DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/19/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
The instant application is a Continuation of the parent Application No. PCT/CN2021/107969, filed on 7/22/21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 10-13, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. US 20220232487 (hereinafter “Yang”).
As to claim 1, 10, and 20 (claim 1 is the method claim for the terminal and chip in claim 10 and 20 respectively):
Yang discloses:
A terminal, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program that, when executed by the processor, (“Generally, UE 104 includes various processors (e.g., 258, 264, 266, and 280), antennas 252a-r, transceivers 254a-r, and other aspects, involved in transmission of data (e.g., source data 262) and reception of data (e.g., data sink 260). UE 104 includes controller/processor 280, which comprises power control component 281. Power control component 281 may be configured to implement UE 104 power control component 198 of FIG. 1.”, Yang [0035])
A method for determining a power adjustment component, comprising: determining, by a terminal, the power adjustment component of a first uplink control channel based on a first code rate, (“Transmit power of a PUCCH transmission is computed by the UE prior to transmission of the PUCCH.”, Yang [0043]) (“NR defines a power control equation for the transmit power (P.sub.PUCCH) from a UE for a PUCCH: P.sub.PUCCH=min{P.sub.c,max, P.sub.0(j)+PL(q)+10log.sub.10(2.sup.μM.sub.RB)+Δ.sub.F+Δ.sub.TF+g(.Math.)}”, Yang [0044]) (“As shown, Δ.sub.TF may be a function of Bits Per Resource Element (BPRE). BPRE generally represents the effective coding rate (also referred to as the spectral efficiency) of the PUCCH determined by the following equation:”, Yang [0046])
wherein the first uplink control channel is used for transmitting a plurality of uplink control information, (“Method 400 begins at step 410 with a UE multiplexing a first uplink control information (UCI) and a second UCI in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), wherein the first UCI has a first priority and the second UCI has a second priority.”, Yang [0053])
the plurality of uplink control information corresponding to a plurality of code rates, and the first code rate is determined based on at least one of the plurality of code rates. (“Accordingly, the transmit power of a PUCCH may depend on the effective code rate of transmission, as described by the power control equation above. However, because UCIs assigned different priorities may be separately encoded, different rates may be associated with each UCI.”, Yang [0047])
As to claim 2:
Yang discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of uplink control information correspond to a plurality of priorities. (“Method 400 begins at step 410 with a UE multiplexing a first uplink control information (UCI) and a second UCI in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), wherein the first UCI has a first priority and the second UCI has a second priority.”, Yang [0053])
As to claim 4 and 12 (claim 4 is the method claim for the terminal in claim 12):
Yang discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of code rates comprise a second code rate and a third code rate, wherein the second code rate corresponds to first uplink control information transmitted on the first uplink control channel, and the third code rate corresponds to second uplink control information transmitted on the first uplink control channel. (“As depicted in the data flow 600 of FIG. 6, in some cases, a UE may be configured (at step 605) with a common open loop power control parameter (common P.sub.0). The common open loop power control parameter (common P.sub.0) may be associated with a PUCCH resource used to transmit the PUCCH. At step 610, the UE may multiplex an LP UCI and an HP UCI. At step 620, the UE may compute transmit power separately for the LP UCI (P.sub.LP) and the HP UCI (P.sub.HP) using the common P.sub.0. Further, computation of the LP UCI (P.sub.LP) and the HP UCI (P.sub.HP) may be computed using a first effective coding rate (e.g., spectral efficiency or Bits Per Resource Element (BPRE)) associated with the LP UCI and a second effective coding rate associated with the HP UCI, respectively. At step 630, the UE may then transmit the PUCCH with the multiplexed HP UCI and LP UCI using the maximum of the transmit powers separately calculated using the common P.sub.0, and, in some cases, different effective coding rates associated with each of the LP and HP UCI (e.g., P.sub.PUCCH=max{P.sub.LP, P.sub.HP}).”, Yang [0060])
