DETAILED ACTION
The present patent application, filed January 19, 2024, claims priority to provisional application 63/503,131 filed May 18, 2023.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed May 26, 2026 have support in the originally-filed specification and have been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended the claims to add that the SPS occasions are associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity, and that the feedback of the UE is “associated” with downlink transmission from a network entity. However, the primary reference Kuo already teaches that the downlink transmissions from and network entity and the feedback of the UE are “associated.” Thus, HARQ process feedback of a downlink SPS is “associated” with downlink transmissions from a network entity, because feedback is “associated” per se. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, Jiang teaches “semi-persistent scheduling occasions associates with downlink transmissions from a network entity” as claimed.
Further, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, Kuo teaches the “discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity” because “of the network entity” DRX cycles occurs when the network configures the DRX for the UE. Kuo para. [0068] teaches “The network may configure the sps-drx- InactiviteTimer at the UE 110 using one or more RRC messages. For example, parameters for the sps-drx-InactiviteTimer may be provided as part of an SPS-config information element (IE) provided during 605.” Therefore the DRX cycle is “of the network entity”. Similarly, Jiang teaches in para. [0024] that “In order to save powers of the terminal device, the network device may configure a discontinuous reception (DRX) of a downlink control channel (i.e., a DRX configuration) for the terminal device” Thus, the DRX is configured by the network entity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Pat. Pub. WO 2024030415 to Ping-Heng Kuo et al. with priority to provisional Pat. App. 63/370,392 field August 4, 2022 (hereinafter Kuo) in view of US Pat. Pub. 20240195539 to Xiawei Jiang (hereinafter Jiang).
Regarding claim 1, Kuo in view of Jiang teaches An apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), (Kuo Fig. 2, UE 110) comprising: one or more processors (Kuo Fig. 2, processor 205);
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (Kuo Fig. 2, memory ; and
instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to (Kuo Fig. 2, and para. [0029] teach application executed by processor 205):
monitor a set of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity, wherein a first subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions overlaps in a time domain with an active period of a discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity and a second subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions overlaps in the time domain with an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity; (Kuo paras. [0042] –[0052] teach that UE 110 may be in an active mode of monitoring PDCCH to receive a dynamic downlink resource assignment on PDDCH when SPS occasions are impacted by certain aspects of XR traffic during cDRX operation of the network entity. As shown in Fig. 5 illustrates set of SPS occasions 502 and 503 that are a “set” of SPS occasions related to the monitoring:
.
and
Kuo does NOT teach selectively performing or dropping a feedback transmission associated with the monitoring based at least in part on the overlap between the second subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity and the inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Jiang teaches selectively performing or dropping (Jiang teaches in Fig. 5, below, “postponed” mapped to dropping) a feedback transmission associated with the monitoring based at least in part on the overlap between the second subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity and the inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity. (Jiang para. [0025] teaches a PUCCH-1 and a PUCCH-2 and a HARQ process feedback of a downlink SPS, “However, the network device and the terminal device cannot remain consistent with understanding of when to start a downlink HARQ RTT timer, causing that an actual DRX activation time of the terminal device is inconsistent with a DRX activation time of the terminal device understood by the network device, so that data retransmission scheduling information of the downlink control channel of the terminal device fails to be received.” Examiner interprets the inconsistency of the DRX causing an overlap necessitating a postponement “dropping”. Jiang Fig. 5 teaches an overlap of PUCCH-2 mapped to “second subset” as overlapping an inactive period as taught in Jiang para. [0052] )
Examiner notes that the “inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity” is taught in Jiang in para. [0030] wherein “the network device may configure a DRX of a downlink control channel (i.e., a DRX configuration) for the terminal device.” As illustrated in FIG. 2 , in the DRX configuration, a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL and a drx-RetransmissionTimerDL are included. The terminal device may perform the DRX of the downlink control channel based on the DRX configuration.” Thus, the DRX is configured by the network, as such is “associated with the network”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined Kuo and Jiang to teach overlaps between DRX and SPS occasions. Each of Kuo and Jiang are in the field of wireless communications and DRX and SPS UE transmissions and receptions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kuo with Jiang in order to improve the reliability of data transmission as taught in Jiang para. [0026].
Regarding claim 2, the Kuo does NOT teach wherein the instructions to selectively perform or drop the feedback transmission are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: drop the feedback transmission based at least in part on the overlap between the second subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity and the inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Jiang teaches drop the feedback transmission based at least in part on the overlap between the second subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity and the inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity. (Jiang teaches the semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with PUCCH-1 and PUCCH-2 as SPS resources. Jiang para. [0063] teaches that “after the downlink HARQ process feedback of the terminal device is postponed, the terminal device may process the “downlink HARQ RTT timer” and/or the “downlink HARQ retransmission timer” of the HARQ process feedback based on the “first resource before the transmission time is postponed” and/or the “second resource after the transmission time is postponed” transmitted by the downlink HARQ process feedback.” Jiang para. [0025] teaches a PUCCH-1 and a PUCCH-2 and a HARQ process feedback of a downlink SPS, “However, the network device and the terminal device cannot remain consistent with understanding of when to start a downlink HARQ RTT timer, causing that an actual DRX activation time of the terminal device is inconsistent with a DRX activation time of the terminal device understood by the network device, so that data retransmission scheduling information of the downlink control channel of the terminal device fails to be received.” Examiner interprets the inconsistency of the DRX causing an overlap necessitating a postponement “dropping”. Jiang Fig. 5 teaches an overlap of PUCCH-2 mapped to “second subset” as overlapping an inactive period as taught in Jiang para. [0052] )
Examiner notes that PUCCH are a HARQ process feedback of a downlink SPS that is associated with downlink transmissions from the network entity and the inactive period is of the DRX is configured by the network entity.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to effective date of the invention to combine Jiang with Kuo. Each of Jiang and Kuo are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of discontinuous transmissions and SPS transmissions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combined Kuo with Jiang in order to improve the reliability of data transmission as taught in para. [0026].
