DETAILED ACTION
Art Unit- Location
The Art Unit location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2642.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/19/2024 and 08/02/2024 are in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, has been considered by the Examiner, and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Vogedes World Intellectual Property Organization Publication Application No.:( WO 2022/155177 A1) hereinafter referred as Vogedes, in view of Cheng World Intellectual Property Organization Publication Application No.:( WO 2024/073415 A1) hereinafter referred as Cheng.
For claim 1, Vogedes teaches an operating method of a base station, the operating method comprising:
obtaining location information from a satellite serving a user terminal (paragraph [0063], lines 1-2 discloses the satellite ephemeris data and the UE location information are used to help the performance of the UE);
based on the location information, generating satellite group information including information about a plurality of satellites in a satellite group (paragraph [0233] and [0235], lines 1-7 disclose the Consideration may also be made for indexing ephemeris data for satellites or grouping of one or more constellations, such as indications of corrections and/or ephemeris update(s) and availability identified by an index or several indices in System Information);
transmitting the satellite group information to the user terminal (paragraph [0236], lines 1-6 discloses the Ephemeris data may be sent to the UE from the network).
However, Vogedes disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the determining a primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group based on at least one of report information that is received from the user terminal and satellite information of each of the plurality of satellites in the satellite group; and providing information indicating the primary satellite to the user terminal as recited in claim 1.
Cheng from the same or analogous art teaches:
determining a primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group based on at least one of report information that is received from the user terminal and satellite information of each of the plurality of satellites in the satellite group (paragraph [0040], lines 3-11); and
providing information indicating the primary satellite to the user terminal (paragraph [0041], lines 1-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the determining a primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group based on at least one of report information that is received from the user terminal and satellite information of each of the plurality of satellites in the satellite group; and providing information indicating the primary satellite to the user terminal as taught by Cheng into the new radio device support for non-terrestrial networks in idle mode and in RRC inactive of Vogedes.
The determining a primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group based on at least one of report information that is received from the user terminal and satellite information of each of the plurality of satellites in the satellite group; and providing information indicating the primary satellite to the user terminal can be modify/implemented by combining the determining a primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group based on at least one of report information that is received from the user terminal and satellite information of each of the plurality of satellites in the satellite group; and providing information indicating the primary satellite to the user terminal with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Cheng into the new radio device support for non-terrestrial networks in idle mode and in RRC inactive of Vogedes. As disclosed in Cheng, the motivation for the combination would be to use the determination of the satellite that will use based on the selection helping to manage the communication more efficiently and become more reliable.
For claim 2, Vogedes teaches an operating method, wherein the plurality of satellites comprise at least some satellites capable of establishing a service link with the user terminal included in the location information (paragraph [0122], lines 1-4).
For claim 3, Vogedes teaches an operating method, wherein the satellite group information is transmitted to the user terminal based on at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, broadcasting a synchronization signal block (SSB) including the satellite group information in a master information block (MIB) and a system information block (SIB) of the SSB, or media access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling (paragraphs [0123], lines 9-15 and [0153], lines 1-5).
For claim 4, Vogedes teaches an operating method, wherein the satellite information comprises at least one of altitude information, speed information, beamforming information, coverage information, and information about a transmission method indicating a bent-pipe or regenerative type, of a satellite, and the report information comprises at least one of signal to interference noise ratio (SINR) and channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) feedback information (paragraph [0094], lines 1-3) and (paragraph [0238], lines 1-4).
For claim 5, Vogedes disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the determining a secondary satellite based on satellites other than the primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group; and transmitting information about the secondary satellite to the user terminal as recited in claim 5.
Cheng from the same or analogous art teaches the determining a secondary satellite based on satellites other than the primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group terminal (paragraph [0103], lines 11-17) and (paragraph [0119], lines 8-15); and transmitting information about the secondary satellite to the user terminal (paragraph [0103], lines 17-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the determining a secondary satellite based on satellites other than the primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group; and transmitting information about the secondary satellite to the user terminal as taught by Cheng into the new radio device support for non-terrestrial networks in idle mode and in RRC inactive of Vogedes.
The determining a secondary satellite based on satellites other than the primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group; and transmitting information about the secondary satellite to the user terminal can be modify/implemented by combining the determining a secondary satellite based on satellites other than the primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group; and transmitting information about the secondary satellite to the user terminal with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Cheng into the new radio device support for non-terrestrial networks in idle mode and in RRC inactive of Vogedes. As disclosed in Cheng, the motivation for the combination would be to use the determination of the other satellite transmitting information to the user terminal allowing to manage the communication more efficiently and reliable.
