DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 01/07/26, for application number 158/417,753 has been received and entered into record. Claims 1, 5, 9, 13-15, 18, and 19 have been amended, Claim 2 has been cancelled, and Claim 21 has been newly added. Therefore, Claims 1 and 3-21 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 9, 13-15, 18, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al., US 11,263,083 B1, in view of Nulkar et al., US 2010/0121908 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Lu discloses a method [Fig. 5, 6] comprising:
executing a booting operation comprising booting of an operating system of a host device [Fig. 5 results in successful execution of POST routine; and in Fig. 6, if system can power on at step 626, then POST ends at step 628, and OS is run at step 630];
detecting a failure of at least the booting of the first operating system of the host device [detecting broken components in step 516 as part of the process; (equivalent to step 616), col. 7, ll. 41-43];
pausing the executing of the booting operation in response to the detecting;
collecting data corresponding to the failure [if a broken component is found in step 516, booting is paused, as the data relating to the broken component is sent to the BIOS at step 520, col. 7, ll. 41-45];
identifying at least one function associated with the data processing unit that is contributing to the failure based at least in part on the collected data; providing a basic input/output system of the host device with access to identifying information for the at least one function [the BMC 130 then uses OEM IPMI remote commands to send data relating to broken component to the BIOS 134 (520). The stored remote command includes the appropriate data for the faulty hardware components such as CPU, DIMM, or add-on card. The BMC 130 also sets the GPIO pin 162 to send an assert signal to the PCH 116 (522); i.e. faulty functions associated with CPU, DIMM, or add-on card (associated with data processing unit but part of the host), col. 7, ll. 43-49]; and
re-executing the booting operation, wherein the basic input/output system excludes the at least one function from being configured by the first operating system of the host device based at least in part on the identifying information [the routine then initiates the power cycle with the POST routine with the modified BIOS that disables the faulty hardware component based on the stored data in the NVRAM block 156. The routine then checks whether the computer system 100 can power-on properly after the power cycle (528). If the power-on routine is successful, the routine reaches the end of the POST routine (530), col. 7, ll. 54-60];
wherein the steps of the method are executed by at least one processing device operatively coupled to a memory [FIG. 2 is a block diagram of the components of a computer system 100 that runs a routine that allows the computer system 100 to be powered up despite having a faulty hardware component; CPU 110, 112, Fig. 2; col. 5, ll. 4-7].
However, Lu does not explicitly teach booting of an operating system of a data processing unit running on the host device; wherein the second operating system of the data processing unit is different from the first operating system of the host device.
In the analogous art of servers and connected devices, Nulkar teaches booting of an operating system of a data processing unit running on the host device; wherein the second operating system of the data processing unit is different from the first operating system of the host device; wherein the operating system of the data processing unit is different from an operating system of the host device [the system enables aggregate management of connected devices independent from the operating system by incorporating a secondary processor into the server, referred to as a service processor. The service processor communicates directly with the connected devices and manages the connected devices independent of the operating system; i.e. secondary processor has its own operating system, par 10].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lu and Nulkar before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the independent operating systems as taught by Nulkar into the method as disclosed by Lu, to allow for continued system operation regardless of failure of the server operating system [Nulkar, par 10].
Regarding Claim 3, Lu and Nulkar disclose the method of Claim 1. Lu further discloses wherein the data processing unit comprises a network interface controller [other hardware components such as PCIe devices 126 may be directly accessed by the CPUs 110 or 112 through expansion slots (not shown). The additional PCIe devices 126 may include network interface cards (NIC), col. 5, ll. 27-29].
Regarding Claim 4, Lu and Nulkar disclose the method of Claim 1. Lu further discloses wherein the at least one function comprises a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) function [FIG. 4 shows a flow diagram of the example routine that allows the computer system 100 to complete the power-on self-test (POST) routine even if a hardware component, such as the SATA devices, PCIe devices, DIMMs, or the CPUs are faulty; (i.e. PCIe may be among the faulty functions), col. 6, ll. 26-30].