As to claim 5:
Yang discloses:
The method of claim 4, wherein the second code rate is determined based on a network configuration;
or the second code rate is determined based on a pre-configuration;
or the second code rate is determined based on a number of bits of the first uplink control information and a resource for transmitting the first uplink control information in the first uplink control channel;
or the second code rate is determined based on a code rate corresponding to a second uplink control channel for separately carrying the first uplink control information;
or the second code rate is determined based on a code rate corresponding to the first uplink control information when transmitted on the first uplink control channel. (“As shown, Δ.sub.TF may be a function of Bits Per Resource Element (BPRE). BPRE generally represents the effective coding rate (also referred to as the spectral efficiency) of the PUCCH determined by the following equation….where N.sub.RE denotes the number of resource elements (REs) used to transmit the number of UCI (and cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits).”, Yang [0046]) (“Method 900 then proceeds to step 920 with the UE computing a transmit power based on a total number of bits of the first and second UCI multiplexed in the PUCCH. In certain aspects, computing the transmit power includes computing the transmit power based on an effective coding rate of the first and second UCI multiplexed on the PUCCH. The effective coding rate may be calculated based on at least one of: a number of bits in the first UCI, a number of bits in the second UCI or a number of resource elements (N.sub.RE) used to transmit the PUCCH.”, Yang [0075])
As to claim 6 and 16 (claim 6 is the method claim for the terminal in claim 16):
Yang discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein determining, by the terminal, the power adjustment component based on the first code rate comprises: when a format of the first uplink control channel is format 2, format 3 or format 4, determining, by the terminal, the power adjustment component based on the first code rate. (“In certain aspects, method 900 further includes a step for selecting a formula for computing the transmit power based on a number of a number of bits in the first UCI and a number of CRC bits for the first UCI. For example, as described above, a power control equation used to calculate the transmit power (P.sub.PUCCH) from a UE for a PUCCH is..”, Yang [0089]) (“Method 1000 then proceeds to step 1030 with the UE transmitting the PUCCH in accordance with the transmit power.”, Yang [0090]) (“In certain aspects, a format of the PUCCH comprises a first PUCCH format with a short format and greater than two bits for the first UCI multiplexed with the second UCI (e.g., PUCCH format 2). In certain aspects, a format of the PUCCH comprises a second PUCCH format with a long format, greater than two bits for the first UCI multiplexed with the second UCI, and without multi-UE multiplexing (e.g., PUCCH format 3). In certain aspects, a format of the PUCCH comprises a third PUCCH format with a long format, greater than two bits for the first UCI multiplexed with the second UCI, and with multi-UE multiplexing (e.g., PUCCH format 4).”, Yang [0091])
As to claim 7 and 17 (claim 7 is the method claim for the terminal in claim 17):
Yang discloses:
The method of claim 6, wherein when the format of the first uplink control channel is format 2, format 3 or format 4, (“In certain aspects, a format of the PUCCH comprises a first PUCCH format with a short format and greater than two bits for the first UCI multiplexed with the second UCI (e.g., PUCCH format 2). In certain aspects, a format of the PUCCH comprises a second PUCCH format with a long format, greater than two bits for the first UCI multiplexed with the second UCI, and without multi-UE multiplexing (e.g., PUCCH format 3). In certain aspects, a format of the PUCCH comprises a third PUCCH format with a long format, greater than two bits for the first UCI multiplexed with the second UCI, and with multi-UE multiplexing (e.g., PUCCH format 4).”, Yang [0091]) determining, by the terminal, the power adjustment component based on the first code rate comprises: when the format of the first uplink control channel is format 2, format 3 or format 4, and a number of bits of the uplink control information on the first uplink control channel is less than or equal to a first threshold, (“where K.sub.2=2.4. When the total number of bits in the UCI is less than or equal to eleven, Δ.sub.TF may be determined by…”, Yang [0045]) determining the power adjustment component based on 10*log.sub.10(K.sub.1*A), wherein K.sub.1 is a first constant; A is the first code rate; and log represents a logarithmic function; (“Δ.sub.TF=10log.sub.10(BPRE.Math.K.sub.1)”, Yang [0045])