Regarding claim 3, Kuo does NOT specifically teach wherein the instructions to selectively perform or drop the feedback transmission are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
drop the feedback transmission based at least in part on a numerical quantity of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity in the first subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions overlapping with the active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity failing to satisfy a threshold.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Jiang teaches drop the feedback transmission based at least in part on a numerical quantity of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity in the first subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions overlapping with the active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity failing to satisfy a threshold. (Jiang teaches in Fig. 3 and paras. [0027]-[0028] and [0045] that a downlink HARQ timer of a HARQ process feedback is processed based on a first resource feedback being postponed, and/or a second resource feedback after the transmission time is postponed. The postponements occur due to the DRX timing as provided in paras. [0027]-[0028]. Therefore the number of quantity of postponed SPS occasions overlapping with DRX cycle was the basis for dropping the feedback. More specifically, para. [0025] teaches a numerical quantity of two PUCCH feedback occasions being postponed: “when a transmission time of a HARQ process feedback of a downlink SPS resource of the terminal device is postponed from the first resource (such as the PUCCH-1) to the second resource (such as the PUCCH-2), considering from the perspective of the terminal device, there are two available transmission resources at the transmission time position of the HARQ process feedback, and a time position at which the terminal device starts the downlink RTT timer may be a transmission end time position of the first resource or the second resource.” The number of related downlink SPS occasions generating the need for the two feedback occasions occur during the active phase of the DRX as shown in Fig. 2, below.
As shown in Fig. 2, the postponement is due to DRX cycling:
Examiner notes that PUCCH are a HARQ process feedback of a downlink SPS that is associated with downlink transmissions from the network entity and the inactive period is of the DRX is configured by the network entity.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to effective date of the invention to combine Jiang with Kuo. Each of Jiang and Kuo are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of discontinuous transmissions and SPS transmissions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combined Kuo with Jiang in order to improve the reliability of data transmission as taught in para. [0026].
Regarding claim 4, Kuo does NOT specifically teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to selectively perform or drop the feedback transmission are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
perform the feedback transmission based at least in part on the overlap between the first subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity and the active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity, the feedback transmission performed after a last semi-persistent scheduling occasion.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Jiang teaches perform the feedback transmission based at least in part on the overlap between the first subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity and the active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity, the feedback transmission performed after a last semi-persistent scheduling occasion. (Jiang teaches the semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with PUCCH-1 and PUCCH-2 as SPS resources. Jiang para. [0063] teaches that “after the downlink HARQ process feedback of the terminal device is postponed, the terminal device may process the “downlink HARQ RTT timer” and/or the “downlink HARQ retransmission timer” of the HARQ process feedback based on the “first resource before the transmission time is postponed” and/or the “second resource after the transmission time is postponed” transmitted by the downlink HARQ process feedback.” The processing mode includes that the terminal device processes the “downlink HARQ RTT timer” of the HARQ process based on the “first resource before the transmission time is postponed” and/or the “second resource after the transmission time is postponed” transmitted by the downlink HARQ process feedback.)
Examiner notes that PUCCH are a HARQ process feedback of a downlink SPS that is associated with downlink transmissions from the network entity and the inactive period is of the DRX is configured by the network entity.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to effective date of the invention to combine Jiang with Kuo. Each of Jiang and Kuo are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of discontinuous transmissions and SPS transmissions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combined Kuo with Jiang in order to improve the reliability of data transmission as taught in para. [0026].
Regarding claim 5, Kuo does NOT specifically teach The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the last semi-persistent scheduling occasion comprises a sequentially last scheduled semi-persistent scheduling occasion in the set of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Jiang teaches wherein the last semi-persistent scheduling occasion comprises a sequentially last scheduled semi-persistent scheduling occasion in the set of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity. (Jiang teaches in paras. [0022]-[0025] SPS occasions PUCCH-1 at time tx and PUCCH-2 at time ty as a set of scheduling occasions wherein PUCCH-2 is the last scheduled occasion, wherein the DRX activation time of the network is inconsistent with the DRX activation time of the terminal device causing a failure. Examiner notes that PUCCH are a HARQ process feedback of a downlink SPS that is associated with downlink transmissions from the network entity.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to effective date of the invention to combine Jiang with Kuo. Each of Jiang and Kuo are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of discontinuous transmissions and SPS transmissions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combined Kuo with Jiang in order to improve the reliability of data transmission as taught in para. [0026].
Regarding claim 6, Kuo teaches wherein the last semi-persistent scheduling occasion comprises a last semi-persistent scheduling occasion of the first subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity overlapping with the active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity. (Kuo teaches in Figs. 4 and 5 and paras. [0046] –[0051] examples of an overlap in sleep mode during a second SPS occasion while the first SPS occasion (interpreted as first subset) is during an active period of DRX and a jitter delay interrupts the sleep/inactive mode:
Kuo teaches in para. [0034] that the network can configure the UE during a cDRX cycle and transmitting a supplementary dynamic downlink resource assignment to the UE 110. Examiner further notes that downlink transmissions from a network would necessarily be during an active period of a DRX cycle of a network entity.)
