DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: heating assembly in claims 1-20.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morikawa (WO2019215972).
As for claims 1 and 2, Morikawa discloses a brush accessory, comprising: a rounded body (1, fig. 1a) having a lumen extending therethrough (fig. 3) and an attachment collar at one end thereof (p. 2, 3rd paragraph, beginning with “The iron head”); at least two bristles positioned along a first section of the rounded body (12, fig. 2a), the first section including at least one outlet opening positioned between the at least two bristles (fig. 2b); and a heater assembly positioned along a second section of the rounded body, the heater assembly comprising a plurality of tines (p. 3, 3rd paragraph from bottom, starting with “The material constituting”).
Morikawa discloses a distance between adjacent tines (13, fig. 2a) and the claimed invention except for expressly reciting a distance between adjacent tines of the plurality of tines is between about 0.5 mm and about 0.7 mm. However, at the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a distance between adjacent tines of the plurality of tines is between about 0.5 mm and about 0.7 mm because applicant has not disclosed that a distance between adjacent tines of the plurality of tines is between about 0.5 mm and about 0.7 mm provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant's invention to perform equally well with the tine structure illustrated in fig. 2a.
As for claim 3, Morikawa discloses the heater assembly comprises a heater shell with an opening, and wherein at least two tines of the plurality of tines are positioned within the opening (13, fig. 2b, p. 7, 4th full paragraph, starting with “Further,” illustrates more than two tines in the open area of the rib cage heated by the heater).
As for claim 6, Morikawa discloses each tine of the plurality of tines is positioned perpendicular to a longitudinal dimension of the hollow body (13, fig. 1a).
As for claim 7, Morikawa discloses each tine of the at least two tines comprises a top surface and a bottom surface, and wherein each of the top and bottom surfaces are substantially planar (13, fig. 2a, upper and lower portion of each tine).
As for claim 8, Morikawa discloses the at least two bristles are arranged in a plurality of rows spaced circumferentially around the first region (12, fig. 2a, at least three rows illustrated).
As for claim 9, Morikawa discloses the plurality of rows comprises between 5 and 10 rows (fig. 1c illustrates the width of area containing bristles illustrating at least five rows).
As for claim 10, Morikawa discloses the at least one outlet opening is configured as an outlet for airflow (D1, fig. 3).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morikawa in view of Huang (CN219460524U).
As for claim 4, Morikawa discloses 16 tines and the claimed invention except for the plurality of times comprises between 20 tines and 40 tines. Huang teaches the plurality of times comprises between 20 tines and 40 tines (20, 21, fig. 2) in order to increase the amount of heat to each strand of hair for more efficient drying. Morikawa would benefit equally from increasing the amount of heat to each strand of hair for more efficient drying. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Morikawa with the plurality of times comprises between 20 tines and 40 tines as taught by Huang in order to increase the amount of heat to each strand of hair for more efficient drying.
As for claim 5, Morikawa discloses the claimed invention except for each tine of the plurality of tines comprises a triangular cross-sectional shape. Huang teaches each tine of the plurality of tines comprises a triangular cross-sectional shape (20, 21, figs. 2 and 6) in order to facilitate penetration of the tines into the user’s hair. Morikawa would benefit equally from facilitating penetration of the tines into the user’s hair. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Morikawa with each tine of the plurality of tines comprises a triangular cross-sectional shape as taught by Huang in order to facilitate penetration of the tines into the user’s hair.
Claims 11-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morikawa in view of Huang.
As for claim 11, Morikawa discloses a brush accessory, comprising: a rounded body (1, fig. 1a) having a lumen extending therethrough (fig. 3) and an attachment collar at one end thereof (p. 2, 3rd paragraph, beginning with “The iron head”); at least two bristles positioned along a first section of the rounded body (12, fig. 2a), the first section including at least one outlet opening positioned between the at least two bristles (fig. 2b); and a heater assembly positioned along a second section of the rounded body (p. 3, 3rd paragraph from bottom, starting with “The material constituting”).