when the format of the first uplink control channel is format 2, format 3 or format 4, and a number of bits of the uplink control information on the first uplink control channel is greater than a first threshold, (“Parameter Δ.sub.TF may be calculated based on a total number of bits in the UCI. When the total number of bits in the UCI is greater than eleven, Δ.sub.TF may be determined by:”, Yang [0045])
determining the power adjustment component based on 10*log.sub.10(2.sup.K.sup.2.sup.*A−1), wherein K.sub.2 is a second constant; A is the first code rate; and log represents a logarithmic function. (“Δ.sub.TF=10log.sub.10((2.sup.BPRE.Math.K.sup.2−1))”, Yang [0045])
As to claim 11:
Yang discloses:
The terminal of claim 10, wherein the first code rate comprises at least one of: any one of the plurality of code rates; a lowest code rate of the plurality of code rates; a highest code rate of the plurality of code rates; an average of the plurality of code rates; a mode of the plurality of code rates; a median of the plurality of code rates; a code rate of the plurality of code rates corresponding to uplink control information with a high priority; or a code rate of the plurality of code rates corresponding to uplink control information with a low priority. (“As depicted in the data flow 600 of FIG. 6, in some cases, a UE may be configured (at step 605) with a common open loop power control parameter (common P.sub.0). The common open loop power control parameter (common P.sub.0) may be associated with a PUCCH resource used to transmit the PUCCH. At step 610, the UE may multiplex an LP UCI and an HP UCI. At step 620, the UE may compute transmit power separately for the LP UCI (P.sub.LP) and the HP UCI (P.sub.HP) using the common P.sub.0. Further, computation of the LP UCI (P.sub.LP) and the HP UCI (P.sub.HP) may be computed using a first effective coding rate (e.g., spectral efficiency or Bits Per Resource Element (BPRE)) associated with the LP UCI and a second effective coding rate associated with the HP UCI, respectively. At step 630, the UE may then transmit the PUCCH with the multiplexed HP UCI and LP UCI using the maximum of the transmit powers separately calculated using the common P.sub.0, and, in some cases, different effective coding rates associated with each of the LP and HP UCI (e.g., P.sub.PUCCH=max{P.sub.LP, P.sub.HP}).”, Yang [0060]) (“Alternatively, as depicted in data flow 700 of FIG. 7, in some cases, a UE may be configured (at step 705) with separate open loop power control parameters (P.sub.0−LP and P.sub.0−HP) rather than a common P.sub.0. At step 710, the UE may multiplex an LP UCI and an HP UCI. At step 720, the UE may then compute transmit power for the HP UCI (P.sub.HP) using P.sub.0−HP and an effective coding rate associated with the HP UCI. The UE may compute transmit power for the LP UCI (P.sub.LP) using P.sub.0−LP and an effective coding rate associated with the LP UCI. At step 730, the UE may then transmit the PUCCH with the multiplexed HP UCI and LP UCI using the maximum of the transmit powers separately calculated using the separate open loop power control parameters (P.sub.0−LP and P.sub.0−HP).”, Yang [0061])
As to claim 13:
Yang discloses:
The terminal of claim 12, wherein a priority of the first uplink control information is a first priority, and a priority of the second uplink control information is a second priority. (“Method 400 begins at step 410 with a UE multiplexing a first uplink control information (UCI) and a second UCI in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), wherein the first UCI has a first priority and the second UCI has a second priority.”, Yang [0053])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. US 20220039029 (hereinafter “Zhang”)
As to claim 3:
Yang as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the terminal, a plurality of uplink control channels corresponding to the plurality of uplink control information; and determining, by the terminal, to multiplex the plurality of uplink control information on the first uplink control channel for transmission, when each of the plurality of uplink control channels overlaps with at least one other uplink control channel of the plurality of uplink control channels in a time domain.