For claim 6, Vogedes teaches an operating method, wherein the information about the secondary satellite is transmitted to the user terminal based on at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling (paragraph [0239], lines 1-7) and downlink control information (DCI).
For claim 7, Vogedes disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the information about the secondary satellite further comprises scheduling information for a downlink or an uplink between the user terminal and the secondary satellite as recited in claim 7.
Cheng from the same or analogous art teaches the information about the secondary satellite further comprises scheduling information for a downlink or an uplink between the user terminal and the secondary satellite (paragraph [0028], lines 9-18) and (paragraph [0103], lines 17-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the information about the secondary satellite further comprises scheduling information for a downlink or an uplink between the user terminal and the secondary satellite as taught by Cheng into the new radio device support for non-terrestrial networks in idle mode and in RRC inactive of Vogedes.
The information about the secondary satellite further comprises scheduling information for a downlink or an uplink between the user terminal and the secondary satellite can be modify/implemented by combining the information about the secondary satellite further comprises scheduling information for a downlink or an uplink between the user terminal and the secondary satellite with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Cheng into the new radio device support for non-terrestrial networks in idle mode and in RRC inactive of Vogedes. As disclosed in Cheng, the motivation for the combination would be to use the secondary satellite scheduling the downlink that will help to manage the communication more efficiently and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 9, Vogedes disclose a base station device comprising:
a wireless communication circuit configured to obtain location information from a satellite serving a user terminal (paragraph [0063], lines 1-2 discloses the satellite ephemeris data and the UE location information are used to help the performance of the UE);
a control circuit configured to generate satellite group information including information about a plurality of satellites in a satellite group, based on the location information (paragraph [0233] and [0235], lines 1-7 disclose the Consideration may also be made for indexing ephemeris data for satellites or grouping of one or more constellations, such as indications of corrections and/or ephemeris update(s) and availability identified by an index or several indices in System Information); and
a memory configured to store the satellite group information (paragraph [0233] and [0235], lines 1-7 disclose the Consideration may also be made for indexing ephemeris data for satellites or grouping of one or more constellations, such as indications of corrections and/or ephemeris update(s) and availability identified by an index or several indices in System Information),
wherein the control circuit further comprises a multi-satellite management circuit configured to transmit the satellite group information to the user terminal (paragraph [0236], lines 1-6 discloses the Ephemeris data may be sent to the UE from the network). However, Vogedes disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the determine a primary satellite among the plurality of satellites based on at least one of report information that is received from the user terminal and satellite information about each of the plurality of satellites in the satellite group, and provide information indicating the primary satellite, to the user terminal as recited in claim 9.
Cheng from the same or analogous art teaches the determine a primary satellite among the plurality of satellites based on at least one of report information that is received from the user terminal and satellite information about each of the plurality of satellites in the satellite group (paragraph [0040], lines 3-11), and provide information indicating the primary satellite, to the user terminal (paragraph [0041], lines 1-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the determine a primary satellite among the plurality of satellites based on at least one of report information that is received from the user terminal and satellite information about each of the plurality of satellites in the satellite group, and provide information indicating the primary satellite, to the user terminal as taught by Cheng into the new radio device support for non-terrestrial networks in idle mode and in RRC inactive of Vogedes.
The determine a primary satellite among the plurality of satellites based on at least one of report information that is received from the user terminal and satellite information about each of the plurality of satellites in the satellite group, and provide information indicating the primary satellite, to the user terminal can be modify/implemented by combining the determine a primary satellite among the plurality of satellites based on at least one of report information that is received from the user terminal and satellite information about each of the plurality of satellites in the satellite group, and provide information indicating the primary satellite, to the user terminal with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Cheng into the new radio device support for non-terrestrial networks in idle mode and in RRC inactive of Vogedes. As disclosed in Cheng, the motivation for the combination would be to use the determination of the satellite that will use based on the selection helping to manage the communication more efficiently and become more reliable.
For claim 10, Vogedes disclose the base station, wherein the plurality of satellites comprise at least some satellites capable of establishing a service link with the user terminal included in the location information (paragraph [0122], lines 1-4).
For claim 11, Vogedes disclose the base station, wherein the satellite group information is transmitted to the user terminal based on at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, broadcasting a synchronization signal block (SSB) including the satellite group information in a master information block (MIB) and a system information block (SIB) of the SSB, or media access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling (paragraphs [0123], lines 9-15 and [0153], lines 1-5).
