DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hunter et al. (U.S. 2012/0221687).
With regard to claim 1, Hunter teaches a computer implemented method for searching text utilizing categorical touch inputs ([0104] determining a plurality of media files based on keywords, categories or other search criteria input or specifically indicated or indicated by a user; [0122] FIG. 8A illustrates an example interface 800 that may be embodied as a mobile device (e.g., a smartphone having a touch screen display)), the method comprising:
obtaining a written work ([0042] a user's real world experience at his or her current location may be enhanced by listening (e.g., via a speaker of a mobile device) to sounds, stories, music, educational information or other types of audio content collected and geotagged to facilitate playback based on the user's location; [0086] a description field that includes a text description and/or tagline associated with the file (e.g., a brief description of a story provided in the file));
organizing the written work into one or more stories, the one or more stories comprising one or more slices ([0086] a description field that includes a text description and/or tagline associated with the file (e.g., a brief description of a story provided in the file); [0100] a particular user's rating of a given media file may be stored; [0151] Search text box 2534 allows a user to input one or more search criteria for searching for audio files. Find stories button 2536 and find address button 2538 allow a user to select to search for stories associated with the user's search criteria, or to search for audio files associated with a specified location);
filtering the one or more slices via a user input (Figs. 9-11), the user input comprising at least one of a plurality of clusters and a manual tag (Fig. 12, 1224 and 1226; [0039] a media experience based, at least in part, on media files that are associated with one or more physical locations (e.g., audio and/or video files that are geotagged with GPS or other location information); [0042] educational information or other types of audio content collected and geotagged to facilitate playback based on the user's location. In another example, a user might view informational text and/or images pertinent to his or her location. In another example, a user may view (e.g., via a display of a mobile device) geotagged visual information (e.g., images, video or text));
generating a text of the written work, the text of the written work derived from the one or more slices ([0086] a description field that includes a text description and/or tagline associated with the file (e.g., a brief description of a story provided in the file));
displaying, via a display, the text of the written work (Fig. 10; Fig. 12; Fig. 15; Figs. 17-18);
color-coding the text of the written work creating color-coded text ([0117] the associated location of an audio file ranked in the top ten may be marked by a "pin," photo, icon or other visual representation that is different in prominence, indicia (e.g., rank numbers, letters), size, colored and/or shape, or otherwise different than the visual representation designated for media files);
displaying, via the display, the color-coded text in a table (Fig. 24, 2412, 2414 and 2416);
generating a grid comprised of one or more colors (Fig. 24, 2412, 2414 and 2416),
the grid having an equal number of columns and rows as the table (Fig. 24, 2412, 2414 and 2416), and
the one or more colors corresponding to the color-coded text in the table ([0117] the associated location of an audio file ranked in the top ten may be marked by a "pin," photo, icon or other visual representation that is different in prominence, indicia (e.g., rank numbers, letters), size, colored and/or shape, or otherwise different than the visual representation designated for media files).
With regard to claim 2, the limitations are addressed above and Hunter teaches wherein color-coding the text of the written work comprises the steps of:
determining a phonetic sound at a beginning of one or more words comprising the text of the written work ([0042] a user's real world experience at his or her current location may be enhanced by listening (e.g., via a speaker of a mobile device) to sounds, stories, music, educational information or other types of audio content collected and geotagged to facilitate playback based on the user's location; [0084] audio command instructions and/or voice recognition instructions to facilitate processing and functions based on and/or in response to audio, verbal and/or voice input from a user; and/or other software instructions to facilitate other processes and functions);
assigning a color to the one or more words based on the phonetic sound at the beginning of the one or more words ([0117] the associated location of an audio file ranked in the top ten may be marked by a "pin," photo, icon or other visual representation that is different in prominence, indicia (e.g., rank numbers, letters), size, colored and/or shape, or otherwise different than the visual representation designated for media files).
With regard to claim 3, the limitations are addressed above and Hunter teaches wherein the color assigned to the one or more words is selected from the group consisting of blue, brown, green, grey, purple, red, and yellow ([0117] the associated location of an audio file ranked in the top ten may be marked by a "pin," photo, icon or other visual representation that is different in prominence, indicia (e.g., rank numbers, letters), size, colored and/or shape, or otherwise different than the visual representation designated for media files).
