DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 16 March 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application, with Claims 5-6 and 16 currently withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 16 Sept 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 14-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bentz (US 10125892).
Regarding Claim 1, Bentz discloses a flow control system (abstract; Figures). The system comprising:
a check valve (Figure 2 which functions as a check valve to permit flow from 12 to 13 but prevent flow from 13 to 12 by interaction of ball 31 on seat 22) having a flow channel (from 12 to 13 within 14) extending from an inlet(12; Col 4, lines 33-38) to an outlet (13; Col 4, lines 33-38), the check valve having a valving mechanism (31) positioned between the inlet (12) and the outlet (13); and
a check valve inhibitor (41 and 42) positionable in proximity to the valving mechanism (Figure 2) to control the operation thereof (Col 4, lines 41-54), the check valve inhibitor (41 and 42) comprising a magnetic field generator (at least the electromagnet 42) capable of generating a magnetic field that is selectively operable on the valving mechanism (Col 4, lines 41-54), wherein the check valve inhibitor (41 and 42) can place the check valve in an uninhibited condition where flow in an inlet to outlet direction is allowed and flow in an outlet to inlet direction is blocked (an off state of the electromagnet 42), and wherein the check valve inhibitor can place the check valve in an inhibited condition where flow in the outlet to inlet direction is allowed (an on state of the electromagnet 42; Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Bentz discloses wherein the check valve is an automatic check valve (the valve will actuate automatically via gravity as shown in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Bentz discloses wherein the check valve is placed in the inhibited condition by subjecting the valving mechanism to the magnetic field (Figure 3; an on state of the electromagnet 42; Col 4, lines 41-54).
Regarding Claim 4, Bentz discloses wherein the check valve inhibitor (41 and 42) comprises an inhibition actuator (at least the processor which supplies electricity to the electromagnet 42 discussed in Col 11, lines 63-66) that controls the selectively operable magnetic field in a manner that moves the check valve from the uninhibited condition to the inhibited condition (Col 4, lines 41-54).
Regarding Claim 14, Bentz discloses a check valve inhibitor for a flow control system (abstract; Figures). The check valve inhibitor comprising:
an attachment mechanism (11) adapted to allow the check valve inhibitor (42) to be attached to a check valve (at 14; Figure 2), the check valve having a flow channel extending from an inlet (12 to 23) to an outlet (at 23 and through 13 of the attachment mechanism), the check valve having a valving mechanism (31) positioned between the inlet and the outlet (Figure 2); and
a magnetic field generator (Col 11, lines 63-66) capable of generating a magnetic field that is selectively operable on the valving mechanism (via 42 seen in Figure 3),
wherein the check valve inhibitor (42) is adapted to control the operation of the check valve by being able to selectively place the check valve in an uninhibited condition where flow in an inlet to outlet direction is allowed and flow in an outlet to inlet direction is blocked (an off state of the electromagnet 42), and by being able to selectively place the check valve in an inhibited condition where flow in the outlet to inlet direction is allowed (an on state of the electromagnet 42; Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 15, Bentz discloses wherein the check valve inhibitor (41 and 42) comprises an inhibition actuator (at least the processor which supplies electricity to the electromagnet 42 discussed in Col 11, lines 63-66) that controls the selectively operable magnetic field in a manner that moves the check valve from the uninhibited condition to the inhibited condition (Col 4, lines 41-54).
Regarding Claim 20, Bentz discloses a method of controlling flow (Figures; abstract). The method comprising:
providing a check valve (Figure 2), the check valve having a flow channel extending from an inlet to an outlet (from 12 to 13 shown in Figure 2), the check valve having a valving mechanism (31) positioned between the inlet and the outlet (Figure 2);
positioning a check valve inhibitor (42) in proximity to the valving mechanism of the check valve (Figure 2), the check valve inhibitor comprising a magnetic field generator (at least the electromagnet 42); and
operating the magnetic field generator to control the operation of the check valve by selectively being able to place the check valve in an uninhibited condition where flow in an inlet to outlet direction is allowed and flow in an outlet to inlet direction is blocked (an off state of the electromagnet 42), and selectively being able to place the check valve in an inhibited condition where flow in the outlet to inlet direction is allowed (an on state of the electromagnet 42; Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bentz (US 10125892) in view of Johnson et al (US 5,540,249).
