DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed 3/31/2026.
No claims have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims 1-20 are now pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claims (pages 7-12) in a reply filed 3/31/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are based on newly changed limitations in the amendment and new ground of rejections using newly introduced references or a newly introduced portion of an existing reference are applied in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US 20230106384 (hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Kim et al. US 20160087655 (hereinafter “Kim2”) and in further view of Cheong et al. US 20220159543 (hereinafter “Cheong”)
As to claim 1, 8, and 15 (claim 1 is the method claim for the system in claim 8 and 15):
Kim discloses:
A system comprising: data processing hardware; and memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that, when executed on the data processing hardware, cause the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising (FIG. 1, Kim)
A vehicle management system comprising: a communication system including wireless communication technology comprising: a central processing unit communicatively coupled to: a cellular module, a wireless internet module, a wireless low-energy module, an ultra-wideband module, and a near field communication module; data processing hardware; and memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that, when executed on the data processing hardware, cause the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising: (FIG. 1, Kim) (“For example, the plurality of communication circuits may include a communication module 190 illustrated in FIG. 1. For example, the plurality of the communication circuits may include two or more of at least one communication circuit for providing a cellular communication scheme, a communication circuit for providing Wi-Fi communication scheme, a communication circuit for providing Bluetooth communication scheme, a communication circuit for providing UWB communication scheme, a communication circuit for providing NFC communication scheme or a reception circuit for GNSS (global navigation satellite system).”, Kim [0109])
A computer-implemented method that, when executed by data processing hardware, causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising: detecting one or more alert events; assessing an impact of the one or more alert events on wireless communication technology of a vehicle; estimating status of the wireless communication technology; (“According to an embodiment, the processor 120 may identify the environment based at least in part on the received strength of each of signals received via at least one of the plurality of communication circuits. For example, the processor 120 may identify the location of the electronic device 101 based at least in part on the received strength and identify the environment based at least in part on the identified location. As another example, based at least in part on the received strength, the processor 120 may identify that the electronic device 101 is located in an environment in which only some of the plurality of communication schemes supported by the electronic device 101 are available in the environment, for communication with the external electronic device. However, it is not limited thereto.”, Kim [0111]) evaluating resource management for use of a digital key; (“For example, referring to FIG. 3, in state 300, the processor 120 may identify that the service indicated by the user input 313 is a service that provides a function of a vehicle key using the electronic device 101, in response to receiving the user input 313. Before registering the service based on the identification, the processor 120 may execute operations to authenticate the user as the owner of the vehicle. For example, the processor 120 may switch from state 300 to state 320 in response to receiving the user input 313.”, Kim [0061]) (“According to an embodiment, the processor 120 may identify the environment based at least in part on the received strength of each of signals received via at least one of the plurality of communication circuits. For example, the processor 120 may identify the location of the electronic device 101 based at least in part on the received strength and identify the environment based at least in part on the identified location. As another example, based at least in part on the received strength, the processor 120 may identify that the electronic device 101 is located in an environment in which only some of the plurality of communication schemes supported by the electronic device 101 are available in the environment, for communication with the external electronic device. However, it is not limited thereto.”, Kim [0111]) (“ According to an embodiment, when at least one of the plurality of communication circuits is deactivated when receiving the first user input, the processor 120, in response to receiving the first user input, may activate at least one of the plurality of communication circuits and identify the environment in which the electronic device 101 is located based at least in part on the activation. However, it is not limited thereto.”, Kim [0110])
