Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification (MPEP 608.01, ¶6.31).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Wake-up module
A wakeup module is interpreted to be a transceiver, according to paragraph 0031
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, 14-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golgiri (US11724719B2) in view of Chen (US20210114554A1) and ANALOG DEVICES (Current, Voltage, and Charge Monitor for High Voltage Battery Packs, 2020).
Regarding claim 8, Golgiri teaches;
A system comprising:
a vehicle control system (taught as an autonomous vehicle, with a vehicle controller, element 110le, element 115) configured to:
activate a wake-up module (taught as a communications system, element 150, connected to a wakeup circuit, column 8 lines 35-36) of an autonomous guided vehicle (AGV) [[in a fleet of a plurality of autonomous guided vehicles (AGVs)]] when the AGV is operating in a standby state (taught as activating a wakeup routine during a powered-down state [by a wakeup circuit], column 8 lines 23-29, such as wait state, column 10 lines 23-27),
determine, by the wake-up module, whether [interpreted to mean if a command was received, not an authentication of the source] a global wake-up command was broadcasted by a [[fleet management]] system (taught as detecting a directive from a user and executing the directive, column 10 lines 29-32, Fig 5), and
activate an on-state associated with the AGV in response to determining that the global wake-up command was broadcasted by the [[fleet management]] system (taught as entering a fully-powered up state based on receiving a directive, column 11 lines 21-27, Fig 5); and
a [[fleet management]] system (taught as a server that communicates with the vehicle controller and user devices, column 4 line 66- column 5 line 2), configured to: broadcast the global wake-up command (taught as a user transmitting a directive for the vehicle to execute, column 10 lines 29-32, Fig 5).
However, Golgiri does not explicitly teach a “in a fleet of a plurality of autonomous guided vehicles (AGVs)”, “a global wake-up command was broadcasted by a fleet management system”, “wherein the global wake-up command is configured to activate each AGV of the plurality of AGVs in the fleet from the standby state to the on-state”, “activating a sleep state associated with the AGV in response to determining that the global wake-up command was not broadcasted by the fleet management system”.
Chen teaches; a global wake-up command was broadcasted by a fleet management system (taught as a control system remote from and in communication with a plurality of vehicles [fleet], paragraph 0143), wherein the global wake-up command is a single broadcast command that simultaneously activates to activate each AGV of the plurality of AGVs in the fleet from the standby state to the on-state (taught as initiate startup of each vehicle of the plurality of vehicles [fleet], paragraph 0143).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate startup commands that target and initiate each vehicle of the plurality of vehicles as taught by Chen in the system taught by Golgiri in order to improve speed of activation. As taught in Chen, when there is a large fleet of vehicles to start up, it becomes untenable to start each vehicle individually, (paragraph 0072); and thus, using a singular command would efficiently speed up the process for large fleets.
However, Chen does not explicitly teach; activating a sleep state associated with the AGV in response to determining that the global wake-up command was not broadcasted by the fleet management system.
ANALOG DEVICES teaches; activating a sleep state associated with the AGV in response to determining that the global wake-up command was not broadcasted by the fleet management system (taught as, upon entering a standby state, if no confirmation command is received, returning to a sleep state after a time period, page 15 column 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a standby to sleep transition upon no confirmation command being received as taught by ANALOG DEVICES in the system taught by Golgiri in order to preserve energy. As standby functions consume more power than sleep, needlessly maintaining a standby state would consume unnecessary energy. To reiterate, one would take the timeout function taught by ANALOG DEVICES and incorporate it into the system taught by Golgiri in order to conserve energy if no directive/confirmation command is received [as in corresponding to an authorized signal].
Regarding claim 9, Golgiri as modified by Chen and ANALOG DEVICES teaches;
The system of claim 8 (see claim 8 rejection). Golgiri further teaches; wherein the global wake-up command is broadcasted via an ultra-wide band network, Bluetooth®, WIFI , a CV2X protocol, a public cellular network, or a private cellular network (taught as communicating between the vehicle controller and the device based on a communications network, element 150, which uses local area networks, ultra-wideband, Bluetooth, internet, or cellular networks, column 5 lines 2-12).
While Golgiri does not explicitly teach that; “the wake-up module is coupled to a first low-power circuit associated with the AGV”, Golgiri does teach that the wake-up circuit, even when retained In a constantly powered up state, is designed to lessen battery drain as part of the wakeup routine (column 8 lines 41-50), and designed to have a lower battery charge consumption. This would indicate that such a circuit lowers power consumption of the system while retaining a level of usage, even in a powered-down state, and would fulfill the features of a “low-power circuit” as interpreted above.
