DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-21 are pending.
3. This office action is in response to the Applicant’s communication filed 06/10/2026 in response to PTO Office Action mailed 03/11/2026. The Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims and/or the specification were considered with the results that follow.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s argument with respect to amended independent claims has been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are summarized as:
1) “Applicant respectfully submits that Horwich has not been shown to teach or suggest "accessing, by the memory expansion card, the external memory space based on the second data access request to obtain an access result," particularly where "transmitting, by the memory expansion card, the access result to the computing device [is performed] in response to obtaining the access result from accessing the external memory space based on the second data access request" as recited in claim 1.”
As per argument 1, in response to Applicant’s argument, “Horwich has not been shown to teach or suggest "accessing, by the memory expansion card, the external memory space based on the second data access request to obtain an access result," particularly where "transmitting, by the memory expansion card, the access result to the computing device [is performed] in response to obtaining the access result from accessing the external memory space based on the second data access request" as recited in claim 1.”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant points out that “there are two separate requests (i.e., 801 and 810) from the CPU 112 in Horwich,
and accessing the NVM 140 to obtain a payload and returning demand data the CPU 112 in Horwich are performed in response to the two different requests, respectively, not in response to the same second data access request”, however, the Examiner relies on the teachings of Horwich having the capabilities of actually having “a request” 810 sent from the CPU 112 of the host 110 to a coherent memory expansion controller (CMXC) 120 to access a NVM 140 and obtain demand data to be transmitted to the host 110 based on “the request” 810 as shown in Fig. 8A and par. [0094]. As a result, Horwich’s teachings would be able to implement the claim limitations of the present invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romem et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0132172 hereinafter “Romem” – IDS Submission) in view of Horwich et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0374080 A1 hereinafter “Horwich”).
Referring to claim 1, Romem discloses a method for data access (Romem – Par. [0021, 0025]), wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a memory expansion card (Romem – Figs. 1A & 2 shows a network interface controller (NIC) 100A having a control logic 110.), a first data access request generated by a computing device based on an internal bus protocol, wherein the internal bus protocol comprises a bus protocol for accessing internal memory space of the computing device, and the first data access request comprises a virtual address in the internal memory space (Romem – Par. [0021] discloses access instructions are received by the control logic 110 for the virtual storage 230. An access instruction includes at least one virtual address and an action to be performed corresponding to that virtual address. An action may be, for example, ‘read’, ‘write’, ‘erase’, etc. The access instruction is delivered over the first communication protocol.);
performing, by the memory expansion card (Romem – Figs. 1A & 2 shows a network interface controller (NIC) 100A having a control logic 110.), protocol conversion on the first data access request to obtain a second data access request in a format of an external bus protocol, wherein the external bus protocol comprises a bus protocol for accessing external memory space of the computing device, and the second data access request comprises a physical address in the external memory space (Romem – Par. [0021] discloses the access instruction is delivered over the first communication protocol and converted by the control logic 110 to the mapped physical address. The NIC 100A sends the converted access instruction through a network over a second communication protocol to the storage device corresponding to the physical address.);
accessing, by the memory expansion card, the external memory space based on the second data access request (Romem – Par. [0021, 0025] disclose the second access instruction is sent by the NIC over a second communication protocol to at least a storage server of the plurality of storage servers corresponding to the at least one of the plurality of physical addresses for accessing the remote storage devices.).
Romem fails to explicitly disclose accessing, by the memory expansion card, the external memory space based on the second data access request to obtain an access result; and in response to obtaining the access result from accessing the external memory space based on the second data access request, transmitting, by the memory expansion card, the access result to the computing device.
Horwich discloses accessing, by the memory expansion card, the external memory space based on the data access request to obtain an access result; and in response to obtaining the access result from accessing the external memory space based on the data access request, transmitting, by the memory expansion card, the access result to the computing device (Horwich – Figs. 1, 8A & Par. [0094] disclose a coherent memory expansion device comprising a coherent memory expansion controller (CMXC) 120 having a control logic 125. As shown in FIG. 8A, in response to a first submission 801 for demand read, control logic 125 is configured to transfer a payload 811 specified in submission 801 from the NVM 140 to the demand read cache 327B, and to return demand data 812 specified in the submission 801 in response to a request 810 for the demand data from the CPU 112. The request 810 can be, for example, in the form of a memory read command using the CXL.mem protocol.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Horwich’s teachings with Romem’s techniques for providing a high density, high bandwidth, and low cost memory expansion device includes non-volatile memory (NVM, e.g., NAND Flash) as tier 1 memory for low-cost virtual memory capacity expansion, optional device DRAM as tier 2 coherent memory for physical memory capacity and bandwidth expansion, and device cache as tier 3 coherent memory for low latency (Horwich – Par. [0005]).