and providing a matrix of the wireless communication technology to a mobile device. (“According to an embodiment, the processor 120 may obtain data to identify the priority of each of the identified authentication schemes for each of one or more candidate environments defined to represent these environments. For example, the data for identifying the priority may be composed of weights defined as shown in Table 5 below.”, Kim [0097]) (“For example, in Table 5, data corresponding to the first communication link shows weights respectively applied to authentication schemes in an environment in which the quality of a communication link established via a 5G (fifth generation) cellular communication scheme is above a reference quality, data corresponding to the second communication link shows weights respectively applied to authentication schemes in an environment in which the quality of a communication link established via a 4G (fourth generation) cellular communication scheme is above a reference quality, data corresponding to the third communication link shows weights respectively applied to authentication schemes in an environment in which the quality of a communication link established via a Wi-Fi direct communication scheme is above a reference quality, and data corresponding to the fourth communication link shows weights respectively applied to authentication schemes in an environment in which the quality of a communication link established via the Bluetooth communication scheme is above a reference quality. For example, when the electronic device 101 is located in a candidate environment where the quality of communication link established via the 5th generation cellular communication scheme is above the reference quality, the quality of the communication link established via the 4th generation cellular communication scheme is below the reference quality, the quality of the communication link established via Wi-Fi direct communication scheme is below the reference quality, and the quality of the communication link established via Bluetooth communication scheme is below the reference quality, the processor 120 may identify the priority in the order of a FIDO-based authentication scheme, a password-based authentication scheme, a passcode-based authentication scheme, a pattern-based authentication scheme, and an offline fingerprint-based authentication scheme, by applying weight 5 to the FIDO-based authentication scheme, weight 1 to the offline fingerprint-based authentication scheme, weight 3 to the passcode-based authentication scheme, weight 2 to the pattern-based authentication scheme, and weight 4 to the password-based authentication scheme. However, it is not limited thereto.”, Kim [0098]) (“For example, the plurality of communication circuits may include a communication module 190 illustrated in FIG. 1. For example, the plurality of the communication circuits may include two or more of at least one communication circuit for providing a cellular communication scheme, a communication circuit for providing Wi-Fi communication scheme, a communication circuit for providing Bluetooth communication scheme, a communication circuit for providing UWB communication scheme, a communication circuit for providing NFC communication scheme or a reception circuit for GNSS (global navigation satellite system).”, Kim [0109]) (“According to an embodiment, the processor 120 may identify the environment based at least in part on the received strength of each of signals received via at least one of the plurality of communication circuits. For example, the processor 120 may identify the location of the electronic device 101 based at least in part on the received strength and identify the environment based at least in part on the identified location. As another example, based at least in part on the received strength, the processor 120 may identify that the electronic device 101 is located in an environment in which only some of the plurality of communication schemes supported by the electronic device 101 are available in the environment, for communication with the external electronic device. However, it is not limited thereto.”, Kim [0111])
Kim as described above does not explicitly teach:
detecting one or more alert events; assessing an impact of the one or more alert events on wireless communication technology of a vehicle;
However, Kim2 further teaches alert detection and assessing the impact of an alert event which includes:
detecting one or more alert events; assessing an impact of the one or more alert events on wireless communication technology of a vehicle; (“method for controlling antennas in a vehicle having an external antenna and an internal antenna includes triggering an eCall service function upon sensing an accident occurrence event, measuring a quality of one or more wireless signals received through the external antenna, comparing the measured quality of the wireless signals with a reference quality value, and selecting one of the external antenna and the internal antenna to be used in the eCall service function based on the results of the step of comparing the measured quality of the wireless signals with the reference quality value”, Kim2 [0012])
Kim and Kim2 are analogous because they pertain to vehicle management system.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include alert detection and assessing the impact of an alert event as described in Kim2 into Kim. By modifying the method to include alert detection and assessing the impact of an alert event as taught by Kim2, the benefits of improved wireless communication assessment of vehicles (Kim2 [0012] and Kim [0109]) are achieved.
