DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11-12, 14-16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BAYESTEH et al. (US 20210076367, hereinafter, “BAYESTEH”).
Claim 1. BAYESTEH teaches: A sensing method, comprising: - See Fig. 7
sending, by a first network device, - See Fig. 1, ¶ [0060], (“base stations 170a-170b could be sensing nodes in the system 100. Sensing nodes are network entities that perform sensing by transmitting and/or receiving sensing signals.”) a sensing signal; - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0183], (“Step 706 includes transmitting a sensing signal according to the sensing signal configuration”) and
detecting, by the first network device, an echo of the sensing signal - See Fig. 4, ¶ [0117], (“other types of objects could also be detected and measured using sensing signals…one or more scattering objects that reflect sensing signals”); See Fig. 7, ¶ [0185], (“Step 708 is an optional step that includes receiving a reflection of the sensing signal…the network entity could receive information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal from another network entity”) based on a measurement quantity of the sensing signal, - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0186 - 0187], (“the network entity could determine properties of an object based on a reflection of the sensing signal…properties of the object could include the range, shape, location, speed and/or velocity of the object…could include…the time-of-flight of the sensing signal and/or the Doppler shift of the reflection of the sensing signal and/or the angle of arrival of the reflection of the sensing signal”) and
obtaining a measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity. - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0186 - 0187], (“the network entity could determine properties of an object based on a reflection of the sensing signal…properties of the object could include the range, shape, location, speed and/or velocity of the object…could include…the time-of-flight of the sensing signal and/or the Doppler shift of the reflection of the sensing signal and/or the angle of arrival of the reflection of the sensing signal”, range (eq. measurement value) corresponds to time-of-flight (eq. measurement quantity); Doppler shift (eq. measurement quantity) corresponds to velocity (eq. measurement value))
Claim 3. BAYESTEH teaches The method according to claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
BAYESTEH teaches:
wherein before the sending, by a first network device, a sensing signal, the method further comprises: determining, by the first network device, configuration information of the sensing signal. - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0178], (“Step 702 includes determining a sensing node ID that is associated with the network entity, and step 704 includes determining a sensing signal configuration or sensing signal configuration information.”); ¶ [0183], (“Step 706 includes transmitting a sensing signal according to the sensing signal configuration”)
Claim 4. BAYESTEH teaches The method according to claim 3, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
BAYESTEH teaches:
wherein the determining, by the first network device, configuration information of the sensing signal comprises at least one of the following: receiving, by the first network device, first configuration information of the sensing signal, - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0178 - 0179], (“Step 702 includes determining a sensing node ID that is associated with the network entity, and step 704 includes determining a sensing signal configuration or sensing signal configuration information…the “determining” operations in steps 702, 704 could include the network entity being configured with the sensing node ID and/or the sensing signal configuration. For example, the network entity could receive signaling that includes one or more indications…of the sensing node ID and/or the sensing signal configuration.”) wherein the first configuration information is sent by a second network device; - in ¶ [0193], (“Determining the sensing signal configuration could include receiving, from the second network entity, an indication of at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration.”) and
determining, by the first network device, second configuration information of the sensing signal based on first information; - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0179], (“the “determining” operations in steps 702, 704 could include the network entity generating the sensing node ID and/or the sensing signal configuration…using one of more of: preconfigured rules or parameters, look-up tables, desired sensing accuracy and formulae”)
wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following: first sensing requirement; - in ¶ [0193], (“Determining the sensing signal configuration could also or instead include generating or calculating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based…on the sensing requirements for the second network entity.”) and first recommendation information of the configuration information, wherein the first recommendation information is determined by the second network device according to the first sensing requirement. - in ¶ [0193], (“Determining the sensing signal configuration could include receiving, from the second network entity, an indication of at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration. Determining the sensing signal configuration could also or instead include generating or calculating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based…on the sensing requirements for the second network entity.”)