Referring to claim 2, Romem and Horwich disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the virtual address in the internal memory space is a first virtual address visible to the computing device, and the method further comprises: converting, by the memory expansion card, the first virtual address visible to the computing device into a second virtual address visible to the memory expansion card; and converting, by the memory expansion card, the second virtual address into the physical address in the external memory space based on a mapping relationship between a virtual address and a physical address in an index (Romem – See Fig. 4 & Par. [0024].).
Referring to claim 3, Romem and Horwich disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein: the external memory space comprises at least one of a local external memory space or a remote external memory space; and when the external memory space comprises the remote external memory space, the accessing, by the memory expansion card, the external memory space based on the second data access request comprises: accessing, by the memory expansion card, the remote external memory space through remote direct memory access (RDMA) based on the second data access request (Romem – Par. [0021, 0025] disclose the second access instruction is sent by the NIC over a second communication protocol to at least a storage server of the plurality of storage servers corresponding to the at least one of the plurality of physical addresses for accessing the remote storage devices. The second communication protocol may implement, in some embodiments, remote direct memory access (RDMA) protocols.).
Referring to claim 6, Romem and Horwich disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the memory expansion card is integrated into the computing device or is inserted into the computing device in a hot swap manner (Romem – Figs. 1A, 2 & Par. [0018] discloses the NIC 100A integrated into the client device 200.).
Referring to claim 7, Romem and Horwich disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the memory expansion card (Romem – Figs. 1A & 2 shows a network interface controller (NIC) 100A having a control logic 110.) comprises a redundant array of independent disks (Romem – Par. [0020] discloses the control logic 110 may include a high availability module and a data protection module. Such modules may be provided, for example, by implementing protocols for redundant array of independent disks (RAID).).
Referring to claim 8, Romem discloses a memory expansion card (Romem – Figs. 1A & 2 shows a network interface controller (NIC) 100A having a control logic 110.), comprising:
at least one processor (Romem – Fig. 1A shows a processor 120.);
one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations comprising (Romem – Fig. 1A & Par. [0018] disclose primary memory 130 includes instructions that when executed by the processor 120 performs a method described in more detail herein.):
receiving a first data access request generated by a computing device based on an internal bus protocol, wherein the internal bus protocol comprises a bus protocol for accessing internal memory space of the computing device, and the first data access request comprises a virtual address in the internal memory space (Romem – Par. [0021] discloses access instructions are received by the control logic 110 for the virtual storage 230. An access instruction includes at least one virtual address and an action to be performed corresponding to that virtual address. An action may be, for example, ‘read’, ‘write’, ‘erase’, etc. The access instruction is delivered over the first communication protocol.);
performing protocol conversion on the first data access request to obtain a second data access request in a format of an external bus protocol, wherein the external bus protocol comprises a bus protocol for accessing external memory space of the computing device, and the second data access request comprises a physical address in the external memory space (Romem – Par. [0021] discloses the access instruction is delivered over the first communication protocol and converted by the control logic 110 to the mapped physical address. The NIC 100A sends the converted access instruction through a network over a second communication protocol to the storage device corresponding to the physical address.);
accessing the external memory space based on the second data access request (Romem – Par. [0021, 0025] disclose the second access instruction is sent by the NIC over a second communication protocol to at least a storage server of the plurality of storage servers corresponding to the at least one of the plurality of physical addresses for accessing the remote storage devices.).
Romem fails to explicitly disclose accessing the external memory space based on the second data access request to obtain an access result; and in response to obtaining the access result from accessing the external memory space based on the second data access request, transmitting the access result to the computing device.
