DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 01/19/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim 20 is rejected.
Claims 1-19 are allowable.
Claim Interpretation
Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) includes a “cost determiner” and “destination selector,” in claim 14.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification as filed reveals the following:
The apparatus further includes a packet forwarder configured to receive an indication of the selected one of the plurality of destination devices from the destination selector and forward the data packet to the selected one of the plurality of destination devices. One or both of the cost determiner and the destination selector may be implemented using a processor operatively coupled to a memory, the memory storing program instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to implement one or both of the cost determiner and the destination selector. One or both of the cost determiner and the destination selector may be implemented using dedicated data processing hardware, (see para 0011 & claims 18-19).
Therefore, Examiner concludes that the claimed “cost determiner” and “destination selector,” are not indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dmitri Krioukov et al (US 20180248783 A1) in view of Gyeongil Kweon et al (US 20220159423 A1).
For Claim 20, Krioukov discloses a method for assigning an address to a node in a network (Krioukov teaches, in ¶ 0003, lines 1-3, network architectures and methods that include an addressing scheme based on geographic position of network nodes), the method comprising: determining a first parameter representing a first geodesic passing through the node (Krioukov teaches, in ¶ 0005, lines 1-3, that a latitude and longitude of a location of the node and centrality of the location of the node are determined); determining a second parameter representing a second geodesic passing through the node (Krioukov teaches, in ¶ 0005, lines 1-5, that a latitude and longitude of a location of the node and centrality of the location of the node are determined); assigning the address so as to include the first parameter and the second parameter (Krioukov teaches, in ¶ 0005, lines 5-7, that A network address is generated based on the latitude, longitude, and centrality of the location of the node and assigned to the node).
Krioukov fails to expressly teach an intersection of an equatorial plane with a first geodesic [being represented by a parameter].
However, Kweon, in analogous art, discloses an intersection of an equatorial plane with a first geodesic [being represented by a parameter] (Kweon shows, in FIG. 19, that intersection of Equator Lo with the meridian M(λ) is represented by the parameter U(λ)).
Kweon also teaches, in in ¶ 0258, that If a tangent plane (2204) is drawn to the Earth ellipsoid (2201) at the ellipsoidal point (2203), then the normal (2202) passes vertically through the tangent plane (2204). The angle φ with which the normal (2202) meets the Equatorial plane is the geodetic latitude.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Krioukov with the geodetic coordinate system taught in Kweon. The motivation is to provide a useful method for expressing a geographic location as a combination of latitude, longitude, and altitude [Kweon: ¶ 0191].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-19 are allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 1-19 are considered allowable because the prior art does not teach limitations:
“determining a respective cost or utility associated with forwarding the data packet to said one of the plurality of destination devices, said one of the plurality of destination devices having a location defined by: a first parameter a1 representing location of an intersection of an equatorial plane with a first geodesic passing through said one of the plurality of destination devices; and a second parameter #1 representing location of an intersection of the equatorial plane with a second geodesic passing through said one of the plurality of destination devices, said further destination having a location, wherein determining the cost or utility comprises computing a distance metric from said one of the plurality of destination devices to the further destination using the location of said one of the plurality of destination devices and the location of said further destination; selecting one of the plurality of destination devices based at least in part on the determined costs or utilities,” as recited in various permutations in independent claims 1, and 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Jones et al (US 20220070610 A1) is pertinent to systems and methods for location-based services, especially a space-network model binding Internet Protocol addresses and geographical locations.
/MOHAMED A KAMARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412