Regarding Claim 7, Bentz discloses wherein the check valve inhibitor (42) comprises an inhibition actuator (at least the processor which supplies electricity to the electromagnet 42 discussed in Col 11, lines 63-66) that controls the selectively operable magnetic field in a manner that moves the check valve from the uninhibited condition to the inhibited condition (Col 4, lines 41-54),
But fails to expressly disclose wherein the magnetic field generator is a permanent magnet, and wherein the inhibition actuator controls a position of the permanent magnet relative to the valving mechanism.
Johnson et al teach wherein the check valve inhibitor (14 and 13) that controls the selectively operable magnetic field in a manner that moves the check valve from the uninhibited condition to the inhibited condition (by lifting the stem 14), wherein the magnetic field generator (13) is a permanent magnet (Col 2, lines 38-44), and wherein the check valve inhibitor (14 and 13) controls the position of the permanent magnet relative to the valving mechanism (Figures 3-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inhibitor of Bentz with the permanent magnet as taught by Johnson et al for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (a permanent magnet that changes position to impart a magnetic field to a valve for the electromagnet of Bentz) to yield predictable results (to inhibit a check valve to allow fluid flow).
Regarding Claim 8, Bentz discloses wherein the check valve inhibitor (42) comprises an inhibition actuator (at least the processor which supplies electricity to the electromagnet 42 discussed in Col 11, lines 63-66) that controls the selectively operable magnetic field in a manner that moves the check valve from the uninhibited condition to the inhibited condition (Col 4, lines 41-54),
But fails to expressly disclose wherein the magnetic field generator is a permanent magnet, wherein the inhibition actuator controls a position of the permanent magnet relative to the valving mechanism, and wherein the check valve inhibitor comprises a housing attachable to the check valve, and wherein the permanent magnet is moveable within the housing.
Johnson et al disclose(s) wherein the check valve inhibitor (14 and 13) that controls the selectively operable magnetic field in a manner that moves the check valve from the uninhibited condition to the inhibited condition (by lifting the stem 14);
wherein the magnetic field generator (13) is a permanent magnet (Col 2, lines 38-44), and wherein the check valve inhibitor (14 and 13) controls the position of the permanent magnet relative to the valving mechanism (Figures 3-6);
wherein the check valve inhibitor (13 and 14) comprises a housing (9) attachable to the check valve (Figures 3-6), and wherein the permanent magnet (13) is moveable within the housing (Figures 3-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inhibitor of Bentz with the permanent magnet as taught by Johnson et al for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (a permanent magnet that changes position to impart a magnetic field to a valve for the electromagnet of Bentz) to yield predictable results (to inhibit a check valve to allow fluid flow).
Regarding Claim 9, Bentz discloses wherein the check valve inhibitor (42) comprises an inhibition actuator (at least the processor which supplies electricity to the electromagnet 42 discussed in Col 11, lines 63-66) that controls the selectively operable magnetic field (Col 4, lines 41-54),
But fails to expressly disclose adjusting a position of the magnetic field generator, wherein the magnetic field generator is positionable by the inhibition actuator in a first position to place the check valve in the uninhibited condition, and wherein the magnetic field generator is positionable by the inhibition actuator in a second position to place the check valve in the inhibited condition.
Johnson et al disclose(s) wherein the check valve inhibitor (13 and 14) controls the selectively operable magnetic field by adjusting the position of the magnetic field generator (Figures 3-6),
wherein the magnetic field generator is positionable in a first position to place the check valve in the uninhibited condition (Figure 6), and
wherein the magnetic field generator is positionable in a second position to place the check valve in the inhibited condition (Figure 3),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inhibitor of Bentz with the permanent magnet as taught by Johnson et al for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (a permanent magnet that changes position to impart a magnetic field to a valve for the electromagnet of Bentz) to yield predictable results (to inhibit a check valve to allow fluid flow).
Regarding Claim 13, Bentz discloses all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose wherein the inhibition actuator comprises a biasing mechanism that biases the magnetic field generator towards the first position or the second position.
