DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. The amendment filed February 23, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reuss (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0150346 A1) in view of Kulavik et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 9,363,597 B1, hereinafter "Kulavak"), and further in view of Giron et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0182776 A1, hereinafter "Giron").
Regarding Claim 1, Reuss a computer-implemented method (method as shown in Fig. 8, see also Para. [0097]), comprising:
determining a loudspeaker position of a loudspeaker in a listening environment (loudspeaker position [i.e. speaker positions 120-1 - 120-5] is determined at S2, Fig. 8, Para. [0098]);
determining a target speaker position within the listening environment (target speaker position [i.e. the virtual positions 110-1 - 110-5] is determined at S2, Fig. 8, Para. [0098]);
retrieving an audio signal (multi-channel audio 211 is received, Fig. 8, Para. [0097]);
computing a distance between the loudspeaker position and the target speaker position (distance 180 between loudspeaker position and target speaker position is computed in determining control instructions 215, Paras. [0074], [0076], and [0099]);
generating a modified audio signal (modified audio signal is generated by control instructions 215 and the target speaker position 110-1 - 110-5 are emulated by routing the channels of the multi-channel audio data to the output channels based on the control instruction, Para. [0074]), wherein an amplitude of the modified audio signal is based on (i) the audio signal, (ii) the distance (the routing based on the control instructions can include setting the amplitude with which the given channel is routed to each one the speakers, Para. [0075]; amplitude of the modified audio is based on the multi-channel audio data and distance 180, Paras. [0074]-[0076]); and
transmitting the modified audio signal to the loudspeaker (modified audio signal are routed to the output channels 291-1 - 291-5 based on the control instructions 215, Figs. 7 and 8, Para. [0100]).
Reuss fails to explicitly teach selecting, based on the distance, a function from a set of two or more candidate functions as a distance attenuation function;
generating a modified audio signal, wherein an amplitude of the modified audio signal is based on (i) the audio signal, (ii) the distance, and (iii) a distance attenuation function.
However, Kulavik teaches selecting, based on the distance, a function from a set of two or more candidate functions as a distance attenuation function (multiple distance calculations can be made, Col. 6, Lns. 17-26; the calculated distance is used to determine one or more transfer function filters that may be applied to the left and right audio channel signals modulated and output, Col. 6, Lns. 37-48; processors 310 and 311 comprise distance-related transfer function filters for encoding input channel signals 302 and 303 such that ultrasonic beams 341 and 342 mimic the free space propagation loss (i.e. attenuation in amplitude, change in phase, change in frequency, etc.), Col. 5, Lns. 13-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method (as taught by Reuss) to include the selection of a distance attenuation function from multiple candidate functions (as taught by Kulavik). Doing so improves the quality of the sound effect produced by the audio system (Kulavik Col. 6, Lns. 49-67).
However, Giron teaches generating a modified audio signal, wherein an amplitude of the modified audio signal is based on (i) the audio signal, (ii) the distance, and (iii) a distance attenuation function (controlled output of loudspeaker [i.e. modified audio signal] is dependent on spread factor for the loudspeaker. The spread factor depends on a distance of the virtual sound source [i.e. the target speaker] to the loudspeaker of loudspeaker arrangement. The spread factor is determined according a non-linear function [ie. the distance attenuation function] and the spread factor is used to adjust a gain of the loudspeaker, Para. (57, 71), [0141]-[0143]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method (as taught by Reuss in view of Kulavik) to include the amplitude of the modified audio signal based on audio signal, the distance and a distance attenuation function (as taught by Giron). Doing so leads to an improved sound impression of a listener (Giron Para. [0049]).
Regarding Claim 2, Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron teach further comprising:
determining a plurality of audio channels for reproduction (Reuss, the multi-channel audio data 211 for reproduction includes the plurality of channels 210-1 - 210-4, Para. [0097]);
determining, based on the plurality of audio channels, a plurality of target speaker positions, the plurality of target speaker positions including the target speaker position (Reuss, target speaker positions 110-1 - 110-5 are determined for the channels 210-1 - 210-4, Para. 0098]); and
computing, for each target speaker position included in the plurality of target speaker positions, a distance between the loudspeaker position and the target speaker position (Reuss, distance 180 is computed between each target speaker position 110-1 - 110-5 and loudspeaker positions 120-1 - 120-5, Para. [0074]).
