DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment/response filed on 04/29/2026, which has been entered and made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naruniec et al. (High-Resolution Neural Face Swapping for Visual Effects, Eurographics Symposium on Rendering 2020, Volume 39 (2020), Number 4, pp. 1-16, hereinafter “Naruniec”) in view of Fchollet (Transfer learning & fine-tuning, archive.org, https://web.archive.org/web/20220622141018/https://keras.io/guides/transfer_learning/, hereinafter “Fchollet”).
Regarding claim 1, Naruniec discloses A method for generating an image processing model performed by a computer device, the method comprising: (page 1, Abstract, “this is the first method capable of rendering photo-realistic and temporally coherent results at megapixel resolution”; page 4, col. right, para. 1, “All the models were trained on a single NVIDIA 1080Ti GPU workstation (Intel R CoreTM i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz)”).
obtaining a first source image sample, a first template image sample, (page 3, col. right, Figures 2-3:
,
“A schematic of the full pipeline for swapping a source face of identity s onto a person
. In steps (1) and (2) we preprocess the input by cropping and normalizing the face. In step (3) the pre-processed image is fed into the common encoder and decoded with corresponding decoder Ds. In (4) we use our multiband blending to swap the target with the source face … Single-encoder, multi-decoder network architecture”; page 4, col. left, paras. 2-3, “The training of our network is executed using a progressive regime, which we have adapted to work in a non-adversarial setting. This process starts from coarse, low-resolution images formed by down-sampling high-resolution input data and then gradually expands the network’s capacity as higher-resolution images are used for training … We partition the data X into P subsets, where each subset corresponds to an individual identity. We normalize all available examples to 10241024 resolution. Note that in the progressive regime, these images will be downsized in the initial stages of training, while 1024_1024 is the final resolution (see the appendix for details)”). Note that: (1) The training is using a progressive regime. The high-resolution (e.g., 1024x1024) input image data can be down-sampled to formulate the datasets of lower resolution input data for the corresponding lower resolutions (e.g., 256x256 and 512x512); and (2) At a lower resolution level l (e.g., l = 6; 256x256), the corresponding down-sampled image xt version after cropping and normalization in Figure 2 can be regarded as a first template image sample, while the corresponding down-sampled image xs version after cropping and normalization in Figure 2 can be regarded as a first source image sample, while the corresponding down-sampled image xs version after cropping and normalization in Figure 2 can be regarded as a first source image sample. and a first standard synthesized image having a first resolution to form a first training dataset including images having a first quantity; (page 5, col. left, paras. 3-6, “Multi-band blending [BA83], as recently used by Thies et [TZN*15] in the context of face-image compositing is a competing approach to Poisson blending … With this in mind, we copy the two coarsest (i.e. low-frequency) levels of the target’s Laplacian pyramid and blend only the remaining, more detailed levels. The final image is then obtained by reconstructing from the manipulated and blended Laplacian pyramid. We also enforce that the boundary smoothing effect is propagated only into the interior of the face … Therefore, we additionally align the amount of contrast in the generated source face to match the contrast of the target”). Note that: (1) a contrast-preserving, multi-band compositing method is used to composite or reconstruct the first standard synthesized. The first source image sample and the first template image sample at the first resolution can be decomposed into the pyramid Laplacian representations, respectively. The Laplacian representations are manipulated or blended at the corresponding levels. The final image (the first standard synthesized image) is then obtained by reconstructing from the blended Laplacian pyramid.
The final image (the first standard synthesized image as the truth (face)) is then obtained by reconstructing from the blended Laplacian pyramid; and (2) the combination of the first source image sample, the first template image sample, and the first standard synthesized image forms a first training dataset including images having low resolution at a lower resolution level l (e.g., l = 6; 256x256) as a first resolution and the original number of high resolution (1024x1024) images as a first quantity.