Claim 5. BAYESTEH teaches The method according to claim 3, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
BAYESTEH teaches:
wherein the configuration information of the sensing signal comprises at least one of the following parameters: waveform of the sensing signal; subcarrier spacing of the sensing signal; - in ¶ [0136], (“Considering a sensing signal configuration with a cyclic prefix OFDM (CP-OFDM) waveform as an example, subcarrier spacing, CP length/overhead, and sensing slot length (for example, the number of symbols included in each sensing cycle as well as the configuration of sensing symbols in the sensing cycle…are parameters that may be set”)
guard spacing of the sensing signal; bandwidth of the sensing signal; burst duration of the sensing signal; time-domain interval of the sensing signal; signal transmission power of the sensing signal; signal format of the sensing signal; signal direction of the sensing signal; time resource of the sensing signal; frequency resource of the sensing signal; and quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship of the sensing signal. - This limitation does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional.
Claim 8. BAYESTEH teaches The method according to claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
BAYESTEH teaches:
wherein after the obtaining, by the first network-side device, a measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity, the method further comprises any one of the following: - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0186 - 0187], (“the network entity could determine properties of an object based on a reflection of the sensing signal…properties of the object could include the range, shape, location, speed and/or velocity of the object…could include…the time-of-flight of the sensing signal and/or the Doppler shift of the reflection of the sensing signal and/or the angle of arrival of the reflection of the sensing signal”)
sending, by the first network-side device, the measurement quantity and the measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity to a second network device; - in ¶ [0185], (“the network entity could receive information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal from another network entity…¶ [0187] The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal could also or instead include the time-of-flight of the sensing signal and/or the Doppler shift of the reflection of the sensing signal and/or the angle of arrival of the reflection of the sensing signal”) and
determining, by the first network-side device, a sensing result - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0190], (“Step 714…includes transmitting, to another network entity in the wireless communication network, at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration…The other network entity could be a UE, base station or SA, and could use the sensing signal configuration to avoid interference with the sensing signal.”); ¶ [0123], (“Target-specific parameters could be obtained by a sensing node through measurement…or based on some desired performance indicator…could include…target classification results…and desired sensing quality.”) based on the measurement quantity and the measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity, - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0186], (“the network entity could determine properties of an object…range, shape, location, speed and/or velocity of the object…the time-of-flight of the sensing signal and/or the Doppler shift of the reflection of the sensing signal and/or the angle of arrival of the reflection of the sensing signal”) and sending the sensing result to the second network device. - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0190], (“Step 714…includes transmitting, to another network entity in the wireless communication network, at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration…The other network entity could be a UE, base station or SA, and could use the sensing signal configuration to avoid interference with the sensing signal.”); ¶ [0123], (“Target-specific parameters could be obtained by a sensing node through measurement…or based on some desired performance indicator…could include…target classification results…and desired sensing quality.”)
Claim 9. BAYESTEH teaches The method according to claim 8, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
BAYESTEH teaches:
wherein the sensing result comprises at least one of the following: - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0186], (“the network entity could determine properties of an object…range, shape, location, speed and/or velocity of the object…the time-of-flight of the sensing signal and/or the Doppler shift of the reflection of the sensing signal and/or the angle of arrival of the reflection of the sensing signal”) characteristic information of a target object; information related to a target event; and information related to a target environment. – in ¶ [0123], (“Sensing signal configurations can be target-specific and/or sensing node-specific. Target-specific means that the sensing signal is configured for a particular target. These targets could include UEs and scattering objects…Target-specific parameters could be obtained by a sensing node through measurement, training, and/or based on some desired performance indicator. This desired performance indicator could include, but is not limited to, target classification results (for example, whether the target is low-mobility or high-mobility), and desired sensing quality.”)