Regarding claim 16, Kuo in view of Jiang teaches A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
monitoring a set of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity, wherein a first subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions overlaps in a time domain with an active period of a discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity and a second subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions overlaps in the time domain with an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity; (Kuo paras. [0042] –[0052] teach that UE 110 may be in an active mode of monitoring PDCCH to receive a dynamic downlink resource assignment on PDDCH when SPS occasions are impacted by certain aspects of XR traffic during cDRX operation of the network entity. As shown in Fig. 5 illustrates set of SPS occasions 502 and 503 that are a “set” of SPS occasions related to the monitoring:
.
and
Kuo does NOT teach selectively performing or dropping a feedback transmission associated with the monitoring based at least in part on the overlap between the second subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity and the inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Jiang teaches selectively performing or dropping (Jiang teaches in Fig. 5, below, “postponed” mapped to dropping) a feedback transmission associated with the monitoring based at least in part on the overlap between the second subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity and the inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity. (Jiang para. [0025] teaches a PUCCH-1 and a PUCCH-2 and a HARQ process feedback of a downlink SPS, “However, the network device and the terminal device cannot remain consistent with understanding of when to start a downlink HARQ RTT timer, causing that an actual DRX activation time of the terminal device is inconsistent with a DRX activation time of the terminal device understood by the network device, so that data retransmission scheduling information of the downlink control channel of the terminal device fails to be received.” Examiner interprets the inconsistency of the DRX causing an overlap necessitating a postponement “dropping”. Jiang Fig. 5 teaches an overlap of PUCCH-2 mapped to “second subset” as overlapping an inactive period as taught in Jiang para. [0052] )
Examiner notes that the “inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity” is taught in Jiang in para. [0030] wherein “the network device may configure a DRX of a downlink control channel (i.e., a DRX configuration) for the terminal device.” As illustrated in FIG. 2 , in the DRX configuration, a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL and a drx-RetransmissionTimerDL are included. The terminal device may perform the DRX of the downlink control channel based on the DRX configuration.” Thus, the DRX is configured by the network, as such is “associated with the network”.)
Regarding claim 17, Kuo does NOT teach The method of claim 16, wherein selectively performing or dropping the feedback transmission comprises: dropping the feedback transmission based at least in part on the overlap between the second subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity and the inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Jiang teaches dropping the feedback transmission based at least in part on the overlap between the second subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity and the inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity. . (Jiang teaches the semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with PUCCH-1 and PUCCH-2 as SPS resources. Jiang para. [0063] teaches that “after the downlink HARQ process feedback of the terminal device is postponed, the terminal device may process the “downlink HARQ RTT timer” and/or the “downlink HARQ retransmission timer” of the HARQ process feedback based on the “first resource before the transmission time is postponed” and/or the “second resource after the transmission time is postponed” transmitted by the downlink HARQ process feedback.” Jiang para. [0025] teaches a PUCCH-1 and a PUCCH-2 and a HARQ process feedback of a downlink SPS, “However, the network device and the terminal device cannot remain consistent with understanding of when to start a downlink HARQ RTT timer, causing that an actual DRX activation time of the terminal device is inconsistent with a DRX activation time of the terminal device understood by the network device, so that data retransmission scheduling information of the downlink control channel of the terminal device fails to be received.” Examiner interprets the inconsistency of the DRX causing an overlap necessitating a postponement “dropping”. Jiang Fig. 5 teaches an overlap of PUCCH-2 mapped to “second subset” as overlapping an inactive period as taught in Jiang para. [0052] )
Examiner notes that PUCCH are a HARQ process feedback of a downlink SPS that is associated with downlink transmissions from the network entity and the inactive period is of the DRX is configured by the network entity.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to effective date of the invention to combine Jiang with Kuo. Each of Jiang and Kuo are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of discontinuous transmissions and SPS transmissions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combined Kuo with Jiang in order to improve the reliability of data transmission as taught in para. [0026].
Regarding claim 18, Kuo does NOT teach The method of claim 16, wherein selectively performing or dropping the feedback transmission comprises:
dropping the feedback transmission based at least in part on a numerical quantity of semi-persistent scheduling occasions in the first subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity overlapping with the active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity failing to satisfy a threshold.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications Jiang teaches dropping the feedback transmission based at least in part on a numerical quantity of semi-persistent scheduling occasions in the first subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity overlapping with the active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity failing to satisfy a threshold. (Jiang teaches in Fig. 3 and paras. [0027]-[0028] and [0045] that a downlink HARQ timer of a HARQ process feedback is processed based on a first resource feedback being postponed, and/or a second resource feedback after the transmission time is postponed. The postponements occur due to the DRX timing as provided in paras. [0027]-[0028]. Therefore the number of quantity of postponed SPS occasions overlapping with DRX cycle was the basis for dropping the feedback. More specifically, para. [0025] teaches a numerical quantity of two PUCCH feedback occasions being postponed: “when a transmission time of a HARQ process feedback of a downlink SPS resource of the terminal device is postponed from the first resource (such as the PUCCH-1) to the second resource (such as the PUCCH-2), considering from the perspective of the terminal device, there are two available transmission resources at the transmission time position of the HARQ process feedback, and a time position at which the terminal device starts the downlink RTT timer may be a transmission end time position of the first resource or the second resource.” The number of related downlink SPS occasions generating the need for the two feedback occasions occur during the active phase of the DRX as shown in Fig. 2, below.