However, Zhang further teaches multiplexing overlapping channels which includes:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the terminal, a plurality of uplink control channels corresponding to the plurality of uplink control information; and determining, by the terminal, to multiplex the plurality of uplink control information on the first uplink control channel for transmission, when each of the plurality of uplink control channels overlaps with at least one other uplink control channel of the plurality of uplink control channels in a time domain. (“When a PUCCH of the first priority index and one PUCCH of the second priority index overlap in time, the method includes determining how to multiplex the uplink control information (UCI) included in the PUCCH of the first priority index and the UCI included in the PUCCH of the second priority index based on whether the PUCCH of the second priority index includes a scheduling request (SR) and/or a link recovery request (LRR).”, Zhang [0046])
Zhang and Yang are analogous because they pertain to PUCCH transmission.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include multiplexing overlapping channels as described in Zhang into Yang. By modifying the method to include multiplexing overlapping channels as taught by Zhang, the benefits of improved PUCCH transmission (Yang [0053] and Zhang [0046]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 14, 15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Seok et al. US 20230412328 (hereinafter “Seok”)
As to claim 8 and 18 (claim 8 is the method claim for the terminal in claim 18):
Yang as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: when a format of the first uplink control channel is format 0 or format 1, determining, by the terminal, the power adjustment component based on a number of symbols of the first uplink control channel and a number of bits of the uplink control information on the first uplink control channel.
However, Seok further teaches power adjustment component which includes:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: when a format of the first uplink control channel is format 0 or format 1, determining, by the terminal, the power adjustment component based on a number of symbols of the first uplink control channel and a number of bits of the uplink control information on the first uplink control channel. (“M.sub.RB,b,f,c.sup.PUSCH(i) is the number of PRBs determined for PUCCH transmission, and may be a value that varies according to the number of symbols in which a PUCCH is transmitted. Δ.sub.TF, b, f, c(i) may be determined according to the number of symbols in which a repeatedly transmitted PUCCH is transmitted. Specifically, Δ.sub.TF, b, f, c(i) may be determined as shown in Equation 7 if a PUCCH format is PUCCH format 0 or 1, and may be determined as shown in Equation 8 or 9 in a case of PUCCH format 2, 3, or 4,”, Seok [0293]) (“N.sub.symb.sup.PUCCH(i) of Equation 7 is the number of symbols in which an i-th PUCCH is transmitted, and N.sub.ref.sup.PUCCH is 2 in a case of PUCCH format 0, and may be the number of symbols constituting one slot in a case of PUCCH format 1. Δ.sub.UCI(i) is 0 for PUCCH format 0, and may be calculated by 10 log.sub.10(O.sub.UCI(i)) for PUCCH format 1, where O.sub.UCI(i) may be the number of bits of UCI.”, Seok [0294])
Seok and Yang are analogous because they pertain to PUCCH transmission.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include power adjustment component as described in Seok into Yang. By modifying the method to include power adjustment component as taught by Seok, the benefits of improved PUCCH transmission (Yang [0053] and Zhang [0294]) are achieved.
As to claim 9 and 19 (claim 9 is the method claim for the terminal in claim 19):
Yang as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 8, wherein determining, by the terminal, the power adjustment component based on the number of symbols of the first uplink control channel and the number of bits of the uplink control information on the first uplink control channel comprises: determining, by the terminal, the power adjustment component based on
10*log10(NM+ΔUCI),
wherein M is the number of symbols of the first uplink control channel; N is 2 when the format of the first uplink control channel is format 0, and N is a number of symbols in a slot when the format of the first uplink control channel is format 1; Δ.sub.UCI is 0 when the format of the first uplink control channel is format 0; and Δ.sub.UCI is 10*log.sub.10(O.sub.uci) when the format of the first uplink control channel is format 1, wherein O.sub.uci is the number of bits of the uplink control information on the first uplink control channel; and log represents a logarithmic function.
