DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the amendment filed on November 3rd 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 11, filed 11/3/25, with respect to the 112 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejection of claims 7 and 11 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 11-14, filed 11/3/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Poli et al. US 2005/0122976 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US 2014/0226561 A1 (cited in IDS filed on 7/20/24) in view of Poli et al. US 2005/0122976 A1.
Regarding claim 1 Kim discloses: A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Fig. 1), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory, the at least one processor operable to cause the UE to (computer devices have memory and processor – see Fig. 1):
store information identifying a set of closed transmission control protocol (TCP) connections (TCP session – paragraph 20, Figs. 2-3; use port number to identify sessions/connections – paragraphs 19-20; port number identifies “terminated” TCP sessions which is equivalent to “closed” – see paragraph 28);
filter a set of reset (RST) packets queued for uplink transmission to a network node by an application processor based at least in part on the set of RST packets being associated with a TCP connection included in the set of closed TCP connections (UE generates one or more reset messages – paragraph 34, Fig. 4, so there is a “set of” of RST packets; the UE or BS bypasses transmission of these response packets – paragraph 20; also see paragraph 42 which explicitly discloses reducing TCP RST packets); and
filter an incoming set of downlink packets … based at least in part on the set of downlink packets being associated with a TCP connection included in the set of closed TCP connections (discard/bypass downlink packets associated with terminated TCP connection – paragraphs 27-28, 31, 39 and Figs. 3-5).
Although the above claim is directed to a “system”, it is recited as a series of method steps (e.g. store, filter, filter). While Kim does explicitly disclose all of these steps as explained above, Kim generally teaches the steps are carried out by the base station as opposed to the “UE”, although it is noted that Kim expressly suggests the UE can perform discarding/filtering of uplink and downlink packets matching a closed TCP connection (see paragraphs 20 and 34).
In that regard, Kim does not explicitly disclose filtering packets “at a modem of the UE”, but this is taught by Poli (user device has modem and software/hardware filter to filter packets – see Fig. 1, paragraphs 13, 46, 68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to perform filtering at the UE as taught by Poli. Not only does Kim teach that bypassing transmission of unnecessary packets saves resources (paragraph 39) and eliminates wasteful content delivery which may result in saving 10% bandwidth or more (paragraph 41); Kim also suggests that the UE can perform the discarding/filtering (paragraphs 20, 34). Furthermore, Poli teaches that without filtering, devices may be overwhelmed by the task of processing (paragraph 7). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of filtering incoming packets at a modem of the UE, as taught by the combination of Kim and Poli.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the set of closed TCP connection include one or more TCP connections that were closed within a threshold time period or one or more TCP connections associated with a previous uplink RST packet transmission (UE sends multiple “reset messages”, thus the closed TCP connection can be associated with a previous RST packet – paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses select, from the set of RST packets associated with the TCP connection, one RST packet to transmit to the network node; and prune, from the set of RST packets associated with the TCP connection, all remaining RST packets associated with the TCP connection except for the one RST packet selected for transmission to the network node (discard wasteful uplink traffic by reducing or eliminating TCP RST packets – paragraph 42, while transmitting a single rest message – paragraph 38, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses select, from the set of RST packets associated with the TCP connection, one RST packet to transmit to the network node; and prune, from the set of RST packets associated with the TCP connection, all remaining RST packets associated with the TCP connection that are queue for uplink transmission (discard wasteful uplink traffic by reducing or eliminating TCP RST packets – paragraph 42, while transmitting a single rest message – paragraph 38, Fig. 5).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a “time period” or “the time period expiring” but it teaches using TCP (paragraph 20). TCP inherently has time periods such as wait and timeout. Thus, by using TCP, Kim teaches or suggests transmitting within a time period and a time period expiring as recited by the claim.
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses configure the application processor to reduce a quantity of RST packets that are queued for uplink transmission for the TCP connection based at least in part on the application processor queueing the set of RST packets associated with the TCP connection (reduce TCP RST packets that “would have been sent” – paragraph 42; the phrase “would have been sent” teaches or suggests the packets are queued for transmission, Kim explicitly discloses the use of a transmission buffer for transmitting TCP packets – see paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses discard each downlink packet in the set of downlink packets associated with the TCP connection based at least in part on the TCP connection being included in the set of closed TCP connections (bypass/discard downlink packets associated with closed TCP connection – paragraphs 8, 20, 27, 31; this may be performed by the UE – paragraph 34).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses select, from a quantity of the set of downlink packets associated with the TCP connection, one downlink packet to forward to the application processor; and discard all remaining downlink packets from the quantity of the set of downlink packets associated with the TCP connection (the claim is currently rejected under 112 for being indefinite, applicant is advised that Kim teaches both: forwarding one RST packet, and discarding downlink packets associated with the TCP connection, see rejection of claims 1-6).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses select … one downlink packet in the set of downlink packets associated with the TCP connection to forward to the application processor; and discard all remaining downlink packets associated with the TCP connection (at least one packet, from a plurality of downlink packets is forwarded even though the packet is associated with a closed connection – see Fig. 5; discard remaining downlink packets – paragraphs 28, 31 and 38).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a “time period” or “the time period expiring” but it teaches using TCP (paragraph 20). TCP inherently has time periods such as wait and timeout. Thus, by using TCP, Kim teaches or suggests forwarding a packet within a time period and discarding packets based on the time period expiring as recited by the claim.
