Status under America Invents Act
Rejection based on 35 U.S.C. 112
Claims 10-12 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 10-12 and 17-19, lines 3 and 4 the “preferably” limitations are not understood. Are the elements a required element of the claims? Claims should set forth what is required, not elements that may or may not be required.
Rejections based on Prior Art
Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirsch (US 2022/0202537) in view of Lewis et al (US7,963,767).
Hirsch discloses a “self-ligating orthodontic bracket” 1 comprising a bracket body 2 having a base 4, bonding surface 5, wall portions forming arch wire slot 3 and a door channel 6 formed perpendicularly with respect to the arch wire slot 3. The Hirsch orthodontic bracket further includes a covering door 7 slidably received within the door channel 6 for opening 9 and closing 8 the arch wire slot 3. The Hirsch orthodontic bracket further includes a securing device 10 for holding the covering door 7 in the closed position 8 or the open position 9.
The Hirsch orthodontic bracket lacks the claimed bracket body “lock part” and the covering door counter lock part for locking the covering door in the closed position. Lewis et al, however, teaches that it is desirable to form the leading edge of the covering door as a counter lock part 505 and to form a lock part 508, 511 in the bracket body in order to prevent up and down movement of the covering door when in the closed position (note Figures 7A-7F and column 11, lines 2-6). To have provided the Hirsch orthodontic bracket body with a lock part and the covering door with a counter lock part in order to prevent up and down movement of the covering door as taught by Lewis et al would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
In regard to claim 3, note the notch 19 in covering door 7 for receiving the securing device 10 in Hirsch. In regard to claim 5, note the depression 29 along arch wire slot 3 for receiving tool 30 (see Figure 3b) in Hirsch. In regard to claim 7, note recess 26 in Hirsch. In regard to claims 8 and 15, the Hirsch/Lewis et al orthodontic bracket has a frictional connection. In regard to claims 9 and 16, the up/down motion described in Lewis et al is in the labial lingual direction. In regard to claims 10 and 17, counter-lock 505 formed in the covering door taught by Lewis et al is a “projection” and the lock part 508, 511 in the bracket body taught by Lewis et al forms a “deepening.” In regard to claims 11 and 18, the counter-lock 505 described in Lewis et al is wedge-shaped. In regard to claims 12 and 19, the lock part 508, 511 taught by Lewis et al is triangular.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirsch ‘537 (US 2022/0202537) and Lewis et al (US7,963,767) in further view of Hirsch ‘963 (US 2017/0245963).
While Hirsch ‘537 and Lewis et al both teach forming a depression in the bracket along the arch wire slot opposite the covering door (Hirsch ‘536 depression 29; Lewis et al depression 204 – Fig 4) they fail to teach forming a protrusion in the covering door corresponding to the depression. Hirsch ‘963, however, for a similar self-ligating orthodontic bracket teach the formation of a projection 22 on the leading edge of the covering door for engaging a depression 15 similar to that of Hirsch ‘536 and Lewis et al. Hirsch ‘963 teaches that the middle protrusion helps to better distribute the forces applied to the clip (note paragraph [0028]). To have provided the Hirsch ‘537/Lewis et al covering door with a middle protrusion to engage the depression to better distribute forces would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of the teaching by Hirsch ’936.
/RALPH A LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772 (571) 272-4712