The combination of Kim and Kim2 as described above does not explicitly teach:
ranking a current operational status of each wireless communication technology of the vehicle based on the estimated status and simultaneous hardware status feedback and software status feedback, the hardware status feedback including hardware capacity and the software status feedback including software capacity;
generating, based on the simultaneous hardware status feedback and software status feedback, a solved output priority matrix including dynamically reprioritizing the wireless communication technology based on the rank;
However, Cheong further teaches dynamically ranking various wireless communication technologies based on feedback which includes:
ranking a current operational status of each wireless communication technology of the vehicle information handling system based on the estimated status and simultaneous hardware status feedback and software status feedback, the hardware status feedback including hardware capacity and the software status feedback including software capacity; (“In many cases, a docking station may possess multiple wireless technologies in which a wireless channel may be established with an IHS. Examples of such wireless technologies may include a Wi-Fi protocol based on the IEEE802.11 family of standards, a Bluetooth protocol, an ultra wide band (UWB) protocol, a WiGig (60 GHz Wi-Fi) protocol, a near field communications (NFC) protocol, and the like.”, Cheong [0017]) (“In various implementations, method 400 may be used to adaptively manage the various characterizations, learning, and/or optimization techniques performed by wireless channel selection engine 302 by ranking wireless transceivers 108A-N by order of priority, which takes into account information received by proximity detection module 308, battery performance mode detection module 310, docking station connection detection module 312, and jamming signal level detection module 314.”, Cheong [0054]) (“ Initially at step 402, method 400 selects a default wireless channel for establishing communication with docking station 104. The default wireless channel 106 may be any type, such as a Wi-Fi communication channel that is used with traditional wireless docking stations. At step 404, method 400 starts tracking proximity detection module 308, battery performance mode detection module 310, docking station connection detection module 312, jamming signal level detection module 314, and wireless transceivers 108A-N under execution by IHS 102. At step 406, method 400 records characteristics of each available wireless channel 106 in addition to data that will be used to determine its operational context. For example, method may briefly turn on each wireless transceiver 108A-N, and obtain performance data (e.g., data throughput, bit error rate, level of burstyness, etc.) associated with that wireless transceiver 108A-N and store the performance data in addition to other data used to determine an operational context for later analysis. Thereafter at step 408, method 400 may compute a score for each wireless communication link, according to the determined operational mode of IHS 102.”, Cheong [0055])(“For each operating mode, if a link failure occurs, method 400 continues processing at step 434 in which the default mode is selected; otherwise, processing continues at step 406 in which method 400 continues to monitor for changes in the operational context of IHS 102.”, Cheong [0071])(“Accordingly, method 400 may be used to enable dynamic machine learning of the performance of each of multiple wireless channels 106 to select an optimum wireless channel 106 based on context. As a result, method 400 continually maintains an optimum wireless channel 106 between IHS 102 and docking station 104 based upon an operational context (e.g., location of IHS 102 relative to docking station 104, ambient RF noise, security requirements, battery state, etc.) of IHS 102 that in many cases, may not require user input.”, Cheong [0072]) (Examiner’s Note: this process is for an information handling system or IHS but the system in the vehicle that connects to the mobile device is basically a computer or an information handling system. In addition, the system that determines which wireless channel to use receives various feedback such as battery performance, signal quality, performance data etc. related to the hardware and software “capacity”)
generating, based on the simultaneous hardware status feedback and software status feedback, a solved output priority matrix including dynamically reprioritizing the wireless communication technology based on the rank; (“The wireless channel selection management system maybe also provided with a machine learning algorithm that automatically selects a particular channel wireless channel according to its operational context.”, Cheong [0014])(“ In various implementations, method 400 may be used to adaptively manage the various characterizations, learning, and/or optimization techniques performed by wireless channel selection engine 302 by ranking wireless transceivers 108A-N by order of priority, which takes into account information received by proximity detection module 308, battery performance mode detection module 310, docking station connection detection module 312, and jamming signal level detection module 314.”, Cheong [0054])(“One example of a metric that may include a list of available wireless transceivers 108A-N with pre-defined or adjustable priority levels and order in which they may be activated.”, Cheong [0059])
Kim, Cheong, and Kim2 are analogous because they pertain to managing wireless communication channels.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include dynamically ranking various wireless communication technologies based on feedback as described in Cheong into Kim as modified by Kim2. By modifying the method to include dynamically ranking various wireless communication technologies based on feedback as taught by Cheong, the benefits of improved wireless communication assessment of vehicles (Kim2 [0012] and Kim [0109]) and improved wireless communication channel selection process (Cheong [FIG. 4]) are achieved.
As to claim 2 and 9 (claim 2 is the method claim for the hardware in claim 9):
Kim discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the wireless communication technology comprises a cellular module, a wireless internet module, a wireless low-energy module, an ultra-wideband module, and a near field communication module. (“For example, the plurality of communication circuits may include a communication module 190 illustrated in FIG. 1. For example, the plurality of the communication circuits may include two or more of at least one communication circuit for providing a cellular communication scheme, a communication circuit for providing Wi-Fi communication scheme, a communication circuit for providing Bluetooth communication scheme, a communication circuit for providing UWB communication scheme, a communication circuit for providing NFC communication scheme or a reception circuit for GNSS (global navigation satellite system).”, Kim [0109])
As to claim 3, 10, and 16 (claim 3 is the method claim for the system in claim 10 and 16):
Kim as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein estimating status of the wireless communication technology further comprises conducting a dynamic impact assessment of the wireless communication technology.