For claim 12, Vogedes disclose the base station, wherein the satellite information comprises at least one of altitude information, speed information, beamforming information, coverage information, and information about a transmission method indicating a bent-pipe or a regenerative type, of a satellite, and the report information comprises at least one of signal to interference noise ratio (SINR) and channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) feedback information (paragraph [0094], lines 1-3) and (paragraph [0238], lines 1-4).
For claim 13, Vogedes disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the determining a secondary satellite based on satellites other than the primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group; and transmitting information about the secondary satellite to the user terminal as recited in claim 13.
Cheng from the same or analogous art teaches the determining a secondary satellite based on satellites other than the primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group terminal (paragraph [0103], lines 11-17) and (paragraph [0119], lines 8-15); and transmitting information about the secondary satellite to the user terminal (paragraph [0103], lines 17-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the determining a secondary satellite based on satellites other than the primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group; and transmitting information about the secondary satellite to the user terminal as taught by Cheng into the new radio device support for non-terrestrial networks in idle mode and in RRC inactive of Vogedes.
The determining a secondary satellite based on satellites other than the primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group; and transmitting information about the secondary satellite to the user terminal can be modify/implemented by combining the determining a secondary satellite based on satellites other than the primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group; and transmitting information about the secondary satellite to the user terminal with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Cheng into the new radio device support for non-terrestrial networks in idle mode and in RRC inactive of Vogedes. As disclosed in Cheng, the motivation for the combination would be to use the determination of the other satellite transmitting information to the user terminal allowing to manage the communication more efficiently and reliable.
For claim 14, Vogedes disclose the base station device, wherein the information about the secondary satellite is transmitted to the user terminal based on at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling (paragraph [0239], lines 1-7) and downlink control information (DCI).
For claim 15, Vogedes disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the information about the secondary satellite further comprises scheduling information for a downlink or an uplink between the user terminal and the secondary satellite as recited in claim 15.
Cheng from the same or analogous art teaches the information about the secondary satellite further comprises scheduling information for a downlink or an uplink between the user terminal and the secondary satellite (paragraph [0028], lines 9-18) and (paragraph [0103], lines 17-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the information about the secondary satellite further comprises scheduling information for a downlink or an uplink between the user terminal and the secondary satellite as taught by Cheng into the new radio device support for non-terrestrial networks in idle mode and in RRC inactive of Vogedes.
The information about the secondary satellite further comprises scheduling information for a downlink or an uplink between the user terminal and the secondary satellite can be modify/implemented by combining the information about the secondary satellite further comprises scheduling information for a downlink or an uplink between the user terminal and the secondary satellite with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Cheng into the new radio device support for non-terrestrial networks in idle mode and in RRC inactive of Vogedes. As disclosed in Cheng, the motivation for the combination would be to use the secondary satellite scheduling the downlink that will help to manage the communication more efficiently and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 17, Vogedes teaches a non-terrestrial network system comprising:
a plurality of satellites (paragraphs [0003] and [0043], lines 13);
a user terminal that communicates with the plurality of satellites through a service link (paragraph [0080], lines 1-7); and
a base station that communicates with the user terminal through the plurality of satellites and a feeder link (Figures 2,3 and 4),
wherein the base station is configured to:
obtain location information from a satellite serving the user terminal (paragraph [0063], lines 1-2 discloses the satellite ephemeris data and the UE location information are used to help the performance of the UE), generate satellite group information including information about a plurality of satellites in a satellite group (paragraph [0236], lines 1-6 discloses the Ephemeris data may be sent to the UE from the network), based on the location information, transmit the satellite group information to the user terminal (paragraph [0233] and [0235], lines 1-7 disclose the Consideration may also be made for indexing ephemeris data for satellites or grouping of one or more constellations, such as indications of corrections and/or ephemeris update(s) and availability identified by an index or several indices in System Information) and (paragraph [0236], lines 1-6 discloses the Ephemeris data may be sent to the UE from the network).However, Vogedes disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the determine a primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group based on at least one of report information that is received from the user terminal and satellite information about each of the plurality of satellites in the satellite group, and provide information indicating the primary satellite, to the user terminal as recited in claim 17.
Cheng from the same or analogous art teaches the determine a primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group based on at least one of report information that is received from the user terminal and satellite information about each of the plurality of satellites in the satellite group (paragraph [0040], lines 3-11) , and provide information indicating the primary satellite, to the user terminal (paragraph [0041], lines 1-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the determine a primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group based on at least one of report information that is received from the user terminal and satellite information about each of the plurality of satellites in the satellite group, and provide information indicating the primary satellite, to the user terminal as taught by Cheng into the new radio device support for non-terrestrial networks in idle mode and in RRC inactive of Vogedes.