Regarding Claim 3, Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron teach teaches wherein:
retrieving the audio signal comprises retrieving a set of audio channel signals corresponding to the plurality of audio channels (Reuss, the multi-channel audio data 211 for reproduction includes the plurality of channels 210-1 - 210-4, Para. [0097]); and
generating the modified audio signal comprises:
generating, for each audio channel signal, a modified audio channel signal (Reuss, a modified audio channel signal is generated for each audio signal of the multi-channel audio data based on the control instructions, Para. [0074]), wherein an amplitude of the modified audio channel signal is based on (i) the audio channel, (ii) the distance (Reuss, amplitude of the modified audio is based on the multi-channel audio data and distance 180, Paras. [0074]-[0076]), and (iii) the distance attenuation function (Giron, controlled output of loudspeaker [i.e. modified audio signal] is dependent on spread factor for the loudspeaker. The spread factor depends on a distance of the virtual sound source [i.e. the target speaker] to the loudspeaker of loudspeaker arrangement. The spread factor is determined according a non-linear function [ie. the distance attenuation function] and the spread factor is used to adjust a gain of the loudspeaker, Para. [0141]-[0143]), and
combining each modified audio channel signal to generate the modified audio signal (Reuss, each modified audio channel signal can be mixed to a given output channel 291-1 [i.e. the modified audio signal], Fig. 2C, Paras. [0078] and [0079]).
Regarding Claim 4, Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron teach wherein:
retrieving the audio signal comprises retrieving a set of audio channel signals corresponding to the plurality of audio channels (Reuss, the multi-channel audio data 211 for reproduction includes the plurality of channels 210-1 - 210-4, Para. [0097]);
generating the modified audio signal comprises generating, for each audio channel signal, a modified audio channel signal (Reuss, a modified audio channel signal is generated for each audio signal of the multi-channel audio data based on the control instructions, Para. [0074]), wherein an amplitude of the modified audio channel signal is based on (i) the audio channel signal, (ii) the distance (Reuss, amplitude of the modified audio is based on the multi-channel audio data and distance 180, Paras. [0074]-[0076]), and (iii) the distance attenuation function (Giron, controlled output of loudspeaker [i.e. modified audio signal] is dependent on spread factor for the loudspeaker. The spread factor depends on a distance of the virtual sound source [i.e. the target speaker] to the loudspeaker of loudspeaker arrangement. The spread factor is determined according a non-linear function [ie. the distance attenuation function] and the spread factor is used to adjust a gain of the loudspeaker, Para. [0141]-[0143]); and
transmitting the modified audio signal comprises transmitting each audio modified audio channel signal (Reuss, each modified audio signal are routed to the output channels 291-1 - 291-5 based on the control instructions 215, Figs. 7 and 8, Para. [0100]).
Regarding Claim 5, Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron teach further comprising:
retrieving audio channel information associated with the audio signal (Reuss, target speaker position [i.e. the virtual positions 110-1 - 110-5] for the multi-channel audio signal 210-1 - 210-4 are received, Fig. 8, Para. [0098]),
wherein the audio channel information indicates the target speaker position (Reuss, target speaker position [i.e. the virtual positions 110-1 - 110-5] for the multi-channel audio signal 210-1 - 210-4 are received, Fig. 8, Para. [0098]).
Regarding Claim 6, Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron teach wherein determining the target speaker position comprises:
identifying a reference point in the listening environment (Reuss, listening position 150, Figs. 1, and 3-6, Para. [0071]);
determining a front direction relative to the reference point (Reuss, front direction relative to the reference point 150 is determined by the orientation arrow, Figs. 1, and 3-6, Para. [0071]); and
selecting, based on the front direction, the target speaker position (Reuss, target speaker positions 110-1, 110-2 are selected for front loudspeaker positions 120-3, 120-4, Fig. 6, Para. [0088]).
Regarding Claim 7, Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron teach wherein determining the target speaker position comprises:
determining a sphere that circumscribes at least the loudspeaker and one or more additional loudspeakers (Reuss, sphere defined by radial distance 320 circumscribes the loudspeakers at positions 120-1 - 120-5, Figs. 1 and 3-6 Para. [0082]); and
selecting a position on a surface of the sphere as the target speaker position (Reuss, target speaker positions 110-1 - 110-5 can be seen to be selected on the surface of the sphere formed by radial distance 320, Figs. 1 and 3-6).
Regarding Claim 8, Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron teach wherein the target speaker position is based on a first position of a listener (Reuss, target speaker positions 110-1 - 110-5 are based on a first listener position 150, Fig. 1, Para. [0073]), and further comprising:
tracking the listener from the first position to a second position (Reuss, listener is tracked from first position 150 to second position 350, Fig. 3, Para. [0080]); and
updating the target speaker position based on the second position (Reuss, target speaker positions 110-1 - 110-5 are updated based on second position 350, Fig. 4, Para. [0081]).