Regarding Claim 5, Lu and Nulkar discloses the method of Claim 1. Lu further discloses wherein the failure further comprises a crash of the second operating system of the data processing unit and the data corresponding to the failure comprises one or more crash dump logs [detection of the faulty hardware component relies on classification in the system error log 136 managed by the BMC 130. For example, processor damage usually causes a processor internal error (IERR) or catastrophic error (CATERR) to be logged, while memory damage causes uncorrectable error, training failure or MCA errors to be logged, col. 6, ll. 52-68].
Regarding Claim 6, Lu and Nulkar disclose the method of Claim 1. Lu further discloses wherein the identifying information for the at least one function comprises at least one of a bus identifier for the at least one function, a name of the at least one function and a driver version associated with the at least one function [the BMC 130 then uses OEM IPMI remote commands to send data relating to broken component to the BIOS 134 (520). The stored remote command includes the appropriate data for the faulty hardware components such as CPU, DIMM, or add-on card. The BMC 130 also sets the GPIO pin 162 to send an assert signal to the PCH 116 (522); i.e. the name of the function being CPU, DIMM, etc., col. 7, ll. 43-49].
Regarding Claim 8, Lu and Nulkar disclose the method of Claim 1. Lu further discloses wherein the collecting of the data corresponding to the failure is performed by a baseboard management controller [if a broken component is found in step 516, POST process is paused, as the data relating to the broken component is sent to the BIOS at step 520; the BMC 130 then uses OEM IPMI remote commands to send data relating to broken component to the BIOS 134 (520). The stored remote command includes the appropriate data for the faulty hardware components such as CPU, DIMM, or add-on card. The BMC 130 also sets the GPIO pin 162 to send an assert signal to the PCH 116 (522), col. 7, ll. 41-49].
Regarding Claim 9, Lu and Nulkar disclose the method of Claim 1. Lu further discloses further comprising: generating a data processing unit failure state signal in response to the failure of the booting of the second operating system of the data processing unit; and sending the data processing unit failure state signal to the basic input/output system [if a broken component is found (516), the BMC 130 stores the current BIOS settings in the BMC self-storage constituting the BMC memory device 132 (518). The BMC 130 then uses OEM IPMI remote commands to send data relating to broken component to the BIOS 134 (520); (the remote command being a failure state signal), col. 7, ll. 41-45].
Regarding Claim 13, Lu and Nulkar disclose the method of Claim 1. Lu further discloses further comprising generating one or more logs corresponding to the re-executing of the booting operation and to excluding the at least one function from being configured by the operating system of the host device [BMC sends OEM IPMI commands to disable broken components at step 632, BMC stores modified setup options at step 634, Fig. 6]
Regarding Claim 14, Lu discloses an apparatus comprising: a processing device operatively coupled to a memory [computer system 100 containing CPU1 and CPU0 and hard disk drives 120 and DIMMs 114, Fig. 2]. The remainder of Claim 14 repeats the same limitations as recited in Claim 1, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 15, Lu and Nulkar disclose the apparatus of Claim 14. Claim 15 repeats the same limitations as recited in Claim 9, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 18, Lu discloses an article of manufacture comprising a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium having stored therein program code of one or more software programs [computer system 100 containing CPU1 and CPU0 and hard disk drives 120 and DIMMs 114, Fig. 2]. The remainder of Claim 14 repeats the same limitations as recited in Claim 1, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 19, Lu and Nulkar disclose the article of manufacture of Claim 18. Claim 19 repeats the same limitations as recited in Claim 9, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 21, Lu and Nulkar disclose the article of manufacture of Claim 19. Claim 21 repeats the same limitations as recited in Claim 3, and is rejected accordingly.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Hayashida, US 2019/0073285 A1.
Regarding Claim 7, Lu and Nulkar discloses the method of Claim 1. Lu further discloses wherein the identifying information for the at least one function is stored in a non-volatile memory of the basic input/output system [the BIOS memory device 134 then writes the data of the faulty hardware components from the BMC 130 to the NVRAM block 156 of the BIOS memory device 134 (526), col. 7, ll. 51-53].
However, Lu and Nulkar do not explicitly teach the method further comprises generating one or more intelligent platform management interface commands to cause transmission of the identifying information for the at least one function to the non-volatile memory of the basic input/output system.