Claim 11. BAYESTEH teaches The method according to claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
BAYESTEH teaches:
wherein the measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: first type of measurement quantity; second type of measurement quantity; - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0186 - 0187], (“the network entity could determine properties of an object based on a reflection of the sensing signal…properties of the object could include the range, shape, location, speed and/or velocity of the object…could include…the time-of-flight of the sensing signal and/or the Doppler shift of the reflection of the sensing signal and/or the angle of arrival of the reflection of the sensing signal”)
the first type of measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following:
channel matrix H; received signal strength indicator (RSSI); reference signal received power (RSRP); channel state information (CSI); power of each path in multipath channel; delay of each path in multipath channel; angle information of each path in multipath channel; Doppler spread; Doppler shift; - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0186 - 0187], (“the network entity could determine properties of an object based on a reflection of the sensing signal…properties of the object could include the range, shape, location, speed and/or velocity of the object…could include…the time-of-flight of the sensing signal and/or the Doppler shift of the reflection of the sensing signal and/or the angle of arrival of the reflection of the sensing signal”) phase difference between a sensing signal received by a first antenna and a sensing signal received by a second antenna; delay difference between a sensing signal received by a first antenna and a sensing signal received by a second antenna; and characteristic difference between an I signal and a Q signal; - This limitation does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. and
the second type of measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: characteristic information of a target object; information related to a target event; and information related to a target environment. - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0186 - 0187], (“the network entity could determine properties of an object based on a reflection of the sensing signal…properties of the object could include the range, shape, location, speed and/or velocity of the object…could include…the time-of-flight of the sensing signal and/or the Doppler shift of the reflection of the sensing signal and/or the angle of arrival of the reflection of the sensing signal”)
Claim 12. BAYESTEH teaches: A sensing method, comprising: - See Fig. 7
sending, by a second network device, - See Fig. 1, ¶ [0060], (“base stations 170a-170b could be sensing nodes in the system 100. Sensing nodes are network entities that perform sensing by transmitting and/or receiving sensing signals.”); ¶ [0193], (“Determining the sensing signal configuration could include receiving, from the second network entity”) at least one of a first sensing requirement and configuration information of a sensing signal to a first network device. - in ¶ [0193], (“Determining the sensing signal configuration could include receiving, from the second network entity, an indication of at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration. Determining the sensing signal configuration could also or instead include generating or calculating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based…on the sensing requirements for the second network entity.”)
Claim 14. BAYESTEH teaches The method according to claim 12, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
BAYESTEH teaches:
wherein the configuration information of the sensing signal comprises: first configuration information of the sensing signal; and the first configuration information of the sensing signal is determined by the following determining method: - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0178 - 0179], (“Step 702 includes determining a sensing node ID that is associated with the network entity, and step 704 includes determining a sensing signal configuration or sensing signal configuration information…the “determining” operations in steps 702, 704 could include the network entity being configured with the sensing node ID and/or the sensing signal configuration. For example, the network entity could receive signaling that includes one or more indications (implicit or explicit) of the sensing node ID and/or the sensing signal configuration.”)
determining the first configuration information of the sensing signal based on third information; wherein the third information comprises at least one of the following: first sensing requirement; - in ¶ [0193], (“Determining the sensing signal configuration could include receiving, from the second network entity, an indication of at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration…include generating or calculating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on a sensing node ID of the second network entity and/or on the sensing requirements for the second network entity.”)
sensing capability information sent by the first network device; and second recommendation information of the configuration information, wherein the second recommendation information is determined by the first network device according to the first sensing requirement and sent to the second network device. - This limitation does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional.
Claim 15. BAYESTEH teaches The method according to claim 12, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
BAYESTEH teaches:
further comprising: receiving, by the second network device, the first sensing requirement from a terminal, the first network device, or a third network device side. – in ¶ [0160], (“Transmitting at least a portion of a sensing signal configuration can include transmitting signaling with one or more indicator(s) that explicitly or implicitly convey the sensing signal parameters…¶ [0161] parameters of a sensing signal configuration are signaled between base stations, between UEs, and/or between base stations and UEs. These parameters may include, but are not limited to: [0162] a symbol sequence; [0163] a resource configuration; [0164] a beam sweeping pattern; and [0165] a precoding matrix.”)