As shown in Fig. 2, the postponement is due to DRX cycling:
Examiner notes that PUCCH are a HARQ process feedback of a downlink SPS that is associated with downlink transmissions from the network entity and the inactive period is of the DRX is configured by the network entity.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to effective date of the invention to combine Jiang with Kuo. Each of Jiang and Kuo are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of discontinuous transmissions and SPS transmissions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combined Kuo with Jiang in order to improve the reliability of data transmission as taught in para. [0026].
Regarding claim 19, Kuo does NOT teach The method of claim 16, wherein selectively performing or dropping the feedback transmission comprises:
performing the feedback transmission based at least in part on the overlap between the first subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity and the active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle, the feedback transmission performed after a last semi-persistent scheduling occasion.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Jiang teaches performing the feedback transmission based at least in part on the overlap between the first subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity and the active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle, the feedback transmission performed after a last semi-persistent scheduling occasion. (Jiang teaches the semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with PUCCH-1 and PUCCH-2 as SPS resources. Jiang para. [0063] teaches that “after the downlink HARQ process feedback of the terminal device is postponed, the terminal device may process the “downlink HARQ RTT timer” and/or the “downlink HARQ retransmission timer” of the HARQ process feedback based on the “first resource before the transmission time is postponed” and/or the “second resource after the transmission time is postponed” transmitted by the downlink HARQ process feedback.” The processing mode includes that the terminal device processes the “downlink HARQ RTT timer” of the HARQ process based on the “first resource before the transmission time is postponed” and/or the “second resource after the transmission time is postponed” transmitted by the downlink HARQ process feedback.)
Examiner notes that PUCCH are a HARQ process feedback of a downlink SPS that is associated with downlink transmissions from the network entity and the inactive period is of the DRX is configured by the network entity.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to effective date of the invention to combine Jiang with Kuo. Each of Jiang and Kuo are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of discontinuous transmissions and SPS transmissions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combined Kuo with Jiang in order to improve the reliability of data transmission as taught in para. [0026].
Regarding claim 20, Kuo does NOT teach The method of claim 19, wherein the last semi-persistent scheduling occasion comprises a sequentially last scheduled semi-persistent scheduling occasion in the set of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity.
In the analogous art of wireless communications, Jiang teaches wherein the last semi-persistent scheduling occasion comprises a sequentially last scheduled semi-persistent scheduling occasion in the set of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity. (Jiang teaches in paras. [0022]-[0025] SPS occasions PUCCH-1 at time tx and PUCCH-2 at time ty as a set of scheduling occasions wherein PUCCH-2 is the last scheduled occasion, wherein the DRX activation time of the network is inconsistent with the DRX activation time of the terminal device causing a failure. Examiner notes that PUCCH are a HARQ process feedback of a downlink SPS that is associated with downlink transmissions from the network entity.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to effective date of the invention to combine Jiang with Kuo. Each of Jiang and Kuo are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of discontinuous transmissions and SPS transmissions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combined Kuo with Jiang in order to improve the reliability of data transmission as taught in para. [0026].
Regarding claim 21, Kuo teaches The method of claim 19, wherein the last semi-persistent scheduling occasion comprises a last semi-persistent scheduling occasion of the first subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity overlapping with the active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity. (Kuo teaches in Figs. 4 and 5 and paras. [0046] –[0051] examples of an overlap in sleep mode during a second SPS occasion while the first SPS occasion (interpreted as first subset) is during an active period of DRX and a jitter delay interrupts the sleep/inactive mode:
Kuo para. [0068] teaches “The network may configure the sps-drx- InactiviteTimer at the UE 110 using one or more RRC messages. For example, parameters for the sps-drx-InactiviteTimer may be provided as part of an SPS-config information element (IE) provided during 605.” Therefore the DRX cycle is “of the network entity”.)
Claims 7, 8, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kou further in view of International Pat. Pub. WO 2024/232427 to Pravyjot Deogun et al. (hereinafter Deogun).
Regarding claim 7, Kuo does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to selectively perform or drop the feedback transmission are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
perform the feedback transmission during an uplink occasion occurring during the second subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity based at least in part on a third subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions in the set of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity scheduled during a second active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity, the second active period following the inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity in the time domain.
In the analogous art of 3GPP LTE wireless communications, Deogun teaches perform the feedback transmission during an uplink occasion occurring during the second subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity based at least in part on a third subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions in the set of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity scheduled during a second active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity, the second active period following the inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity in the time domain. (Deogun teaches in para. [0025] for example, “wherein the at least one communication resource overlaps in the time domain with a first period in which the access network node operates in a discontinuous reception, DRX, inactive mode”. Deogun teaches in para. [0093] The base station 5 can enable HARQ feedback to be transmitted by the UE 3 even when HARQ feedback is initially disabled”. Deogun para. [0131] makes clear that the DRX shown in Fig. 9 includes HARQ feedback for SPS PDSCH feedback associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity.
Deogun Fig. 18 illustrates a DRX active, inactive, active time line:
Deogun para. [0176] teaches that Fig. 18 enables a base station to determine different short DRX configurations. The used SR occasion available and used. As shown, a resource is in an active period following an inactive period, which is followed by another inactive period.