Johnson et al teach(es) wherein the inhibition actuator (at least the processor which supplies electricity to the electromagnet 42 discussed in Col 11, lines 63-66 of Bentz) comprises a biasing mechanism (21 of Johnson et al) that biases the plunger mechanism so that the magnetic field generator is biased towards the first position or the second position (to the first position shown in Figure 6 of Johnson et al).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inhibitor of Bentz with the permanent magnet as taught by Johnson et al for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (a permanent magnet that changes position to impart a magnetic field to a valve for the electromagnet of Bentz) to yield predictable results (to provide for a fail safe or bias position of the plunger).
Regarding Claim 17, Bentz discloses wherein the check valve inhibitor (42) comprises an inhibition actuator (at least the processor which supplies electricity to the electromagnet 42 discussed in Col 11, lines 63-66) that controls the selectively operable magnetic field (Col 4, lines 41-54),
But fails to expressly disclose adjusting a position of the magnetic field generator, wherein the magnetic field generator is positionable by the inhibition actuator in a first position to place the check valve in the uninhibited condition, and wherein the magnetic field generator is positionable by the inhibition actuator in a second position to place the check valve in the inhibited condition.
Johnson et al disclose(s) wherein the check valve inhibitor (13 and 14) controls the selectively operable magnetic field by adjusting the position of the magnetic field generator (Figures 3-6),
wherein the magnetic field generator is positionable in a first position to place the check valve in the uninhibited condition (Figure 6), and
wherein the magnetic field generator is positionable in a second position to place the check valve in the inhibited condition (Figure 3),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inhibitor of Bentz with the permanent magnet as taught by Johnson et al for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (a permanent magnet that changes position to impart a magnetic field to a valve for the electromagnet of Bentz) to yield predictable results (to inhibit a check valve to allow fluid flow).
Claim(s) 10-11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bentz (US 10125892) in view of Johnson et al (US 5,540,249) in view of Shimizu (US 4,349,042).
Regarding Claim 10, Bentz, as modified by Johnson et al teach all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly teach wherein the inhibition actuator comprises a plunger mechanism and wherein the plunger mechanism comprises a plunger member adapted to move the magnetic field generator from the first position to the second position.
Shimizu teach wherein the inhibition actuator (16 of Shimizu) comprises a plunger mechanism (14 of both Johnson et al and Shimizu (Figures 4a and 4b of Shimizu)) and wherein the plunger mechanism (14 of both Johnson et al and Shimizu) comprises a plunger member (14) adapted to move the magnetic field generator from the first position to the second position (Figures 3-6 of Johnson et al).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the check valve inhibitor of Bentz as modified by Johnson et al with the inhibition actuator as taught by Shimizu for the advantage of allowing actuation and movement of the valve automatically in response to sensor or other signals, as taught by Shimizu (Col 5, lines 15-18).
Regarding Claim 11, Johnson et al teaches causing the plunger mechanism (14) to move the magnetic field generator to the first position or to the second position (Figures 3-6),
But fails to expressly disclose where the inhibition actuator comprises an electromechanical actuator, wherein the electromechanical actuator causes the plunger mechanism to move the magnetic field generator to the first position or to the second position in response to an electrical signal.
Shimizu teach(es) wherein the inhibition actuator comprises an electromechanical actuator (solenoid 16; Col 5, lines 15-18) and the electromechanical actuator (16) causes the plunger mechanism (14) to move in response to an electrical signal (Col 5, lines 12-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the check valve inhibitor of Bentz, as modified by Johnson et al with the inhibition actuator as taught by Shimizu for the advantage of allowing actuation and movement of the valve automatically in response to sensor or other signals, as taught by Shimizu (Col 5, lines 15-18).
Regarding Claim 18, Johnson et al teaches causing the plunger mechanism (14) to move the magnetic field generator to the first position or to the second position (Figures 3-6),
But fails to expressly disclose where the inhibition actuator comprises an electromechanical actuator, wherein the electromechanical actuator causes the plunger mechanism to move the magnetic field generator to the first position or to the second position in response to an electrical signal.