Claim 16. BAYESTEH teaches The method according to claim 12, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
BAYESTEH teaches:
wherein after the sending, by a second network device, first sensing information to a first network device, the method further comprises one of the following: - in ¶ [0193], (“Determining the sensing signal configuration could include receiving, from the second network entity, an indication of at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration.”); ¶ [0174], (“the sensing signal configuration could be signaled to/from other network nodes…The signaling could also include power control parameters.”)
receiving, by the second network device, the measurement quantity of the sensing signal and a measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity that are sent by the first network device; - in ¶ [0185], (“the network entity could receive information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal from another network entity…¶ [0187] The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal could also or instead include the time-of-flight of the sensing signal and/or the Doppler shift of the reflection of the sensing signal and/or the angle of arrival of the reflection of the sensing signal”) and
receiving, by the second network device, a sensing result sent by the first network device, - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0190], (“Step 714…includes transmitting, to another network entity in the wireless communication network, at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration…The other network entity could be a UE, base station or SA, and could use the sensing signal configuration to avoid interference with the sensing signal.”); ¶ [0123], (“Target-specific parameters could be obtained by a sensing node through measurement…or based on some desired performance indicator…could include…target classification results…and desired sensing quality.”)
wherein the sensing result is obtained by the first network device - in ¶ [0123], (“Sensing signal configurations can be target-specific and/or sensing node-specific…Target-specific parameters could be obtained by a sensing node through measurement…or based on some desired performance indicator…could include…target classification results…and desired sensing quality.”) based on the measurement quantity of the sensing signal and the measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity. - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0186 - 0187], (“the network entity could determine properties of an object based on a reflection of the sensing signal…properties of the object could include the range, shape, location, speed and/or velocity of the object…could include…the time-of-flight of the sensing signal and/or the Doppler shift of the reflection of the sensing signal and/or the angle of arrival of the reflection of the sensing signal”); ¶ [0190], (“transmitting, to another network entity in the wireless communication network, at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration.”)
Claim 20 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim of Claim 1 and is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6-7, 10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAYESTEH et al. (US 20210076367, hereinafter, “BAYESTEH”) in view of DU et al. (US 20220159426, hereinafter, “DU”).
Claim 2. BAYESTEH teaches The method according to claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
BAYESTEH teaches:
wherein before the detecting, by the first network device, an echo of the sensing signal based on a measurement quantity of the sensing signal, and obtaining a measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity, the method further comprises one of the following: - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0178 – 0186], (Step 702 (Determine a sensing node ID) Step 704 (Determine a sensing signal configuration) Step 706 (Transmit a sensing signal according to the sensing signal configuration) Step 708 (Receive reflection/echo of the sensing signal))
receiving, by the first network device, first indication information sent by a second network device, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate the measurement quantity of the sensing signal that the first network device needs to measure; - See Fig. 8, ¶ [0193], (“Determining the sensing signal configuration could include receiving, from the second network entity, an indication of at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration. Determining the sensing signal configuration could also or instead include generating or calculating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on a sensing node ID of the second network entity and/or on the sensing requirements for the second network entity.”) and
determining, by the first network device, the measurement quantity of the sensing signal according to a first sensing requirement. - in ¶ [0193], (“Determining the sensing signal configuration could include receiving, from the second network entity, an indication of at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration. Determining the sensing signal configuration could also or instead include generating or calculating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based…on the sensing requirements for the second network entity.”); ¶ [0123], (“Sensing signal configurations can be target-specific and/or sensing node-specific…Target-specific parameters could be obtained by a sensing node through measurement…based on some desired performance indicator…could include, but is not limited to, target classification results…and desired sensing quality.”)