Deogun teaches in para. [0163] and Fig. 14 five different PUCCH resources (mapped to first, second and third subsets) in both active and inactive DRX. Para. [0163] further teaches that a UE 3 can initially be configured to have resources used for the transmission of the second PUCCH during the DRX active period are different from the frequency resources used for the transmission of the second PUCCH during the DRX inactive period, and that “third PUCCH is disabled during the DRX inactive period.” “In this example, the third PUCCH is disabled as it carries a relatively large UCI size (and uses a relatively large amount of frequency resources in the DRX active period).” As shown in Fig. 14, fourth and fifth PUCCH (PUCCH resource-4 and PUCCH resource-5) are only configured during the DRX inactive period.” “Advantageously, by configuring the resources available for transmission of each PUCCH, the base station 5 is able to enable a higher level of multiplexing for the UCI transmissions during the DRX inactive period.” Therefore Deogun teaches scheduling for each PUCCH including during a second active period of a DTX which follows an inactive period in the time domain. Fig. 14:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Kuo with Deogun to teach the feedback in a second active period. Each of Kuo and Deogun are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kuo and Deogun in order to reliably transmit high priority transmissions as taught in Deogun para. [0006].
Regarding claim 8, Kuo does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 7, wherein performing the feedback transmission is based at least in part on a numerical quantity of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity in the first subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions, a time offset between the uplink occasion and a start of the second active period, or both.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Deogun teaches performing the feedback transmission is based at least in part on a numerical quantity of semi-persistent scheduling occasions in the first subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions, a time offset between the uplink occasion and a start of the second active period, or both. (Deogun teaches in para. [0141] and Fig. 7 teaches that “To indicate the actual timing of HARQ feedback transmission (relative to PDSCH reception) to the UE 3 dynamically, base station 5 may select one of the N values for the delay, and transmit an indication of the selected value to the UE within the DCI that schedules the corresponding PDSCH.” Therefore, Deogun teaches a number N that is between the uplink and the start of an active period (feedback transmission). Examiner notes that feedback transmissions are associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Kuo with Deogun to teach the feedback in a second active period. Each of Kuo and Deogun are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kuo and Deogun in order to reliably transmit high priority transmissions as taught in Deogun para. [0006].
Regarding claim 22, Kuo does NOT teach The method of claim 16, wherein selectively performing or dropping the feedback transmission comprises:
performing the feedback transmission during an uplink occasion occurring during the second subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions based at least in part on a third subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions in the set of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity scheduled during a second active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle, the second active period following the inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity in the time domain.
In the analogous art of 3GPP LTE wireless communications, Deogun teaches performing the feedback transmission during an uplink occasion occurring during the second subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions based at least in part on a third subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions in the set of semi-persistent scheduling occasions associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity scheduled during a second active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle, the second active period following the inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity in the time domain. (Deogun teaches in para. [0025] for example, “wherein the at least one communication resource overlaps in the time domain with a first period in which the access network node operates in a discontinuous reception, DRX, inactive mode”. Deogun teaches in para. [0093] The base station 5 can enable HARQ feedback to be transmitted by the UE 3 even when HARQ feedback is initially disabled”. Deogun para. [0131] makes clear that the DRX shown in Fig. 9 includes HARQ feedback for SPS PDSCH feedback associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity.
Deogun Fig. 18 illustrates a DRX active, inactive, active time line:
Deogun para. [0176] teaches that Fig. 18 enables a base station to determine different short DRX configurations. The used SR occasion available and used. As shown, a resource is in an active period following an inactive period, which is followed by another inactive period.
Deogun teaches in para. [0163] and Fig. 14 five different PUCCH resources (mapped to first, second and third subsets) in both active and inactive DRX. Para. [0163] further teaches that a UE 3 can initially be configured to have resources used for the transmission of the second PUCCH during the DRX active period are different from the frequency resources used for the transmission of the second PUCCH during the DRX inactive period, and that “third PUCCH is disabled during the DRX inactive period.” “In this example, the third PUCCH is disabled as it carries a relatively large UCI size (and uses a relatively large amount of frequency resources in the DRX active period).” As shown in Fig. 14, fourth and fifth PUCCH (PUCCH resource-4 and PUCCH resource-5) are only configured during the DRX inactive period.” “Advantageously, by configuring the resources available for transmission of each PUCCH, the base station 5 is able to enable a higher level of multiplexing for the UCI transmissions during the DRX inactive period.” Therefore Deogun teaches scheduling for each PUCCH including during a second active period of a DTX which follows an inactive period in the time domain. Fig. 14:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Kuo with Deogun to teach the feedback in a second active period. Each of Kuo and Deogun are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kuo and Deogun in order to reliably transmit high priority transmissions as taught in Deogun para. [0006].
Regarding claim 23, Kuo does NOT teach The method of claim 22, wherein performing the feedback transmission is based at least in part on a numerical quantity of semi-persistent scheduling occasions in the first subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions, associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity, a time offset between the uplink occasion and a start of the second active period, or both.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Deogun teaches performing the feedback transmission is based at least in part on a numerical quantity of semi-persistent scheduling occasions in the first subset of semi-persistent scheduling occasions, associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity, a time offset between the uplink occasion and a start of the second active period, or both. (Deogun teaches in para. [0141] and Fig. 7 teaches that “To indicate the actual timing of HARQ feedback transmission (relative to PDSCH reception) to the UE 3 dynamically, base station 5 may select one of the N values for the delay, and transmit an indication of the selected value to the UE within the DCI that schedules the corresponding PDSCH.” Therefore, Deogun teaches a number N that is between the uplink and the start of an active period (feedback transmission). Examiner notes that feedback transmissions are associated with downlink transmissions from a network entity.)