performing parameter adjustment on an initial image fusion model by using the first training dataset (page 3, col. right, Figures 2-3:
, “A schematic of the full pipeline for swapping a source face of identity s onto a person
. In steps (1) and (2) we preprocess the input by cropping and normalizing the face. In step (3) the pre-processed image is fed into the common encoder and decoded with corresponding decoder Ds. In (4) we use our multiband blending to swap the target with the source face … Single-encoder, multi-decoder network architecture”; page 14, Table 1: “Detailed description of our encoder (left) and decoder (right)”; page 4, col. left, paras. 2-3, “The training of our network is executed using a progressive regime, which we have adapted to work in a non-adversarial setting. This process starts from coarse, low-resolution images formed by down-sampling high-resolution input data and then gradually expands the network’s capacity as higher-resolution images are used for training … We partition the data X into P subsets, where each subset corresponds
to an individual identity”; page 4 / col. left / para. 5 – page 4 / col. right / para. 1, “
”). Note that: (1) Naruniec’s Figure 3 shows a neural network with a single encoder and multiple decoders. The neural network by design without training can be regarded as an initial image fusion model for the face swapping function; (2) The training of the neural network is a process in which the parameters of the neural networks are updated or adjusted, so the training is equivalent to performing parameter adjustment for the neural network; (3) According to Naruniec’s Table 1, the encoder have its layers for 0-8 levels as a shared encoder to encode the shared different features, while the multiple decoders can export different images related data with corresponding resolution levels (e.g. low resolution of 256x256 through high resolution of 1024x1024); and (4) The training itself is using a progressive regime to minimize the SSIM or MS-SSIM at the corresponding level for all P subsets; performed, the partially trained neural network can be regarded as a first parameter adjustment model. to obtain a first parameter adjustment model. Note that: after the first stage training at the corresponding resolution level has been performed, the partially trained neural network can be regarded as a first parameter adjustment model.
Inserting a first resolution update layer into the first parameter adjustment model, to obtain a first update model (Figures 2-3; page 14, Table 1: “Detailed description of our encoder (left) and decoder (right)”; page 13, col. left, para. 3, “Our model is trained in a progressive regime, starting from coarse, low-resolution 4x4 pixel images and then gradually expanding the network’s capacity as higher-resolution images are used for training, up to 1024x1024 pixels. The base architecture, which focuses on the lowest-resolution data, corresponds to “level 0” in Figures 3 and 13 and Table 1. Each new “level” of the network doubles input and output resolution by adding a composition of two convolutional layers and a down- or up-scaling layer in the encoder and decoder, respectively”; Table 1: “Detailed description of our encoder (left) and decoder (right)”). Note that: (1) According to the progressive training regime, the first parameter adjustment model (i.e., the trained neural network using the first template image sample / the first source image sample l the first standard synthesized image at resolution level l (l = 5, 128x128) has already had all resolution-related layers at the resolution levels up to 8. However, the encoder’s layers corresponding to level l or lower are trained while other encoder’s layers at levels higher than l only behave like units or operators that leave unchanged with corresponding parameters without training or parameter changes. In the same way, the decoders’ layers corresponding to level l or lower are trained while other decoder’s layers at level higher than l only behave like units or operators that leave unchanged with corresponding parameters without training or parameter changes; and (2) enabling the encoder’s layers corresponding to resolution level m from l (m = 6, 256x256) and the decoders’ layers corresponding to level n from l (n = 7, 512x512) for next model training stage is equivalent to inserting a first resolution update layer into the first parameter adjustment model. Meanwhile, the trained encoder’s layers at resolution level m-1 or lower and decoder’s layers at resolution level n-1 or lower will be unchanged. the first update model including a first plurality of convolution layers inserted into an encoder of the first parameter adjustment model for processing an image at a second resolution and a second plurality of convolution layers inserted into a decoder of the first parameter adjustment model for outputting an image at a third resolution higher than the second resolution; (page 13, col. left, para. 3, “The base architecture, which focuses on the lowest-resolution data, corresponds to “level 0” in Figures 3 and 13 and Table 1. Each new “level” of the network doubles input and output resolution by adding a composition of two convolutional layers and a down- or up-scaling layer in the encoder and decoder, respectively”; page 14, Table 1, “Detailed description of our encoder (left) and decoder (right). For the Leaky rectified unit (LeakyReLU) we use a = 0:2.”, for the encoder at level l there are a Downsample layer and 2-3 convolution layers while for the decoder at the same level there are an Upsample layer and 2-3 convolution layers”; Table 1: “Detailed description of our encoder (left) and decoder (right)”). Note that: (1) as explained above, enabling the encoder’s layers corresponding to resolution level m from l (e.g., m = 6, 256x256) is equivalent to inserting the plurality of convolution layers and Upsample corresponding to level 6 into the encoder of the first parameter adjustment model for processing an input image at a resolution corresponding to level 6 as a second resolution 256x256 (m = 6, 256x256); (2) as explained above, enabling the decoder’s layers corresponding to resolution level n from l (e.g., n = 7, 512x512; l = 5, 128x128) is equivalent to inserting the plurality of convolution layers and Downsample corresponding to levels 6-7 into the decoder of the first parameter adjustment model for outputting an output image at a resolution corresponding to level 7 at a third resolution 512x512 (n = 7, 512x512); and (3) Naruniec does not limit enabling the encoder and decoder with respective level to the same level.