BAYESTEH does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first indication information is used to indicate the measurement quantity of the sensing signal that the first network device needs to measure;
However, DU teaches:
wherein the first indication information is used to indicate the measurement quantity of the sensing signal that the first network device needs to measure; - See Fig. 3, ¶ [0097], (“S302, the announcement frame is used to indicate the at least one second device to perform the sensing task by using the sensing signal. After receiving the announcement frame, the second device may determine that the second device needs to perform the sensing task by using the sensing signal…¶ [0098] the announcement frame is further used to indicate the sensing parameter required by the at least one second device to perform the sensing task.”); ¶ [0113], (“the first device includes, in the announcement frame, the sensing frequency, the start time, the end time, the sensing period, and the CPI for each second device when the first device requires the at least one second device to perform the target detection.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BAYESTEH with DU to include indicate the measurement quantity of the sensing signal that the first network device needs to measure, as taught by DU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve sensing efficiency, as suggested by DU, this can reduce sensing complexity and improve sensing efficiency. - ¶ [0094]
Claim 6. Combination of BAYESTEH and DU teaches The method according to claim 2, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
BAYESTEH teaches:
wherein the first sensing requirement is sent by the second network device to the first network device. - See Fig. 8, ¶ [0193], (“Determining the sensing signal configuration could include receiving, from the second network entity, an indication of at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration. Determining the sensing signal configuration could also or instead include generating or calculating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on a sensing node ID of the second network entity and/or on the sensing requirements for the second network entity.”)
Claim 7. Combination of BAYESTEH and DU teaches The method according to claim 2, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
BAYESTEH teaches:
wherein the first sensing requirement is associated with at least one of the following: sensing object; sensing quantity; and sensing index. - in ¶ [0166], (“a sensing node could use the mapping function to determine a sensing signal index, and use the index to locate a sensing signal configuration in the look-up table. In other implementations, a sensing node can receive an index from another network entity”); ¶ [0186], (“the network entity could determine properties of an object based on a reflection of the sensing signal in optional step 712. This object could be a UE or a scattering object…The properties of the object could include the range, shape, location, speed and/or velocity of the object”)
Claim 10. Combination of BAYESTEH and DU teaches The method according to claim 2, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
BAYESTEH teaches:
wherein the second network device comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity or a sensing function entity; - in ¶ [0025], (“the network entity is a user equipment, a base station, or a sensing agent. ¶ [0026] …The network entity includes a processor to determine a sensing node identifier (ID)…to determine a sensing signal configuration…to transmit a sensing signal”, network entity corresponds to sensing function entity)
wherein the sensing function entity satisfies at least one of the following: coordinating and scheduling overall resources required for sensing; - in ¶ [0026] (“The network entity includes a processor…to determine a sensing signal configuration. The sensing signal configuration includes a resource configuration that is selected from a set of physical resources associated with the wireless communication network”)
calculating a sensing result; estimating sensing accuracy; verifying a sensing result; supporting an immediate sensing request; supporting a deferred sensing request; supporting a periodic or event-triggered sensing request; supporting cancellation of a periodic or triggered sensing behavior; and determining a sensing mode based on second information; wherein the second information comprises at least one of type of a sensing client, sensed quality of service (QoS), sensing capability of a terminal, and sensing capability of the first network device; and the sensing mode is associated with an entity that receives and sends a sensing signal. - This limitation does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional.
Claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 2 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAYESTEH et al. (US 20210076367, hereinafter, “BAYESTEH”) in view of CHENG et al. (US 20230370820, hereinafter, “CHENG”).
Claim 17. BAYESTEH teaches The method according to claim 16, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
BAYESTEH does not explicitly teach:
wherein after the receiving, by the second network device, the measurement quantity of the sensing signal and a measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity that are sent by the first network device, the method further comprises at least one of the following: obtaining, by the second network device, the sensing result based on the measurement quantity and the measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity; and sending, by the second network device, the measurement quantity and the measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity to a terminal or a third network device.