Regarding claim 9, it is directed to a network node but corresponds to the system of claim 1. Kim discloses a network node such as a base station performing the steps of claim 1 as discussed above. Therefore, the claim is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the set of downlink packets comprises a quantity of downlink packets and the network node is configured to transmit one downlink packet per quantity of downlink packets (forwarding one RST packet and discarding downlink packets associated with the TCP connection, see rejection of claims 1-6).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the network node is configured to transmit one downlink packet (at least one packet, from a plurality of downlink packets is forwarded even though the packet is associated with a closed connection – see Fig. 5; discard remaining downlink packets – paragraphs 28, 31 and 38).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the set of downlink packets is associated with a time period but it teaches using TCP (paragraph 20). TCP inherently has time periods such as wait and timeout and also has optional timestamps. Thus, by using TCP, Kim teaches or suggests forwarding a packet associated with a time period.
Regarding claim 13, it is a method claim that corresponds to the system of claim 1; thus it is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claims 14-20, they are method claims that correspond to the previously presented dependent claims 2-8 respectively. Thus, they are also rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 21, Kim does not explicitly disclose a “modem” but this is taught by Poli (Fig. 1, paragraph 23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the network node of Kim to include a modem. A modem is extremely well-known in the art. Thus, this is merely the combination of a well-known element according to its established function in order to yield a predictable result.
Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are alternately rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kim in view of Sathy et al. US 2015/0373644 A1.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 1 Kim discloses: A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Fig. 1), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory, the at least one processor operable to cause the UE to (computer devices have memory and processor – see Fig. 1):
store information identifying a set of closed transmission control protocol (TCP) connections (TCP session – paragraph 20, Figs. 2-3; use port number to identify sessions/connections – paragraphs 19-20; port number identifies “terminated” TCP sessions which is equivalent to “closed” – see paragraph 28);
filter a set of reset (RST) packets queued for uplink transmission to a network node by an application processor based at least in part on the set of RST packets being associated with a TCP connection included in the set of closed TCP connections (UE generates one or more reset messages – paragraph 34, Fig. 4, so there is a “set of” of RST packets; the UE or BS bypasses transmission of these response packets – paragraph 20; also see paragraph 42 which explicitly discloses reducing TCP RST packets); and
filter an incoming set of downlink packets … based at least in part on the set of downlink packets being associated with a TCP connection included in the set of closed TCP connections (discard/bypass downlink packets associated with terminated TCP connection – paragraphs 27-28, 31, 39 and Figs. 3-5).
Although the above claim is directed to a “system”, it is recited as a series of method steps (e.g. store, filter, filter). While Kim does explicitly disclose all of these steps as explained above, Kim generally teaches the steps are carried out by the base station as opposed to the “UE”, although it is noted that Kim expressly suggests the UE can perform discarding/filtering of uplink and downlink packets matching a closed TCP connection (see paragraphs 20 and 34).
