Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 12/19/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/19/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 6-10 recite “when a diameter of an opening of the hole section is denoted by a and a maximum depth of the hole section is denoted by b, a/b < 2.0 is satisfied”. The introduction of these features with the word “when” makes it unclear whether the features that follow are only applicable some of the time and/or are contingent upon a condition which may not always be present. Furthermore, it is unclear when more than one hole section is provided whether these features apply to one particular hole section or all of the hole sections. For the purpose of examination, claim 1 reads on “wherein a diameter of an opening of each hole section is denoted by a and a maximum depth of each hole section is denoted by b, and wherein a/b < 2.0”. Dependent claims fall herewith.
Claim 2, lines 3-4 and claim 10, lines 3-4 each recite "in a vicinity of an edge of a bottom surface of the hole section". The term “in a vicinity” is a subjective term of degree which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination, claims 2 and 10 read on "along a sidewall of the hole section". Dependent claims fall herewith.
Claim 9, lines 3-4 recite "the diameter and the maximum depth of each of the plurality of hole sections with respect to a horizontal distance". It is unclear what the scope of the relationship between these parameters is. For the purpose of examination, claim 9 reads on "ratios of the diameter and the maximum depth of each of the plurality of hole sections with respect to a horizontal distance between adjacent hole sections among the plurality of hole sections are both 4 or less". Dependent claims fall herewith.
Claim 14, line 4 recites "approximately precise disc shape". The term “approximately precise” is a term of degree which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Additionally, the terms approximately and precise have generally opposite connotations, further rendering the meaning unclear. For the purpose of examination, claim 14 reads on "disc shape".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP S61-205104 (hereinafter referred to as JP ’104), previously made of record with an English translation provided by applicant.
Regarding claim 1, JP ’104 teaches a rubber mold (rubber mold with upper and lower parts in Section 1 of the Summary of the Invention on pg. 4 and as shown in Fig. 1) for cold isostatic pressing (“a rubber mold used for the CIP molding” per pg. 4) with a plate shape (disk-shaped per pg. 4 and as shown in Fig. 1) for subjecting a green compact (the recitation of a green compact is merely the material worked upon by the apparatus and therefore does not limit the apparatus per MPEP §2114.II) to cold isostatic pressing processing (pg. 4),
wherein one or more approximately columnar hole sections are provided on at least one or more bottom surfaces (“a large number of cylindrical holes 2 are formed in a lower mold 1” per pg. 4), and
wherein a diameter of an opening of the hole sections is denoted by a and a maximum depth of the hole section is denoted by b (these recitations are merely arbitrary definitions and thus do not limit the claim by themselves), and wherein a/b is approximately 1 (“The diameter and the depth of the holes are substantially equal to each other” per pg. 4 and therefore a/b is substantially equal to 1), thus falling within the claimed range of less than 2.0.
Regarding claim 2, JP ’104 teaches when a depth of the hole section along a sidewall of the hole section is denoted by g (this recitation is merely an arbitrary definition and thus does not limit the claim by itself), wherein (b - g)/b = 0 (for the square hole profile when viewed in the cross section as shown in the bottom half of Fig. 2, b = g and therefore (b - g)/b = 0), thus falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 3, JP ’104 teaches the rubber mold for cold isostatic pressing has an engaging section at one or more locations (engaging sections 4 and 5 as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, JP ’104 teaches the engaging section is provided at one or more locations that are closer to the edge of a bottom surface of the rubber mold for cold isostatic pressing than an intermediate line between a center of the bottom surface and an edge of the bottom surface (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 5 and 8, JP ’104 teaches a ratio of the diameter with respect to the maximum depth of the hole section is 1 (“The diameter and the depth of the holes are substantially equal to each other” per pg. 4 and therefore a/b is substantially equal to 1), thus falling within the claimed range for each of these claims.
Regarding claims 6-7, these claims are based upon a property of the green compact, which is not part of the claimed apparatus, and therefore these claims do not further limit the apparatus for the reasons described above.
Regarding claim 9, JP’104 teaches a plurality of the hole sections (as shown in Fig. 1), wherein ratios of the diameter and the maximum depth of each of the plurality of hole sections with respect to a horizontal distance between adjacent hole sections among the plurality of hole sections are 1:1.4 to 1:2 (pg. 4), thus falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 10, JP ’104 teaches each of these features as described above for claims 2, 7, and 8.
Regarding claim 14, JP ’104 teaches the rubber mold for cold isostatic pressing has a disc shape (disk-shaped per pg. 4 and as shown in Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP S61-205104.
Regarding claim 11, JP ’104 teaches an engaging depression (4 in Fig. 2) and an engaging projection (5 in Fig. 2) for preventing surface disengagement (as shown).
JP ‘104 does not explicitly teach there is no depression with a depth of 1.5 mm or more and no projection with a height of 1.5 mm or more other than the engaging depression and the engaging projection. Instead, JP ‘104 implies that there are depressions and projections of 2 mm depth or height which form the hole sections of the mold (1st sentence in Example section of original reference which teaches that the diameter and height of the article formed by molding are both 2 mm).
However, the courts have held that a mere change in size of a component is an obvious modification within the capability of one of ordinary skill in the art and does not distinguish over a prior art structure performing the same as the claimed structure but differing in size. See MPEP § 2144.04.IV.A, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), and In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) for further details.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP S61-205104, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Araiyama (JP H09241704A).
Regarding claim 12, JP ‘104 does not teach this feature.
However, Araiyama teaches a rubber mold for cold isostatic pressing having a hardness of rubber of the rubber mold within a Shore hardness range of 35 to 70 (abstract), thus largely encompassing the claimed range and rendering it obvious. A prior art range which encompasses, partially overlaps, or touches the claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness, in the absence of any unexpected results. See MPEP § 2144.05.I and In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Regarding claim 13, JP ’104 teaches an engaging section being at one or more locations, and an engaging depression and an engaging projection for preventing surface disengagement (as shown in Fig. 2).
JP ‘104 does not explicitly teach there is no depression with a depth of 1.5 mm or more and no projection with a height of 1.5 mm or more other than the engaging depression and the engaging projection. Instead, JP ‘104 implies that there are depressions and projections of 2 mm depth or height which form the hole sections of the mold (1st sentence in Example section of original reference which teaches that the diameter and height of the article formed by molding are both 2 mm).
However, the courts have held that a mere change in size of a component is an obvious modification within the capability of one of ordinary skill in the art and does not distinguish over a prior art structure performing the same as the claimed structure but differing in size. See MPEP § 2144.04.IV.A, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), and In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) for further details.
Araiyama teaches a rubber mold for cold isostatic pressing having a hardness of rubber of the rubber mold within a Shore hardness range of 35 to 70 (abstract), thus largely encompassing the claimed range and rendering it obvious. A prior art range which encompasses, partially overlaps, or touches the claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness, in the absence of any unexpected results. See MPEP § 2144.05.I and In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Conclusion
/JIMMY R SMITH JR./Examiner, Art Unit 1745