Morikawa discloses the claimed invention except for the heater assembly comprising a first tine support having a first set of tines and a second tine support having a second set of tines, wherein the first and second tine supports interlock such that a tine of the second set of tines is positioned between two tines of the first set of tines. Huang teaches the heater assembly comprising a first tine support having a first set of tines and a second tine support having a second set of tines, wherein the first and second tine supports interlock such that a tine of the second set of tines is positioned between two tines of the first set of tines (20, 21, figs. 2 and 6, p. 5, first full paragraph starting with “As shown”) in order to uniformly heat the comb tines so that the hair shaping and heating are uniform. Morikawa would benefit equally from uniformly heating the comb tines so that the hair shaping and heating are uniform. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Morikawa with the heater assembly comprising a first tine support having a first set of tines and a second tine support having a second set of tines, wherein the first and second tine supports interlock such that a tine of the second set of tines is positioned between two tines of the first set of tines as taught by Huang in order to uniformly heat the comb tines so that the hair shaping and heating are uniform.
As for claim 12, Huang teaches the first tine support comprises a plurality of tine openings configured to receive the second set of tines (20, 21, figs. 2) in order to improve the heat transfer efficiency. Morikawa would benefit equally from improving the heat transfer efficiency. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Morikawa with the first tine support comprises a plurality of tine openings configured to receive the second set of tines as taught by Huang in order to improve the heat transfer efficiency.
As for claim 13, Huang teaches each tine of the first and second sets of tines comprises a triangular cross-sectional shape (20, 21, figs. 2 and 6) in order to facilitate penetration of the tines into the user’s hair. Morikawa would benefit equally from facilitating penetration of the tines into the user’s hair. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Morikawa with each tine of the plurality of tines comprises a triangular cross-sectional shape as taught by Huang in order to facilitate penetration of the tines into the user’s hair.
As for claim 14, Huang teaches each tine of the first and second sets of tines is positioned perpendicular to a longitudinal dimension of the rounded body (20, 21, fig. 2) in order to facilitate engaging with a user’s hair. Morikawa would benefit equally from facilitating engaging with a user’s hair. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Morikawa with each tine of the first and second sets of tines is positioned perpendicular to a longitudinal dimension of the rounded body as taught by Huang in order to facilitate engaging with a user’s hair similar to Morikawa.
As for claim 15, Huang teaches each tine of the first and second sets of tines comprises a top surface and a bottom surface, and wherein each of the top and bottom surfaces are substantially planar (20, 21, fig. 2) so as to facilitate engaging with a user’s hair similar to Morikawa.
As for claim 16, Huang teaches 16 tines (fig. 6) and the claimed invention except for each of the first and second sets of tines comprises 16 tines. Huang teaches each of the first and second sets of tines comprises 16 tines (20, 21, fig. 2) in order to increase the amount of heat to each strand of hair for more efficient drying. Morikawa would benefit equally from increasing the amount of heat to each strand of hair for more efficient drying. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Morikawa with each of the first and second sets of tines comprises 16 tines as taught by Huang in order to increase the amount of heat to each strand of hair for more efficient drying.
As for claim 18, Morikawa discloses the at least two bristles are arranged in a plurality of rows spaced circumferentially around the first region (12, fig. 4).
As for claim 19, Morikawa discloses the plurality of rows comprises between 5 and 10 rows (fig. 1c).
As for claim 20, Morikawa discloses the at least one outlet opening is configured as an outlet for airflow (D1, fig. 3).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morikawa in view of Huang as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Cai (CN205513049U).
Morikawa discloses the claimed invention except for the heater assembly comprises a heater shell that covers at least a portion of each of the first and second tine supports. Cai teaches the heater assembly comprises a heater shell that covers at least a portion of each of the first and second tine supports (p. 3, second paragraph under “Preferred Embodiment”) in order to prevent heat damage to the scalp. Morikawa would benefit equally from preventing heat damage to the scalp. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Morikawa with the heater assembly comprises a heater shell that covers at least a portion of each of the first and second tine supports as taught by Cai in order to prevent heat damage to the scalp.
Conclusion
/JOHN P MCCORMACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762