The determine a primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group based on at least one of report information that is received from the user terminal and satellite information about each of the plurality of satellites in the satellite group, and provide information indicating the primary satellite, to the user terminal can be modify/implemented by combining the determine a primary satellite among the plurality of satellites in the satellite group based on at least one of report information that is received from the user terminal and satellite information about each of the plurality of satellites in the satellite group, and provide information indicating the primary satellite, to the user terminal with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Cheng into the new radio device support for non-terrestrial networks in idle mode and in RRC inactive of Vogedes. As disclosed in Cheng, the motivation for the combination would be to use the determination of the satellite that will use based on the selection helping to manage the communication more efficiently and become more reliable.
For claim 18, Vogedes teaches the non-terrestrial network system, wherein the plurality of satellites comprise at least some satellites capable of establishing a service link with the user terminal included in the location information (paragraph [0122], lines 1-4).
For claim 19, Vogedes teaches the non-terrestrial network system, wherein the satellite group information is transmitted to the user terminal based on at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, broadcasting a synchronization signal block (SSB) including the satellite group information in a master information block (MIB) and a system information block (SIB) of the SSB, or media access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling (paragraphs [0123], lines 9-15 and [0153], lines 1-5).
For claim 20, Vogedes teaches the non-terrestrial network system, wherein the satellite information comprises at least one of altitude information, speed information, beamforming information, coverage information, and information about a transmission method indicating a bent-pipe or regenerative type, of a satellite, and the report information comprises at least one of signal to interference noise ratio (SINR) and channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) feedback information (paragraph [0094], lines 1-3) and (paragraph [0238], lines 1-4).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Vogedes World Intellectual Property Organization Publication Application No.:( WO 2022/155177 A1) hereinafter referred as Vogedes, in view of Cheng World Intellectual Property Organization Publication Application No.:( WO 2024/073415 A1) hereinafter referred as Cheng, moreover in further view of Hussain World Intellectual Property Organization Publication Application No.:( WO 2024/044451 A1) hereinafter referred as Hussain.
For claim 8, Cheng teaches the receiving report information about the secondary satellite (paragraph [0103], lines 17-21). However, Cheng disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the determining whether a channel quality for the secondary satellite is below a threshold; and deactivating the secondary satellite when the channel quality is below the threshold as recited in claim 8.
Hussain from the same or analogous art teaches the determining whether a channel quality for the secondary satellite is below a threshold (paragraph [0145], lines 18-20); and deactivating the secondary satellite when the channel quality is below the threshold (paragraph [0145], lines 20-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the determining whether a channel quality for the secondary satellite is below a threshold; and deactivating the secondary satellite when the channel quality is below the threshold as taught by Hussain into the new radio device support for non-terrestrial networks in idle mode and in RRC inactive of Cheng.
The determining whether a channel quality for the secondary satellite is below a threshold; and deactivating the secondary satellite when the channel quality is below the threshold can be modify/implemented by combining the determining whether a channel quality for the secondary satellite is below a threshold; and deactivating the secondary satellite when the channel quality is below the threshold with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Hussain into the new radio device support for non-terrestrial networks in idle mode and in RRC inactive of Cheng. As disclosed in Hussain, the motivation for the combination would be to use the deactivation of the secondary satellite when the channel quality is below the threshold allowing to manage the quality and the loss of service becoming more efficiently and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 16, Cheng teaches the receiving report information about the secondary satellite (paragraph [0103], lines 17-21). However, Cheng disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the determining whether a channel quality for the secondary satellite is below a threshold; and deactivating the secondary satellite when the channel quality is below the threshold as recited in claim 16.
Hussain from the same or analogous art teaches the determining whether a channel quality for the secondary satellite is below a threshold (paragraph [0145], lines 18-20); and deactivating the secondary satellite when the channel quality is below the threshold (paragraph [0145], lines 20-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the determining whether a channel quality for the secondary satellite is below a threshold; and deactivating the secondary satellite when the channel quality is below the threshold as taught by Hussain into the new radio device support for non-terrestrial networks in idle mode and in RRC inactive of Cheng.
The determining whether a channel quality for the secondary satellite is below a threshold; and deactivating the secondary satellite when the channel quality is below the threshold can be modify/implemented by combining the determining whether a channel quality for the secondary satellite is below a threshold; and deactivating the secondary satellite when the channel quality is below the threshold with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Hussain into the new radio device support for non-terrestrial networks in idle mode and in RRC inactive of Cheng. As disclosed in Hussain, the motivation for the combination would be to use the deactivation of the secondary satellite when the channel quality is below the threshold allowing to manage the quality and the loss of service becoming more efficiently and reliable for a better communication.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH AREVALO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642