Shimizu teach(es) wherein the inhibition actuator comprises an electromechanical actuator (solenoid 16; Col 5, lines 15-18) and the electromechanical actuator (16) causes the plunger mechanism (14) to move in response to an electrical signal (Col 5, lines 12-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the check valve inhibitor of Bentz, as modified by Johnson et al with the inhibition actuator as taught by Shimizu for the advantage of allowing actuation and movement of the valve automatically in response to sensor or other signals, as taught by Shimizu (Col 5, lines 15-18).
Claim(s) 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bentz (US 10125892) in further view of Johnson et al (US 5,540,249) in further view of Shimizu (US 4,349,042) in further view of Zippe (US 4,750,705).
Regarding Claim 12, Bentz discloses all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where the inhibition actuator comprises a biasing mechanism that biases the plunger mechanism so that the magnetic field generator is biased towards the first position or the second position, and wherein the electromechanical actuator is capable of urging the plunger member against the bias from the biasing mechanism when the electromechanical actuator is activated.
Johnson et al teach wherein the inhibition actuator (16 of Shimizu) comprises a biasing mechanism (21 of Johnson et al) that biases the plunger mechanism so that the magnetic field generator is biased towards the first position or the second position (to the first position shown in Figure 6 of Johnson et al).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inhibitor of Bentz with the plunger as taught by Johnson et al for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (a permanent magnet that changes position to impart a magnetic field to a valve for the electromagnet of Bentz) to yield predictable results (to inhibit a check valve to allow fluid flow).
Zippe teach(es) wherein the inhibition actuator (20, 25 and 23) comprises a biasing mechanism (20) that biases the plunger mechanism so that the magnetic field generator is biased towards the first position or the second position (to the second position as taught at Col 3, lines 60-64), and
wherein the electromechanical actuator (solenoid 25) is capable of urging the plunger member (23) against the bias from the biasing mechanism when the electromechanical actuator is activated (Col 4, lines 7-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bentz, as modified by Johnson et al, as modified by Shimizu with the actuator as taught by Zippe for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (an actuator to hold a plunger) to yield predictable results (to secure a valve in an open position against the bias of a spring).
Regarding Claim 19, Bentz discloses all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where the inhibition actuator comprises a plunger mechanism adapted to move the magnetic field generator from the first position to the second position, wherein an electromechanical actuator causes the plunger mechanism to move the magnetic field generator to the first position or to the second position in response to an electrical signal, and wherein the inhibition actuator comprises a biasing mechanism that biases the plunger mechanism so that the magnetic field generator is biased towards the first position or the second position, and wherein the electromechanical actuator is capable of urging the plunger member against the bias from the biasing mechanism when the electromechanical actuator is activated.
Shimizu teach wherein the inhibition actuator (16 of Shimizu) comprises a plunger mechanism (14 of both Johnson et al and Shimizu (Figures 4a and 4b of Shimizu)) and wherein the plunger mechanism (14 of both Johnson et al and Shimizu) comprises a plunger member (14) adapted to move the magnetic field generator from the first position to the second position (Figures 3-6 of Johnson et al),
wherein the inhibition actuator comprises an electromechanical actuator (solenoid 16; Col 5, lines 15-18) and the electromechanical actuator (16) causes the plunger mechanism (14) to move in response to an electrical signal (Col 5, lines 12-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the check valve inhibitor of Bentz as modified by Johnson et al with the inhibition actuator as taught by Shimizu for the advantage of allowing actuation and movement of the valve automatically in response to sensor or other signals, as taught by Shimizu (Col 5, lines 15-18).
Zippe teach(es) wherein the inhibition actuator (20, 25 and 23) comprises a biasing mechanism (20) that biases the plunger mechanism so that the magnetic field generator is biased towards the first position or the second position (to the second position as taught at Col 3, lines 60-64), and
wherein the electromechanical actuator (solenoid 25) is capable of urging the plunger member (23) against the bias from the biasing mechanism when the electromechanical actuator is activated (Col 4, lines 7-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Johnson et al, as modified by Shimizu with the actuator as taught by Zippe for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (an actuator to hold a plunger) to yield predictable results (to secure a valve in an open position against the bias of a spring).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejection of record. However, a new ground of rejection is applied to the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753