Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
As an initial matter, the amendments to the specification at paragraphs [0027], [0030], [0044], and [0037] have not been entered, because they fail to comply with 37 C.F.R. 1.121(a)(1)(ii). Note that amendments to the specification “must be made by submitting:
(i) An instruction, which unambiguously identifies the location, to delete one or more paragraphs of the specification, replace a paragraph with one or more replacement paragraphs, or add one or more paragraphs;
(ii) The full text of any replacement paragraph with markings to show all the changes relative to the previous version of the paragraph. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived”
Applicant’s Amendment dated October 24, 2025 has been carefully considered, but is non-persuasive. Claim 10 has been canceled, thus overcoming the drawing objection as not showing the claimed subject matter of claim 10. Claims 2 and 13 have been amended to correct the informalities therein. Correction of these matters is noted with appreciation.
Applicant has argued with regard to the rejection of claims 1-3, 12-14, and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franchet et al. 2004/0070211 in view of Kern et al. 7,514,810, that “FIG. 6 of Franchet does not disclose “[a] generator turbine [being] attached to an outer surface of the rotor” as required by Applicant’s claim 1 and 12. Instead, as shown in Franchet’s FIG. 6, Franchet explicitly depicts a compressor (and accompanying compressor blades) rather than the generator turbine of claim 1 or claim 12. According to Franchet, “FIG. 6 is a diagrammatic section through a low pressure compressor fitted with an auxiliary generator.” In contrast to this compressor that adds work to a fluid flow, Applicant’s claim 1 and claim 12 recite “a generator turbine [emphasis added] configured to extract work from a core fluid flow.” A compressor that adds work is simply not the same as a turbine that extracts work. Neither do any other figures of Franchet suggest the features defined by Applicant’s claim 1 or claim 12. There would have been no apparent reason that Franchet would have caused one of ordinary skill in the art to modify any of the applied references to arrive at the claimed features.”
Respectfully, these arguments are non-persuasive. As set forth in detail later below, Franchet et al. discloses a turbine engine (paragraph 50, for example) substantially as claimed, comprising: a core section (formed by a HP compressor) comprising at least one HP compressor that rotates about a longitudinal axis X of the turbine engine; a fan 50 connected to the core section, rotation of the fan providing thrust to a vehicle (an airplane, see paragraph 55, for example) that includes the turbine engine; and an electrical generator 65 integrated into a core vane assembly 52 and positioned in the core section aft of the fan and fore of all compressors of the at least one HP compressor, wherein the electrical generator comprises: a generator turbine configured to extract work from a core fluid flow, the generator turbine configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis; a stator 61; and a rotor 63 mechanically rotated by the generator turbine of the electrical generator, the rotor configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis; and wherein the generator turbine is attached to an outer surface of the rotor. This generator turbine drives the electrical generator 65 and thus acts as a generator turbine. Any core fluid flowing through the turbine engine is at high pressure, and the core fluid that contacts the blades of the generator turbine, and drives the electrical generator 65, serves to extract work from the core fluid flow. Thus, Franchet et al. discloses a generator turbine.
Applicant’s arguments that “Kern does not discuss, inter alia, “a generator turbine [being] attached to an outer surface of the rotor.” Kern makes no reference to a rotor rotating about the outer surface of a stator and attached to a generator turbine. As such, Kern fails to cure the deficiencies of Franchet with respect to the amended claims. Neither do Kern and Franchet, alone or in any combination, suggest the features defined by Applicant’s claim 1 or claim 12, and there would have been no apparent reason that Franchet and/or Kern would have caused one of ordinary skill in the art to modify any of the applied references to arrive at the claimed features”, are respectfully non-persuasive.
