DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takemoto (US 2013/0076019), as disclosed in the May 1, 2024 IDS.
Regarding claim 10, Takemoto discloses a syringe adapter (see Figs. 2-8, par. 24) comprising: a housing 4 having a first end and a second end (see Fig. 2), the first end configured to be secured to a first container (see Fig. 2, par. 52, syringe); a cannula 54 having a first end and second end, the second end of the cannula positioned within the housing (see Fig. 2); a collet 7 having a first end and a second end, at least a portion of the collet received within the housing (see Fig. 2), the collet comprising a body defining a passageway (see Fig. 5, passageway of collet through which cannula travels), a seal member 61 received by the passageway (see Figs. 2-5), and an arcuate, resilient locking member 771, 77 connected to the body of the collet (see Fig. 3), the collet is movable from a first position where the locking member is open to receive a mating connector to a second position where radially outward movement of the locking member is restricted (see Figs. 3-5) wherein the seal member of the collet is sleeve-shaped (see Fig. 5) and configured to retract upon engagement with the mating connector (see Figs. 2, 5, par. 113).
Regarding claim 11, Takemoto discloses the locking member is connected to the body via a plurality of arms 77 (see Fig. 2, par. 99).
Regarding claim 12, Takemoto discloses the locking member is ring-shaped and defines an opening extending in a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the collet (see Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 14, Takemoto discloses the locking member protrudes radially inward and radially outward relative to the plurality of arms (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Takemoto discloses the locking member is connected to the body via an extension portion of the body (see Fig. 3, body has a length that is extended) the extension portion of the body and the locking member defining a slit configured to permit the locking member to expand radially outward (see Figs. 2-5, connection between the body and locking member allows for a slit between the arms and surrounding circumferential portion of outer tube 4 through which arms radially expand, as shown in Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takemoto in view of Kramer (US 2016/0000653).
Regarding claim 13, Takemoto discloses the limitations of claim 11 but does not specifically teach the locking member is a continuous ring having a plurality of notches configured to permit the locking member to expand radially outward.
Kramer discloses a transfer set with a locking ring in the form of a continuous ring with webs/notches 256 connecting adjacent arms 252, 254 (see Figs. 5-6) configured to permit the locking member to expand radially outwardly (see par. 84-85). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the locking member include the webs/notches such as those disclosed by Kramer, which would help align/support the arms during repeated use and predictably result in the required latching attachment to the mating connector.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 are allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art is Takemoto, which discloses a syringe adapter (see Figs. 2-8, par. 24) comprising: a housing 4 having a first end and a second end (see Fig. 2), the first end configured to be secured to a first container (see Fig. 2, par. 52, syringe); a cannula 54 having a first end and second end, the second end of the cannula positioned within the housing (see Fig. 2); a collet 7 having a first end and a second end, at least a portion of the collet received within the housing (see Fig. 2), the collet comprising a body defining a passageway (see Fig. 5, passageway of collet through which cannula travels), a seal member 61 received by the passageway (see Figs. 2-5), and an arcuate, resilient locking member 771, 77 connected to the body of the collet (see Fig. 3), the collet is movable from a first position where the locking member is open to receive a mating connector to a second position where radially outward movement of the locking member is restricted (see Figs. 3-5), wherein the collet comprises at least one resilient button interface portion (see Figs. 3-5 portion interfacing with button 76 of the collet), the at least one resilient button interface portion configured to lock the collet to the housing when the collet is in the second position (see Figs. 2-5). Takemoto does not disclose the housing comprises at least one button, the at least one button configured to be pressed to allow the collet to move from the second position to the first position, as Takemoto discloses the housing comprising an opening in which the button of the collet pokes through in order to move the button to then move positions of the collet (see par. 92-94). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not place the button on the housing, as it would not allow for the direct movement required of the collet via the button from Figure 7 to Figure 9. Additionally, Elstrom et al. (US 2009/0069783), disclosed by applicant in the May 1, 2024 IDS, discloses a syringe adapter (see Figs. 1-3, 5-7) comprising a housing 104, 103, 102, a cannula 105, collet 101, locking member 136, and button 135 but also fails to disclose the housing comprising the button, as the button of Elstrom is part of the collet that is moved via an opening of the housing (see Figs. 1-2).
Conclusion
/ARIANA ZIMBOUSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781