DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application repeats a substantial portion of prior Application No. 17/535,020, filed November 24, 2021, and adds disclosure not presented in the prior application. Because this application names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application, it constitutes a continuation-in-part of the prior application.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/535,020 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 in ‘020 recites,
“A lid assembly for a beverage container having vertical sidewalls and a generally horizontal lid comprising: a tab assembly positioned on said lid, said lid having a semi-circular score line defining a perimeter for a pour opening, said tab assembly forming said pour opening by way of lever action; a cap portion formed on one end of said tab assembly, said cap portion rotatable to a sealing position within said opening.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bartz (6,722,518).
Bartz — a rotatable drink opening cover — discloses a lid assembly [Fig. 2] fora beverage container [17] having vertical sidewalls and a generally horizontal lid [18] comprising: a tab assembly [21] positioned on said lid, said lid having a semi-circular score line [20] defining a perimeter for a pour opening, said tab assembly forming said pour opening by way of lever action [Col. 3 Lines 4-5]; a cap portion [10] formed on one end of said tab assembly, said cap portion rotatable to a sealing position within said opening [Fig. 5, and Col. 3 Lines 18-21].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartz as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Huffman et al. (2007/0062946) [Huffman].
Re Claim 2, Bartz does not expressly disclose said cap portion includes a flexible sealing portion; however, Huffman – a cap re-sealing mechanism – discloses the tab [Huffman, 412] has a flexible sealing portion [Huffman, 104, Paragraph 28 Lines 12-21]. The Applicant believes the claimed invention has an improvement over the prior art, when the prior art discloses the sealing mechanism has a flexible sealing portion. See MPEP 2143 (I)(C). One of ordinary skill would be able to modify the cap portion of Bartz to have a flexible sealing portion, before the effective filing date of the invention with predictable and obvious results, “thereby enabling it to be pushed through the opening of the can.” [Huffman, Paragraph 28 Lines 7-18]
Re Claim 3, Bartz in view of Huffman discloses the invention according to Claim 2 above; further, the combination discloses the flexible sealing portion has an annular sealing groove [Huffman, 124, Figs. 1B & 1G].
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartz as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Kaziev (2016/0059988).
Bartz does not expressly disclose that the tab assembly is made of a rigid material or aluminum. However, Kaziev – a can cover – discloses the tab portion [Kaziev, 120] is made of a rigid material or aluminum [Kaziev, Paragraph 43 Lines 4-10]. The Applicant believes the claimed invention has an improvement over the prior art, when the prior art discloses the tab is made of rigid materials or aluminum. See MPEP 2143 (I)(B) and (E). One of ordinary skill would be able to modify the tab material on the Bartz can to be a rigid material or aluminum, before the effective filing date of the invention with predictable and obvious results, to be able to break the seal on the container [Kaziev, Paragraph 22 Lines 8-11], and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartz in view of Kaziev as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Huffman.
The Bartz and Kaziev combination does not expressly disclose that said cap portion includes a flexible sealing portion; however, Huffman discloses the tab [Huffman, 412] has a flexible sealing portion [Huffman, 104, Paragraph 28 Lines 12-21]. The Applicant believes the claimed invention has an improvement over the prior art, when the prior art discloses the sealing mechanism has a flexible sealing portion. See MPEP 2143 (I)(C). One of ordinary skill would be able to modify the cap portion of Bartz to have a flexible sealing portion, before the effective filing date of the invention with predictable and obvious results, “thereby enabling it to be pushed through the opening of the can.” [Huffman, Paragraph 28 Lines 7-18]
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartz as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Li et al. (2005/0051553) [Li].
Re Claim 7, Bartz does not expressly disclose that said tab assembly includes a reinforcing rim. However, Li – a reclosure device for a pop-top can – discloses the tab has a reinforcing rim [Li, Fig. 7, annotated]. The Applicant believes the claimed invention has an improvement over the prior art, when the prior art discloses the tab has a reinforcing rim. See MPEP 2143 (I)(C). One of ordinary skill would be able to modify the tab assembly in Bartz to have the reinforcing rim, before the effective filing date of the invention with predictable and obvious results, in order to easily pop the panel of the can.
Re Claim 8, Bartz in view of Li discloses the invention according to Claim 7 above; further, the combination discloses a groove is formed in said reinforcing rim [Li, Fig. 7].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
/ROBERT J HICKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736