Claim 9-15 and 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo in view of US Pat. Pub. 20240107444 to Liang Hu et al. (hereinafter Hu).
Regarding claim 9, Kou in view of Hu teaches An apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), (Fig. 2 UE 110) comprising:
one or more processors; (Kuo Fig. 2 processor 205)
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; (Kuo Fig. 2 memory arrangement 210)
and
instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors (Kuo para. [0030] operations performed) to cause the apparatus to:
selectively monitor, based at least in part on an active period of a discontinuous transmission cycle of a network entity, for a downlink control information message associated with activating or deactivating the discontinuous transmission cycle of a network entity, the downlink control information message comprising [[a group common]] downlink control information message; (Kuo teaches in para. [0059] monitoring PDCCH to “determine whether the UE 110 should start, restart or extend a particular timer configured to control the UE 110 to utilize an active mode of monitoring the PDCCH after the SPS occasion”. Kuo teaches that whether to activate or deactivate dynamically is configured by DCI in paras. [0076]-[0077].)
and communicate with the network entity according to the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity based at least in part on the selectively monitoring. (Kuo teaches in Fig. 6 that the UE communicates with the network according to the dynamic active mode in block 625:
Examiner notes that the “discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity” is of the network entity when the network configures the DRX for the UE. Kuo para. [0068] teaches “The network may configure the sps-drx- InactiviteTimer at the UE 110 using one or more RRC messages. For example, parameters for the sps-drx-InactiviteTimer may be provided as part of an SPS-config information element (IE) provided during 605.” Therefore the DRX cycle is “of the network entity”.)
Kuo does NOT teach that the DCI is a group common DCI.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Hu teaches the downlink control information message comprising a group common downlink control information message. (Hu teaches in para. [0017] a new design for a “group common DCI 2 format 7 (2_7) that allow a gNB to dynamically indicate to the UEs which DTX/DRX pattern it is using and which pattern it is using for RRC idle/inactive UEs.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Hu and Kuo to teach a group common DCI. Each of Hu and Kuo are in the field of wireless communications and discontinuous transmissions and receptions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hu and Kuo in order to reduce network energy based on DCI-based group common adaption for period signals such as SPS as taught in Hu para. [0113].
Regarding claim 10, Kuo in view of Hu, specifically Kuo teaches The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions to selectively monitor are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
monitor for the downlink control information message during the active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity. (Kuo para. [0020]-[0021] teaches monitoring for during the active period of discontinuous transmission cycle “exemplary embodiments introduce techniques configured to ensure that the UE is in active mode of monitoring the PDCCH” to avoid a mismatch between packet arrival and UE active mode. Kuo para. [0034] teaches transmitting configuration information (DCI) triggering the UE 110 to enter or stay in active mode of monitoring. Examiner notes that the “discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity” is of the network entity when the network configures the DRX for the UE. Kuo para. [0068] teaches “The network may configure the sps-drx- InactiviteTimer at the UE 110 using one or more RRC messages. For example, parameters for the sps-drx-InactiviteTimer may be provided as part of an SPS-config information element (IE) provided during 605.” Therefore the DRX cycle is “of the network entity”.)
Regarding claim 11, Kuo in view of Hu, teaches The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions to selectively monitor are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
monitor for the [[group common downlink control information]] message outside of the active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity and during an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity. (Kuo para. [0034] teaches transmitting configuration information (DCI) triggering the UE 110 to enter or stay in active mode of monitoring see Fig. 6, above. Kuo para. [0068] teaches “The network may configure the sps-drx- InactiviteTimer at the UE 110 using one or more RRC messages. For example, parameters for the sps-drx-InactiviteTimer may be provided as part of an SPS-config information element (IE) provided during 605.” Therefore the DRX cycle is “of the network entity” because it is configured by the network entity.)
Kuo does NOT teach monitor for the [[group common downlink control information]] message.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Hu teaches in Fig. 2A that monitoring associated with DTX/DRX is according to a group DCI in block 204 and 205:
Hu teaches in para. [0101] that a UE can be configured to monitor a specific DCI format depending on a desired mode, such as dynamic mode.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hu and Kuo to teach a group common DCI to affect monitoring for DTX/DRX. Each of Hu and Kuo are in the field of wireless communications and discontinuous transmissions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hu and Kuo in order to achieve faster and more efficient modifications from active to inactive states and reconfigured cycles as taught in Hu para. [0008].
Regarding claim 12, Kuo in view of Hu, specifically Kuo, teaches The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions to selectively monitor are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
refrain from monitoring for the downlink control information message during one or more monitoring occasions occurring outside of the active period and during an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity. (Kuo teaches in para. [0019] that outside the scheduled time duration of DRX cycle the UE may have the opportunity to utilize a sleep mode and conserve power by “not actively monitoring PDCCH” for a DCI. Examiner notes that Kuo para. [0054] teaches that the messages received from the network include RRC, control information, MAC CEs “DCI and any combination thereof”. Kuo para. [0068] teaches “The network may configure the sps-drx- InactiviteTimer at the UE 110 using one or more RRC messages. For example, parameters for the sps-drx-InactiviteTimer may be provided as part of an SPS-config information element (IE) provided during 605.” Therefore the DRX cycle is “of the network entity” because it is configured by the network entity.)