Kern is relied upon to teach a gas turbine engine 10 having at least one turbine 46 rotating about a longitudinal axis of the turbine engine, with a fan 30 configured to be rotated by the at least one turbine, to drive the compressor and the fan by expansion of combustion gases in a low pressure turbine. This modification results in the generator turbine is different than the at least one turbine. Figure 6 of Franchet et al. additionally teaches a stator 24, the rotor 63 mechanically rotated by the generator turbine of the electrical generator, the rotor configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis, wherein the rotor rotates about an outer peripheral surface of the stator, and wherein the generator turbine is attached to an outer surface of the rotor, as an alternative configuration for producing electrical power from the electrical generator.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the turbine engine and the airframe of Franchet et al. such that it includes at least one turbine that rotates about the longitudinal axis of the turbine engine, the fan configured to be rotated by the at least one turbine, as taught by Kern et al., to drive the compressor and the fan by expansion of combustion gases in a low pressure turbine. This modification results in the generator turbine is different than the at least one turbine.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified turbine engine and the modified airframe of Franchet et al. such that the rotor rotates about an outer surface of the stator, as taught by figure 6 of Franchet et al., as an alternative configuration for producing electrical power from the electrical generator.
Applicant has argued with regard to the rejection of claims 1, 7, 9, 12, 18, and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermann 2007/0280821 in view of Ganiger et al. 2023/0399983, that “Ganiger does not disclose “an electrical generator integrated into a core vane assembly and positioned in the core section aft of the fan and fore of each of the at least one compressors.” Rather, Ganiger discloses a “core turbine engine 16 ... [with] a compressor section including a low pressure (LP) compressor or a booster 22 followed downstream by a high pressure (HP compressor” as well as an “electric machine assembly”, which may include an electric generator. As is apparent from FIG. 1 of Ganiger, the electric machine assembly 48 is not fore of each compressor of the turbine engine. Rather, the electric machine assembly 48 is only fore of a single compressor of the turbine engine (the HP compressor 24). The electric machine assembly 48 is partially aft of a second compressor of the turbine engine (the LP compressor 22). The electric machine assembly 48 is contained between a first and a second booster stage (22a and 22b in FIG. 1 of Ganiger) of the LP compressor, but is not fore of the entire LP compressor. Ganiger makes no reference to an electrical generator positioned fore of all of the compressors of a turbine engine. Rather, Ganiger only makes reference to an electrical generator positioned fore of a single compressor of a multi-compressor turbine engine. The amended claim language of claims 1 and 12 highlights this difference, placing emphasis on the fact that the electrical generator of the present application is placed before any and all (or each of the at least one) compressors of the gas-turbine engine.”
Respectfully, these arguments are non-persuasive. As set forth in detail later below, Ganiger teaches a turbine engine 10 comprising: a core section 16 comprising at least one compressor 24 and at least one low pressure turbine 30 that both rotate about a longitudinal axis 12 of the turbine engine; a fan 38 connected to the core section and configured to be rotated by the at least one turbine, rotation of the fan providing thrust to a vehicle (note paragraphs 24, 32, 36, and 55, for example) that includes the turbine engine, for the purpose of providing thrust to the vehicle and driving the compressor and the fan by expansion of combustion gases in the low pressure turbine.
An electrical generator 48 is integrated into a core vane assembly and positioned in the core section aft of the fan and fore of all compressors of the at least one compressor 24, wherein the electrical generator comprises: a generator turbine 25 configured to extract work from a core fluid flow shown generally at 64, the turbine configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis, wherein the generator turbine is different from the at least one lower pressure turbine; a rotor 484 or 53 mechanically rotated by the turbine of the electrical generator, the rotor configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis; and a stator 51, for the purpose of locating the electrical generator in a desired location in the turbine engine. That is, when the at least one compressor is construed as compressor 24, the electrical generator 48 is positioned in the core section aft of the fan and fore of all compressors of the at least one compressor 24.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Appropriate correction is required.
In amended paragraph 27, lines 5 and 6, “132_” should be changed to -- 132 --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 21 recites that the generator turbine is aft of the fan and fore of all compressors of the at least one compressor. However, claim 21 depends on claim 1, which recites that the electrical generator comprises a generator turbine, the electrical generator is aft of the fan and fore of all compressors of the at least one compressor. Thus, claim 21 fails to limit the subject matter of claim 1 upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12-14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franchet et al. 2004/0070211 in view of Kern et al. 7,514,810.