However, Kim2 further teaches alert detection and assessing the impact of an alert event which includes:
The method of claim 1, wherein estimating status of the wireless communication technology further comprises conducting a dynamic impact assessment of the wireless communication technology. (“method for controlling antennas in a vehicle having an external antenna and an internal antenna includes triggering an eCall service function upon sensing an accident occurrence event, measuring a quality of one or more wireless signals received through the external antenna, comparing the measured quality of the wireless signals with a reference quality value, and selecting one of the external antenna and the internal antenna to be used in the eCall service function based on the results of the step of comparing the measured quality of the wireless signals with the reference quality value”, Kim2 [0012])
Kim and Kim2 are analogous because they pertain to vehicle management system.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include alert detection and assessing the impact of an alert event as described in Kim2 into Kim. By modifying the method to include alert detection and assessing the impact of an alert event as taught by Kim2, the benefits of improved wireless communication assessment of vehicles (Kim2 [0012] and Kim [0109]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kim2 and Cheong, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Oh et al. US 20230176850 (hereinafter “Oh”)
As to claim 4, 11, and 17 (claim 4 is the method claim for the system in claim 11 and 17):
The combination of Kim2, Cheong, and Kim as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 3, wherein estimating status of the wireless communication technology further comprises conducting a pre-intel based assessment of the wireless communication technology.
However, Oh further teaches pre-intel based assessment which includes:
The method of claim 3, wherein estimating status of the wireless communication technology further comprises conducting a pre-intel based assessment of the wireless communication technology. (FIG. 5 shows checking the status of wireless communication after a “pre-intel” event, OH)
Kim, Kim2, Cheong, and Oh are analogous because they pertain to managing wireless communication channels.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include pre-intel based assessment as described in Oh into Kim as modified by Kim2 and Cheong. By modifying the method to include pre-intel based assessment as taught by Oh, the benefits of improved wireless communication assessment of vehicles (Kim2 [0012], Oh [FIG. 5], and Kim [0109]) and improved wireless communication channel selection process (Cheong [FIG. 4]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 12, 13, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kim2, Cheong, and Oh, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Ying US 20100256865 (hereinafter “Ying”)
As to claim 5, 12, and 18 (claim 4 is the method claim for the system in claim 12 and 18):
The combination of Kim2, Cheong, Oh, and Kim as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 4, estimating status of the wireless communication technology further comprises conducting a repair assessment of the wireless communication technology.
However, Ying further teaches repair assessment of the wireless communication technology which includes:
The method of claim 4, estimating status of the wireless communication technology further comprises conducting a repair assessment of the wireless communication technology. (“In other embodiments, the portable, wireless equipment includes an automated procedure for testing a line connection between a diagnostic device carried by an operator and a portable, wireless intermediary device which facilitates wireless communication to the control network. The portable, wireless equipment may also include an automated procedure for testing the wireless connection between the portable, wireless intermediary device and the control network.”, Ying [0024]) (“In response to selection of the check boxes 508 for the desired input components 506 to be tested, the application software of the personal digital assistant 420 issues commands to the control network 218 (over the wireless communication link, via the wireless intermediary device 205) to check the status of the selected input components 506. Upon receiving a response from the control network 218, the input check function 621 of the application software highlights or otherwise identifies any malfunctioning input components 506 visually on the input check select screen 500. The operator then may replace the indicated defective input components 506, or otherwise locate the fault or cause of failure, to repair the malfunction. Remote testing of control network inputs 506 in this manner is useful to the operator because often components 506 are located in hard to access places, particularly in the context of transit vehicles, as well as in many other applications. The drop down menu 504 on the input check select screen 500 is also useful to the user as a directory to determine the names of input components 506 and network nodes of the control network 218.”, Ying [0120])
Kim, Kim2, Oh, Cheong, and Ying are analogous because they pertain to managing wireless communication channels.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include repair assessment of the wireless communication technology as described in Ying into Kim as modified by Kim2, Cheong, and Oh. By modifying the method to include repair assessment of the wireless communication technology as taught by Ying, the benefits of improved wireless communication assessment of vehicles (Kim2 [0012], Oh [FIG. 5], Ying [0120], and Kim [0109]) and improved wireless communication channel selection process (Cheong [FIG. 4]) are achieved.