Regarding claim 13, Kuo in view of Hu, specifically Kuo, teaches The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
receive a signal indicating that the UE is to refrain from monitoring for the downlink control information message during one or more monitoring occasions occurring outside of the active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity and during an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity. (Kuo para. [0037] – [0040] teaches that UE transceiver receives signals implementing a cDRX cycle wherein “Outside of an onDuration, the UE 110 may have an opportunity to utilize a sleep mode and conserve power by not monitoring PDCCH.” “The sleep mode relates to conserving power by discontinuing a continuous processing functionality relating to operations that enable the UE 110 to monitor PDCCH.” Kuo para. [0068] teaches “The network may configure the sps-drx- InactiviteTimer at the UE 110 using one or more RRC messages. For example, parameters for the sps-drx-InactiviteTimer may be provided as part of an SPS-config information element (IE) provided during 605.” Therefore the DRX cycle is “of the network entity” because it is configured by the network entity.)
Regarding claim 14, Kuo does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a UE capability message indicating support for activating or deactivating the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity via the downlink control information message.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Hu teaches transmit a UE capability message indicating support for activating or deactivating the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity via the downlink control information message. (Hu teaches in para. [0055] and Fig. 2A, above, block 201 that the UE sends “assistance information” to the gNB that indicates “the UE’s ability to receive DRX or DTX patterns” to enable the gNB to gather information to enable the UE to receive in block 203 “group information” via DCI. Hu para. [0008] makes clear that the DRX cycle is of the network entity: “Dynamic DTX/DRX may be a more flexible mechanism where the gNB can go to sleep based on the current traffic conditions. The UEs may also be aware of the gNB's sleep schedule and can adjust their own behavior accordingly. This type of DTX/DRX can be used in areas with high traffic, where the gNB can save energy without impacting the user experience.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hu and Kuo to teach a group common DCI to affect monitoring for DTX/DRX. Each of Hu and Kuo are in the field of wireless communications and discontinuous transmissions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hu and Kuo in order to achieve faster and more efficient modifications from active to inactive states and reconfigured cycles as taught in Hu para. [0008].
Regarding claim 15, Kuo does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the support comprises support for refraining from monitoring for the downlink control information message outside of the active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity and during an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Hu teaches support for refraining from monitoring for the downlink control information message outside of the active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity and during an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity. (Hu teaches in para. [0062] that the patterns enable dynamic DTX/DRX cycles to enable UEs to achieve network energy savings. Hu para. [0012] teaches that as a result of the scheme is that UEs “no longer need to continuously monitor” a PDCCH and can enter sleep mode when the gNB is asleep. Hu para. [0008] makes clear that the DRX cycle is of the network entity: “Dynamic DTX/DRX may be a more flexible mechanism where the gNB can go to sleep based on the current traffic conditions. The UEs may also be aware of the gNB's sleep schedule and can adjust their own behavior accordingly. This type of DTX/DRX can be used in areas with high traffic, where the gNB can save energy without impacting the user experience.” )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hu and Kuo to teach a refraining from monitoring outside the active period. Each of Hu and Kuo are in the field of wireless communications and discontinuous transmissions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hu and Kuo in order to achieve faster and more efficient modifications from active to inactive states and reconfigured cycles as taught in Hu para. [0008].
Regarding claim 24, Kuo in view of Hu teaches A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
selectively monitoring, based at least in part on an active period of a discontinuous transmission cycle of a network entity, for a downlink control information message associated with activating or deactivating the discontinuous transmission cycle of a network entity, the downlink control information message comprising a [[group common]] downlink control information message; (Kuo teaches in para. [0059] monitoring PDCCH to “determine whether the UE 110 should start, restart or extend a particular timer configured to control the UE 110 to utilize an active mode of monitoring the PDCCH after the SPS occasion”. Kuo teaches that whether to activate or deactivate dynamically is configured by DCI in paras. [0076]-[0077].)
and
communicating with the network entity according to the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity based at least in part on the selectively monitoring. (Kuo teaches in Fig. 6 that the UE communicates with the network according to the dynamic active mode in block 625:
Examiner notes that the “discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity” is of the network entity when the network configures the DRX for the UE. Kuo para. [0068] teaches “The network may configure the sps-drx- InactiviteTimer at the UE 110 using one or more RRC messages. For example, parameters for the sps-drx-InactiviteTimer may be provided as part of an SPS-config information element (IE) provided during 605.” Therefore the DRX cycle is “of the network entity”.)
Kuo does NOT teach that the DCI is a group common DCI.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Hu teaches the downlink control information message comprising a group common downlink control information message. (Hu teaches in para. [0017] a new design for a “group common DCI 2 format 7 (2_7) that allow a gNB to dynamically indicate to the UEs which DTX/DRX pattern it is using and which pattern it is using for RRC idle/inactive UEs.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Hu and Kuo to teach a group common DCI. Each of Hu and Kuo are in the field of wireless communications and discontinuous transmissions and receptions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hu and Kuo in order to reduce network energy based on DCI-based group common adaption for period signals such as SPS as taught in Hu para. [0113].
Regarding claim 25, Kuo teaches The method of claim 24, wherein the selectively monitoring comprises: monitoring for the downlink control information message during the active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity. (Kuo teaches in para. [0020] a UE entering an active mode of monitoring in accordance with the cDRX cycle. Further para. [0020] teaches using MAC and Layer 1 and Layer 2 signaling to trigger an active mode of monitoring during cDRX to enable dynamic downlink resource assignment receipting independently from other mechanisms. Examiner interprets the Layer 1 and Layer 2 signaling as downlink control messages. Examiner notes that the “discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity” is of the network entity when the network configures the DRX for the UE. Kuo para. [0068] teaches “The network may configure the sps-drx- InactiviteTimer at the UE 110 using one or more RRC messages. For example, parameters for the sps-drx-InactiviteTimer may be provided as part of an SPS-config information element (IE) provided during 605.” Therefore the DRX cycle is “of the network entity”.)