obtaining a second source image sample and a second template image sample having the second resolution, and a second standard synthesized image having the third resolution to form a second training dataset including images having a second quantity, Note that: (1) The training is using a progressive regime. The high-resolution (e.g., 1024x1024) input image data can be down-sampled to formulate the datasets of lower resolution input data for the corresponding lower resolution levels (e.g., 256x256 and 512x512). (2) At a resolution level l (l = 6; 256x256), the corresponding down-sampled image xt version after cropping and normalization in Figure 2 can be regarded as a second template image sample, while the corresponding down-sampled image xs version after cropping and normalization can be regarded as a second source image sample. (3) At a resolution level l (l = 7; 512x512), the corresponding down-sampled image xt version after cropping and normalization in Figure 2 can be regarded as a 512x512 template image sample, while the corresponding down-sampled image xs version after cropping and normalization can be regarded as a 512x512 source image sample. The corresponding image reconstructed from the manipulated and blended Laplacian pyramid using the Laplacian pyramid decompositions of the 512x512 template image sample the 512x512 source image sample as explained above, can be regarded as a second standard synthesized image at the third resolution of 512x512 as the truth (face). The training itself is to minimize the SSIM or MS-SSIM at the corresponding level for all P subsets; (4) it is obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art that a second quantity can be a number smaller than the first quantity when one just uses a smaller subset of the down-sampled images by a random selection from all original high resolution (1024x1024) images in order to speed up the training process; and (5) a second training dataset can be formed by the second source image sample, the second template image sample, and the second standard synthesized image. wherein the second standard synthesized image is obtained by performing resolution enhancement to enhance the first standard synthesized image from the first resolution to the third resolution, wherein the second quantity is smaller than the first quantity (Naruniec, page 5, col. left, paras. 3-6, “Multi-band blending [BA83], as recently used by Thies et [TZN*15] in the context of face-image compositing is a competing approach to Poisson blending … With this in mind, we copy the two coarsest (i.e. low-frequency) levels of the target’s Laplacian pyramid and blend only the remaining, more detailed levels. The final image is then obtained by reconstructing from the blended Laplacian pyramid. We also enforce that the boundary smoothing effect is propagated only into the interior of the face … Therefore, we additionally align the amount of contrast in the generated source face to match the contrast of the target”). Note that: (1) a contrast-preserving, multi-band compositing method is used to composite or reconstruct the standard synthesized image at the original high resolution (1024x1024). An original high resolution source image sample and an original high resolution template image sample can be decomposed into the pyramid Laplacian representations, respectively. After manipulations and blending of the presentations, the standard synthesized image at the original high resolution (1024x1024) can be reconstructed; (2) the first standard synthesized image has a resolution 128x128 (l = 5; 128x128) while the second standard synthesized image has a resolution 512x512 (l = 7; 512x512) as the third resolution; and (3) since the first standard synthesized image can be down-sampled from the second standard synthesized image that is down-sampled to the resolution level 7 (512x512) from the standard synthesized image at the original high resolution (1024x1024), obtaining the second standard synthesized image at a third resolution (512x512) is equivalent to performing resolution enhancement on or up-scaling the first standard synthesized image.
… performing parameter adjustment on the first update model by: … Note that: The training is using a progressive regime. The training itself is to minimize the SSIM or MS-SSIM at the corresponding level for all P subsets while adjusting the parameters.
inserting a second resolution update layer into the second parameter adjustment model, to obtain a second update model; and Note that: (1) According to the progressive training regime, the second parameter adjustment model (i.e., the partially trained neural network using the second template image sample / the second source image sample l the second standard synthesized image) has already had all resolution-related layers at the resolution levels up to 8; and (2) enabling the decoders’ layer corresponding to level 8 (1024x1024) for next model training stage is equivalent to inserting a second resolution update layer into the second parameter adjustment model. Meanwhile, the parameters of the trained encoder’s layers at resolution level m-1 or lower and decoder’s layers at resolution level n-1 or lower will be unchanged.