Horwich discloses accessing the external memory space based on the data access request to obtain an access result; and in response to obtaining the access result from accessing the external memory space based on the second data access request, transmitting the access result to the computing device (Horwich – Figs. 1, 8A & Par. [0094] disclose a coherent memory expansion device comprising a coherent memory expansion controller (CMXC) 120 having a control logic 125. As shown in FIG. 8A, in response to a first submission 801 for demand read, control logic 125 is configured to transfer a payload 811 specified in submission 801 from the NVM 140 to the demand read cache 327B, and to return demand data 812 specified in the submission 801 in response to a request 810 for the demand data from the CPU 112. The request 810 can be, for example, in the form of a memory read command using the CXL.mem protocol.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Horwich’s teachings with Romem’s techniques for providing a high density, high bandwidth, and low cost memory expansion device includes non-volatile memory (NVM, e.g., NAND Flash) as tier 1 memory for low-cost virtual memory capacity expansion, optional device DRAM as tier 2 coherent memory for physical memory capacity and bandwidth expansion, and device cache as tier 3 coherent memory for low latency (Horwich – Par. [0005]).
Referring to claims 9 and 16, note the rejections of claim 2 above. The Instant Claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claims 10 and 17, note the rejections of claim 3 above. The Instant Claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claims 13 and 20, note the rejections of claim 6 above. The Instant Claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claims 14 and 21, note the rejections of claim 7 above. The Instant Claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 15, note the rejections of claims 1 and 8 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
7. Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romem in view of Horwich, and further in view of Ranjan et al. (US Pub. No. 2012/0102251 A1 hereinafter “Ranjan”).
Referring to claim 4, Romem and Horwich disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the internal bus protocol comprises any one of a peripheral component interconnect (PCI) protocol, a peripheral component interconnect express (PCI-E) protocol, a quick path interconnect (QPI) protocol, or a universal bus (UB) protocol (Romem – Par. [0021] discloses a bus 210 supports a first communication protocol as a Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCI Express).), however, fails to explicitly disclose the external bus protocol comprises any one of a small computer system interface (SCSI) or a serial attached small computer system interface (SAS).
Ranjan discloses the external bus protocol comprises any one of a small computer system interface (SCSI) or a serial attached small computer system interface (SAS) (Ranjan – Fig. 1 & Par. [0004] discloses the expander device includes a switching module of the firmware that is configured to convert through a processor of the expander device the USB command to the SAS command and/or the SAS command to the USB command.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Ranjan’s teachings with Romem and Horwich’s techniques for bridging through a firmware of the expander device between a USB command of the data processing device and a SAS command of the SAS domain to communicate between the data processing device and the SAS domain (Ranjan – Par. [0003]).
Referring to claims 11 and 18, note the rejections of claim 4 above. The Instant Claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
8. Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romem in view of Horwich, and further in view of Branover et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0115495 A1 hereinafter “Branover”).
Referring to claim 5, Romem and Horwich disclose the method according to claim 1, however, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the computing device maintains at least one request queue, and when the at least one request queue comprises processes or threads corresponding to a plurality of data access requests, the computing device performs the processes or threads corresponding to the plurality of data access requests in a synchronous manner, wherein the plurality of data access requests comprise the first data access request.
Branover discloses the computing device maintains at least one request queue, and when the at least one request queue comprises processes or threads corresponding to a plurality of data access requests, the computing device performs the processes or threads corresponding to the plurality of data access requests in a synchronous manner, wherein the plurality of data access requests comprise the first data access request (Branover – Par. [0044] discloses substantially contemporaneously (as shown by the parallel illustration of steps 308 and 310 in FIG. 3), based on being notified, at least one of the other clients (i.e., that has job items to be processed using the shared resource) processes job items using the shared resource (step 310). For this operation, one or more of the other clients (e.g., other cores, the media processing subsystem, etc.) which have and/or have buffered memory access requests (i.e., memory access requests stored in a corresponding queue) processes those memory access requests.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Branover’s teachings with Romem and Horwich’s techniques for saving the electrical power required to transition the shared resource between the power states for processing job items and avoid the delay required for the transitions (Branover – Par. [0016]).
Referring to claims 12 and 19, note the rejections of claim 5 above. The Instant Claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Dayton Lewis-Taylor/
Examiner, Art Unit 2181
/Farley Abad/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181