However, Seok further teaches power adjustment component which includes:
The method of claim 8, wherein determining, by the terminal, the power adjustment component based on the number of symbols of the first uplink control channel and the number of bits of the uplink control information on the first uplink control channel comprises: determining, by the terminal, the power adjustment component based on
10*log10(NM+ΔUCI),
wherein M is the number of symbols of the first uplink control channel; N is 2 when the format of the first uplink control channel is format 0, and N is a number of symbols in a slot when the format of the first uplink control channel is format 1; Δ.sub.UCI is 0 when the format of the first uplink control channel is format 0; and Δ.sub.UCI is 10*log.sub.10(O.sub.uci) when the format of the first uplink control channel is format 1, wherein O.sub.uci is the number of bits of the uplink control information on the first uplink control channel; and log represents a logarithmic function. (“M.sub.RB,b,f,c.sup.PUSCH(i) is the number of PRBs determined for PUCCH transmission, and may be a value that varies according to the number of symbols in which a PUCCH is transmitted. Δ.sub.TF, b, f, c(i) may be determined according to the number of symbols in which a repeatedly transmitted PUCCH is transmitted. Specifically, Δ.sub.TF, b, f, c(i) may be determined as shown in Equation 7 if a PUCCH format is PUCCH format 0 or 1, and may be determined as shown in Equation 8 or 9 in a case of PUCCH format 2, 3, or 4,”, Seok [0293]) (“N.sub.symb.sup.PUCCH(i) of Equation 7 is the number of symbols in which an i-th PUCCH is transmitted, and N.sub.ref.sup.PUCCH is 2 in a case of PUCCH format 0, and may be the number of symbols constituting one slot in a case of PUCCH format 1. Δ.sub.UCI(i) is 0 for PUCCH format 0, and may be calculated by 10 log.sub.10(O.sub.UCI(i)) for PUCCH format 1, where O.sub.UCI(i) may be the number of bits of UCI.”, Seok [0294])
Seok and Yang are analogous because they pertain to PUCCH transmission.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include power adjustment component as described in Seok into Yang. By modifying the method to include power adjustment component as taught by Seok, the benefits of improved PUCCH transmission (Yang [0053] and Zhang [0294]) are achieved.
As to claim 14:
Yang as described above does not explicitly teach:
The terminal of claim 12, wherein when a number of bits of the first uplink control information is less than or equal to a first threshold, the second code rate is determined based on a number of bits of at least one of first feedback information, a first scheduling request or first channel state information in the first uplink control information, and a first number of resource elements for transmitting the first uplink control information in the first uplink control channel; when the number of bits of the first uplink control information is greater than the first threshold, the second code rate is determined based on a number of bits of at least one of the first feedback information, the first scheduling request, the first channel state information or a first cyclic redundancy check in the first uplink control information, and the first number of resource elements for transmitting the first uplink control information in the first uplink control channel.
However, Seok further teaches power adjustment component which includes:
The terminal of claim 12, wherein when a number of bits of the first uplink control information is less than or equal to a first threshold, the second code rate is determined based on a number of bits of at least one of first feedback information, a first scheduling request or first channel state information in the first uplink control information, and a first number of resource elements for transmitting the first uplink control information in the first uplink control channel; (“Equation 8 applied to PUCCH formats 2, 3, and 4 may be applied if the number of bits of UCI is fewer than or equal to 11 bits, where K.sub.1 in Equation 8 may be 6. N.sub.HARQ-ACK(i)+O.sub.SR(i)+O.sub.CSI(i) in Equation 8 may be the number of bits of UCI transmitted by a PUCCH, where N.sub.RE(i) indicating the number of REs may be calculated as shown in Equation 10.”, Seok [0295])
when the number of bits of the first uplink control information is greater than the first threshold, the second code rate is determined based on a number of bits of at least one of the first feedback information, the first scheduling request, the first channel state information or a first cyclic redundancy check in the first uplink control information, and the first number of resource elements for transmitting the first uplink control information in the first uplink control channel. (“Equation 9 applied to PUCCH formats 2, 3, and 4 may be applied if the number of bits of UCI is greater than or equal to 11 bits, where K2 in Equation 9 may be 2.4. BPRE(i)=(O.sub.ACK(i)+O.sub.SR(i)+O.sub.CSI(i)+O.sub.CRC(i))/N.sub.RE(i) in Equation 9 may be satisfied, and O.sub.ACK(i)+O.sub.SR(i)+O.sub.CSI(i)+O.sub.CRC(i) may be the number of bits of UCI transmitted by a PUCCH, where N.sub.RE(i) indicating the number of REs may be calculated as shown in Equation 10.”, Seok [0296])
Seok and Yang are analogous because they pertain to PUCCH transmission.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include power adjustment component as described in Seok into Yang. By modifying the method to include power adjustment component as taught by Seok, the benefits of improved PUCCH transmission (Yang [0053] and Zhang [0294]) are achieved.