performing parameter adjustment on the second update model by using a third source image sample and a third template image sample having a fourth resolution, and a third standard synthesized image having a fifth resolution greater than the third resolution and the fourth resolution, to obtain a target image fusion model configured to fuse an object in one image having the fifth resolution into another image having the fifth resolution. Note that: (1) The training is using a progressive regime. The high-resolution (e.g., 1024x1024) input image data can be down-sampled to formulated the datasets of lower resolution input data for the corresponding lower resolution levels (e.g., 256x256 and 512x512). (2) At a resolution level l (e.g., l = 7; 512x512), the corresponding down-sampled image xt version after cropping and normalization in Figure 2 can be regarded as a third template image at the resolution 512x512 (a fourth resolution), while the corresponding down-sampled image xs version after cropping and normalization can be regarded as a third source image sample at the resolution 512x512 (a fourth resolution); (3) At a resolution level 8 (l = 8; 512x512), the corresponding image xt version after cropping and normalization in Figure 2 can be regarded as a 1024x1024 template image sample, while the corresponding xs version after cropping and normalization can be regarded as a 1024x1024 source image sample. The corresponding image reconstructed from the manipulated and blended Laplacian pyramid using the Laplacian pyramid decompositions of the 1024x1024 template image sample the 1024x1024 source image sample as explained above, can be regarded as a third standard synthesized image at the resolution of 1024x1024 as the truth (face). The training itself is to minimize the SSIM or MS-SSIM at the corresponding level for all P subsets; (4) after second update model has been trained, the trained neural network can be regarded as a target image fusion model that fuse an object in one image having the fifth resolution (1024x1024) into another image having the fifth resolution (1024x1024); (5) the target image fusion model’s decoders can export synthesized image to swap the target with the source face; and (6) the fifth resolution 1024x1024 is greater than the third resolution 512x512 and the fourth resolution 512x512.
inputting the second source image sample and the second template image sample into the first update model to obtain a second predicted synthesized image at the third resolution; and Note that: (1) after the second training dataset has been formed, the second source image sample and the second template image sample can be input into the first update model; (2) The input data pass through the neural network that output a predicted image as a second predicted synthesized image at the third resolution 512x512; and (3) during the neural network training, obtaining a predicted value from input data is a common practice.
However, Naruniec fails to disclose, but in the same art of neural network technology, Fchollet discloses
adjusting only the first resolution update layer using the second standard synthesized image and the second predicted synthesized image at the third resolution while fixing the rest of the first parameter adjustment model to obtain a second parameter adjustment model; (Fchollet, page 1, paras. 1-3, “Transfer learning consists of taking features learned on one problem, and leveraging them on a new, similar problem … The most common incarnation of transfer learning in the context of deep learning is the following workflow: Take layers from a previously trained model. Freeze them, so as to avoid destroying any of the information they contain during future training rounds. Add some new, trainable layers on top of the frozen layers. They will learn to turn the old features into predictions on a new dataset. Train the new layers on your dataset”). Note that: (1) by “transfer learning”, the rest of the first parameter adjustment model parameters can be fixed; (2) the inserted first resolution update layer can be trained by adjusting the corresponding parameters by the difference between the second standard synthesized image and the second predicted synthesized image at the third resolution with the second training dataset; (3) after the network has been trained, a second parameter adjustment model is obtained.
Naruniec and Fchollet are in the same field of endeavor, namely neural network technology. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply transfer learning and fine-tuning, as taught by Fchollet into Naruniec. The motivation would have been “This can potentially achieve meaningful improvements, by incrementally adapting the pretrained features to the new data” (Fchollet, page 1, para. 4). The suggestion for doing so would allow to train specific neural network layers separately and achieve meaningful improvements by incrementally adapting the pretrained features to the new data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Naruniec and Fchollet.