However, CHENG teaches:
wherein after the receiving, by the second network device, the measurement quantity of the sensing signal and a measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity that are sent by the first network device, - See Fig. 6, ¶ [0170], (“base station 610 may transmit the sensing report to SnMF 620 directly or via AMF 615…the sensing report may…convey an indication of the RF signal metrics associated with the sensing waveforms and/or sensed object(s).”); ¶ [0174], (“base station 610 may report the sensing measurements (e.g., the RF signal metrics) to SnMF 620, which forwards the sensing measurements to AMF 615, which finally forwards the sensing results to SMAS 630.”, RF signal metrics from the sensing signal (measurement quantity); values of those metrics as conveyed in the sensing report (measurement value)); ¶ [0118], (“the network based mode may include base station 205 performing sensing measurements and/or computation of the sensing signals”) the method further comprises at least one of the following: obtaining, by the second network device, the sensing result based on the measurement quantity and the measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity; - in ¶ [0174], (“base station 610 may report the sensing measurements (e.g., the RF signal metrics) to SnMF 620, which forwards the sensing measurements to AMF 615, which finally forwards the sensing results to SMAS 630.”); ¶ [0129], (“gNB-DU 310 may perform the sensing computations and use the RF signal metrics to identify or otherwise determine the properties associated with the object.”) and sending, by the second network device, the measurement quantity and the measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity to a terminal or a third network device. - in ¶ [0174], (“base station 610 may report the sensing measurements (e.g., the RF signal metrics) to SnMF 620, which forwards the sensing measurements to AMF 615, which finally forwards the sensing results to SMAS 630.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BAYESTEH with CHENG to include after receiving measurements, the second network device obtains sensing results or forwards them to a terminal or a third network device, as taught by CHENG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve wireless sensing operations, as suggested by CHENG, Wireless sensing is expected to be a significant component of wireless communication systems. However, such sensing operations currently are not generally addressed in such wireless networks. - ¶ [0058]
Claim 18. Combination of BAYESTEH and CHENG teaches The method according to claim 17, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
CHENG further teaches:
wherein after the obtaining, by the second network device, the sensing result based on the measurement quantity and the measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity, the method further comprises: - in ¶ [0174], (“base station 610 may report the sensing measurements (e.g., the RF signal metrics) to SnMF 620, which forwards the sensing measurements to AMF 615, which finally forwards the sensing results to SMAS 630.”); ¶ [0129], (“gNB-DU 310 may perform the sensing computations and use the RF signal metrics to identify or otherwise determine the properties associated with the object.”)
sending, by the second network device, the sensing result to the terminal or the third network device. - in ¶ [0174], (“base station 610 may report the sensing measurements (e.g., the RF signal metrics) to SnMF 620, which forwards the sensing measurements to AMF 615, which finally forwards the sensing results to SMAS 630.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BAYESTEH with CHENG to include after obtaining measurements, the second network device sends the sensing result to the terminal or the third network device, as taught by CHENG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve wireless sensing operations, as suggested by CHENG, Wireless sensing is expected to be a significant component of wireless communication systems. However, such sensing operations currently are not generally addressed in such wireless networks. - ¶ [0058]
Claim 19. BAYESTEH teaches The method according to claim 16, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
CHENG further teaches:
wherein after the receiving, by the second network device, a sensing result sent by the first network device, the method further comprises: sending, by the second network device, the sensing result to the terminal or the third network device. - in ¶ [0174], (“base station 610 may report the sensing measurements (e.g., the RF signal metrics) to SnMF 620, which forwards the sensing measurements to AMF 615, which finally forwards the sensing results to SMAS”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BAYESTEH with CHENG to include after receiving a sensing result sent by the first network device, the second network device sends the sensing result to the terminal or the third network device, as taught by CHENG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve wireless sensing operations, as suggested by CHENG, Wireless sensing is expected to be a significant component of wireless communication systems. However, such sensing operations currently are not generally addressed in such wireless networks. - ¶ [0058]
Conclusion
/SHIMA WASEL/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475