In the analogous art of information processing management, Hayashida teaches the method further comprises generating one or more intelligent platform management interface commands to cause transmission of the identifying information for the at least one function to the non-volatile memory of the basic input/output system [the BIOS of the server 1 is able to acquire pieces of information of the hardware of each unit of the server 1 that have been collected by the BMC 20 using a command compliant with the IPMI specification; BIOS acquiring the information, par 38].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lu, Nulkar, and Hayashida before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the IPMI commands as taught by Hayashida into the method as disclosed by Lu and Nulkar, to improve system management related to I/O devices through the use of a BIOS [Hayashida, par 4, 5].
Claims 10-12, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu and Nulkar, and further in view of Cagle et al., 2004/0078679 A1.
Regarding Claim 10, Lu and Nulkar disclose the method of Claim 9. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach wherein the pausing of the executing of the booting operation is performed in response to receipt of the data processing unit failure state signal by the basic input/output system.
In the analogous art of boot failure detection, Cagle teaches wherein the pausing of the executing of the booting operation is performed in response to receipt of the data processing unit failure state signal by the basic input/output system [if the boot attempt is not successful (decision 308), the system BIOS determines if the device that just attempted to boot was the last device in the standard boot order list 205 (FIG. 2). If the last device from which a boot was attempted is the last device in the standard boot order list 205, the BIOS 202 (FIG. 2) delays for a predetermined time at 314. The BIOS 202 (FIG. 2) may optionally display a message that a boot sequence has just failed and that a new boot sequence will be tried; i.e. BIOS receiving failure signal at step 308, Fig. 2, 3; par 36].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lu, Nulkar, and Cagle before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the pausing of the booting operation as taught by Cagle into the method as disclosed by Lu and Nulkar, to allow for automatic reboot attempts to avoid user intervention [Cagle, par 15].
Regarding Claim 11, Lu and Nulkar discloses the method of Claim 9. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach generating a data processing unit ready state signal following the identifying of the at least one function; and sending the data processing unit ready state signal to the basic input/output system.
In the analogous art of boot failure detection, Cagle teaches generating a data processing unit ready state signal following the identifying of the at least one function [attempt boot from identified device at step 306, Fig. 3]; and sending the data processing unit ready state signal to the basic input/output system [the BIOS attempts to boot from the identified device at 306. If the boot is successful (decision 308), then normal operation of the computer begins at 310 and the boot process terminates at 316; i.e. boot attempt successful being a ready state signal, par 35].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lu, Nulkar, and Cagle before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the indication of being ready to continue the booting operation as taught by Cagle into the method as disclosed by Lu and Nulkar, to allow for automatic reboot attempts to avoid user intervention [Cagle, par 15].
Regarding Claim 12, Lu, Nulkar, and Cagle disclose the method of Claim 11. Cagle further teaches wherein the re-executing of the booting operation is performed in response to receipt of the data processing unit ready state signal by the basic input/output system [the BIOS attempts to boot from the identified device at 306. If the boot is successful (decision 308), then normal operation of the computer begins at 310 and the boot process terminates at 316; i.e. boot attempt successful being a ready state signal, par 35].
Regarding Claims 16 and 17, Lu and Nulkar disclose the apparatus of Claim 15. Claims 16 and 17 repeat the same limitations as recited in Claims 10 and 11, respectively, and are rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 20, Lu and Nulkar disclose the article of manufacture of Claim 19. Claim 20 repeats the same limitation as recited in Claim 10, and is rejected accordingly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/07/26 have been considered but are moot due to the new rejection based on the references cited above, as well as the newly cited portions of the references previously presented.
Additionally, Applicant’s arguments as to Lu and Nulkar regarding the existing limitations are unpersuasive.
Applicant argues Lu does not re-execute the booting operation wherein the basic input/output system excludes at least one function from being configured by the first operating system. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As acknowledged by Applicant, Lu discloses modifying the BIOS to disable a faulty hardware component and then running a power-on cycle. (Rem. 10) Disabling of faulty hardware and a subsequent power-on cycle appears to be equivalent to excluding at least one function from being configured by the operating system as the subsequent boot would necessarily configure the disable component to no longer be functional.
No arguments were made as to the remaining limitations or claims. As such, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Paul Yen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175