Regarding claim 2, Naruniec in view of Fchollet discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein performing parameter adjustment on an initial image fusion model by using the first training dataset to obtain a first parameter adjustment mode comprises:
inputting the first source image sample and the first template image sample into the initial image fusion model to obtain a first predicted synthesized image; and (Naruniec, page 3, col. right, Figures 2-3:
, “A schematic of the full pipeline for swapping a source face of identity s onto a person
. In steps (1) and (2) we preprocess the input by cropping and normalizing the face. In step (3) the pre-processed image is fed into the common encoder and decoded with corresponding decoder Ds. In (4) we use our multiband blending to swap the target with the source face … Single-encoder, multi-decoder network architecture”; page 14, Table 1: “Detailed description of our encoder (left) and decoder (right)”; page 4, col. left, paras. 2-3, “The training of our network is executed using a progressive regime, which we have adapted to work in a non-adversarial setting. This process starts from coarse, low-resolution images formed by down-sampling high-resolution input data and then gradually expands the network’s capacity as higher-resolution images are used for training … We partition the data X into P subsets, where each subset corresponds
to an individual identity”). Note that: (1) As explained for claim 1 above, the training is using a progressive regime. The high-resolution (e.g., 1024x1024) input image data can be down-sampled to formulate the datasets of lower resolution input data for the corresponding lower resolutions (e.g., 256x256 and 512x512). At a lower resolution level l, the corresponding down-sampled image xt version after cropping and normalization in Figure 2 can be regarded as a first template image, while the corresponding down-sampled image xs version after cropping and normalization can be regarded as a first source image sample; and (2) during the training, the output image from the neural network with the first template image sample and the first source image sample as the inputs can be regarded as a first predicated synthesized image as the predicted face. The training itself is to minimize the SSIM or MS-SSIM at the corresponding level for all P subsets.
performing parameter adjustment on the initial image fusion model by using the first predicted synthesized image and the first standard synthesized image, to obtain the first parameter adjustment model. (Naruniec, page 4 / col. left / para. 5 – page 4 / col. right / para. 1, “
”). Note that: (1) The training of the neural network is a process in which the parameters of the neural network are updated or adjusted, so the training is equivalent to performing parameter adjustment for the neural network. The training itself is to minimize the SSIM or MS-SSIM between the first predicted synthesized image and the first standard synthesized image at the corresponding level; and (2) the trained neural network is the first parameter adjustment model.
Regarding claim 4, Naruniec in view of Fchollet discloses The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
performing resolution enhancement processing on the first source image sample, to obtain the second source image sample at the second resolution; (Naruniec, Figures 2-3; page 14, Table 1: “Detailed description of our encoder (left) and decoder (right)”; page 4, col. left, paras. 2-3, “The training of our network is executed using a progressive regime, which we have adapted to work in a non-adversarial setting. This process starts from coarse, low-resolution images formed by down-sampling high-resolution input data and then gradually expands the network’s capacity as higher-resolution images are used for training … We partition the data X into P subsets, where each subset corresponds to an individual identity”). Note that: (1) When the second resolution (e.g., 256x256) is greater than the first resolution (e.g., 128x128), the second source image sample at the second resolution (e.g., 256x256) can be obtained by down-sampling the corresponding training image data to the resolution level l=6 (256x256) from the original high resolution 1024x1024; and (2) since the first source image sample is down-sampled to the resolution level l=5 (128x128) from the original high resolution 1024x1024, obtaining the second source image sample at the second resolution (256x256) is equivalent to performing resolution enhancement processing on or upscaling the first source image sample.
performing resolution enhancement processing on the first template image sample, to obtain the second template image sample at the second resolution; and Note that: (1) When the second resolution (e.g., 256x256) is greater than the first resolution (e.g., 128x128), the second template image sample at the second resolution (e.g., 256x256) can be obtained by down-sampling the corresponding training image data to the resolution level l=6 (256x256) from the original high resolution 1024x1024; and (2) since the first template image sample is down-sampled to the resolution level l=5 (128x128) from the original high resolution 1024x1024, obtaining the second template image sample at the second resolution (256x256) is equivalent to performing resolution enhancement processing on or upscaling the first template image sample.
performing resolution enhancement processing on the first standard synthesized image, to obtain the second standard synthesized image at a third resolution greater than the first resolution. Note that: (1) When the second resolution (e.g., 256x256) is greater than the first resolution (e.g., 128x128), the second standard synthesized image at a third resolution (e.g., 512x512) can be obtained by down-sampling the corresponding synthesized image obtained at original high resolution to the resolution level l=7 (512x512) from the original high resolution 1024x1024; and (2) since the first standard synthesized image is down-sampled to the resolution level l=5 (128x128) from the original high resolution 1024x1024, obtaining the second standard synthesized image at the third resolution (512x512) is equivalent to performing resolution enhancement processing on or upscaling the first standard synthesized image.