As to claim 15:
Yang as described above does not explicitly teach:
The terminal of claim 14, wherein when the number of bits of the first uplink control information is less than or equal to the first threshold, the second code rate is determined by (O.sub.HARQ-ACK+O.sub.SR+O.sub.CSI)/N.sub.RE; when the number of bits of the first uplink control information is greater than the first threshold, the second code rate is determined by (O.sub.HARQ-ACK+O.sub.SR+O.sub.CSI+O.sub.CRC)/N.sub.RE, wherein O.sub.HARQ-ACK is the number of bits of the first feedback information; O.sub.SR is the number of bits of the first scheduling request; O.sub.CSI is the number of bits of the first channel state information; N.sub.RE is the first number; and O.sub.CRC the number of bits of the first
However, Seok further teaches power adjustment component which includes:
The terminal of claim 14, wherein when the number of bits of the first uplink control information is less than or equal to the first threshold, the second code rate is determined by (O.sub.HARQ-ACK+O.sub.SR+O.sub.CSI)/N.sub.RE; (“Equation 8 applied to PUCCH formats 2, 3, and 4 may be applied if the number of bits of UCI is fewer than or equal to 11 bits, where K.sub.1 in Equation 8 may be 6. N.sub.HARQ-ACK(i)+O.sub.SR(i)+O.sub.CSI(i) in Equation 8 may be the number of bits of UCI transmitted by a PUCCH, where N.sub.RE(i) indicating the number of REs may be calculated as shown in Equation 10.”, Seok [0295])
when the number of bits of the first uplink control information is greater than the first threshold, the second code rate is determined by (O.sub.HARQ-ACK+O.sub.SR+O.sub.CSI+O.sub.CRC)/N.sub.RE, wherein O.sub.HARQ-ACK is the number of bits of the first feedback information; O.sub.SR is the number of bits of the first scheduling request; O.sub.CSI is the number of bits of the first channel state information; N.sub.RE is the first number; and O.sub.CRC the number of bits of the first cyclic redundancy check. (“Equation 9 applied to PUCCH formats 2, 3, and 4 may be applied if the number of bits of UCI is greater than or equal to 11 bits, where K2 in Equation 9 may be 2.4. BPRE(i)=(O.sub.ACK(i)+O.sub.SR(i)+O.sub.CSI(i)+O.sub.CRC(i))/N.sub.RE(i) in Equation 9 may be satisfied, and O.sub.ACK(i)+O.sub.SR(i)+O.sub.CSI(i)+O.sub.CRC(i) may be the number of bits of UCI transmitted by a PUCCH, where N.sub.RE(i) indicating the number of REs may be calculated as shown in Equation 10.”, Seok [0296])
Seok and Yang are analogous because they pertain to PUCCH transmission.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include power adjustment component as described in Seok into Yang. By modifying the method to include power adjustment component as taught by Seok, the benefits of improved PUCCH transmission (Yang [0053] and Zhang [0294]) are achieved.
Conclusion
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471