Franchet et al. (figure 3) discloses a turbine engine (paragraph 50, for example) substantially as claimed, comprising: a core section (formed by a HP compressor) comprising at least one HP compressor that rotates about a longitudinal axis X of the turbine engine; a fan 50 connected to the core section, rotation of the fan providing thrust to a vehicle (an airplane, see paragraph 55, for example) that includes the turbine engine; and an electrical generator 65 integrated into a core vane assembly 52 and positioned in the core section aft of the fan and fore of all compressors of the at least one HP compressor, wherein the electrical generator comprises: a generator turbine configured to extract work from a core fluid flow, the generator turbine configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis; a stator 61; and a rotor 63 mechanically rotated by the generator turbine of the electrical generator, the rotor configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis; and wherein the generator turbine is attached to an outer surface of the rotor. This generator turbine drives the electrical generator 65 and thus acts as a generator turbine. Any core fluid flowing through the turbine engine is at high pressure, and the core fluid that contacts the blades of the generator turbine, and drives the electrical generator 65, serves to extract work from the core fluid flow. Thus, Franchet et al. discloses a generator turbine (claim 1).
The core vane assembly is coupled to the core section, wherein the core vane assembly comprises: a plurality of inlet guide vanes upstream from the generator turbine of the electrical generator; and a plurality of outlet guide vanes downstream from the generator turbine of the electrical generator (claims 2 and 13).
At least some of the plurality of inlet guide vanes are fixed pitch vanes (claims 3 and 14).
Franchet et al. also discloses an airframe substantially as claimed, comprising: a first turbine engine of one turbine engine, the first turbine engine comprising: the core section comprising the at least one HP compressor and at the least one turbine that both rotate about the longitudinal axis of the turbine engine; the fan connected to the core section and configured to be rotated by the at least one turbine, rotation of the fan providing thrust to the vehicle that includes the turbine engine; and the electrical generator integrated into the core vane assembly and positioned in the core section aft of the fan and fore of all compressor of the at least one HP compressor, wherein the electrical generator comprises: the generator turbine configured to extract work from the core fluid flow, the generator turbine configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis; the stator 61; and the rotor 63 mechanically rotated by the generator turbine of the electrical generator, the rotor configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis; and wherein the generator turbine is attached to the outer surface of the rotor. This generator turbine drives the electrical generator 65 and thus acts as a generator turbine. Any core fluid flowing through the turbine engine is at high pressure, and the core fluid that contacts the blades of the generator turbine, and drives the electrical generator 65, serves to extract work from the core fluid flow. Thus, Franchet et al. discloses a generator turbine (claim 12).
The generator turbine is aft of the fan and fore of all compressor of the at least one HP compressor (claim 21).
Note the annotated figures below.
However, Franchet et al. (figure 3) does not disclose at least one turbine that rotates about the longitudinal axis of the turbine engine, the fan configured to be rotated by the at least one turbine (claims 1 and 12), and does not explicitly disclose that the rotor rotates about an outer surface of the stator (claims 1 and 12).
Kern et al. shows a gas turbine engine 10 having at least one turbine 46 rotating about a longitudinal axis of the turbine engine, with a fan 30 configured to be rotated by the at least one turbine.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the turbine engine and the airframe of Franchet et al. such that it includes at least one turbine that rotates about the longitudinal axis of the turbine engine, the fan configured to be rotated by the at least one turbine, as taught by Kern et al., to drive the compressor and the fan by expansion of combustion gases in a low pressure turbine. This modification results in the generator turbine is different than the at least one turbine.
Figure 6 of Franchet et al. additionally teaches a stator 24, the rotor 63 mechanically rotated by the generator turbine of the electrical generator, the rotor configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis, wherein the rotor rotates about an outer peripheral surface of the stator, and wherein the generator turbine is attached to an outer surface of the rotor, as an alternative configuration for producing electrical power from the electrical generator.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified turbine engine and the modified airframe of Franchet et al. such that the rotor rotates about an outer surface of the stator, as taught by figure 6 of Franchet et al., as an alternative configuration for producing electrical power from the electrical generator.