Regarding claim 5, Naruniec in view of Fchollet discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the performing parameter adjustment on the second update model by using a third source image sample and a third template image sample, and a third standard synthesized image, to obtain a target image fusion model comprises:
performing parameter adjustment on the second resolution update layer in the second update model by using the third source image sample, the third template image sample, and the third standard synthesized image, to obtain a third parameter adjustment model; and (Naruniec, Figures 2-3; page 14, Table 1: “Detailed description of our encoder (left) and decoder (right)”; page 4, col. left, paras. 2-3, “The training of our network is executed using a progressive regime, which we have adapted to work in a non-adversarial setting. This process starts from coarse, low-resolution images formed by down-sampling high-resolution input data and then gradually expands the network’s capacity as higher-resolution images are used for training … We partition the data X into P subsets, where each subset corresponds to an individual identity”). Note that: (1) The training of the neural network is a process in which the parameters are updated or adjusted, so the training is equivalent to performing parameter adjustment for the neural network; (2) as explained for claim 1 above, the third template image sample and the third source image sample have a resolution of 512x512, and this 512x512 solution can be regarded as a fourth resolution; (3) The parameters of the corresponding enabled resolution layer of the (e.g., 1024x1024) and the corresponding encoder’s layers (e.g., 512x512) are updated or adjusted during the training while the parameters of other layers are not changed; and (4) the trained model can be regarded as a third image fusion model.
performing fine-tuning on the third parameter adjustment model by using a fourth source image sample, a fourth template image sample, and a fourth standard synthesized image, to obtain the target image fusion model. Note that: (1) The training of the neural network is a process in which the parameters are updated or adjusted, so the training is equivalent to performing parameter adjustment for the neural network. It is known that the training can also have a tuning up stage to further adjust or update the parameters of a pretrained model (the third image fusion model); and (2) a template image sample, a source image sample, and a standard synthesized image of the original high resolution (1024x1024) training data can be regarded as a fourth source image sample, a fourth template image sample, and a fourth standard synthesized image as inputs and the truth for the neural network, respectively for further tuning-up the parameters of the corresponding encoder’s and decoders’ allowable layers (e.g., 1024x1024) while other layers may be unchanged.
Regarding claim 6, Naruniec in view of Fchollet discloses The method according to claim 5, wherein the third source image sample and the third template image sample both have a fourth resolution, and the third standard synthesized image, the fourth source image sample, the fourth template image sample, and the fourth standard synthesized image all have a fifth resolution that is greater than or equal to the fourth resolution. Note that: as explained for claim 5 above, the third source image sample and the third template image sample both have a fourth resolution (512x512), and the fourth source image sample, the fourth template image sample, and the fourth standard synthesized image all have a resolution 1024x1024. The resolution 1024x1024 can be regarded as a fifth resolution 1024x1024 that is greater than the fourth resolution 512x512.
Regarding claim 7, Naruniec in view of Fchollet discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the first standard synthesized image is generated by:
obtaining a first source input image and a first template input image; (Naruniec, page 4, col. left, paras. 2-4, “The training of our network is executed using a progressive regime, which we have adapted to work in a non-adversarial setting. This process starts from coarse, low-resolution images formed by down-sampling high-resolution input data and then gradually expands the network’s capacity as higher-resolution images are used for training … We partition the data X into P subsets, where each subset corresponds to an individual identity. We normalize all available examples to 1024x1024 resolution. Note that in the progressive regime, these images will be downsized in the initial stages of training, while 1024x1024 is the final resolution (see the appendix for details). Note that: P subsets with respective identities include all input image at a high resolution 1024x1024. One of the input images with a first identity can be regarded a first source input image. Another one of the input images with a different identity can be regarded as a first template image.