In that regard, Kim does not explicitly disclose filtering packets “at a modem of the UE”, but this is explicitly taught by Sathy (filter packets at modem processor of the UE – abstract, paragraphs 7-8, 21-28, Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to perform filtering at a mode of the UE as taught by Sathy. Not only does Kim teach that bypassing transmission of unnecessary packets saves resources (paragraph 39) and eliminates wasteful content delivery which may result in saving 10% bandwidth or more (paragraph 41); Kim also suggests that the UE can perform the discarding/filtering (paragraphs 20, 34). Furthermore, Sathy teaches that filtering at a UE saves power (abstract, paragraphs 5 and 7). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of filtering incoming packets at a modem of the UE, as taught by the combination of Kim and Sathy.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the set of closed TCP connection include one or more TCP connections that were closed within a threshold time period or one or more TCP connections associated with a previous uplink RST packet transmission (UE sends multiple “reset messages”, thus the closed TCP connection can be associated with a previous RST packet – paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses select, from the set of RST packets associated with the TCP connection, one RST packet to transmit to the network node; and prune, from the set of RST packets associated with the TCP connection, all remaining RST packets associated with the TCP connection except for the one RST packet selected for transmission to the network node (discard wasteful uplink traffic by reducing or eliminating TCP RST packets – paragraph 42, while transmitting a single rest message – paragraph 38, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses select, from the set of RST packets associated with the TCP connection, one RST packet to transmit to the network node; and prune, from the set of RST packets associated with the TCP connection, all remaining RST packets associated with the TCP connection that are queue for uplink transmission (discard wasteful uplink traffic by reducing or eliminating TCP RST packets – paragraph 42, while transmitting a single rest message – paragraph 38, Fig. 5).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a “time period” or “the time period expiring” but it teaches using TCP (paragraph 20). TCP inherently has time periods such as wait and timeout. Thus, by using TCP, Kim teaches or suggests transmitting within a time period and a time period expiring as recited by the claim.
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses configure the application processor to reduce a quantity of RST packets that are queued for uplink transmission for the TCP connection based at least in part on the application processor queueing the set of RST packets associated with the TCP connection (reduce TCP RST packets that “would have been sent” – paragraph 42; the phrase “would have been sent” teaches or suggests the packets are queued for transmission, Kim explicitly discloses the use of a transmission buffer for transmitting TCP packets – see paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses discard each downlink packet in the set of downlink packets associated with the TCP connection based at least in part on the TCP connection being included in the set of closed TCP connections (bypass/discard downlink packets associated with closed TCP connection – paragraphs 8, 20, 27, 31; this may be performed by the UE – paragraph 34).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses select, from a quantity of the set of downlink packets associated with the TCP connection, one downlink packet to forward to the application processor; and discard all remaining downlink packets from the quantity of the set of downlink packets associated with the TCP connection (the claim is currently rejected under 112 for being indefinite, applicant is advised that Kim teaches both: forwarding one RST packet, and discarding downlink packets associated with the TCP connection, see rejection of claims 1-6).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses select … one downlink packet in the set of downlink packets associated with the TCP connection to forward to the application processor; and discard all remaining downlink packets associated with the TCP connection (at least one packet, from a plurality of downlink packets is forwarded even though the packet is associated with a closed connection – see Fig. 5; discard remaining downlink packets – paragraphs 28, 31 and 38).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a “time period” or “the time period expiring” but it teaches using TCP (paragraph 20). TCP inherently has time periods such as wait and timeout. Thus, by using TCP, Kim teaches or suggests forwarding a packet within a time period and discarding packets based on the time period expiring as recited by the claim.
Regarding claim 9, it is directed to a network node but corresponds to the system of claim 1. Kim discloses a network node such as a base station performing the steps of claim 1 as discussed above. Therefore, the claim is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the set of downlink packets comprises a quantity of downlink packets and the network node is configured to transmit one downlink packet per quantity of downlink packets (forwarding one RST packet and discarding downlink packets associated with the TCP connection, see rejection of claims 1-6).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the network node is configured to transmit one downlink packet (at least one packet, from a plurality of downlink packets is forwarded even though the packet is associated with a closed connection – see Fig. 5; discard remaining downlink packets – paragraphs 28, 31 and 38).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the set of downlink packets is associated with a time period but it teaches using TCP (paragraph 20). TCP inherently has time periods such as wait and timeout and also has optional timestamps. Thus, by using TCP, Kim teaches or suggests forwarding a packet associated with a time period.
Regarding claim 13, it is a method claim that corresponds to the system of claim 1; thus it is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claims 14-20, they are method claims that correspond to the previously presented dependent claims 2-8 respectively. Thus, they are also rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 21, Kim does not explicitly disclose a “modem” but this is taught by Sathy (abstract, Figs. 1-2, paragraphs 7, 25, 28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the network node of Kim to include a modem. A modem is extremely well-known in the art. Thus, this is merely the combination of a well-known element according to its established function in order to yield a predictable result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al. US 2010/0281168 A1 discloses that it is known in the art to filter RST packets that correspond to a closed connection (paragraph 4, Fig. 6).
Vissamsetty et al. US 2020/0374087 A1 discloses dropping TCP RST packets while routing a single copy of the TCP RST packet to the destination address (paragraph 36) and dropping TCP RST packets that not match an entry in the flow cache (paragraph 38).
Soni et al. US 2007/0110053 A1 discloses it is well-known in the art for a mobile device (e.g. user equipment) to include a wireless modem and circuitry operable to drop packets (paragraph 19).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON D RECEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458