However, Golgiri does not explicitly teach a “global wake-up command”, or “a fleet management system”.
Chen teaches; a global wake-up command was broadcasted by a fleet management system a global wake-up command was broadcasted by a fleet management system (taught as a control system remote from and in communication with a plurality of vehicles [fleet], paragraph 0143).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate startup commands that target and initiate each vehicle of the plurality of vehicles as taught by Chen in the system taught by Golgiri in order to improve speed of activation. As taught in Chen, when there is a large fleet of vehicles to start up, it becomes untenable to start each vehicle individually, (paragraph 0072); and thus, using a singular command would efficiently speed up the process for large fleets.
Regarding claim 10, Golgiri as modified by Chen and ANALOG DEVICES teaches;
The system of claim 9 (see claim 9 rejection). Golgiri further teaches; wherein the vehicle control system is further configured to: cause the wake-up module to be charged via a main power source associated with the AGV, wherein the first low-power circuit is coupled to the main power source (taught as a vehicle battery that powers components of a vehicle, column 7 lines 57-59, including the wakeup circuit that controls the connection to the vehicle battery to vary the amount of battery charge consumption, column 8 lines 44-50; this indicates that the wakeup circuit component is powered by the main vehicle battery).
Regarding claim 14, Golgiri as modified by Chen and ANALOG DEVICES teaches;
The system of claim 8 (see claim 8 rejection). Golgiri further teaches; wherein activating the wake-up module of the AGV is in response to a defined period of time elapsing (taught as the wakeup routine periodically [which indicates a time period or scheduled time interval] powering up components, column 8 lines 37-48), according to a predetermined schedule, or an initiation of a remote command.
Regarding claims 1-3, 7, 15-17, and 20, it has been determined that no further limitations exist apart from those previously addressed in claims 8-10 and 14. Therefore, claims 1-3, 7, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 8-10 and 14, wherein;
Claims 1-3 and 15-17 corresponds to claims 8-10, and
Claims 7 and 20 correspond to claim 14.
Claim(s) 4-6, 11-13, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golgiri (US11724719B2) as modified by Chen (US20210114554A1) and ANALOG DEVICES (Current, Voltage, and Charge Monitor for High Voltage Battery Packs, 2020), and further in view of He (US20210119271A1).
Regarding claim 11, Golgiri as modified by Chen and ANALOG DEVICES teaches;
The system of claim 8 (see claim 8 rejection), wherein the vehicle control system is further configured to:
activate the standby state associated with the AGV (taught as, upon a key off condition, performing a wakeup routine in which the wakeup circuit is powered, and other components are periodically powered, column 8 lines 37-48) in response to a global shut-off command broadcasted by the fleet management system;
activate the wake-up module (taught as, upon a key off condition, performing a wakeup routine in which the wakeup circuit is powered, and other components are periodically powered, column 8 lines 37-4),;
determine whether the global wake-up command was broadcasted by the [[fleet management]] system (taught as determining if a directive is received [which encompasses various actions to be carried out by the autonomous vehicle, column 5 lines 21-22, and the vehicle is taught to transition to a key off state, column 10 lines 11-18] issued by the user was issued, column 8 line 64- column 9 line 2); and
activate a sleep state associated with the AGV in response to determining that the global wake-up command was not broadcasted by the [[fleet management]] system (taught as, if no directive has been issued, the wakeup routine continues in monitoring periodically, as exemplified in column 9 lines 7-19).
However, Golgiri does not explicitly teach; the fleet management system, broadcasted by the fleet management system, and wherein the wake-up module is powered by an auxiliary power source.
Chen teaches; the fleet management system, broadcasted by the fleet management system (taught as a control system remote from and in communication with a plurality of vehicles [fleet], paragraph 0143).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate startup commands that target and initiate each vehicle of the plurality of vehicles as taught by Chen in the system taught by Golgiri in order to improve speed of activation. As taught in Chen, when there is a large fleet of vehicles to start up, it becomes untenable to start each vehicle individually, (paragraph 0072); and thus, using a singular command would efficiently speed up the process for large fleets.
He teaches; wherein the wake-up module is powered by an auxiliary power source (taught as a wakeup circuit, connected to an auxiliary power supply, paragraph 0024).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wakeup circuit as described by Golgiri with the system taught by He in order to improve wakeup circuit performance. As taught by He, using an auxiliary battery with a wakeup circuit allows for less power consumption from the overall battery system (paragraph 0005). Additionally, using an auxiliary power source promotes redundancy which allows components to function in the event of a power failure from the primary power source.