performing target object detection on the first source input image, to obtain a target object region corresponding to a target object type in the first source input image, and cropping the target object region in the first source input image, to obtain the first source image sample at a first resolution;
detecting the first template input image, to obtain a to-be-fused region corresponding to a target object type in the first template input image, and cropping the to-be-fused region in the first template input image, to obtain the first template image sample at the first resolution; (Naruniec, page 4, col. left, paras. 2-4, “The training of our network is executed using a progressive regime, which we have adapted to work in a non-adversarial setting. This process starts from coarse, low-resolution images formed by down-sampling high-resolution input data and then gradually expands the network’s capacity as higher-resolution images are used for training …This process is performed by applying an affine transformation to the face image, which aligns the position of a set of defined localized landmarks to the average landmark locations at the desired resolution. In our implementation, we use outer eye corners, outer nose points, and outer mouth corners from the standard 68 landmark point set as our reference. For each normalized face image we create a binary mask mXp that is used during the training process. This mask is delimited by the convex hull of the set of standard 68 facial landmarks fit to Xp. The mask is additionally upscaled by 10 percent to ensure that important features such as eyebrows are not missed due to slight misalignment of the landmarks. The values inside the convex hull are set to 1, while the values outside the hull are set to 0”). Note that: (1) for the normalized face image of the first source input image creating a binary mask mXp is equivalent to performing target object detection on the first source input image, to obtain a target object region corresponding to a target object type in the first source input image, while mXp is a target object region (target face region) after the target object (face) detection, and an image with contents cropped by the mask is the first source image sample at the original high resolution when the input image is the first source input image. The first source image sample at a first resolution can be obtained by down-sampling the first source image sample at the original high resolution to the first resolution; (2) Actually the same process is applied on both the first source input image and the first template input image; and (3) For the normalized face image of the first template input image creating a binary mask mXp is equivalent to detecting the first template input image, to obtain a to-be-fused region corresponding to a target object type in the first template input image, while mXp is a to-be-fused region (face region) corresponding to a target object type (face) after the to-be-fused region detection, and an image with the contents cropped by the mask is a the first template image sample if the input image is the first template input image. The first template image sample at a first resolution can be obtained by down-sampling the first source image sample at the original high resolution to the first resolution.
obtaining the first standard synthesized image of the first source image sample and the first template image sample at the first resolution. (Naruniec, page 5, col. left, paras. 3-6, “Multi-band blending [BA83], as recently used by Thies et [TZN*15] in the context of face-image compositing is a competing approach to Poisson blending … With this in mind, we copy the two coarsest (i.e. low-frequency) levels of the target’s Laplacian pyramid and blend only the remaining, more detailed levels. The final image is then obtained by reconstructing from the blended Laplacian pyramid. We also enforce that the boundary smoothing effect is propagated only into the interior of the face … Therefore, we additionally align the amount of contrast in the generated source face to match the contrast of the target”). Note that: a contrast-preserving, multi-band compositing method is used to composite or reconstruct the first standard synthesized. The first source image sample and the first template image sample at the first resolution can be decomposed into the pyramid Laplacian representations, respectively. The Laplacian representations are manipulated or blended at the corresponding levels. The final image (the first standard synthesized image) is then obtained by reconstructing from the blended Laplacian pyramid.
Claims 8-9, 11-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naruniec in view of Fchollet, and further in view of Peng et al. (US 2020/0007914 Al, hereinafter “Peng”).
Claim 8 reciting “A computer device, comprising a processor, a memory, and an input/output interface; the processor being separately connected to the memory and the input/output interface, the input/output interface being configured to receive data and output data, the memory being configured to store a computer program, and the processor being configured to invoke the computer program, to cause the computer device to perform a method for generating an image processing model including:”, is corresponding to the method of claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected with the same prior art and citations for claim 1.
In addition, Naruniec in view of Fchollet discloses … to cause the computer device to perform a method for generating an image processing model including: (Naruniec, page 1, Abstract, “this is the first method capable of rendering photo-realistic and temporally coherent results at megapixel resolution”; page 4, col. right, para. 1, “All the models were trained on a single NVIDIA 1080Ti GPU workstation (Intel R CoreTM i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz)”).
However, Naruniec in view of Fchollet fails to disclose, but in the same art of computer graphics, Peng discloses A computer device, comprising a processor, a memory, and an input/output interface; the processor being separately connected to the memory and the input/output interface, the input/output interface being configured to receive data and output data, the memory being configured to store a computer program, and the processor being configured to invoke the computer program, (Peng, FIG. 6: a computer device, comprising “CPU” 402 separately connected to “MEMORY” 401 and “PERIPHERAL INTERFACE” 403 as the input/output interface that receives data from and outputs data to “I/O SUBSYSTEM” 409; para. [0088], “An electronic device is provided. The electronic device includes a memory, a processor, and computer programs stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the processor”).
Naruniec in view of Fchollet, and Peng, are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply a computer device with a memory, a processor, and computer programs stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the processor, as taught by Peng into Naruniec in view of Fchollet. The motivation would have been “An electronic device is provided. The electronic device includes a memory, a processor, and computer programs stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the processor” (Peng, page 6, para. [0088]). The suggestion for doing so would allow to have a non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Naruniec, Fchollet, and Peng.
