variables in the filtration process as evidenced by Fong (page 23, Table 1).
Consequently, the claimed first microporous membrane thickness range and/or second microporous membrane thickness range (claims 15-17) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation in an effort to optimize multiple layer filter media activity and utility taking into consideration the operational parameters of the fluid-filtering operation (residence time, temperature, pressure, throughput), the geometry of the multiple layer filter media bodies, the physical and chemical make-up of the fluid mixture feedstock as well as the nature of the filtered fluid end-products.
Conclusion
/YOUNGSUL JEONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772