Regarding claim 26, Kuo in view of Hu teaches The method of claim 24, wherein the selectively monitoring comprises:
monitoring for the [[group common]] downlink control information message outside of the active period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity and during an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity. (Kuo para. [0034] teaches transmitting configuration information (DCI) triggering the UE 110 to enter or stay in active mode of monitoring see Fig. 6, above. Kuo para. [0068] teaches “The network may configure the sps-drx- InactiviteTimer at the UE 110 using one or more RRC messages. For example, parameters for the sps-drx-InactiviteTimer may be provided as part of an SPS-config information element (IE) provided during 605.” Therefore the DRX cycle is “of the network entity” because it is configured by the network entity.)
Kuo does NOT teach monitor for the [[group common downlink control information]] message.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Hu teaches monitoring for the group common downlink control information message outside of the active period and during an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle. (Hu teaches in Fig. 2A that monitoring associated with DTX/DRX is according to a group DCI in block 204 and 205:
Hu teaches in para. [0101] that a UE can be configured to monitor a specific DCI format depending on a desired mode, such as dynamic mode.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hu and Kuo to teach a group common DCI to affect monitoring for DTX/DRX. Each of Hu and Kuo are in the field of wireless communications and discontinuous transmissions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hu and Kuo in order to achieve faster and more efficient modifications from active to inactive states and reconfigured cycles as taught in Hu para. [0008].
Regarding claim 27, Kuo teaches The method of claim 24, wherein the selectively monitoring comprises: refraining from monitoring for the downlink control information message during one or more monitoring occasions occurring outside of the active period and during an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity. (Kuo para. [0037] – [0040] teaches that UE transceiver receives signals implementing a cDRX cycle wherein “Outside of an onDuration, the UE 110 may have an opportunity to utilize a sleep mode and conserve power by not monitoring PDCCH.” “The sleep mode relates to conserving power by discontinuing a continuous processing functionality relating to operations that enable the UE 110 to monitor PDCCH.” Kuo para. [0068] teaches “The network may configure the sps-drx- InactiviteTimer at the UE 110 using one or more RRC messages. For example, parameters for the sps-drx-InactiviteTimer may be provided as part of an SPS-config information element (IE) provided during 605.” Therefore the DRX cycle is “of the network entity” because it is configured by the network entity.)
Regarding claim 28, Kuo teaches The method of claim 24, further comprising: receiving a signal indicating that the UE is to refrain from monitoring for the downlink control information message during one or more monitoring occasions occurring outside of the active period and during an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity. (Kuo para. [0037] – [0040] teaches that UE transceiver receives signals implementing a cDRX cycle wherein “Outside of an onDuration, the UE 110 may have an opportunity to utilize a sleep mode and conserve power by not monitoring PDCCH.” “The sleep mode relates to conserving power by discontinuing a continuous processing functionality relating to operations that enable the UE 110 to monitor PDCCH.” Kuo para. [0068] teaches “The network may configure the sps-drx- InactiviteTimer at the UE 110 using one or more RRC messages. For example, parameters for the sps-drx-InactiviteTimer may be provided as part of an SPS-config information element (IE) provided during 605.” Therefore the DRX cycle is “of the network entity” because it is configured by the network entity.)
Regarding claim 29, Kuo does NOT teach The method of claim 24, further comprising: transmitting a UE capability message indicating support for activating or deactivating the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity via the downlink control information message.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Hu teaches transmitting a UE capability message indicating support for activating or deactivating the discontinuous transmission cycle via the downlink control information message. (Hu teaches in para. [0055] and Fig. 2A, above, block 201 that the UE sends “assistance information” to the gNB that indicates “the UE’s ability to receive DRX or DTX patterns” to enable the gNB to gather information to enable the UE to receive in block 203 “group information” via DCI. Hu para. [0008] makes clear that the DRX cycle is of the network entity: “Dynamic DTX/DRX may be a more flexible mechanism where the gNB can go to sleep based on the current traffic conditions. The UEs may also be aware of the gNB's sleep schedule and can adjust their own behavior accordingly. This type of DTX/DRX can be used in areas with high traffic, where the gNB can save energy without impacting the user experience.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hu and Kuo to teach a group common DCI to affect monitoring for DTX/DRX. Each of Hu and Kuo are in the field of wireless communications and discontinuous transmissions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hu and Kuo in order to achieve faster and more efficient modifications from active to inactive states and reconfigured cycles as taught in Hu para. [0008].
Regarding claim 30, Kuo teaches The method of claim 29, wherein the support comprises support for refraining from monitoring for the downlink control information message outside of the active period and during an inactive period of the discontinuous transmission cycle. (Kuo teaches in para. [0019] that outside the scheduled time duration of DRX cycle the UE may have the opportunity to utilize a sleep mode and conserve power by “not actively monitoring PDCCH” for a DCI. Examiner notes that Kuo para. [0054] teaches that the messages received from the network include RRC, control information, MAC CEs “DCI and any combination thereof”. Examiner notes that the “discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity” is of the network entity when the network configures the DRX for the UE. Kuo para. [0068] teaches “The network may configure the sps-drx- InactiviteTimer at the UE 110 using one or more RRC messages. For example, parameters for the sps-drx-InactiviteTimer may be provided as part of an SPS-config information element (IE) provided during 605.” Therefore the DRX cycle is “of the network entity”.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412