As to claim 6, 13, and 19 (claim 6 is the method claim for the system in claim 13 and 19):
The combination of Kim2, Oh, Cheong, and Kim as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 5, wherein estimating status of the wireless communication technology further comprises conducting a replacement assessment of the wireless communication technology.
However, Ying further teaches replacement assessment of the wireless communication technology which includes:
The method of claim 5, wherein estimating status of the wireless communication technology further comprises conducting a replacement assessment of the wireless communication technology. (“In other embodiments, the portable, wireless equipment includes an automated procedure for testing a line connection between a diagnostic device carried by an operator and a portable, wireless intermediary device which facilitates wireless communication to the control network. The portable, wireless equipment may also include an automated procedure for testing the wireless connection between the portable, wireless intermediary device and the control network.”, Ying [0024]) (“In response to selection of the check boxes 508 for the desired input components 506 to be tested, the application software of the personal digital assistant 420 issues commands to the control network 218 (over the wireless communication link, via the wireless intermediary device 205) to check the status of the selected input components 506. Upon receiving a response from the control network 218, the input check function 621 of the application software highlights or otherwise identifies any malfunctioning input components 506 visually on the input check select screen 500. The operator then may replace the indicated defective input components 506, or otherwise locate the fault or cause of failure, to repair the malfunction. Remote testing of control network inputs 506 in this manner is useful to the operator because often components 506 are located in hard to access places, particularly in the context of transit vehicles, as well as in many other applications. The drop down menu 504 on the input check select screen 500 is also useful to the user as a directory to determine the names of input components 506 and network nodes of the control network 218.”, Ying [0120])
Kim, Kim2, Cheong, Oh, and Ying are analogous because they pertain to vehicle management system.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include replacement assessment of the wireless communication technology as described in Ying into Kim as modified by Kim2, Cheong, and Oh. By modifying the method to include repair assessment of the wireless communication technology as taught by Ying, the benefits of improved wireless communication assessment of vehicles (Kim2 [0012], Oh [FIG. 5], Ying [0120], and Kim [0109]) and improved wireless communication channel selection process (Cheong [FIG. 4]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 7, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kim2, Oh, Cheong, and Ying, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Matsumoto et al. US 20240314642 (hereinafter “Matsumoto”)
As to claim 7, 14, and 20 (claim 7 is the method claim for the system in claim 14 and 20):
The combination of Kim2, Cheong, Oh, Kim, and Ying as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 6, wherein estimating status of the wireless communication technology further comprises conducting a compliance assessment of the wireless communication technology.
However, Matsumoto further teaches compliance assessment of the wireless communication technology which includes:
The method of claim 6, wherein estimating status of the wireless communication technology further comprises conducting a compliance assessment of the wireless communication technology. (“According to one aspect of the present disclosure, a wireless communication system that performs wireless communication between a master device and a slave device via one communication channel, which is sequentially selected from a plurality of communication channels is provided. The wireless communication system comprises: a detection unit that detects characteristic data indicating communication quality in the performed wireless communication, for each of the communication channels; a deletion unit that deletes the communication channel, which is determined not to satisfy a predetermined communication quality standard based on the characteristic data detected by the detection unit, from the plurality of communication channels used for the wireless communication; a determination unit that determines, by deleting the communication channel by the deletion unit, whether a total number of the plurality of communication channels used for the wireless communication is smaller than a minimum limit value; and a change unit that changes, when the determination unit determines that the total number of the plurality of communication channels used for the wireless communication is smaller than the minimum limit value, the plurality of communication channels used for the wireless communication to the plurality of communication channels that satisfies a relaxed communication quality standard, which is more relaxed than the predetermined communication quality standard.”, Matsumoto [0019])
Kim, Kim2, Oh, Cheong, Ying, and Matsumoto are analogous because they pertain to vehicle management system.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include replacement assessment of the wireless communication technology as described in Matsumoto into Kim as modified by Kim2, Ying, Cheong, and Oh. By modifying the method to include repair assessment of the wireless communication technology as taught by Ying, the benefits of improved wireless communication assessment of vehicles (Kim2 [0012], Oh [FIG. 5], Matsumoto [0019], Ying [0120], and Kim [0109]) and improved wireless communication channel selection process (Cheong [FIG. 4]) are achieved.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471