Claims 4-5 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franchet et al. 2004/0070211 and Kern et al. 7,514,810 as applied to claims 2 and 13, respectively above, and further in view of Ganiger et al. 2023/0399983.
The modified turbine engine and the modified airframe of Franchet et al. 2004/0070211 show all of the claimed subject matter except for at least some of the plurality of inlet guide vanes are variable pitch vanes (claims 4 and 15), and except for a controller configured to adjust the variable pitch vanes to adjust an amount of power generated by the electrical generator (claims 5 and 16).
Ganiger et al. shows a turbine engine 10 comprising: a core section 16 comprising at least one compressor 24 and at least one turbine 30 that both rotate about a longitudinal axis 12 of the turbine engine; a fan 38 connected to the core section and configured to be rotated by the at least one turbine, and an electrical generator 48 integrated into a core vane assembly and positioned in the core section aft of the fan and fore of the at least one compressor, wherein the electrical generator comprises: a generator turbine 25 configured to extract work from a core fluid flow shown generally at 64, the turbine configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis; a rotor 484 or 53 mechanically rotated by the turbine of the electrical generator, the rotor configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis; and a stator 51. The core vane assembly comprises a plurality of inlet guide vanes (leftmost inlet guide vanes 25 in figure 4) upstream from the turbine 23 of the electrical generator. At least some of the plurality of inlet guide vanes are variable pitch vanes, and a controller (inherently present, see paragraph 52, for example) is configured to adjust the variable pitch vanes to adjust an amount of power generated by the electrical generator. The arrangement is provided for the purpose of adjusting the amount of working fluid delivered to the generator turbine and adjusting an amount of power generated by the electrical generator.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified turbine engine and the modified airframe of Franchet et al. such that at least some of the plurality of inlet guide vanes are variable pitch vanes, and such that it includes a controller configured to adjust the variable pitch vanes to adjust an amount of power generated by the electrical generator, as taught by Ganiger et al., for the purpose of adjusting the amount of working fluid delivered to the generator turbine and adjusting an amount of power generated by the electrical generator.
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franchet et al. 2004/0070211 and Kern et al. 7,514,810 as applied to claims 1 and 12 respectively above, and further in view of Hughes et al. 2022/0049648.
The modified turbine engine and airframe of Franchet et al. shows all of the claimed subject matter, but do not explicitly show that the core vane assembly radiates heat emitted by the electrical generator into the core fluid flow (claims 6 and 17).
Hughes et al. shows a core vane assembly having struts that radiates heat emitted by an electrical generator into a core fluid flow (paragraph 44, for example) by positioning radial electrical conductors 173 of a generator 250 within the core vane assembly permitting conductive cooling of the conductors by air passed over the core vane assembly.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified turbine engine and the modified airframe of Franchet et al. such that the core vane assembly radiates heat emitted by the electrical generator into the core fluid flow, as taught by Hughes et al., to provide a safe path for electricity generated by the generator.
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franchet et al. 2004/0070211 and Kern et al. 7,514,810 as applied to claims 1 and 12 respectively above, and further in view of Welch et al. 7, 841,163.
The modified turbine engine and airframe of Franchet et al. shows all of the claimed subject matter, but does not show a clutch configured to selectively inhibit rotation of the rotor (claims 8 and 19).
Welch et al. shows a gas turbine engine having an electrical generator 36 with a rotor (attached to windings 54) and a clutch 42, for the purpose of selectively decoupling the electrical generator from a low pressure spool at a predetermined engine speed, which corresponds to normal operating speeds when the turbine engine is under power.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified turbine engine and the modified airframe of Franchet et al. such that it includes a clutch configured to selectively inhibit rotation of the rotor, as taught by Welch et al., for the purpose of selectively decoupling the electrical generator from a low pressure spool at a predetermined engine speed, which corresponds to normal operating speeds when the turbine engine is under power.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franchet et al. 2004/0070211 and Kern et al. 7,514,810 as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Miller et al. 2019/0002115.
