DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 7 and 13 are objected to because:
Claim 3, line 3, “ the first terminal” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 7, lines 4-5, “ the first terminal” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 13, line 4, “ the first terminal” lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martin, US 7285743.
Regarding claim 1, Martin discloses (figs.1-8) an electrical device (100) comprising:
a vacuum bottle (110) extending along a longitudinal axis (labeled in fig.4, below) and having a first portion (labeled in fig.4, below) and a second portion (labeled in fig.4, below);
a sleeve (190) over molded on the vacuum bottle (110) such that the sleeve (190) includes a first sleeve portion (labeled in fig.4, below), a second sleeve portion (labeled in fig.4, below) and a parting plane (labeled in fig.4, below) at an interface (labeled in fig.4, below) between the first and second sleeve portions (labeled in fig.4, below), where the parting plane (labeled in fig.4, below) intersects the longitudinal axis (labeled in fig.4, below);
a terminal (170) extending from the first portion(labeled in fig.4, below) of the vacuum bottle (110); and
an interchange (labeled in fig.4, below) coupled to the second portion (labeled in fig.4, below) of the vacuum bottle (110).
Regarding claim 2, Martin further comprising an electrical shield screen (210) positioned adjacent the terminal (170), where the electrical shield screen (210) forms a low-stress area and the parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) lies entirely within the low-stress area.
Regarding claim 3, Martin further discloses where the sleeve (190) is compressed between the terminal (170) and the first portion (labeled in fig.4, above) of the vacuum bottle (110), and no portion of the parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) passes through an area in which the sleeve (190) contacts the first terminal (170).
Regarding claim 4, Martin further discloses where the parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) is oriented transverse relative to the longitudinal axis (labeled in fig.4, above).
Regarding claim 5, Martin further discloses where the sleeve (190) forms a seal (labeled in fig.4, above) between the interchange (labeled in fig.4, above) and the second portion (labeled in fig.4, above) of the vacuum bottle (110), and no portion of the parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) passes through the seal (labeled in fig.4, above).
Regarding claim 6, Martin further discloses wherein the parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) is a first parting plane, where the second sleeve portion (labeled in fig.4, above) further includes a second parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) that divides the second sleeve portion (labeled in fig.4, above) in two, and where the second parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) is oriented at an angle greater than zero degrees relative to the first parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above).
Regarding claim 7, Martin further discloses where the sleeve (190) is compressed between the terminal (170) and the first portion (labeled in fig.4, above) of the vacuum bottle (110), wherein the sleeve (190) forms a seal (labeled in fig.4, above) between the interchange (labeled in fig.4, above) and the second portion (labeled in fig.4, above) of the vacuum bottle (110), and where no portion of the first parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) or second parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) passes through an area in which the sleeve (190) contacts the first terminal (170) or through the seal (labeled in fig.4, above).
Regarding claim 8, Martin further discloses where the second parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) is oriented transverse relative to the first parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above).
Regarding claim 9, Martin further comprising an electrical shield screen (220) positioned adjacent the interchange (labeled in fig.4, above), where the electrical shield screen (220) forms a low-stress area, and the parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) lies entirely within the low-stress area.
Regarding claim 10, Martin further comprising an electrical shield screen (210) positioned adjacent the first portion (labeled in fig.4, above) of the vacuum bottle (110), where the electrical shield screen (210) forms a low- stress area, and the parting plane lies entirely within the low-stress area.
Regarding claim 11, Martin further comprising an electrical shield screen (210, 220) at least partially surrounding the vacuum bottle (110), where the electrical shield screen (210, 220) forms a low-stress area, and the parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) lies entirely within the low-stress area.
Regarding claim 12, Martin further discloses where the first sleeve portion (labeled in fig.4, above) includes a first draft portion adjacent to the terminal (170) that becomes wider in a longitudinal direction moving away from the terminal (170) and the second sleeve portion (labeled in fig.4, above) includes a second draft portion adjacent to the interchange (labeled in fig.4, above) that becomes wider in a longitudinal direction moving away from the interchange (labeled in fig.4, above).
Regarding claim 13, Martin further discloses where the sleeve (190) is compressed between the terminal (170) and the first portion (labeled in fig.4, above) of the vacuum bottle (110), where the sleeve (190) forms a seal between the interchange (labeled in fig.4, above) and the second portion (labeled in fig.4, above) of the vacuum bottle (110), and no portion of the parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) passes through an area in which the sleeve (190) contacts the first terminal (170) or through the seal.
Regarding claim 14, Martin discloses (figs.1-8) an electrical device (100) comprising:
a vacuum bottle (110) extending along a longitudinal axis (labeled in fig.4, above) and having a first portion (labeled in fig.4, above) and a second portion (labeled in fig.4, above), the vacuum bottle (110) including a pair of electrical contacts (120, 130) configured to open and close an electric circuit; and
a sleeve (190) over molded on the vacuum bottle (110) such that the sleeve (190) includes a first sleeve portion (labeled in fig.4, above), a second sleeve portion, and a parting plane at an interface between the first and second sleeve portions, where the parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) intersects the longitudinal axis (labeled in fig.4, above).
Regarding claim 15, Martin further comprising an electrical shield screen (210, 220) at least partially surrounding the vacuum bottle (110), where the electrical shield screen (210, 220) forms a low-stress area, and the parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) lies entirely within the low-stress area.
Regarding claim 16, Martin further discloses where the parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) is a first parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above), where the second sleeve portion (labeled in fig.4, above) further includes a second parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) that divides the second sleeve portion (labeled in fig.4, above) in two, and where the second parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) is oriented at an angle greater than zero degrees relative to the first parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above).
Regarding claim 17, Martin further discloses where the second parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) is oriented transverse relative to the first parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above).
Regarding claim 18, Martin discloses (figs.1-8) an electrical device (100) comprising:
an internal electrical conductor (120, 130) extending along a longitudinal axis (labeled in fig.4, above);
an insulator (190) over molded around the internal electrical conductor (120, 130) such that the insulator (190) includes a first insulator portion (labeled in fig.4, above)., a second insulator portion (labeled in fig.4, above)., and a parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) at an interface (labeled in fig.4, above) between the first and second insulator portions (labeled in fig.4, above), wherein the parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) intersects the longitudinal axis (labeled in fig.4, above).
Regarding claim 19, Martin further comprising a low stress area defined by an electrical shield (210, 220), where the parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) is disposed entirely within the low stress area.
Regarding claim 20, Martin further discloses where the parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) is oriented transverse relative to the longitudinal axis (labeled in fig.4, above).
Regarding claim 21, Martin further discloses where the parting plane( labeled in fig.4, above) is a first parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above), where the second insulator portion (labeled in fig.4, above) includes a second parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) that divides the second insulator portion(labeled in fig.4, above) in two, and where the second parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) is oriented at an angle greater than zero degrees relative to the first parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above).
Regarding claim 22, Martin further discloses where the second parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above) is oriented transverse relative to the first parting plane (labeled in fig.4, above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang, Gentsch et al, Gerovac et al, Chapelle et al, Siebens et al and Luzzi are examples of electrical devices comprising vacuum bottles having over molded sleeves, configured similar to the present invention.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/WILLIAM A BOLTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833