With regard to claim 5, the limitations are addressed above and Hunter teaches wherein the plurality of clusters is a theme selected from the group consisting of Culture, Nations, Nature ([0115] The map view includes a "thumbnail" photo, "pin", icon or other indicia to represent the first media file (e.g., an audio story about an experience at the Museum of Natural History) at its corresponding location (e.g., the GPS coordinates for the Museum of Natural History) on the first map), Religion, NSFW, People, and Spiritual.
With regard to claim 6, the limitations are addressed above and Hunter teaches wherein the manual tag is comprised of a custom user input ([0048] preferences may be input by the user; [0053] receiving input of a user to modify the first map; [0089] user data 292 may include an indication that the user has provided input that he has a strong like for "Comedy" category items, is neutral on "Arts" category items and strongly dislikes "Architecture" category items).
With regard to claim 9, Hunter teaches a system for searching text utilizing categorical touch inputs ([0104] determining a plurality of media files based on keywords, categories or other search criteria input or specifically indicated or indicated by a user; [0122] FIG. 8A illustrates an example interface 800 that may be embodied as a mobile device (e.g., a smartphone having a touch screen display)), the system comprising:
a main interface (Fig. 8A) comprising;
a plurality of columns (Fig. 24, 2412, 2414 and 2416; [0146] the user is served a playlist 2412 that includes audio files A, B, C and D, which have geotags near his location);
a plurality of rows (Fig. 24, 2412, 2414 and 2416; [0146] the user is served a playlist 2412 that includes audio files A, B, C and D, which have geotags near his location),
the plurality of columns and the plurality of rows forming a grid (Fig. 24, 2412, 2414 and 2416),
the grid comprised of at least one of one or more books (Fig. 24, 2412, 2414 and 2416), an alphanumeric code ([0086] a URL/object field that includes an indication of a URL associated with the file (e.g., a public or private URL addressing a network location of a file) and/or a code or script for embedding the file as an object (e.g., in another file, in a website)), one or more colors ([0117] the associated location of an audio file ranked in the top ten may be marked by a "pin," photo, icon or other visual representation that is different in prominence, indicia (e.g., rank numbers, letters), size, colored and/or shape, or otherwise different than the visual representation designated for media files), one or more words ([0122] a touch screen comprising a graphical user interface including an category selection button, a search text box,…), one or more color-coded words ([0117] the associated location of an audio file ranked in the top ten may be marked by a "pin," photo, icon or other visual representation that is different in prominence, indicia (e.g., rank numbers, letters), size, colored and/or shape, or otherwise different than the visual representation designated for media files), and one or more historical figures ([0089] user data 292 may include an indication that a user listens most frequently to audio files having a category of "History.").
With regard to claim 11, the limitations are addressed above and Hunter teaches wherein the alphanumeric code is comprised of: a number ([0085] the media file data 294 includes a number of example records or entries, each of which defines data for a particular media file (e.g., recorded and/or transmitted via a mobile device and/or other computing device); [0117] the associated location of an audio file ranked in the top ten may be marked by a "pin," photo, icon or other visual representation that is different in prominence, indicia (e.g., rank numbers, letters)); a letter ([0117] the associated location of an audio file ranked in the top ten may be marked by a "pin," photo, icon or other visual representation that is different in prominence, indicia (e.g., rank numbers, letters); and an exponent.
With regard to claim 12, the limitations are addressed above and Hunter teaches wherein the number corresponds to a page of the one or more books (Fig. 12; Figs. 18-20).
With regard to claim 13, the limitations are addressed above and Hunter teaches wherein the letter corresponds to a side of the page (Fig. 11; [0131] Clicking on the image 1104 and/or title 1106 may center a map interface on the location of the audio file and/or may open a pane providing additional information about the audio file).
With regard to claim 14, the limitations are addressed above and Hunter teaches wherein the exponent corresponds to a section of the side of the page (Fig. 11; [0131] Clicking on the image 1104 and/or title 1106 may center a map interface on the location of the audio file and/or may open a pane providing additional information about the audio file).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7-8, 10 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter et al. (U.S. 2012/0221687) in view of Ciminelli et al. (U.S. 2023/0409298).