The modified turbine engine of Franchet et al. shows all of the claimed subject matter, wherein the electrical generator is a first electrical generator, but does not show that the airframe further comprises a second turbine engine of the or more turbine engines, the second turbine engine including a second electrical generator, and a load that receives electrical energy produced by the plurality of electrical generators.
Miller et al. shows an airframe 300 (figure 9) having a second turbine engine 362 of one or more turbine engines (figure 10, paragraphs 93-94); and a load that receives electrical energy produced by the electrical generators of the one or more turbine engines (paragraphs 104-107).
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified airframe of Franchet et al. such that the airframe further comprises a second turbine engine of the or more turbine engines, the second turbine engine including a second electrical generator, and a load that receives electrical energy produced by the plurality of electrical generators, as taught by Miller et al., to power the airframe.
Claims 1, 7, 9, 12, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermann 2007/0280821 in view of Ganiger et al. 2023/0399983.
Hermann discloses a turbine engine (paragraph 10) substantially as claimed, comprising: a core section comprising at least one compressor 10; a fan (not shown, see paragraph 13, for example); and an electrical generator 19 integrated into a core vane assembly (the housing 14 which is radially outward of vanes 12) and positioned in the core section aft of the fan, wherein the electrical generator comprises: a generator turbine 22 configured to extract work from a core fluid flow, the generator turbine configured to rotate about a longitudinal axis, a stator 21; and a rotor 23 mechanically rotated by the generator turbine of the electrical generator, the rotor configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis, wherein the rotor rotates about an outer peripheral surface of the stator, and wherein the generator turbine is attached to an outer surface of the rotor.
The generator turbine of the electrical generator is a single stage turbine (claim 9).
Hermann also discloses an airframe assembly substantially as claimed, comprising a first turbine engine comprising: the core section comprising the at least one compressor; the fan (not shown, see paragraph 13, for example), and the electrical generator integrated into the core vane assembly and positioned in the core section aft of the fan, wherein the electrical generator comprises: the generator turbine configured to extract work from the core fluid flow, the generator turbine configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis, the stator; and the rotor mechanically rotated by the generator turbine of the electrical generator, the rotor configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis, wherein the rotor rotates about an outer peripheral surface of the stator, and wherein the generator turbine is attached to an outer surface of the rotor (claim 12).
The generator turbine is aft of the fan (claim 21).
However, Hermann does not explicitly disclose that both the least one compressor and at least one turbine both rotate about the longitudinal axis of the turbine engine, the fan connected to the core section and configured to be rotated by the at least one turbine, rotation of the fan providing thrust to a vehicle that includes the turbine engine, the electrical generator being fore of all compressors of the at least one compressor (claims 1 and 12), does not disclose a low pressure shaft connecting the at least one turbine to the fan, wherein the rotor of the electrical generator is not rotationally coupled to the low pressure shaft (claims 7 and 18), and does not disclose that the generator turbine is fore of the at least one compressor (claim 21).
Ganiger et al. shows a turbine engine 10 comprising: a core section 16 comprising at least one compressor 24 and at least one low pressure turbine 30 that both rotate about a longitudinal axis 12 of the turbine engine; a fan 38 connected to the core section and configured to be rotated by the at least one turbine, rotation of the fan providing thrust to a vehicle (note paragraphs 24, 32, 36, and 55, for example) that includes the turbine engine, for the purpose of providing thrust to the vehicle and driving the compressor and the fan by expansion of combustion gases in the low pressure turbine.
An electrical generator 48 is integrated into a core vane assembly and positioned in the core section aft of the fan and fore of all compressors of the at least one compressor 24, wherein the electrical generator comprises: a generator turbine 25 configured to extract work from a core fluid flow shown generally at 64, the turbine configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis, wherein the generator turbine is different from the at least one lower pressure turbine; a rotor 484 or 53 mechanically rotated by the turbine of the electrical generator, the rotor configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis; and a stator 51, for the purpose of locating the electrical generator in a desired location in the turbine engine.