Claims 9 and 11-14 are corresponding to the method of claims 2 and 4-7, respectively. Therefore, claims 9 and 11-14 are rejected for the same rationale for claims 2 and 4-7 and the same rationale for claim 8, respectively.
Claim 15 reciting “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, the computer program, applicable to be loaded and executed by a processor of a computer device, causing the computer device to perform a method for generating an image processing model including:”, is corresponding to the method of claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected with the same prior art and citations for claim 1.
In addition, Naruniec in view of Fchollet discloses … causing the computer device to perform a method for generating an image processing model including: (Naruniec, page 1, Abstract, “this is the first method capable of rendering photo-realistic and temporally coherent results at megapixel resolution”; page 4, col. right, para. 1, “All the models were trained on a single NVIDIA 1080Ti GPU workstation (Intel R CoreTM i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz)”).
However, Naruniec in view of Fchollet fails to disclose, but in the same art of computer graphics, Peng discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, the computer program, applicable to be loaded and executed by a processor of a computer device, causing the computer device to perform a method for generating an image processing model including: (Peng, page 8, para. [0123], “A non- transitory computer readable storage medium is provided. The non-transitory computer readable storage medium is configured to store a computer program which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to carry out following actions”).
Naruniec in view of Fchollet, and Peng, are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply a non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions, as taught by Peng to Naruniec in view of Fchollet. The motivation would have been “A non-transitory computer readable storage medium is provided. The non-transitory computer readable storage medium is configured to store a computer program which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to carry out following actions” (Peng, page 8, para. [0123]). The suggestion for doing so would allow to have a non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Naruniec, Fchollet, and Peng.
Claims 16, 18-19, and 20 are corresponding to the method of claims 2, 4-5, and 7, respectively. Therefore, claims 16, 18-19, and 20 are rejected the same rationale for claims 2, 4-5, and 7 and the same rationale for claim 15, respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim rejection 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges, “In contrast, the "progressive training" regime in Naruniec fails to disclose or suggest all the newly added claim features above. For example, as depicted on page 13 of Naruniec (the "Progressive Training" section), the input and output images at one level of the network have the same resolution. And Naruniec "doubles input and output resolution by adding a composition of two convolutional layers and a down- or up-scaling layer in the encoder and decoder" when the network model moves from a lower level to a higher level. In contrast, the pending claims requires that "a first plurality of convolution layers [are] inserted into an encoder of the first parameter adjustment model for processing an image at a second resolution and a second plurality of convolution layers [are] inserted into a decoder of the first parameter adjustment model for outputting an image at a third resolution higher than the second resolution". In other words, the input and output images of the first parameter adjustment model have different resolutions. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that the amended claim 1 is patentable. Claims 2 and 4-7 depends from and includes each limitation of amended independent claim 1, and is thus patentable at least for depending from an allowable claim, and for further features recited therein. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection of claims l-2 and 4-7under35U.S.C. § 102.” (page 14, lines 8-25). However, Examiner respectfully disagrees about the respective allegations as whole because: (1) Naruniec does not say “the input and output images at one level of the network have the same resolution”, and the "progressive training" does not limit itself to have a same image resolution for the input to the encoder and the output of the decoder; (2) Naruniec in view of Fchollet discloses all limitations of claims. Please see the detailed citations, explanations, and rationale above; (3) claims 2 and 4-7 are rejected for the respective rationale. Please see the detailed citations, explanations, and rationale above; and (4) in the previous OC, the is no rejection of claims l-2 and 4-7 under 35U.S.C. § 102. The arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges, “Independent claims 8 and 15 have been amended to recite features similar to the above-mentioned features in the amended claim 1. As such, claims 8 and 15 are also patentable over Naruniec for at least the same reasons discussed above regarding claim 1. Fchollet and Peng, alone or in combination, do not remedy the deficiencies of Naruniec. Claims 9, 11-14, 16, and 18-20 depend from and include each limitation of amended independent claims 8 and 15, respectively, are thus patentable at least for depending from an allowable claim, and for further features recited therein. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection of claims 8-9, 11-16 and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103.” (page 14 / line 30 – page 15 / line 5). However, Examiner respectfully disagrees about the respective allegations as whole because: (1) Independent claims 8 and 15 are corresponding to claim 1. Therefore, they are rejected for the same rationale for claim 1, respectively; and (2) claims 9, 11-14, 16, and 18-20 are rejected for the respective rationale. Please see the detailed citations, explanations, and rationale above. The arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
/Biao Chen/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/KEE M TUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611