With regard to claim 4, the limitations are addressed above and Hunter teaches obtaining a written work ([0042] a user's real world experience at his or her current location may be enhanced by listening (e.g., via a speaker of a mobile device) to sounds, stories, music, educational information or other types of audio content collected and geotagged to facilitate playback based on the user's location; [0086] a description field that includes a text description and/or tagline associated with the file (e.g., a brief description of a story provided in the file)). However, Hunter does not specifically teach:
- wherein the written work is selected from the group consisting of the Talmud and the Torah
Ciminelli teaches a generation of user interfaces from free text for example, a textual input in a natural language and/or a sketch may be received, and may be associated with a desire of an individual to create a new user interface [abstract]. Ciminelli also teaches wherein the written work is selected from the group consisting of the Talmud and the Torah ([0180] the textual input may include ‘Show religious icons’, the first social group may be a congregation of a protestant church, the first version of the design may include Christian icons, the second social group may be a student body of a Talmud Torah, and the second version of the design may include Jewish icons). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the geotagged media files to a user based on one or more preferences associated with a user as taught by Hunter, with the selected group of the Talmud and the Torah as taught by Ciminelli, to have achieved a system and method for searching text and displaying written work.
With regard to claim 7, Hunter teaches a computer implemented method for searching text utilizing categorical touch inputs ([0104] determining a plurality of media files based on keywords, categories or other search criteria input or specifically indicated or indicated by a user; [0122] FIG. 8A illustrates an example interface 800 that may be embodied as a mobile device (e.g., a smartphone having a touch screen display)), the method comprising:
obtaining a written work ([0042] a user's real world experience at his or her current location may be enhanced by listening (e.g., via a speaker of a mobile device) to sounds, stories, music, educational information or other types of audio content collected and geotagged to facilitate playback based on the user's location; [0086] a description field that includes a text description and/or tagline associated with the file (e.g., a brief description of a story provided in the file)), the written work comprising:
organizing the written work into one or more stories ([0086] a description field that includes a text description and/or tagline associated with the file (e.g., a brief description of a story provided in the file); [0100] a particular user's rating of a given media file may be stored; [0151] Search text box 2534 allows a user to input one or more search criteria for searching for audio files. Find stories button 2536 and find address button 2538 allow a user to select to search for stories associated with the user's search criteria, or to search for audio files associated with a specified location),
the one or more stories comprised of one or more slices ([0086] a description field that includes a text description and/or tagline associated with the file (e.g., a brief description of a story provided in the file); [0100] a particular user's rating of a given media file may be stored; [0151] Search text box 2534 allows a user to input one or more search criteria for searching for audio files. Find stories button 2536 and find address button 2538 allow a user to select to search for stories associated with the user's search criteria, or to search for audio files associated with a specified location);
filtering the one or more slices via a user input (Figs. 9-11),
the user input comprising at least one of a plurality of clusters and a manual tag (Fig. 12, 1224 and 1226; [0039] a media experience based, at least in part, on media files that are associated with one or more physical locations (e.g., audio and/or video files that are geotagged with GPS or other location information); [0042] educational information or other types of audio content collected and geotagged to facilitate playback based on the user's location. In another example, a user might view informational text and/or images pertinent to his or her location. In another example, a user may view (e.g., via a display of a mobile device) geotagged visual information (e.g., images, video or text)), the plurality of clusters being a theme comprised of at least one of Culture, Nations, Nature, Religion, NSFW, People, and Spiritual;
generating a text of the written work ([0086] a description field that includes a text description and/or tagline associated with the file (e.g., a brief description of a story provided in the file)),
the text of the written work derived from the one or more slices (Figs. 9-11);
displaying, via a display, the text of the written work (Fig. 10; Fig. 12; Fig. 15; Figs. 17-18);
color-coding the text of the written work creating color-coded text ([0117] the associated location of an audio file ranked in the top ten may be marked by a "pin," photo, icon or other visual representation that is different in prominence, indicia (e.g., rank numbers, letters), size, colored and/or shape, or otherwise different than the visual representation designated for media files), color-coding the text of the written work comprising the steps of:
determining a phonetic sound at a beginning of one or more words comprising the text of the written work ([0042] a user's real world experience at his or her current location may be enhanced by listening (e.g., via a speaker of a mobile device) to sounds, stories, music, educational information or other types of audio content collected and geotagged to facilitate playback based on the user's location; [0084] audio command instructions and/or voice recognition instructions to facilitate processing and functions based on and/or in response to audio, verbal and/or voice input from a user; and/or other software instructions to facilitate other processes and functions);
assigning a color to the one or more words based on the phonetic sound at the beginning of the one or more words ([0117] the associated location of an audio file ranked in the top ten may be marked by a "pin," photo, icon or other visual representation that is different in prominence, indicia (e.g., rank numbers, letters), size, colored and/or shape, or otherwise different than the visual representation designated for media files);
displaying, via the display, the color-coded text in a table (Fig. 24, 2412, 2414 and 2416);
generating a grid comprised of one or more colors (Fig. 24, 2412, 2414 and 2416),
the grid having an equal number of columns and rows as the table (Fig. 24, 2412, 2414 and 2416), and
the one or more colors corresponding to the color-coded text in the table ([0117] the associated location of an audio file ranked in the top ten may be marked by a "pin," photo, icon or other visual representation that is different in prominence, indicia (e.g., rank numbers, letters), size, colored and/or shape, or otherwise different than the visual representation designated for media files). However, Hunter does not specifically teach:
- the Talmud, and
- the Torah;
Ciminelli teaches a generation of user interfaces from free text for example, a textual input in a natural language and/or a sketch may be received, and may be associated with a desire of an individual to create a new user interface [abstract]. Ciminelli also teaches wherein the written work is selected from the group consisting of the Talmud and the Torah ([0180] the textual input may include ‘Show religious icons’, the first social group may be a congregation of a protestant church, the first version of the design may include Christian icons, the second social group may be a student body of a Talmud Torah, and the second version of the design may include Jewish icons). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the geotagged media files to a user based on one or more preferences associated with a user as taught by Hunter, with the selected group of the Talmud and the Torah as taught by Ciminelli, to have achieved a system and method for searching text and displaying written work.
With regard to claim 8, the method claim corresponds to the method claim 3, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 10, the limitations are addressed. However, Hunter does not specifically teach:
- wherein the one or more books is a section derived from a religious written work
Ciminelli teaches a generation of user interfaces from free text for example, a textual input in a natural language and/or a sketch may be received, and may be associated with a desire of an individual to create a new user interface [abstract]. Ciminelli also teaches wherein the written work is selected from a section derived from a religious written work such as the group consisting of the Talmud and the Torah ([0180] the textual input may include ‘Show religious icons’, the first social group may be a congregation of a protestant church, the first version of the design may include Christian icons, the second social group may be a student body of a Talmud Torah, and the second version of the design may include Jewish icons). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the geotagged media files to a user based on one or more preferences associated with a user as taught by Hunter, with the selected group of the Talmud and the Torah as taught by Ciminelli, to have achieved a system and method for searching text and displaying written work.
With regard to claim 15, the system claim corresponds to the system claim 10, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 16, the limitations are addressed above and Hunter teaches wherein the one or more color-coded words are given a color ([0117] the associated location of an audio file ranked in the top ten may be marked by a "pin," photo, icon or other visual representation that is different in prominence, indicia (e.g., rank numbers, letters), size, colored and/or shape, or otherwise different than the visual representation designated for media files), from the one or more colors, based on the phonetic sound at the beginning of the one or more words ([0042] a user's real world experience at his or her current location may be enhanced by listening (e.g., via a speaker of a mobile device) to sounds, stories, music, educational information or other types of audio content collected and geotagged to facilitate playback based on the user's location; [0084] audio command instructions and/or voice recognition instructions to facilitate processing and functions based on and/or in response to audio, verbal and/or voice input from a user; and/or other software instructions to facilitate other processes and functions).
Conclusion
/ANDREA C LEGGETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171