A low pressure shaft 36 connects the at least one turbine to the fan, wherein the rotor of the electrical generator is not rotationally coupled to the low pressure shaft. The generator turbine is aft of the fan and fore of the at least one compressor. The arrangement is provided for the purpose of locating the electrical generator in a desired location in the turbine engine.
Note the annotated figure below.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the turbine engine and airframe of Hermann such that both the least one compressor and at least one turbine both rotate about the longitudinal axis of the turbine engine, the fan connected to the core section and configured to be rotated by the at least one turbine, rotation of the fan providing thrust to a vehicle that includes the turbine engine, the electrical generator being fore of the at least one compressor, as taught by Ganiger et al., for the purpose of providing thrust to the vehicle and driving the compressor and the fan by expansion of combustion gases in the low pressure turbine.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the turbine engine and airframe of Hermann such that it includes a low pressure shaft connecting the at least one turbine to the fan, as taught by Ganiger et al., for the purpose of locating the electrical generator in a desired location in the turbine engine. This modification results in the rotor of the electrical generator is not rotationally coupled to the low pressure shaft.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the turbine engine of Hermann such that the generator turbine is fore of all compressors of the at least one compressor, as taught by Ganiger et al., for the purpose of locating the electrical generator in a desired location in the turbine engine.
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermann 2007/0280821 and Ganiger et al. 2023/0399983as applied to claims 1 and 12 respectively above, and further in view of Hughes et al. 2022/0049648.
The modified turbine engine and airframe of Hermann shows all of the claimed subject matter, but do not explicitly show that the core vane assembly radiates heat emitted by the electrical generator into the core fluid flow (claims 6 and 17).
Hughes et al. shows a core vane assembly having struts that radiates heat emitted by an electrical generator into a core fluid flow (paragraph 44, for example) by positioning radial electrical conductors 173 of a generator 250 within the core vane assembly permitting conductive cooling of the conductors by air passed over the core vane assembly.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified turbine engine and the modified airframe of Hermann such that the core vane assembly radiates heat emitted by the electrical generator into the core fluid flow, as taught by Hughes et al., to provide a safe path for electricity generated by the generator.
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermann 2007/0280821 and Ganiger et al. 2023/0399983as applied to claims 1 and 12 respectively above, and further in view of Welch et al. 7, 841,163.
The modified turbine engine and airframe of Hermann shows all of the claimed subject matter, but does not show a clutch configured to selectively inhibit rotation of the rotor (claims 8 and 19).
Welch et al. shows a gas turbine engine having an electrical generator 36 with a rotor (attached to windings 54) and a clutch 42, for the purpose of selectively decoupling the electrical generator from a low pressure spool at a predetermined engine speed, which corresponds to normal operating speeds when the turbine engine is under power.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified turbine engine and the modified airframe of Hermann such that it includes a clutch configured to selectively inhibit rotation of the rotor, as taught by Welch et al., for the purpose of selectively decoupling the electrical generator from a low pressure spool at a predetermined engine speed, which corresponds to normal operating speeds when the turbine engine is under power.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermann 2007/0280821 and Ganiger et al. 2023/0399983 as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Miller et al. 2019/0002115.
The modified turbine engine of Hermann shows all of the claimed subject matter, wherein the electrical generator is a first electrical generator, but does not show that the airframe further comprises a second turbine engine of the or more turbine engines, the second turbine engine including a second electrical generator, and a load that receives electrical energy produced by the plurality of electrical generators.
Miller et al. shows an airframe 300 (figure 9) having a second turbine engine 362 of one or more turbine engines (figure 10, paragraphs 93-94); and a load that receives electrical energy produced by the electrical generators of the one or more turbine engines (paragraphs 104-107).
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified airframe of Hermann such that the airframe further comprises a second turbine engine of the or more turbine engines, the second turbine engine including a second electrical generator, and a load that receives electrical energy produced by the plurality of electrical generators, as taught by Miller et al., to power the airframe.
/Christopher Verdier/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745