Regarding claim 12, Golgiri as modified by Chen, ANALOG DEVICES, and He teaches;
The system of claim 11 (see claim 11 rejection). Golgiri further teaches; wherein the vehicle control system is further configured to:
re-activate the wake-up module when the AGV is operating in a standby state and in response to a defined period of time elapsing (taught as the wakeup routine periodically [which indicates a time period or scheduled time interval] powering up components, column 8 lines 37-48), according to a predetermined schedule, or an initiation of a remote command.
Regarding claim 13, Golgiri as modified by Chen, ANALOG DEVICES, and He teaches;
The system of claim 11 (see claim 11 rejection). However, Golgiri does not explicitly teach; wherein a second low-power circuit couples the wake-up module to the auxiliary power source.
He teaches; wherein a second low-power circuit couples the wake-up module to the auxiliary power source (taught as a wakeup circuit, connected to an auxiliary power supply, paragraph 0024).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wakeup circuit as described by Golgiri with the system taught by He in order to improve wakeup circuit performance. As taught by He, using an auxiliary battery with a wakeup circuit allows for less power consumption from the overall battery system (paragraph 0005). Additionally, using an auxiliary power source promotes redundancy which allows components to function in the event of a power failure from the primary power source.
Regarding claims 4-6 and 18-19, it has been determined that no further limitations exist apart from those previously addressed in claims 11-13. Therefore, claims 4-6 and 18-19 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 11-13, wherein;
Claims 4-5 and 18 correspond to claims 11-12, and
Claim 6 and 19 correspond to claim 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on pages 10 and 13-15 (for former material in dependent claims 4-6 11-13 18-9) of the remarks that the recited prior art does not sufficiently teach the amended material regarding differentiating a standby state and a sleep state, specifically regarding activating a sleep state upon determining that the command was not broadcast by the fleet management system.
The examiner agrees that Golgiri does not explicitly differentiate a standby and sleep state; merely using a general key-off term that encompasses the features of either;
The phrase “key off condition” as used in general parlance refers to a condition where an ignition key of a vehicle has been removed from an ignition switch. This phrase is now generally extended to all types of vehicles when the engine/motor of the vehicle has been shut down (including vehicles that are started by depressing a push button). The phrase “key off load” typically refers to an amount of charge drawn from a battery of a vehicle that is in a key off condition. It should be understood that the word “example” as used herein is intended to be non-exclusionary and non-limiting in nature. (Column 3 lines 54-64).
As such, the previous rejection is withdrawn.
However, a new rejection in light of ANALOG DEVICES has been made above, which specifically teaches the concept of a switch from a standby state to a sleep state after no confirmation signal is received in a timeframe (page 15, column 1).
Applicant argues on pages 11-12 of the remarks that Kleve does not teach autonomous guided vehicles configured for coordinated operational tasks as a fleet.
The examiner agrees that while Kleve is not directed to an AGV fleet, the system described is very well applicable/analogous, as a “cluster” of vehicles [including autonomous vehicles] essentially defines a “fleet”, which are woken up in response to a broadcast signal. However, since Chen already teaches such features of a fleet management system (e.g. a control system remote from the vehicles, that sends a startup command, paragraph 0143), the rejection above has removed Kleve to simplify/clarify the combination.
Applicant argues on page 12 of the remarks that Chen describes a sequential startup process, not a simultaneous one as required by the amended claim.
The examiner notes that Chen’s exact language “in response to user input, to each vehicle of the plurality of vehicles, a startup command to initiate startup of each vehicle of the plurality of vehicles” (paragraph 0143). A startup command indicates a singular command/signal being distributed, and that it is sent to each vehicle of the plurality of vehicles (e.g. the fleet). The “particular order” is in reference to the hardware/software modules on the individual vehicles [systems with functional dependencies, such as a body control module -> brain stem computer module, exemplified in paragraph 0080], and is not related to the initial startup command apart from how it responds, on each vehicle. Thus. Chen is seen to teach that the requisite single broadcast that simultaneously activates each AGV.
Argues dependent claims 2-3 7 9-10 14 16-17 20 are allowable based on the allowability of the independent claims.
Based on the above rejections and arguments, this argument is rendered moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For further wakeup commands; US20200162273A1
For further wakeup circuits; US20170163064A1, US20040119517A1
For further fleet management systems and controls; US20190033856A1, US20210086647A1
/GABRIEL ANFINRUD/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662