Regarding Claim 9, Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron teach wherein determining the loudspeaker position for the loudspeaker comprises tracking the loudspeaker (Reuss, using a reference signal as calibration track the first processor is able to track the position of loudspeaker positions 120-1 - 120-5, Para. [0096]).
Regarding Claim 10, Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron teach wherein:
the loudspeaker position includes a location and an orientation (Giron, in determining loudspeaker spread factor the loudspeaker location and orientation are determined, Para. [0029]); and
the amplitude of the modified audio signal is further based on the orientation of the loudspeaker relative to the target speaker position (controlled output of loudspeaker [i.e. modified audio signal] is dependent on spread factor for the loudspeaker. The spread factor depends on a distance of the virtual sound source [i.e. the target speaker] to the loudspeaker of loudspeaker arrangement. The spread factor is determined according a non-linear function [ie. the distance attenuation function] and the spread factor is used to adjust a gain of the loudspeaker, Para. [0141]-[0143]; since spread factor determination also includes orientation of the loudspeaker, therefore the amplitude of the modified audio signal will also be based on the orientation of the loudspeaker relative to the target speaker position).
Regarding Claim 11, Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron teach wherein the distance attenuation function comprises at least one of: a linear function, a linear-squared function, or an inverse function (Reuss, the spread factor depends on a distance of the virtual sound source [i.e. the target speaker] to the loudspeaker of loudspeaker arrangement. The spread factor is determined according a non-linear function [ie. linear-square function], Para. [0141]-[0143]).
Regarding Claim 12, Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron teach further comprising:
determining, for each additional loudspeaker of one or more additional loudspeakers in the listening environment, an additional loudspeaker position (Reuss, loudspeaker speaker positions 120-1, 120-2, 120-3 are determined, Fig. 2A, Paras. [0075], [0076], and [0098]); and
for each additional loudspeaker of the one or more additional loudspeakers:
computing an additional distance between the additional loudspeaker position and the target speaker position (Reuss, additional distance 180 is computed between additional loudspeaker positions 120-1, 120-2, 120-3 and the target speaker position 110-1, Fig. 2A, Paras. [0075] and [0076]),
generating an additional modified audio signal, wherein an amplitude of the additional modified audio signal is based on (i) the audio signal, (ii) the additional distance (Reuss, additional modified audio signals are generated using the control instruction based on the multi-channel audio data and additional distances 180, Fig. 2A, Paras. [0075] and [0076]), and (iii) the distance attenuation function (Giron, controlled output of loudspeaker [i.e. modified audio signal] is dependent on spread factor for the loudspeaker. The spread factor depends on a distance of the virtual sound source [i.e. the target speaker] to the loudspeaker of loudspeaker arrangement. The spread factor is determined according a non-linear function [ie. the distance attenuation function] and the spread factor is used to adjust a gain of the loudspeaker, Para. [0141]-[0143]); and
transmitting the additional modified audio signal to the additional loudspeaker (Reuss, the additional modified audio signals are routed to the additional loudspeaker 120-1 - 120-3, Fig. 2A, Paras. [0075] and [0076]).
Regarding Claim 13, it is similarly rejected as Claim 1. The non-transitory computer-readable media is found in Reuss (Fig. 7, Para. [0091] and [0092]).
Regarding Claim 16, it is similarly rejected as Claim 2. The non-transitory computer-readable media is found in Reuss (Fig. 7, Para. [0091] and [0092]).
Regarding Claim 17, it is similarly rejected as Claim 11. The non-transitory computer-readable media is found in Reuss (Fig. 7, Para. [0091] and [0092]).
Regarding Claim 18, it is similarly rejected as Claims 5 and 6. The non-transitory computer-readable media is found in Reuss (Fig. 7, Para. [0091] and [0092]).
Regarding Claim 19, it is similarly rejected as Claim 1. The system is found in Reuss (system 600, Fig. 7, Para. [0091] and [0092]).
Regarding Claim 20, it is similarly rejected as Claim 2. The system is found in Reuss (system 600, Fig. 7, Para. [0091] and [0092]).
4. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reuss (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0150346 A1) in view of Kulavik et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 9,363,597 B1, hereinafter "Kulavak") in view of Giron et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0182776 A1, hereinafter "Giron"), and further in view of Fuchs et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0265851 A1, hereinafter "Fuchs").
Regarding Claim 14, Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron teach a virtual listening environment corresponding to the listening environment (Reuss, virtual stage, Fig. 3, Para. [0080]).
Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron fails to explicitly teach further comprising:
generating, in a virtual listening environment corresponding to the listening environment, one or more virtual microphones, wherein:
each virtual microphone corresponds to a loudspeaker of the one or more loudspeakers, and
each virtual microphone is at a microphone position within the virtual environment corresponding to the loudspeaker position within the listening environment.
However, Fuchs teaches further comprising:
generating, in a virtual listening environment corresponding to the listening environment, one or more virtual microphones, wherein:
each virtual microphone corresponds to a loudspeaker of the one or more loudspeakers (virtual microphone processing block 421 is applied, where the virtual microphones correspond to, for example, loudspeaker positions of a 5.1 loudspeaker setup, Fig. 10b, Para. [0012]), and
each virtual microphone is at a microphone position within the virtual environment corresponding to the loudspeaker position within the listening environment (virtual microphone processing block 421 is applied, where the virtual microphones correspond to, for example, loudspeaker positions of a 5.1 loudspeaker setup, Fig. 10b, Para. [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steps (as taught by Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron) to include the virtual microphones corresponding to the loudspeaker position within the listening environment (as taught by Fuchs). Doing so leads to a more accurate and convincing spatial image for the listener.
5. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reuss (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0150346 A1) in view of Giron et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0182776 A1, hereinafter "Giron") in view of Fuchs et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0265851 A1, hereinafter "Fuchs"), and further in view of Goudarzi (Coherence Based Reflection Coefficient Estimation).
Regarding Claim 15, Reuss in view of Kulavik in view of Giron, and further in view of Fuchs teach the steps further comprising generating, within the virtual listening environment, a virtual audio emitter (Reuss, emulation of virtual positions 110-1 - 110-5, Fig. 1, Para. [0072] and [0073]; the virtual positions of the speakers correspond to positions where a virtual speaker corresponding to the associated channel of the multi-channel audio data is audibly perceived by a user, Para. [0067]), wherein:
the virtual audio emitter is at a position within the virtual environment corresponding to the target speaker position within the listening environment (Reuss, the virtual positions of the speakers correspond to positions where a virtual speaker corresponding to the associated channel of the multi-channel audio data is audibly perceived by a user, Para. [0067]).
Reuss in view of Kulavik in view of Giron, and further in view of Fuchs fails to explicitly teach computing the distance comprises computing a distance between a virtual microphone of the one or more virtual microphones and the virtual audio emitter.
However, Goudarzi teaches computing a distance between a virtual microphone of the one or more virtual microphones and the virtual audio emitter (distance d1 between a virtual microphone and virtual speaker is calculated, Fig. 3, Pg 70, Col. 2, Para. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steps (as taught by Reuss in view of Kulavik in view of Giron, and further in view of Fuchs) to include calculating the distance between a virtual microphone and the virtual audio emitter (as taught by Goudarzi). Doing so, enables accurate modelling of how sound propagates in a physical space.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed February 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent Claims 1, 13, and 19 applicant argues (see applicant’s remark pages 8-10) amended claim 1 further recites the limitations of selecting, based on the distance, a function from a set of two or more candidate functions as a distance attenuation function. Amended claim 1 further recites the limitations of generating a modified audio signal, where an amplitude of the modified audio signal is based on (i) the audio signal, (ii) the distance, and (iii) the distance attenuation function. None of the cited references teaches or suggests these limitations. Therefore, no logical combination of the cited references can teach or suggest each and every limitation of amended claim 1. Claims 13 and 19 have been amended to recite the limitations similar to those of amended claim 1.
In response to applicant’s argument above independent Claims 1, 13 and 19 have been rejected on a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron.
Kulavik teaches selecting, based on the distance, a function from a set of two or more candidate functions as a distance attenuation function (Col. 6, Lns. 17-26, 37-48 and Col. 5, Lns. 13-37).
The combination of the teachings of Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron renders Claims 1, 13 and 19 obvious.
The rejections of Claims 1, 13, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron are maintained.
Dependent Claims 2-12, 16-18, and 20 have been rejected on a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron.
The rejections of Claims 2-12, 16-18, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reuss in view of Kulavik, and further in view of Giron are maintained.
Dependent Claims 14 is rejected on a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reuss in view of Kulavik in view of Giron, and further in view of Fuchs.
The rejection of Claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reuss in view of Kulavik in view of Giron, and further in view of Fuchs is maintained.
Dependent Claims 15 is rejected on a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reuss in view of Kulavik in view of Giron in view of Fuchs, and further in view of Goudarzi.
The rejection of Claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reuss in view of Kulavik in view of Giron in view of Fuchs, and further in view of Goudarzi is maintained.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIMEZIE EZERIWE BEKEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691